All BlackBerry CylancePROTECT Reviews

1-25 of 65 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Brian

Verified reviewer

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Ignore the marketing hype, for endpoint protection this is the real deal

I have a significant number of users out in the field with limited or no edge protection, so a cloud based endpoint solution is an obvious first step. With a traditional AV client that includes web filtering, which we also have, I would consider those endpoints EXTREMELY vulnerable. Even with excellent email filtering, which we also have, there are just too many things that can go horribly wrong. With three years experience and NO compromised endpoints, I can focus on other security layers instead of faffing around fixing endpoints.

PROS

In the three years we've been protecting our endpoints with CylancePROTECT, we have had ZERO incidents across ~250 endpoints. I have tested the Cylance client against true zero day attacks, not recognized on VirusTotal, shared with me by an MSP friend. He has had many clients compromised by ransomware, several more than once, with nuke/pave/restore for the entire organization being the typical response. When I throw attacks against old-build agents, and those attacks are obliterated, it helps me sleep better at night. I don't see these attacks in my environment, hence the testing. The endpoint is the focus of the last line of defense, so PROTECT is critical in my security posture.

CONS

In comparison to traditional signature-based (useless) AV, CylancePROTECT and CylanceOPTICS seems expensive. That's why my MSP pal doesn't have his SMB clients on this product, they can't comprehend the value proposition of something so different to what they're familiar with. I guess that's why the marketing initiatives can seem a little over the top, it's hard to get the idea across when some hater says "doesn't detect EICAR!"

Simha

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

Script Blocking and Machine Learning is CylancePROTECT's Strength

Very pleased.

PROS

Easy to deploy and manage policies across 1000s of assets in the corporate network. Has coverage for various OS platforms, including Windows, Linux, and macOS. Can perform bulk quarantine across all hosts for a known threat. Whitelist or exclusion is easy to setup. A user friendly console for reporting and oversight dashboard for threat trends and malware families.

CONS

Some times results in false positive for the script module and could get tricky to manage exceptions if one is not fully aware of the gaps they can introduce by simply whitelisting system paths where most malware run. Could include real-time sandbox capabilities like other competing products in the market

Reason for choosing BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Cost and implementation challenges. Required features were covered by CylancePROTECT

Reasons for switching to BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

For EDR capabilities and increased malware infections

Brendan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2020

CylanceProtect was great. Blackberry Protect? Not so much.

PROS

CylanceProtect was by all accounts, the best endpoint protection on the market. It provided outstanding protection for all our Windows and Mac endpoints.

CONS

Since Blackberry bought them in 2019, the "merging" of the two companies has been clumsy. The Cylance website dashboard was clean and somewhat easy to use. The Blackberry website looks like it was designed by someone who still uses a Blackberry mobile phone. Mac OS Big Sur is being released this week, and the endpoint client for it (that really should have been released with Catalina) is still not available. False positives for Adobe CS updates seem endless. I'll be looking at alternative options when our licensing expires next summer.

Reason for choosing BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Simplicity and class-leading reputation.

Reasons for switching to BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Wanted more advanced UI endpoint security.

Chris

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

This product will save your backside!

Extremely positive. We recommend using a MSSP to help manage the product (EDR service) for best protection.

PROS

Very easy to deploy the application to endpoints, cloud management is easy to use and mange deployment. The product is very configurable to customize to your needs. Malware detection and removal is outstanding.

CONS

Trying to configure the policies on your own can be a challenge, be sure to acquire the product from a MSSP to ensure you set it up right and have ongoing support.

Reason for choosing BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Product performance and price.

Reasons for switching to BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Product worked the best, was easy to use, and allowed for a very sophisticated deployment model with out complications.

Chris

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Great protection and effective

Overall, I am very pleased and this software seems to work great. I do wish there were some more EDR capabilities with this software however.

PROS

With Cylance I feel that my organization is safely protected against all threats and we have never had an issue in three plus years using this. It is very easy to install and has a very small footprint which makes it nice for our PCs.

CONS

Creating policies and exclusions is a bit clunky but once you figure it out it's okay. It can also have many false positives which are easily maintained through the portal.

Reason for choosing BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

We wanted to utilize the new technology such as AI contained within new antivirus software.

Reasons for switching to BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

We were seeking a next-gen antivirus for our organization.

CRAIG

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Does a good job

Positive. We are getting more formalized about security in our company, and BlackBerry Cylance is a good partner in this effort.

PROS

I feel our systems are well protected with BlackBerry (formerly Cylance) Protect (and Optics).

CONS

The setup is a little complex (policies, zones, rules, etc.), but is not really unlike other similar products.

Reason for choosing BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Cost, ease of implementation, minimal CPU load

Tonia

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Cylance Review

Blackberry Cylance Protect is very light weight and does not impact the PC's performance. It uses AI and seems to do a great job. It would be nice if they also had a feature for the Firewall settings.

PROS

Blackberry Cylance Protect is very light weight and very powerful.

CONS

does not offer any enhanced firewall settings

Reason for choosing BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Blackberry Cylance Protect is very light weight and has very little impact on my environment.

User Profile

Stella

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

CylancePROTECT is ideal to eliminate threats (virus, spam)

We manage to eliminate and maintain our devices free of all types of threats and at a considerably low cost. Cylance works perfectly to block and eliminate viruses and spam. It is very fast and scalable.

PROS

Cylance is very effective to block any type of virus and spam. Cylance is ideal to keep the devices free of threats. It has a very fast and simple installation. We had no delay at the time of installing CylancePROTECT. In general, Cylance is a very fast, safe and effective product that works in multiple operating systems.

CONS

Some users report problems with support. They have problems because it is necessary for the support to have more information (more technical notes are missing).

User Profile

Cameron

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

The best hands down

Cylance bridges the gap that other antivirus fail to. No more on demand scanning and periodic scanning of your PC. Cylance runs in the background like your PCs own personal security team. It is always scanning to make sure your completely protected at all times.

PROS

I like the fact that is does antivirus different from all of the rest. It makes you feel so much more protected than with other solutions. Because of this our computers are the most protected things in the office and it has prevented an unlimited number of attacks for us

CONS

There isnt anything I dislike about it this product

User Profile

Doug

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

great next generation protection software

We plan to leave traditional AV software behind and proactively prevent ransomware, spyware, etc.

PROS

Prevention is utilized rather than reaction (which is what the AntiVirus applications are doing). This a welcome alternative.

CONS

Not a simple way to uses your own policy to become the default policy for new devices added to the network.

Jack

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

AI Based Incredible AV

Very Positive, I believe this is the future of antivirus/antimalware.

PROS

Previously our organization used Trend Micro for our AV solution. The problem with signature based solutions is they can be easily defeated. We suffered from infections that were detected after it was too late, such as ransomware, since there is a lag between the release of malware and the updated signatures to detect them. Upon installing Cylance, we have not had a single infection.. ever. It can dissect what a program is going to do based on an AI algorithm and determine before it runs if it is malicious. Another big bonus is you don't run background scans, Cylance runs one initial background scan and then only scans realtime items when they open.. it's ram/processor footprint is incredibly small and is very easy to install.

CONS

It is more expensive than traditional AV, but it's the most important security function on any system. You pay for what you get. The initial setup is different than traditional AV, you must run it in test mode to catch false positives and whitelist scripting folders. It has certain restrictions to folders or files with full control from the "everyone" security group.

Reasons for switching to BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Poor results from previous software

Pedro

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

PCI-DSS Compliant Solution for a fair price

We decide to use Cylance after moving for a PCI-DSS scenario. From all the Top Tier solutions, cylance was the easiest to deploy, the most reliable, affordable solution for us.

PROS

High grade detection for Zero day Threats, Easy to deploy and User, Support Team very good.

CONS

The support team only use enlish language, this can be hard for some teams.

Reasons for switching to BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Not a very good solution.

blair

Construction, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

CylanceProtect really works.

I have never had a problem with it and from time to time I have used it stacked with other security related software without any conflicts.

PROS

-AI based detection. -Respectable/reputable Canadian company. -Set and forget protection.

CONS

-Occasional false positive on more obscure software. But it is easy to set global policies to remedy this.

Reason for choosing BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

It has a proven track record and is implemented in thousands of businesses.

Reasons for switching to BlackBerry CylancePROTECT

Wanted a lighter product with proprietary AI detection.

corina

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Primal application to detect and prevent attacks in your organization.

I do not have negative aspects, since it is a very well elaborated software, with guarantees of feasibility and adaptation in each company.

PROS

* It is an excellent application because it is based on an artificial intelligence system, which makes it a predictive, fast and efficient unit when detecting an intrusion before reaching its final point. * Warns, evaluates and saves an exact description of the point of origin, expanding the ability to isolate the affected or involved teams during the attack. * Its compact and user-friendly system can be integrated with third-party applications for the administration or maintenance of network units. * It offers practicality, stability and fidelity by keeping tasks in constant execution and pre-programmed, which helps the user to increase their efficiency in time and evaluation of reports to maintain an accurate control in the company and to be able to handle better security routines. * It is possible to use this versatile tool in different devices separately for the protection of memory, control of scripts, control applications and review of sites with possible threats. * The artificial intelligence system for detection is changing the way attacks are predicted.

David

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

An antivirus solution that just works without getting in your way

A well protected workstation! No viruses, trojans, exploits, or other threats in the network I use at work.

PROS

CylanceProtect performs its work so silently you almost forget it is there. I have been using it for a year and have only got two warnings so far: one for an old file from a temp folder that had not been picked up by the previous antivirus, and a false positive (CCleaner.exe, oddly). CylanceProtect features a "proactive defense" model, as opposed to the reactive one of other solutions, that pretty much "clean up the mess" once the damage is done. With a proactive model, when it is working as intended, you just don't notice anything as threats are eliminated before they hit you. A welcome change of method after having used so many bloated, hit-or-miss antivirus solutions before. So, in a nutshell, main pros: ease-of-use and efficacy.

CONS

Not much to dislike, except for the fact that it detected CCleaner as a threat by mistake. Guess it has to do with the way CCleaner works, with its far-reaching system tools. Perhaps Cylance does not want to share space with another system protection tool? Let's pretend it was just a false positive and nothing else. Also, being an endpoint solution, some users might be put off by the way it installs over your corporate network. But I am sure that would be a small demographic anyway.

Greg

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Absolute best security software on the market

From the evaluation phase to actually rolling it out I have been extremely happy with our decision to choose Cylance. I rated everything 5 stars because I truly feel like they have earned it. Thank you Cylance for your dedication to securing our network of devices and people.

PROS

The fact that it just works. I have evaluated several other products and ran into all sorts of issues. For the price, simplicity and performance of Cylance, I can't say enough good about this product. Cylance has a team of dedicated and knowledgeable employees who truly care about securing your network. If you are hesitant about giving them a try or you feel like your current vendor is adequate, please give Cylance a call and give them a chance. You will not be disappointed.

CONS

This isn't a complaint but a feature I would love to see implemented. I wish there was the ability to force agent updates when new agents are released. It's not a huge deal since the agents update on their own in a timely manner, but having the ability to do so would be beneficial. That said, I have only run into one situation where I truly wish this feature existed.

John

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Small footprint anti-virus that works well against know threats and zero-day attacks as well.

Ease of use. Easy to manage from anywhere due to the cloud management interface. Report clients do not need to be connected to a corporate LAN to get updated setting changes.

PROS

Easy to install and manage from the cloud. Does not interfere with Internet connection like other antivirus program since they hook into the network. Is not overly bloated. Also, does not require constant updates in order to fight the latest viruses. Direct integration with SIEMs such as Splunk and Logrhythm.

CONS

Reported were recently revamped and a good degree of the filtering was removed. Reports are less userful. There is built in mechanism to deploy client software to all platforms. Silent install on Mac or Linux require writing a bash script in order to set enviroment variables for the installer instead of a packaged install. Would be nice if home product was included in the corporate license.

Lisa

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra