Smokeball Software

4.60 / 5 (60) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 23 times in the last 30 days

About Smokeball

Smokeball is a complete cloud-based legal productivity software to automatically record time for you, allowing you to increase your firm’s profitability and productivity by over 30%. Whether you bill hourly, fixed fee, or on contingency, Smokeball provides you the insights you need to run a more profitable law firm. Plus, with over 14,000 automated forms and a robust MS Word and Outlook integration, managing your firm has never been so consistent - and easy. Access all matters on the go with Smokeball’s mobile app built for iPhone and Android. Smokeball is a premium practice/case management product and only for PC computers running Windows 8 or 10. Smokeball is a practice management software with dedicated, award-winning customer support and consulta...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 8, Windows 10

60 Reviews of Smokeball

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.60 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(44)

44

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 60 results

March 2018

Jay from Law Offices of Jay H Chie

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Our firm use to use timematters, but this is way better. It's like driving a chevy vs. mercendes!

This software makes our office more efficient which means I need one less secretary. I have access from my phone and tablet which makes it easier for me to work outside of the office.

Pros

It's very integrated for every need possible as a small law firm. This software links all my emails into the file. It's just a powerful system.

Cons

Since I'm a baby boomer, it's too much to remember, but that's my fault and not the software. I wish every time I get a phone message, a separate window would pop up to call instead of me looking for it or getting it thru email.

March 2020

Gitanjali from LaSusa & Deb, PLLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Financing Scam

They appear to have changed their business model from one that provides software to once that makes money off "lending money." The first account managers were amazing. Once we transferred all of our stuff and got used to the software. They started asking us for 3-5 year contracts paid up front with personal guarantors under the guise of them having to finance the contract. In other words even if you stop using their service you will personally have to still keep paying. They appear to have changed their business model from one that provides software to once that makes money off "lending money." Beware. I would stay away especially if you are a small firm.

Pros

User interface, Ease of Use, Accessibility

Cons

Customer support is lacking. Incompatible with VPN and other security software. They seem unconcerned about security issues that result. Fixing invoices is problematic.

Reasons for Choosing Smokeball

Payment interface, email communication storage ease and document storage ease.

Response from Smokeball

Replied March 2020

Thanks for being a client and leaving a review, Deb. Obviously hearing anything fall through the cracks is difficult to hear, and we'd love to work with you offline to regain your confidence. Until then, though, I can clear up your two primary concerns: (1) Security is our #1 priority. It's why all of our software, migrations, and transactions surpass bank-level security. Our secure AWS cloud servers ensure continuity and access without sacrificing data security. We do work with VPN, but ask that firms work with their account managers so that we can configure with your individual set-up. (2) We have the same pricing model as always. Firms are still welcome to sign up for 12-month contracts. Period. Clients are now given the option to lock in a low price for 36-months, but it is their call, not ours. And, of course, we never require (or offer) 5-year contracts. Again, we're incredibly sorry to hear any displeasure but want to work with you to turn this into a positive.

February 2019

Lee from Lee Pugh & Associates, PLLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2019

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Response from Smokeball

Replied January 2020

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team pull public forms and load them directly into Smokeball for all users to access. (2) It is true that we currently don't have direct integration with the Google suite. We do, however, integrate directly with MS Office products like Outlook and Word. Our Sales people in charge of demos should make this absolutely clear in initial conversations, and we will ensure that they continue to do so for all future consultations.

February 2020

Edward from Coyne Stahl Jansen, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Execellent Case Managment System.

Since I started using Smokeball, my profitability has increased by almost thirty percent. It keeps everything in one place and can make even a complex practice more manageable. The customer service is very responsive and Smokeball is constantly evolving new features and products to facilitate the needs of their customers.

Pros

I have been using Smokeball for almost four (4) years now. The document assembly and integration with Microsoft Office are fantastic. It stores everything about the case, contacts, documents, emails all in one place. Since I have been a user, they have added a billing program, which has increased our profitability.

Cons

Some of the billing features can be cumbersome at times, but if you train your staff to work within the parameters of the program, (i.e. making sure that payments on invoices are actually applied to the invoices), these minor issues can be managed.

Reasons for Choosing Smokeball

I chose Smokeball because it provided the most comprehensive case management system I could ask for. Further, Smokeball continues to improve their product, and a result thereof,continues to evolve and improve my practice in terms of profitability and efficiency.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Love Smokeball!

Pros

I love how easy it is to teach others how to use Smokeball, and how we are able to add certain things to our own SB system to personalize it for our firm's use! I also love how they listen to their users, and are always adding new and better features! It is also great how easy they are to get in contact with should we ever have a problem.

Cons

One of the only things that I don't really like about Smokeball is that it can sometimes take longer than I would like to load. Switching between tasks and matters also sometimes takes a minute, and it will freeze for 30 or so seconds before actually switching.

Response from Smokeball

Replied January 2020

Thank you for this feedback! While we love to read the positive comments we also take concerns to heart; we'll continue to keep load times as a priority so that not a single minute is lost in your day.