TOPS [ONE]


 

TOPS [ONE] is a web-based community association management (CAM) solution designed for managing Condos, HOAs and Co-Ops. TOPS [ONE]’s robust workflow automation tools enable businesses to manage their properties and accounting activities.

Unlike the property management software that caters to the variety of users, TOPS [ONE] serves only community associations. The solution provides tools to streamline multiple operations including portfolio management, service request management, account management and reporting. Businesses can define their key performance indicators (KPIs) and keep a track of business valuable information through dashboards.

TOPS [ONE] offers various custom fields to track details like house numbers, parking spots, owner details and more. The real-time alert feature allows sending alerts/reminders to both owner and tenants about the rent dues, payment acknowledgments, maintenance schedules or other activities. Other features include ad hoc reporting, role-based permissions, activity logging and automatic notifications.

 

TOPS [ONE] - Online Owner Access
 
  • TOPS [ONE] - Online Owner Access
    Online Owner Access
  • TOPS [ONE] - Violation Management
    Violation Management
  • TOPS [ONE] - Instant Financial Insights
    Instant Financial Insights
  • TOPS [ONE] - Form Letters Powered by MS Word
    Form Letters Powered by MS Word
  • TOPS [ONE] - Robust automation
    Robust automation
  • TOPS [ONE] - Monitor KPIs
    Monitor KPIs
  • TOPS [ONE] - Workflow transparency
    Workflow transparency
  • TOPS [ONE] - Activity management
    Activity management
  • TOPS [ONE] - Report builder
    Report builder
Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 2000

65 Reviews of TOPS [ONE]

 

Start your review of TOPS [ONE]

Click to start
https://www.softwareadvice.com/property/tops-review/
Software Advice Reviews (51)
More Reviews (14)

Showing 1-20 of 51

Brett from Prism Realty Management
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2018

June 2018

Tops One

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Well Worth the investment !

Pros

Tops One has been our platform from day one. We find the solution to be easy to learn yet full featured. Support organization is quick to respond! And features roll out all the time.

Cons

Some early issues, that since were able to resolve. Like the ability to add features without action on part.

Review Source
 
 

Tiffany from Fairway Village Residents Association Inc.
Specialty: Co-op
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2018

June 2018

TOPS One Worth the Effort - Paid off BIG Time!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Now that the pains of set up are over, we are all loving TOPS One. Since it is a new system they still have some bugs to work out; however, I have found the support team to be very responsive. Their enhancement program is nice, it allows you to recommend changes to upgrade the system to better suit your business needs. You will need to have a comprehensive plan in place, starting with the accounting transition and the patience to work through the transition. I learned a tremendous amount during this time and feel like I truly have a solid grasp on the accounting functions and reporting much better than beforehand.

Pros

Love having all property, accounting and resident information at my fingertips. Great for onsite managers. Provides real time reports and transparency of management operations to the board. Paying for itself double fold!

Cons

Set up was far from painless. Would definitely recommend the TOPS One Support Team find a way to assist in the transition by providing a comprehensive preparation plan.

Review Source
 
 

Blake from Property Management Inc
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2018

May 2018

Great Partner - VERY user friendly

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Support team is very helpful and knowledgeable about the product. Clean interface, great integrations!

Pros

Accounting is very specific to the industry. Easy to use and understand. Price is extremely fair. Support team has your back!

Cons

The bank reconciliations are a pain at times. It would be great if the bank statements were automatically pulled into the software.

Review Source
 
 

Alejandra from Westport realty inc.
Specialty: Real Estate Developer
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2018

May 2018

Awesome Accounting Software

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A

Great accounting software

Pros

Super easy to navigate, makes doing bank reconciliations super easy as well as paying out vendors that are owed. Even setting up users is super simple and fast.

Cons

Do not have much that I can complain about, I have had success while using OneSite and hope to continue to use it and always recommend it.

Review Source
 
 

James from HPS
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

April 2018

April 2018

Do Not Use

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A

RUN AWAY FROM TOPS

Pros

Looks nice and seems easy to use at first glance but does not really work. Search bar was about the only thing that really worked and it took a few weeks before they could make it work.

Cons

Does not work. We spent months unable to run reconciliations or generate form letters from TOPSone. No support or help to resolve basic functionality issues.

Review Source

  Response: Meigan, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

James,
Thank you for your honest review, we are so sorry that you have had this experience.

When TOPS [ONE] was released, we became increasingly aware that the product had its merits, but our processes needed work. We’ve spent the year since its release modifying those processes to better accommodate the product and our clients, as well as making routine updates to reach feature parity with TOPS Professional. One of those updates includes the letters in TOPS [ONE], you can find it and all of our latest updates here: http://www.topssoft.com/blogs/tops-customers/topic/program-updates.

We hope that you will reach out to our support team at (800) 599 – 5689 or by creating a ticket at support.topssoft.com to let us do everything we can to resolve your issues with navigating our product. Thank you for your feedback, we are listening, and we are doing everything we can to make the changes necessary to better serve our clients.

 
 

Beth from Coventry Group Community Management
Specialty: Mixed Portfolio
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

March 2018

March 2018

TOPS[ONE] exceeds our company's needs

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

I have always had an extremely good experience with TOPS from tech support to sales to management! I love the product!

Pros

TOPS[ONE] is an easy to use product. It is intuitive and has made the transition from TOPSPro to ONE a pretty smooth process. TOPS has recently upgraded their support and it is excellent. I get quick, knowledgeable help. Training was thorough. New, innovative services are continuously added. TOPS is extremely responsive to customer feedback and requests.

Cons

There are some things that aren't as easy to use as in TOPSPro, but after talking to TOPS, I have found out those things are coming in the 2nd quarter.

Review Source
 
 

Stephanie from Cedar Glen Homes
Specialty: Co-op
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

March 2018

March 2018

Not as user friendly as other programs

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

It's an okay program not good for someone who is not bookkeeping savy

Pros

The community side of this program is great for tracking monthly payments from residents and work orders

Cons

If you do not have a solid bookkeeping background this is not the program for you. Also, the technical support team takes days to address your problems

Review Source
 
 

Terri from Towne Property Management, LLC
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

February 2018

February 2018

Horrific Experience -- BEWARE

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Also be aware, that if your implementation doesn't work, they insist on keeping your implementation fees for their time. They even tried to blame me for not supplying data. I have emails to the contrary which I supplied to them. Still no refund for implementation. Horrible.

Cons

If you are lucky enough to be able to balance your accounts, be certain to look at your reports. You would think they would be correct, but they may not be. My accounts balanced but my reports showed an huge amount in million prepaid total for maintenance fees. That's only the beginning of the problems. I'm happy to provide more details.

Review Source

  Response: Meigan, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Hi Terri,

We’re so sorry to hear that you had a difficult time with the account balance feature in our software. We encourage you to continue to work with our support team to let them work to resolve these issues. Please reach out to them at support.topssoft.com and creating a ticket or by phone at (800) 899 – 5689.

For any problems you experienced with implementation, please contact your Account Executive by calling (800) 760 – 9966. I hope we can work together to resolve your issues so you can be completely satisfied with your TOPS experience.

Thank you so much for your continued patience, we hope you’ll give us the opportunity to find the ways our software can best benefit you and your needs.

 
 

Burke from Community HOAM
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

January 2018

January 2018

TOPS has gone down hill

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

We started with TOPs IQ and it was okay. Support started out good but then they sold us on tops one with a better interface and a lot of promises. TOPS one has been a major disappointment.
Changing management software is a big undertaking, don't commit to tops because you will regret it. It has cost our company thousands of dollars in setup, increased subscription costs and lost time for managers.

Cons

They sold us with great functionality and promises but after we paid for setup and training we found out that it couldn't do basic stuff like send emails from our company email address. It has now been over a year and the product is still not there and they never respond to inquiries.

Review Source

  Response: Meigan, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Hi Burke,

We know the stress that changing software can cause. We strive to make that transition as smooth as possible, and we apologize if that effort did not live up to your expectations.
One of our most recent updates tackles the email concerns you mentioned. You can find it, and all of our latest releases, here: http://www.topssoft.com/blogs/tops-customers/topic/program-updates).
In the year since TOPS [ONE] has been released, we have continued to add features and functionalities such as this to TOPS [ONE] to reach feature parity with TOPS Professional.
We are working diligently to improve our products and your input is a large part of that. Thank you for your patience, we hope you will continue to share your feedback with us and help us to better serve you.

 
 

Julie from Lake Cushman Maintenance Company
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

October 2017

October 2017

We have been using Tops for over 20 years, currently using TOPS pro and considering upgrade to TOPS1

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

We have researched several other software packages, and TOPS1 appears to be the most cost effective choice moving forward. TOPS1 provides the best balance of accounting and member service options for our HOA. TOPS1 includes premium support, so that takes care of our issue with support.

Pros

Over the years we have developed a good relationship with staff at TOPS. We are able to use the software for most of our member and accounting tasks. There are excellent form letter options, gate/parking permit tracking and CC&R enforcement tracking.

Cons

We were disappointed when it became necessary to pay extra (double) for premium support to wait on hold for support. Currently it can take a couple of days for TOPS to call us back on issues. We lost about 5 days in 2017 due to waiting for call backs.

Review Source
 
 

Lona from JBA
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2017

June 2017

Don't Bother with this

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Mike Hardy please get the issues with your first program corrected and don't sell your new one so fast. You made a lot of people unhappy.

Pros

The first program is easy to use and for someone who has a hard time learning something new. That's all I have to say!

Cons

Something is always wrong with the program. A/R goes off all the time and have to fix financials. Always something wrong where you have to call support and call Trapps. They work off 2 servers. New TOPS One is a mess and they will sell you with the accounting being all wrong and more issues than the first program. They don't have the software down correctly, too busy, not the easiest to use, doesn't have everything you need because they are still working it all out. TOPS One started too fast and they aren't and still aren't ready. They shouldn't be selling it but they are worried more for money than anything. Do yourself a favor, go with another program.

 
 

Nate from Desert Edge Property Management
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2017

June 2017

Property Manager

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Puts what you need to watch at the forefront... on the home screen. Work orders are placed at the front.

Cons

The help options don't help much. I wish they had a better help option online or in the product instead of having to call.

 
 

Bill from Terra Vista HOA Management
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

April 2017

April 2017

Don't buy this software!!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A

I normally don’t do reviews, but my experience with company has been awful! I was sold a bill of goods over a year ago on the merits of the online software “Tops One”. The program never worked well, was full of bugs, and was rushed into release before it was ready… I’ve requested a refund of my implementation fee and monthly fees, with no response from the company.
I researched their products and viewed the market share and was impressed with their stand alone products, prior to me jumping into the online version. What they offered was real time in the field, cloud based software that would have been exactly what I was looking for! No such luck, even my trainer finally acknowledged that the program was rushed to market and was ghost of a product that is currently in use.
And just so you know I’m not a nut case competitor trying to knock them.

Pros

non

Cons

See above

  Response: Andrea, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: April 2017

April 2017

 

Hi Bill, thank you for sharing your feedback about TOPS ONE. I am so sorry to hear that you had troubles using the software. We never want a client to feel frustrated like that!

Clearly, as an early adopter you ran into some of the feature gaps that come with releasing a new product to market. Over the past year the TOPS Development Team has worked tirelessly to close this gap. The TOPS ONE that was sold to Terra Vista then does not represent the current cloud based HOA Software that is on the market today.

All of our efforts in current and future development are focused on making TOPS ONE the leading HOA software in the industry. We hope that in the future Terra Vista would be willing to take another look at TOPS ONE so see that that this is so.

I have spoken with our sales representatives and been informed that your return was successfully completed, less the implementation services that had already been used. If you wish to further discuss this return, I encourage you to call our Sales Director, Patrick Hixson at 800-760-9966.

 
 

David from Management
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

February 2017

February 2017

Horrible

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

We purchased this software and it has been a complete nightmare. I do not recommend buying it unless you are allowed to use the system first because when they show you system it's great try actually putting your clients in it and see if you can function.

 
 

Carla from White Sands Property Management LLC
Specialty: Community / HOA
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

November 2016

November 2016

Tops One

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

I have been very impressed with Tops One staff to help get set up and it was the only program that provided all the needs for my company.

Pros

INCLUDES ALL FINANCIAL NEEDS

Cons

PRICE

 
 

Monica from ADAM, LLC
Specialty: Residential / Single-family
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

November 2016

November 2016

Excellent product

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

TOPS is a functional system and easy to use, in some reports I would like to have more flexibility to be able to modify them and to make explicit the financial reports and for the clients.

Pros

More flexibility to create reports

Advice to Others

Although this program has limitations, it is easy to operate and reports are simple.

 
 

Cathy from Saw Creek Estates Community
Specialty: Community / HOA

September 2016

September 2016

This review is for Tops Pro and I have been using it for 14+ years.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Likes Best

It meets 95% of the needs for a HOA community, with many additional modules.
Has a good owner data base.
Good tech support.
Great program for the cost.
Vendor has been around for a long time.

Likes Least

Does not work well with large communities that have a lot of data, reports take to long to process.
Flex data fields are to cumbersome to get good reports.
Custom reports is complicated, not user friendly.

Recommendations

Pre-Plan what you are looking for! What do you want the new software to do, what are your needs?
Is it user friendly, does it offer good tech support? What's the cost compared to functionality and can it expand with new technology? Is the vendor always looking for new improvements and needs of communities?

 
 

Alan from Saw Creek Estates
Specialty: Community / HOA

September 2016

September 2016

IT support of product

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Likes Best

Nothing to like, poorly engineered product utilizing old outdated technology

Likes Least

Poor Support system, support is hard to reach and usually cannot resolve our issues quickly

Recommendations

Support is available via phone 24 /7 ,via web chat 24/7 and via email for non-critical issues

 
 

monique from SAWCREEK ESTATES
Specialty: Community / HOA

September 2016

September 2016

I used this software to view the homeowners information and records.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Likes Best

This product was okay until it crashes. Enough fields for the account information for the homeowners.

Likes Least

The time that I had worked with the software was about 2-3 years total. The system at times would crash and the IT tech person they would need to reboot the system itself. The program sometimes was slow.

Recommendations

I think Upgrading will make it faster. Add more fields for the account information for the homeowners.

 
 

Nicolas from Saw Creek Estates
Specialty: Community / HOA

September 2016

September 2016

TOP Speed Software

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Likes Best

The software is very user friendly and easy to navigate.

Likes Least

The software is not web-based and can slow down the network.

Recommendations

Look for a web-base software that would allow for faster upload and download of files.

 
 
 
Write a Review
Showing 1-14 of 14

Joanna from EnProVera

July 2018

July 2018

Most of the time the programs features do not work.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

There were no benefits except to learn to read reviews before purchasing a product.

Pros

Easy of use when it does work, easy to navigate through. The cloud based is a nice feature as well.

Cons

It is just released before it is ready to be. Features don't work, the accounting is awful and when you try to get customer support you will pull your hair out. I takes over 48 hours to get someone to call you to tell you it's not something they can solve and has to go to Development which never gets solved.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Deborah from Villages at Kiln Creek Owners Association

April 2018

April 2018

Our migration from the old TOPS to TOPS One has been a total disaster

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Benefits???? We have yet to see any benefit for the upgrade at all. It has been a constant battle with their office to even respond - we still are out of balance, the form letters still don't work accurately and NO ONE from TOPS will even address.

Pros

Only the fact that it is web based - the old TOPS had more features and at least it worked, even though it was cumbersome

Cons

Nothing balances!!!! Form letters don't match A/R - Customer service to resolve issues is NONEXISTENT. The staff seems to be overwhelmed and doesn't know any more than we do !!!

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Deborah,

Thank you for your review, we're sorry your experience has not reflected what you hoped it would be. Our staff works hard to provide a high level of service for all of our clients in a timely manner.

We are continuously striving to make our product better, as I am sure you have seen in recent updates (http://www.topssoft.com/blogs/tops-customers/topic/tops-one). Your feedback helps us to learn how to better serve our customers.

I encourage you to contact me directly if you would like to speak to a manager regarding your issues. (800) 760-9966 x9713
- Andrea Drennen, CMCA

 

David from 12751 (Premier Property Management Services, LLC)
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

March 2018

March 2018

Easy to use, easy to train staff on. Great product

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

To run our company most efficiently.

Pros

It is web based so as long as you have an internet connection you can use it. It is very user-friendly to use, the people at TOPS are without a doubt outstanding to work with. One time we had an issue and TOPS staff spent the time on the phone with us to show us what WE were doing wrong not TOPS ONE.

Cons

We have used several products in the past and I can honestly say TOPS ONE blows them all away. There is not much in the way of bad things to say, with all software there are bugs and things we as users would love to see but the thing about TOPS ONE is they care and listen so if you are looking for something specific just ask, reach out to them talk to them they will accommodate you.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

David, thank you so much for your kind words! we had a strong vision (http://www.topssoft.com/one/roadmap) when we built TOPS [ONE] to make a product that successfully served ALL of the stakeholders of a community association in one single platform. It is encouraging when customers can intuit and embrace that vision!

 

Marc from Core Community Mangement

March 2018

March 2018

Please read before buying this! what a nightmare!!!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

If your goal is to run your office efficiently then I suggest you do not use tops one!! I was so excited after talking to the sales rep about all the cool changes we could make and not one of the promises turned out!

I have sent at least 10 emails to ask them when I am getting my training on the compliance and management side of the software and I was told the rep will call me and then after more emails from me i was told some other rep will call me then after another email today they told me the third rep is going to be reaching out to me. That is what inspired the review! I can't believe this company is able to stay in business or are they on their way out and that is why all the issues many companies are having.

I also called other companies across Utah and Arizona that use tops and I have asked them if they are having the same problems and I have had every one of the companies tell me they are looking to change! Don't buy this product you will regret your choice.

The next step to get back my money/training and misdirected promises would be get a lawyer involved. Sad that they can just be honest and fair to their clients

Cons

One year later and still haven't been fully trained like I was promised they took thousands of dollars from me no problem. I have to pay on time but they don't have to deliver on anything.
The support takes way too long to get answers or they don't have answers
The emails only go out in Tops software's name and you can't customize the subject line if emailed not the scheduler
Many people saying they aren't getting the emails from the software even though it says it was sent
The financials always have mistakes that they can't explain then we have to wait for them to fix them
Annual budget to update is very difficult to do. not user-friendly. you can hide the zeroed line items while updated the budget. good luck!
They say the financial layout is customizable but yet when we ask if we can do things they say well you can't do that!
Our CPA says The default financial isn't set up to the standard of typical financial statement
Unable to delete certain data that they said we could during the demo
The tradition has been a painful process! They said it is easy! it is not!!
They said it works good with a Mac computer but it doesnt! yes it is web based but any docs downloaded or files you need to work with are not MAC friendly
Reports take very long to download! Custom reports are not user friendly
It crashes and times out
It does not have simple commands like putting tables in alphabetical order or descending/ascending order. It also does not imp/exp very good

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Marc, thank you for posting your review in so many places, we have really got to stop meeting like this!

I know that you have spent excessive time with our support team and with Teri Perez, our support manager, and that you have experienced a resolution of many, if not all of the issues listed here.

I appreciate that you continue to be a user of TOPS ONE, as a show of faith in our commitment to our clients and their needs. We promise to continue to work hard to win back your love and affection!

 

Carla from Summerfield Master Community

February 2018

February 2018

The worst software I have ever used. There are so many issues with this software.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Cons

The software doesn't work or produce any reports that are correct. All bank postings from Lockbox are incorrect and they don't know how to fix it.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Carla, thank you for your feedback. Every bit of constructive criticism we receive helps us to build a better product for our customers.

 


October 2017

October 2017

Everything feature "Coming soon"

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

It's web based so you can use it anywhere including on your phone - with limited functionality do the design/style.

Cons

They seem to be more concerned with helping vendors in their add-on ecosystem then customers who pay them directly. Long wait times for support, even when paying for premium support.
New system with flaw like:
- submit a form and sometimes would post 2-3 times.
- duplicating annual budgets
- unable to delete certain data (deleting eventually became a "feature")
- Current President Mike will over promise and under deliver deliver, and then deny any conversation. Or will schedule a follow up appointment and then block all correspondence instead of the follow up conversation - a complete lack of respect for my time.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: February 2018

February 2018

 

TOPS Professional was built over a 30-year time-span. In that time, we added hundreds of features to aid in community association management.

Writing TOPS [ONE] from scratch, we had to choose which of those features were essential to be able to produce a viable product. To help fill the holes we did not have ready, we cultivated strong relationships and integrations with industry partners.

In the year since TOPS [ONE] has been released we have continued to add features and functionalities to the product to reach feature parity with TOPS Professional (view recent releases here: http://www.topssoft.com/blogs/tops-customers/topic/program-updates)

Mike, and every one of our team takes our clients feedback very seriously. We absolutely do hear you, and respect your time. We are working hard to make changes to the product and to internal structures to better serve you and every client.

 

justin from hoamco

October 2017

October 2017

After 15 plus years with Tops we finally had to waive the white flag

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

On paper it looks great and appears to be a great value - if you are a single user this may be the product for you based on price.

Cons

This company has fallen behind so far compared with their competition. They stopped innovating and placed no value in customer support. We have 300 plus communities with multiple offices in multiple states and I could not recommend Tops to anyone but a self managed community. Tops was costing our company over $50k per year working out problems that should have been addressed by Tops. The amount of lost data and the rush to deliver new updates that have not been tested cost us so much. I am the owner and have tried everything to resolve the issues we had - we finally made a move and it was the best decision. It was painful but what a difference in made for our clients and team. I am the owner of the company and I would be happy to answer any questions: Justin Scott www.hoamco.com

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: February 2018

February 2018

 

Justin, words cannot express how disheartening it is to read your review. I have personally worked with HOAMCO over the years and you have always been a valued client.

I can assure you that we have definitely not stopped innovating - quite the opposite, we have probably taken on more innovations than we really should have. With three major products to actively support, our customer service team has struggled in recent months to scale up to the demand of new clients. That is no excuse. We are actively making changes in our infrastructure to accommodate the demand, but I can understand (sadly) how this is too little, too late for you. We wish you the best.

 

MATT from TPM
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

August 2017

August 2017

It has only been a month and the only thing good is the accounting portion of TOPS One

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

WE WILL LET YOU KNOW ONCE WE HAVE FIGURED IT OUT

Pros

Accounting Portion has been an improvement from TOPS IQ..

Cons

EVERYTHING ELSE HAS BEEN LESS THEN ADVERTISED. Violation Letters wiped out. Editing letters is a tedious. Sending out bulk mailing letters is complicated. No where to store rental deposits. No way to send letters to just renters and not owners. The conversion from IQ to ONE was suppossed to be an upgrade but they forgot about upgrading the best parts of IQ into one. They never considered existing customers and ease of use from IQ format. My business has been severly affected by this transition.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: February 2018

February 2018

 

Matt, thank you for your earnest feedback. I am sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with the management tools. We are working continuously to improve the product, and we appreciate your patience.

 

Thomas from Louie Management
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2016

July 2016

Not stable, unreliable

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We purchased TOPS software almost a year ago and from day one the software has been unstable. We were sold on features that don't work, i.e. iPhone app that is no long supported, labeling pictures with date stamp or GPS data, etc. Everyone at their company has a different way of accomplishing or doing things, so every time you call, you get a different answer. TOPS GO is very unstable, i.e. can't upload pictures, can't save GPS tagging, etc.

Pros

The software has so much potential.

Cons

The desktop version is written in an antiquated software language which limited many of the data fields. The on-line version is severely limited on features.

Advice to Others

A total waste of money, I would NEVER recommend this product.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: July 2016

July 2016

 

Hi Thomas, I am so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your TOPS experience. I appreciate you taking the time to spell out your issues, and I wanted to address them in kind:

1) The iPhone app is no longer supported because we updated to GO 2.0, a device independent web app. Every client on the old version got a free upgrade to this version.

2) GPS encoding and time stamps for images are stored in our database, not in the image metadata. There are many apps you can get on your phone if you want it to store in the actual picture file.

3) Because of the open structure of TOPS, there is more than one way to do just about every function.

I have reached out to Stefanie, your Account Exec to call you to develop an action plan to resolve any issues you continue to have.

I also recommend you take a new look at TOPS [ONE], our brand new platform for accounting and management. It is very feature robust and sports a modern interface.

Andrea Drennen, Marketing Manager

 

Vicki from Heritage Management Co

July 2014

July 2014

Fantastic for HOA Management

Ease-of-use

Product Quality

Customer Support

Ease-of-use
Usability
Product Quality
Quality
Support

When I started my company 21 years ago, I used AccPac to implement the accounting for the homeowner associations my company managed. I found AccPac to be expensive and not tailored to HOA Management. Their Representative introduced me to Sage, but it didn't really fit my needs. I started using TOPS in May 2008, and was amazed at how easily it flows. I also appreciated how they offered different modules so I could buy only what I needed. TOPS Professional is more streamlined, and more user friendly than what I had been using. I am extremely happy that it is tailored for HOA Management. The support team is fantastic! The only negative for me is I could not get the bank balances properly reconciled, and therefore I have continued to use Quicken for printing checks, scheduling EFT payments, and reconciling the bank statements. An additional step, but also a good check & balance system. Also, I prefer Quicken's check register printouts versus the TOPS check register that prints after entering the checks on AP.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: July 2014

July 2014

 

Vicki, thanks so much for the positive feedback! I am very interested in your comments about reconciliation and report formats.

I have asked one of our best accounting specialists, Nancy Marry to connect with you and figure out what your needs are and what we can do to help meet them.

Feel free to email me at andread@topssoft.com if you have any questions.

- Andrea Drennen,
Marketing Manager

 

Jim from Common Interests, Inc.

July 2014

July 2014

TOPS HOA management software

Ease-of-use

Product Quality

Customer Support

Ease-of-use
Usability
Product Quality
Quality
Support

The integration from my previous software to TOPS went very well with their data conversion. The product is very easy to use and much easier to navigate to get to the function that you want than with my previous software, Asyst Data Group. I really like their violation letter tracking and generating module with the only negative being that you cannot print out just a list of homeowners that are at the fine and hearing stage. I love their work order module with the ability to track work orders by tenant. Entering and printing or emailing the work order is so easy. Being in California, I was worried about customer support from Florida but they have extended their support hours to cover the west coast. Negatives ..I wish the Expense GL printed on the vendor checks and that when you are entering invoices in the Accounts Payable module that there was a quick button to get to the payment history for the vendor you are entering an invoice for rather than having to go back to look up that vendor on a separate screen. The good news is that they are constantly listening to input from users and try to add functionality if enough users request changes. I can't say enough good things about them. They really have been a great help any time I need them!

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Jim, thank you so much for the heartfelt review. I think you will be pleased to hear that we absorbed all of the feedback you gave us, and have released a number of these requests into the product already! I encourage you to check out our product updates here: http://www.topssoft.com/blogs/tops-customers/topic/program-updates

 

Julia from Pinnacle Property Management

July 2014

July 2014

TOPS is TOPS!

Ease-of-use

Product Quality

Customer Support

Ease-of-use
Usability
Product Quality
Quality
Support

TOPS Software is incredibly industry specific. The developers have truly tapped into what is needed to be an organized and top notch Property Manager. TOPS allows them to handle the myriad of details and projects with ease.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Jennifer from Banyan/GRS

June 2014

June 2014

Banyan/GRS Merger

Product Quality

Product Quality
Quality

Business is great in Palm Beach County and we are having growing pains. We are in the process of merging Banyan Property Management and GRS Management Associates. Both companies were each managing over 100 communities prior to the merger. Now we have integrated two TOPS installations onto one IT platform. The folks at TOPS have been consistently helpful every step of the way. Teri's technical support team are great folks. Each team member is knowledgeable and patient. Teri's team is truly one of the best technical support groups I have worked with over the course of 25 years in the IT industry. Thanks guys. You are the best!

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: July 2014

July 2014

 

Jennifer, thank you so much for sharing your story! Integrating two companies into one is a nightmare by anyone's standards and I am so happy that the process has gone (relatively) smoothly for you.

I can't help but agree that the TOPS support team are secret superheroes, hiding their capes in a drawer by their desk!

 

Treva from Advantage Management

June 2014

June 2014

TOPS SUPPORT

Ease-of-use

Product Quality

Customer Support

Ease-of-use
Usability
Product Quality
Quality
Support

We have been a customer since 2009, and recently decided to move our data to another server. We would not have done this effectively without the help of TOPS support. They has gone out of their way to make sure this is done correctly. Anytime that I have issues or need an answer, they have been great to communicate with. Tops is always trying to improve their service, and I have seen that through the years. TOPS has made some changes to their support service and it is a great change so far. I would highly recommend TOPS as their property management software. Please keep up the positive changes.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: TOPS Software, TOPS Software, LLC

Date: June 2014

June 2014

 

Thanks so much for your kind words Treva! It's great to hear that our efforts to improve our service are having a positive effect. For more on recent changes to TOPS support, watch the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAXt-fRpR4o