All GitGuardian Reviews

1-25 of 36 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Isalanya

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Keep your codes and software safe with GitGuardian

Software that monitors my code for security purposes!! What more as a developer would i need than some software which can alert me in case of any security issues with my code!

PROS

First of all a really great UI. Very simple and beautiful dashboard.The emails which keep me notified in case of any confidential credentials i may leak in my codes keep my codes and software safe and also help me realize where the leak is.

CONS

I haven't really found any negative sides while using GitGuardian, it has really been a useful software and can't complain about it.

Fabio

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Fit to purpose to our needs / Very little I need to admin

GitGuardian is now actively included in our core CI/CD pipeline. Setup was very easy and, and the time I need now to admin it is close to zero. After the initial adoption, "avoiding secrets in first instance" is now part of our standard practice. I would say GitGuardian is now our insurance that secrets are not disclosed inadvertently.

PROS

Easy to install. I mean, very easy! I have followed the "Quick-Start" guide, it took me about 30 mins. and when I read "Start Remediating" I thought it was the time to figure out how to adapt to our own environment and I have spent a couple of hours to set-up a manual/parallel integration that was totally unnecessary. I like the remediation flow: no emails back and forth, it simplifies the communication and the resolution of incidents across users. I can easily narrow the scope to what is critical to us, this has reduced the remediation effort to specific and relevant incidents. Automatic notifications: as an admin, I do not need to investigate every and each incident. GitHub Integration: secrets within code are automaticall detected and merge is blocked.

CONS

So many ways to integrate, it might be a plus for others, it was confusing to me. in my case I was not clear if I needed a "VCS/GitHub" or "CI/CD GitHub Actions" integration. Pricing plan for small business is not fully clear and requires to "contact sales".

Reason for choosing GitGuardian

Ability to perform historical and automatic scans. Cloud based: no need for on-premises infrastructure. Proper technical support.

User Profile

Abhishek

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Gitguardian prevented a major leak in my codebase

as i said, gitgauardian helped detect a leak in my codebase and emailed to notify me about it, else i would have found it pretty late.

PROS

It detected the leak pretty quick and gave me some steps which put me mentally at ease that my data was safe.

CONS

I think they can make there UI a little more user friendly as it is sometimes a little hard to navigate what leaks it detected and where its telling me to fix it, especially while im panicking.

Chris

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Easy to use for GitHub, not so easy for ADO.

PROS

Very easy to setup, simply a few clicks and you're done. Quickly alerts in near real time.

CONS

No support for integrating with ADO, which is frustrating because we've had to purchase another tool for this.

Vendor Response

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using GitGuardian. I am happy to learn our product is helping you keep your GitHub repositories secrets free. I also hear you and understand you had a difficult time using GitGuardian with Azure DevOps. While we don't offer a native integration for Azure Repos, the cloud-hosted solution for private Git repos, we do offer a native integration for Azure Pipelines to keep your CI pipelines secrets-free. I would like to offer you a dedicated 1:1 call to walk you through the setup, please drop me an email at ziad.ghalleb@gitguardian.com if you are interested. In addition, we can discuss your needs in terms of secrets scanning capabilities for Azure Repos and see how we can fit these in our 2022 roadmap. Thank you, Ziad

Replied November 2021

Torgny

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

GitGuardian integrates in a snap!

We are using GitGuardian to prevent secrets from leaking into repositories both public and private. So far our experience has been excellent. We actually leaked a private SSH key and got a notification from GitGuardian almost immediately. We were able to revoke the key and remediate the blunder.

PROS

Integration was a snap. We're already using pre-commit for most of our repos so hooking GitGuardian into the process was simple. Since we also already use GitHub, we found integration to be extremely easy.

CONS

We had no issues integrating GitGuardian and have not found any cons, yet.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your experience Torgny! It's great to see teams lay great store by Shift Left and use GitGuardian at the pre-commit level.

Replied October 2021

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Great product

PROS

The best feature of GitGuardian is its ability to find secrets based not on regex patterns, but on string entropy -- that allows you to locate things like database passwords that don't follow a particular pattern. GHAS (GitHub's native security toolkit) doesn't allow that.

CONS

I can't think of anything major. Billing model took me some time to understand.

Reason for choosing GitGuardian

See under "pros" above

Phani

Computer Games, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Git the getter

Very satisfied

PROS

The ease of use and ui and features makes me use git guardian daily

CONS

Bugs an atuff can make it harder to use sometimes

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with GitGuardian Phani. You can help us improve by telling us what went wrong. Please send an email to ziad [dot] ghalleb [at] gitguardian [dot] com detailing the bugs you have encountered and we will be happy to investigate.

Replied July 2021

User Profile

Yegor

Verified reviewer

Aviation & Aerospace, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

First impression of working with GitGuardian

My overall experience with GitGuardian has been very positive. I've used their platform to scan my repositories for secrets and vulnerabilities, personally, I had no problem setting it up the first time. GitGuardian has helped me improve my security practices and protect my code from unauthorized access.

PROS

I enjoyed using GitGuardian. It helped me protect my code from leaking sensitive data and secrets. This product is perfect for small businesses with up to 25 people and for individual use. The features that I found most helpful were the automatic scanning of commits and the alerts for potential breaches. The product was very easy to use and integrated well with my GitHub account and workflow. I would recommend GitGuardian to anyone who wants to secure their code and prevent data leaks.

CONS

As for the missing features, I think more detailed management of which repositories and files are tracked would be helpful.

User Profile

Giovani

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

GitGuardian review

GitGuardian emerges as a highly effective tool when it comes to identifying potential password leaks within GitHub commits. Its proficiency in this regard has proven invaluable, as it has brought to my attention several errors in my commits that I might not have noticed otherwise. By doing so, GitGuardian has played a pivotal role in preventing potentially severe security breaches.

PROS

Pretty efficient in detecting possible password leaks on GitHub commits. If it wasn't for GitGuardian's notification, I would not have realized several mistakes I've commited, and it could have led to a severe security breachs.

CONS

So far I haven't faced any problems that would fit in "dislike" about GitGuardian.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2021

GitGuardian the best to maintain a security of the repos in git

It has been great I trust it and the securities of my repos

PROS

It is pretty important to maintain the security of repos. I did not even aware of these until gitGuardian took place in my development.

CONS

I think a more friendly user interface is required to the dashboard of gitGuardian

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your experience using GitGuardian! If you have any thoughts or ideas on what could make the User Interface friendlier for you, please drop us an email at: ziad [dot] ghalleb [at] gitguardian [dot] com.

Replied July 2021

Carter

Human Resources, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Great way to prevent commits with unintended secrets

PROS

The product was easy to use and setup -- it integrated well with our existing stack. With only a few exceptions, the product has caught secrets before they were committed.

CONS

Really nothing negative to say about the product. It does what it is intended to do very well.

Eren

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Easy to use and very useful

PROS

It is hard to keep track of your projects all the time and GitGuardian does that for you reliably.

CONS

Sometimes you may get spammed with unimportant notifications.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Eren! GitGuardian's native integrations with the major VCS such as GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket is what makes tracking all your projects in real-time possible. We're sorry to hear you are receiving many notifications. Have you tried changing the settings in the notifications center to help you focus on secret incidents only?

Replied July 2021

Senamela

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Our Watchdog in Version Control

I have successfully traced and deleted compromised secrets and managed my repositories better using GitGuardian.

PROS

I have solved a lot of security issues with GitGuardian, from compromised API Keys, to secrets that were staged, it's a life saver.

CONS

Not much to fault, it's a life saver. I don't know what I would do without it.

Christian

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Ideal tool to get started with Secret scanning

PROS

-Easy to set up-The remediation workflow helps to quickly resolve findings and makes it easy to include developers in the process

CONS

- there really aren't any dislikes- Some of the more advanced features are only available with the Business and Enterprise plan

Matt

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Great product

Very positive, I'll be using it going forward and recommending it

PROS

GitGuardian has already saved my MySQL database and NewRelic accounts, the early alerts are fantastic.

CONS

Nothing really, the alerts are timely and informative, will use it on all my repos.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to review GitGuardian Matt. We're happy to learn we're protecting critical components such as your database! If you have any feature requests or feedback, drop us an email at contact [at] gitguardian [dot] com.

Replied October 2021

Akash

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

My Experience with GitGuardian

I like the experience so far, would love to use it more in the future

PROS

It is very important for developers those are not especially good at keeping those secrets safe.

CONS

More Friendlier UI, for easy management of things.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your experience Akash. If you would like to give us more detailed feedback on the UI, please send an email to ziad [dot] ghalleb [at] gitguardian [dot] com.

Replied July 2021

Shinobu

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

The very first glance at GitGuardian

I just started using it however it is very easy to use as well as efficient to find out security risks.

PROS

The scanning and pointing out risky code fragments is very useful to keep our code repository safe.

CONS

I would like to set up mail notification without adding an account.

joel

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

The platform at the height of our needs

PROS

Gitguardian is the response to our expectations, since he answered all our preoccupations, both in terms of monitoring and at risk alert

CONS

This platform is really perfect for our cost structure, and in terms of features that's all we needed

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Joel!

Replied July 2021

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Feel confident that your developers arn't commiting secrets.

Very positive, I feel more confident now that secrets wont be in git long if they are committed at all. I can trust if I haven't gotten an alert that there are no secrets.

PROS

I like the timely notifications when there is an alert, and the triage for dealing with them are quick and easily understood by users.

CONS

Integration with github more to create issues and pull requests to remove secrets would be nice.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your experience using GitGuardian! A greater in-VCS experience is definitely one of the goals we aim towards at GitGuardian. If you want to help us shape the future of this, please drop us an email at: ziad [dot] ghalleb [at] gitguardian [dot] com.

Replied July 2021

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

GitGuardian Repository Scanning: An Essential Tool

Our primary goal is to ensure secrets aren't accidentally exposed in our repositories, and it's the perfect tool for that!

PROS

GitGuardian is so easy to setup and use. I love how simple it is to analyze your repositories on GitHub and be warned if commits contain secrets.

CONS

The "free" Team pricing requires a manual support process, but it's not that big of a deal.