All PhpStorm Reviews

1-25 of 142 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Gabriel

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Expensive but extremely helpful

Having had previous experience with JetBrains IDEs in the past ( PyCharm, IntelliJ) I knew what to expect of it, and wasn't disappointed. It performs extremely well, it integrates with pretty much all the frameworks we needed here (laravel, lighthouse, graphql, docker, etc). Note that the licensing is subscription based (at the moment we started, it was about 9$/month/devel, which scales up pretty fast for large teams

PROS

- as with all JetBrains products, you get a nice, clean and extremely powerful interface - again, as with other JetBrains products it has a huge plugin base for all kinds of frameworks, formats and so on. - regularly updated - with the exception of the project loading part, it's extremely fast

CONS

- kind-of pricey, at least when compared with other tools

Reason for choosing PhpStorm

Everyone on team was familiar with other JetBrains products & all the other had one or more downsides.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

PhpStorm can be a bit heavy but it fits my needs Perfectly. The best editor I have used.

Love it in every aspect even though it can get sluggish sometimes it never fails. It's the swiss army knife for devs :)

PROS

PHPStorm does practically all a developer could think of. - Database Management - Various Languages support - Easy to the eye color theming - The search and replace is so powerful! - Ability to have your terminal right there without having to open yet another app. - Git!!! - So well organized - A+++

CONS

I have nothing when it comes to cons. This tool is so customizable that any time some feature bothers me I can just switch it off.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

The previous editor I used was just not versatile enough and having to add add-ons for every different language made it buggy and caused me downtime and loss of work.

Ben

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Feature Rich Code IDE

If you are a professional developer and need a quality tool for your work, PHPStorm is worth the money. But be prepared to put in the time to learn the IDE

PROS

The amount of work that you can get done without leaving the editor is fantastic. From sshing into your server, version control, database and testing. Great number of plugins for most frameworks and testing tools.

CONS

The price is becoming a bit of an issue for me. With that being said, it does make your development process so much easier. Memory usage is quite high too and sometimes I find myself using a more lightweight editor such as vscode or sublime.

Szabolcs

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Once you get used to it, you'll never leave it

We love working in PHPStorm, we like it's layout, the plugins, VCS integration, stability, responsiveness etc.

PROS

I liked the most the fluidness of it's usage. No hick-ups, no long indexing processes, fast auto-completion, quick search, useful refactoring wizards... If man uses other JetBrains IDEs, too, like Android Studio for example, then the convenience to have the same interface (UI, debugger, database browser etc.) and especially hotkeys is very pleasant.

CONS

Color scheme is different from other editors, this took a bit time to get used to (1 week at most) but really can't tell any bad things about it.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

Netbeans (pre Apache) lacks support for newer PHP versions, and the new Apache version is still buggy.

Krystian

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Product Review

I switched from Microsoft Visual Studio Code and i was very suprised how PHP Storm handles code, allows you to do a lot of wonderful things. Great product and i would recommend it to every PHP Developer. I think it's a must have for Php developers with every level of seniority.

PROS

Easy to use, helps you to keep your code clean, easy github integration, allows to show databases and tables within, customizable, TODO list builded in, debugg tool

CONS

Sometimes it has issues after updates but it's rapidly fixed, price could be lower but overall great product.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

Colleagues recommended me this tool and i saw few ads about this.

Maciej

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Jetbrain tool for PHP - cannot use anything else

Tool that I used for many years. Helped me develop quicly, efficiently and cooperate with teams. It can be easily converted to program frontend Javascript apps also.

PROS

- refactoring working like a charm - renaming, moving, duplication detection, deletion, - installing plugins is easy - unit tests are easy to write, maintain, debug and see in graphical interface

CONS

that still debugging isn't that easy in Php, so nothing could help, even PHP storm

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

Because it was recomended to me to try something not that harsh as netbeans.

User Profile

Theodor

Verified reviewer

Online Media, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

A must have for PHP Developers

PROS

In a shortcut, this is the best PHP IDE. Quick updates to various PHP versions. Auto completion help coding much faster and amazing compatibility with most Web coders like GitHub, Laravel framework and Dockers.

CONS

Price is slightly increasing whenever you renew yearly instead of decreasing.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

After trying the 30 days free version, I loved the most how quickly they do the update whenever there is a new version of the code languages, PHP.

User Profile

Jithin

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Perfect IDE for PHP Compatibility Review

Setting up takes time, but once everything is set up, PHPStorm is the perfect all-in-one solution for a developer. Built-in Git version control. Deployment options with code comparison and sync. Automatic code completion is better than other IDEs

PROS

The IDE is the perfect all-in-one solution for a developer. The PHP Compatibility check saved our migration projects tons of time and effort. The comparison/sync option when deploying is such a time saver.

CONS

The application is heavy in terms of memory and disk space usage, but it makes sense considering all the available functionalities.

Reason for choosing PhpStorm

Cost-effective, and has all necessary features for a development team.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

Trying to Find a better all-in-one solution focused on PHP

User Profile

ramon

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Powerful code editor

Daily use for php code editing (html and Javascript inside it) can be used with frameworks or pure. I like the functions and integrations with git and code generators like gets and sets

PROS

At first you may be scared by so many tools, but with the use you start to enjoy so many features that it offers you. In addition to autocomplete, code generators, hyperlink between functions, it also has amazing integration with git, you can commit, pull and push by the editor itself, as well as being able to resolve conflicts.

CONS

The price can be a disadvantage, they offer the free version for students, and I think it takes too long to open the program, I usually don't close to avoid this delay to open the first time.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

The netbeans interface is not friendly, and there are few frameworks plugins

Jose

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Phpstorm good but vscode could do the same

For what I used it for it worked well. But I could’ve done the same with vscode and not have to pay the license fee.

PROS

I liked the features such as code correction and file pathing. It helped me keep my code clean and is a great gui if you are coding php

CONS

The fact that alot of these features are available with vscode and that is a free code editor. I koved from vscode to php storm only to be able to do the same things. Needless to say I didn’t renew the php storm licensing

Jérémie

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

The time saved is clearly worth the price of PHPStorm

PROS

I was very sceptical that paying for a tool would really change anything. I tried the free trial for 30 days, and I didn't hesitate. I even bought other software from the company because there is a real monitoring of the tool, the possibility to continue using the software via their fallback license system and a real monitoring of the trends in terms of Framework. These are all points that have made my daily life easier in my work. I have gained in productivity; but it is above all the gain in work comfort that I appreciate. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

CONS

The most negative point for me is the memory consumption. Combined with a Docker, 8GB of RAM quickly becomes saturated. A little effort on this side and it's perfect.

Caleb

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

PhpStorm - Leading PHP IDE

It has been my pleasure to be working with this one of a kind IDE. You could spend you lifetime learning and using all its magnificent and glorious set of tools and extended features. This is my main go to IDE for all the coding that I do one a daily basis and have no intentions of ever trading.

PROS

PhpStorm is a super smart PHP IDE and one of the best to my knowledge on the market. It has some of the most used features you love including but not limited to code completion to help speed up the work flow, parameter hints to help remind you of the order of parameters, Inspection, keyword completion, a fully fledged HTTP client built into the IDE, code refactor in the case you forgot to indent etc., a database browser for editing and execution along with a database terminal and also, the famous version control which is built-in, reducing the need to leave the IDE which coding. PhpStorm also has completions, inspections and intentions built in for CSS, JavaScript and HTML and many more front-end technologies along with refactorings, unit testing and debugging . In additions to the may awesome, time saving and productive features and tools, PhpStorm has support for many major frameworks including Laravel, Joomla, cakePHP, Symfony and more. How cool is that!

CONS

With so many awesome features and tools available in this IDE, I have no dislikes at this moment.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

A bit pricey, but totally worth it if you're serious about your work

It massively improved my productivity since I started using it. It's literally a single tool/IDE that will provide you with everything you need to work on your PHP websites, all in one place. It also has many features that make it much easier to debug and refactor code.

PROS

It has many native integrations, including SFTP, GIT, Xdebug, MySQL, etc. If set up correctly, it's very powerful.

CONS

It's a bit pricey and it can be slow at times, but it's totally worth it, in my opinion.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

PHPStorm is much, much more powerful.

User Profile

Wilco

Verified reviewer

Program Development, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

The best software to manage PHP projects

PROS

PhpStorm comes with a lot of built in features. It is easy to get started but you can also do some really advanced things if necessary. The autocompletion is really fast and good. The inline documentation lookup is very useful and makes programming a lot faster if you forgot what a method does exactly or how it should be used. It is also very accurate at giving type errors when needed, which is quite difficult with PHP since it is dynamically typed. It can also handle very large projects without becoming unresponsive or slow, even with searching through files.

CONS

Sometimes PhpStorm interprets a variable as having a different type than it actually has when there are two classes in the project with the same name. Autocompletion of object functions only works when PhpStorm knows exactly the type of the variable. Sometimes it can be hard to find certain settings/options because of the large number of customizable settings.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

More features that make programming easier and faster. The program itself is also faster.

Madhusudan

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

For complex codebases, PHPStorm is a versatile and feature-rich IDE.

Only a few of our organization's developers use PhpStorm. The greatest IDE for PHP/web development currently available, in my opinion, is PhpStorm. I required a solution for the development of several PHP applications. It is true that Phpstorm is an all-in-one programming solution because of the abundance of fantastic features it provides. It typically fixes the issue of requiring many tools to finish a task.

PROS

Popular PHP debugging tools with easy settings that function even while operating inside a virtual machine. automatic creation of helpful features like autocomplete and tooltips from the PHPDoc comments of a project. Theme Design

CONS

When a project is attached to an open project, the project structure is not obvious. A more complete implementation of the Git client is what I would like to see. I firmly believe they could provide a product that would be competitive with GitKraken, Sourcetree, or SmartGit if they invested a bit more time into it.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Perfect for php development

PROS

Phpstorm is very intuitive to use and helps with code formatting according to PSR standards

CONS

Sometimes it can be slow and laggy when you open big projects due to indexing

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

Better and more features

Jens Olaf

Program Development, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

PhpStorm is the one tool I need for Laravel and Statamic development

PROS

I wonder nowadays how I could ever write and develop any code without this editor. There is nearly nothing you need to do as a programmer/developer you cannot do in PhpStorm. There are plugins available for everything. There is even a plugin for Antlers code highlighting, the template language of Statamic CMS (for Laravel).

CONS

I think it lacks more integrated help texts and assistants. Sometimes it's quite difficult to remember commands (you can search for that, okay) and it is looks a bit overloaded sometimes.

Reason for choosing PhpStorm

Because friends recommended this editor and I liked the UI better than VSCode.

User Profile

Muhammad Daud

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Great Dev Tool for Code Management

PhpStorm being a detailed tool allowed us to carry out our work. We found Php Storm to be faster and quicker in compiling process and integration with our applications. It meets our requirement for Code management with teamwork, file sync and all in one place coding and management. Very easy to refresh the code and compile with enough resources

PROS

Php Storm was a great match and fit for our organization to deal with the code management, code development and connecting to our linux for all in one place solution. We found Php Storm to be faster and quicker in compiling process and integration with our applications.

CONS

Php Storm uses more resources so you have to make sure the hardware you are using is compatible enough to run large code compiling and execution.

Reasons for switching to PhpStorm

Deployed new licenses for Php storm and transferred the code over

User Profile

Nujan

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY