ProContractor Software


ProContractor is a comprehensive estimating accounting, and project management solution designed to help small and midsize contractors manage critical financial operations. Deployed either on-premise or in the cloud, the solution enables users to manage the entire project lifecycle starting from bidding to project completion.

ProContractor offers an integrated estimating feature to allow users to automatically convert bids into projects, including setup of cost and billing codes, project alternates and lien notice setup. The solution automatically calculates the cost of labor, materials and equipment as soon as the project requirements are entered into the system.

The virtual binder feature syncs electronic documents in real time, ensuring that everyone is working on the most updated information. The built-in email communication feature enables contractors to send email alerts to bidders and suppliers or share internal messages across teams. The solution can also be accessed via a mobile app on iOS, Android and Windows mobile devices.

 



143 Reviews of ProContractor

Overall rating

3.42 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 143 reviews

October 2016

Kahealani from Cal Coast Telecom

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2016

Come to the Event

The day I started @ Cal Coast was the day they went live with the software migration from American Contractor to ProContractor. The software is user friendly enough that I was able to navigate it fairly easy and my biggest challenge was learning how to process tasks the Cal Coast way rather than having to figure out a complicated software. However, the experience for the rest of the users in my office that had worked on AC for the last few years was rather different. Their experience was comparative between AC and PCMX and they experienced more frustration that I did. However, my overall experience remains positive with some constructive feedback for improvements in the future. This conference has highlighted several areas where I am doing things the "long way" when there are shorter and better ways to get done. It would be great to have a section somewhere that highlights neat little tricks and short cuts to get some of the simple tasks completed. For example, for six months we have been trying to figure out how to make our widgets in those cute little boxes on the dashboard. well we just paid the fee to come to this conference to have someone simply show us to click and drag to the end of the screen to organize our widgets. We were pleased, but it would have been nice to have seen a 2 min tutorial (like they do on YouTube) to show us how to do that.

Pros

I like the logic of the product. I feel that if you know what it is you want to do, that if you look hard enough, you will find a way to do it. I like that the categories are fairly organized and easy to follow. I like that I can create almost all my billing forms from the platform and that I can have multiple tabs of the same function open to work on multiple tasks.

Cons

I would like the lien management process to be more integrated with the invoicing process. I would like to be able to build my customers billing applications into their customer profile so it can be auto filled through the system. I currently have to process them in separate software (excel, word, or pdf). I would like to have a list of all the shortcut keys so I can avoid using my mouse for faster processing. I would like feedback on suggestions I've submitted for voting. I would also like that voting platform changed as I think the idea I have has value, but it gets lost in the feed and so people don't see it or don't even know about that function in support.

November 2017

Owen from Thompson Concrete Ltd.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2017

Great All in One System for those upgrading from QuickBooks

We are a specialty subcontractor with seven entities doing approximately $50M/revenue, have been growing double digits since ProContractor installation and have been ProContractor users for approximately 3.5 years.

Pros

ProContractor is a great all in one integrated system, housing all needs of our business, from estimating and project management through HR (not enrollment) and accounting. All modules are communicating mostly seamlessly and it handles our many intercompany transactions without issue. In addition, for someone who was new to the construction industry as an accounting professional when I started using ProContractor, I found it incredibly user friendly and easy to navigate!

Cons

As someone who is not extremely IT savvy, my biggest complaint is the out of the box reporting capabilities. Because of the module design, often you can't combine multiple attributes of two different modules into one report, instead you download the information and work with it in Excel. In addition, project management reporting is lacking, especially from a budget to actual perspective, despite all of the necessary information being there (this is from an accounting perspective, but I don't often hear that from our project managers).

Also, the journal entry process is extremely cumbersome - I don't understand why they can't just design an Excel upload template.

Finally, from a customer service perspective, I typically find them to be very responsive; however, for tougher questions or training needs, it is difficult to get them to dedicate time to you or follow-up unless you are persistent (i.e. they always want to try to knock it all out in a one hour phone call). Having said that though, some of our issues are self driven in that we skimped on a few attributes of original adoption/integration in order to save a few dollars.

September 2014

Dillon from E.R. Lewis Construction Company, Inc.


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2014

Highly potent if you understand the value proposition

Pros

First, it should be noted that ProContractor is an entity owned and maintained by Viewpoint Construction Software. If anything, my experience has improved since VCS' acquisition of Maxwell Systems. ProContractor does a magnificent job for medium-sized contractors who require some costing rigor in addition to an integrated software package (i.e., including accounting, project management, and estimation in one piece). However, despite the seductiveness of the product's marketing, a considerable amount of thought needs to be invested in determining, analyzing, and comparing your present internal processes from estimation to project closeout with what ProContractor offers. In other words, do not let the marketing materials do the thinking on such a crucial decision for you. ProContractor was designed with industry best practices regarding workflow as well as internal controls in mind, not necessarily simplicity (as with QuickBooks). Many complaints pertinent to supposed extraneous steps actually tie back to how the software, through an impressive yet simple permissions infrastructure, can control who (for example, in accounts payable) enters invoices, approves them, selects them for payment, prints (i.e., has access to) the checks, and posts the transactions. Shortcuts are inexpensive until you realize how expensive fraud and lost trust can become.

Cons

I do not dislike this software or the vendor, but this is an excellent opportunity to address points made by others who are dissatisfied with the product, for their disappointment deserves attention from even the most satisfied customer. When my firm adopted ProContractor and dumped QuickBooks Enterprise three years ago (just prior to my hiring, actually), we chose something that was decidedly less impressive upon implementation than presented to the directors during a trade show in Las Vegas. No thought had been given as to how our processes would align with ProContractor's intuition of proper workflow, because we were primarily concerned about fully integrating the firm's processes and procedures within the software ecosystem. We went live in three months flat after intense scrutiny of our costing, project management, and estimation procedures, humbling ourselves along the way through reconciling what we thought we knew with ProContractor's processes architecture and internal controls logic. Granted, we had suggestions (and lots of them) that were heard. Many of them, such as the lien management feature and many of the improvements in iPad integration, can be tied directly to our recommendations. Ultimately, we were satisfied, but that was because our expectations were not to invest in a system that would cater to ourselves without acceptance of potentially radical change, but rather to develop a relationship with the software and vendor that was founded on a trust of the system's logic. From there, we could use the system as a mirror to check our understanding of our business versus how it can function even more efficiently.

November 2017

Josh from LEDGESTONE INC.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2017

We have been users for 6 years and the move from Quickbooks to ProContractor was huge for our growth and development

If you are switching systems you will always be a little frustrated in the learning process. Be patient and willing to learn and this software will pay for itself in short time.

Pros

I like how the system is integrated together through estimating, accounting, and project management. And all modules work great for the most part. The estimating module with the digital takeoff has saved us so much time and increased our bid accuracy and number of awarded bids.
We moved our data into the cloud service and this was the best move I have made to date with this software. I love being able to be access my desktop where ever I go and our need for IT has almost vanished along with the worry of ever losing data. All the latest updates are done automatically after business hours so there is no down time and we never have to worry that we are not using the latest versions and updates.
This has given me so much freedom to be away from the office and still be connected to day to day operations and our current projects.

Cons

The mobile time card app could use some help and development. I really like this addition and it works great most of the time but does need some work. We still use it and I know they are constantly working on making it better so I'm confident one day it will run smooth.
All of my other complaints about the system in whole are so minor I won't even list them.

August 2017

Heath from Esposito Construction, Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2017

Our ProContractor experience started when we wandered into the wrong booth at a Home Show.

Our largest benefit came in the form of consolidating a Takeoff, an Estimating, an Accounting, and a Dropbox account all into one program that adds functionality and mobility.

Pros

All of our programming is housed in one program. We were using multiple platforms before, but now Takeoffs, Estimating, Bids, Projects, Accounting are all working together.

The user friendly layout. There is an easy to follow menu or you can create a customized home page with shortcuts to your most used information.

We are on the cloud server and this allows for "shadow" functionality. This allows one user to watch or take part in another users session. Quite useful in training new users, or learning new methods.

We are new to the mobile app, but it has been very promising. Having a multitude of information directly on your phone. Making it easily accessible while at the job-site.

Cons

Our only dislike thus far is the ability to create a schedule of tasks (Gantt Chart). While it is possible to create the chart, this can only be generated after the project has been started. We typically offer our customers a schedule in the stage of estimating. Therefore we have to use an outside scheduling program. The other problem is that the Gantt chart needs to be started from scratch. It would be helpful if the chart would use the estimate to generate a list of tasks that can then be assigned.

October 2012

Howard from E. R. Lewis Const Co, Inc.


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2012

We are a 75+ employee company founded in 1958. We are the premiere site work and utilities contractor in Eastern, NC. We began searching for a new software solution after using 7 or more disparate solutions for more than 10 years. As the economy took a downturn we were forced to find newer and better ways to track our projects costs, profitability, along with keeping up with infinitely more paperwork four our vendors and customers. ProContractorMX was the only all in one solution we could find. Field-office communication has always been a problem in the construction industry. With the Mobile Connect function, our field supervisors are able to see up to date, real time information. The newest plans are put in a binder and available, no more running to the printers every time a customer or engineer comes out with a revision. Our spec books are now available anywhere in the field, so there are no more questions about pay items, scopes of work, or our duties. We are currently running PCMX's 2.9 Beta, and the features are great. Maxwell Systems has been very responsive to our inputs about ways to make their product even more functional for us. Our implementation was as smooth as could be expected. Very few of our office staff had any 'formal' software experience with actual accounting and project management software, but Maxwell System's representatives worked with us to provide a structure to our business we had never seen before.We like to joke in the office that with Maxwell System's PCMX we 'went from the Flintstones to the Jetsons over night!' All kidding aside though, we have had a great experience with our implementation, and the follow up questions we have had as we become progressively more advanced users with this software. We have benefited greatly from the system, a recent ROI calculation by Maxwell's in-house staff generated numbers we never expected to see. We have recently lost 2 members of our office team to other companies, but with the efficiencies gained within PCMX, we haven't had to replace them! A common example we like to offer folks who ask is this- before PCMX it took a total of 40 man hours to input and process payroll for 75 employees, afterwards we are down to 6 hours! We literally gained 4 working days a week from our employees! Be prepared for a massive investment of your time and energy, but the rewards are well worth the hard work!

July 2017

Mary from Quinn Sales Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2017

Accounts Manager

I have been using the Software as ProContractor for 4 years but used the predecessor to this program (The Contractor by Maxwell) for over 17 years. I have always been pleased with the service and support by both the sales and technical support teams. They are there when you need them!

Pros

Flexible Product. Open database allows you the flexibility to add your own fields, customize reports and drop any report or data to excel making endless possibilities for analysis of your data. Comprehensive program that links all of your data and gives accurate analysis of your construction projects.

Cons

When your employees make mistake it leaves an audit trail of their mistake. Many employees wish they could just correct their mistake and cover it up. This may be a con for some but as a manager, I like being able to see the adjustments. Procontractor gives an audit trail of everything that is done but this increases the steps that it takes to correct a mistake.

February 2017

Chris from Sport Floors

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2017

Great potential but still needs work.

This software has some great potential. It has the goal of almost complete coverage of a construction business process for day to day use, but it has some serious issues the limit this ability. I do believe these issues can be fixed, but at the moment they seem to be working on them. Additionally, it is not always as intuitive as their presentation makes it seem. People with lower level computer skills will have a tougher time getting proficient.

Pros

1. Great potential. With some bug fixes and some changes, this product could be so much more.
2. Covers (can cover) from estimating to collection of payments.
3. Very flexible estimating system.
4. Form and report flexibility
5. Document management
6. Above average costing ability

Cons

1. Cloud service is slow at peak times
2. Estimating flexibility could mean a user affects estimating catalog.
3. The mobile app was almost completely unusable until very recently. (I am still wary).
4. Technical support is sometimes unable to solve problems.
5. Some key documents are not in project document package.
6. State specific certified payroll not in the system.
7. Consultants do not follow through during training sometimes.
8. Expensive for a product that is not fully at its capability.

July 2017

Krystofer from Magleby Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

July 2017

Functional and Productive

The product has potential and seems to be recently picking up steam. For immediate users, you may not see momentum without a perspective of where it has been. As of current, the cloud offering shows both potential and momentum for development as well as recent additions of drill downs for reports. Reports may not be easily customizeable without some knowledge and expertise.

Pros

- Great PM accounting solution (allowing for easy Contract Billing or Time and Material Billing)
- Basic accounting functions
- AP, AR, payroll are all functional
- The new chat feature for support (makes quick questions much easier than waiting for a drawn out response)

Cons

- The user interface could be updated (can be confusing and complex)
- Can't integrate through API
- Some design aspects and the speed of development could improve
- Would benefit from some more company accounting specific improvements (like fixed asset module)

December 2017

Bob from BTC Bob Tedrick Construction Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

The product as a whole is pretty good, The training and support.......TERRIBLE! DO NOT BUY!!!

Not enough to justify the cost and frustration

Pros

Once you get everything setup correctly its fairly streamline. It's got some weird quirks but all and all not bad.

Cons

Customer Service and training are terrible! Trainers do not understand the construction industry and do not listen to the clients needs. We ended up with huge mistakes and wasted training time directly due to the lack of knowledge of the trainers. It took 7 months to finalize and go live, I was told it would only take 6 weeks. Our trainer made two mistakes in our bookkeeping module and we are told we must pay for more training time! We don't need more training, we need support to reverse the mistakes THEY made. This has gone on for 16 months. We are ready to cut our losses and go to another construction software.

November 2017

Ashley from SEAS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2017

Coming from Quickbooks, ProContractor is life changing!!

Our company has been using ProContractor for about a year now. So far, we are extremely happy with the software and the Customer Service. We went through extensive one-on-one training and felt comfortable with the system before we were live with the software.

Pros

We are a Subcontractor doing about 35 million/year. We love that ProContractor will track Change Orders, RFI's, Transmittals, Pay Applications, Retainage, and so much more! ProContractor has also made a world of difference for our company in the Accounts Payable department. We can track vendor invoices, and get Project Management approval on vendor invoices MUCH more efficiently. ProContractor has made our company look much more professional with the documents and reports that the system generates.

Cons

Some Reports can be difficult to understand. The trick is finding the appropriate report for your company. ProContractor has TONS of reports the system can generate. It took us some time to figure out exactly which reports were most beneficial to our company. Now, we have around 10 reports that are our "go to" reports.
Some of our Project Managers have 4k displays on their laptops. ProContractor will not display correctly on these type of screens. We had to have our IT technician fix this issue.

August 2017

Karl from CFC Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2017

Okay - serves our needs. I wish the report output was easier. Take-off portion is weak.

Consistent cost metrics with management of the catalog pricing. Ability to create assemblies that allowed quicker estimates Easy comparison between estimates. Automatic and error free estimate calculations.

Pros

1) The ability to sort large amounts of information in a variety of ways.
2) The ability to compare or have variance from one estimate to another.
3) No math mistakes - as opposed to complicated Excel Sheets.

Cons

1) It is difficult to customize reports.
2) Having the software reside on our server, which is control by our IT, who doesn't consistently update, or limit user control of the software.
3) The modules, e.g. take off are not good and probably should be dropped from the program. We simply use the program for estimating.
4) One of the reasons that we purchased the software is that we thought that it was compatible with View Point. We wanted to be able to download our starting estimate into View Point directly as the starting budget for the project. There is no compatibility. The solution to do this was a custom Excel sheet that View Point wanted to charge us for.

August 2017

Chad from Ammons & Blackmon Construction LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2017

Everything we have done with Viewpoint has been positive with implementation training and use.

Pros

It allows me to track cost for specific bid items so i can see problems as they arise and not so far into the project that we cant recover. Everything we need is in one location from takeoff, estimating, project management and accounting.

Cons

Some aspects of the change order management can be difficult to work through and making specific changes on unit prices on change order documents are not as clear as i would like to see. I'm not a tech person, and since we use a server its difficult to perform updates without the help of an outside IT person. Just because of specific backups that need to be performed and locating the files. Other than that they usually go pretty well.

July 2016

Bob from Whitson Inc.


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

2.5 of 5

Functionality

1.5 of 5

July 2016

Not recommended because of accounting feature deficiencies.

Pros

Since we migrated from American Contractor in October 2013, the technical support staff has, with maybe one or two exceptions, been very eager to help resolve problems that we have run into, and there have been many. The employee assigned to our transition (I've forgotten his title) was very helpful and, I believe, did the most he could do to try to help our frustrating position but in the final was limited by the mysterious and aloof Development Department.

Cons

Whoa, get ready! Unfortunately, their Development (programming) staff has very unresponsive to our needs. We paid for the transition of data from AC to PC and they loused up a couple of major datasets (Contacts, Equipment) and refused to fix it, leaving the two modules virtually useless to us. They did offer to correct it for a reduced hourly billing rate but after what we had already spent for the software, I rejected that plan as unfair.
Because of these and other problems, I had to work seven days a week, 8-10 hours a day for over six months just to get the program somewhat working and finally get some time off. Much of what was promised us has still never happened and some basic tasks and reports have still not been implemented. (i.e. deposit slip, drill-down reports) I've also found that as I have gotten more used to PC's idiosyncrasies, I have gotten faster at data entry which has had the unfortunate effect of locking up the system. So I've had to actually slow down and wait for PC to catch up.
I was hopeful a while back when Viewpoint started an online "Suggestion Box" for users to request changes, fixes, and new features. I've submitted over 50 of the hundreds that have been entered and there are very few of them (even those with many "votes") that have been included in subsequent releases. One complaint I hear from other users (with which I agree thoroughly) is that improvements, fixes etc in each release have been aimed primarily at the Estimating and Mobile modules, neither of which do we use. Accounting, for the most part, is treated like the proverbial "step-child" even though is is that work that keeps the reporting data correct and up to date.

May 2017

Veronica from CBCC

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

May 2017

Accounting Is So Unforgiving

I am extremely unhappy with our accounting trainer. She kept saying that we could or could not do something in ProContractor and nearly every time we found out that the things she said we could do or could have done, in fact, couldn't be done. And the things she said we could NOT do is, in fact, allowed. For example, she told me and another lady in the office that the daily diaries could not be transferred over to the payroll side (that was a big selling point). When I told my boss what she said, he asked our estimating trainer and the estimating trainer said that yes, it could be done and showed the steps on how to do it. After that I tested it and yes, it can be done. There are other things, but you get my point. She also had me set up the payroll cost accounts a certain way and once we went live our comptroller found issues and she went to look at the payroll cost accounts and said that SOMEONE set them up wrong, she would never have set it up like that. When infact she had set them up, I just followed her instructions.

Pros

Estimating module of this seems cool. There are a few un-necessary steps to transfer an estimate over to the accounting side, but I'm getting the hang of it. I guess I would like the part where the guys do their daily diaries via PC mobile IF I could get that to work. You can modify reports yourself, but the program you use is very picky. If you need to change one item, it's easy enough, but any major changes you will get error after error. It took me 5 solid days to modify a check; however, it took them 3 months to even get around to me.

Cons

ACCOUNTING MODULE is a definite CON! 6 months training, very unforgiving- if you make a SIMPLE mistake it isn't an easy fix, they promised the world but in the end couldn't deliver, our accounting trainer messed us up more than she helped, PC Mobile doesn't work. Modifying reports is a hassle. SO many steps to enter a simple invoice- triple the steps than our previous system. The reports are awful! It's good that you can export them to excel, but they total everything like three times and it's difficult to sort the reports in a simple way. There are a million reports and most of them will never be used because they are useless; however, you can't get them out of your ALL tasks menu. So you have to find the one report in a million that you will use and save it to shortcuts. They didn't have a way to set up SC Contingency, our trainer was supposed to work on that- several weeks go by and she ends up having us set it up as a Fringe Benefit because she couldn't or didn't get the developers on board to fix that. I know we aren't the only Company in SC that has this program. The paid time off was a complicated mess for a company that just has a set rate for employees per year (not accrued). There are other issues but they aren't popping out in my head right now. I wish I had put a stop to this in the very beginning.

March 2018

J from Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

March 2018

Attempting to implement this software was the worst six months of my life.

Don't waste your money or time. This software is too cumbersome for users. The accounting records and reports are unreliable.

Pros

There is nothing to like about this software. The whole implementation process was a clumsily mess.

Cons

Everything you need to do with the software takes twice as long to accomplish compared with the older Maxwell software package. Reports are terrible and talk about killing trees, this software wastes more paper than I've ever seen. The implementation support is awful. My predecessor botched the first attempt at installation with purchased help from Viewpoint. When she could not get it working correctly she was fired. The company I was working for (yes, I'm gone too) was assigned another implementation specialist. She took off a third of the way through trying to implement a company again. Her suggestion was to split a rental company into 14 different companies. When she returned from a trip Viewpoint terminated her employment for some unknown reason. They said another implementation specialist would be contacting us but no one did. The owner of my company hired her on a consulting basis. As for year-end approached, she came to our office and manipulated the books to the point where any accountant would no longer be able to rely on the information in the accounting records. When I became convinced the software was a waste of time and money, the implementation consultant claimed I was not competent in accounting. When I confronted her about accounts not being reconciled and incorrect information being sent for tax preparation she told me I was in trouble. She, without any sort of accounting degree knows better than a CPA. Go figure.. I guess the only ones who can work with Viewpoint products are former Viewpoint employees. I come to the conclusion that the software was written by programmers without knowledge of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles. To the best of my knowledge the company is now a year into implementing ProContractor software, has turned over the accountant twice, has spent thousands of dollars, and the implementation has not been completed. This whole process has dragged the company down financially. No one who works with the software likes it.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

October 2017

It has been a very long learning curve for me & my team. Minimal support, & constant work arounds.

Main benefit is a one stop shop for all the data for each project.

Pros

I do like the ability to track costs to each project number. I do like the 'one stop shop' for everything being in one place.

Cons

I do not like the lack of customization on reports. I do not like the fact that the use cannot be tailored for what we actually do on a daily basis. I do not like the fact that even after 2 years my team spends a large amount of time 'working' on/in the system trying to figure things out. I personally feel it has cost our company revenue, because people who should be out generating revenue, are busy in Viewpoint/PC. I do not like the ease of transfer of date from PC to VP.

January 2018

Kaelonnie from Duncan & Sons, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

January 2018

I have done bookkeeping in construction for 25 + years. This is the worse accounting program i have EVER used. I looked into this program because it looked like the answer to tracking change orders. That is the only + to this program. It is NOT user f

The price for this program is not worth the product you pay for! Also, its pretty bad when you have a payroll tax issue that you cant figure out so, you contact customer service and they give you an order number for them to call you back. OK.... when you have an issue with payroll tax, you don't have time to wait a couple days for them to call you to resolve the issue. So, when they did call me back they could NOT figure out why the taxes in ProContractor did what it did. They were totally baffled and could not figure it out!! So, for the first 2 payrolls of the new year (2017) i had to calculate (by hand) what the taxes would be and i entered that with a journal entry. Very very disappointed with this product.

Pros

Tracking change orders would be the only think worth talking about. I do like that! But ...... That is it!! I don't have 100 characters to LIKE about this program as it is asking me before continuing the final step.

Cons

I am totally disappointed with this program. I would NOT recommend it to anyone. This is not a good construction program for a contractor that does Utility work.

Response from Dylan of Viewpoint

Replied February 2018

Hi, Kaelonnie. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about ProContractor. We are sorry that your experience with the software has been so difficult. While we’re glad to hear that the change order tracking feature is working well for you, we want to ensure that you’re getting all the value possible from the product. We will reach out to better understand the issues you’re having in detail. We really hope you’ll give us the chance to work with you to help make ProContractor the kind of valuable tool for your business that our other utility contractor customers have found it to be.

October 2012

Linda from Nouveau Construction and Technology Services


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2012

Nouveau Construction & Technology Services is both a General Contractor and two Specialty Subcontractors(Data Cabling & Electrical). As if that were not enough we had to further complicate things in the fact that our GC side is primarily Job Order Contracting for Universities, States, Counties, Cities and Independent School Districts which requires us to use RS Means for all estimating, where as we are not tied to RS Means for all of our Data and Electrical jobs. This uniqueness brought me quite a challenge when it came to searching for a new software. I was charged to find a software that would take us from the estimating side of things (both RS Means & non RS Means) through the entirety of the job, to include Job Costing, AP, AR, PR GL and Financial Reporting. ProContractorMX meets all our requirements in a software. While we are still in the process of training and implementation we are quite pleased so far. We are looking forward to having one software instead of 3+ softwares. To date all Maxwell personnel have been extremely helpful. Laura Kaye made sure she had a good understanding of our company and our needs and was therefore able to show us how PCMX can meet those needs. In fact we even did and extra impromptu hands on demo with our estimating guys when she was on site for our demo. Linda Koath is extremely knowledgeable and is helping us through the process of getting our system set up correctly and teaching how to use it. JoAnn Solari I have only spoken to on the phone and while we haven't yet begun the Estimating and Project Management training I expect her to be as proficient and helpful as Laura and Linda are. While we are not yet live and using the software daily, I have be very pleased with the system and its abilities. I have no doubt that we will be much more efficient in our daily activities across the board - from Accounting to Estimating to the Field once we do go live.

August 2017

Jeff from Sub-Surface of Indiana, Inc.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2017

Recently, cases are being opened, but we are not receiving a prompt response to address those cases.

Pros

I has gotten better over that past year or two, after Viewpoint took it over, and as updates have came out. We are use to the program now, so we know what works for us, and what does not, but we are always open to look at other software.

Cons

The frequency of the updates is reasonable, but the length of time that it takes to apply the update to our server takes to long. Some of the reports cannot be modified by us the way that we need to, and having Viewpoint modify them, would only cause more work and money after each update was applied.