About IDEXX Neo

IDEXX Neo is a cloud-based veterinary practice management suite used by animal hospitals and veterinary clinics. Key features include appointment management, invoice creation and payment processing.

Users can define custom tasks and assign duties to employees on an activity dashboard. The dashboard can be configured for individual employees and can display task details, due dates and more.

IDEXX Neo enables users to customize forms and certificates using company logos and branded letterheads. Clinicians can use pre-defined procedure templates to store pet details, owners’ credit card information and previous medical records.

IDEXX Neo provides a learning manual and help desk chat. Additional online training and phone support are also ava...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

68 Reviews of IDEXX Neo

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.10 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(31)

31

4 stars

(25)

25

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(4)

4

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 68 results

August 2018

Lori from Mule Town Veterinary Hospital, Creedmoor, NC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Intuitive and easy to set up and use.

Overall, I am really pleased with Neo. There are constant updates, some of which I did not realize were problems. New features are always being added. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

Neo was the easiest software program to set up and use that I reviewed. Just about everything is fairly intuitive and does not require a degree in programming to use. The files for your patients are as close to paper based as I have seen. You can easily adapt it to your practice and it integrates well with the reference lab. Working from anywhere with this cloud based system is also a lovely feature The customer service is great--you actually get to know all the staff and they remember you when you call. The boarding schedule is a great new feature that I set up in minutes for my specific kennel situation. I own a small, single doctor practice and do not regret choosing Neo as my PMS.

Cons

The few things that Neo is not capable of (yet): Creating automatic call backs for appointments. Integrated payment--although I think that this is in the works. There are also instances where if a staff member marks a file ready to be paid, another person working on the file at the same time cannot save the information without backing out and going back into the file. I have lost a few files with this. It now warns you that someone else has it open.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied November 2018

Thanks for the praise and the suggestions Dr. Scappino. Our goal is to make Neo the easiest software to set up and use, and that objective guides every improvement and new feature we add. Awesome to hear that we are hitting that mark with you and your team, and that we are solving problems you did not know you had! You noted you would like to see automatic call backs and integrated payments in Neo: both of those are on our product roadmap. Watch for more information about them.

January 2020

Jeff from Cass County Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Using Neo in small solo practice since Jan. 1, 2018

We have a very small, 1 doctor practice. I was somewhat concerned about going to a cloud based system, but that has been a non factor. We are still not using NEO to it's maximum capacity, but that is our fault not the software's. There was a $50 a month increase in the monthly fee at the start of 2020 that didn't thrill me, but overall our experience has been good.

Pros

Initially our favorite thing about Neo was how it facilitated electronic medical record keeping and electronic communication with clients via email and SMS. Over time the things that haven't liked (reporting, inventory management, etc) has gotten much better. The NEO team is very responsive to user feedback and frequently makes enhancements and upgrades to the software that make it better and better. We certainly also appreciate the ability to run NEO on very inexpensive hardware.

Cons

As I noted above, our original "cons" have gotten much better over the 2 years we have been using NEO. Getting reports from past years is still a little wonky, and there is no quick easy way to look up which patient received a certain treatment recently, ie a "who-got" feature. NEO also lumps services (labwork, vaccines, office calls, etc) together with inventory items such as pharmaceuticals and preventives into one big category called "Products". I'd like to see them split apart.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied January 2020

HI Jeff, thanks for your feedback on Neo and for recommending it to others. Input from users like yourself fueled over 60 updates last year, and we have even more planned for 2020, including reporting and inventory. We'd really like to help you take more advantage of what Neo can do for your practice, like helping you drive compliance by texting. Please let us know where we can help!

January 2020

Brandy from Meeker Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Neo Review

Pros

Customer service is great. They are good about taking enhancement requests and improving the software. Its fairly easy to use. We use IDEXX reference labs and all of our lab reports get automatically saved to the patients file.

Cons

Some of the reports are lacking. Inventory reports/records could use some improvement. There are a few other things, but I foresee IDEXX Neo making the necessary changes.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied January 2020

Hi Brandy, we'll pass on your compliments to customer support: they love what they do, and that includes getting feedback on ways we can make Neo even better. Great to hear how you're benefiting from Neo's seamless diagnostic integration. Check out our new reporting dashboard and let us know what you think--and get ready for some inventory improvements that will save you time and money!

August 2019

Noah from Asheville Vet Assoc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2019

High expectations...poor delivery

The time involved from checking clients in to check out is almost double what we had with an older outdated system. Hard to believe this is "the future". All of the staff are frustrated after having this system 9 months. They are begging me (management) to return to our outdated system.

Pros

cloud based system affordable comparitively

Cons

poor estimate capabilities updates interfere with current processes, forms, etc. multiple windows to click through (lost time/efficiency) weak customer service (always say they are considering updating "whatever issue you have"

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied September 2019

Hi Noah, thanks for the feedback and the opportunity to work with you and the team at Asheville to make sure Neo meets your needs. Incidentally, the enhancement requests our support team logs have led to 46 value-packed releases in the last eight months alone, several of which address items you cite, including estimates. It also sounds as if there are opportunities to streamline some of your workflows. Definitely check out the built-in, task-specific training for tips on doing this, and don't hesitate to contact our customer success team for coaching (it's available at no extra charge). We are always open to your thoughts on how we can make things better.

January 2020

Analicia from Readivet

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Pretty nice program

It is a great product overall. If you have the Neo plus package you can talk directly with people that can fix minor problems instantly.

Pros

I like that it can be accessed completely online and they help icon is usually really helpful. As a new clinic with no one that has ever use this software, it was very easy to figure out.

Cons

Some basic functionalitys that are these offers have are not an option with Neo. For example you cannot send records to another practice directly from the system. Do you have to save individual items and send it over in an email outside of the program. Also the reports for cost of goods or not completely accurate

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied January 2020

Hi Analicia, thanks for your feedback and your willingness to recommend Neo to others! Great to hear that it was so easy for your team to get up and running, and that you like being able to talk to support to fix minor problems instantly: that's now included as part of every Neo subscription.