TurboBid Estimating Software

4.52 / 5 (24)

Our advisors have recommended this product 46 times in the last 30 days

About TurboBid Estimating


TurboBid is an on-premise estimating software solution for small and midsize contractors designed to help them complete project estimations, regardless of the type of work, whether it's new residential, light commercial, remodeling, service work or flat rate pricing.

TurboBid’s database includes material items that reflect pricing from Trade Service as well as pricing for up to 5 selected vendors. TurboPricer electronically updates vendor and market pricing for items accordingly as and when it changes. Businesses can calculate material installation times using an established labor unit that can be adjusted to reflect the estimate.

TurboBid offers customizable reports and bid packages that allow users to generate formal proposals, quantity take-offs and bid estimates for customers.

TurboBid also offers customer support via live online training, video tutorials and live help chat.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

24 Reviews of TurboBid Estimating

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.52 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(15)

4 stars

(8)

3 stars

(0)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(1)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

September 2018

Joshua from Electrocal, Inc.

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Excellent product and excellent customer service

I have been elated since I chose TurboBid. I did a LOT of research before choosing them. They had the right base price for the software, I liked that I had an actual software package not an online only program. I can honestly say that a small part of me depends on TurboBid now. Being a small one person shop, I can always do things way faster in my head. Then I get on the job and realize, what about the screws! What about the hole that I didn't think would take me so long and now drilling that one hole ate up my profit. Not with TurboBid. Now I don't do off the top of my head bids anymore, I run the job through TurboBid and I know I will be profitable when I give my price. It may not always be the cheapest bid, but it will be the right bid at the right price for my company. Do a few jobs once and compare them apples to apples for labor hours. If you are honest, I bet your actual jobtime labor hours comes out pretty close to what TurbBid estimates! I am way more profitable now as a company. It really paid for itself after a few bids. Oh and their customer service is top notch!!! I had an issue and the Vice president worked with me on it! That is service!

Pros

I like the ease of use. Overall it is a very easy program to learn. With the way that it is setup like a flow chart, you can keep progressing through the steps on the program to make sure you don't miss anything. That is one of its main positives, it let's you get through the steps for a more accurate (not always the cheapest) more thorough, quicker bid. You know that when you are done, you will have the confidence that you can submit the right price for the job. I am definitely more profitable now.

Cons

There is a slight learning curve. searching through the list tree can be daunting but they have a great search feature that can work around it.

Response from Advanced Electrical Technologies of

Replied September 2018

Hello Joshua, Thank you so much for the kind words! We are thrilled to work with you and your company. Always remember, we're here for you whenever you needs us. We look forward to working with you for many years to come!

September 2018

Robert from R.G. Elmore & Associates Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Turbo Bid Electrical Estimating Software

We are able to turn out the most professional proposals in the least amount of time. You can give your customer anything from just a plain bid price to an extensive proposal that includes all of the equipment being used, and all of the labor being supplied. Even a room by room breakdown of the items included for your customers review.

Pros

Ease of use, was up and running in an afternoon.
Great customer service, everyone at Turbo Bid is great and they care about their customers, always available for good advice and a great learning experience. They really go the extra mile to help with a problem you may have encountered.

Cons

There is absolutely nothing that I dislike, the entire program is very functional, easy to learn, and accurate.

Response from Advanced Electrical Technologies of

Replied September 2018

Hello Robert, We are so glad to hear that you're enjoying TurboBid! You and your company have been an absolute pleasure to work with. If you ever need anything at all, we're always here for you! Thank you again for all the kind words.

July 2016

Michael from LLOYD ELECTRIC, LLC.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Very detailed and useful!

I'm beginning my own electrical business as a Master Electrician. I purchased Turbo Bid because I needed to accurately estimate new residential and commercial projects. With direction from Bill Ruffner and Andrew Ruffner, I was able to very quickly learn how to use their program and navigate through their software program. I'm very happy with how easy it is to learn and with the customer service they provide.

Pros

The detail in which program has. There are so many hidden company expenses a company has that Turbo Bid brings to light and allows you to account for in estimating. Also the ease of making a fast estimate through the material assemblies. Also, Turbo Cloud enables you to get updated pricing and updated assemblies.

Response from Advanced Electrical Technologies of

Replied July 2016

Thank you Michael. It's always a source of satisfaction on our part when we can help someone in your position improve your business whereas you can provide a better quality of life for your family, as well as bring balance back into your life.

June 2018

Adam from Chapman Electric Inc.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I use TurboBid for electrical estimating of residential projects.

Faster estimate completion time.

Pros

I like the formal proposal feature. It save a lot of time and lays everything out in an easily understandable format for customers. I also like how I can setup assembly groups.

Cons

I dislike the way navigation through assemblies works. I would rather be able to type in a search bar when I need to add an assembly, especially one not used often.

November 2017

Aliesha from LAWDEL Electrical Services, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

New to business - Turbobid has helped

We started a electrical business without a lot of experience and talent in all areas except estimating. I'm so glad we went with Turbobid. Not only were we able to figure it out with this software but their customer service was so helpful and got us in the right direction.

Pros

Customer service is amazingly helpful. Pretty user friendly. Lots of options to help. Never bid before using this system and even I can do it with Turbobid! Lots of helpful videos are available.

Cons

Setting up assemblies are a little harder to figure out but I'll call and I'm sure I will get help.

May 2018

Rafael from INGENIERÍA DE CONSULTA INCOSTAS, SA

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Very good software to make pipe estimates. Large database available.

For some projects, I have compared the actual cost of each project compared to the estimated costs based on this program and similar ones, considering that the costs estimated through the TurboBid were almost always those that were closer to the real costs. Although I have used it for small projects (houses), I think it is feasible, given the results I have obtained, to increase its use to larger projects, for which I continue to use other software.

Pros

Although I have not used it much yet, if I have monitored the evolution of its database in some specific items where I know that there have been specific price variations in a relatively short period of time.
I have been able to verify that the database has faithfully reflected these changes, unlike other similar software, where these changes are not reflected or are observed with an important time lag.
Your customer service is above the average to which I am accustomed to receive when I have made inquiries.

Cons

Although as I said previously, the customer service is higher than the average that I'm used to receiving technically speaking. However, his response time, on the other hand, has been quite slow, at least in my particular case

August 2018

William from Marsden and Sons Electric

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

My Oppinion

I hope to have time this winter to sit down and learn the program better

Pros

The are always working to make it better

Cons

Never been able to adjust for different crews and pay scale to get my true number

Response from Advanced Electrical Technologies of

Replied September 2018

Hi William, Please feel free to go into TurboBid's "Help" menu and select "Schedule Live Training". We'll be more than happy to show you how to select your different crews and pay scales. As you noted, we are constantly adding new features and functionalities to TurboBid via auto update. When we get together, we'll make sure that you're fully aware of everything that TurboBid can do for you. While the built-in video tutorials are helpful, sometimes live training can provide better clarity. Here is a link to a video tutorial for Manpower Classifications. Some of the screens in the video have been revised in TurboBid 5.0 but the basic concepts remain the same: https://youtu.be/BYRkL-ce1JI Best Regards, TurboBid Support

August 2018

Nicholas from River Town Electric LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Newbe

So far I'm very happy with Turbo bid. I'm new to estimating so it was all very unsettling at first but I've used it for several projects now and I'm getting more and more familiar with the software and more confident with my numbers.

Pros

My favorite thing about the software is the Technical Support. I've only used it once but it was fantastic!

Cons

The thing I liked least is that it's overwhelming at first. There are so many things you can do with it that it's just a lot to take in at first. However if you're a contractor, you're already used to that and you already know how to eat an elephant.

Response from Advanced Electrical Technologies of

Replied August 2018

Hi Nicholas, Thank you so much for the kind words. Please let us know if you ever need anything at all in the future, we are always more than happy to help. We really look forward to working with you!

November 2016

Alfredo from Enigma Electric

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Turbo bid

It has good customer service but some of the prices dont add up. For example 1/2" emt is more expensive than 3/4" emt

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

price differences

Response from Customer Support of

Replied November 2016

Hi Alfredo. I would just like to address your comment about our material pricing being inaccurate. When you purchased TurboBid, you were prompted to update the database that was included in your free trial. It appears that by your comment, you did not do this. In your example, you stated that ½” EMT is more expensive than ¾” EMT. I have sent you some screen shots of these items via email. The screenshots show the pricing for July 2016 and October 2016. In both cases, ½” EMT was cheaper than ¾” EMT. When TurboBid is installed, a copy of our SQL database is installed on the user’s local computer. We maintain TurboBid’s master database on our server in the clouds. We update the material prices every month. We revise the material item’s data as needed, such as the UPC #, Catalog #, Labor Unit, etc. We also add new items and assemblies to this master database on a regular basis. TurboBid users have access to this updated database through our award winning TurboCloud database maintenance feature. TurboCloud can be used to update their local material prices every month. It can be used to update their local material item’s data to reflect any revisions. It can also be used to add new items and assemblies to their local database. In other words, it keeps their local database accurate and up to date with the click of a button. Please let us know if you would like a free month of TurboCloud. This will allow you to add all of the new items and assemblies that we’ve added since you bought TurboBid, as well as to update your material prices to current levels. Best Regards, TurboBid Support

June 2017

Moshe from MG Electrical Estimators LLC

Company Size: 1 employee


Ease-of-use

5.0

<