All Avanan Reviews

1-25 of 49 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Travis

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Cant Get Any Better

Overall using Avanan has been beneficial to my organization eliminating spam and notable Phishing attempts fast.

PROS

The product is super easy to use, it is very informative and reactive in terms of triage and trauma.

CONS

I wish they had a cell phone app for readiness.

Reasons for switching to Avanan

I hate the previous product, did not meet the requirements my organization was looking for.

Sean

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Game changing email security and mitigation!

Overall experience is that we are very pleased with this product. It's rarely problematic and we have no issues getting responses and results from their tech support. Our business lives in emails, so getting safe but timely emails is critical to our business. Having Avanan assist us on the human side with their team of professionals takes the pressure from me to manage quarantined and reported emails. Avanan does it all for me. DLP has also been well automated. Our current setup warns and gate-checks any outbound PII and PCI, automatically forcing EUs to think twice before divulging sensitive data. At a management level, I can easily keep an eye out for possibly leaks.

PROS

It is fairly intuitive to use, integration was well supported and they are responsive and communicative when it matters. In a business such as ours that relies on email, this product cuts down on the noise a great deal, allowing us to focus more on business. Support is extremely responsive and they seem very focused on pleasing their customers. The system is swift to pass through data, so we see very little to no degradation of email delivery speeds. The management of questionable emails or DLP is easily decided by end users, almost in real time or by IT management - depending on your easily customizable setup.

CONS

Avanan has still not implemented the ability to simply block by TLD extension, such as .jp or .cn . Their UI can be a little unwieldly at times, but that said they are keen on improving their product and very responsive to user feedback.

Reason for choosing Avanan

Avanan made a compelling case for their product and - more importantly - followed through on their promises.

JACOB

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Email Security that works

PROS

Avanan catches most spam before the end user gets a chance to see it. The whitelist and blacklist rules are fast and easy to set up on the fly.

CONS

Querying for emails can be clunky. Certain times it simply won't produce results though I'm sure I have the correct flags set.

John

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Avanan: Takes some time to dial in, but once done, Whoooa Moma!

The interface is very straight-forward, and allows you access to powerful features out of the gate such as rules-based policies that can be changed per mailbox; I really like being able to create custom queries, save those queries and then use them to check on emails and how the policies are dealing with them. I'm also a large fan of how I can change an email and release or quarantine and email that is mistakenly released. Before I'd have to go and use PowerShell scripts I wrote to deal with all of these tasks and that takes forever. Login Events, analytics, and the ability to inspect email in the cloud without having to download are all killer-app functionality that is implemented flawlessly. When I've run into issues, Support has been very quick to respond and as such, even the Tech Support Manager has gotten on calls with us to support us, and make sure all is dialed in as well as possible and tuned for us. All in all, I can't rave more about Avanan. Better price-point then competitors and much much easier to work with. If you want to be able to implement in under 15 minutes, THIS is the platform for your business.

PROS

Avanan took legitimately less than 10 minutes to set up for our trial, and hooking it into Office365 was easy and straight-forward. Unlike competitive products that we looked at that have intermediaries that can be snooped and then gamed by Threat Actors, there is no outward signal to the "Bad Guys" that you are deploying Avanan.

CONS

Tuning will take a little bit of time, but this is the "Nature of the Beast" in Security.

Reason for choosing Avanan

Cost, ease of use and security that was inline instead of replacement

Omar

Plastics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Avanan: Best in Class Customer Service, Products, and Features

Before Avanan, we had no additional security for our Office 365 environment. Avanan was an option that was easily implemented and immediately started producing results with phishing and malware hits. The amount of stuff that Avanan has caught for us makes me wonder how much stuff was getting through before with the standard O365 protection and ATP. The major benefit to us as a company was protecting us from phishing, malware, or ransomware threats. This allows us to keep our business continuity without interruption. I recommend looking at Avanan in consideration for your Office 365 platform. It is an understatement to say the program is easy to use, and it powerful and useful. I have had a near perfect level of accuracy when it comes to hits on malicious emails. I will absolutely be using them again if I were to ever move to a different job or company.

PROS

The program installed pretty much instantly with zero interference to our Office 365 Environment. The program itself is very robust and has a lot of cool features and they continue to add more as each update comes out. It has a very clean and intuitive user interface and it very easy to pick up on everything after your initial training session. There is also a level of customization to the menus and to the interfaces. When creating custom queries there are hundreds of options and it will take time and practice to learn them all. However, you can submit any question to the customer support team, and they will answer anything you throw at them and help you understand. I also like that it is API based. It works in conjunction with the standard office 365 security features, instead of replacing them and rendering them useless, like the other popular solutions on the market. This makes for a faster and more efficient experience in my opinion and from what I have seen.

CONS

I honestly can't think of any major dislikes or complaints. Any time I have had any issues or questions, I have been able to get it resolved or I have been able to get an answer form the support team.

Reason for choosing Avanan

I chose Avanan because of the affordable pricing Not only was it low cost, but it was a very strong performing product with several powerful features. It is also easy to use and implementation was near instant. I liked that it is API based and works inline with any existing security as opposed to circumventing the base Office 365 security features and ATP.

Rick

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Avanan - Game Changer

Avanan has been a game changer, we are an Accounting firm that has documents flying around all day when not being used via portal. We have clients/ contacts that are regularly compromised and we have been recipients of phishing / malware injected emails that have been stopped by Avanan. It is the best platform I have used in my 20 year I.T career.

PROS

Game changing setup being behind Office 365 without having to change MX records or disable / bypass using the security tools with Office 365. Think of it as adding a bigger turbo to your car, bolt on and go! Detonating attachments in cloud, amazing phishing engine, and extremely easy to setup and use. Less than 30 mins to setup.

CONS

I have had zero bad experiences or poor experience with anyone from Avanan's team or the product.

Reason for choosing Avanan

Not having to bypass Office 365 security, ease of use and setup, no DNS MX record change, detonation of attachments and scanning of links. Back in 2016, these tools were unheard of.

Nick

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Advanced email security done right!

We had been experiencing a large number of phishing attempts for a long time, but once COVID-19 hit, those attempts increased significantly in number. It was getting to be too much to manage, knowing that if one user clicks a bad link, it could results in a security incident. While we provide continual security awareness training, I'd MUCH rather prevent them from receiving the emails to begin with and have to think about how to respond to them. Since we implemented Avanan, we have only had a handful of emails that users have requested to be released from quarantine. Our administrative burden has been significantly reduced. It just woks.

PROS

Avanan is almost too good to be true. It literally takes just minutes to install, it learns quickly, and it has effectively reduced my team's time dealing with responding to phishing attempts by near 90%. It was shocking to see truly how many email threats make it through O365's "filtering". Avanan helps me sleep better at night. What more can you ask than that?

CONS

My only dislike is, honestly, that I didn't learn about Avanan sooner.

Reasons for switching to Avanan

Office 365's filtering let an alarming amount of harmful emails through to end users

Steve

Warehousing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Email filtering that works - Avanan

Well if you want to discuss the implementation... it was less than 5 minutes and closer to 3 minutes to setup. My systems will continue to learn over time with the AI capabilities but, in general, it is a service which is what I expect to pay for and not have to do the work for the solution.

PROS

I would have to say the simplicity of use is the "most liked". I do not want a solution which I have to babysit or maintain. I wanted a solution which works out-of-the-box and continues to protect. That is Avanan.

CONS

Overall there is nothing which comes to mind, as "like least", as the solution is much easier to operate and more accurate than my prior solution.

Reasons for switching to Avanan

Mimecast, although another good solution, it was overly complicated and required too much maintenance. In addition, the cost were much higher for the software and team required to support it.

John

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Avanan - Great Product For Phishing Protection

Overall experience has been excellent, once set up properly it is amazingly seamless to operate.

PROS

Ease of use and transparent reporting. When properly configured most tasks can be done without leaving the Avanan interface. Dashboard is clean and informative and product integrates cleanly into GSuite for all us K-12 people out there.

CONS

It took a little bit to get the product configured properly and it took a few phone calls with support. Around the same time Google was making changes to their APIs so while set up took a bit longer it likely was not Avanans fault.

Reason for choosing Avanan

Better integration with cloud based service + no hardware onsite to maintain.

Patrick

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Very Effective Email Security Solution

Very good. POC was easy to setup and insightful. The product works well.

PROS

The solution is very simple to setup and works based on API integration rather than MX records. This means testing and setting up is a breeze.This solution has proved to be almost a set and forget type solution. Reducing almost 90% of our phishing attacks without much manual intervention needed.

CONS

I would like some of the SIEM integrations to work a bit better. There are a few predefined integrations but which I do not use.

Reason for choosing Avanan

It fit the criteria of being an API based solution instead of gateway based. It also was the solution requiring the least amount of ongoing administration.

Gabriel

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Eradicate phishing emails and track suspicious login activity all in one platform

We had an ongoing issue with phishing emails bypassing Office 365 filters and transport rules and a number of our staff would click on these phishing emails and subsequently have their accounts compromised. This has been virtually eradicated since we have been on the Avanan platform. With so many platforms to deal with, we're happy that anti-phishing has become almost a set it and forget it process.

PROS

My initial impression with Avanan was fantastic as I was able to get fully provisioned on their platform within 24 hours. We first started with a trial/POC that gave us insight on how the service would work; we decided to initially go with the service for a year. We have been very pleased with the results. The service detects virtually all phishing attempts and quarantines the email. We set up several policies in an intuitive manner to deal with certain types of email. We also have the ability to get alerted on anamolies that Avanan detects as well as being able to delete a particular email out of all mailboxes. But those outstanding features take a backseat to their support team. I measure a company's competency and confidence in their product by how good their support team is, and I have to say they are amazing. They respond to my initial inquiry within a few hours typically; their support team is very knowledgeable and kind and willing to explain what process they are going through to resolve an issue. You can have every confidence that if there is an issue on the platform or a particular licensed feature you want to configure, the Avanan team will get you up and running quickly and professionally.

CONS

Nothing really comes to mind. There are very rare instances where I will get a phishing email that bypasses their engine, but after reporting it to Avanan's support team, they submit these particular emails into their algorithm to prevent those emails from rearing their ugly heads again.

Andrew

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

World class product

All around success and exceptional experience.

PROS

Avanan is a high quality product that delivers tremendous value for an organizations anti-phishing and email security endeavors. Easy to use and great support team as well.

CONS

No major issues. I look forward to Avanan adopting a mobile UI and app.

Reason for choosing Avanan

Blown away by PoC, support team and price.

Reasons for switching to Avanan

Ineffective and costly product.

george

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Avanan Highly Recommended

We've had great success using Avanan as one of our security layers for email. The fact that Avanan sits infront of Microsoft ATP filter is great as it gives us capabilities that other security solutions can't offer. We've also found that ATP, Proofpoint, and Mimecast don't capture everything, and it's great to increase our security posture by layering different solutions to work in tadem, and Avanan is a great addition

PROS

The modular "a la carte" design and ability to choose between multiple security vendors to suit the organization's needs while providing an effective security layer to one of the largest attack vectors today - email.

CONS

The web gui is not very intuitive and can be a little tricky to drill into at times

Reason for choosing Avanan

We trialed many security products and during our testing we had great results with Avanan, especially since it's inline with O365

William

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

A Great Produt for its Value

Overall, my experience has been very positive. The support is great and again they have a habit of listening and making changes.

PROS

I very much enjoy how the application is API based instead of working as a MX record. This can complicate things and makes it easy when needed to bypass and just have e-mail sent out directly to users should issues arise. (Instead of having to wait for MX records to be changed.) The interface is well-made and fairly intuitive and Avanan has a good habit of taking advise when issues or delays are noticed when using there interface.

CONS

The whitelist does not always work. Users receiving messages from multiple domains with the same name have a habit of getting caught even when whitelisted.

Aaron

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Avanan Email Security is Awesome!

I love Avanan. We have had no issues with their service. The few false positives we get are reviewed and allowed. There aren't any issues that require constant support. Everyone I've talked to at Avanan, from the sales rep to the support guys have all been very helpful and able to help me out.

PROS

Avanan was easy to setup. An onboarding specialist walks you through the process and helps configure the settings that you need. Avanan is very affordable. And best of all, it stops all phishing and malicious emails from getting through to my users. We have not had a security issue since implementing it. Before Avanan, we were getting hundreds of phishing, malicious and scam emails a day. Now they are all caught by Avanan's filters and my users don't see any of them. I no longer worry about someone getting their credentials stolen or clicking on a link they weren't supposed to through email.

CONS

Nothing. It just works. And if you need support for something, they respond via email within minutes. Excellent service!

Reason for choosing Avanan

I first heard of Avanan at a security tradeshow. There were other products I was interested in that added security to our email. But I didn't know of any solutions that did what Avanan did at that cost. So it was the only choice for me and I don't regret it.

Juan

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Avanan Works

We are solving a lot of our phishing and email malware problems. I use it on a daily basis and can definitely see it blocking harmful content that would otherwise end up on our users' mailboxes.

PROS

What I like most is the ease of use and support. It is fairly easy for me to find something in the Dashboard and when I do have a question or require support, Avanan's team is quick to answer. I also like that you can add or remove security services. The ones available are reputable ones.

CONS

The only thing I wish Avanan could do is strip emails from our users' mailboxes in the event a bad email made it through to multiple users. It would just make it quicker to prevent them from seeing it. Avanan does, however, have the ability to quarantine emails in groups so that is a good work around that.

Reason for choosing Avanan

Avanan integrated very well with our G-Suite infrastructure, it was easy to deploy, support is great, and their team checks up on us often to ensure we as customers have our questions answered and to inform us of new features that they are rolling out.

Bill

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY