User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(341)

341

4 stars

(186)

186

3 stars

(19)

19

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "I love the interface very sleek and hip. A whole lot of great finds to fit every budget. Great when you are looking for something to help in a pinch. It's even fun just to browse through. "

  • "I liked it's command line interface very much. It is quite easy to use and the commands also work efficiently. The errors given by the interface are also easy to understand and hence, easy to resolve."

  • "I highly recommend this version control because it has a great design and it is user-friendly. You can easily manage your project without having a difficulties when you use it for the first time."

  • Cons

  • "Because it has a lot of features (all necessary), sometimes it gets confusing where to find things we needed."

  • "I think it does a very good job on what it is supposed to, however it could have more features - like integration with other platforms."

  • "I think the UI could be improve a lot, sometimes a feel lost about where I am in the platform, but besides that the tool is very helpful."

Browse GitLab Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 554 results

July 2020

User Profile Picture

Brad from Sweetwater Sound, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

GitLab is a must for development teams

Pros

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

Cons

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

To connect to the code in addition to workflows.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Lilantha from Axiata Digital Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

GitLab Review

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Pros

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Cons

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.

February 2021

Freddy from UTEM

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

GitLab: one of the best entry tools for source code managementin your team

Our source code management was a harsh experience at first, but when all the initial problems were fixed, the overall usage for the entire team was seamless, the learning curve was a bit steep for some of us, and the UI didn't help so much in that regards. But at the end, GitLab actually delivered what we needed.

Pros

The version control and tracking is on point, when we got everything working, managing these was a smooth and seamless experience. Having customizable labels, helped a lot with the different merging requests and the final project deployment.

Cons

What I disliked the most of GitLab was probably when we started facing our first issues with user permission for some people of the team, took us a couple of days to fix what it could be a simple troubleshooting. It didn't help that the UI was a tad bit confusing for some of us. There was a small confussion with the "Merge Request" option, I believe it should be called "Pull Request" instead, to avoid these problems.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We were told that GitLab was a better option for enterprise-level operations, so the team decided for it, specially because our administrator had worked with it before.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Emiliano from Etermax

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

It's good but, definitely not the best

It works fine, and it's a good alternative for the usual Bitbucket, Jira and Bamboo (or Jenkins) combo that's commonly found on the corporate world. I'd recommend to consider Github Teams or Github Enterprise.

Pros

- Unlike Github, it can be installed locally, it also makes it highly customizable - It has CI/CD functionality integrated - It has code search and indexing - It's integrated with a docker registry and multiple code repositories

Cons

- It's highly monolithic, if some feature fails, most of the times everything fails - It's not easy to clusterize the service - It's not easy to update, nor to migrate to a new server - It costs the same to use the self-hosted than the cloud-hosted version - Gitlab CI/CD shared (both free and paid minutes) run on a GCE Kubernetes cluster without any fixed IP address so it's hard to access your servers unless you open ports publicly or create a VPN tunnel

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

It was more modern than Bitbucket, and Github lacked a self-hosted version

January 2021

Corentin from Dashlane

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Git Super powers

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Pros

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team. What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Cons

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface. Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Needed better CI/CD.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

The All-in-One orchestration tool for CICD

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for developers and admins

Pros

GitLab provides all-in-one capability for developers to do Source Code Management, CI/CD automation, Security and coding standards checks. Earlier we used to have separate tools for each of the above functions, but moving to Gitlab we now have a single stop-shop for all our Application Development and Automation needs. I see many other companies are trying to follow the gitlab methodology but gitlab is way ahead of the competetion.

Cons

Project and Portfolio management can still have improvements to provide Roadmap and Grantt views in future versions

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

GitHub has just started GitHub actions and will take at least a year to provide similar capabilities

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Moving to a single stop window instead of disparate tools

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Ready to integrate different types of projects

We are very happy and pleased to use the tool. Our ci-cd and approval / reviewer workflows are fully supported; this allows are agile practices taken to reality.

Pros

Great integration with git. Always pushing new features to improve user overall experience. Large set of integrations for different languages. Large set of integrations for different tools for code quality, lint, code analysis, etc. Pipeline allows almost any type of step for testing, building, deploying. Great to have own registry.

Cons

API should be more powerful and package for most common languages as nodejs. Registry navigator should be improved. Members permission management could also be improved.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Reduced set of features for review and tools integration.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Adam from Cornett

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Extremely powerful and robust Git repo solution.

My experience with Gitlab has been great. It's become my main repository solution and I've even migrated my Github repos to Gitlab.

Pros

One of my favorite features is the GitLab's feature flags. It's really easy to setup and associate with issues. Additionally there are a ton of client libraries for different platforms that make it easy to integrate into existing applications.

Cons

Gitlab has CI/CD features that I would like to use to automatically build and host composer packages and nuget packages, however it's difficult to setup and understand and I've found the documentation lacking.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Gitlab was more feature rich and powerful than Github

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Paul from A2SI RFID

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Helped us to get our private repository center

Pros

Easy to install, easy to upgrade. Never encountered any bug or error. CI/CD easy to set up.

Cons

I never succeeded in installing ssl for it , maybe I missed something but that's not so important right now

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

You could install gitlab on a private server for free

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

GitLab is a great tool for code version Control

We have been using Gitlab in some of our projects in our company and it´s really useful and powerful.

Pros

GitLab is really easy to use and powerful to help our team with code version control. It doesn´t take much time to understand the features and start to use.

Cons

Gitlab doesn´t have so much differences between other competitors. The features are almost the same.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

The simplicity of Gitlab was what make us choose it from other products

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Aye Aye from Freelancer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Good Git Repo

Pros

GitLab offers unlimited private repos on the free plan. I save all my source code repos there.

Cons

GitLab is not integrated with Android Studio.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

At that time, GitHub did not offer private repos on the free plan.

December 2020

Thiago from Umbler

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great for DevOps teams

Pros

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow. The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure. Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors. I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Cons

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.

July 2020

Edward from Road DB LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Git Awesome

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Pros

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Cons

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.

April 2020

Andrei from JeFawk Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

A great free alternative to GitHub if you need large repos and teams

GitLab helped us solve all of our backup and collaboration needs for our large file projects. While we do have on-site physical backups just in case, GitLab is great at keeping the core files safe. On the physical backup we put big assets and on GitLab mostly the code. If it wasn't for GitLab we'd be using GitHub for some projects only as certain files surpass their limit.

Pros

The biggest pro for us at JeFawk Games (me and my freelancing friends, not employees as stated) was the fact that it allowed for 1GB of space for free in private repos! Since we're working on games, we really needed the space and the privacy. This was from before GitHub was acquired by Microsoft and gave away unlimited free repos. Time forwarding a bit and GitHub is giving out free private repos of max 1GB with the option to use the Large File Storage thing, which in GitLab you don't need to bother with as you get it by default. It includes DevOps and a lot of other features that frankly we don't make use of. It's just the much bigger space by default and up to 3 collaborators. GitLab is great! Although it does have some cons....

Cons

One of the biggest problem with GitLab is that their website is a bit laggy. You can wait 1 to 4 seconds for some pages to load. Another issue is that we actually use the GitHub Desktop application to handle GitLab repositories and the setup to connect the application to GitLab is kinda clunky, more like to allow GitLab to be grabbed as URL. Wouldn't wanna go through that again, hopefully they already streamlined it as last time I did it was about 2 years ago.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

GitHub just did not provide as much usefulness as GitLab due to the space limitation. While it is faster and has better integration with other software, it was not enough.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

A discrete item in your toolkit

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed. At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Pros

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day. The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Cons

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

I was pissed Github was not open source when it is supposed to be the "codex of open source". It doesn't make any sense. Also private repositories were not free on Github some years ago, I dunno how it is now.

February 2020

Justin from MIM Software

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Made DevOps possible for my company

GitLab has enabled me to hit the ground running with DevOps. It's infinitely easier to use than a more traditional workflow comprised of various components. It has enabled me - alone, unassisted, and with little free time - to benefit from things that I would never have been able to work with in my company's traditional software development workflow. Our software engineers are somewhat resistant to change - especially because they went all-in for Mercurial even though the world is standardizing on Git. I hope to convince them of the merits of Git and GitLab over time.

Pros

When I talk about our company's "IT development," I'm really talking about my development since none of the others in IT are interested in coding. Our software engineers have a workflow comprised of countless services; for my projects, I wanted something cleaner, faster, better integrated, easier to use. Installation is easy: install a single package, and boom, you're done. Administration is similarly easy. GitLab's components are developed with each other in mind. Integrations aren't developed as an afterthought or left for community contributors; everything is done right out of the box. GitLab CI is an absolute joy to work with. I've been able to put together CI/CD pipelines for my software projects - something our software engineers have never done using Jenkins.

Cons

I don't like that some of GitLab's best functionality, like static code analysis, is locked up in the highest-level price tier, which seems to be priced for the absolute largest of companies. Something like that isn't optional for smaller businesses, and reserving that functionality makes it *not* an end-to-end product.

January 2020

Peter from University of St Andrews

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Code repositories and version tracking

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Pros

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users. You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches. The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Cons

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required. The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab. User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

The offer of free Private repositories was a deal breaker, GitHub only offers public repositories with their free plan.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great platform to host your project!

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry. However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Pros

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab. The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Cons

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies. Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments. Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Better CI/CD

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Better CI/CD

October 2019

Sachith from Pearson

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The Best DevOps Platform

Overall, GitLab is an excellent program for freelancers. It's really simple to use, simple to administrate and offers all that users need for developing. And if users implement it in the correct way it will speed up their development effectively. Adding more to this, it provides excellent ways to manage git repositories on a centralized secure server.

Pros

Project operation: Using GitLab provides the user with complete control over their projects. Users can easily follow up activities assigned to their respective partners. Additionally, the program gives you the advantage to have members across the borders as well, hence it is pretty useful and comes in handy when the work is beyond the borders. Easy to use: GitLab is easy to lean and very easy to use the software as it helps in creating a project by giving instructions from the beginning. The tutorial mode is extremely helpful and because of that no experience or expertise is required to exhaust all the features offered by GitLab.

Cons

Contact Support: Although GitLab provides a good platform for its users, unfortunately, their contact section is poor. Users are unable to recover if they face any problem as the administration is limited. Administration can only be at your service if you own the premium version. Complicated: Although Gitlab is easy to learn when it comes to the menu users tend to feel as if they are lost in some sort of maze. The menu is pretty much clunky because of this some of its users are unable to use GitLab to its full potential. Additionally, the efficiency of users is reduced to a great extent when they wish to search for aspects because it consumes time and energy.

October 2019

Dennis from Radio Sound, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Pros

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Cons

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Nicer user interface, more frequent updates, larger community, more features. Helm chart deployment gets me all the things I need in my Kubernetes cluster to develop and deploy any and all web apps (or run existing ones).

September 2019

Luca from Deepfinity

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

Pros

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

Cons

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

You can create organisations for free and have several private repositories (also for free). Additionally the idea that we could setup the CI/CD pipelines was a plus looking forward.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Arnold from SAP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A complete tool to store your projects and configure your CI/CD

I have great thoughts about GitLab my experience has been really good. I was really impressed when I started working with it and configured the first project there. I definitely recommend GitLab to anyone that wants to start a new project and doesn't want to use too many tools, GitLab has everything that you need to start.

Pros

I started using GitLab for an external project and I like the following: 1) Easy to work with and auto explanatory. Creating/configuring a new repository is really easy. 2) Great CI/CD implementation. Having the repository with built-in CI/CD is really convenient, you can have everything related to the build and deployment process saved along with your code. I have used bamboo and I really appreciate this feature, it might have its problems but it is really useful. 3) Unlimited private docker registry, you can have your own private registry for free. I cannot express how useful this is. 4) In order to help with the CI/CD process it allows the creation of tokens with access restrictions (read only), so you can use these tokens to download your code or your docker containers without having to provide your personal credentials. 5) It has its own task manager 6) It has free agents that are in charge of executing your builds/deploys so you don't have to provide your own resources.

Cons

1) Configuring build variables is really messy and it is not an ideal implementation. I haven't found a way to set different values for them depending on the branch, so configuring different environments is not too easy 2) Even though having your code with CI/CD is really convenient, it has some drawbacks. If you have an established continuous deployment process that you repeat in many projects and you want to change it (maybe a fix it or improve it) you will have to add that change to all your repositories and all the branches that you want to deploy. So it is a really good feature but it is not too flexible 3) The task manager is messy, and I didn't find a way to have a shared board. 4) It does not have too many software integrations, as I mentioned before I have used bamboo and I really like their integration with other software

August 2019

Istvan from Ekumen

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.

Pros

- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth. - Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review process in gitlab is always smooth with the ability to resolve or re-open discussions, address specific comments or the whole of the discussion, the ability to suggest and even apply and commit code from the ui is also a huge plus. The IDE is decent and the file editor is also decent. The CI/CD integration with gitlab runners is smooth, the notification system is great. I get an email whenever a test fails. All from the gitlab ecosystem, i do not need to go to circleCi or some other provider for all of this, which allows the ui and experience to be consistent.

Cons

At this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

At the moment, mostly private repositories. Over time, it became a matter of more bang-for-the-buck: more features, a friendlier Ui, more polished software.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

At the moment of the switch, Gitlab offered free private repos. At the moment both Github and Gitlab have this feature; however, I would not switch back to Github due to the ecosystem i've grown accustomed to in gitlab.

June 2019

Damian from Virtkick

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

GitLab is the best for its CI

Pros

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Cons

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Lack of proper, tightly-integrated CI.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Great Open Source Software!

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

Pros

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good

Cons

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great software wit a minimal but efficient design but can definitely use improvements

Best way to use it is to keep your gitlab organized is keeping pr's as functional as possible and not mashing 1000 changes into one pr. otherwise gitlab performance go down and so will the interest of the other people who review your merge request!! Setting up gitlab to manage your software projects is child's play, and although the UI is minimal in design it which gets the job done but could definitely use some enhancements and that would make it a top tier no nonsense go-to-software-management-product. Overall it is a great software. I am not aware of the quality of the customer service on the paid tier so can't comment on that. One can manage and maintain gitlab inhouse without needing any paid support. I would recommend it without reservations to any and all software developing companies.

Pros

1. Free of cost 2. Highly efficient, does the job without uncertainty. 3. Never observed any downtime 4. Very frequent and proper updates to the software. 5. easy to maintain 6. can easily integrate with jenkins for Continuous Integration- Continuous Deployment. 7. Easy to setup and use, no support or setup or external teams required. Anybody with minimum computer skills can get this up and running. 8. easy integration with youtrack for issue tracking and merge requesting tracking

Cons

These are not very big cons, but I find them annoying and could definitely use improvement: 1. The edit description on an open merge request also shows up on the history. So If somebody were to make a 10 different changes to the title while keeping the 2. The code formatting in the description box is not too good. It can take several tries before getting it right. 3. There is no way of searching for something based on a line of text. For example if you were looking for a commit or a merge request but you only remember the 4. sometimes very challenging to go back and undo merges which are quite complex. 5. on a given pr, it shows icons of all the participants but doesn't say which participant did what... for example if 5 people have just viewed a pr and done nothing else even then it shows all of them as participants. It would be nice to have a feature which will only show activity by participant on every pr. 6. text based Search via ui is practically no existent. So if you search for something using a text which is part of a commit message, chances are it will not show up 100%.

May 2019

David "Teddy" from Tuliphedge LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Best Value Suite of Software Development Tools

Pros

Gitlab has an extremely robust free tier with tools that go far beyond simple source/version control. We use the Gitlab CI/CD pipeline runner extensively, allowing us to not only use Gitlab for source, but also for our deployment/build pipeline. Gitlab also has the ability to manage Kubernetes clusters from the suite, which is super helpful. We also extensively use the issue board for tracking scrum issues, which includes time estimates. Gitlab used to be most popular for offering free private repos, and it still does, but these other free features make it an absolute home run. We use Gitlab for every project because of how great it's been.

Cons

The pipeline runner can occasionally be a bit buggy sometimes, but nothing critical. For example, if you prematurely stop one pipeline and immediately start another, it can take 10 minutes for the new pipeline to start for some reason. Also, the time tracking on the issue board does not automatically put the sum at the top of the column, which I find annoying - we built a small gitlab api integration to pull that info for us. They have been updating this feature recently, though, so it may be solved soon.

October 2020

Noel from Northern Trust

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Powerful version control with a confusing UI

Overall I have enjoyed working with GitLab. Our build pipeline was very customized so that it matches the exact process we wanted, and when there is a build issue, the problem is easy to identify and correct. The UI is a bit cluttered and unintuitive but it just takes a bit of extra time to get accustomed to.

Pros

Gitlab has been a great collaborative tool for us which allows for very customize-able build pipelines and easy issue tracking. The ability to add comments to code snippets and open up un-resolved threads allows you to stay on top of suggestions. Having to manually resolve those threads on your code comments before merge means that you are unlikely to accidentally push code forward without addressing those suggestions. There are also a good number of settings that allow you to control options such as how you want to handle merge commits, giving you complete control over your repository.

Cons

The main issue I have with GitLab is that the UI can be confusing and unclear. I am not a fan of the stacked diff view when comparing code changes. Compared to another version control system like BitBucket, I find it a bit more work to sort through the changes in a merge request. It's something you get used to, but initially is a bit unintuitive and less enjoyable.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Caleb from Freelance

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations

Pros

Full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces. The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.

Cons

The setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers. It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Awesome Git Service

Pros

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way. Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

Cons

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We first hosted all our repos on Bitbucket, but GitLab allowed us to add more users to our repositories for free. It also offered more integrations such as Sentry which was a big selling point for us. GitHub didn't offer free private repos at the time which was the main reason we went for GitLab instead.

February 2020

Nicolò from Computer Software

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Good set of features, integrated CI/CD

I've switched to it in some projects because of the better issue tracking features. It also has a built in CI/CD service that is pretty good and can be used with external git services like github. So far it's been good, I've heard there was a time where it was really slow but that was before I started using it. It may be not the fastest but i'm on the free plan so no need to complain. It can be self hosted too.

Pros

It's got a free plan to try it out. Integrated CI/CD. Good enough issue tracking with boards. Can invite different people with different permission levels. Can be self hosted.

Cons

Issue tracking may not be as good as jire and other similar project, but it's good enough for most use cases. The licensing thing may look weird as it's open source but not everything is free even if you host it. Can be pricey if you want some features.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It was free for private projects, better issue tracking, and integrated CI/CD

September 2019

Matthew from British Oceanographic Data Centre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Pros

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Cons

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

CI/CD functionality.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Need for extended functionality, CI/CD support.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Very solid Git server

Very satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.

Pros

The installation is pretty straight forward and easy. It's the only free git server solution I found that offers LFS support. We started our project without the support of Git LFS but as the project grew, we had to find a solution and transfer our repository to an LFS ready server. GitLab offered the perfect solution, allowing us to keep our existing SSH keys for authentication, existing LDAP users and transfer our existing project pretty easily. Since then, we never ran into issues and the server is running smoothly since the first day.

Cons

The server is based on RoR so it's heavier than a simple Git Server. You need to make sure you have enough resources to get it to run properly.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

SSH authentication + LFS, installed on our own server.

April 2020

Silvio from spaziodati

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A very good git repo manager

Very nice experience, I will keep using it.

Pros

I've tried them all from Github to Bitbucket. I think that Gitlab is an optimal tool since it not only provides repository management but also a lot of useful tools to make your DevOps process much easier. I find it perfect when it comes to code review thanks to the comments and approval system.

Cons

Sometimes it is not so easy to find what you are looking for and you have to dig in the settings

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Because I hate Microsoft.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It is better

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Giovanni from Banco General

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

GitHub is the complete tool you can find for version control in you team.

GitHub is a tool that helps you in your day to day and allows you to quickly advance in your work, it is very complete and you can find within it all kinds of things that can help you. Being one of the most used software, you can find all kinds of help and guides on the internet to solve any problem that may arise, allowing you not to be left adrift with the errors that may arise about the tool. Its graphical interface is very easy to use and you adapt quickly to its operation, it is very intuitive and you do not need further explanation to learn how to use the tool.

Pros

GitHub is a complete tool in every sense that will allow you to do your work in the most efficient and fast way, all the options it offers you to carry out your tasks and carry out an accurate documentation of the work that is being carried out will make your days of work are much easier and less stressful. GitHub gives you very simple search options where only a fraction of the name of the object you are looking for will show you all the possible results within the repository, helping you locate the elements much more quickly and efficiently. It also allows you to manage all kinds of permissions, so that not just anyone can delete, create or accept merge requests but only the people designated for it, allowing you better control of what happens all the time. Its security is very high, making it a very safe product to store your company's code.

Cons

One of the things that can be said that puts this tool at a disadvantage is its cost, its cost of business implementation is somewhat high, making companies consider other more economical implementation options.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Amazing source code and CI/CD system

Complete source control and CI/CD system for writing computer software

Pros

Integrated CI/CD!!! can't emphasize how much this is helpful to have, I hate using Jenkins so much The UI is very slick and good, while GitHub is the "de facto standard" I actually really love GitLab's GUI as well

Cons

not really their fault at all, but, a lot of -other- projects are already on GitHub.. so it's a bit annoying to cross collaborate with GitHub users (say - you want to open a pull request to a GitHub project so you're forced to do it on GitHub). It kinda sucks to have stuff spread out across multiple sites and have to get used to multiple UIs/concepts

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

GitHub: no integrated CI/CD system TFS: CI/CD system is not code based

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Better CI/CD system with pipeline as code

January 2020

Wassim from Trufla Technology Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

More than code management product

It is been a great experience so far and it helped us automate most of our software deployment processes.

Pros

The reason we switched to Gitlab is that we found that it offers more than any other git SAAS product in the market and it wasn't just a code repository. They have CI/CD for automation and automated Artifacts.

Cons

1. Stability of the product was not the best, we had frequent hiccups where the pipelines runners were down or other parts of the system. 2. Pricing plans are pretty steep so it is 4x whenever you move to the next plan.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Github didn't have as many features by the time we did the switch. Even though Github now launched the actions feature to help automate the deployment process but I think they are still behind.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Marc Jhon from IVP Global Phils. Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

My two cents for Gitlab

From a developer perspective, gitlab shines when it comes to devops and developers needs for git integration. However I'd use different issue tracking tool with it, since the issue tracking that gitlab offers is pretty much lacking in some areas such as sub-task and etc. However It's still far superior against Bitbucket which I absolutely does not recommend

Pros

The integrated CICD is what makes this stands out for me. The .yml configuration is powerful enough to access your servers from gitlab making every push you made build automatically. Deployment Keys, Access token, its just way more powerful than github and much more UI/UX Friendly than Bitbucket. Its also note to take that the pages are lighweight, you hardly ever feel the loading time. More top of it it's free.

Cons

While the git related features are astounding I feel like the Issue trackers are way more clunky to me. The board is quite nice, you can drag items of it to different board categories, however. the lack of sub task for a task is killing me. Suppose we have a feature task, I'd like to put a mini sub task under it so i can track all of it on one parent task. Just like how you can do it on redmine or asana. One thing that github is superior to gitlab is this area.

December 2020

User Profile Picture

Gustavo from Beetlegius

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Powerful source code management platform

Pros

Gitlab is my primary source code management platform where I store the repositories of my applications. It's very powerful and easy to use. I really like the CI pipeline because easy to configure and provide the automation you need in deployment. Code review process is also very nice.

Cons

All the things I need for my daily usage are covered. Would be nice to have an out-of-the-box dependabot integration without having to configure so many things.

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Because of the price and the features included for free.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

At that time, gitlab offered free private repos

October 2019

Vinicius from Qualyteam

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great, for Devs

For those who like a product with several functions, and know how to handle complex usability, I think it should be great. But it wasn't made for me, I lost myself easily, and it took a long time to do things that would be faster in other task managers. So I ended up abandoning the tool.

Pros

We use it to collaborate with the development and QA teams. It's quick to create a ticket, measure time and sort the type of work from tags, and send it to the colleague who will do that work. What is interesting is the grouping of several teams in a single project, without interfering with each other's issues. What we used most was the drop down chart. The rush that it imposes, makes us work faster to try deliver what we plan, as the deadline get closer.

Cons

It is very chaotic visually, lot of functions are hidden in menus and submenus, I know that developers love it, but it didn't work in my team.

September 2019

Jessica from AIMMS Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A good alternative to GitHub

Our company uses GitLab for app development and docs. As a tech writer I'm mainly working in "developing" docs, and need to follow corresponding issues for software development in multiple projects/repos. I suspect there can be easier workflows to integrate the two (linking issues from different projects) but overall it's easy to manage working in multiple projects/repos. I've used JIRA previously, and feel that the issue/bugtracking/task board side is comparable in features and reliability (though JIRA may offer more categories of information). The Git side is standard, I don't miss any feature and always worked out snags without problem based on GitLab documentation. I haven't used GitHub as much, but from my experience GitLab mirrors the functionality with only slight differences, and covers more or less the same business needs.

Pros

-nice to create a branch directly from an issue so all related information stays handy in one place -integrates well with local git client (tortoise git, vscode git integrations) so you can switch between tools without git-related errors -easy to create to-do list workflow with issues from multiple projects/repos -easy to revert a bad merge -good docs

Cons

-preview doesn't work well with some file types (like rst) -interface is kind of fussy when trying to edit things like labels on an issue, could be easier -UI can get a bit crowded, and not many options to hide or change view -wiki is hard to maintain unless you pull a local copy

April 2019

Narendra from SprintCube

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A complete tool for software development lifecycle with DevOps

My team loves GitLab so much. Since the last 3 years, we use it regularly and we don't have a single complaint about it. We host all our repos here and manage our development stuff via milestones, issue boards, and other features. Overall it is an awesome platform will all the required features and tools.

Pros

GitLab is a complete set of tools which are required for software development. - It provides self-managed version as well as the community version. Both are free of cost. - It provides Continuous Integration and Continuous Development. I use it for most of my projects. - Built-in issue boards, milestones - a very good feature for tracking development. - Built-in Web IDE - a very nice feature to edit your files online. - Groups, sub-groups for the repository - it helps to manage the repositories easily with user assignment, permissions, etc. - A nice UI

Cons

There are no major cons with GitLab. It provides most of the things with its free edition. To list a few, - With Community Edition, we sometimes face downtime. - The wait time for running CI pipelines is sometimes higher. - The pricing for the paid version is a little bit high for small agencies like mine.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A task management platform developers love

Pros

Gitlab combines git, CI/CD, task management, wiki and lots of other features. I found that this is a platform that developers like more than some other task tracking software because of its simple but flexible functionality. Organizing tasks and boards with labels provides for a very flexible experience that each team can design for themselves. The platform is constantly updating and improving. From the latest updates, I like that you can now respond to a comment, so you get a thread, instead of individual comments that require referencing other comments to tie things together. Your code base is right in front of your PMs, QAs and Engineers, so everyone can dive into it if needed, nothing extra needs to be setup. Gitflow is supported very well, and CI/CD gives visibility into your pipelines to the entire team all in one place. In short my entire team loves GitLab!

Cons

The wiki is very simple and lacks in functionality, mentions didn't work for us right, and organizing content can be challenging. The initial learning curve can be a challenge for not-technical team members, having to learn markdown. Not a big problem though that can be overcome with a few tutorials and reference pages.

August 2019

Bruno from Exército Brasileiro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Why use Github when we have GitLab?

Pros

I can have private software git repositories by free. Differently by Github, that charges you to have a private repository. The interface is beautiful, has a wiki, and the commits work fine from Linux.

Cons

Doesn't exist an app to make the commits (like in GitHub), thus you just need to use the terminal line (which shouldn't be a problem for any programmer), and the community isn't very well developed, thus you still will need to go to Github to find software repositories.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Because I do need to make some of my projects private without the need to subscribe in a monthly paid plan.

September 2019

Pablo from Everis

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

My Own Experience working with GitLab

My overall experience using GitLab is incredibly good. Without GitLab, no project carried out would remain stable, since all suffer modifications over time, and on numerous occasions a "rollback" must be made to old versions. Thanks to GitLab I was able to recover lost code due to a serious PC failure. Thanks also to GitLab, anyone has been able to share their code without problems, even publicly, which really encourages the use of this application.

Pros

Thanks to GitLab, I have all my code protected and accessible at all times, from any computer. On the other hand, thanks to GitLab, in my team we maintain a hierarchy so that everyone uploads their code to the "Develop" branch and I am able to check their code and know if it is correct. In this way, too, I make sure that in the "Master" branch only correct and functioning code is found. This is something vital, that every project needs to remain stable and avoid problems in new code versions, modifications, etc.

Cons

Perhaps something bad about GitLab, is that it is not implemented in all applications, that is, many applications have the ability to synchronize the code directly through it, without using the web version. It could be modified in such a way so that the desktop version was compatible in some way with all applications.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Intuitive, simple and effective way to setup CI/CD through "pipeline as code" paradigm.

A free way to be effective and to go straight to your goal. Lot of work is saved by this tool with respect to other similar solutions. This software is stable, you can install it wherever and it will work. You can upgrade it whenever with no surprise. Very nice tool. Forrester recommendations are all deserved.

Pros

Very simple and effective. Setting up a pipeline is immediate. It is pretty documented and also newbie can approach a good result in short time. Issue and agile management of a project is a big plus and recent capabilities to monitor project performances are impressive. It is powered by docker containers and kubernetes and this make isolation and a sort of orchestration possible and easy. People can focus on their own objective rather than spending time understanding the tool.

Cons

It is based on a project centric approach, but here the project is a single piece of code. Orchestration and release automation for complex scenarios must be delegated to other professional software. Standardisation of projects is not obvious since a pipeline refer to a single project. Environments refer to a single instance of an application. They are great but they do not easily correspond to what an environment usually means: an aggregation of nodes and software instances connected to each other.

August 2018

Neeraj from Paxcom - Digital Commerce Solutions for Brands

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Using this pro git tool for a year, I never need to look for alternatives...

Gitlab is our repository bank, It's powerful features (very less git providers have such) like branch level user access streamline our work.

Pros

-Even its free tier is really powerful to drive a full startup company, I used it for like a year. -Really impressive UI/ Its web IDE (I use it for commit very critical patches/ resolve minor conflicts) is out of the box. -It has everything like a user access control on repository level, that is too simple to use with Its web interface. -Its support for CI/CD is really impressive, It provides these tools at its core in both free and paid tiers, I'm using Jenkins with it. -Even it provides time tracking/ time estimate module in Its free tiers, I never used it but these things really look impressive, we even check it's applicability within our office and found it good to move in near future. -The cheery pick is a little tricky git command, it provides this functionality at a button click (I really like it).

Cons

It's downtime when my team were using its free tier, we face downtime, runtime error or SSL downtime problem many times a day, but when we start using it paid services we are now less facing such issues.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

GitLab Impact at work was Incredible

This tool changed our software release cycle. It helped us to develop, review and deploy our products faster and easier, so we can have an improved deployment cycle.

Pros

The capabilities of only one tool helped us to do a lot of the work we used to do with several others, like: - Version Control - Code Review - Integrations with static code analysis tools - Continuous Integration - Continuous Deployment

Cons

Sometimes, conflict resolutions on the website doesn't works the same way it does when you resolve it locally with the client.

May 2017

Dillan from Yesler - DX team

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Great, but missing some features.

It would be awesome to build out the profile view a bit more. I lead a team of developers and we use Gitlab and really like it for its privacy and ease of use, but because our repos are private we are unable to showcase our profile views on our portfolios etc. This has pushed me to split usage between gitlab and github. Gitlab for work / github for my private repos / gists / etc.

Pros

Price, private repos, ease of use for teams, (almost) all the features of github. We use gitlab for all of our client repos and it works great. Setting up teams and getting up and running is fast and easy. We've also looked into the option of self hosting gitlab on our own servers, but the web service is so good we haven't felt the need yet. UI is nice as well. Anyone familiar with github can easily jump in and enjoy gitlab.

Cons

Not as much community, profile view is not as robust / flushed out as gitlab. Feels private. Love the ease of private repos but that seems to be the main thing users are utilizing and there is less open source projects on gitlab. Also the profile view is not as well known as gitlab and there isn't the option to showcase private commits on your commit chart, which is a bummer.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Best-of-breed source-code management tool

Working on a dev-team where multiple engineers work together on discrete projects in different technologies, GitLab has enabled us to manage a complex codebase, keep version conflicts to a minimum, allowing our developers to focus on writing code rather than fighting things like merge-conflicts. In short, we wouldn't be half as productive and efficient using a lesser SCM tool like Mercurial. Git rules.

Pros

It's simply the best version-control tool on the market. Being based on Git, most senior developers already know how to use it, so it makes my dev team automatically more efficient and responsive in collaborating. Using merge requests, we're able to monitor and approve changes to code. A huge benefit of GitLab is the automatic security scan with each commit (e.g., connection strings with Db credentials are flagged, etc.)

Cons

The learning curve is steep if you want to master the intricacies of Git, but the basics (creating repos, forking, merges, pushes, pulls and commits) are fairly easy to learn in a few hours.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 554 reviews