All GlassWire Reviews

1-25 of 66 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kasun

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Network Monitoring Software

When it comes to network security Glasswire does a great job but it's not capable of controlling other activities like file security etc.

PROS

At once, I had a problem with unidentified network usage in my PC. My friend suggested this software and it was a great one. Glassware displays each and every network activity on your PC and the applications and processes which consumes data. And also it facilitate to stop any network activity with it's firewall.

CONS

When it comes to network security Glasswire does a great job but it's not capable of controlling other activities like file security etc. And also the notifications from Glasswire are sometimes disturbing.

Angelo

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

The best firewall for non-experts and the remote technical team

PROS

We used to buy antivirus licenses that have a firewall as one of their features. But we didn't like it very much for our remote employees. Many times it was necessary to create unsigned connections with the application server, so it became cumbersome for the technical team. With Glasswire, we can give the remote employee a short training on how to manage and configure the firewall. And it's quite convenient, since we purchase personal use licenses for employee-owned workstations. We chose it mainly for its ease of use. Its performance and functionality makes it compare with solutions that integrate everything. At least in our experience, it's better if one app doesn't take care of everything, that allows us to decentralize until it hurts. Monitoring our windows server becomes easier when some novice has typed something he shouldn't

CONS

I wouldn't change anything. We leave that up to the developer. The tool does its job perfectly. I would only add one option, that it be multiplatform, we also want it in linux.

Reasons for switching to GlassWire

The firewall is complicated to handle for novices and the common employee. We do not want a solution that integrates everything, this in our experience fails.

Walter

International Trade and Development, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2020

Utterly annoying

Bought it. Paid for it. Expected it to work properly. Liked the advertised features. HOWEVER, absolutely HATE the constant interruptions, pop-ups, computer slow-downs, and overall experience. Will be cancelling it momentarily (or whenever I get around to doing it). Software should be neither seen, nor heard from, if it is to be effective. Wives are for interruptions!!!!

PROS

I appreciate what GlassWire is "trying" to do, but this is not what it actually does. It does give "additional" information about the status of my computer and its workings, as well as its internet connectivity, but it does so at a very annoying expense.

CONS

I HATE, yes - absolutely hate the constant interruptions, pop-ups, non-interesting information and idiotic colors that are EXTREMELY annoying. I now remember why I had GlassWire before and why I eventually cancelled it. Software should be neither seen, heard, nor annoying in order to be effective. I HATE the products, and really don't care what it does. If it's doing its job, it should do it quietly, unobtrusively, and without interrupting my work (or pleasure). We already have too many interruptions in life.

Vendor Response

GlassWire's alerts are all optional and can be displayed any way you prefer, or not at all. Just go to the top left GlassWire menu and choose "settings" then "security". For the colors you don't like, we literally have 15 different color options from black and white, to dark themes, to more colorful. Just go to the top left menu and choose "themes".

Replied August 2020

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

GlassWire for Internet User

Overall it is very useful user friendly software.I still use this software and this is a one of my favorite software in my software collection.Every time I formatted my computer this is a one software which I use to install first.It safe guarding my computer and give me the full detail of my internet usage.It help me to save my internet data bundle which offer my internet package.

PROS

GlassWire is a very useful firewall software which I found by accidentally.It was very good useful software more than I thought.It is very simple to use because it simply shows the internet using applications on my computer and I can block those from accessing my internet by just one click.It has very simple user interface so without any knowledge any one can easily operate this software. If any new application start to accessing the internet it immediately shows up a massage and I can quickly blacklist or block that application.So from that I can easily find out any malware or virus applications which can not find out by my virus guard.And also it shows me my data usage of application to application.From that I could able to disable unwanted applications which use internet and save data of my internet connection.By disabling those unwanted data using applications by GlassWire I was able to speed up my internet connection than previous.GlassWire is not a heavy application which not use lot of ram and processing power.So that Its not slow down my day to day works and serve me very well.I recommend this software to any one who has unwanted data using problems of applications.

CONS

This is very good software with well designed user interface.It was done every job which I was tell to do.But it did not able to stop down the windows auto update.That is the main issue I faced on using this software.When I use it first time it was not a payable software.Now it need to buy the software after the trial period.Lot of antivirus software supply the same usage of this application so I think buying those kind of antivirus software is much economical than buy this software.Those are the main drawbacks I saw in this software rather than it is very good software which must be in your software collection.

User Profile

Yasiru

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Monitor Your Network Usage with Glasswire

Overall experience with Glasswire is really impressive. Due to Glasswire, I have managed to save a significant amount of bandwidth usage from unwanted applications and processes.

PROS

Glasswire lets you monitor your network usage and present it with colourful and insightful charts and graphs. You can view the usage by dates, weeks, months and also have access to the usage history. Furthermore, it lets you see which applications are using the bandwidth and the amount of consumption. Whenever new application or process starts using the bandwidth you are notified with a notification from Glasswire.

CONS

The only issue I see with Glasswire is not being able to see which websites are using the bandwidth and the amount. It only shows particular web browser has used the bandwidth, not by a particular website.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

A must have for metered connections!

GW has helped me take control of my metered connections and prevent programs like email clients and others transmit large volumes of data in the background. A must have for metered connections and as an addon to the security s/w!

PROS

The ability to control all the applications installed in my pc and the data volume they use especially with metered connections. Also, it offers you a real-time protection on top of the security s/w you use without slowing down the connection or the computer.

CONS

Sometimes it needs to be reset - does not start automatically with Win10

Reason for choosing GlassWire

Most solutions similar to Glasswire either are too technical and need constant attention or they just miss key functionality needed in an application of this kind.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

GlassWire as a network monitoring software

Its a tool we must have to monitor our network about its usage and to be in alert what applications are using our internet connection and for what??

PROS

First of all GlassWire has a very attractive nice interface. GlassWire make us to see and understand the current usage of our network connection. It gives us a notification when ever there is a new network activity because of this we can be in alert about unwanted network accesses. GlassWire help us to track our data usage of the device. We can see which application is use more data and what are the servers it getting data from. It has a good feature called "Things" it scans our network and tell the details about the devices that are connected to it.

CONS

Its price is little bit high. If the network scanner can scan for the security issues of the network it will be a great help.

User Profile

Rune

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Glasswire - trusted

I use it for one of the home computers that I have used for visiting all sorts of links online. I installed Glasswire to ensure that I had some control over what traffic I was involved with.

PROS

Glasswire delivers an overview of the traffic that is on the network I am using. This enables me to see first hand if something is up.

CONS

It could be cheaper for a PRO version as the features in the free is allright, one would like to have more as it is a very good program, but the price is a bit high.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

The best network security software out there

Overall, GlassWire is great.

PROS

I really like how easy GlassWire is to use. Even my grandmother could use it if she wanted to. Additionally, the nice looking graphs help with monitoring what goes into and out of your computer

CONS

I didn't like how limited the software is. With ease of use usually comes lack of functionality and sadly GlassWire wasn't able to break this cycle.

Youssef

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

track your network usage and upgrade your network security

PROS

with a metered connection I had to monitor my usage and that's when GlassWire comes in, the software tracked my data usage helped me analyze my usage like which app used more data and gave me an overview of my usage

CONS

there's no real cons but I found one problem with the software: over two years of using the app I can't remember one significant update / feature added that I can think of, like it's a great software but Lacks new features to be added every now and then

User Profile

Saqlain

Verified reviewer

Facilities Services, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Awesome piece of Software

SUPER AWESOME BRO

PROS

I love this software. I am very found of good software, useful software, which now a days are very scarce. I can not thank developers enough for making a software which shows what application uses the internet and uploads/downloads to what address. This kind of detailed information hub reviles the vulnerability which I didn't know was there before. It also enabled me with the power to block the traffic. Simply "It Is AWESOME"

CONS

I don't know of any cons yet, I have used just the trial. But it will be very bad if they record our browsing history and logins. Which they say they don't but real truth will come forward in time.

Vendor Response

Hello Saqlain, thanks for your review! You wrote "it will be bad if they record our browsing history and logins". We agree! That's why your data never leaves your device. We couldn't record it even if we wanted since we never have any access to it. https://www.glasswire.com/privacy/ You can confirm this by finding your data usage database on your own PC. https://www.glasswire.com/userguide/#Moving_Database We are not a cloud service that keeps your data on our servers.

Replied August 2020

Malcolm

Government Relations, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Do not go online without it

Rural and data usage spiked glasswire helped me isolate why

PROS

Ease of use when a problem can up. Good to be able to expand to see what exactlyis going on

CONS

Nothing I can think of ai this time. It all works for me.

Reason for choosing GlassWire

Recommended by how to geek

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Best Data usage visualizer app

Being able to track what's hogging my network has been very useful to me.

PROS

Data visualized is very Accuracy and Privacy was very much considered.

CONS

Software still not available for mac os.

Muzammil

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Best Network Monitor

The Overall Experience is awesome and glasswire is the application that i kept in my auto start-up when my computer starts. I am using this application on all of my 3 devices which are computer, laptop & on my android smartphone. Even I have suggested this application to my many friends and they are using the same.

PROS

1. Security : It protects your computer from all malicious attacks & it gives you the ability to approve or deny a network connection running on your computer. 2. Convenience : we can check the network without even opening the whole application. It notifies all the changes made to the network. 3. GUI : The Graphical User Interface Is Awesome. The Graphical Speed Chart of Internet Speed gives all Current and past network speed. 4. Built-In Firewall : Already Said the Glasswire firewall Helps us to protect from malicious attacks and gives the ability to approve or deny network connections.

CONS

There are no cons in the application according to me. My Only Suggestion to glasswire team is that the premium prices of basic & pro should be decreased 5-10$.

Rich

Computer Networking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

Excellent Network Management Tool

With a background in telecommunications software development and technical customer support, I needed help in monitoring and managing my multilayered home network. Glasswire provides not only connection info, but firewall assistance, data usage and alerts related to resources on my PC(s). I'm able to monitor and control Glasswire functions not only on my own device, but on all Windows devices in any given subnet. If I change subnet, I can work with a different device set. While the interface is graphic and easy to see, I can plunge down step by step to detailed connection info for each device and running application. Support via the Glasswire Forum is very fast and very helpful. Upgrades and new development are constant and are provided as part of the one time cost. There are no comparable tools at this usability level -- price/performance is outstanding. Highly recommended.

PROS

Functionality and support

CONS

I would like support for Android and individual router monitoring/management. Android is anticipated, router is a completely different level of product. Better documentation is needed.

Jim

Computer & Network Security, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Simply Outstanding

Having my PhD in cybersecurity, this product is simply outstanding and long overdue. I often recommend to my clients for a simple to use, laymans view of the "game behind the game". Well done by the folks at GlassWire - FINALLY an easy tu use, understadn and control interface for the average ( or experienced ) user.

PROS

Simple- one effective pane of glass to see what is really happening Love the Virus total integration Just a job WELL DONE Glasswire-- keep it up !

CONS

I wish, there was more ability to get the PCAP of the offending event when possible for deepr investigation. Ability to collaspe alerts by Date -- so I only see the day I want. Ability to drill down or more interactive graph to investigate anomolous events and traffic

Reasons for switching to GlassWire

I use them all, but find myself using Glasswire beacuse its quick, simple and easy to configure

Matt

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

A beautiful interface for something generally so boring.

I've been using GlassWire on Windows for a while and recently ventured into using it on Android as well. The only downside to the android application is that it has to keep a notification open and active in order to run in the background, and I'm not generally a fan of taking up that kind of screen real estate permanently.

PROS

GlassWire looks fantastic, it's easily the best looking firewall software that I've used. It's very easy to use and understand, and the features it provides are incredibly useful. Who knew the firewall could be this good?

CONS

Really the only thing that I am not a fan of is that the software is subscription based, though I can understand why they price it that way.

User Profile

Ankit

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Highly Recommended

great tool and highly recommended

PROS

. Great tool to monitor graph, usage based on apps,traffic and publisher part. . You get options to check what all devices are connected to your network . The alerts for network connection are instant. . Customisable theme , snooze alert, incognito mode are some additional features . You get options to control your network and a power to approve or deny network request. . You get options to remove users from the network . Price wise perfect and pocket friendly with number of users and options you get.

CONS

. Lots of customization which may confuse the user. . Notification can be annoying as your get alert for every activity on network.

Brian

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY