About YourVirtuoso


YourVirtuoso is a cloud-based marketing and administration solution for dance studios or music schools. It enables businesses to manage their online registrations, family accounts, websites, reporting, payments and class rosters.

YourVirtuoso enables users to schedule classes. Classes will then be reflected on users’ websites. Users can also send marketing emails to customers, register new students, process payments and print out class rosters. The customer portal of YourVirtuoso allows families to check enrollments, make payments and schedule classes themselves.

YourVirtuoso also provides website hosting and development. It offers integration with QuickBooks. Support options include online and phone support.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

55 Reviews of YourVirtuoso

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.16 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(23)

4 stars

(19)

3 stars

(12)

2 stars

(1)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 55 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

August 2017

Jeanie from Smart Start Music, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Our large Kindermusik program could not function as well as it does, without Your Virtuoso.

See the survey

Pros

It's easy to use, loads quickly, and has information I need, from reports to a class list, at my fingertips.

Cons

It doesn't prorate fees for semester-based programs. A student joining week #4, for example, should have an automatic system to prorate and provide the late registrant with their adjusted amount to pay. It doesn't calculate so I have to do it manually. I'm embarrassed to tell the parent to follow these steps:
1. Go online, register and pay the full price, as that's the only way the registration can be completed.
2. Send me an email to let me know you've completed your registration and have paid the full amount.
3. I go into their family account after I have done the math, and do a credit adjustment for 4 weeks the family has missed at rate
3. I have to modify their account after the credit adjustment.
4. Next I have to issue a credit for $48 back onto their credit card (have to pay merchant card services extra fee to issue a credit
5. I send the family an email to let them know their statement should reflect a credit of $48 on it, within a few days.

This process takes at least 5 minutes. We probably have an estimated 40 or more students join our classes after we have already started our 14-week session. I, personally, have to do each of these prorate transactions by myself, often on days I've already taught 5 classes, and have a million emails to reply, and staff to manage. Please, please, prorate automatically for semester-based users. My SIL says it should take a programmer hardly any time at all to set it up to help us!

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied September 2017

Thanks Jeanie, We do prorate for ongoing, monthly payment classes, but as you say, the up front semester based sessions do not have that option at the moment. Have you thought about changing the class price every week? Would that be easier and cause less customer impact? Contact me if you want to discuss that option. Gerry

October 2016

Mandi from Sing Music Studio

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

Not bad but needs improvements

I would like to see a few upgrades to YV. While I do think it is a good program I think it is missing some key features. In particular, you used to be able to adjust the font size in emails. That feature disappeared a year or two ago and has never returned. This seems like a basic function that should never have been removed. I also find that when I am writing a lengthy newsletter, the system tends to time out and freeze. It doesn't not auto save and on numerous occasions I have had to rewrite a newsletter 3 times due to this happening. I don't think it should time out when I am working in the program. I've also had issues with photos. Suddenly photos that I have uploaded and saved and previously used turn up as question marks in my emails - even when I try to re-upload them. The system does not give me a reason why they are not working and I can view them in my saved photos. So this is very strange. An additional feature I would like to see is the client being able to print off their own invoice, receipt or statement that also shows tax amount when they access their accounts. And finally I would like to see some improvements to the Kindermusik public site templates. They are extremely outdated looking. The price point is great for YV which is why I continue to use it. However I think it's past due time to make it look fresh and and hip.

Pros

Ability to clone sessions. Fairly easy to use. Price point is great.

Cons

Public site looks incredibly outdated - I would say by 15 plus years.
Lack of certain features as previously explained: cannot adjust font sizes, system times out/freezes, not all photos work, client access to print receipts/statement/invoice with tax shown.

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied October 2016

Mandi, Thanks for the review. You have some great specifics there, and I am going to add them to the feature request area on the support site. I don't know if you reported that image issue, but I suspect it is a known issue that we fixed a few months ago. It affected iOS mail and caused images to not load due to security settings needed for those mail clients. Send us some suggestions for websites you like - we are periodically looking for new template ideas. Gerry

October 2016

Jane from Mountain Song Music Studio, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Your Virtuoso Review from Mountain Song Music Studio, Inc.

Overall I have had a very good experience with YourVirtuoso. The website is easy to use, even for someone like me who isn't that tech savvy. I can add class semesters/schedules easily, I can see family account info, class rosters and make switches on the back end if necessary. My teachers can be included on automatic communications which makes things easier. The customer service has been improving in terms of length of time of response and they are open to suggestions and feedback. Families generally have an easy time navigating the site, finding class schedules, registration, demo classes. I really like the online make up scheduler for ease with make up classes. There are quite a few functions that I have not used yet so I am still learning. Overall it's been a really great experience and I highly recommend it.

Pros

Ease of adding class semesters, schedules, coupon codes.

Cons

Needing to add "required field" for families who do not enter phone/address when creating account. I also run two summer semesters and I cannot create a separate Summer Session I and Summer Session II button for this.

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied November 2016

Thanks Jane. We are looking at ways to allow more flexibility with Session icons. I'll let you know. Gerry

October 2016

Jeanie from Smart Start Music (Kindermusik)

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Your Virtuoso - great software for music teachers

We've used Your Virtuoso for 9 years and couldn't operate our business as easily or successfully without it. We've had very few problems over the years but when we have, support staff was quick to resolve issues (mostly user related!).

Pros

Easy to use, dependable, reports contain the info we need, and class rosters are exactly what we require.

Cons

It doesn't pro-rate fees automatically. For example, when a student registers week #4 of our 14-week session I have to take out time to do a manual credit adjustment requiring several time-consuming steps. I look less professional when I have to explain to the new parent how we will refund their credit card after they pay in full. We've lost a few students over the years during the multiple emails back and forth trying to gain their trust that we really will put a credit of $48 back into their credit card.

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied October 2016

Thanks for the great review Jeannie, and the feedback on pro-rating. We do have automatic prorates for monthly (subscription) payment plans, but I suspect you are looking for a plan that is paid "Up Front" that would prorate based on which week of the semester it is. It's on our list! Thanks, Gerry

August 2017

Joan from Prenosil Music Studios

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

I've been using YV since 2007. It has been a good experience overall.

Pros

The back office is wonderful, easy for myself and my administrative assistant to use. The client and prospective tracking is indispensable to me, as I have quite a large mailing list after 10 years.

Cons

The website needs to be updated. I would like to be able to put streaming videos on the main page. And make it easier for my clients and prospectives to navigate the website. It also would be nice to have the capability to use automated emails with this software...I pay to have that done with another company.

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied September 2017

Hi Joan, Thanks. Send me a Help ticket and I can explain how to add videos to your site. There is a help document too if you want to look there. I assume you are looking for a series of mailings that go out automatically when a prospect fills out a contact us form? As you know, you can schedule mailing in YourVirtuoso, and there is one sent on an initial contact. There are workarounds for sending a series of emails, but they are not fully automatic. Regards, Gerry

November 2016

Teresa from Kindermusik with Munchkins to Mozart

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Your Virtuoso has been incredibly helpful!

I have been using Your Virtuoso for a number of years. The back office is incredibly helpful with record keeping, organization, and communication. It is ever evolving in response to users' needs and requests. Jerry Cobley and his team do their best to constantly improve and add needed features. The few things I am not as happy about may already have fixes and I just haven't found them?? They are that I would like to have greater ability to customize the web page graphics, and occasionally attach word docs or photos to group (class or school) emails. As I said, it may be possible I've just missed those. Thank you, Your Virtuoso for helping us get online and having so much worked out so beautifully!

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied November 2016

Thanks Teresa. Most of the graphics can be customized, so if there is one that you are not sure about, just submit a help request and I will take a look for you. The best way to handle attachments is usually to upload them to google drive and add a link in your email or mailing. Gerry

August 2017

Kari from Asheville Area Music Together

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

Mostly fine, improving. Still somewhat unwieldy.

It saves me time and gives my customers autonomy in making payments.

Pros

It continues to improve through regular updates. I can get and manage all the information I need (provided I don't encounter bugs, which has happened a few times). Taking payments through the website is much easier than processing personal checks. The Music Together template drop-down menus make more sense than they used to.

Cons

The template is still difficult for my customers to navigate. I don't like that potential customers have to create a profile just to sign up for a demo class. I am suspicious of those types of situations myself, as I'm always afraid I'll wind up getting spammed to death. There are still bugs sometimes. I really wish there was an option to include a blog page. The whole thing is somewhat pricey.

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied September 2017

Hi Kari, Thanks for the review and comments. It might be good for us to work on those Cons a bit, so feel free to issue a help ticket. The "Try a Class" feature does not require a signup, so perhaps you are creating special classes and asking families to enroll in them as they would a regular class? We can also support a blog on the site if you set one up with a free account at blogger.com for example. Gerry

October 2016

Tricia from Kindermusik with Tricia

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Love YourVirtuoso

I have used YourVirtuoso since I opened my studio in 2007. After taking the time to learn the system it has been wonderful for me. Customer service is prompt and professional when I have a question. It takes care of registering students, collecting automatic payments, scheduling and sending emails, and all my record keeping. It may take a little time to become familiar with the system, but the help is there and I have found it to be a great value. I never worry about it doing the job I need to make my business function!

Pros

It does what I need for my business - online enrollments, automatic payments, class lists and attendance, scheduled emails, and keeps all my records as well as provides a good professional website

Cons

It can be tricky to learn how to use

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied November 2016

Thanks Tricia!

November 2016

Kayla from Music Together of Beaverton

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2016

Music Together website via Yourvirtuoso

I have always been very torn about my experience with yourvirtuoso. When I first purchased this website template and web services, I loved everything about it. I still am very happy with the back office services (ability to build class offerings for my center, financial reports, coupons, etc.) Overall, things are easy to use. The biggest disappointment I have with the service is the customer service and the actual website template options. The service, while timely, is usually general and the staff seems short and non-thorough in their answers. This is just my experience. The template options are just plain out of date. I was told months ago that there would be new, updated and relevant template options coming our way. While I understand that this is quite an undertaking, I feel like we have been given consistently inaccurate information. First, new websites would be available end of summer, then, in September, then, by the very latest, the end of October. Still have not seen a thing. I am so ready to jump ship at this point, but like I said, the back office software is what is keeping me with you. I am disappointed, but have hope! I hope this review is helpful. These are my opinions based on my experiences.

Pros

Overall ease of use of the back office.
Love the financial reports, enrollment reports, and other reporting options.

Cons

Would love to be able to offer a shopping cart. So families can pay for more than one class (item) in one purchase.
Would also love to see the ability for my families to buy gift certificates in any amount (or in any predetermined amount) with an automatic coupon code being sent to them upon purchase (I realize I can create a coupon code and send it to a family, but wouldn't it be great if they could do it all themselves from their home?)
Is there a way for me to create a set of classes (say, Winter Term classes) and list it on the website without activating it? In other words, without allowing people to register? I'd just like for them to be able to view it.

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied November 2016

Thanks for the review & feedback Kayla. I am also frustrated by the delays in releasing the new templates. They are ready to go, but we are being asked to wait by MTLLC to coordinate the release with theirs. There are a couple of options for displaying classes without registration. You can see them by searching the help system, but if they do not meet your needs let me know. The Gift Certificate idea is a great one. I know a few folks have found ways to do it, but integrating it with our registration/payment system would be a big help. I'll put it on our list. Gerry

October 2016

Joy from Kindermusik with Joy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

Your Virtuoso is a Solid Choice

I have used Your Virtuoso for a number of years as the owner of a Kindermusik Studio ranging in size between 200 and 300 students typically. I was elated when Your Virtuoso was originally released. It immediately made my life (and especially taking student registrations) tons easier. Suddenly I had registrations coming in overnight, without my having to do anything in terms of entering or even processing them. I find the account tracking, reports, rosters, and most of the registration components to be incredibly useful and have stayed with Your Virtuoso all these years as a result. It is a solid choice for a reasonable price, and I would certainly recommend that Kindermusik studios give it a look. I understand that the newest version also allows for online registration for makeups and even preview classes, additional features that I think are incredibly useful. My main issues with Your Virtuoso are that we often have problems with our emails being blocked since they show as being sent by Your Virtuoso rather than directly from us. I also needed a more customizable registration form over time as well as a different layout for the screens that parents see when they login.

Pros

features
online registration
online makeup scheduling
online preview scheduling
setup for automated payments

Cons

emails often get blocked when sent through Your Virtuoso
need a more customizable registration form and don't like the screen and pdf enrollment confirmation that parents get when they register online themselves

Response from SimplySignUp of

Replied November 2016

Thanks Joy, Glad YourVirtuoso is simplifying things for you. Any suggestions on the confirmation pages? We can change those as long as it works for everyone. Email deliverability is a constant challenge of course. Are there particular customers that have problems? The pages the parents see are much better, mobile friendly, and more customizable in the new Version 3 if you wanted to look at upgrading? Thanks again, Gerry

October 2016

Cathy from Kindermusik by Cathy Siebert

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016