What are VIPRE Antivirus Business users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using VIPRE Antivirus Business software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.3

35 Reviews

5
18
4
11
3
4
2
0
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"This system is GREAT at shielding your computer system. Its like a fortress that has been built to protect."
  • icon"The ability to monitor from a central dashboard is great, as is the ability to push updates to client PCs/Devices."
  • icon"The UI is clean, with a lot of customization and tuning to make it right for your needs. Great virus detection, not resource intensive, end-user will like it."
  • icon"Vipre was never able to take care of the problem. I downloaded a trial version of Bitdefender and it cleaned the infected machines within a day."
  • icon"The console needs to sit on one computer. You can use the cloud version which fixes this problem but if you have many computers connects to the console the migration can be a pain."
  • icon"The mobile device management has been hit and miss for us. Agents do not always check-in."

Jump to:

Browse all VIPRE Antivirus Business Reviews

  • Have you used VIPRE Antivirus Business and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 34 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 34 reviews

User Profile

John

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Vipre Business Antivirus Antimalware Kicks Butt

Support is great, sale team is also very good.

Pros

Love that you have a centralized console to monitor all the computers you you manage. They do not need to be in one physical location. The reporting is great and the instant notification if a computer because infected is something every IT pro needs.

Cons

The console needs to sit on one computer. You can use the cloud version which fixes this problem but if you have many computers connects to the console the migration can be a pain.

Anthony

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Good anti-virus solution

It has been a good product. Has alerted us of attacks and prevented viruses coming through.

Pros

Lot's of features and settings to tweak. Can create profiles for multiple devices. Doesn't use much resources when scanning

Cons

Can be difficult to find settings needed for certain tasks like exclusions and the like. Sometimes the definitions do not update automatically requiring user intervention.

Alternatives Considered

VIPRE Business Premium

Reasons for choosing VIPRE Antivirus Business

The cost and web management and the support made it a good choice

Reasons for switching to VIPRE Antivirus Business

Webroot was lacking in settings and was not great at detecting viruses

Peter

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Low Quality Product Not Detecting Even Old Viruses

Tried to contact support but they could not find my license, which we paid money for a number of years back. The company has gone through many mergers, Sunbelt, GFI, ThreatAware etc. and seemingly lost records. They refused to give me even a bit of support. So I not only does this antivirus not protect you, not only does it not even handle older viruses let alone any new threatas, not only does it not find your computers in your network and requires painful manual installation requiring dozens of hours. there is also no support. This product is absolutely not recommended.

Pros

Good is that there is a centralized console, which is supposed to be capable to detect workstations on your network automatically and push out agent installations + updates to them, in theory at least.

Cons

The central console only detects about 60% of your workstations. No amount of reboots handles this situation. You literally have to generate a MSI file from the server console and walk to each station physically to install the MSI. And that install is painful again - on most computers it took us 5 (five!) reboots and 2-3 re-installs of the MSI before it finally become active and recognized by the central console. Some computers even never got recognized, no matter how many times they were rebooted and re-installed. That's a really poor show. And I am not alone with this - I have asked a few colleagues in other companies, and they all said this is a "normal" problem with Vipre, it always does this. Tried to update to the latest version - no change, still does the same. The worst part is that the detection rate is absolutely awful. If you look at the history of threat detection it usually finds nothing. On several workstations I ran a full deep scan with Vipre, and it found no threats at all. Then ran a scan with Malwarebytes and it found 40 threats! All the way from really old threats like Conficker and a v5.vbs virus to other type of malware. Vipre had found nothing for weeks!

Keith

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Good value for the money, GREAT customer support-Post Sale

After being an end user at work, I was pleased with it enough to evaluate it for my home domain server needs and the small number of clients connected to it. I found that it does meet my needs as a home user quite well. Any questions I've ever had post sale with their customer support center have been answered completely and timely. I feel their pricing structure is on-spot for those looking for a good solution without breaking the bank.

Pros

The ability to monitor from a central dashboard is great, as is the ability to push updates to client PCs/Devices. The auto-update for the clients is a nice feature too, as it saves me from having to worry that the clients are up to date.

Cons

It seems that the software can be easily disabled based on the complaints of some users who have reported being infected with ransomware or other malware that snuck by.

Response from VIPRE

The VIPRE Business products does not give the User the ability to disable protection by default. The Admin may allow certain Power Users to control their settings. Best practices is to limit User access to settings.

Replied February 2020

David

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2017

I tested Vipre with a variety of penetration tests and it stopped most attacks immediately

Pros

I threw a littany of attacks at Vipre and it immediately recognised and stopped all but those I ran by eminating an HID device for which I had physical access to the computer. While there are certainly ways to bypass Vipre, it has, in my experience and research, a constantly updated list of attacks and an immediate response time. The power of this software also makes it a less desirable target for attacks as one could spend much less time creating an attack for a weaker and more commonly used program

Cons

When Vipre runs a scan it takes up a ridiculous amount of processing power. I'm running dual xeon processors with a SSD and 32Gb of ram and I still have to kill the procoesss. That said, scheduled the full scans for the middle of the night and you should be good to go

Greg

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Great anti-virus product

Pros

I have been using Vipre for 10+ years now, it's a product that works quite well and is fairly light on system resources.

Cons

Sometimes malware gets through, but that is true of every product, it can still be annoying.

Kaylee

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Easy to customize and great protection

Was having and issue with network programs, but they were quick to get ahold of and helped us diagnose and resolve the issue. Easy to customize depending on which computer its installed on. Can have separate policies for the server and each workstation if we wanted. Can maually or remotely scan devices. Now internet based and easy to use and send updates to the workstations.

Pros

Easy to customer depending on the workstation and our needs. Can copy and edit to create different policies depending on our needs

Cons

Was having and issue with network programs, but they were quick to get ahold of and helped us diagnose and resolve the issue

Dallin

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Great Software with Regular Updates

Pros

I have used this software for a few years now. I bought the lifetime version and I believe it comes with regular updates as well. It was overall cheaper then doing the year-to-year. I've had problems with other anti-virus software where issues would still happen. There have been no issues for years since I started with Vipre. Would highly recommend.

Cons

The only downside is that it costs money, but protecting your assets and personal information is well-worth the cost!

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

A Good Solution for Small Businesses

In my minimal interaction with tech support, they have always been helpful and responsive.

Pros

The licensing is flexible. Some companies charge extra to install on a server OS vs a desktop OS. Vipre does not impose that restriction. A simple one-license, one-device policy. Also, a US based company.

Cons

Unfortunately, like all anti-virus solutions, you need to run a local AV server to get the best opportunity to fine-tune machine policies to your liking.

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Great Home Backup Solution

Works well and I like the product. Would recommend to users that are not as worried about security

Pros

This works great on home based computers or home based businesses. Blocks a lot and gives a lot of options for managing.

Cons

I would not use in a big business with all the other options that are out there.

Eve

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

This Beats All Others We Have Tried

Great company to work with! Their software is great and continuously updated.

Pros

* Does not interfere with daily work flow * So inconspicuous that we forget it is working in the background * In the 5 years we have been using this software, we have encountered ZERO issues * Product was recommended to us by our Computer Software Consultant who tried many other virus protection products previously * From time to time when our subscription comes up renewal, we have opted for other software based on price, and within weeks would cancel and return back to Vipre!

Cons

There isn't a single issue we have had with this software. For several years Viper was not compatible for Mac, however that has changed and all is well.

Dennis

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

It starts working immediately

Very positive experience and little or no issues with this product. We do wish support would be more proactive especially with updates.

Pros

Very easy to setup and install agents packages. Detection rates are good and does not bog down our systems.

Cons

The mobile device management has been hit and miss for us. Agents do not always check-in. The 3rd party patching is OK, however there are other superior products out there. We just use it to justify what is missing.

Chris

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Vipre Business is a very solid product that kept our network secure for many years.

Very consistent & easy to work with software that managed our client computers well.

Pros

Our version of Vipre was server-based and gave us a lot of granular control over our clients. I could initiate several AV functions immediately from the control panel, and I could also check the status of many software patches for each of those clients. The overhead of the used resources was low, and the nightly scans performed well each night. Reporting and notifications were also good.

Cons

We left this software in favor of a more moderately priced web solution in terms of seats. Vipre would occasionally let in some files that were infected and that would need to be detected/removed by other malware specific programs. Not many, but enough to make me think of other solutions. I'm not sure if they have come out with a cloud solution since we left in Fall of 2017, but that would have been a nice option as well.

David

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

VIPRE A/V

WE HAVE USED IT FOR MORE THAN 5 YEARS AND USE IT WITH ANOTHER PRODUCT TO KEEP OUR NETWORK SAFE.

Pros

WE USE VIPRE ANTIVIRUS ON ALL DESKTOPS AND SERVERS. IT OFFERS MULTIPLE PROTECTION FEATURES FOR THE ENVIRONMENT.

Cons

EVEN THOUGH I ADD EXCLUSIONS THEY SOMETIMES STILL GET FLAGGED AS VIRUSES ALSO KNOWN AS FALSE POSITIVES.

Reasons for choosing VIPRE Antivirus Business

BEST OF THE WORST! :)

Reasons for switching to VIPRE Antivirus Business

I HATE SYMANTEC, IT INTERFERES WITH SYSTEMS AND CAUSES PERFORMANCE ISSUES

Aimee

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Updates cause issues with other software

Pros

This system is GREAT at shielding your computer system. Its like a fortress that has been built to protect.

Cons

Seems that with each update that comes, it wipes away settings where I have allowed certain files from my office management software to pass through the antivirus system. The result is needless time spent trying to figure out if the issue is being caused by the OM software or AV software. I now check Vipre first everytime.

Rodrick

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

It's an antivirus that really work and your device bearly notice about it

Security and safety of my information

Pros

It doesn't slow down my pc, works because i have no virus problems in years, and the only time i need support (for setup after a windows upgrade) the support team solve by remote control.

Cons

i think the only think that vipre does not cover yet is the multi-language UI, and it's not really a Con but will be a plus to include this option in the future for this product.

Jeff

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Vipre protector of my data.

Overall it has been excellent identifying issue with any computer on my server, ID the issue and automatically taking steps to mitigate any harm.

Pros

The software works in the background and does a complete scan daily. Any issues are sent to both my IT administrator and myself.

Cons

No issues what so ever. It has worked as advertised without any problems.

Ben

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Secure | Economical | Superb Support

Pros

1. Vipre knows digital security inside and out. 2. The Cloud Endpoint enables easy deployment, efficient management, and economical. 3. Vipre support is 100% U.S based, knowledgeable, and fast.

Cons

None for our setting. Could be cumbersome for some businesses.

Brandon

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Good if You Have an IT Pro

Trust you IT Guru.

Pros

Lots of options for tracking threats and also white listing safe addresses. Can be maintained remotely.

Cons

Complicated to set up and implement. Exceptions are required for a lot of sites relatively. Won't work at all with VMware.

Diane

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Excellent Antivirus Software

Pros

Vipre is a fantastic software to protect your computer from viruses and malware. I highly recommend this product to everyone.

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about Vipre. It is a great antivirus software and great and protecting your computer.

Mark

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Vipre Review

Very poor. I had a 5 year subscription with them that I stopped using after 2 years.

Pros

When we purchased the software, it was fairly easy to set up and push agents to the endpoints within our organization.

Cons

We were using the Enterprise version of Vipre Antivirus on workstations and servers. Unfortunately, we had an outbreak of some Trojan viruses that spread to several of our workstations. I contacted Vipre tech support but had to leave a message. When they finally did get back to me, they sent me a boilerplate list of things to do to try to quarantine the machines. My main problem was how this could have happened when we had active protection running on all of the machines. Vipre was never able to take care of the problem. I downloaded a trial version of Bitdefender and it cleaned the infected machines within a day.

Reasons for switching to VIPRE Antivirus Business

Price and compatibility

Matthew

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

One of the best

Pros

Vipre is one of the best enterprise anti-viruses I've ever used. Central management, easy deployment, great reporting.

Cons

The UI for the server side needs to be updated. Looks like it's from the 90s. Client side looks great.

Bodo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Virus Protection Alternative

Vipre was easy to deploy and cost effective.

Pros

When we deployed Vipre as our antivirus solution 10 years ago. It was easy to deploy, easy to manage and fast to not be overly intrusive to the daily work.

Cons

Like many things it changed over time and grew too fast. In its current state the engine slows down the system and transparency is not as good.

Michael

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Reliable protection for your business

Pros

Easy to manage, instant quarantines and threat protection, automatic updates that require little management.

Cons

I have not had any luck getting Vipre to push installs to any workstations, servers, or laptops, but it is very easy to create a custom package and install it straight from the client.

GABRIELA

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

This product is worth trying as it provides good antivirus protection to our equipment.

Pros

Its interface is super simple, very well designed, easy to use, intuitive and those features were the ones I liked the most

Cons

Little known, I did not know of its existence until I found it in the list of capterra and I tested it. A bit of flaws when it comes to support and documentation.

Showing 1 - 25 of 34 reviews
VIPRE Antivirus Business

VIPRE Antivirus Business

4.3/5 out of 35 reviews
Learn More