User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(95)

95

4 stars

(57)

57

3 stars

(12)

12

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "It is easy to use and setup and it has great functional use."

  • "This software is seamless. It just does the job quietly and efficiently and kicks in when needed."

  • "The interface is user-friendly and the scans are very quick . I like how much options you get when it comes to quaranteened items . This prevents mistakenly deleting something you shouldn't ."

  • Cons

  • "Sophos product works well in our organization but technical support is too low and works too slowly in my opinions. "

  • "The cloud-stored settings are very secure, but can be a slight hassle having to login every time you want tweak a few settings. It's worth it for the level of security you're getting though."

  • "Overall works well. Simple interface, though this may limit user ability to modify scans or do more robust activities. "

Browse Intercept X Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 166 results

August 2019

Daniel from Dawn Till Dusk Tek

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Number One and Smartest Solution

Best solution that you can even sell over other AVs as an add on even if they are on a current contract.

Pros

It is the best software I have found for COMPLETE ransomware protection.

Cons

Price for Endpoint, Intercept X and EDR all adds up fast and can scare clients.

Reasons for Choosing Intercept X

Ingram Micro billing was a huge plus over pandas own billing department that kept over billing me. ESET takes to long to setup. I was up and going in three minutes with Sophos.

Response from Sophos

Replied August 2019

Glad to hear you've been having success with Intercept X. Thanks for the review!

January 2020

Jorge from Manufactura Estampadas SA de CV

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Sophos Intercept X

Best Antivirus on the market i really like it and i am very glad that we decided this over others.

Pros

Best Antivirus Software i ever used, the administration console it is very intuitive and easy to use, you have a lot of alerts and as a plus you have a web filter.

Cons

i really can find a Con, what i can say that i really dont like but i understand why is working that way , when you have restricted policies for external devices (usb , printers ) and you need to use one, the process to approve a usb device it is tricky and complicated.

Reasons for Choosing Intercept X

we like the demo and the price was a little more cheaper than others besides it has a very good Garner evaluation

October 2019

Steven from Global Payments Inc.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Easy to deploy inclusive protection

The software was very easy to install and configure. We have not had any issues with viruses or malware. We also have not had anything flagged by other solutions we have tested alongside Intercept X.

Pros

For such a sophisticated software approach it was surprising how low a footprint Intercept X was on our computers and networks.

Cons

The concept of non-database driven antivirus/antispyware solutions takes some time to wrap your (and others) heads around, but once you look into the process it is quite impressive.

Reasons for Choosing Intercept X

We really liked the idea behind databaseless antivirus protection.

November 2019

David from Caledonia Housing Association

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Simple to use

Really decent to use, generally sits quietly in the background on the endpoints but has plenty of info/reports available in the cloud management page.

Pros

The GUI for administration is relatively simple to use

Cons

Network rollout was a bit more intricate than it needed to be

Reasons for Choosing Intercept X

Much better Admin UI, a LOT less cluttered!

May 2019

Alex from Moffitt Cancer Center

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Great protection, however...

Overall it is a great protection option if you are looking for a big company, depending on your work, purpose of it and if you don't mind having to constantly request access to blocked applications... other than that, good product.

Pros

Sophos offers great overall protection, specially for big companies and networks. It is worth the money and value.

Cons

Only con I found with this product, which is to me a big pet peeve, is the need to contact our IT department because Sophos tends to block several applications and software used on my work space. Only way to get authorized to continue with my work is by contacting IT (product administration) so I can get allowance to continue through these checkpoints.

June 2019

segun from Coollink

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Very good malware protection software

This software provides round the clock security to endpoint devices whilst providing good report generation to the device administrators

Pros

It is a cloud based endpoint protection software which means virus definitions and other major updates are done easily provided internet connections is available. The anti-tamper feature that protects you from ransomware attacks as it prevents file types from being changed. It also provides extensive reporting of the endpoints activities to the administrator on the sophos central and also emails of potential security threats are sent to the endpoint administrator.

Cons

I cant think of any problems i have with this software so far my experience has been very good

Response from Sophos

Replied June 2019

Glad to hear Sophos Endpoint is working well for you!

April 2019

Louis from Blaucomm Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Excellent Endpoint Protection with Cloud Management

Sophos Endpoint protection is fairly priced and adds piece of mind to device security, but requires the addition of remote access to complete the product.

Pros

Sophos Endpoint Protection is managed via Sophos Central, the cloud management portal for nearly all Sophos Products. It allows rapid deployment of Sophos Endpoint Software to MacOS and Windows, and reports and allows policies and users to be centrally managed. It's very good at catching nearly all issues.

Cons

Occasionally its not so good and some issues still require physical access to the device to remove the issue.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Sophos Endpoint - Keeps you Safe

Overall, our experience has been. Sophos has allowed us to see when we are having an issue with a workstation and to remedy it ASAP.

Pros

Moving to this cloud based solution has been great. -Adding machines has been easy. -Getting emails right away when a machine falls out of compliance. -You can start a scan of a workstation from the online admin console.

Cons

Few things we like least: -Some setting is hard to find. -The Tamper Protection password is a per machine password. Login to Sophos, find the machine, and then get the tamper pasword. would have been easier if you could set a password instead.

November 2019

Abigail from Amazon Web Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Real endpoint security solution

The anti-theft feature of this solution helps me to find my lost devices which helps a lot in saving my time and also my important databases including all files and folders.

Pros

I have been using this security platform for years and getting effective services. Its program is easy to operate and keeps my system secure and protected from all harm attacks. I feel secure and about my important data. The thing I like is the user-friendly environment of this software.

Cons

There is nothing major problem about this endpoint program. It is working great and giving proper security.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Doesn't quite cut it.

Negative. Our company has moved away from them in lieu of Microsoft Defender for Windows and are exploring options for our Macs - we may even adopt Microsoft Defender for these as well once the new platform is made more widely available.

Pros

- Availability in multiple platforms - Unified management console - Easy installation

Cons

- Very difficult to remove from devices on an enterprise scale - Resource intensive

April 2019

Michael from Vertic A/S

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Easy to implement and manage. Great for SMB

As a SMB with a small IT team supporting a midsize organization. We are partial to products that are quick to deploy and requires little day to day maintenance. However we also take security seriously and required a product we could trust to do so. We selected the Sophos cloud product from the Sophos Endpoint Security. It had a quick learning curve and deployment time was minimal. We've also had consistently positive feedback from our users. The alerts are meaningful and we've been able to apply policy based rules on all our users, having a complete adoption. This is a great product for SMB, however larger organisations may require more customization and should be sure to test this product proper prior to selection to see if it suits their specific needs.

Pros

Great cloud based product, with an easy and intuitive management interface. Was very fast to deploy the clients and setup policies. Integrates with other Sophos products in the management interface, making it easy to manage all your security solutions one place. Great price point compared to features and functionality. Low resource footprint on most workstations.

Cons

Sophos isn't consistent with which identity solution they support. Some requiring Azure AD and others on-premise AD. To solve this, you need to split the Sophos products over two web management interfaces, which isn't smart or intuitive. Sophos support can sometimes be a bit slow getting back to you, but seems to be improving. Features are super easy to implement, but it sometimes comes at the cost of transparency.

April 2018

Adam from Firefly Legal, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Solid Virus / Malware Protection. We love the cloud interface.

Saved money and improved our system security.

Pros

We have been using Sophos Endpoint Protection for about 2 years now and we love it. The best part is the ability to control our Virus protection settings from a central webpage. We use it for more than virus protection we also use it to limit our corporate users internet access. The feature we love it the ability to select categories (Violence, Drinking, Entertainment) This added an additional layer of security. The dashboard is great it gives us a quick look at the status of our devices. We know that all of our end users and servers are protected. We have enabled email noticications so we will get an alert that there is an Issue that IT needs to look into . Tha best part is the license is per user not machine. So some of our IT guys have 2-3 computers that all are protected with out the cost of additinoal licenses.

Cons

Very few Cons sometimes you have to dig a little to get to a setting in the cloud console. Also, the support is generally a long wait and the first tier isn't very knowledgeable. Luckily we don't call support a lot. I really wish i could buy the product direct and not have to go through a third-party reseller.

September 2019

Sameer from CMG

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Simplified Endpoint Protection

We installed to tackle the ransomware issues happening around the world.

Pros

Its a very simple application with a cloud based administration portal. We use it along with our XG Firewall which helps to provide a 360 degree secure network. It very active and detects harmful files quickly and sends an email notification to the admin.

Cons

Nothing as such. The software does the work as described. However to do that it runs several processes.

Reasons for Choosing Intercept X

We got the integrated solution of Sophos Endpoint and Firewall

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Strong Protection and Centrally Managed Make For A Great Experience

We wanted a A/V solution that provided AI and cloud management.

Pros

Sophos Endpoint has been a great addition to our organization. It makes AV management far simpler than we could have imagined. With a centralized interface, we can manage PC's and deal with any issues with little knowledge to the end user. It integrates wonderfully with our AD and our Sophos XG Firewalls. The protection it provides is fantastic.

Cons

Occasionally we do encounter some issues with updates not always reenabling the endpoint. but it's rare and fixed easily. I do wish there was an easy way to push out the installer. Support from Sophos is slow, can be on hold for hours.

Reasons for Choosing Intercept X

Sophos had better reviews and had cloud management.

Response from Sophos

Replied June 2019

Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear that you're finding Sophos Endpoint (and XG Firewall) a good fit for your business!

July 2019

Susan from Public Defender

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

SOPHOS--My all in one

SOPHOS provides a very easy to use interface for both their UTM/AV. I am usually in these products once a day if not more. Ran a test Ransomware scenario with a KnowBe4(designed for that) product and SOPHOS immediately isolated the test WS from the network. Everything. It was similar to pulling the network cable. That quick. In fact it took a while to get the WS back online after SOPHOS cleaning. Recommend

Pros

SOPHOS is a replacement to several solutions we have used in the past. I am using SOPHOS UTM for my firewall and SOPHOS antivirus as well as using wireless access points/Mail management/et al.. The management of this product is extremely easy to use considering it is a web interface and they have centralized all their products.

Cons

Seriously...Probably the cost but overall not so bad considering the licensing and length of years we usually purchase.

Response from Sophos

Replied July 2019

We're glad to hear that Synchronized Security is working out well for your organization. Thanks for the review!

May 2018

Nick from Warrington College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

The best endpoint anti-virus money can buy

I have been a Sophos customer since 1997, but I check and compare them every couple of years. The price for what you get is great and the features you get are first class and award winning. InterceptX is probably the best endpoint security tool I have!

Pros

Conistantly comes top in all anti-virus tests - detects more than competitor products Sophos Intercept X anti-ransomware is a God-send and will role back any zero-day encryption attacks Sophos Sandstorm allows checking of attachments in a cloud-based virtual environment in Sophos labs to test each unseen attachment. Sophos Central makes admin so much easier Being able to block non-encrypted USB sticks and other peripherals is a nice feature.

Cons

Sophos Enterprise admin is a little dated. Sophos Central admin is much easier and nicer Sophos Central doesn't tie up with Sophos SG Next Gen Firewall, but it does play nicely with the newer Sophos XG.

January 2019

Duraisamy from Anand Institute of Higher Technology

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

SOPHOS Firewall

Its a good software for big organisation to protect the systems and monitor the internet usage. It is worth to buy.

Pros

Easy monitoring the client from central server. We are able to set customized download limit to the end users. We could censor the unwanted websites at our campus. Client can check their daily usage limit and use accordingly. Sophos portal is very easy to manage and it can be accessed in remote login also.

Cons

There are some drawbacks in end user point of view. In an organisation the employee will roam around the campus and there are some occasions will happen to login in multiple computers and it is not supported since the admins block multiple logins. Data limit is really embarrassing. Authentication is automatically signed off if the systems is kept idle for sometime. I think Sophos is bit late in updating the databases.

September 2019

Andrew from Glenns Ferry School District

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great AV solution and effective against Malware

We use it for protecting our servers. It was cost inhibitive for use to use on all workstations.

Pros

It has a proven track record of malware resistance and its forensics or threat analysis is great. It can help narrow down exactly what happened and what files were effectively part of the launch and spread.

Cons

The biggest issue is more the cost for schools and so I am currently only able to deploy it on our Windows serves.

Reasons for Choosing Intercept X

Reputation amongst pairs.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Sophos, best protection

Sophos supplies top security with maximum functionality

Pros

Sophos allows us to protect all the devices on our domain and keep them free from virus'. Sophos comes with a simple installer that can be used on either Windows or Mac OSX, this allows for quick, easy installations so we can quickly configure our devices to ensure less downtime. Sophos allows us to create multiple different profiles depending on the user or department. Once the profiles are configured, the permissions will be applied against the device instantly. We can also approve individual websites or applications, this allows us to keep a close eye on devices across the group whilst ensuring security is tight.

Cons

We have noticed with some hardware, although the are the same model, Sophos seems to block one but not the other. Obviously the hardware differs slightly but Sophos should recognise the model. Due to the number of users we have, this is a constant maintenance task.

October 2018

David from Highlander I.T. & Telecoms

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Our preferred endpoint (and server) protection product

Overall I am very happy with this product and confident of the protection it provides.

Pros

Powerful and feature rich protection product that does not noticeably impact system performance. Support is excellent, once engaged the engineer is staying with you until the issue is resolved. They don't even mind if you add a couple of additional problems into the mix. Includes their Intercept X protection with the advanced version. This is powerful stuff, anti-exploit and ransomware with root cause analysis. The portal to manage it all is easy to use as well. Very happy with this product and recommending it to everyone.

Cons

Not the cheapest on the market. The cloud version does not have a push-deployment tool like the old fashioned on-premise version does. But once deployed it is a joy.

August 2019

Jim from C H Reed

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great for granular control

Have not used Intercept X, but saw a demonstration. It looks like a good product that can isolate an infected computer and allow deep investigations of what where and wehn it happened.

Pros

Easy to setup and push out to Endpoints. Love the ease of setting up Web control and application control. Clone the base policy make changes to it and apply it to one computer or all computers and servers. Like the fact you can set application controls as well to allow users to add .exe files or disallow them.

Cons

Reporting of computers is a little flaky. When a computer updates, it disables certain services which throws an alert. When the service restarts, you have to manually clear the alert.

Response from Sophos

Replied August 2019

Glad to hear Sophos Endpoint is working out well for you. We hope you get to use the full Intercept X at some point for the latest & greatest protection.

May 2018

Randall from TMC Technologies of WV

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Great and reliable antivirus

Pros

Network security is very important to my company, and one of the widely used and recommended antivirus programs that users need to have installed in order to remote VPN is Sophos, so that says a lot to me about the reliability of the software. So far I have had no issues and have not been infected by any viruses since using the tool. It seems to be a very robust tool and works to protect my files, downloads, browsers, and network activity. The settings are also easy to change.

Cons

The cloud based configuration is interesting.. Maybe I'm just not used to it, but if one where to have no internet connection then you can't modify settings. But then at the same time, the cloud based settings allow one to globally modify all the clients that are on the account, so I could see that being a powerful feature.

August 2019

Marissa from Auburn Community Hospital

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Secure Your PC Today!

Pros

This software keeps us secure and safe. Easy to use. Easy to set up and great at removing threats

Cons

You can experience a slow down in processing while running.

January 2019

Mike Lester from Greenfield Development Corporation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

One of the best security suites

Fingers crossed, I have never experienced a glitch in our security after deploying Sophos to our endpoints. I hope it continues to do so.

Pros

What I liked about Sophos is the enterprise readiness of the solution to provide an all in one solution for the entire security landscape. It is a very robust and scalable solution for our company and with other companies I know who have deployed the solution. It even has its own Data Leak Protection mechanism.

Cons

Maybe the least liked about the software is the resources it eats up, when I have used it on an older machine (laptop). It really bogs down the system to the point there is not much to do while the program is doing its thing.

July 2018

Matth from Compaan

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

We haven't had any trouble, I guess Sophos is working? :-)

Pros

The great thing is our users don't get interfered by working while being fully protected. I think it's nice that we can enable device control. There are a lot of external people coming in and without some overview of what they connect to our devices we would've probably gotten in trouble a lot if it wasn't for Sophos

Cons

We've contacted the customer support a few times and I feel this isn't on par with the security the software gives. We get an exhausting list of things to try to fix the problem but when it doesn't there isn't a real followup.. We end up testing ourselves or finding the fix online.

March 2019

Peter from Our Daily Bread Ministries

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Easy, light weight, watch the updates.

Very happy, it kept everything running well for over 3 years now.

Pros

This caused little to no interference or slowdowns to the system. No macbook protected by it ever developed an infection.

Cons

It was not usually the scanner that hogged resourced, but its updater. The SophosUpdater consumed the majority of energy, disc read/writes, and bandwidth for every machine. The only incident I had with it slowing a computer down was when we had to backup and move off of a device. Then it insisted on pre-scanning everything that was "tar-balled" dragging a 45 minute operation out to 4 hours and refused to halt or quit that scan.

July 2019

Tom from Vertic

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

No more Virus

I have been happy with Sophos and it has been on of the pieces of Anti-Virus software that has required the least maintenance and attention.

Pros

It's great for me as a user. Easy install with a installation package and easy to maintain. I basically don't have to do anything and any update is automatic. I can run the scan manually but it's also done automatically. The ease is perfect and I don't have to use any time within the application. I can ask IT to run the automatic scan at a different time and create a policy for you as the scan do take a lot of cpu.

Cons

The scan is pretty heavy on the machine but you can get around it with policies. I have asked IT to run the scan during lunch. It's working like a charm besides the heavy CPU usage.

January 2018

Michael from University of Nottingham Ningbo China

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Powerful management console for enterprise

Sophos is a giant in the market of enterprise antivirus. Recent years, Microsoft Windows offers free antivirus software with great enterprise management tool. Personally I prefer Microsoft.

Pros

It provides powerful management console for enterprise administrators to deploy agent to workstations, and monitor client status. With simple and clear interface for end user.

Cons

The client agent requires large memory usage, usually at least 1GB. As it has cloud-enabled analysis for unknown websites, client agents will send these website addresses to Sophos server, hence losts of bandwidth is consumed.

November 2017

Tim from Call One

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Protects our end-users without interfering with their daily work. Catches more than previous product

Catches more malware and PUPs than our previous antivirus product by far!

Pros

Sophos Central's cloud management makes for a much better experience than hosting our own management server internally. Our users get their definition updates from anywhere as long as they have Internet, and the endpoints report back in if they run into any trouble or malware. We know if someone picks up a virus or if their computer stops getting updates or if they call out of configuration compliance through automatic emails from the system, so are able to take corrective action right away.

Cons

Since the management server is in the cloud, it cannot do automatic deployments of the software to our endpoints. You either have to install it manually or have software deployment solution from another source. That being said, its command-line installation options are super easy.

June 2017

Grant from Rockley Photonics

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Overall the Sophos Endpoint Protection has been very good.

Fully, cloud-based administration of endpoint protection software.

Pros

I like the cloud-centric management portal of the product. I, as the administrator, can keep an eye on the entire company. The portal (as well as the endpoint products) are all globally acccessible, too.

Cons

I would like a little more control of the endpoints monitored; sometimes I need a "reach out and touch you" facility. PUA's keep coming up and I'm never sure if I've removed them or not. That goes for several warnings. Some of them are only temporary (missed 2 updates, for example), but they still show up as alerts, even though they have gotten the last 10 updates. And finally, the website restrictions are pretty ridiculously restrictive.

April 2019

Sarah from TeamLogic IT of Central Phoenix

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Sophso should be the ONLY protection software!

We use it for protecting our machines as well as for VPN connections. The sophos client on the machine regularly runs updates and blocks sites and threats very efficiently. The Sophos admin console is suburb, you can customize the software you put on the machines, you can track devices and servers, you can push updates, and I love how you can customize software and websites form being allowed or not allowed. This is truly amazing product.

Pros

Every single last thing about this software is amazing.

Cons

There is not one single thing that is wrong with this software, it is absolutely amazing product

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

A great, easy to use and comprehensive endpoint protection suite

Sophos has helped me make my company more compliant with security audits and it has been a breeze in doing so.

Pros

Sophos endpoint protection is a very easy to use security suite of products, that gives you a lot of features for a great price. Most of the additional features such as disk encryption are modular and use the same framework or console as the main product, which make deployment even more slicker.

Cons

You need to tweak your policies before deployment to your environment, as you get a few false positives.

March 2017

Annick from Screen Division

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Great antivirus for my Mac(s)

All in all very happy and I highly recommend Sophos.

Pros

I have been using Sophos for more than 7 years now and have it installed on all my Macs. Easy to use, easy to install, great protection.

Cons

Since last year I have started experiencing trouble when backing up my Macs. Somehow there seems to be an cpompatility problem between Sophos and Timemachine and when backing up, I need to turn off scanning and live protection to make sure it goes quick. If it's not turned off, Time Machine announces a backup time of sometimes 120 hours.

March 2019

Carlos from Wendco of Puerto Rico Inc

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Sophos Endpoint will surprise you

Sophos endpoint protection is a pretty robust solution that will give you peace of mind when those Zero days Exploits breaks if you have Intercept X.

Pros

Antivirus, Periferal control, Web control, Data loss prevention, and ransomware protection in one single Product, great integration with sophos firewall if you have one. Great Server Lockdown feature for Windows and Linux Servers, even if they are On Premises or Cloud based on AWS or Azure.

Cons

Sometimes automated installations end up inn a partial install resulting in having to renistall the client. if you have tamper protection enabled for you clients this will result in manual labor for your team

January 2019

Abbey from FuGenX Technologies

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

An Outstanding Protection from Threats.

Overall, it gave our IT control over internet usage along with great security features.

Pros

Sophos Endpoint Protection is a complete security solution. It checks all the attachments sent via email and provides a strong guard against all sorts of malware attacks. It is also being used to limit user internet access within our company. Which prevents the abuse of bandwidth. It also supports Windows and Mac both operating systems. Hence, nothing goes unprotected in our company.

Cons

A user can uninstall it to restore the full internet access without being asked to provide a password or taking permission.

September 2018

Michaela from University of Arizona

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Sophos Endpoint Protection - User Review

I use Sophos on all of my computers - daily - and am very pleased with it's performance.

Pros

I have used Sophos on both my work computer and personal laptops over the past twelve years and have never suffered any malware issues - despite regular internet use. I use the internet frequently - visiting numerous websites for information, purchases, etc. and Sophos has caught every potential threat.

Cons

I have not had any issue with this malware.

January 2018

Matthew from HBM nCode Federal LLC

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Feel safe with Sophos. Great value for the price.

Pros

It just works. There are not too many things I can say that about. Sophos is by far the best Anti-Virus software I have used and I have tried them all. Having it deployed in a corporate environment the past 7 years I can tell you it does work fantastic.

Cons

The Enterprise Console can be a bit laggy and clunky at times and give false information about which machines are updated. But the software works very well overall.

July 2018

Douglas from Courtesy Auto Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Real time protection that really works.

Pros

Endpoint makes setup easy for a large user. Great management console allows you to apply settings to all users quickly. It detects threats quickly and reduces stress level for our IT department

Cons

Some features require and additional license, ie zero day protection. To most this is a feature that should just be included even if it raises price of software. Support can take awhile to respond.

May 2018

Ivan from Smart Organic

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

We are using Sophos Endpoint Protection for a couple of years and yes it keep us out of trouble

Pros

Sophos Endpoint Protection is very easy to use product with management console in the cloud. Easy to use - applying policy's to all users has never been easier. The endpoint protection is not signature based but behavior based solution. It can catch zero-day threats.

Cons

We had few machines with outdated software - with Windows XP and we cannot use the Sophos protection on those.

July 2019

Petar from Slice

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Feel Safe Browsing

Pros

This software is amazing at what it can do. Works in the background and keeps your browsing safe to the MAX. Blocks any intrusions, keeps you away from bad site, doesn't allow you to make a wrong turn anywhere on the huge highway that is the Internet.

Cons

It can be hard to set up, but that's why there is a dedicated Customer Service to help you out on the way. Sometimes it can be to extreme when blocking, but that's why you pay for it to do.

Response from Sophos

Replied July 2019

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint Protection is keeping you secure!

August 2019

Emma from PAYNET ZIMBABWE

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great antiviruses stopper

Cumputers are protected from any malicious applications and viruses Also protect mobile android phones from online threats so my personal information is secure

Pros

System work more efficiently Potential viruses and suspension files are cut out Schedules scans to protect data from threats in

Cons

No local support, My country hence the support channel is quite long as wait for support from South Africa

July 2019

Dan from Jeroboam Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

SOPHOS Endpoint Protection

Pros

This is a great product, we have been using it internally for some time now. We also added the following two add on's. Intercept X, anti-ransomware and EDR. Very powerful Trio Also running it on our servers.

Cons

A little ramp-up time, but very easy to install and maintain from Sophos central, you can also run updates and scans from Central.

December 2018

Brian from Data Management Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

great product, and good end user licensing model

I am the security engineer that deployed, tested and responds to reports and performs maintenance on the product.

Pros

This product is is billed on a per user bases, and not per device, this makes environments more cost effective when users use multiple devices. Rules and exceptions work as expected

Cons

No cons so far, but i do wish they supported linux desktops.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Sophos is a complete (but complex) anti-malware piece of software that is easy to manage and rollout

Centralized control of my diversely distributed user-base. I can make sure that everyone has the software installed and that it is working correctly.

Pros

The console view is extremely helpful. I like the notifications and health reports of my protected machines and users.

Cons

Some of the organization is illogical. The encryption is managed separately from other policies. It also over reports problems that correct themselves in a matter of days (like when the users reboots). This tends to make me ignore some problems to see if they persist.

June 2019

Marcial from New Millennium BS

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

High End Protection

Endpoint protection has a rapid response to risks or attempts of end user's computer damage. works fine in the background without user noticing.

Pros

Endpoint security and control are very robust for any local or remote user

Cons

no cons at all after more than 10 years working with the product

Response from Sophos

Replied July 2019

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint has been a good fit for your business.

September 2017

Patrick from The McGowan Companies

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2017

Full suite of protection tools. Not just anti-virus, it's more.

Full protection suite, when it works correctly, is amazing at it duties. But if it breaks, it is almost impossible to remove.

Pros

Sophos Cloud based management tool makes it easily accessible. Sophos reverse-engineers a program before it runs to see if it malicious.

Cons

Customer support for the product is the worst I have ever seen. Weeks would go by between responses on tickets. I told to white-list Office EXEs to allow Hitman.Pro to not block them. Had to reformat 2 machines because the software did not install/uninstall correctly.

June 2017

Dan from TBI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Easy to implement, if a little difficult to figure out at times

Easy to implement, easy to use after figuring out quirks. Cost effective.

Pros

It is cloud based, so you don't need to have software installed on a server and can access from any location. It's also easy to install and supports both Mac and Windows. The dashboard gives an overview of what is going on with your machines. Most times you can clean up things right from the cloud interface, but if manual clean up is required there is generally advice on what to do through links.

Cons

Some of the features take a bit of digging, for example adding exceptions could be an easier process. Also the few interactions I've had with support have been lackluster, even to the point of not getting responses at all.

July 2019

Brian from Oliver IGD Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Just does its job well

Pros

This software is seamless. It just does the job quietly and efficiently and kicks in when needed.

Cons

You have to open the menu to find what threats have been dealt with, you don't always notice them as they happen. Not such a bad thing to be honest!!

Response from Sophos

Replied July 2019

Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that Sophos Endpoint Protection is working out well for you!

November 2018

Timothy from Olympic Steel - Atlanta

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Simply, the best email and web based threat protection available

You never know who, what, when, or where you will be hacked. But with Sophos Endpoint Security and Control it hasn't happened yet.

Pros

Solid platform for security, easy to use (no interaction needed), no false positive reports to date,

Cons

There are other security software with comparable test results for less money. But, no complaints here.

November 2017

Jeremy from GB

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Been completely satisfied thus far

Great protections from malware and more specifically Ransomware. Also nice using the hosted version so there's one less server to manage on premise.

Pros

The Intercept-X addon for Ransomware is a must in todays threat landscape. We've had instances where this addon stopped ransomware before it could start to encrypt files.

Cons

There is limited reporting with the cloud version. No cool graphs you can show management or anything like that. Also, email notifications of events seem to be delays often times.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 166 reviews