All Automox Reviews

1-25 of 72 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Nathan

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Finally a software deployment tool that just works

We had a very successful POC which showed how much time we would be saving using their platform. Automox can automatically deploy patches endpoints need for OS or third-party applications. I'm also very excited about the features they will be adding to their platform.

PROS

I love how responsive the product is for being agent-based. Multi-platform support makes it easy to use one product for your patching and software deployment needs. Automatic scanning which uncovers which patches are needed for installed applications/OS. Their live dashboard makes it easy to determine the level of compliance. Their built-in live chat makes it easy to connect with Support to resolve issues.

CONS

Their current reporting makes for troubleshooting deployment issues difficult sometimes but their support is top-notch and I've been told this is being addressed as is on their roadmap.

Reason for choosing Automox

Automox proved to be the most solid all-around product. Patching user endpoints was definitely a pain point for our organization but Automox made the process much easier.

Reasons for switching to Automox

We needed the ability to deploy custom packages to remote endpoints.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review, Nathan! We're glad to hear you're having a great experience with Automox. Reporting updates are absolutely on the roadmap. Stay tuned for exciting reporting updates coming soon!

Replied November 2019

Cory

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Simple and safe patching solution. Glad I went with Automox

Support team is awesome and fast to respond. Customer care team is good on checking in and making sure you have what you need. Fairly informative on new features and downtimes are next to nothing with Automox.

PROS

I like that the time the time to implement Automox and how easy it is to use was the biggest pro to Automox. Within 4 hours I had our entire server environment ready to patch and get caught up after our last patching solution had been pulled for over 4 months.

CONS

Only hard part with Automox is writing worklets and understanding how it works and what permissions the agent has to the machine to make registry changes or deploying non standard software to the machine.

Reason for choosing Automox

Ease of use and time to implement.

Reasons for switching to Automox

MSP ditched us and we needed to find a new solution that we could maintain.

Joshua

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

The next generation of patch management

PROS

It offers patching from the cloud. Our endpoints do not need to be connected to our corporate network for us to be able to scan and patch them.

CONS

AutoMox is a new company and they are still innovating. There are some features we were used to from other patch management software that they have yet to implement.

Jimmy

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2023

Almost but not quite there yet

PROS

Easy deployment and patching, able to do integrations

CONS

not a good rmm tool and not quite there yet with its reporting functions

John

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

Automox - 2 years in

Overall we use it to track and push patches for Windows and 3rd party and we use it to push software. The software push capability is especially nice since we are able to push anything that can be done in Powershell to the client, even if they are remote.

PROS

The Automox console is very easy to use and navigate. If you are a Powershell junkie you will love the software push capability through PS. It does a great job of keeping track of clients outside my network.

CONS

There are many times when we have to reboot a machine just to get it to show as compatible again. It works well but sometimes we have to do the reboots on 30 machines to get them to all show up.

Reason for choosing Automox

Price and ease of use

Reasons for switching to Automox

Ivanti was way too complicated and expensive.

Marc

Law Practice, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Save time and make your clients happy!

My experience has been nothing short of AWESOME!

PROS

I love the amount of time we save keeping our systems updated and secure and confident that the latest security patches have been applied.

CONS

Can't really think of any negatives. There are a few features missing that could help streamline patch nights but they are not critical pieces.

Reason for choosing Automox

Easier to configure and implement. Latest features have made (policy cloning etc.) have made maintaining a stable patch cadence much easier.

Reasons for switching to Automox

We wanted a cloud solution where we could still manage patching even when we had internal networking issues.

Benjamin

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Amazing tool

I couldn't see us ever not using it. we have offices situated around the world and now with home users it gives us a central control platfrom to update, deploy and amend devices regardless of their locations.

PROS

Being able to patch any machine and pretty much any app from anywhere, what isn't there to like as an IT admin. We previously used SCCM and that always depended on VPN or being on a network or when the schedule was, which meant our machines were always out of date. With Automox we don't have that issue. Also we can deploy apps and config to devices more efficiently than even SCCM or Autopilot.

CONS

The remote access component could be a great integration, but we haven't found it reliable.

Reason for choosing Automox

Just a far superior product, nicer interface, and the staff were really nice.

Reasons for switching to Automox

unreliable and not efficient in it's patching and app depolyment.

Benjamin

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Game changer

Fantastic. Really, really great product. It does all you need it to and more.

PROS

Easy to use, easy to deploy, patch everything on your laptops. Create worklets to do anything on your machines. No matter where they are or where you are.This application helped to reduce vulnerabilities on our estate from 10,000's to 100's. we were using SCCM but would never leave Automox now.Great support and really well priced.

CONS

They have a new feature for remote access that was good, it uses VNC. only issue was you could only connect to one machine at a time. No IT person only connects to one machine at a time! so if they can change it to multiple machines then I might be interested in taking that option.

Reason for choosing Automox

Just better than the others, better priced, nicer UI, and nothing has changed my opinion since signing up.

Mike

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Automox

Outstanding. Product has done exactly what is advertised (patch management) at a fair price. Support has also been great for the few times I had needed to reach out. They stayed on top of the ticket until it was resolved.

PROS

As a very small department with hundreds of computers with various software packages installed, I needed a way to top-down see the patch cadence. Automox was quick to deploy and quick to start getting results that I could take action on.

CONS

The core patch anagement features are great, but since there's an agent there may be some additional capability that could be added: Send message to user, shutdown computer, uninstall software, etc.

Reason for choosing Automox

Price and demo trial period felt closer to what I was looking for.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review Mike! We do actually have the ability to do the things you listed in the Cons section using the Worklets feature. Check out the Worklets category on our community where we have Worklets to send messages, shut down computers and remove unwanted software. If you need help getting a Worklet written to accomplish a task, please reach out to us and we're happy to help.

Replied May 2020

Chris

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Excellent patch management tool, that needs better dashboards and integrations.

It's been a blessing, especially now all our workers are allowed to work remotely as much as they like. Without it, we'd have a real problem managing patches and enforcing certain system settings that used to require a VPN connection (sometimes rarely connected) or being in the office.

PROS

It's really easy to use and configure, which is great when you're a small team with a limited budget, but the thing I love most is that it's cross-platform, so we don't need 3 or 4 tools, scripts, or manual updates to manage all different Operating Systems and applications we use.

CONS

The dashboard is, well, pretty ugly, and doesn't really offer any customisation. I'd love to see UI update and custom charts based off search criteria.

Reason for choosing Automox

Cost and ease of use. It needed to be manageable internally without requiring a load of consultancy to set up and keep going.

John

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Streamlining and simplifying our patching strategy in a "Do More with Less" world.

Automox has significantly reduced our time it takes to patch our systems. We also are patching additional risks that were difficult to cover with other products. The result: A better security position for the company based on the risk reports we present to our executive leadership and risk committees.

PROS

This product is easy to configure, distribute, and use. It has cut down our patching cycle significantly, plus it doesn't require babysitting like many other solutions on the market. The biggest "like" though is that it has significantly reduced the risk of our company based on the reports we run from our vulnerability scanning.

CONS

UI continues to need some improvement; however, they do publish updates regularly.

Reason for choosing Automox

We were also using Ivanti at the time to some degree, but the product is a bit of a train wreck as it is similar to a teenager's room. It gets out of control and is difficult to manage. It is also very resource heavy. I only have so many personnel resources I can use, so we needed a solution that was easy to implement and use.

Reasons for switching to Automox

We still use PDQ for system configuration management which it absolutely shines at, but it is lacking on patch management and execution. We are still avid PDQ users in that CM space.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review, John! Time to patch is a critical metric we believe more organizations need to understand and act on to ensure they're reducing security gaps. We agree that the UI needs some attention, and we've been actively working on some pretty cool updates. Stay tuned!

Replied November 2019

User Profile

Alan

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Set it and forget it!

10/10 would roll this product out everytime someone needs to do automated patch management for small/medium businesses.

PROS

Worklets feature is extreme useful for running scripts against your assets. This saved me big time with rolling out upgrades of AV software that were not exactly Big Sur ready. Automox is still rapidly building and evolving their product to meet the needs of the community and progress is very transparent. If they decided to go into the MDM space for mac management, that would double their value proposition.

CONS

The scheduling is still relatively naive, it will reboot your computer during a zoom because there's no "benefit of the doubt" if you miss their pop-up notifications. There's no way to do bandwidth capping for downloads. There doesn't seem to be any uninstall prevention.

Reason for choosing Automox

Pricing and ease of rollout.

Abhilash

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Perfect for mixed environments

I wish I had signed up for Automox earlier. It has reduced my department's overhead regarding maintaining updates quite a bit.

PROS

Where to start -- > Easy deployment > Can be used as a basic inventory management system > Integrates with Crowdstrike Falcon > Windows computers no longer need to be in the network to receive updates from the server > Can be used to replace Jamf for Macs since this handles Mac updates as well > Other than OS updates, Automox updates many apps like Adobe, Zoom, Webex as well > Excellent admin interface and dashboard

CONS

Not necessarily a con, but I would like a note/remark option under each computer so that I can add notes or encryption keys

Reasons for switching to Automox

Did not provide consistent updating experience. Mac updates very too complicated

Danny

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Awesome product

Automox is the first patch management software I've used that I can trust to get the job done without babysitting. That said I did take 4 months of babysitting to prove to myself that I can finally relax, a little, and not worry about the job getting done.

PROS

Fast, Reliable, easy to configure and very easy to use.

CONS

The only issue I've seen so far, not really a problem just an annoyance, is when you sort by "Group Membership" it sorts the pages separately instead of truly sorting by the column. Like I said, just annoying.

Reason for choosing Automox

After completing a 25 machine trial for 30 days I was convinced this is the product for us.

Reasons for switching to Automox

Reliability!!!

Vendor Response

Hi Danny! Thank you for your awesome feedback. We hear on you on your frustrations with around group membership sorting have it on our roadmap to solve! Glad to hear you like our product and it's very easy to use!

Replied November 2019

Corey

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Possibilities are endless - Not just an update platform

It's been a delight working with the software and the Automox team themselves. They're a great bunch that truly understands the needs of their customers. Solid A+

PROS

Windows Updates were our only priority when finding a solution, but once I realized the potential of what they had on their roadmap... I was hooked. Windows Updates/Software Patch Management/Custom policies/Reporting/Live dashboard.... It is a hefty tool that I plan to take advantage of as long as possible. They're always improving and adding features, and they take customer feedback very seriously. I've seen features fixed/updated or even features I've suggested on their roadmap within a week of discussing.

CONS

Originally, dashboard performance was hit/miss. It has improved a lot since then, and they're still working on further improving performance.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for the feedback, Corey! We appreciate the grade on our work and are excited to hear your experience has been excellent! We are constantly improving performance and are glad to see you noticed as well as the features we add. We're excited for the future and to work more with happy users like yourself.

Replied June 2019

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Game Changer!

I found Automox at a conference and purchased about two weeks later. The team has been great to work with and stayed in touch, unlike so many others that disappear into the night after the PO is signed.

PROS

It took me nearly 20 years in I.T. to finally find a patch/update solution that I liked and that actually worked. In most simple terms...Automox just works! Setting up Automox itself was trivial. Installing the client is one of the easiest clients. After that...check in periodically, approve patches, and rest easy...because for once you know your systems are actually patched. Plus you have reporting for management without any extra effort.

CONS

It needs to grow more. Right now it still doesn't support 100% of our software, including some heavily used well-know titles. Support for other software needs to grow by at least 10x if it's going to have a chance to succeed. The software deployment piece also has some kinks to work out.

Vendor Response

That's for the great feedback! We agree that supported software needs improvement and are actively working on it! If you're open to it, please send our Support team (support@automox.com) the software titles you would like to see as it can help us prioritize our list.

Replied June 2019

Eric

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Out of sight, out of mind

We went from having servers and workstations that may or may not be current with updates, to not having to worry about it any longer.

PROS

Once Automox is set up, it is very easy to manage. All systems are kept current with little to no required actions by our IT staff. Adding new systems is as easy as installing a small client.

CONS

Automox is very powerful, so there are some features that seem complicated to set up. I feel that once those features were set up, the comfortability level would go up making them seem less daunting.

Reason for choosing Automox

Cost, ease of use.