What are EFI MarketDirect StoreFront users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using EFI MarketDirect StoreFront software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.1

100 Reviews

5
32
4
49
3
16
2
3
1
0
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I love that the software integrates well with PrintSmith our printing and accounting software. The easy of using the different template options is a very simple process."
  • icon"We have previewed other options in the past and StoreFront is always the clear winner."
  • icon"Overall the software is easy to use for both administrators and end users."
  • icon"Awful administration page. Very difficult to master."
  • icon"Lack of reporting and doesn't integrate with Australian shipping companies and can't connect to external DAM."
  • icon"So if we decide to update pricing in one system, we have to update it in multiple places which causes more work and more potential for errors."

Jump to:

Browse all EFI MarketDirect StoreFront Reviews

  • Have you used EFI MarketDirect StoreFront and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 100 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 100 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Best Web to Print Option Available

Our experience with EFIMarket Direct has been exceptional. Tech support team has always been very engaged on finding solutions to problems to every day problems. They have developed two custom reports which have been very helpful. And they are always on call when we upgrade (we're self hosted). It's one of the big reasons I recommend this software.

Pros

The thing I like most about the software is that it is built for selling custom printed products. Any other run of the mill e-commerce option will not have any level of option needed for printers. (From simple things such as impressions, and page counts, to complicated things such as variable data and mailing lists) Also, other e-commerce print solutions do not allow you to customize products like MarketDirect StoreFront. We have previewed other options in the past and StoreFront is always the clear winner. From being able to have multiple cost sheets, easily building products and specs, options for layouts, and gathering data from queries and reports. Nothing else comes close.

Cons

I wish we had easier options to change colors and headers/footers of the site layouts. Our University has a specific color pallet required for departmental sites; I have to do a lot of custom work just to change banner colors. Also, some layouts look a little outdated. For a site to be trusted by the user; it should have a more modern esthetic. Last but not least, I wish the product views would show bleed - and if the document doesn't fit the page selected it would be great if it showed an error and ask the user to pick a larger page size.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

We implemented Storefront more than 10 years ago, many other products have come across our desks; Avanti comes up most often. But nothing has been able to match the features offered - let alone offer more features than we currently have.

Chad

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

A very good software package that could be best in class with the right core adjustments

Overall I consider MDSF a really good product, with a lot of potential for truly being best in class. We have hitched our wagon to MDSF, although at the time it was mostly due to being integrated with other EFI products. From a strictly web-2-print system, there are others I've used that I prefer based on certain customer requests and features. From an personnel interaction standpoint, I have nothing but positive things to say about MDSF. The team is great and over the past 1-2 years, the direction of the product seems to be going in a really positive direction.

Pros

The software package has been very stable for us, which is very important. Many features are in place that we enjoy using that do not require being purchased ala carte, so you don't feel like you're being nickeled and dimed. Over the past 1-2 years, several of the enhancements and upgrades have really gone in the right direction for small - medium sized businesses and solved holes in the EFI solutions model (i.e. MDSF Fulfillment, being able to add a customer to a product for filtering, the new UI experience). Support has always been great for the product when we have needed it, and professional services has always been great when needed.

Cons

There are some foundational pieces which MDSF was built upon that are definitely showing their age. Having your profile address fields and the checkout shipping address fields tied to the same requirements checkbox doesn't make a ton of sense as the purposes of these fields are completely different in many cases. Another thing is only having 5 customizable fields for user profiles. Another is the tiers features are assigned to. For instance, the 5 customizable fields referenced above are setup on a global level (i.e. if one customer is required to have that field filled in, every customer is required to have that field filled in). Having billing and shipping options on a company level instead of a group level. (we've had several customers who want customer admins to be able to see all shipping addresses and edit the address, while an end-user can only change the company and contact name fields and not change the address or be able to see all the addresses. In addition, customer admins may be able to pay with PO’s whereas end users must pay using a credit card.) The overall ability to import and export things. Whether it's products, orders, address lists, users, etc. fully supported both ways. Some QOL features, such as being able to copy an existing storefront should be a fairly simple thing then adjust it for another customer (or to use as a backup) would be a welcome improvement.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

We originally chose OPS once EFI purchased it, but then saw OPS being phased out and shifted over to MDSF. Both were because they were owned and integrated to other EFI products.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Integration with EFI, ability to add as many websites as needed without having to pay for each one. (i.e. not a subscription model)

Jesse

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Works well

For the most part it's been great. Updates occur regularly and we see improvements.

Pros

Setup and deployment was easy. Customizability was pretty good, and people on campus use it daily.

Cons

It is advertised to integrate well with PrintSmith Vision, but we have issues with communication between both systems that requires employees to go in and fix tickets frequently. Price changes have to be added to both systems because one doesn't push to the other.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Integration with PrintSmith was the biggest selling point.

Janice

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

my store front experience

Our customers like using the ordering systems and can easily see the product they need to order.

Pros

I love the integration of our products into our store front. Easy for our customers to order and for us to implement. There is a learning curve at the beginning, but once you have created your templates, adding products is easy.

Cons

The learning curve in setting up templates is challenge. Not an easy task for the average person.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

We were limited by Avanti store front to their estimating software.

Shane

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Storefront

The software is not what we were shown in the demo and we struggled along to find out we were sold the hosting option but it would not allow the custom reporting our customers needed so we were switched to a self-hosted option almost a year into our struggle.

Pros

It offered a lot of features and some customization.

Cons

It is so customizable it's hard to pin down or complete what is needed. It is like wanting illustration software from Adobe and they give you the programming language to write it yourself.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

It would not allow for custom reporting that our customers needed.

Andrew

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Success in the making!!

The time it took to set up the framework for Printsmith Vision and Market Direct Store Front was significant. However, the time spent has been well worth it. The benefits are paying Great Dividends today!! After years of false starts with other Web Building tools my experience with EFI and Market Direct Storefront has been EVERYTHING that I was looking for!! In less than 4 months we were trained and able to build multiple Store Fronts.

Pros

Integration of Market Direct Storefront (MDSF) with Printsmith Vision (PSV) created a Very Nice Automated path to production. This saves us Hours every day by eliminating the need to interpret email and telephone orders to create Job Tickets. Manual entry was error prone and slowed the process of getting jobs into production. The integration with our Fiery is also Automated and eliminates the need for the operator to set up the Rip. It already knows the Rip Settings and Quantity so the operator mounts the requested paper and releases it to Print. We also use MDSF for our Sign Shop, Garment Shop, and Advertising Specialty divisions. EFI is doing a lot of work to make Market Direct Storefront a leader in the market. Thank You EFI.

Cons

We create Store Fronts for many Clients who's users don't need to know about our production facilities. I'd like to see a simple Administrative way to customize each Store Front with unique Contact info where our print shop is anonymous. I'd also like to send the Order Notification from each Store Front to different email locations in a readable format so that Our Customer can see that Their Users have placed orders. EFI Communities is a HUGE step in the right direction for Tech Support but there are times when 24/7 access to support would have been a savior for me. I nearly lost a client because I didn't have access to immediate technical information to get their Store Front to perform correctly. It's becoming quite competitive out there and we need all the help we can get to be the best. I know that this is a Tall Order, and a significant cost, for EFI but other Store Front builders do this and as a Market Leader EFI should consider it. With so many Good reasons to choose EFI this may be the weakest link I found.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

The integration between Printsmith Vision, which we were already using, and Market Direct Storefront was missing from all the other options we looked at. Eliminating the need to develop proprietary software to move orders into a Production System and/or MIS played a Huge roll in our decision to choose EFI and MDSF.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

After trying for 4+ years with Page DNA the site building tools just didn't work. We were NEVER able to build a site using the tools they provided, they would build it for us but we purchased the tools to build Store Fronts ourselves.

thomas

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Just what we needed!

I personally am willing to discuss further how well it works and what it all can do as i am so pleased with EFI and there willingness to help anytime. We have the backing of a powerful team and that makes me feel very comfortable. Again the user experience is so easy to navigate that up selling and selling to market segments never has been so easy.

Pros

The best part of Market Direct Storefronts is that all our customers say that it is so easy to navigate making training a non issue. When users can navigate easily it makes them use it more! We were able to merge this system together with the EFI MIS we are using to run our business streamlining job creation and billing considerably. Same goes for the build(s) very intelligent software and easy to prepare sites. We probably use 75% of what the system currently has available to us; only because we haven't had the customer requests. The software has many further options that we are still using as requested by our customers.

Cons

We have had customers come up with a few challenges for the software but we usually find either a workaround using storefront options or reach out to EFI service people and they can either help immediately or have professional services build or add to an upcoming software update.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

We needed a more powerful system that could integrate and at price point that fit us. We also needed a system that can grow with our business.

Del

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

My view through the healthcare lens

My overall experience is good. Implementation and transition from EFI webhosted to on premise took way to long to move and it seemed that we were running into things that had never happened before. The product is good when set up correctly. You all are going through major updates and changes. This is positive for your customers. A new approach to roll outs, documentation and streamlined access to help when you use an additional EFI product such as PSV would be so helpful.

Pros

I appreciate that it has a look and feel of an amazon type experience. Customers in health care don't know or understanding printing. They want easy or shall I say intuitive experiences that remind them of something that they've done before on common ecommerce sites.

Cons

I think that the maintenance of the store front from the "administer" side needs some improvement. The Admin area seems somewhat outdated. Limited in some respects of what other similar products offer in the space of day to day upkeep. My organization has to engage a freelance person who has experience with the tool to simply do things that should be simple but are really complex.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

see above.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Far to complicated to manage. We had to have a full time graphic designer to keep up with the changes and that was a luxury that was short lived when our organization outsourced that part of the process. Market Direct Offered an easier approach.

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Great at what it does, not flexible for what it doesn’t.

We were able to replace ~40 websites with one DF license. It’s improved turn around time for website changes and streamlined pricing and product creation.

Pros

Integrates well with Pace, but can stand on its own if needed. For the products it handles, DSF is first in class. It works amazingly well at building products and pricing correctly.

Cons

The print industry is constantly evolving and I’m not sure how well DSF is keeping up. It doesn’t handle products like semi-customizable tshirts with any amount of grace. Even building a book where cover and text are printed separate is a little cumbersome and a weird end-user experience, at least if it’s connected to Pace.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Integration with Pace

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Too much overhead and too slow times building new sites and products.

Tony

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Great storefront on it's own

Overall the building process can be quite easy after using the software for a while and learning what works with our product management system (PrintSmith). SmartCanvas has been quite hard to figure out with little guidance from EFI but is very promising. In general by its self MarketDirect Storefront is strong, but could use a lot of tweaking when talking to other modules. After a few years we have grown our ticket templates to a few hundred and have grown our products to a few thousand. Planning out your categories up front will be crucial for customers to be able to find what they are looking for.

Pros

I like all the different type of options when it comes to products, I appreciate the level of customization across the entire backend such as printing services, papers, products, design, etc.

Cons

Some services and specs, filled out by the customer, don't come across to our PrintSmith depending how you have that setup. We had to rebuild all ticket templates in PrintSmith (yes a second time) in order to link products up to ticket templates from our storefront. This was our workaround, some things still don't come across until recently, SIZE wouldn't come over from the storefront into PrintSmith, so I think there is room for improvement here. I like the idea of product overrides, but in the new version it is not working. This could also use some updating keeping ticket templeting to a minimum. Can't copy products that have overrides. Because of this alone, I typically have to create a new ticket template for every product, usually due to the paper. SmartCanvas is very promising, but comes with a large learning curve and even then I feel that a well thought-out guide would be very helpful. Fonts don't show up correctly in certain views and makes paragraph styled text boxes extremely hard to see how type will flow from the customer side. I will say the level of control with SmartCanvas is very nice locking fonts, colors, sizing or allowing the buyer to fully customize the product in anyway.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Compared to alternative products, MarketDirect StoreFront proofing won us over. We wanted a product that our clients could easily proof their jobs knowing little to nothing about printing. A great example of this would be in booklet proofing. Saddlestitched booklets paginated uploaded files into printer spreads then showed the proof in reader spreads how the finished product would look in animated pages. It even showed the staple placement in the center spread. Coil bond books included the punched holes on the side along with what ever color coil the customer chooses. This is helpful if the customer doesn't include enough margin for the punch for the coil. This level of detail won us over making proofing for our customers effortless showing exactly how the finished product will look.

Amy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Great functionality but alot of work up front

With the new system we are utilizing some of the features like business card templates where the client fills in their information and proofs it themselves before we even see it. Then its direct to print from there. Do no real work on our part is needed. We are able to do less work on the backend of things from an administrative standpoint and that takes a huge work load away from very few staff.

Pros

I love that the software integrates well with PrintSmith our printing and accounting software. The easy of using the different template options is a very simple process. Clients seem to find the navigation of the new site very user friendly and easy to use. The integration however was a very difficult item to over come. It was a very time consumer task to accomplish.

Cons

There are certainly features in the old system that would be nice to have in the new system - such as being able to drag and drop line items from one to reorganize things. It would also be very helpful if you were able to have more than 1 invoice open at a time to be able to create new orders based off multiple invoices by dragging and dropping into a new one. The integration with PrintSmith was not an easy thing - you basically had to recreate everything you had on PrintSmith again in MarketDirect StoreFront. We have spent years creating templates in PrintSmith and now having to basically recreate them again is crazy when before it was seamless. It’s also difficult that the pricing isn’t exactly the same from one platform to the other. Now we are forced to round up or down in MarketDirect instead of PrintSmiths pricing just automatically transferring.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

We were forces to switch since the shelf life had expired on the option we were using.

David

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Big positives and small negatives for us

It has definitely impacted our workflow and efficiency in a very positive way. We are a large healthcare system with lots of form inour storefront. The ability of our users to see and interact with documents when ordering is a HUGE improvement over our old "blind" ordering system. Now that jobs flow autmatically into our PrintSmith Vision system, we no longer have to do the massive amount of data entry for billing that our old system required. This saves 10-15 hours per week on the admin side of things.

Pros

Fairly easy customization of look and feel. Plenty of built in UI templates for those that can't/won't play with code. Good user management controls. We haven't any any load handling issues even with almost 2000 products and 900 users. EFI support has been responsive and proficient. Good user support forums. It has integrated well with our PrintSmith Vision install.

Cons

Redundancy of some settings. The admin interface has lots of redundacy and is cluttered and inefficient. Batch product import or creation needs a LOT more work. No ability to batch publish items to categories. No ability to create snapshots or backups of settings to revert to in case of user error. Occasional random little glitches/changes (like sort order settings or other fine detail) that pop up occasional or following an upgrade. The inability to create a job template "on the fly" when creating a product that doesn't fit an existing template.

Scott

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Long time user, and still happy.

I've been working with MDSF for over 10 years and have seen quite a bit of improvements over the years. Now it really does seem to be an exciting time to be working with it, as they have made some changes to the administration interface that will drastically improve the usability. Somethings I have been wishing for, for a long time. There might be other products that do one of the things that MDSF does well, and maybe even better, but not all of the things that MDSF does combined. We are talking about one off items, variable items, finished goods, shipping, kits and integration with different MIS.

Pros

There is quite a bit of customization and security that can be done with the interface, even with multiple storefronts. I really like some of the new changes to the administration pages, which makes it much easier to manage all of the data we have in MDSF currently. Seems like EFI sees that their customers are using it for more products than they originally had planed. We started our over 10 years ago with maybe 50 products, and now we have almost 8,000 products being offered to about 120 different storefronts.

Cons

Tech support is hard to reach at times. Especially by phone. But at least when you do, the techs are quite knowledgeable. Calculating taxes is a problem if you are selling outside of your state. But there are add-on options for that.

Jacques

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Having this storefront has been highly beneficial to ColorMark. Many orders are received everyday with very little effort. With the automation built into the system, orders are take and sent directly to Rips for printing.

Pros

Straight forward setups. You can have a client online in very little time. Connects well with Pace for ease of job tickets and inventory control. As well as bi-directional communication with all the above as well as Process shipper.

Cons

In some cases we have stores that might have more than 1000 franchises that buy through the store front. When it is necessary to make changes and it needs to be done to many of the stores there is no easy way to address this problem. Opening up one customer at a time make a change and close, way to cumbersome when you compare that to either the universal importer or pace connection, where all changes can be made in under a few minutes. Additionally, the reporting is completely non-existent. After adding individuals to a site it would be nice to download all of the data to look for errors, missed data etc. No way to do that with this software. Can't even get to the Database to download from there.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Market direct was compatible with Pace / Process Shipper and gave us more ability to add custom features.

Paul

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Mid Market Suite

There is no doubt the Market Direct Storefront is a huge time saver for us. BUT it has also opened up opportunities for clients around the world, where they wish to offer a "storefront" to their staff around the world, helping them maintain brand consistency. DSF was one of the main reasons for engaging with EFI.

Pros

The software really is end to end with full integration and automation. EFI are also very open, easy to work with and it feels like a true partnership. The solution they offer covers everything we want and need to run our business and there is a constant drive to improve, to listen to customers and work with you to ensure you are getting the most out of the product. I particularly like the integrations with our equipment and other systems, which aids automation and efficiency. And for us the connection with DSF is a real plus, enabling us to process regular orders and open up opportunities we wouldn't normally be able to fulfill.

Cons

it is a little unfair to comment on this as we are about to upgrade to the latest version, but its fair to say my biggest bug bear at present is the number of clicks. This is something I know has been addressed in the latest version. My only other grumble would be that the software can get "stuck" if you change a production method from say litho to digital within an estimate, it can sometimes take a few attempts for it to recognise the change.

Larry

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

10 year user of ever improving MSDSF

very good

Pros

Allows user and company admin access and ever improving back end with great customer support.

Cons

Nothing right now.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

more options

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

more options

Melinda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Market Direct for InPlant

We have not yet fully launched the system after having it for many years. It was purchased long before any of us that are here now began. It is my understanding that the system was launched and being used then it was learned that it was not a full MIS system. The organization then purchased another EFI product, PrintSmith to do the management functions for the shop that were desired and the integration between the 2 systems was difficult.

Pros

Unfortunately I am not yet conversant with the software. The previous employee set it all up and then left abruptly so I am not yet trained in it. It seems to work fine and I know many others that use it - however, as with most integrations, it doesn't work easily with other MIS systems such as PrintSmith Vision. We had to have programmers do things for us that it seems others would have encountered and would have been made part of the 'normal' programming of the software.

Cons

Ease of integration with other systems. Redundancy with information needed - mainly multiple price lists that have to be maintained and be consistent. For example, we must set pricing in PrintSmith, then convert the pricing structures for Digital Storefront in a way that matches - so that when a customer brings work through the on-line site, the pricing is consistent if they bring work direct to the shop and we use PrintSmith. So if we decide to update pricing in one system, we have to update it in multiple places which causes more work and more potential for errors.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

I was not part of that decision

Clayton

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Digital Storefront

Overall the usage of the MarketDirect Storefront platform is positive. We are able to easily receive orders and move them into production. We are also able to easily customize sites to fulfill different customer needs.

Pros

Overall the software is easy to use for both administrators and end users. For end users the sites are very easy to navigate and use. For administrators it is easy to customize site HTML and CSS if you have the skills, or it is easy to use the default templates if you do not. It is also easy to create and manage products, users, and user groups. We have several thousand products hosted on our sites. We are able to run our storefront job tickets into our MIS system with ease.

Cons

While the software is easy to use for basic tasks, there are issues with more high level functionality. Part of the issues we have, stem from some of the administrative menus being cluttered and confusing. There are also some settings that are only available as overall site settings, and are not customizable for individual companies. Batch uploads/changes of products needs work, as it is currently very basic and the products need further configuration after they are uploaded.

Shane

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

EFI Market Direct Store Front Review

Does the job, just wish it was less complex & time consuming to set up and the software ran quicker so I don't spend so long waiting on screen redraws.

Pros

Loads of functionality, looks good to end users when set up properly. Lots of new features on the horizon. Relatively easy to go through the ordering process for end users.

Cons

Complex and time consuming to set up. Missing some features that competitor software has had for years. Inability to turn some features off which detracts from the overall user experience. Can be glitchy at times. Compared to what we were using it can be sluggish in performance. Takes way too long to get suggested improvements developed and into the software. Would be really handy to have two way communication with our estimating system (Printsmith Vision)

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

We didn't get a choice, it was decided by our Head Office

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Pressense ended up going broke and the Zenith system had some limitations with funding R&D to keep it relative and functional to software that was being offered off the the shelf by companies such as EFI

Rex

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Educational Printing and Partner Printing

Overall has been a great asset to our organization.

Pros

This resolved a deficiency in our order management and billing and revamped how we control job flow to individual printers as well as divisions. Also assist is our supply orders for a large multi location campus. Also centralized most of our functions into one location

Cons

Original trainers did not stay with company very long and also had a tendency to do things themselves instead of training us how to do, so we ended up needing to contact service or train ourselves to figure out what they did. Site is customizable but needs a someone who understands causality of why each section works with the other for system to work. Accounting system could use work. Though you can customize report content there is need to still rework the reports after being run to meet comptrollers requirements.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Bought Through RICOH who recommented.

Ganesh

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Dynamic Views

Its a great value added system for printing company, I've been using Market Direct for 5 years and its really help in the digital printing environment. Less touching point and save a lot of time with Fiery integration

Pros

The dynamic preview before buying a print product, Client love to see how the customize product look like before ordering.

Cons

Lack of reporting and doesn't integrate with Australian shipping companies and can't connect to external DAM

Don

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

digital storefront not updating...

i have had terrible luck trying to get my site updated and have finally given up. this is the second time i have come to this point and the last time it cost me $8,000 for professional services, on top of the yearly maintenance. i'll be switching over to another company at this point and reteaching how jobs are to be submitted to our shop.

Pros

i have been using this software since August 8, 2008 in a fully operational JDF workflow that is the envy of every print shop that's visited. Digital Storefront and our JDF workflow made it possible for our very small shop to output a TREMENDOUS AMOUNT of small jobs very efficiently for both our customers and my staff.

Cons

buggy updates while updating our self hosted site.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

i am not choosing marketplace. i am choosing to go with another vendor at this point because of not getting the support needed to get marketplace up and running.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

outgrew what we had.

ROBERT

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

MDSF REview

I've had a smaller learning curve than most who would take this website platform on because of my web background... I would imagine this would be a very difficult platform to learn without intense training or vast experience. But, the platform is very robust and offers a ton of cool features for the printing industry, so i say A- overall.

Pros

How seamless the backend and front end integrate between smart canvas products and the Categories. Lots of options for usage and sale of different products. I also like the admin control and the user based permissions. I was able to get a new client storefront up and products ready in just a day or so. The client was very pleased.

Cons

Yes, we've had lots of trouble with the Monarch integration, and our accounting dept. is not pleased with reports tools or how credit card systems are sometimes buggy.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Company made decision before they hired me.

Crystal

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

StoreFront is Great for Internal Print Shop

It took us a LONG TIME to get the StoreFront set up for our print shop. This is mostly because we couldn't fully focus on the building and deployment of the software, it was just another duty on our lists of things to do. We have now moved our billing to be fulling connected to the StoreFront, which has cut down on time for processing billing monthly and it has made ordering easier for our customers. We eliminated paper work orders.

Pros

The software is very customizable in regards to images and building your products.

Cons

There are too many updates in between full release updates. This makes it difficult to keep up with. This also causes some admin features to be hidden and difficult to find.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

We had already been introduced to the StoreFront and XmPie was quite expensive. Plus we would have had to redo everything we had already done to get our current storefront live in another platform.

Elizabeth

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Implementation During a Pandemic

We haven't had MDSF for very long but it is helping our unit streamline job orders and keep track of all incoming orders. It has also made the process easier for our customers to place and track orders.

Pros

I like how easily I can edit the site and how much I can edit. I've used services in the past where the company had full control over the ordering site and we had to call them every time we wanted to update or change anything and it really didn't work out for us.

Cons

I don't like that Market Direct Store Front and Print Smith Vision are very different from each other but expected to work together. It would be nice if MDSF was redesigned to match PSV better or at least integrate better. I felt like after setting up PSV I spent hours setting up the same stuff in MDSF. Very few things translate from PSV to MDSF.

Reasons for choosing EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Xerox won our printer contract and they included EFI. In the public sector we don't get to choose products. Contracts are awarded through a bid system.

Reasons for switching to EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Software was included with our printer lease and our lease for our old printers was up. The company who won the bid process offered EFI.

Showing 1 - 25 of 100 reviews
EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

4.1/5 out of 100 reviews
PriceDemo