All Intercom Reviews

1-25 of 990 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Brandon

11 - 50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed June 2021

Intercom is a powerful Customer Support Tool

User Profile

Emma

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

An innovative and beneficial resource for businesses.

Better and more convenient contact between us and our customers is always appreciated. Easy history tracking is made possible by this intuitive tool. It's simple to record my conversations and analyze them afterwards for development purposes.

PROS

An easy-to-use intercom system. Easy to use even for first-timers, this program has just the right amount of detail without being overwhelming. The intercom is similar to another email program that we use, and I can explain why. Its fast features and user-friendly interface, such as the helpful and funny bot, greatly enhance customer service and lead to exceptional client satisfaction.

CONS

I find that the intercom sometimes has trouble loading some conversations, which is a major drawback for me. As a customer service representative, you're fielding calls while waiting for the intercom inbox to load the customer's information. In addition to the holdup, additional issues have slowed down the operation of the customer support team.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

We utilize it to track and respond to customer care inquiries, and I personally find it useful for conducting surveys with our service's end users. I keep an eye on our attendant stats using the reports, and I gauge customer happiness with surveys created using the Surveys tool. In addition, we export client information through the Contacts tab.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Engagement with Customers is Great!

It is an easy choice if you want to create unique, engaging customer journeys! It also connects to many other tools, so it's a great addition to any software stack.

PROS

I like that we are able to gain insight, offer promos, convert leads, provide support, host a help center, and create unique customer journeys right from within one platform. The Inbox feature is very helpful in providing quick and easy support, especially when using the Intercom mobile app!

CONS

There are few things I would consider cons about Intercom. I wish they offered a bit quicker support, as I often wait a day to hear back, but it is a minor detail compared to the value we get from using the platform.

Reason for choosing Intercom

At the time, I believe Intercom had been around a bit longer, so offered features outside of just the support desk functionality.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review and let us know how Intercom is helping you create unique, engaging customer journeys as well as integrate so well with your existing etch stack :) Thanks for your feedback regarding our support response times. These vary based on the urgency of the issue as well as plan, but we always aim to get back as soon as possible. I'll make sure to pass this feedback on to our team here. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied March 2021

Susanna

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2020

Unreponsive and caused a severe service disruption

When COVID hit, we were evaluating our software solutions and inquired about switching from an annual contract to month-to-month. We asked what the changes to our pricing and feature suite would be if we moved forward with that change. We didn't get a response. Instead I received an automated email from their [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] that our contract was cancelled effective [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. We reached out and for several days, did not get a response. On September 17th, our service was completely halted in the middle of the workday. Our team was unable to respond to any customer tickets for the remainder of the day. When we finally did get a hold of someone, they told us they were switching us to month to month, just as we had asked. We were told that was a completely different business platform and required a transition. None of this was communicated to us prior to the (entirely preventable) service outage, and again, we were just inquiring about the options should we choose to switch. We lost our settings as well as a previously agreed upon pricing discount built into our contract when they made this change. A manager was brought onto the phone and we were told they would get back to us with a concession because of the severe service disruption. We were never contacted again, until today when I was sent an email stating that they will not offer any concessions and they are sad to see us go, but that my Relationship Manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], will no longer be available to me starting next week.

PROS

When we were first started using them, they were flexible, had great customer service, and seemed genuinely invested in helping us succeed.

CONS

Their customer service has been incredible poor. They caused a completely preventable service disruption that caused several hours of outage for our team, and have been difficult to get in touch with.

Vendor Response

Hi Susanna, I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Intercom - this is certainly not how we want our customers to feel. I've taken a look through your account and can see there's an opportunity for us to more clearly communicate the necessary steps when changing billing models so you don't miss any steps. This is something that we're working on at the moment so I assure that your feedback will not go unheard. We never want an Intercom user to loose access to our tools as we recognize businesses rely on our services. Our Relationship Managers work exclusively with customers on annual contracts so as you will be moving to a monthly model you will no longer have access to that team, however you will still have access to to our support team via the messenger. I do want to recognize that response times in previous months have not been where we'd like but we've made changes and are back on track now. Thanks again for this post, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied December 2020

GEORGIOS

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Powerful tool with some limitations

PROS

Intercom really in a very solid and rounded product you can have a really good set up with it when it comes to customer communication and support

CONS

A bit pricey and they way cost is calculated is a bit counter intuitive for start ups.

User Profile

Jennie

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

A Great Lead Capture

Makes customer communication and customer acquisition easier. I wish the chat flows were more advanced and customizable. There was definitely a learning curve with the chat flows. Also, I don't believe I can export contact information with my leads.

PROS

-Capturing emails and names -Integrating to Hubspot and other software for easy lead closure -Creating chat flows allows us to communicate to customers faster and saves us time

CONS

-Would like to combine actions on Intercom -Hubspot Integration is not perfect; would like to have specific field matching -Chat flow capabilities are limited

Reason for choosing Intercom

Intercom was recommended to us from other entrepreneurs.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

We were on a free plan with LiveChat for a year because we were part of an Incubator. When the year ended, we wanted to consider other options. Intercom gave us a startup plan, so it ended up being cheaper than LiveChat.

User Profile

Aleksandr

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Most overrated thing on the market.

Try to avoid it or at least not build the critical parts of your busyness on it. Chat and message history both work fine. Everything else is a source of endless pain and despair.

PROS

Integration with communication sources, say you may set up the email to be shown in chat history as a messages. Embedded chats with history are quite nice, it has both the messages and notes left by the supporting team members to each other. Chat itself works quite good and overall thing of a good quality. Not quite sure this is their own development, but it doesn't really matter. Webhooks, these one is a good thing to integrate your decision making software with customer lifecycle events, for example to send email when credit card is about to expire, of when customer purchased something few times. Actions - automated reactions to customer or lead lifecycle events. Filtered cogorts are called segments in Intercom, they have their own filtering panel which is similar to one that can be found on other products.

CONS

Bugs. They are everywhere. Updates may be lost, updates may be rejected by intercom because of server side exceptions, or mysterious thing called "concurrent updates" when there is just a single update. They have huge API downtimes which can be traced by Intercom's API 5XX responses but technical support always denies the existence of a problem or downtime. Technical support is one of the worst supports I have ever seen. They know nothing, they do not want to learn, the problem is always on your side even if it is their server who responses with 5XX status. Intercom is hugely, fabulously overpriced. On paper Intercom has a set of importers - they are useless, as there are no transformation or calculated fields. Now imagine you need to import hundred of thousands customer profiles from legacy system. Due to absence of data transformation mechanisms you are unable to import them as is and have to resort to preparation-export steps. The problem is that you can not perform more than 85 API requests per minute. There was batch API but today it is 1) deprecated and 2) counts the record inside the batch by the same 85/min limit. Sometimes customer profile may just disappear. Some of integrations provided by Intercom would not work as they have never been tested. There is no API call to "archive the segment" despite it was proposed few years ago. Intercoms offers one of the worst client libraries on the whole github and they reject PR's.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

We had a lot of issues with AutopilotApp by AutopilotHQ and Intercom was looking much more promising.

Vendor Response

Thanks for leaving us such a thorough and candid review Aleksandr. I'll make sure to send all of this feedback on to the relevant internal teams as we really do use this to inform what we ship. Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied May 2021

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Great live chat and marketing tool

Intercom is vital for our sales and customer service teams, we use it to communicate with our customers in real time and through email campaigns.

PROS

It is easy to use, and honestly one of the best tools out there. Intercom has a ton of features that go from a simple chat bubble to interact with your users, to email marketing tools and AI bots. They have a ton of integrations with other services.

CONS

Many features can be found behind a paywall and their tiers of service and bundles are not very clear.

Reason for choosing Intercom

The original developers, decided it was a cost effective and easy to set-up and deploy tool, they were not wrong.

User Profile

Brandon

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Intercom is a powerful Customer Support Tool

Overall I would recommend intercom for clients looking for automation chat bots and customer support software. They have plenty of resources and their new product tour feature adds additional functionality to their suite of software.

PROS

The knowledge center and live chat features were the most used features at our software company. These features were used regularly and automations within intercom helped serve clients efficiently.

CONS

Lacks in reporting and knowledge base customization compared to ZenDesk. Innovation in new features can be slow at times.

Reason for choosing Intercom

Intercom was easy to implement and integrated into Zoho directly by previous developers so was a hard sell to switch out.

Vendor Response

Thanks for leaving us this review Brandon, and for letting us know how powerful you've found Intercom as a support tool. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied April 2021

User Profile

Johann

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

The review

You might get lost when diving into these complex feature on your own, but the customer support is there to hold your hand, so don't worry you are supported all way along

PROS

The chatbot is a world class. Highly customizable to make sure that you can let the bot handle up to 50% of conversations. Product tours are also the best I have seen

CONS

The inbox is quite poor to use for email conversations only. The articles lack for customization options, too.

Reason for choosing Intercom

Intercom had way better user interface and more convenient chatbot and product tours

Reasons for switching to Intercom

We want to be closer to the customers and create a top class self-service opportunities.

Amanda

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Great tool for engaging & converting website visitors

Overall no major complaints with Intercom and plan to continue using it for the foreseeable future.

PROS

We love how easy it is to engage with our website visitors and help answer questions or direct them to the resources they're looking for. We bring in a good number of leads to the sales team each month from the use of Intercom chat. We really enjoy how you can integrate it with Slack so that you don't always have to keep Intercom open in your browser.

CONS

It's kind of annoying how a lot of the features cost a good amount of additional money. And some things aren't super intuitive as far as navigating and what lives where within the platform.

Reason for choosing Intercom

I can't remember as it was years ago but I think it mostly came down to price

Peter

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Complete Package

We had the opportunity to start fresh with a new ticket system/knowledge base so were shopping around. We came across Intercom and never looked back. While it has those things it is so much more being a central place to manage all our client related communications. It is by far the application I use most day-to-day.

PROS

Using Intercom has been an amazing experience. It is well thought out, full featured and continues to improve all the time. It has become an essential tool to communicate with our leads/clients. What is great is we can reach them (and they reach us) wherever they are: our website, in our web app, our mobile apps, email, etc.

CONS

While it starts off cheap depending on the features you choose to use and your volume it can start to get expensive quick. I'm not saying the product still doesn't provide value (it absolutely does) just if I had to pick what I liked least I would say cost.

Reason for choosing Intercom

We didn't know it until we saw it but we could get so much more with Intercom than just a ticket system.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Features and just the overall shift in how we could use the tool to communicate with out clients.

Vendor Response

Hi Peter, We really appreciate you leaving us a review and are so happy to hear Intercom is an essential part of your customer communication. Thanks also for your feedback on pricing. We work really hard to align our pricing to the value you are seeing. Please get in touch if you would like to discuss your subscription options with us. Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied December 2019

Thomas

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

All in one support tool that can grow with you from early stage startup to established organisation

Very positive and I would recommend Intercom to any early stage startup to apply for the Startup programme in order to get A LOT of functionality and bang for your buck. We have used Intercom from when it was just 2 [sensitive content hidden] to now a company of 50+ people, you don't need to waste time looking for another tool as it can grow with you.

PROS

The conversation routing bot was extremely easy to set-up and empowered us to streamline and automate our customer service and support processes. Furthermore, the ability to add-on features and functionality, such as WhatsApp integrate, was great to allow us to customize what we needed for our business.

CONS

Without the startup programme the pricing is quite aggressive with a basic package starting from $74 / month. Therefore, you really need to invest some time to set-up Intercom to add as much value as possible because it is pricey vs alternatives.

Reason for choosing Intercom

The startup programme was the main driver for choosing Intercom over the alternatives.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

The Intercom Startup programme is awesome with the features it was able to unlock vs Tidios freemium option.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

My favourite support tool

Only good experience overall Great support team Price could be better

PROS

Easiest support tool to have. Makes your team very accessible, also makes the support process simple for the end users Good integrations and useful statistics provided

CONS

Pricing - it is not very cheap. Pricing also often changes Help center tool - it could really use some help and updates Also, a lot of Add block tools catch Intercom as an ad and blocks it - thus creating inconvenience for end users having to choose between

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Ease of use, ease of implementation, better end user experience

Vendor Response

Thanks for letting us know that Intercom is you favorite support tool and we're helping you deliver such a good user experience. I appreciate your feedback on our pricing, Articles feature and ad block issues. I'll make sure these get back to the right people here. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied March 2021

Tito

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

The best option for LIVE CHAT and Support

PROS

Intercom is the lease in the industry and that’s because is the best in Livechat and support software. I’ve tried a lot of services before, cheap and expensive and I can say intercom worth every penny and it’s the option that has given to me the best results.

CONS

Nothing found until now. It’s really complete and well done solution.

Reason for choosing Intercom

After the trial I discover no other solution can be even compared to Intercom, it’s the complete solution and the best Choice ever for me.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

The offer and the solution. I needed a solution with the best performance and options.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review Tito. It's great to hear that Intercom is helping you drive results for your business. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied January 2020

Grégoire

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Great product, poor pricing and support

Intercom helped us provide better support and engage more visitors and clients.

PROS

Intercom is super easy to use and implement. It's packed with time-saving features.

CONS

Their support team is driving us crazy. It can take them up to 10 days to reply to a simple question. Their pricing is also super frustrating. We're paying more than 500€/month. For a company with less than 10 employees and 1,300 paying clients, this is a lot of money. Despite what we pay, we don't have access to their most recent features.

Reason for choosing Intercom

It included a knowledge base.

Vendor Response

Hi Gregoire, thanks for leaving us this review. I'm happy to hear we're helping you better support and engage your customers. I've let your account rep know about your support experience as this is not what we expect. Kate (Intercom)

Replied January 2021

User Profile

Emre

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

I've had excellent results.

The ability to try and test an app or product before purchasing it, is becoming more and more popular, especially with the introduction of new chat and live chat services. If you don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on an actual product, you can try a virtual product, that is a product that you can test and play with, before you purchase it.

PROS

Intercom is a complete live chat application for businesses. It is extremely easy to use. I found the chatbot feature to be useful, but I think it is only useful for some businesses such as retail businesses, or businesses that can use the information from a customer to see what they want to sell them. I would recommend using Intercom for businesses that need live chat but are not using it already.

CONS

I am a marketing strategist, and my company is growing. I have come to realize that I need to engage with customers in an effective way to obtain leads and generate sales. I have tried many different marketing strategies in the past, but none have been as effective as LiveChat. I am able to create a LiveChat session with customers and obtain leads. I've had great results and I'm satisfied, I haven't had a problem. In general it works flawlessly.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT