About IDEXX Neo


IDEXX Neo is a cloud-based veterinary practice management suite used by animal hospitals and veterinary clinics. Key features include appointment management, invoice creation and payment processing.

Users can define custom tasks and assign duties to employees on an activity dashboard. The dashboard can be configured for individual employees and can display task details, due dates and more.

IDEXX Neo enables users to customize forms and certificates using company logos and branded letterheads. Clinicians can use pre-defined procedure templates to store pet details, owners’ credit card information and previous medical records.

IDEXX Neo provides a learning manual and help desk chat. Additional online training and phone support are also available for purchase. IDEXX Neo offers a free trial and is available on a per month subscription basis.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

53 Reviews of IDEXX Neo

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.13 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(25)

4 stars

(19)

3 stars

(3)

2 stars

(3)

1 stars

(3)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

August 2018

Lori from Mule Town Veterinary Hospital, Creedmoor, NC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Intuitive and easy to set up and use.

Overall, I am really pleased with Neo. There are constant updates, some of which I did not realize were problems. New features are always being added. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

Neo was the easiest software program to set up and use that I reviewed. Just about everything is fairly intuitive and does not require a degree in programming to use. The files for your patients are as close to paper based as I have seen. You can easily adapt it to your practice and it integrates well with the reference lab. Working from anywhere with this cloud based system is also a lovely feature The customer service is great--you actually get to know all the staff and they remember you when you call. The boarding schedule is a great new feature that I set up in minutes for my specific kennel situation. I own a small, single doctor practice and do not regret choosing Neo as my PMS.

Cons

The few things that Neo is not capable of (yet):
Creating automatic call backs for appointments.
Integrated payment--although I think that this is in the works.

There are also instances where if a staff member marks a file ready to be paid, another person working on the file at the same time cannot save the information without backing out and going back into the file. I have lost a few files with this. It now warns you that someone else has it open.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied November 2018

Thanks for the praise and the suggestions Dr. Scappino. Our goal is to make Neo the easiest software to set up and use, and that objective guides every improvement and new feature we add. Awesome to hear that we are hitting that mark with you and your team, and that we are solving problems you did not know you had! You noted you would like to see automatic call backs and integrated payments in Neo: both of those are on our product roadmap. Watch for more information about them.

May 2018

Hans from Love Freeway Animal Hospital, PC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

NEO has been amazing for our clinic, fantastic support, they listen to their clients for updates!

Great online support, fantastic cost without large initial investment of 16-20K like other software. Web based, no need for databse backups, etc. NEO team is making beneficial updates based on users input. No large learning curve for staff. The integration with IDEXX lab equipment is spectacular and helpful in cutting down time. Results gro straight into patient history.

Pros

Web based which means no backups necessary in clinic, great support, ease of use, fantastic price without a large investment, training staff is not a large learning curve. The developers listen to their clients and make timely updates to software without having to download and install, etc. Great thing is that when the power went down for an hour at our clinic, we were able to use our cell phones to acess NEO and still get client information and chek them out via PayPal instead of our usual service. Our old system meant you had to revert to paper and be out of luck with checking anybody out. You can quickly review Prescription history withour hunting through months and years of records. Fantastic administrative tools for accounting purposes and reports to quicky your growing. It will take 10 years of monthly pay,ents to pay what would have been a 19,000-20,000 investment in Management software with other companies. If I don't like it in a few years, I have not lost a huge initial invesment.I highly recommend it to clinics that don't want to spend a lot of overhead on software, want great support, and good clinic management software.

Cons

If you ever have the internet go down in clinic, you can't use software... unless you have cell phones to access the mobile version

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied June 2018

Thank you Hans, we could not have said it better ourselves! Very glad to hear that you were able to use Neo when your power went down and keep your practice running. It is because of times like these that we are optimizing Neo specifically for phones and tablets so your experience using the software on your phone will be just as good as on a computer.

April 2018

Joshua from North Scottsdale Animal Hospital

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Neo provides a great user-friendly platform. We have been using it since October of 2016.

Pros

Since Neo is a cloud based program, it is constantly being updated by the development team. Support is just a live chat away, and if Neo doesn't currently offer the feature you are looking for they will put in an enhancement request to try and put it in a future update. The text message functionality is great, and such an easy way to communicate with clients. As the person who was in charge of implementation and customization, I can say that initial setup was a breeze and we had very little issues. If using IDEXX Laboratory Services, the integration is incredible and works great. I would never even think to go back to a software where lab requisitions had to be done manually. Being a cloud based system, everything is backed up all the time. There have been cases where I have accidentally deleted things, and the development team has been able to restore it for me which was great.

Cons

While Neo is constantly updated, there are still major features that the support team still hasn't added. The support team is often not knowledgable about a question asked, and if the question is asked to multiple support staff members often different answers are obtained. Being a cloud based system, if the "cloud servers" have an issue or go offline, you will not be able to access Neo. This is happened a handful of times since we have had Neo. Reporting can be confusing, and it seems support staff doesn't know which reports to use when. I also own two different practices, and while on the outside it looks like Neo has multi-branch functionality, it doesn't and we have to use two different accounts. The automated reminder system does not have the ability to check for appointments that are already scheduled, so we constantly have clients telling us there appointments are already scheduled. And there is no automated appointment reminder program, it must be done manually. Other than those thinsg we actually really like Neo, and switching from an old version of Intravet was a breath of fresh air.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied April 2018

Thank you, Dr. Sosnow! Very happy to hear about your easy setup and installation experience. Transitioning software can be a big deal and we strive to make this a seamless and positive process. We also appreciate the detailed feedback you have provided, with many new features and product releases coming soon, we hope to address all your concerns as soon as possible.

May 2018

Shawn from Harvard Veterinary Clinic

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Our business went live on Neo in November of 2017. It has been an eye opener.

All that i mentioned in the review.

Pros

The software is very intuitive and easily navigated for even the most anxious and novice users. The charge recapture is a complete bonus. Record safety and access is also huge. At another location we use a server based system. The problems of the cost of maintaining a server and the risks of crashes, viruses, and other maintenance issues are gone . After crashes at our other location this is certainly peace of mind. The customer support has been amazing. The whole experience has been positive. It has allowed a much higher level of medicine to be practiced. The improvements in the business aspects of the practice are stellar as well. I highly recommend Neo if you are looking for a cloud based solution, or for that matter, any practice management solution.

Cons

There are small issues that we encountered but these were mainly due to our clinic learning the ropes in a new system. The system has performed beyond expectations. The only issue that I personally have is that there are not more forms included in the initial start up, leaving one to have to create your own. It is not readily compatible with uploading Word or other forms of documents either so that makes things a bit more tedious. Once you are there it is done with for good which is awesome, but it could be made easier in my estimation.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied June 2018

Thank you very much for the positive review Shawn. We are happy to hear that Neo has performed beyond your expectations!

January 2019

Dave from Companion Animal Hospital of Lewisburg TN

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great choice for an affordable price.

Our overall experience has been 9 out of 10. We are very happy with our move from Avimark (big, costly, server-based) to web-based Neo. Once they delivered boarding, we didn't have to have any other applications to manage our hospital. I do wish that other third party application providers were integrating more things with Neo. But I guess that will come as the client base grows.

Pros

The ease of use for our team was the most important. There isn't anything that isn't covered in the "HELP ME" section. You can read the instructions, or you can allow the system to walk you through doing the task. It's very easy to learn and with regular updates the system continues to get better and better. Also, you can't say enough about support. I have been in IT for years. This is the best support team I've ever worked with online. They are friendly, knowledgeable and quick to respond.

Cons

I'd like to see it be a bit more flexible for the client. There are some things I think should be moved to company settings. I don't like that it doesn't handle tax exempt clients, i.e. Rescues and Non-Profits. The reporting could be better, but I understand they are working on reporting now.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied January 2019

Hi Dave, great to hear that your team is finding Neo so easy to use and learn. And thank you for the feedback on improvements. Expect to see a steady stream of new reporting features in 2019, as well as more third-party app integrations.

October 2018

Candice from Acadian Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

We love Neo!

We have been using IDEXX Neo for about two and a half years and are overall very pleased with the product. The transition from our previous POS system was close to seamless and haven't experienced any major issues since switching.

Pros

There are several things that I love about IDEXX Neo. First, the ease of use with integrated training is great. We no longer have to pay for updated training. Second, the customer service is amazing. As the person in charge of calling when things go wrong it is very much appreciated to talk to helpful/nice customer support. Third, the continued improvement and growth is so nice. They are very open to receiving suggestions from clinics that use the software on a daily basis.

Cons

There are some things that Neo isn't capable of doing yet but the pros far outweigh these. A few of those things include automated callbacks, expired items report, integrated credit card processing and integrated time clock.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied November 2018

Hi Candice, we passed your feedback on to the Neo support team: great to know that you appreciate their approach. Love your suggestions for improvements, and we think you will be pleased to hear that they're on the product roadmap for 2019!

October 2018

Heather from Veterinary

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Easy to use

Neo allows us to easaily track patient records. Add outside files and upload consent forms. It allows us to keep everything in one simple area so things do not get lost. It allows to quickly print things clients need ex vaccine certificates and tracks vaccines history and prevention bought.

Pros

Neo is very easy to use. They have it set up to where anyone with simple instructions can navigate Neo and know what they are doing. If they need help there is a walk through option on the main screen. Tech support is quick and efficient when a problem does arrive. Neo is always making update to fit with growing needs.

Cons

Sometimes it is almost too simple. Reminders do not account for when multiple doses of prevention are bought. Wish there was a way to quickly print all invoices from a patient without doctors notes attached. As well as a way to easily e mail the entire pt record at one time through Neo.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied November 2018

HI Heather, great to hear that Neo is easy for your team to learn and that you are getting help promptly when you need it. Same goes for knowing the frequent updates fit with your practice needs. We also really appreciate your suggestions about future ways we could improve Neo!

January 2019

Danielle from South Lafourche Veterinary Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Easy to use and great customer service

Again, having two practices, using NEO has made life easier on management. Support is always available and usually figures out the problem you are having.

Pros

Cloud based software makes it easy to use on the go when managing multiple clinics. NEO is always adding new and updated features based off of client recommendations. Works very well with other Idexx equipment. Love the template and form options! Makes it so nice to have easily accessible printable forms at everyone's fingertips. Support chat is amazing!

Cons

Just like with any internet based software there are times NEO is unavailable. Hadn't happened often but when it does, it is rough for the moment it is down. Would like to be able to run my own custom reports. Also would love to have reminders deleted automatically when the line item has been deleted. Only other thing would be that when pets that have been marked inactive or deceased it doesn't remove any future appointments.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied January 2019

Hi Danielle, great to hear that the steady pace of new features is helping you and your team, and thank you for your suggestions for more!

August 2018

BRIAN from Veterinary

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Continuing to evolve

average at first. we have worked it into our practice and theres no turning back now. We'll evolve as Neo evolves. although this wasnt the way it was supposed to be we have embraced NEO and are maximizing its potential

Pros

no server, cloud based is a no brainer. works pretty seemlessly with IDEXX lab diagnostics.

Cons

i think that it was over sold. the ceiling for this software is very high but they're not quite there yet. it's true that it evolves with regularity BUT each evolution/update ends up causing just as many snafu's as it solves. could have better production analytics and better inventory management

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied November 2018

Thanks for embracing Neo Dr. Berger, and for your comment about its evolution. Feedback like yours has been instrumental in accelerating the pace of improvements and prioritizing our roadmap. Speaking of which, last week we released solutions to improve inventory management, let us know how those are working for you and if you experience any side effects. The quicker we hear about those, the quicker we can solve them.

July 2016

Jillian from Bernalillo Pet Care Center

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2016

So Simple and Minimal Set Up

I recently purchased a practice with no computer software and Neo saved us a fortune! Because this program is cloud-based, we didn't have to buy a server and we could use Chromebook laptops instead of full computers. Also, Neo runs on a monthly subscription that includes updates and support. With traditional software we would have had to pay several thousand dollars up front to purchase the program, plus about $1000/year for updates and support. The transition from fully paper-clinic to almost completely paperless was smooth and even my least computer-saavy employees felt comfortable using it after only a day of training (which is built in to the program!)

Pros

Access anywhere with internet (phone, tablet, laptop, computer, etc)
Very user-friendly and easy to learn
Fully customizable
Minimal start up costs
Updates included and installed automatically
Customer support is very helpful and takes suggestions for future updates
Communicates with other IDEXX equipment (in house lab, radiology, reference lab)

Cons

Need reliable internet access - sometimes our internet goes out, we keep some 4G capable tablets in the clinic to use when this occurs
No option for a low and high end on estimates - we have asked for this on future updates
Unable to be 100% paperless without signature capture - supposedly will be available on future updates

May 2018

Rachel from Petvacx Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Neo is basic, but improving daily. It is very responsive to customer input. Good customer support.

This product saves our practice so much time and hassle. It is consistent. It synchs well with IDEXX who we use extensively. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of Cornerstone, but it mostly has everything we need.

Pros

The platform is super reliable. They are making continual updates, many of which have been requests we have made. The transition from our old software was smooth and pretty quick. It allows for easy client communications. It's straight forward and user friendly. It can be customized to your practice.

Cons

Consultation notes can be edited forever. The word processor for making forms makes it difficult to customize forms - it's not user friendly. There are weird workflow issues that they are still working through, but they are making improvements all the time.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied June 2018