All Jamf Protect Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Philip

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Day 1 Protection at its finest

Symantec's M1 and macOS compatibility came into play with our decision to move to Jamf Protect. The transition was seamless and and well welcomed.

PROS

The setup, deployment and all of its features are easily what I love most about Jamf Protect. Within minutes of approval, we were up and running.

CONS

For our immediate purposes, we did not have any cons about using Jamf Protect. Jamf made everything easy and nothing hard or bad about using or deploying this software.

Reason for choosing Jamf Protect

M1 and macos compatibility

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

Compatibility issues.

Matt

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Still Learning

From purchasing, to deployment, and jamf support, our experience has been great!

PROS

Like by review title says, I am still learning. There is so much to comprehend in Pro let alone, another integrated product. With that said, the integration is amazing. I love the ease of deployment.

CONS

I would love more help on the "clean up" side for when viruses/malware are found. Protect has already caught some issues, some of which are easy to handle and others I'm at a complete loss and just wipe the device. The pricing for education could use some love. We are paying a premium, which I understand; however, I will be honest that competitors (Mosyle) are tempting for education customers such as ourselves. We love jamf to the core though, so the swap cannot be justified currently.

Reason for choosing Jamf Protect

Trying to stay within the Jamf Family. We purchased Connect as well. We run Pro, Connect, and Protect. They are great products and luckily we have leadership that is willing to pay for them. Also, Jamf support and jamf nation are extremely valuable.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

No Big Sur support

Richard

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Jamf Protect A+

PROS

Ease of deployment and extra protection.

CONS

Nothing I can think of at this time. It works and integrates very well with Jamf Pro.

Vladislav

Consumer Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Good product, but still needs improvement.

Hoping for the best and overall improvement from Wandera. Fingers crossed.

PROS

It allows us to save the budget and avoid unnecessary payment for overpriced data abroad for our colleagues.

CONS

Since we are still migrating from Wandera, can't yet tell.

Reason for choosing Jamf Protect

Not sure.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

We had to, as it was purchased by Jamf.

Chad

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Still the Gold Standard

PROS

It is very customizable, and the online community is second to none.

CONS

There have been a few features that have been missing for a long time. For example, renaming a device using user info during deployment.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

Lightspeed support was horrid. Their system was quite limited and clunky as well.

Blair

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Jamf Protect - seamless and invisible

We are very happy with Jamf Protect! The price point and functionality made the switch from another vendor a no-brainer.

PROS

Tight integration with Jamf Pro made setup and deployment extremely simple. I didn’t have to think about it after the initial setup.

CONS

I do wish there was more of a user interface on the client machine.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

Price and functionality of BitDefender were not to our liking. BitDefender seemed hesitant to adopt newer macOS methodologies.

User Profile

Shem

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Jamf Protect

PROS

I think the setup process to get Jamf Protect implemented is a big pro. Being able to work with a dedicated team to get everything implemented really avoided any stress that could have been caused by a bad setup.

CONS

I do not have any complaints with the Jamf Protect software as of now. I think that there could be more in the sense of Training for the product since Jamf only offers two training classes currently for the product.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Awesome product

Malware and antivirus protection

PROS

I can pull reports immediately, get instant notifications and have needed information whenever I want/need it

CONS

Support is very limited, almost non-existent

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

Effectiveness

Cassandra

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Simple Deployment and Easy Upkeep

My experience so far has been great. The upkeep is very easy.

PROS

Deployment could not have been easier! I have to wear many hats where I work. The setup and deployment was very simple and I stepped through everything using the documentation. It was so quick and simple I thought for sure I missed something. I didn't, it's just that simple.

CONS

I have no been using Jamf Protect long enough to have any feature requests or complaints.

Jerry

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

When SCEP went away for Macs, this was the best product I've found/tested/implemented...

Team has reached out, and I haven't had any Malware or Viruses on the Macs, so that's important.

PROS

Deployable with ARD or JAMF Pro. They made it a way easier alternative to other brands and the support has been great. They have contacted me, for feedback/improvements/ideas.

CONS

Still learning....hoping for more free web trainings/videos like I had for JAMF Pro inception and deployment.

Reason for choosing Jamf Protect

Support and able to implement ASAP, when I needed a solution.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

They discontinued it for newer OS's after OS 10.13.x.

Adam

Food Production, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Jamf Protect, why would you not?

PROS

For a long time macOS security operations at an enterprise level was unheard of when it came to user friendly GUI and accurate reporting. Jamf Protect now makes this easy. We're now able to get a full spectrum of compliances on our macOS devices in one console, giving us the ability to be proactive in remediation when it comes to threat protection. We're given real-time alerts and insights that we were usually left in the dark with in the past.

CONS

I honestly don't think there are any cons to this product. It does exactly what we want it to do and even rivals our current Threat Protection solution for Windows. The other products could definitely take some queues from Jamf Protect.

Jeff

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

JAMF Protect the best for Macs

Really nice. Once I got it installed and tied into Jamf Pro, It's been great!

PROS

Auto install and auto updates configuration/version changes

CONS

Needs a more simple way to setup advanced threat removals within Protect with auto quarantine file removal choices. minimize the need do dump issues out to Jamf Pro for resolution.

Reason for choosing Jamf Protect

We have JAMF for our MDM needs and we wanted to stay in-house for the tighter integration and support.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

Virusbarrier lacked enterprise management and detailed reporting.

Cory

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Comprehensive endpoint security suite for macOS

PROS

Designed exclusively, for macOS which can be easily seen in its architecture and implementation for any macOS Admin. It is feature rich and is one of the few solutions to leverage the new Endpoint Security framework to prevent (at process level) threats from even launching. Lightweight and by far the lowest impact of other solutions tested and used. Support is excellent and product is updated several time a month with new features and improvements based on feedback.

CONS

More documentation, examples and better marketing and comparison against other solutions would be useful. With its newer approach for security, large range of features and design exclusively for macOS and Endpoint Security framework, traditional security professionals often miss and don't see the benefits of Protect from a preventative (vs. reactive) approach.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Protect

Day 0 support; Protect is macOS only and leaves legacy baggage out (ported over Windows or linux products)

Shannon

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Another Awesome "JAMF" Product

PROS

Its very easy to integrate into Jamf pro to allow for simply but very effective remediation workflows

CONS

It was a bit hard to get completely setup but once that was completed it off to the races.

Derek

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Jamf Protect

During the log4j crisis, Jamf Protect was extremely useful. JP was able to detect all the computers that had log4j files, so that we could mitigate those computers.

PROS

I liked the implementation, it was very easy. Basically Jamf has it all set up right "out-of-box".

CONS

The Threats can be hard to create at times, but Jamf Support is very good at helping create them. Often times they will update the threats themselves.

Scott

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Great for Schools

Jamf makes it easy to keep an eye on your devices and help educators cut the distraction with kids on electronics.

PROS

This software updates automatically so you don't have to worry about new viruses showing up.

CONS

There are no weaknesses that I know if at this point.

Paul

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Protect in an Edu environment

PROS

I like the direct integration with JAMF pro. The system is very great to allow me insight in to the individual users

CONS

Remediation is a little difficult and nothing is built in.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE