All System Mechanic Ultimate Defense Reviews

1-25 of 66 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Indispensable software

I have been able to save time when my computer started running slow and was lagging. I am also confident that System Mechanic supplements my antivrus program through its malware add on and privacy guardian.

PROS

I like the fact that this program helps to claw back memory and speed when your system is stretched. Fr many years I was able to keep the same computer when the OS and software kept changing and putting great demands on my hardware. System Mechanic would just get to work and sort out all these difficulties that I could not see and give new life to my old computer.

CONS

The only thing I can thing of is a facility to encrypt the hard drive by either supporting bitlocker in the Pro version of WIndows 10 or allowing similar encryption with Windows 10 Home.

Gregory

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

A comprehensive software that keeps my computers running

See my comments in the box "Pros"

PROS

Contains all basic security SW tools, and computer maintenance tools, which are very intuitive and easy to use. If I said that the SW keeps my computer in top shape all the time it wouldn't be true, but it maintains the health of my computer in a pretty good shape for a long time. After a while, I notice some issues, which I cannot solve by myself using System Mechanics. At this point, I am calling Iolo Premium Support, and after, on average 30 - 40 min session with US Tech Support, my computer starts working as a newborn. I can recommend this service to anybody. Money well spent. Although technicians usually are not from the United States almost all of them are speaking very good English. I have no problem to undrstand them. I love it.

CONS

I wrote that I had no complaints, but you thought it was too short, so OK - I wish the software was capable to maintain the perfect health of my computer without the involvement of a technician, but even without such an advanced feature I think that what I have is a great service.

Reason for choosing System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

I bought my first Dell computer. I do not sure, but I think that System Mechanics was installed on that computer or a Dell technician advised me to use that SW. At some moment I stopped using System Mechanics (I do not recall why). After a while, I came back to SM and I am using it already many years.

Reasons for switching to System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

For a long time, I was using Kaspersky as antivirus software and System Mechanics as a computer maintenance tool. After System Mechanics added a virus checker I decided to use the new tool and have only one SW for all computer safety and maintenance tasks.

JOHN

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Don't be tricked by IOLO!

PROS

Easy to use and seems to do a good job, but watch out for extra fees!

CONS

They offered a special and I extended my System Mechanic for a year. They immediately offered me another special, then another. So I took 4 special offers to extend my software for 4 years. However, each time I extended, they secretly signed me up for a $19.95 monthly fee. So I'm billed 4 X $19.95 / month for something I didn't want! I called and got the monthly fees stopped (I think), but I still have several months of payments that they took on my credit card, not reimbursed.

Audie

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Useful Tools

PROS

What I like about this software is the many useful tools available to clean up a drive of viruses, optimizing the hard drive, boosting speed, repair registry, password safety, and cleaning up system clutter to name a few. You can easily access the tools both automated and individual. iolo Labs keeps the definitions updated and relevant to the end users needs. I know I like it and have been a subscriber since 2009.

CONS

The password management tool ByePass has always been a mystery for me. I have tried to use it but I don't have the experience to use it. If that makes sense. It baffles me. Therefore I don't even try to use it even though I'm sure it is good because it is part of System Mechanic. They always put out quality software.

Mark

Public Safety, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Outstanding Support

Very happy

PROS

Once you reach the right technical support level, they will be able to resolve issues.

CONS

Took a couple of calls to reach the right person.

Reason for choosing System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

Been a customer for many years.

Reasons for switching to System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

Thought System Mechanic more comprehensive.

Mike

Wholesale, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Iolo System Mechanic

have been a user for many years and am very satisfied

PROS

Easy of use. Effective. Lots of features.

CONS

I actually cannot think of anything negative about the software

Reasons for switching to System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

Problems with the software

Adil

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Best system maintainer, best described as : System Mechanic

Am using System Mechanic since 1998, and it keeps on evolving, I've used a lot of other options, but I found that I can trust only system mechanic.

PROS

- Easy to use - Goes through all MS Windows sophisticated Junks, broken links, registry issues, memory issues, network issues, and solves it with a single click. - Not heavy on the system - Obeying application and doesn't keep bothering you while working with pop ups and other stuff - As devices and systems differs, some PCs would face issues after using System Mechanic, however the program has a recovery option to return things as it was before using the system.

CONS

- none. - none. - none. - none. - none. -none.

Reason for choosing System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

I've tried many other, products, and faced some challenges, I even was about to lose a laptop because of one of the other alternatives. Through the past 20 years, System Mechanic gave me an idea that the people behind it actually know what they are doing.

Ron

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

It works

PROS

system mechanic helps to pinpoint system issues

CONS

Pop up ads are annoying and appear too often

Bill

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

System Mechanic Ultimate Defender

Any time I've had an issue (only a couple of times) I call service and they take care of the issue. It's a great value and it can be applied to other household devices also.

PROS

It works in the background anytime I turn on my computer

CONS

I'm not extremely computer savvy and I wanted a simple effective method for protecting my computer and making it perform to its max capacity and SMUD does that

Rakesh

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Review of System Mechanics

Keep computer safe, away from viruses, malware

PROS

Easy to use, operate, download, relatively inexpensive, can download the software in multiple computers I saw the improvements in System Mechanics over the years, continue to improve

CONS

Scan takes more time compared to other common antivirus program

Fred

Photography, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Lots to expect before purchasing

Unfortunately, I am a returning user. I have used it in the past with decent results. The last time was early in 2021 when I had some issues with my performance and had to remove it. The performance seemed to get better when it was removed, although initially, it was a noticeable improvement for about 6 months. The program said it removed a lot of bad stuff but couldn't be verified.I just tried to purchase and consider again late 2022 until the chat came into play and had to speak with the rep before activating. They say they are helping even when I refused. After 20 minutes of a hard sell to purchase 3 years in advance before I even loaded the program, I was completely turned off and requested an immediate refund, then removed the unactivated program from my PC. Per my receipt, it appears the owner is CleanPC which does sell under another label.

PROS

I liked the fact that it did a number of things and made cleaning the PC rather straightforward and easy. There was no need to search Windows for similar performance and cleaning operations as it was all there in a single package of software.

CONS

Their policy regarding upgrades and service. For one, this is a subscription that automatically renews for the full price unless you are lucky enough to remember to call and cancel before the renewal date. There are different pieces of support that will also come into play for an extra fee of $19.95 per month after the first 30 days. This is automatic as well unless you cancel in advance.

Reasons for switching to System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

Looking for a more comprehensive package of tools

Richard

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Experiencing the advanced technology of System Mechanic

Utility tools is superb ,but i dont know what happen why i cant on the real time protection and demand boost

PROS

Advanced Technology and Utility tools with protection

CONS

I encounter problem with my Loptop when i installed the product , i cant enable the real time protection and on demand boost , please help me

Reason for choosing System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

Complete Antivirus and Utility

Clive

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Home PC Security

Basically good over many years.

PROS

Easy to use. Good value for money. System GUI is good.

CONS

Updating S/W has been ok till now when it refused to update v21.3 to 21.5. I had to call Iolo Support with the technician dialling it remotely to uninstall old and reinstall the new s/w. Now works ok,

Robert

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Really Feel like techs care

When I encountered the issues that I was unable to repair (not able to access the site I wanted and my computer freezing after a half-hour of use or so) I contacted the System Mechanic help service. I connected with a very delightful young woman who was very able and willing to help. While the freezing issue wasn't resolved on the 1st contact, I immediately called back and reported it and set up another appointment for the next day. All told, the tech spent over 3 hours working on solving the problem and was very patient with this old, not computer knowledgeable old man. Considering the very nominal cost for the System Mechanic product, this one repair has way more than paid for itself... would recommend it to anyone.

PROS

It's a very simple process to keep your device running smoothly and fast. A simple download and then pretty much a series of clicks

CONS

After I downloaded the software, I was not able to access a site that I use every day... kept getting an error message to try again later, that the site was unavailable. It was not an issue I could fix myself.

lawrence e

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Happy user since 1985!

Call in Speed & Security

PROS

A great program to speed up & protect my computer. Great at fixing attempted FRAUDS against me!

CONS

I preferred my original service in 1985. New owners are still great!

Reason for choosing System Mechanic Ultimate Defense

Much better than getting robbed by crooks! Thks!

Jim

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

For Home Office use

PROS

It provides antivirus protection, along with tune-up tools & several other security tools

CONS

It seems to have fewer of the tools that i used to use in earlier versions, although it is possible that i just have not found all of them, yet.

William

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Review

PROS

It seems to work. Analyzes system fairly quickly. Does regular updates.

CONS

It keeps prompting me to extend subsciption even after it is newly installed. It is annoying that I had to complete this review just to uninstall the product.

gary

Computer & Network Security, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT