All Hushmail Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

A good email service alternative

It is a great alternative to traditional emails for sensitive correspondences. A bit pricy at $49.98/year and leans its focus more towards healthcare.

PROS

Hushmail has been a good alternative to Gmail. It offers great experience with both users and non users. It is very easy to send an encrypted email to non users with an option to add security question. Of course this has often required prior communication where I establish a few details of my contact and sometimes we just agree on the answer via Signal application. The non user will often create a paraphrase but sometimes it necessitates I advocate for this as some tend to default to reading email through their usual platforms and therefore making the communication susceptible to being read by anyone. This is where I have kept hoping that Hushmail will in future allow free and basic user accounts just to mitigate this risk.

CONS

In most instances, Hushmail has worked for my use case. The emails for non account holders expire after 2 weeks. This is great for enhanced security but not so convenient for an extended period of communications that require a trail referencing to past emails. It would be good if I was able to set the period for email expiration beyond 2 weeks. That would be a great option.

Reasons for switching to Hushmail

Easy to send encrypted email to non account holders

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review. We're happy that Hushmail has worked out well for you. Regarding the email expiry date, you can extend it. Our Customer Care team will happily set a new expiry date for you. Please get in touch with them directly here: https://hushmail.com/contact/support/ Also, very soon, your recipients will be able to sign in using an account they already have, like Google, Apple, or Microsoft.

Replied November 2022

Triva

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Encrypted email that’s easy for my clients to use

Customer service is excellent. They get back to me right away. That could be worth the price.

PROS

I like that with Hushmail I can create alias emails for different uses. I like that sending attachments is easy. I like there is an app so I can use it one my phone.

CONS

I guess the only drawback is the price-it should cost a few dollars less. I wish that it didn’t show my return email address to the people I send it to. Here is why. In California, the agency that regulates marriage and family counselors consider emails as advertising. Therefore my email must include my full name, type of license, and my license number. So that pretty much kills the confidentiality on my clients inbox. A stone can see the email is coming from a psychotherapist. When I found out about the alias emails I could create, that solved the problem... the only drawback is that the aliases don’t have my website name after the @InnerFreedomConsulting.com. Instead, it has Hushmail info @nym.hush.com But at least I can use an alias to send emails to established clients-so confidentiality is maintained.

Vendor Response

Hi Triva, thanks for your feedback. It means a lot to us that you're happy with our services. The good news is that you can set up email forwarding addresses using your own domain (e.g. info@InnerFreedomConsulting.com). Our Customer Care team will be very happy to help you set these up. You can reach them either by email, support@hushmail.com, or by phone at 1-877-533-4874. They are available Monday through Friday from 7am to 5pm Pacific Time. Thanks again for your earlier feedback. Our team works hard to make sure you have the services you need, and your satisfaction means everything to us. All the best, Anabeli Fernandez, Marketing Manager

Replied February 2020

Katie

Insurance, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Botched information

Another money-greedy company that now regrets that they didn't start out money hungry and also their customer service sucks

PROS

This is a HIPAA compliant encryption service.

CONS

I'm grandfathered in to the "free" version, which they apparently no longer offer. To strong-arm me out of a product they did offer, they LIE about information. Every month or so, my "used storage" will jump wildly overnight (from 29% to 248% this month) . I've contacted support, via email about this twice and no one responds -- the confirmation page tells me that "subscription holders will receive priority" Basically, they no longer offer the "free version" and to hell with loyal customers. I was able to set up an automatic reply, directing my clients to contact me ANY OTHER WAY

Reason for choosing Hushmail

They lied to me & I believed them

Vendor Response

Thanks very much for your feedback. We're sorry that you didn't have a good experience with our Customer Care team. We tracked down your account and reached out to you to make this right. Thanks again for your feedback.

Replied September 2020

Nathan

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Great Secure Emails

Has been a great experience. No really issues so far.

PROS

That I am able to offer HIPAA compliant emails. Ability to send encrypted emails. Also was able to send one form in emails.

CONS

I noticed that if I go to add a contact, I frequently have to refresh my screen before selecting to add a client. I would enter the information and then it doesn't do anything unless I refresh, then I have to enter it again. I don't like that other people can't initiate an encrypted message to me, but I am assuming that is not because of Hushmail.

Reason for choosing Hushmail

I don't remember the other products, but reviewed all the main ones. This one seemed to meet my needs the best and was more cost effective for me. Also I like that you could send one form with it in emails.

Reasons for switching to Hushmail

Wanted HIPAA compliancy.

Vendor Response

Thanks very much for your feedback. We truly appreciate it. The good news is you can give your clients a way to initiate an encrypted message by using one of our secure contact forms. You can view a sample here: https://www.hushmail.com/secure-forms/templates/general/5b21885200b88-secure-contact-form/ and read more about our secure forms here: https://www.hushmail.com/secure-forms/ Our Customer Care team would be happy to help you get started with forms. You can reach them here: support@hushmail.com. Thanks again for your feedback. We're glad you consider us a 5-star service.

Replied March 2021

Kiley

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2023

Hushmail: Good For Email Encryption, But Lacks Functionality

I appreciate Hushmail because you get the features (encryption and a working email address) you pay for; however, I will no longer be using it because of the lack of functionality it provides.

PROS

I really appreciate the email/data encryption that Hushmail provides. It is nice to not have to worry about whether personal information will be leaked or stolen when I am sending it over email.

CONS

Hushmail is extremely lacking when it comes to not only functionality, but also customization. It feels extremely rudimentary.

Reasons for switching to Hushmail

I wanted data encryption.

Alissa

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

The only way to go is with Hushmail

Awesome, no complaints, very helpful customer service team and quick response time

PROS

Very easy to use! If something does not make sense there is always someone in customer support to help immediately!

CONS

There is nothing I did not like about this software.

Reason for choosing Hushmail

I did not know of any other products at the time and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] the person I was originally talking to at Hushmail was VERY informative and patient with in explaining how all of my emails would get converted over to their system safely. He indicated it would be quick and easy and he was right! I also remember us conversing over the weekend as well at that time which was very helpful because that is when i have downtime to think some of my bigger decisions through.

Reasons for switching to Hushmail

They were not a confidential system and HIPAA compliant

Melodie

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

HUSHMAIL is outstanding as a product, asset to one's business, with flawless use & great IT support

Excellent experience, outstanding service, superior product.

PROS

Seamless integration of the use of this product into our business. It has been an asset to our work process, with our professional staff as well as patients finding it to be beneficial regarding ease of use. Information is immediately transported to patients who are able to complete forms and provide signatory approval with ease. I highly recommend having one's business forms and forms for signature created by the HUSHMAIL team. Our patients are able to sign via typing their name, using the mouse to do so, or adding a JPG signature.

CONS

Absolutely nothing. It is a superior product per our experience. Thank you, HUSHMAIL!

Reason for choosing Hushmail

Ease of use and surprisingly cost effective.

Kim

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Hushmail is great!

As a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN) working in the health care industry, I need to be able to send information that is HIPPA compliant. Hushmail makes it easy, and the price is right. My clients love that we can communicate via email quickly. It also adds a level of professionalism to my business. Please note that I do NOT recommend products/services/companies unless I am extremely pleased with them and feel confident others will feel the same way. Also, I am not receiving any compensation or pert for sharing my experience with you.

PROS

Hushmail is very easy to use, customer support is superb, and it fits my limited budget.

CONS

I honestly can not say anything negative about Hushmail.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Fantastic HiPAA-compliant email and more

One of the best purchases ever in my practice. Very reasonably priced, HIPAA-compliant with individual BAA, and also gives you encrypted web forms. Simply great solution.

PROS

I spent a long time looking for a HIPAA-compliant email solution, and I found that and much more in Hushmail. Easy to use, does not require you to change your domain, easy to customize, and very reasonably priced.

CONS

Pretty much no cons to report; customer service is sometimes a but hard to reach right away but they do call back.

Reasons for switching to Hushmail

Need for HIPAA compliance

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Excellent HIPAA-compliant email solution

This is one of the best buys for my practice. Very reasonably priced, HIPAA-compliant with individual Business Associate agreement for no extra charge. Also included are secure web forms which could be used for a variety of HIPAA-compliant functions, such as online check-in or secure contact form.

PROS

Easy to use, will work with your existing domain. HIPAA-compliant without the extra charges so common in this segment. Large storage capacity.

CONS

Nothing. As close to perfect as it gets.

James

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2021

Hushmail Review

PROS

It seems very secure for our interoffice communications.

CONS

At times it will randomly encrypt emails that don't need it, glitches tend to show up more frequently in Hushmail than other software I use. Customer support ranges from ok to shitty

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you've had a less than favorable experience with Customer Care. We strive to provide our customers with prompt, personal attention when they have an issue that needs to be resolved. If there's something that you're still having an issue with, please contact us at https://www.hushmail.com/contact/ and we'll make it right. Regarding encryption, please keep in mind that if your recipient has already created a passphrase to read an encrypted email on the private message center, then all subsequent emails to them will be encrypted by default. However, you can turn the encryption off when you send a message from webmail or the Hushmail for iPhone app by turning off the encryption switch before you send a message. You can read more about your encryption options in our blog post at https://blog.hushmail.com/blog/how-to-use-hushmail-with-your-favorite-email-app

Replied October 2021

Cathy

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Hushmail-The answer to my email tasks

Husmail is a good value for my small business. Email can be accessed from any where with the internet.

PROS

Hushmail customer service is excellent, fast and effective. The archive function allows for saving all email, from multiple addresses in one place. This helps me monitor my staff communications with clients. If I chose to move from Hushmail, I can keep this one account open for reference. Down time is negligible if any.

CONS

There is no downloaded feature. Downloading email to a computer would negate the HIPAA compliance guidelines, but a choice would be nice. An Android app version is a MUST

Reasons for switching to Hushmail

We have used it for so long, I can't remember what we switched from. HIPAA compliance issues

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Exemplary Security

Because I worked with different clients using the software, I had two logins. The logins were browser specific and weren't difficult to manage once I caught on to the way they worked. If this were the only email one used, one would be used to its idiosyncrasies. Working with other formats tested my technological tendencies, sometimes with a little frustration and I am a person who like to try new software.

PROS

Hipaa compliance is important. Encrypted messages for more security Uses your domain as an address, fostering confidence with email recipients. Resource for forms delivered and submitted securely

CONS

When another app forwarded a voice message, listening was difficult to impossible.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

GDPR and HIPAA compatible email

Confidentiality of patient data is vital and compliance with current safety requirements is essential and hushmail allows for both.

PROS

Very useful for email exchanges with patients ort colleagues involving protected data.

CONS

Apart from an iOS client there is just the browser interface and it misses a few tweaks like multiple accounts in the same mail box.

Esther

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Secure Email

Overall I really enjoy using hushmail. I am able to send and receive encrypted messages and this is really important to me as a health care provider.

PROS

I love that I can send encrypted emails with hushmail and clients can send encrypted emails back to me. This gives me peace of mind when sending information to new clients who have reached out via email, or when communicating with existing clients.

CONS

The user interface is somewhat dated looking. It is a fairly plain interface, but it is very functional so my complaints here are purely aesthetic.

Teja

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Hushmail for therapy business

Overall it has been relatively easy to use, is an affordable option, and protects client data.

PROS

Hushmail offers encrypted emailing for protecting client information and it is very affordable. It is easy to use.

CONS

It can be a hassle for clients who forget their password because when a password is reset, the email I sent vanishes and has to be resent by me. This is part of their privacy tools so it is actually a good thing but still a pain at times. Sometimes I've had trouble with people being able to view my emails or them going to spam.

Robin

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2019

Hushmail disappointed

None. It was not for me. I can appreciate the intent but until there is a better way to use it, I give it a thumbs down.

PROS

My purpose in using this software was for HIPAA compliant email. It is in fact secure and I did appreciate that component

CONS

My main issue with why I will not continue to use Hushmail is that it is tedious between the sender and recipient to remember a password to access the email. It seems like there should be a better way to either save the password, or something else. What happens is if you are the recipient and you have forgotten your password and your request a password reset then the original email that was sent to you is lost and the sender has to send again. I found it to be very tiring.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry you didn't feel Hushmail worked for you. We're constantly making improvements, and we're currently working on some updates to our message center that will make receiving and responding to messages a little smoother. If you'd like to have a chat with us so we can go through some aspects of our service in more detail, we'd be delighted to hear from you. Please feel free to reach out to me at smilne@corp.hush.com Steph at Hushmail

Replied November 2019

User Profile

D

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE