TalentLMS Software

4.62 / 5 (311)

Our advisors have recommended this product 14 times in the last 30 days

About TalentLMS

TalentLMS is an award-winning, cloud-based LMS for those looking to build online courses for any purpose in a few easy clicks even with zero experience. TalentLMS offers functionality for course authoring, user testing, extended enterprise, teaching and training administration and e-commerce for small and midsize businesses and schools.

The platform’s course builder offers embedded content tools for video, audio, SCORM, xAPI and flash content, along with search functionality to find and embed YouTube videos, SlideShare presentations, Wikipedia articles and more into courses. All lessons are optimized for presentation on desktops, tablets or smartphone devices. Fixed and randomized testing is available to assess information retention and a variety of que...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic)

311 Reviews of TalentLMS

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.62 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(209)

209

4 stars

(88)

88

3 stars

(12)

12

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 311 results

July 2018

Michael S. from INNODYN, LLC

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

My experience using TalentLMS has been wonderful. It's simple to use, yet also very sophisticated!

We host video learning content on TalentLMS and it works great for this purpose.

Pros

The design of this software is well thought out. Although TalentLMS has many sophisticated features (everything one could possibly need and more), it's designed in such a way to minimize user complexity. As an admin and instructor, I'm able to get things done quickly without much time and effort (with limited technical knowledge). The visual look and feel of an LMS is important to me. Many LMS systems look "techy" and are NOT a pleasure to use. TalentLMS is clean and elegant and provides a great experience for admins, instructors and users. I think of TalentLMS as the Apple computer of LMS systems. Another big differentiator is that TalentLMS enables instructors to create courses quickly without a painful learning curve that kills productivity. Learning content is placed into buckets called learning objects. Any kind of content hosted anywhere can be used. Making changes to courses is a snap. Also, I found the white labeling and customization of TalentLMS to be surprisingly easy. Support documentation is thorough and well written. I was able to quickly customize our learning portal without doing any HTML coding whatsoever in about 30 minutes! No help from technical experts needed. Before deciding on TalentLMS, I reviewed dozens of LMS providers (a hair-pulling experience) and found most to be very expensive, complex, lack-luster on feature and visual appeal. I just don't have the patience or the time to deal with those handicaps! We are very glad to have discovered TalentLMS.

Cons

After about a year, I haven't encountered any problems using TalentLMS. Of course, there's always room for improvement on the way to perfection. There appears to be a little overlap in the learning objects - Content, Web content and videos are really just "content". However, this could be by design. Maybe there should be a universal content object that accommodates all content types. The only videos accepted for the "Video" object are YouTube. However, we use another video hosting platform to protect our content from download, among other reasons. However, this is not a real problem because we just embed our videos using the content learning object, which looks sort of like a WordPress content box. Just copy the embed code from the video provider and paste into the content box. That's it; works great. The only other thing I can think of is that the default HTML video player could use a few more control bar options such as view quality selection and a way to set download video or disallow download video. However, this is not a problem for us because we use embed video codes from our video hosting provider and therefore the provider's video player is used instead of the default HTML player. We control the features of this video player on the video hosting side.

Response from Epignosis

Replied October 2018

Michael, cheers! Thank you very much for the positive review and the comprehensive feedback. We're thrilled that you've found TalentLMS to be the most affordable, easy-to-use, feature-rich, and 'well thought out' solution out of every other you've tried. Your suggestions are equally appreciated, so please feel free to visit our knowledge base and add them to the ideas section. Thanks for the 5 stars!

October 2019

jim from jim savage consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Has been great experience

I'm developing courses to be licensed to facilities for them to deliver to their own clients. The dedicated support has been invaluable for helping someone with no previous experience take on this rather large effort. They always have good solutions for when I run into hurdles as I've been beta-testing this with prospective customers.

Pros

I entered this world with no experience in online training, and started at ground zero in just researching different options then learning how to create courses. I have no idea how it compares to other options, but the bottom line is I've been able to create a platform that impresses people. The word that comes to mind frequently is that it's "robust." The under the hood capabilities seem to be really good as far as administrative stuff that I heaven't even scratched the surface of yet. As far as a few particular things I like: The test options include attractive features like drag and match, fill in the blank, and ordering. The user's interface is fun and attractive for tests. The other thing I really like about it is the support. For the plan I have, I have a dedicated support person who works with me as closely as I need in helping developing courses, etc. And on weekends/off hours I email support and they always respond within a few hours and are really good about helping me solve any issues.

Cons

Every once in a while I bump up against a feature it doesn't have, or the text editor can be a little funky to get used to. The other thing is being based in Europe, the hours of availability with my dedicated support person is a bit limited7am meetings. But there hasn't been any question that the pros outweigh the cons.

Response from Epignosis

Replied November 2019

Jim, for a first-time LMS user, it sounds like you have mastered TalentLMS pretty quickly and you're already impressing your clients! Thanks for giving our quiz/test functions, user interface and admin functions an extra thumbs up. Our Support team is also super pleased with your feedback, they really do make it their business to give customers the best support possible, regardless of the time zone. As always, our Support team is there to help you if you face any future hurdles. Thanks for leaving us a review!

October 2019

osama from benzaker

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

I've been waiting for you for 15 years !

I started my experience with distance education since the year 2000, and then it was very poor .. I was using a program ..... to explain to some students .. Of course was not quite suitable and was not originally made for it. Then I started looking for companies to design my own website and lost a lot of money and missed a lot, but I was learning what is more expensive than money .. The fact I gained experience, and then I turned to rely on myself until I learned WordPress and actually spent 5 years in experimentation and development, but I always felt that This is not the way,and i used elictalive and stoped it after tow years, came a pause depends on the Youtube and Facebook in the dissemination of my educational content and achieved great success and is now following me tens of thousands of students from many countries, but I also did not feel that I found what I want and I have been trying and search and for almost a year as I remember Your system, I tried it and I found it really cool though I now meet with teachers in my city and in all the cities of my country Egypt to explain to them your system and explained to them the genius of integration and quality in providing what the teacher, student and principal need to achieve an educational process that surpasses the reality in the regular school .. Yes I say so with confidence .. Thank you I apologize for what may be wrong. I am not skilled in English and I use Google in translation

Pros

The best thing I found in your system was that it was doing everything I could imagine as a teacher 15 years of experimentation and spending my money in the wrong place.

Cons

The thing I want you to change is to restrict sites to certain sites. This happens when I want to add web content, release it

Response from Epignosis

Replied November 2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, Osama! We're glad that after 15 years, your search is over. We wish you all the best with your training, and our Support team is always on-hand should you need any assistance.

January 2019

Georgina from Cosmetology Education Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

Long time client looking to switch

Would love to hear from great companies who really want my business. This one apparently doesn't. Change in 2019 is coming.

Pros

We have been using this product for about 5 years. It was inexpensive, mostly easy to upload content if you are a beginner. Basic for users. Customer service was good at one time. At first they treated me well since I was a new client.

Cons

We have been having more and more issues throughout the years. They NEVER tell you when things are wrong especially when your entire system and theirs is down.. like recently Jan. 2, 2019! It was down for 25 minutes. When I tracked it back.. this happens about once every 3 months. So if you are in it for e-commerce you would know how this affects your bottom line! I have been waiting 9 days now for them to fix a SCORM issue, uploading content has frequent issues- they fix in usually within 24 hours, but sometimes it takes days. I have emailed the higher ups with complaints and no comments returned.

Response from Epignosis

Replied June 2019

Georgina, hi! We're sorry to hear that you haven't been content with our service as we take great pride in our system's uptime and performance. Here you can see why: https://status.talentlms.com/. However, in the rare case of a system outbreak, it takes some time to identify the cause and provide customers with accurate information. We assure you that all our customers receive the same quality of service, regardless of how long they've been using TalentLMS. Our support department has confirmed that your SCORM issue has been fixed, but it's useful to know that SCORM files can be unpredictable depending on the rules you set or the authoring tool you use. What we can promise though, is that our customer support team is readily available to resolve your every issue as quick as possible. Thank you for your patience.

October 2019

John from KMC Controls

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Unlimited Trial - No Pressure to Purchase!

It is easy to use. The help content is pretty awesome and answers most of your questions. The online technical support is fast and responsive if you could not find your answer in the help content.

Pros

In looking for an LMS, I wanted to take a test drive before purchasing. Most LMS's give you a 30-day trial. TalentLMS has an unlimited free trial that allowed me to customize my site and develop content. As most of us know, we are working on multiple projects simultaneously and to be able to focus on one project for 30 days straight is impossible. TalenLMS provided me the time and space I needed to develop and implement at my pace.

Cons

How you have to create a multiple day, in-person, instructor-led training event.

Response from Epignosis

Replied November 2019

Thanks for leaving us a review, John! We're glad to hear that our forever free plan allowed you to take the time needed to completely assess TalentLMS before upgrading (we totally agree, 30 days isn't a whole lot when you have multiple projects running!). Our Support team would be happy to walk you through the fastest way to set up an ILT event, so feel free to drop them a line. Thanks again!