CMiC Reviews

4.18 / 5 (164)

Our advisors have recommended this product 12 times in the last 30 days

User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(75)

75

4 stars

(59)

59

3 stars

(18)

18

2 stars

(6)

6

1 stars

(6)

6

  • Pros

  • "I like the idea of the product and where it's going. When it links seamlessly, I believe this will be one of the best products out there. The ease of use is there."

  • "I like that this very simple looking software with an old school interface has virtually every feature you need to get the job done."

  • "I like the fact that everything is one place, and you can link things."

  • Cons

  • "* Response time from support can be slow * Many important release are being delayed (B.I, Mobile...)"

  • "I wish there was training more readily available...there are so many functions that I am sure that I am not utilizing but I find myself fumbling through trying to figure what they do and why."

  • "Some reports need an improvement, but not a big issue.. CMiC really satisfies me..... good job "

Browse CMiC Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 164 results

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great for project teams

Overall CMiC has been beneficial in my current role. With this system I am much more efficient in tracking documents and project financials all on one platform.

Pros

CMiC has a tremendous amount of tools encompassed in the software. The ability for project teams to work within the software simultaneously helps to enhance the user experience. This comes in handy when you have multiple subcontractors and/or project team members who all need to view the same documents.

Cons

Although a great tool, CMiC is a fairly robust software. New users should be prepared to spend a good amount of time learning the ins and outside of the software to really become proficient with it.

April 2019

Rachel from Oltmans Construction Co

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

CMiC

After several years on CMiC software I would say that it is absolutely the best integrated project management and accounting ERP available. The implementation can be time consuming, but the benefits are definitely worth it. Everyone is up to date with the latest information on our projects, so it makes collaboration a breeze. Our management loves the ability to get real time accurate and detailed reports of exactly what they need to make business decisions. Great company and great software.

Pros

CMiC's greatest contributions to our organization are that it provides a powerful and scalable infrastructure that allows everyone to collaborate, stores all our organization's data and documents in a central location, and has excellent reporting capabilities to analyze our data. CMiC is great at getting our company to collaborate and share data. No more calling around for information or searching through files. We believe that the reports from CMiC are a significant contributing to our organizations ability to make decisions and be successful. Tip for Success: Taking the time to thoroughly review and understand the settings for each module will greatly improve your organization's experience with CMiC. Don't guess at what the settings do. Try recording the training sessions with your CMiC implementation team, so that you can review it later. Ask questions freely. And be sure sure to join CMUG, the CMiC users group. They have forums, monthly calls, demos, and are a great help.

Cons

The implementation process can be long. The distribution and segregation of the software settings to multiple locations makes it difficult to manage the system and troubleshoot issues. One central control panel would make it much more user friendly.

May 2020

Samuel from TSAV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

CMiC - new user review

Sop far there have been some growing pains with CMiC. The customer support is generally very good, but we have run into one of the training people who was very difficult to work with and we spent a lot of time and learned very little from him.

Pros

I like what the results can be once all the data is entered. We have only been using this software for 6 months or so and the data entry on the front end is a lot. We have gotten some good data so far, but it has been very time consuming.

Cons

We started using CmiC to take the place of Quick Books in our department. There are certain things we have had to ask CMiC to customize for us, like making estimates. I don't feel like this is a great replacement for things like estimates but we are making it work. There is talk of us bringing back QB for certain things.

September 2019

Christina from AGI General Contracting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Review

Reports are not running properly. Program is extremely slow and not efficient. Some of the reports do not work properly. Wish there was a way we could view the invoices in Invoice query rather than imaging.

Pros

Program is easy to use and navigate and is compatible with Textura Payment Processing program

Cons

Very slow and some functions do not work properly which is frustrating when your brain works faster than the programs and reports.

February 2017

Caloub from The Russell Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

CMiC - The Future of the Construction Industry

I think CMiC is a solid solution with abundant features and capabilities. We have only "unlocked" about 10% of the tool, so I hope we keep growing and leaning the CMiC solution. I wish our company used more of the program - there's so many helpful tools. The CMiC team has been a pleasure, overall, to work with. We look forward to growing with CMiC in the future.

Pros

People that work at CMiC, overall, are all awesome. Paul in sales, and Chet in support, are (2) especially solid individuals that come to mind. The ECM Plug In is great! That tool alone is worth CMiC. Support staff is usually very responsive when issues arise. TONS of features and capabilities! I like that CMiC has updates often - makes you feel comfortable that they're continually trying to support their clients and improve their product.

October 2019

Vanessa from Bateman-Hall, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

CMiC - Finally we’re Mobile

It’s been a learning curve, but I think overall, we’re happy.

Pros

I love the Mobile Field app for our in-field users, it’s clean and simple and still improving. The drawings management module is great, better than anything we’ve had in the past especially for tracking versions of drawings.

Cons

Honestly some of the things I came to User Conference wanting to “complain” about this year, they’re already on top of improving. I still think where some things are located don’t rally make sense, but they’re getting there. I also wish I had more control over how reports look or generate.

Reasons for Choosing CMiC

Cloud base and the fact that we can manage accounting and project management through one program.

October 2019

Eugene from Allan Myers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Single Source of Truth

It has been a good 10 years

Pros

Single database has a lot of power and provides a wonderful platform for reporting and queries. The abundance of different modules gives us the flexibility to keep most of our processes in a single platform and illuminate integrations

Cons

As a large system it has an incredibly complex backend. Patches can cause issues that don’t show up in testing because of all the use cases that customers have for this particular software

Reasons for Choosing CMiC

They were a market leader for this type of software

September 2019

Jennifer from Pence Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2019

Tough to use but gets the job done

CMiC is certainly not the easiest software to pick up and start using. There are a lot of little nuances, and quite a few features that have more issues than uses. That being said, it handles the finances of a project VERY well.

Pros

The main thing I like most about this software is its wide breadth of abilities, and how it handles the finances of the projects.

Cons

Tough to learn and use; lots of nuances; not 100% reliable. Most recently I found that in the potential cost section that when I mark the overall COR as approved or cancelled, etc, that it doesn't waterfall down through all of the costs. No end-game failure of mechanics, but things like this that make it hard to trust this software.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

CMiC Review

Overall i enjoy using the software not only for change order needs, but also submittals and RFIs' which makes it nice to send notifications through one system and not have to exchange multiple emails.

Pros

I use CMiC on all of my projects and what I like most is being able to arrange different projects and have all the respective subcontractors. To be able to handle all change orders between the owner, the GC and the subcontractors makes the project run smoothly, along with being able to determine what is proceeding, what is pending and what has been completed.

Cons

What I like least is that the CMiC software is very sensitive. There tends to be issues with the forecasting when a change order or Potential change item is posted which can sway the budget and what it actually is.

August 2019

Jean from North Branch Construction Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

One system to handle it all!

Pros

It can handle contracts, change orders, billing, payroll, a/r etc.

Cons

Very difficult to learn & I found the training lacking.....

November 2017

Alexandra from Whiting-Turner

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

My Review

Well integrated system overall, but everyone needs to pitch in to make it great!

Pros

- Business Process Integration - Job Billing module is fantastic from my experience. We can customize our contracts/bills ALMOST any way our users need (with the exception of some change order options). - Gords passion - Constantly trying to evolve/innovate CMiC to keep up with what people. No one wants users to go and find another program to do something that they feel CMiC cannot do. Mobile and BI are some of the newer things that have kept us from having to explore other options.

Cons

- Performance/Speed is overall a bit slow - We have BI in our DEV environment. It is on its way to becoming very useful for us, but it's not quite there, but I know it's still being developed. I wouldn't say that it's really the least favorite of mine, just that I am really excited to see what else is coming.

November 2017

Kristi from Gramoll Construction Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Contracts Administrator Review

Explore as much as you can, there are so many things that this software is capable of to make your job easier!

Pros

I am the Contracts Administrator for Gramoll Construction Company. I use this software for many different purposes and once I have gotten the hang of some of the uses I have come to rely quite heavily on this program (when it is down I panic)!! When I have issues I have been very pleased with the support available (the most common asked questions usually will fix my problem) the customer service goes above and beyond expectations (always very friendly and helpful)! Overall I am very pleased with this software and the updates are wonderful!

Cons

I wish there was training more readily available...there are so many functions that I am sure that I am not utilizing but I find myself fumbling through trying to figure what they do and why.

August 2017

Grace from Hunt Construction Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Payroll Manager

Pros

General payroll needs met by software. Would like to see more standard payroll reports. For data I can't get from a report, I have to download data from view screens, and create excel reports on my own. Would also like to see historical pay, hire/term/rehire data in a sub screen within the Employee Profile Maintenance screens, instead of having to go to Employee History Adjustment screen in Utilities. Three things I really like about CMiC: 1) Ability to download data to excel. 2) The system is able to recognize state reciprocity/non-reciprocity and withholding tax accordingly 3) Ability to find specific data using query operators/functions

Cons

User should have proficient excel knowledge to get desired data from system.

November 2017

Luis from Bartlett Cocke General Contractors

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Integrated Accounting and Project Managment Solution

If you are an operations-oriented firm (as opposed to an accounting-driven firm), this is the right ERP system for you. It is also the best commercial construction ERP system for your dollar. Like most ERP systems and large-scale software implementations, CMiC will take significant resources, planning, and training to deploy and maintain.

Pros

The fact the CMiC provides an integrated platform for our accounting and operations personnel to have real-time visibility into our projects without the need for custom-built integrations is the primary reason that we switched from Viewpoint to CMiC. This also provides us with a unified database to perform real-time data analytics through our BI applications.

Cons

- Environment Management (patch testing, hot fixes, bugs)

February 2017

Edward from Miron Construction Co., Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Miron Construction Co., Inc - Review

We have been in production with CMIC for almost three years now. As we have become more adept at the function and features, we continue to find more value and benefits to the application. We are impressed with the scope of the application, as CMIC handles almost all aspects of our financials, human capital management and project management. New features for mobile, dashboards & analytics and digital signature are all very positive additions to the product.

Pros

CMIC is highly integrated and was designed as such from the very beginning. Nothing in CMIC feels "bolted on". The quality of the software is high and scope and breadth of the system are excellent.

Cons

Output & reporting is a bit weak. We are anxious to see the new dashboard and analytics feature to see if the new module will help to address this issue.

November 2017

Rachel from Oltmans Construction Co

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

CMiC - A Valuable Tool for Collaborating and Reporting

Taking the time to thoroughly review and understand the settings for each module will greatly improve your organization's experience with CMiC. Don't guess at what the settings do. Try recording the training sessions with your CMiC implementation team, so that you can review it later. And ask questions freely.

Pros

CMiC is great at getting our company to collaborate and share data. Setting up CMiC was a lengthy process for us, but with CMiC's help, we were able to get to fit our needs. The most important aspect of the software for us is the reporting capabilities. We are able to access our data and provide great real-time reports and analysis. CMiC's greatest contributions to our organization are that it provides a powerful and scalable infrastructure that allows everyone to collaborate, stores all our organization's data in a central location, and has excellent reporting capabilities to analyze our data.

Cons

The distribution and segregation of the software settings to multiple locations makes it difficult to manage the system and troubleshoot issues. One central control panel would make it much more user friendly.

August 2017

Heather from JE Dunn Constructin

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Good Work Keep it up!

Pros

For the most part, CMIC meets our needs. It has come a long way in the 11 years I have been using it and I like the direction it's going in. When ADF gets all the little nuances worked out it, it will be a great replacement for the old Forms screens. I think the JSP screens need to get a face lift next which mobile is helping with that. All in all, I've used a few other construction ERP systems and CMIC, while quirky at times, is my favorite.

Cons

Take the time to understand why the system is doing what it's doing. Once you understand the "why", then it makes determining your process easier. Sometimes, minor tweaks to processes can make the world of difference in how something is done and makes the process as a whole work better within the system.

November 2017

Jeff from Andersen Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

CMiC Review

Just use it. It makes your job easier.

Pros

Three things i like about CMiC: 1) That is a universal solution, meaning it handles accounting, field operations, safety, document control, all in one place. (i'm hoping that mobile increases this functionality) 2) That is geared toward the basic functions of a general contractor (workflow is good) 3) That it appears like continual improvement of the software is a focus (technological advancement is never ending)

Cons

The rigidity and limited nature of the reporting. (I'm working on MIP and hopefully will soon have access to oracle or jasper reporting tools to customize reports) The 'Captive data' aspect of the JSP data entry. (How you must hit "edit", then modify/enter data, then hit 'save")

March 2017

Serena from Govan Brown & Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

A Great Construction Enterprise Solution

We have been using CMiC since 2005 and our overall experience has been very positive. Over the years, the solution continues to evolve and is part of our competitive advantage. When implementing for the first time, it is important to redefine workflows to be consistent with the system so that the full benefits can be achieved.

Pros

1. A centralized enterprise solution that includes Finance, HR, CRM and workflow as well project management. 2. The collaboration functionality enables us to engage all project participants anywhere, anytime. 3. Integration with other applications such as Plangrid and Docusign.

Cons

1. New releases sometimes result in loss of existing functionality that we have been relying on. 2. Training for new releases is not provided free of charge creating a disincentive to upgrade.

February 2017

Henry from The Beck Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Beck CMiC Support Review

Beck is a long time user of CMIC, and we rely on the Job Costing and Job Billing modules to bill our customers. Beck uses almost all of the CMIC modules and we most recently added the 3rd Party Payment feature to our ACH and check printing procedures. We utilize the forms, JSP and ADF screens, and Beck has a large number of custom forms, JSP queries and reports. We utilize over 100 user extension forms. As a database developer, I am impressed with the open architecture of the CMIC system. We are able to do many enhancements (or implement restrictions) that might be impossible in a closed system. The CMIC system is easy to manage, and there are a large community of users and 3rd party support partners. I really get a lot of information from the annual Connect conference

Pros

open architecture billing options ease of management and support

February 2017

Randy from PC Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Power with future in mind

CMIC is a powerful tool constantly improving. Recent conference displayed mobile, resource planning and the future thereby allowing us to react at our pace. We often lead the pack is utilizing the software suite but have taken a more relaxed state to prepare internal SOPs. We often learn about things from support and customers we didn't know saving us time and money. The past along with the future product enhancements makes the investment worth it and nothing beats an ERP suite for our industry.

Pros

Integrated systems, reliable with plenty of checks and balances. Room for personalization is nice feature thus not being too limited.

Cons

Old Oracle technologies and reliance on Java (can't wait for us to get to ADF and mobile).

February 2017

Jean-Christophe from Les Industrues Blais

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

A globally great product

CMiC is a really powerful tool. The product itself is really good. The data flows between all different modules without any problem. It is great to be able to run the pay for a week than being able to track our cost in real-time. CMiC also provides us a way to implement different standards in the company. Instead of having multiple ways of doing things, we now have "THE" way. Overall, CMiC is a great product built towards GC. CMiC does everything, or almost. It will give any construction company a clear advantage over competitor if enough time and resources are spent to make it fits the need of the company

Pros

Having the data in real-time for PM. ADF is a powerful technology allowing us to customize the software. Being able to import/export from Excel is great. It should be available in almost all screens. Log Builder. It does everything: payroll, AP, AR, PM, ....

February 2017

Mary from Pirtle Construction Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

CMiC - Powerful Construction Management Software

I have been using CMiC since 2009 and was a member of the Pirtle Implementation Team. I assist with training, procedure and reports of the Project Management module. At first some new trainees can be overwhelmed, but they soon find that this software can automate many tasks and improve efficiency. Employees who have moved on to "non-CMiC" companies have expressed how much they miss the software.

Pros

CMiC has the capability to capture as many details as the user desires and then provides exceptional reporting capabilities. I especially appreciate the uploading of documentation to CMiC and linking it directly to applicable records.

February 2017

Jackie from LCG Pense Construction, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

How I View CMiC

My primary use is in the accounting portion of the software which at times can present a challenge but I believe it is like that with any and possibly all specific software. We always want it to be easier than it was a week ago. Some of the necessary steps seem redundant in some ways and could just be safe passages to get the end result, I do not know. For my work in this system, I can get my job done easy enough, answer questions through the available info access points accurately which is what the leader want. Is there room for improvement - Yes, when is there not?

Pros

The invoice data entry mod is great, whether it be registered or voucher. Kind of hard to mess that up which is nice. Vendor detail reports are key to tracking - love them and that I can get them in any format I choose.

November 2017

Pascal from Pomerleau

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

A Complete ERP solution

If your team has some programming knowledge, this software can do wonders!

Pros

Our business, being in the construction industry, has some particular needs and protocols to respect, and CMiC offers the perfect solution. It gives us the tools we need to do most of our project management, and also provide an easy way to customize and add modules we developed ourselves. 1. Highly customizable 2. Lots of shortcuts, and navigating in the software is consistent. 3. Their development team is consistently working toward new and innovative solutions.

Cons

1. Currently between 2 technologies. "Forms" is old and not well adapted for latest computing protocols. 2. "ADF", even though appealing, still has some unresolved issues.

November 2017

Jenn from DPR Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Very Good Software

Take your time to really test and vet through your software before rolling it out to the masses.

Pros

I have been using CMiC for 16 years and it has definitely evolved for the better over that time. I am looking forward to moving to the ADF platform by next year. I usually get quick responses from CMiC when I have a problem with the system. The connect user conference is also a big plus.

Cons

1. The Submittal process in CMiC Collab is not easy to use 2. It is not intuitive for a new user 3. There is a lot of functionality that users still don't about

November 2017

Bhavin from Focus Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Bhavin's Review

Go through the tutorials and play around with it. It takes some time to get used to, and I can understand the frustration when something doesn't work the way you want it to.

Pros

CMiC's software is very user-friendly, and navigating through the software becomes easier the more you go through it. There are some redundant components with regards to submittal logs, but the tutorials CMiC offers help ease the difficult portions of the software. I like how user-friendly it is, especially for beginners that have never used the software before. It is also very adaptable and the organization throughout the software makes it easy to navigate through the different sections.

Cons

There is some redundancy throughout the different sections. The amount of information within each section can be a little overwhelming. Saving after each step can be a little irritating.

November 2017

Ryan from Venture General Contracting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Overall good software

Pros

Overall, CMiC is more user friendly than other project software I've used. 1) The AP Module is straightforward and user-friendly 2) The lookup module for AP and Subcontractor invoices are effective 3) The filters within the program allow for quick searches

Cons

There are idiosyncrasies to parts of CMiC that are not user friendly and can result in a frustrating experience. 1) Error messages provide no helpful guidance on how to correct and proceed 2) Ticket submissions often sit idle for months before resolution

November 2017

Connor from Straticon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

CMiC's Development

Take time implementing the software, do not do it all at once as this was challenging.

Pros

We have been implementing and using CMiC now for 2 years. While challenging to implement at first, CMiC has grown into becoming an excellent communication device between field and office employees. With the added enhancement of the financials, CMiC benefits both field and office employees when tracking costs of each project. CMiC has been worth the time and money that was invested to implement the software.

Cons

1. The cost and time to edit and change certain report formats. 2. Slow support time when tickets are submitted and at times it is difficult to speak with somebody.

March 2017

J-Ashley from Andersen Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Ashley's CMiC review

I have been using this software since 2004. CMiC has come a long way not only on functionality but in customer service. From day one I have recommended CMiC to other Generals. I am looking forward to all the new functionality we have yet to implement and what the future holds for CMiC and our company.

Pros

Integration: Accounting, Human Resources/Payroll and Project Management Collaboration with the project team (internal & external users)

Cons

It is not always easy to extract the data into 'reports' Changes/enhancements to the software can sometimes be a tedious process

December 2016

Beth from Formerly with Gilbane Building Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Forecasting with CMiC

This package is the "Full Monte" for medium to large general construction and subcontracting companies. My only concern is the forecasting tool which is combined with the budget is somewhat difficult to learn. Several of my finance colleagues that were super users in other products had a difficult time learning this product. I used this package with another national contractor in earlier versions and was very pleased with the ease of navigating the menus and it was easy to use once learned. This package is not as intuitive as some other packages, but the features far outweigh the time taken for instruction. Support was very good with this software.

Pros

I loved the reconciliation feature. It allows the user to tie the budgets to invoices that are not produced by the system, such as AIA and owner forms. I liked the report formats.

Cons

Again, I found forecasting reports in recent versions depend on the user's ability to learn, a major factor in spotting problems within the reporting budget status and revenue.

November 2017

Dawn from AECOM Hunt

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

CMiC

Make sure you have dedicated team members from all aspects of your business that can see the project all the way through the implementation.

Pros

CMiC is a great ERP solution for the construction industry. The cost management portion is great and easy for the user to comprehend. CMiC also does a great job supporting their customers and have top-notch account reps.

Cons

1. Hidden costs - i.e. adapters 2. Error messages are not always intuitive, which wastes our time troubleshooting as well as the CMiC support teams.

September 2017

Greg from SpawGlass

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Cmic feedback

Pros

Three things I really like about CMiC solution: 1. Project management integration with accounting, it's built natively on the same system 2. Possibility for a single source of truth 3. Job billing back up albums

Cons

There is a learning curve with CMIC. Some things are intuitive where as others are not. We are trying to use more and more of the system but get to a point when we have to start customizing reports or we have really good ideas and we have to pay for enhancements.

March 2019

Kaitlyn from PC Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Kind of a Utilitarian Dinosaur

Overall, my CMiC experience has been fine, but I am definitely open to use newer, more innovative software competitors.

Pros

CMiC has a lot of great features and lets you bring multiple tools and functions into one software platform, so it is nice to be able to access these tools in one location.

Cons

With all of the new softwares coming out, I feel like CMiC is not evolving to match other innovative softwares. It can feel clunky and seems more utilitarian than innovative and user friendly.

February 2017

Jim from Helicon Property Restoration

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Great software, outstanding support.

The software is user friendly and very easy to configure and use. The interface is very intuitive considering the features available.The support is outstanding, from the 24 hour instant chat support to the online videos, manuals, and walk throughs. Answers are seconds away, any time you need them.

Pros

The ease of configuration and the abundance of documentation.

Cons

A few lingering bugs that support is addressing.

November 2017

David from AGI General Contracting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

CMiC An Integrated Solution

Pros

CMiC gives us tools to process data efficiently, generating live and useful reports, and brought our company to a higher level of performance and efficiency. As a general contractor, I feel the software fits our needs and give us room for growth. * Flexible system allows us to make it fit our needs. *

Cons

* Response time from support can be slow * Many important release are being delayed (B.I, Mobile...)

November 2017

Tim from Whiting-Turner Contracting Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

WT Review

Pros

Whiting-Turner has been live with CMiC for a few years now and I would say that it has resolved our dilemma of managing data within multiple software. In the past we used a 3rd party for Project Management and Accounting and now we can safely say that CMiC has answered that need. We can manage everything that we use on a daily basis with CMiC. The way the system integrates AP with Project Management is a huge win.

Cons

Basic understanding of bid items/billing codes and billing contract can be confusing to many.

September 2017

Adam from PC Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

CMiC Review

Overall CMiC is a solid product!

Pros

I mainly use the CMiC database for accessing data, occasionally entering equipment into the Equipment module, and entering my time sheet. For the most part, CMiC seems to work well but it would be nice if there was a consistent interface amongst all the different modules.

Cons

Too many interfaces (Forms, ADF, JSP, etc.) to access data.

August 2017

Lauren from Palmisano

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Overall very pleased with the software

Pros

We have been using CMiC for over three years now. The software was a great fit for our construction company. Once properly set up the system is very user-friendly. The reports run nicely and could be easily converted to Excel or PDF.

Cons

Frequent updates and sometimes reports won't run when needed. Invest time and money in the initial set up- you won't regret it!

August 2017

Craig from The Beck Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Beck's CMiC Experience

Pros

Beck has used CMiC Enterprise and PM for many years. We love the integrated database, strong financial and job costing and the ability to customize when needed.

Cons

Either go all in and really get behind leveraging the power of the system and making improvements needed, or don't use it. If you are only partially committed and keep using other systems at the same time, you will continue to be frustrated.

March 2015

Gordana from Paar Architecture

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2015

Easy to use software, exactly what we needed

Pros

We implemented really fast. That was a key feature for us. We had ample training, and being a cost cautious company, we were able to get what we needed on budget. There are some really useful apps that you can add onto the software that we are looking to upgrade with. Also, the SaaS model helps a lot by reducing our operating costs. We appreciated being able to call in when we had a question, and the support staff were always available, that's a big plus for us.

Cons

We were a little confused at first about how cloud-computing worked, but our sales person was able to narrow down the benefits and that helped. We were used to working with Excel and hadn't used Accounting and Project Management software before. I think it's not what we liked least, but more that cloud technology is not what we're used to. But we were able to pick up on the differences and benefits really quickly.

November 2017

Claudia from HRCG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Great Integrated System with lots of capability

When rolling it out make sure to prioritize what the requirements are and setup accordingly.

Pros

Overall the system has huge capability. I love that it updates in real time and is fully integrated. It is also scalable thanks to the cloud meaning we will never outgrow the system.

Cons

Navigating through the system can be tricky and requires a good amount of time for initial setup.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

I use CMIC every day.

Everything we do, from accounting to document management is completed in CMIC. We are able to save everything in CMIC for years, so this also helps with document storage.

Pros

Once there is an understanding of the product, it is very easy to use. The functionality is very useful for large construction companies.

Cons

Upside down question marks when copying and pasting from word documents. Also, the Java sections are a bit dated.

February 2017

Ashley from Lease Crutcher Lewis

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Learning xProjects

Once you learn how the systems works and remember the steps that are necessary for the task you are doing, then everything starts to make sense. At first, I wasn't wanting to let go of the old software that our company was using but now that I've learned and keeping learning how to use xProjects I'm liking it more and more.

Pros

It's cloud based! That is a huge pro for me, I'm always on the run and going between job sites and it's very nice to be able to log in anywhere I have the internet.

Cons

The software will error or null when trying to do things...I understand software is going to do that but it gets very confusing when you can't figure out why or what field was missed.

November 2017

James from Swinerton, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

James Farrell's Review

If you need a highly customizable ERP for a large general contracting application, be sure to consider CMiC.

Pros

CMiC is a highly customizable, versatile ERP for General Contractors. High level of customization, in an integrated solution, specifically targeted to general contractors.

Cons

The scope and complexity of the platform create difficulties in accessing data and makes updates labor intensive.

November 2017

Jennifer from GenCon, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

After a year in...

Familiarize yourself with the software before going live, if possible.

Pros

As a new user, learning the system was a bit challenging and there are many items we have yet to utilize. There is a lot of potentials, and it seems like it is being constantly improved. I really like: - Real-time job cost data - ability to import/export from Excel - Cloud-Based

Cons

Ease of use in certain areas (e.g. "select all" buttons would be nice), inconsistency in advice/set-up from trainers, would like there to be an interface for paying payroll liabilities.

July 2018

Alex from JE Dunn Construction Company

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

I use CMiC daily for managing money associated with construction projects.

Pros

The feature that I like most about using CMiC is how much information associated with my project is easily accessible in the program. Contracts are stored in the program and multiple financial reports are easy to collect with a click of the button.

Cons

If you are new to using the program, it is hard to utilize the software right out of the gate. Getting started with CMiC is not the easiest to navigate. This program is very smart and there is a lot of information stored within it.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Tricky Customization

We've been using another similar software for many years and recently switched to CMiC. The transition has been time consuming but the end result should justify the cost. We're looking forward to having the software fully implemented.

Pros

I love that we're able to replace 3-4 different softwares with 1 (CMiC). We were able to combine most of our company's departments into this one software which allows more seamless distribution of information. It's a powerful software that can be customized to meet our company's individual needs.

Cons

Customization was a very long process and we're still discovering issues as we roll it out to our employees.

May 2018

Jerry from E. Vaughan Rivers, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Good Value

Pros

CMiC is a great value pm/payroll software we have been using for many years. The connection with the software and our database is instant and never had a problem.

Cons

The software needs some time to get use to, once pass that phase, it will make everything you do with it much easier.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

CMICProd

Cmic gets the job done. We’ve been using it to collaborate with our design team and owner reps and everyone has gotten through the initial growing pains of the program

Pros

It is the only software I’ve ever used for project management. I like that everything is in one place from documents and invoicing.

Cons

The software appears to be very outdated and can be glitchy. You may also have to click through 5-7 things before getting to the thing you need.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 164 reviews