User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(147)

147

4 stars

(118)

118

3 stars

(43)

43

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(7)

7

  • Pros

  • "I like the flexibility of the modules and themes."

  • "easy configuration and I love working with content types, have tousends of modules and very big comunity. Integration with several data baes and systems "

  • "I love how developer orientated this software is. "

  • Cons

  • "Complexity, lack of proper documentation. The developer community it is very helpful but can't be a little hostile to non developers or less advanced users."

  • " Vast user library, though community plugins can be outdates/abandoned since they are open source."

  • "It is not a complaint but sometimes when making a modification the cache is not cleaned immediately and you should wait"

Browse Drupal Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 318 results

July 2019

Jason from FrogDesk

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Drupal is a fantastic CMS

I like it a lot but because of their update cycle it should only be used on projects that have a lifespan of 5 years or less.

Pros

Views is the best thing about Drupal. Pre-Views, Drupal is a decent CMS, perhaps a bit more logical than WordPress, but with a lot less users it's hard to justify it. However with Views, you can make advanced applications with a pretty easy to learn interface. It's really, really close to a visual programming language, although there are still some things you'll need to break out the code for. I also really appreciate that most of the modules don't make too many assumptions. With WordPress, I constantly have to fight against styling and strangely formatted HTML inserted by plugins, and that's less common with Drupal modules.

Cons

It requires a fairly beefy hosting setup and a good caching setup to perform well. I also strongly, STRONGLY dislike that sites created five years ago now HAVE to be rebuilt, or they are not secure. That may be fine for enterprise, but it sucks for someone who makes lots of small sites for small businesses. Platforms should be supported for at least ten years IMO, the web has been stable for a while now and there's no good reason to force complete rebuilds. WordPress does this better and manages to continually keep sites upgradeable without a rebuild.

Reasons for Choosing Drupal

Drupal is a good choice over WordPress for projects that require a searchable database, where Views is at its best. WordPress is a better choice for SEO-focused projects because of Rank Math and other great SEO tools that exist only in the WordPress ecosystem. I don't even understand how Joomla is still a thing. Almost all of its plugins appear outdated. I haven't used it in over a decade, but there's a reason for that.

October 2019

Bryan from Silver Bullet Consulting, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Drupal 8 is my go to for Website Development

One of the most significant of business problems that I am solving by using this software for my consulting business is being able to provide a secure and stable website. The software itself informs me of when updates to the software or modules are available and those updates have always been painless and easy to implement. Similarly, creating websites for clients has also been easier with use of the Drupal 8 software as it reduces the need for repetitive tasks that tend to be associated with either creating websites file by file or the use of some of the other CMS software solutions that are available. I have also found that installing and setting up client websites using the Drupal 8 software is much easier than some of the other CMS software solutions that I have used in the past.

Pros

One of the things that I like the most about this software is its reliability and flexibility in being able to adapt to the various needs of businesses wishing to have an online presence.

Cons

Throughout my use of this software, I can not truthfully think of anything that I don't like about this software as it has significantly improved over the past seven years.

Reasons for Choosing Drupal

While Drupal and Joomla have similarities in the flexibility that they offer in the design and development of websites and the availability of plugins, modules, and extensions, I found that Joomla! seems to have changed the way plugins for the software are made available through its website. Unfortunately, in that change, the modules, extensions, and plugins listed on the Joomla! website aren't always what they are listed to be as some of the developers of these Joomla! additions/modifications use the listings as a means of driving traffic to their website rather than on the delivery of what was indicated in the listing.

June 2018

Aníbal from Banco Bicentenario, Banco Universal C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Powerful but difficult for the user, it can be improved

In my work I managed to complete the development of a project with this software, our team was congratulated by our bosses and the board of directors is very happy with the results, we are currently in the quality testing phase, I hope that soon Drupal can be launched in the production environment On a personal level, I see it as an option to do independent work, so I can obtain many benefits.

Pros

What I like most about Drupal is that it is free, you can make a complete implementation without investing money in software, we have chosen to implement only free software, so we have done it without cost, I like the possibility of being beyond the simple The content of the administrator has options for future developments, it is easy to install and its use is quite practical, I liked the fact that it has a nice and worked administration interface that makes it easier to explain to users how they perform their tasks. Daily within the application, the English-speaking community is numerous, which helps with some problems that may arise along the way. I think the system of blocks that has at the moment of structure the content within the page makes it relatively pleasant, we have taken a project to its final phase with Drupal I can say that we have done well.

Cons

The first thing that comes to my mind about what I do not like about Drupal is the cache system that has sometimes driven me crazy, it serves obsolete content and there are many conflicts when different users need to edit the same article, another problem is that there is failures in some buttons of the administration, sometimes the buttons do not perform any action, I had problems because sometimes the functionality of uploading an image or a pdf file fails when they are large, I think Drupal is designed for programmers and not for people without experience In the area of information technology, this could improve, the Spanish-speaking community has fallen short, it is difficult to find documentation and quality help in my mother tongue, I feel that Drupal is staying a bit behind in terms of extensions If there were more, it would be more attractive for more people.

June 2020

Yana from AKA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Best web-site builder that I've used

Really easy to use and has nice user friendly design.

Pros

This tool is amazing if you want to create a web-site but you don't have strong programming skills. It has many options, configurations that help to create the web-site that you want to create, also it helps to manage your site Admin dashboard where you can do any manipulation due to your site.

Cons

there are no cons, I think it is the best site constructor that help to save time, dont require strong technical skills and create good quality web site.

April 2020

Reece from Self Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Best For Developers

An incredibly powerful CMS which is good for websites of all sizes. Although not as simple as other CMS out there, once you're familiar with how it all works you're pretty much unstoppable. There's nothing you can't build with Drupal. It has a thriving community with thousands of powerful extentions.

Pros

I love how developer orientated this software is.

Cons

Can be a little hard to learn when you first start out.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

The rival to Wordpress that does not want to win the fight

Drupal is very different. It tries and tries to be better than WP but nevertheless it is still the tool for the specific people who are fed up with WordPress and want to try anything but doing "another wordpress website"

Pros

I like the functionality Drupal offers and the different approach to things. It is a nice try and the features such as security and performance that come with drupal as well as the tool for multisites are amazing and they work very nicely.

Cons

Drupal is nowhere near being a beautiful tool. It is pretty hard to learn and not easy to customize. Partially because the shortage of new integrations and new developers joining the community. It's hard to fight wp, but I really like that drupal tries and I believe it will always will but will never get there due to its audience limitations.

Reasons for Choosing Drupal

Drupal was a part of my work requirements and I was doing a couple of projects on it before switching to WP.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

DRUPAL DEPLOYMENT

I have generated multiple content management systems with DRUPAL, it is a great ally for the developer because of its easy connection with thousands and thousands of plugins, it also allows the generation and creation of them from native php

Pros

It is easy to generate its deployment in production and testing environments

Cons

It is not a complaint but sometimes when making a modification the cache is not cleaned immediately and you should wait

Reasons for Choosing Drupal

La experiencia de desarrollo es mas amigable, y se contaba con mas experiencia para este CMS

February 2020

Michael from Alco Electronics Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great for users who are more advanced

Pros

I like the flexibility of the modules and themes.

Cons

There seems to be more a learning curve compared to other CMS. There's also not as big of a developer community.

Reasons for Choosing Drupal

At the time, we hired a developer that suggested Drupal because of our needed integrations.

March 2020

Francis from Indipendent

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Old and not good looking

This product is more a related to create a blog website, is outdated and you can easily screw the configuration and you will need to create a new project from scratch if you haven't made the proper backup

Pros

Setting up is not that hard but requires a little of web developing in order to installing regular users wont be able to use it, it creates the datase and interface very quickly, has the multilinguale option available, you can customize your logo, and turn on and off a many of the feature that it has on it in the back end.

Cons

I can be hard to use, it requires to see a few tutorials but they are very large and library of templates seems limited, the overall appearance is old, and some translated features had fail to in the end up product

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Powerful open source CMS

We have only used Drupal a couplle of times as in most cases we found it too complex

Pros

Drupal is a powerful open source CMS with enterprise level functionalities. Best suited for higher level projects

Cons

Compared with other popular OpenSource CMSs Drupal can be much more complicated and requires higher development skills

September 2020

Imad from Trimble Inc.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Great for multiple teams in different Regions

Overall, it gives me the peace of mind that I don't need to learn coding to update my website.

Pros

Once it's set-up, which I'm sure would be a complicated task, it gets very easy to modify things on the website. Even people who don't know website building, can easily update their websites.

Cons

Once the webiste is built, there is not much room to move around, be creative. The design layout is fixed and no place where you can modify them, as a user ofcourse.

Reasons for Choosing Drupal

More secure, easier for multiple team members to work on it and update it.

July 2018

Joaquin from National Electric Corporation of Venezuela (CORPOELEC)

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

One of the most robust and secure Web CMS in the market

The security of having a tool that allows me to deal with almost any web project that requires content management, scalability and security.

Pros

If you have to face the development of an intranet or a medium or complex web project, Drupal is definitely one of the options that you have to consider. It is open source backed by a large community that has been committed for years to a project that is characterized by its flexibility and security. Drupal provides a robust content authoring platform and is capable of handling large numbers of users with clear rules and permits. One of the bases of Drupal is its system of modules. Eventually, almost any functionality you may need can be added to the system through modules (built based on PHP, JavaScript, HTML and CSS). And yet, I bet you will not even have to develop it, because surely it will already be available among the immense amount of modules that the community has contributed during these years (especially for version 7). The theme system is another of the important element. If you do not need to develop your own interface from scratch, you can choose one of the large number of free themes available and adapt it to your needs, being able to even configure many features without modifying the source code. Certainly, it does not seem like a very intuitive method, but once you understand it you can implement almost everything you need. In its latest version, Drupal has been almost completely modernized; it has discarded many failures that hindered its performance and have included in its core many important functionalities that were contributed by modules.

Cons

Drupal can be difficult to deal with for non-developer or technical profile users. Depending on your objectives, the learning curve can be considerable. The fact of being an almost module-dependent system for most of the functionalities can force you to deal with many configurations, compatibility issues and workflows when you want to implement complex functionalities that may even need several modules working together. As I see it, this is not necessarily a negative thing, but rather the cost of the flexibility and power it gives you. If the design and the appearance are important in your project, you will have to put a little more effort into the work; unfortunately, many of Drupal's graphic themes do not look as fashionable or in trend as those of WordPress, which is still the leader in this section. It is possible to achieve it, but you will have to dedicate time or pay for it. As the number of modules and the database grows, the performance of Drupal may be affected, so it is important to learn to keep it in shape and updated, activate the cache and continuously evaluate the relevance and usefulness of each of the added modules. Although it has been greatly optimized with the arrival of Drupal 8, it is not something that should be neglected in medium and large projects.

November 2017

Daniel from cowcreekgeek

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Drupal has Evolved into a Great CMS

Peace of mind, in regard to security. With a bit of customization, it makes managing web development projects much simpler and more productive. Releases like Thunder and Lightning hold the potential to become ever-better 'jump starts' toward the ideal CMS for publishing collaboratively.

Pros

Open Source GPL v2.0 or later = no license fees, ever. That's hard to beat, but the fact is that it's the better solution (even if it wasn't free). I've used it before, constantly revisiting; hoping it could be what 8.4.x is now. Know that "Enterprise Level Security" doesn't make it bulletproof, but that there are scores of highly skilled folks constantly pouring over every aspect of this software, with each component required to complete stringent testing before it gets a pass -- using experimental modules 'n such can reduce these benefits, soOo... do your homework. Biggest Pro? It isn't Wordpress. If properly installed and maintained, it's one of the best possible solutions. That's why so many government agencies, or even governments themselves, have built upon Drupal. I have 500+ active domains, and have used Drupal 100+ times or more. It's been our best choice, in most cases.

Cons

Documentation is sorta thin, which is often the case with major releases of open source software solutions, but it isn't that difficult to find answers: People often answer others that have encountered similar problems. The 'steep learning curve' isn't such a hard climb, since there are countless videos and tutorials out there... it's easily worth the trouble, even if you have no background in programming of web development. Installation could be made far simpler (e.g. the 'trusted host configuration' should be set up by the installer itself). But, it is hard to complain when -- sorta ashamed that I haven't put in the hours it takes to affect these changes I'd like to see. Manual (and frequent) updates are a bit of a pain, but it sure beats software that isn't being so actively developed as to require updates. Or, worse still, have nobody watching what the others offer as plug-in. Again: It's hard to complain without having put in nearly the time that countless others have (we all oughta give back, when/where we can ~;-)

September 2017

Madhu

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Phenomenal software

Pros

Drupal has seven main Pros: 1) It's uses a very flexible system of modules. You can use Drupal modules to add new features to your site. For example, the Membership module lets you add member based services, the Video modules lets you host video clips, while the Commerce module lets you add shopping features. Each modules is made up of smaller modules, which ensures you only activate the bits you need for your project. Best of all, you can mix and match the modules to create things the original module designers might have never considered. For example, combine the Commerce, Membership and Video modules to create a paid for membership site of training videos. 2) It's very layered. In Drupal, system code lives in one layer, code to do with appearance (e.g. CSS, HTML) lives in another separate layer and custom modifications live in another separate layer. This makes it very easy to change things. For example, you can change the entire layout of your site without having to modify the original content to adapt to it. 3) It's free Remarkably, the core technology and all these modules are available for free. There are some themes that you have to pay for if you want to change the look of your site, but you can make your own themes and there are number of free themes as well. 4) Great user support Drupal has a good support network of dedicated and helpful users who are willing to provide plenty of free help. There's also free training videos on YouTube. 5) Plenty of updates Drupal releases minor updates on a monthly basis which address any of bugs or security concerns that crop up. There are also major updates every 2-3 years, which radically change the functionality of the core system. 6) Portable code Most code can easily be transferred between sites. Hence, if you create a function on one site, you can move it to another without having to re-do it all from scratch. 7) Don’t need strong coding skills Drupal's module system means you can easily achieve a lot without needing to know how to code. It might not look and function exactly as you want, but it will be a decent effort.

Cons

Drupal has 2 main set backs: 1) It can get very complicated The down side of all the flexibility, is that there are often 10 ways to do one thing in Drupal and it's not always clear which method is best. Often the only way you can find out is through experience. Which means your early Drupal projects might not be as good as they could be, as you cut your teeth on learning which methods are best for you. 2) Your code won’t last forever. Every 2-3 years, Drupal releases a new major update which radically changes the functionality of the site. The plus side of this is that it makes Drupal better. The downside is that you will often have to completely re-write your custom code. Because these major updates change everything, you will often need to install new modules to replace old ones. Essentially you have to rebuild your site (thankfully all the content can be transferred over). Upgrading isn't a requirement. But after a couple of years, the older versions of Drupal are no longer supported. So if building a Drupal site, expect to redo it from scratch it in 3-5 years. Hence, it's not really good for projects which only have a budget for minor changes each year.

November 2019

Adam from Consult and Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Drupal is a premium enterprise solution

We have been using Drupal for over a decade and regularly check it against other products in the field. We still believe this open source project is one of the best on the planet.

Pros

Drupal provides a huge amount of power in a Content Management System. The latest version Drupal 8 is enterprise level software available as open source so while it is free to download and use, you will need a professional to get it doing everything you need. That said, with the right help - you can pretty much do anything online with Drupal. There is also an amazing community to access who will do what they can to help.

Cons

Drupal does require Drupal experts to get the most out of it - if you are new to software and software development, you would be wise to get a consultant or Drupal development company to help. This doesn't come cheap, but it does give you huge amount of power to design and develop exactly the website or software that you want.

December 2017

Stephen from Illinois Soybean Association

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Drupal is a CMS that can do it all.

Pros

The best part about Drupal is that you can do anything and the best functionality is either in Drupal core or a free module at Drupal.org. There is a misconception that the learning curve is difficult. In comparison, achieving the basic needs of a brochure website are the same in all of the top CMS solutions. Aside from comparisons, the best tool within Drupal is Views. You can create lists and grids of data that can then be sorted, filtered, and altered in so many ways without adding any additional modules. Of course you can extend views and provide even better data lists or different view types but the ability to display and work with items that reside in the system is unlike any other system.

Cons

With so many options available to you, the learning curve comes with learning how to best use the best module for the job. There may be 5-10 modules that achieve a result, but in the end, there may only be one module that does it exactly how you want it. So the complexity is in the trial and error of having multiple options. So you may waste time working through the complexities of a module and realize that was not the main intent of the module or it doesn't quite do everything you wanted. This is worth it to me though as I will then be able to understand how different modules can be used in different ways to perform different functions.

June 2019

Patrick from TriComB2B

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

The best open source CMS

Well over half of my agency's digital business id conducted through Drupal websites and applications. We have used it with great success on anything from small, basic websites to full-scale business-critical applications.

Pros

My favorite part of Drupal is that it is really built to be more of a platform than just a CMS. To see what I mean, look up e-commerce platforms on WordPress, Joomla, or basically any direct competitor. You will find many options available that do things slightly different than each other. In Drupal, there is really only one option, and a slew of submodules to build out the functionality you need. This results in a much more stable, secure, reliable and consistent platform. Second is the community. Everyone is on board with the idea of keeping it a platform and working together to make Drupal a great, modular CMS. Support, tutorials, documentation, and basic question/answers are readily available.

Cons

The upgrade paths between major versions is historically challenging. Drupal has promised to correct thing going from Drupal 8 to 9, but it is not yet available to confirm. As with any open source tool, you do have to be sure to keep up with any and all security updates to maximize security.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Ideal for collaborative work in corporate media

My overall experience with Drupal has been good, I prefer it as a manager and portal design before others, the only thing that happened is that the platform fell when a news had many entries at a time. We manage a news page and its content search engine is very effective and reliable. And the roles of the users, to execute changes in the page are very useful, in addition the trace is faithful.

Pros

It is an ideal software to edit a corporate communication medium among several collaborators, the allocation of roles to each user, allows the levels of publication and approval to be faithful and thus errors are avoided, as well as assigning or changing roles in the users. It is very easy to use, and the variety of features it brings allows you to alternate with designs and templates, which are very easy to edit and move, without the need to make new purchases or downloads. The drupal community is very knowledgeable and willing to help solve problems. In addition, security levels are higher than other content managers.

Cons

For those who are starting a web page and do not have programming knowledge, it can be difficult to find a lot of modules, but once you take the rhythm you can have a different page in both look and feel and functionalities. It also tends to hang when there are many entries at once to its database; or the server goes down.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great software made by a great community that uses and enforces best practices

Pros

With Drupal, you can make almost anything you can imagine even (and mostly) complex sites/apps without the need for starting from scratch. This is possible because of its great (in terms of quality and size) community and contributed modules. Some features I like the most of Drupal: - Myriad of contributed modules - Security - Possibility to work with several environments and replicate a site/config/contents from code - Great documentation, repositories, issues... everything you need in one place - Backend allows managing most of the tasks using a great user interface - Multilingual - Community - Encourages and enforces best practices - Possibility to perform most actions from command line - ...

Cons

It has a steep learning curve Last 8.x version requirements are quite elevated

March 2019

Abhinav from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The new era Content Management System.

Drupal is easy to maintain by non technical person. The theme customization is one of the best feature as it provide the flexibility of editing the website as per your need. The Open-Source code help in to understand and audit the code of the Drupal. My overall experience is good with this CMS as it becomes the administrator or site owner first choice as it's easy to maintain once setup.

Pros

Drupal is new era most popular content management system written in PHP, HTML5, JS and CSS. All the build-in templates come with the feature of responsive site. The new enhanced admin panel is easy and adaptive for user. The quick edit option make it up-to-date on the go. Drupal's large community make it more powerful as it easy to find freelancer Drupal developer and a number of plugins to make easy to integrate the number of feature to our site. All popular hosting site give on-click installation for Drupal which make it easy to deploy and maintain.

Cons

Popularity come with the vulnerability, as Drupal is one of the most popular CMS, which brings the vulnerability with it. Drupal continuous work on the area of vulnerability but you have to manual work on patch and also need to check the plugin functionality after each patch and update this process should be more automatic.

March 2019

Anita from Triboo Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Drupal – a cozy platform for websites creating

Drupal is a great opportunity for non-technical users to publish content to website on their own. There is an uncountable number of themes, which you can use for your website. Drupal updates each month, so you can be sure that each day people work on improvements. I recommend using Drupal. It is a reliable and flexible platform. The level of security is pretty high. But the most important thing is that Drupal will help you to create a professional website without coding. Do not doubt. It worth using it.

Pros

When I started using Drupal, I understood why so many government agencies used it. It is really robust. I like that Drupal propose a lot of different modules like video, membership, commerce. Thanks to them you may add new features to your website. What is important – each module have submodules, which help to add only those blocks which you need. But the best is that you may combine different functions of different modules.

Cons

I wish Drupal admin panel was more modern. Everything is too sharp and “grey”. When started using it for the first time, it did not seem to be very intuitive, but I got used to it quickly. Also I dislike that there is no simple drag-and-drop builder. It still takes not little time to create a new layout. I worked with WordPress for several years and must admit it was a little bit easier to navigate. Maybe the reason was that WordPress has fewer features than Drupal, but still.

March 2016

Nathan

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

March 2016

Powerful CMS with enormous flexibility but an uncertain future

I've been using Drupal since version 5, in 2007, and I rely on it for approximately half the sites I manage. It's enormously powerful, can be customized in any conceivable manner, and offers a vast array of modules and themes, most free. This power and flexibility comes at the price of a complex codebase, however, which can be slow to render and subject to database corruption. Drupal also suffers from a fixed release structure with dramatic architectural changes between releases, meaning that updating heavily customized Drupal sites to new major versions is not much less involved than adopting a new CMS framework altogether.

Pros

You can do anything with Drupal. Some things are even easy: setting up a basic blog is trivial, plenty of options are available for turnkey themes, and many third-party modules exist to rapidly turn Drupal into a solid framework for everything from e-commerce to social media aggregation to academic collaboration. When it works, it works well, and caching modules exist for every version to defray some of the CPU overhead generated by its large codebase.

Cons

Drupal's development community has opted for a fixed rather than a rolling release structure, which means admins performing major version updates incur a steep upgrade penalty in terms of changes to add-on options, basic code, and theme engines. From version 6 to the new version 8, Drupal has changed virtually everything, and as a result, many deployed users linger on increasingly insecure older versions, while many module developers and third-party integration teams have abandoned Drupal altogether as a result of the ongoing investment necessary to stay abreast of codebase changes. Finally, Drupal's own documentation is fragmentary and often self-contradictory, which can make educating oneself extremely time-consuming.

March 2018

Jeremy from Chewie Media Inc

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Working with Drupal is a balance of unbridled freedom and future-proofing frustration.

Pros

Druapl is a CMS that allows the developer to do anything they could want, provided they have the know-how and the time to build it. Plugins are often open-ended enough to allow for developers to plugin into them and continue building until the feature they are looking for is completed. There is incredible value here - while it is free, more premium plugins cost money. The user-base also serves as technical support - plugins are built by users and so they are also maintained and supported by those users. This means that there is a wide range of plugins and people to provide support if you run into an issue. Despite any shortcomings, I do love the product a lot. It's optimistic in the way its' built - very few software let you just have the ability to do anything with it these days. This is still one of those products, and so it should be commended for it.

Cons

This is NOT for somebody who wants to build their first website. This is a developer's platform, and some of the ways things are done in Drupal makes it very difficult to just get off the group and build out a website. I mention above the word "Developer" a lot, and that's who this product is really for. If I am aiming this review towards the general public, I would take the ease of use down to 2 or even 1 star for them - it's just not something you should do if you don't have experience building in it. Hire somebody. The other side of the coin in having a wide range of plugins means that there are a lot that are not very good, or are not maintained. They become a security liability. The fact that these plugins are maintained by users also means that there is nobody making sure that the maintainer keeps the plugin working, which can really wreck how a site functions.

May 2018

Shannon from Totem Media Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Drupal is the most secure and feature-rich CMS on the market. We love Drupal!

I always recommend those that are serious about creating websites that scale build on Drupal.

Pros

With a world-wide collective of active developers, Drupal is the developer's dream. There are a variety of installation profiles to give you a head start. Unlike Wordpress 99% of amazing modules are FREE. Companies like Sony and the White House use Drupal. If you can dream it you can do it in Drupal. The open-source community is helpful and always contributing new models. Because it is database driven you can create complex data sets that can connect with your current tools. When we build sites that need to scale we use Drupal. Great CDN module that works with Amazon AWS for super fast load time. Drupal allows you to build Enterprise level sites without custom code.

Cons

The only con to Drupal is the steep learning curve. It takes some time to become an expert. It is also helpful to find a host that understands Drupal or get some help. A server tweaked for Drupal is the best way to go and not always easy to find. If you know what you are doing you will have no issues.

March 2018

Ben from Top Floor Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

More than a CMS--An incredibly powerful site building and management tool!

Pros

It's open source! You can build just about anything with it, and you can do most things right within the user interface. Many things you can do in the UI such as building complex views are quite simple once you know the process, and would require writing complex code or database queries in most other systems. The community is excellent and there are thousands of free contributions. Drupal is great about security releases and about reviewing the security of Drupal core as well as the contributed space. Powerful theming layer using Twig templates in Drupal 8+. Drupal Commerce allows for a powerful e-commerce system.

Cons

The admin interface is not always intuitive for non-technical users. There's a learning curve involved with Drupal and many of its major contributed modules. Requires contributed modules for, or just entirely lacks, some features which users unfamiliar with the technical aspects of Drupal might expect. Drupal can be slow compared to some other systems, but its great caching layer mitigates this.

June 2018

Omar from A. James Clark School of Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

very capable, extensible web framework, sort of beastly under the hood

Pros

Can format/present/lay-out a website in almost any imaginable way. Perms and auths allow for easily varied professional/enterprise workflow (versus something like Wordpress that seems intended for SoHo sites). Lots of good features for optimizing complex pages. Scales up well for high-volume. Large community, lots of support options. A whole ton of contrib code offers multiple ways to do most things you might want to do within the context of Drupal.

Cons

Very steep learning curve. relatively heavy system requirements. Abtruse jargon/mechanisms. Out of the box, it's not even vaguely ready to use. Newer releases have emphasized gee-whiz features and change-for-change's sake, making internal APIs increasingly complex without adding a lot of value. Drupal8 is a lot more top heavy than Drupal7, and abandoned much of the contrib code base for little practical gain. The common PHP name space combined with many contrib authors can make for code instability, though the community is better at that than it used to be.

February 2019

Shannon Simone from Shannonmiller.me

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Drupal Rocks. for the serious user

We have created multimillion-dollar Enterprise level sites on a platform is Rock Solid reliable fast I'm downright amazing. You can build something as a simple blog can International multi-level site with Drupal.

Pros

Drupal fully open-source and will run on just about any server operating system. It has a massive worldwide community community that collaborates on security fixes, module creation. What this means is If You Can Dream It Drupal can do it Loggins & themes won't cost you a penny. This is in stark contrast 2 enterprise-level modules that are pay only when working on the WordPress platform. Some of the biggest Enterprises in the world use Drupal including Conde Nast, Sony and even the White House.

Cons

The one drawback to Drupal is the learning curve is extremely high is not for the faint of heart but for those that are willing to put in the time you can build anything stable fast and secure with Drupal.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Complex but amazingly powerful content management system

We rely on drupal to run our websites.

Pros

Drupal is not the solution you go to if you want to quickly put out a simple website. It IS the solution you want if you need a website that will scale, if you need robust features, if you care about security, and if you don't really mind getting your hands a little dirty. A lot of things are really more complicated than they need to be compared to Wordpress, but unlike Wordpress, you can accomplish so much more with Drupal with the right modules and a little customization know-how.

Cons

Complexity. If you're just starting out with Drupal, you can easily find yourself using 5 modules to do something one module can do, which leads to a more bloated install as you add more features to your site. Knowing how to keep the site lean has performance and security advantages because you don't have to have so many modules to keep in line and updated.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

I wanted to love Drupal, but it wasn't a good fit for my nonprofit's needs

Pros

Drupal is a powerful web developing platform with a large, global community of people and companies using it, developing for it and improving it. It's used to build websites that you probably consult every day. It's flexible and scalable.

Cons

The negative flipside of Drupal's power and flexibility is that it is still many steps behind Wordpress in terms of ease of use and value for money. My nonprofit sunk thousands of dollars into a Drupal site that didn't do everything we wanted it to do and which we ultimately could no longer afford to maintain given the high fees charged by Drupal developers who are in great demand. That's not to say that Drupal won't meet your needs. My advice is simply that you do your homework before going the Drupal route including an assessment of the staff and financial resources you have to maintain/upgrade the site once it has been built.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

More Powerful than WordPress but Only if you have a Developer, not for DIY

In my previous job, I used Drupal daily for about two years and managed 10 websites in 4 languages. I had admin rights on some and helped build and configure custom blocks as well as launch new sites. However, most admin work was done by developers.

Pros

In many ways more powerful and customizable than Wordpress and of course drag and drop CMS systems. The ability to build page templates and quickly generate new pages and content is great, easier than in WordPress. Works well for professional business sites, especially with 100+ pages but not great for small sites.

Cons

-Hard to do much without a developer -Less user friendly than WordPress -No tree view for your website (like Typ03 or File Explorer) -General User Interface not intuitive and many options hidden or difficult to find -Supports localization, but gets messy with multiple languages and hard to keep an overview -Even experienced marketers or Wordpress users can't install and set it up themselves like WP -Less support and plugins than Wordpress, though more than others like Typ03

November 2018

Sean from Chesapeake Regional Healthcare

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Drupal is a Beast!

Drupal gets us up to speed on projects quickly. Even though it can be a pain to learn, the effort is well worth it. It's flexibility is remarkable, and the API/de-coupled movement is well represented in Drupal 8. With this framework in place, it allows us to grow and build custom apps without having to upgrade for the foreseeable future.

Pros

Comprehensive CMS. Powerful, can handle a lot of requests quickly and efficiently. Great user management. Consistent upgrade life cycle with clear goals. Easily create and manage multiple content types. Crazy customization options for content types and users. Huge community with a lot of active support and plugins.

Cons

Minor features, like calendar functionality, found in other CMS's simply don't work. Drupal 7 and 8 both have this issue. Drupal's reliance on nodes can be difficult for a newcomer. Not the best solution for small sites.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Easy to Use, Hard to master CMS

I've used a few CMS such as Joomla before, but Drupal is the one that my team and I consistently go back to. For some of our key sites, this is a great tool to use. I have members on the team that are well versed in PHP and CSS so this is relatively easy for them to work with. We've used Drupal for a few in house websites ranging from relatively simple blogs to enterprise level business sites. The team has been using Drupal since Drupal6 and we're now at Drupal8. Drupal's best selling point over many CMS is in its flexibility and the multitude of options available for the users.

Pros

I really like the options that are available with Drupal; themes, modules,etc. I particularly enjoy having the ability to use themes and having options to create and use custom themes. It's a bit challenging to install and deploy the first time, but the themes themselves are incredibly easy to write if you have knowledge of CSS. I also feel that Drupal is well supported with forums, an established community documentation, and a decent slack channel.

Cons

I think that the old adage, "Easy to learn, hard to master" applies really well to Drupal. The layout and feel of Drupal is not really naturally intuitive. Furthermore, while it's not necessarily a con, but it feels like there really are almost too many modules and features available. Some of them share very similar functionalities and novice users may choose a less fleshed out/established option. However, I feel that this is typical of many open-source CMS software and it's something that can be easily overcome with experience.

October 2019

Caleb from Transparent BPO

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Drupal - CMS to build the World

It has been a super impressive experience working extensively with Drupal. What was truly superior is knowing that Drupal has a very strong community support and proved to be extremely informative in my time of need. You can: * join forums to ask questions * trade code and gain insights * join online groups and that is just to name a few.

Pros

Drupal is a well-known, free and open source content management system that is geared towards complete website designing with its flexibility due to its core database and PHP structure, compared to WordPress, which is more on the blogging side. It is also very customizable; therefore, if you are armed with the right plugins and modules, you will be granted the ability to build complex websites, enterprise-level websites or web applications. As mentioned before, Drupal is flexible, reliable, and secure, allowing any or all businesses wanting to create and online presence to reach the world, possible with little developer skills, web designing experience and web building knowledge, as it is suitable for both beginners and professionals.

Cons

I believe that Drupal has a limitation when it comes to designing templates vs other popular CMS on the market. When designing your template, it doesn't really support a drag and drop feature, so it forces you to use the templates that are available at start. Also due to it having more components, I don't believe it is the best when it comes to getting a website built in the least possible time.

December 2019

Alma from gShift

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

A CMS for Coders

Worked in agencies that chose to build on drupal and all I saw was linitations, endless bills to the client and a platform that was not agile, responsive or up to date with modern web standards.

Pros

The ability to build in house native software applications with a CMS is incredibly attractive and drupal makes it possible.

Cons

Nodes, taxonomy, I could go on. The language used is intriniscally made for coders, which makes it an incredibly difficult website platform to train people on especially clients.

March 2019

Jarett from Rinck Advertising, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Drupal - a CMS that could use an UX upgrade

Hopefully the new decoupled admin built in react will make for a better UX experience that will draw more attention to the system's strengths versus it's downfalls

Pros

Drupal is extremely versatile for people who have used it for a while. You get the options of being in an ecosystem for large scale development CMS software and it's all open source.

Cons

What can be extremely useful can also be horribly complex and not without it's challenges. Drupal 8 has gen going through some growing pains leaving devs a mystery in which path they should take without being left out. The community seems to talk in closed circles sometimes and you are left wondering if you made the right dev choice. <- this isn't a joke the webforms mess at the beginning of the drupal 8 cycle was a shit show.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great for developers; not for beginners

We run our University Library's website on Drupal, and find it very convenient and flexible when serving thousands of students at once.

Pros

VERY versitile; easy to create custom themes and plugins.

Cons

Vast user library, though community plugins can be outdates/abandoned since they are open source.

December 2019

Cristian from Swapps

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Want to use an unnecessarily complex CMS? Drupal is for you

Painful at least. There are several times where we have been affected by bugs that, after digging in a little, we found that had been there for 5 or 6 years with no solution. If you are starting out a new project, I don't recommend using it unless you require some specific feature. For example, drupal permissions management is excellent. If you don't require something that you know only drupal can provide, go with something else. You will save a lot of frustration.

Pros

Some of its design choices make sense, and actually help you set up a complex site without diving in too deep.

Cons

Unnecessary complex. The software cannot evolve at the same rythm of the web. Some packages that were crucial in Drupal7 are still in Beta in Drupal8, and several years have passed. Basically if you choose to go with Drupal, you are on your own.

August 2018

Andrés E. from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Are you looking for an efficient, safe and easy to use CMS?

The installation of this CMS in the company for which work has been very useful. In our case, we use it to move content oriented to the internal public and the results are remarkable. Both in the ease it offers to work day by day and in the scope of our audiences. In particular I think it is a means with excellent features that are worth trying.

Pros

What I liked the most about Drupal is its performance, its safety standards and versatility. These are features that offer a truly pleasurable user experience.

Cons

As administrator of websites, I consider that although its characteristics and usability are extraordinary, its installation may need knowledge oriented to the technical area. I refer to this point, because at present there are other CMS that can be used without having that kind of knowledge.

March 2019

Ken from H2

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Extremely powerful and versatile for creating websites

Initially installing Drupal required some heavy lifting but once it was in place, everything ran smoothly.

Pros

Once Drupal is up and running, it's very easy to create and build complex, content-rich websites using the various Drupal modules. Drupal can be leveraged to add features such as advanced admin UI, extend libraries such as jquery, and add features like blogs or google analytics. While using the modules may not be a straightforward and require reading docs, doing it within the Drupal framework ensures consistency throughout your web service. It's certainly much safer and simpler than attempting to install all those features yourself. Drupal is also open source and free to try out. The community is quite active and ensures future proofing of your CMS. Even though our use case was not terribly complex, we still found quite a bit of value leveraging the Drupal framework. We know that as our requirements change, Drupal will be able to handle the load.

Cons

Drupal installation was not the smoothest for us. My recommendation is to carefully read the docs ... then read them again. Make sure you have all the prereqs for all the components necessary. Once you have this in place, installation will be much more straight forward. For more complex integrations in Drupal, we did have to leverage a web developer. It's not always point and click installation.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Versatile but with a steep learning curve

Pros

It's endlessly versatile, but that versatility comes with a steep learning curve.

Cons

Drupal's versatility comes with a steep learning curve. I create websites for clients, which they then manage themselves. Drupal can be daunting or simply to complicated to use for untrained staff, and for a developer it's tricky to lock down so they're forced into a set pathway, without losing that versatility. Also, there are far fewer plugins etc available for Drupal compared to WordPress.

November 2018

Maria from International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Probably my favourite CMS

Pros

It's both easy to use, secure and customizable. I find it very intuitive for basic users, which is great when you need to grant editing access to several people (a bit less so for more advanced needs). It gives you the potential to do pretty much everything you need without affecting the security, and there's a big, helpful network of forums that can help you every time to get stuck.

Cons

Some of the most advanced features are not very intuitive, hence you struggle every time you need them -because you forgot where they were on the menus! Also, sometimes you need to find workarounds to get Drupal to do what you need to.

December 2017

William from Frogdog Agency

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

I wants to marry Drupal

Pros

Being a developer its hard not to love Drupal -- with their recent update to Drupal 8 and moving to a Symfony2 backend and Twig templating system, its become bulletproof. Also, Composer is now built in to manage dependencies. The developer community is incredible and all modules are peer-reviewed by the community. This way you know the code you are getting is safe and sound unlike competitors...*cough*wordpress*cough*

Cons

The migration from Drupal 7 to Drupal 8 may be hard for some developers to swallow. A lot has changed, but almost all for the better. Drupal 8 modules are still a bit slow to be ported from Drupal 7.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great CMS - highly customizable

Drupal is great! It's best-in-class when it comes to an open source web CMS. I'm a huge fan!

Pros

Super customizable, love the features available, love the development community overall, and I really enjoy the updates in Drupal 8. We recently updated from D7 to D8 and everything about D8 is better, from its mobile-first design to its back-end CMS functionality.

Cons

It's hard to use Drupal if you don't have developers on staff or if you don't have the budget to retain a development shop that specializes in Drupal. Some of their app integrations aren't super friendly either and require a LOT of development time (read: money) to make happen

January 2018

Bridget from Greater Mankato Growth

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Drupal is a complex content management system and really shouldn't be used for simple brochure sites

Pros

I like that there is a strong community support system of developers and programmers for this content management system. When looking for a module to use for whatever function you need, it's best to use that developer community and check out the reviews. The other thing to watch for is when it was last updated or modified. If it's a frequently updated or modified module, that should mean that people are using it and it is well maintained.

Cons

It is not blatantly apparent before you begin using this content management system that it is so super complex, that it's not a good product for simple brochure websites...

December 2019

Olga from Euler Hermes

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Better Than WordPress

Pros

We decided not to save on a platform for creating a site, so we chose CMS Drupal. Thanks to this decision, we were able to make a great site that best meets the objectives of our company. We wrote code without problems, connected the control system and plug-ins, and also set the parameters for SEO promotion. On WordPress, we would never do that.

Cons

The update manager does not work almost always. We are constantly tormented when developers release the next update. We just can't deliver it the first time. This is no good, and I hope the developers fix everything.

August 2019

Ankit from Netsmartz Infotech

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Drupal - Enterprise Level CMS

Pros

It is Highly Flexible, you can customize it very easily to any extent. It got wide community support which will help you if you got stuck anywhere. It got wide variety of modules & plugins available which you can choose in development of new features in your software/application. And the best part is its security, its one of the most secure CMS available out there. Man of Government website use drupal.

Cons

It is not recommenced for small scale website. As this CMS take good amount of efforts to be setup, making a small website will not be profitable.

February 2017

Alex from www.itnove.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great CMS platform, tons of modules, themes and experts to deploy it

I have been using Drupal for websites I have been working with for years, since version 4. Drupal is a very flexible and powerful CMS, with tons of module for everything (from credit card management to spam detection), also with a big marketplace of themes to quick launch nice websites. The community of developers is huge, so it is easy to have a Drupal expert nearby to help you with a new website or the development of a module if that is not already existing on the marketplace.

Pros

Very flexible Tons of themes and modules Available on managed cloud sites

Cons

More difficult to configure than Wordpress (but also way more powerful)

April 2018

Maya Jade from Digital Loom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I work for a Drupal web development shop

Pros

Drupal is an open-source CMS that works well when set up correctly. I've seen a lot of websites that have been built by developers that have never worked with Drupal before, and then the end result can sometimes be a nonsensical nightmare, especially for the content administrators. Drupal has the ability to create custom built websites with powerful integrations to countless other platforms, and it can really shine when Drupal experts handle the builds.

Cons

Drupal still has quite a learning curve, even with a customized back-end. People who are used to Wordpress or Squarespace don't find it as intuitive, and without proper training, creating and publishing content properly is difficult.

February 2020

Rosalinda from Unilever

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

The platform requires minimal configuration

Pros

CMS Drupal is probably the only engine that does not require complex configuration. All SEO parameters are normally configured even in the boxed version. Another big plus is that the kit comes with several good modules for expanding functionality.

Cons

The editor limits the layout options. The graphical interface uses the DS + FG body kit, so most of the elements can not simply be transferred from the layout to the web page. I need to know html well, without this, it is better not to work with Drupal.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

The most powerful CMS + Website builder

Pros

100% free and opensource! You can use Drupal to code and design your website, CMS or eCommerce website. The platform is quite powerful and secure (the White House uses Drupal for their website!). For developers, Drupal is quite organised in the way it manages its code, and as with many modern coding platforms, codes can be reused and recycled. Drupal being open-source allows you to find many solutions for issues you face through the community. And Drupal community continues to grow daily.

Cons

Drupal has a steep learning curve, so if you are looking to setup a simple blog or CMS, I advise you to check Wordpress or Joomla.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 318 reviews