User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse DataDome Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -36 of 14 results

April 2021

Matthew from Fidelity Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Easily the best bot protection

We originally used a competitor - Distil Networks (now Imperva). Our experience with them was ok, but the management tools were rudimentary and support became so poor we had to give up on them. We shopped for another solution and landed on DataDome. They've been a vast improvement - night and day. The site we use them for is a constant target for heavy scraping by competitors. DataDome easily catches the simple bots. Their support team works hard with us to catch the more sophisticated and advanced threats. Given how much support we get and the quality of the reporting and configuration tools, we definitely are getting our money's worth and recommend DataDome to anyone who needs bot protection.

Pros

Flexible tools and deployment, good reporting, great support, transparent pricing

Cons

Nothing significant. More engineers in US timezone would help.

Reasons for Choosing DataDome

More professional documentation and transparent pricing. More enterprise feel.

Reasons for Switching to DataDome

Extremely bad support

November 2019

Kirk from Award Force

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

DataDome helps do away with annoying captcha solutions

It started off shaky, due to some configuration mishaps, and early on we still had problems with bots, but as time has gone on it is clear the DD team, and its platform, is learning and for now at least, seems to be one step ahead of the bot networks, which is great.

Pros

Before DataDome, we were using Funcaptcha, a solution which is great at preventing bot registrations, but that's all. DataDome helped us remove the captcha solution almost entirely, and instead helps us prevent bot attacks and phony registrations often well before they even see a registration form. This has resulted in far less time on our end having to manage our clients' frustrations due to bots and botnets, meaning our application has a higher quality of delivery than our competitors.

Cons

Unless you understand the entirety of the solution, your implementation can leave gaps for bots to get through, or an incorrect configuration resulting in hours of frustration. Make sure you work closely with the DataDome team in getting it setup correctly to begin with.

Reasons for Choosing DataDome

Namely, price. Other solutions are quite expensive. That's not to say that DataDome is cheap, either. It's not - but it does what we need it to and is in fact, saving us money by not having to build these solutions ourselves, which would take away development from our core IP.

Reasons for Switching to DataDome

Funcaptcha decided to start billing clients in over the 100k mark completely out of the blue. Considering its solution wasn't an end-to-end solution, it basically forced us to review the market and see what else was available.

September 2021

Siddharth from Accent Group Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Excellent Product

Pros

After adding Datadome BOT protection on top of our CDNs, we have seen a remarkable decrease in BOT traffic resulting in bandwidth and Infrastructure cost savings. The technical support is attentive, responsive and we generally get responses within our timezone on the Australian East Coast. The management portal is intuitive and easy to navigate. The rules are easy to configure, and for anything complex, the support team has assisted us in writing custom rules. We have been able to further reduce costs by leveraging a single Datadome instance across domains and apply a single set of blocking rules everywhere.

Cons

Not much to dislike. We want to run API requests to Datadome from our SIEM systems such as Splunk to augment the IP data but cannot do it "Out-of-Box" yet.

February 2021

Tachif from Courir

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

DataDome Review

Pros

La disponibilité et réactivité du support DataDome ainsi que de l'équipe technique.

Cons

Le fait que beaucoup de Bots ne sont pas détectés par la solution DataDome lors des grands lancements. Difficile de trouver le juste milieu pour bloquer tous les bots et laisser passer les clients légitimes.

Reasons for Choosing DataDome

Solution française

August 2021

Dedy from Hukumonline.com

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Pays for itself by eliminating crawler traffic from our servers

We are a media company specializing in legal products and services. Crawlers were aggressively scraping and downloading our proprietary content, slowing down our website and driving up our infrastructure budget in the process. DataDome efficiently blocks the crawlers. It helps us protect valuable content and right-size our server infrastructure, so that we can focus on other developments and initiatives.

Pros

The integration was very smooth and simple, with excellent onboarding support. DataDome has proven efficient since the beginning, protecting our content and stabilizing our server load. The customer support is very helpful, and overall we have a great relationship with DataDome.

Cons

It would be useful to have more information in the reports about who is using specific IPs

August 2021

Rogier from NextChapter Software

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Production is running like sunshine

What we have solved is that all traffic which enters our production environments now is clean.

Pros

Easy to implement and everything is automated now

Cons

Rate limiter can be improved to minutes or seconds, feature like crawl delays for good or commercial bots. But not much to dislike at all.

April 2021

David from Candor

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Best bot protection solution out there but bot protection is not a panacea

Pros

- Supports both client-side & server-side detection - Dashboard is information dense - Very knowledgeable technical team (they're fantastic) - All other products in this space are egregiously expensive, Datadome most reasonably priced We hired a scraping expert to adversarially test the various bot prevention solutions (PeremiterX, Radware, etc.) and Datadome did as good or better than the other options that are 10x the price

Cons

Learnt this the hard way: bot solutions will catch a lot of low-level scrapers crawling the web but they're not particularly effective against targeted bots. An adversary writing a Headless Chrome-powered bot with builtin evasive tactics turned on (e.g. puppeteer-extra-plugin-stealth plugin) and basic attempts at mimicking user behavior will be able to bypass all the bot protection solutions out there (including Datadome) if that's your only prevention. We were only effective in preventing bots by supplementing Datadome with custom rules (rate limiting) and account flagging built in our stack.

January 2021

Mugurel from Kurt Geiger Ltd

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

DataDome feedback

We were continuously getting hit by loads of unwanted bots, some of which were very aggressive. We started looking for a solution that could easily integrate with the products we use and decided to try DataDome. The onboarding process was smooth, the integration simple and the support we got was great. The AI detection is excellent as it helps us block bots we didn't even know existed. It's reassuring to know our website is protected by professionals that always keep up-to-date with the latest methods of attacks/scraping content/etc. Lastly, the product always continues to improve and DataDome is very keen on getting feedback from customers.

Pros

The thing we like the most is the fact that it's fire-and-forget. Once it's set up and working, it only requires minimal interaction from users (whitelists, etc.).

Cons

No dislikes, but we would love to see some collaboration with AWS, so that DataDome can offer this type of protection at the AWS Load Balancers level.

November 2019

Laurent from Easyvoyage

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

We use Datadome for 3 years

Datadome helps us to prevent bad traffic to affect our business. Also, it allows us to reassure the trust with our partners and costumers.

Pros

- Ease of use - Fast implementation - Immediate efficiency - Reactivity from support team

Cons

- although its impact seems limited, javascript part of the solution is not always suitable for us as it implies another thirs-party script and could lower the performance of business critical pages. We don't use it on every page of the website for this reason.

Reasons for Choosing DataDome

Proximity of the support team was a plus

April 2021

Raymond from KnifeCenter.com

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Easy set-up, great interface and reporting, great protection with nearly 0 false positives

We have reduced overall bot traffic (based on our Cloudflare stats). We have not been subjected to any noticeable sustained DDoS attacks. We have had little or no false positives. We have a bot protection tool which is easy to administer and which provides us with great insights and reporting.

Pros

The ease of use, the incredibly simple setup with our CDN (Cloudflare), the barely noticeable false positives, the highly intuitive administrative tools (you have to try using or administering a competing product to fully appreciate this), the excellent reporting tools and dashboards, the integration tools and APIs they provide.

Cons

There has been little to dislike about the product. The support from DataDome has been excellent and highly responsive, but it would have been nice to have shorter response time SLA's on paper at least, just in case.

Reasons for Choosing DataDome

Much easier to set up, much better reporting and administrative tools, and same or better protection at a much lower cost.

Reasons for Switching to DataDome

We have reduced overall bot traffic (based on our Cloudflare stats). We have not been subjected to any noticeable sustained DDoS attacks. We have had little or no false positives. We have a bot protection tool which is easy to administer and which provides us with great insights and reporting.

February 2021

Ben from JobLookup Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

DataDome brought our freedom back to focus on what is important to us

We don’t have to deal with bots anymore. Click fraud is a serious challenge for our whole industry, and trying to fight it was exhausting, time-consuming and inefficient. DataDome works in the background with no intervention from our team, so it has given us back the freedom to focus on more important things.

Pros

DataDome has a very elegant header enrichment feature, which makes it super easy to integrate bot traffic data into our own server logs and analytics tools.

Cons

The technical documentation doesn't go into the details for all that the application does so you need to rely on the support team to help you with this.

Reasons for Choosing DataDome

DataDome works as a transparent layer and required no major changes to our application. We also liked that we could test the solution on our own before making a commitment.

November 2019

Bret from PeopleConnect

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Solid defense against bots

Solves the pain of managing, blocking and reporting on bot crawl activity. For sites with large amounts of valuable content that are targeted by bots of the good and bad variety, it's a valuable tool.

Pros

Flexible interface, customizability, rapid reporting on large data sets, crawl management and blocking/whitelisting.

Cons

Implementation was not trivial across a broad product portfolio.

Reasons for Switching to DataDome

Scalability and effectiveness of a 3rd party solution.

February 2021

Zeeshan from Traveloka

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Traveloka

Decent experience so far, it was tough to move away from an easy and effective solution, however we were looking for more in depth analysis and deep packet inspection capabilities.

Pros

Ease of use Ease of deployment Ease of configuration Very straightforward

Cons

Visibility into attack traffic, with details like request headers. No Captcha-less detection. Costly!!!!

February 2021

Dong from Garena Online Private limited

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Easy to integrate solution, comprehensive dashboard

We are trying to use DataDome to help us identify bots from real users, in order to indentify malicious attempt to cheat our service and gain benefits unfairly. With the help of DataDome we can safely sieve through our online users in realtime and take actions against the bots.

Pros

DataDome provides a ready to use, easy to integrate solution for detecting bots in realtime, which helps to protect our service. The dashboard provides great flexibility and usability for us to check our data.

Cons

Maybe provide an alarm on when we are about to exhaust our quota for the month, for us to manage our quota more proactively.