User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(280)

280

4 stars

(177)

177

3 stars

(30)

30

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse SPSS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 483 results

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Akshay from byo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Gets You Results with a Reasonable Learning Curve

I used this software for Market Research related applications and this helped me quickly complete the tests and save them as per how I wanted it. In the projects I used it for, it gave out some interesting results and takeaways which helped in business planning.

Pros

1. It literally covers just so many options of tests, from regression to anova and much more. 2. It's like a one stop destination for all queries related to data 3. Can handle massive amounts of data and inputs

Cons

1. A manual/tips section within the software could have eased my learning curve to an extent. 2. UI/UX can be improved 3. High cost

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

Covers more tests etc as compared to MS Excel.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Slash Marky from Bowies16

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2021

Good program to educate.

It is a very powerful software, which is very good to use it in educational centers for students. It has a good price, so it is a good option for independent statistical studies.

Pros

It has a simple and uncomplicated platform when learning to use it. It handles terms that were handled at my university and data can be exported from Excel.

Cons

Visually it leaves a lot to be desired, as in its graphics and its graphics edits are very slow. It should be more compatible with Micrsoft programs.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

spss is a simpler program and my teachers recommended it to start my research.

November 2021

Marek from Nofer Institute of Occupational Medicine

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

IBM SPSS as a tool for a researcher

Pros

It is very specialized tool for its purpose. There are cheaper solutions but replacing IBM SPSS with something else highly increases the effort required to perform the same task or requires some level of programmer skills. For example, custom tables (one of extension modules for SPSS) provided the easiest to use and also the most effective tool to build your own tables I have ever seen. On the other hand, the syntax window (or the syntax console) provides you so many ways to reduce time required for your tasks (it is just a matter of your skills in writing commands/syntax).

Cons

In my humble opinion data visualization is a main drawback of SPSS. MS Excel, which is a popular and cheap, still offer a way better solutions for making graphs, charts and decorated tables (which is not only a matter of aesthetic, but it also enables to highlight some data, trend etc.). I suppose that at some level of mastering SPSS features it may provide some essential advantages over MS Excel, but for for a user with low or medium experience editing graphs, charts or table via IBM SPSS might be really challenging.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

I was familiar with IBM SPSS.

January 2022

Jorge from Worldpanel

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2022

easy implementation of statistical methodologies, but expensive and little and with a dynamic but no

It has fulfilled what is necessary for all the information processing, descriptive and predictive analytics and automation of certain processes. However, for the price of the licenses and the additional features that other free software offers, it is a software that has lost a lot of potentials.

Pros

It is a very useful tool for economists, statisticians and mathematicians. It presents functionalities and methodologies that are easy to implement in a data table. The support and help explain the processes and algorithms are very detailed and for the detractors of the lines of code, it is a very friendly tool. The syntax and language of the system itself are easy to understand, but its main characteristics are that without knowing the language, the interface is very interactive and quite intuitive.

Cons

Working with large and multiple sources of information is a bit cumbersome and complex. Despite being very dynamic and presenting a large number of reporting features, I feel that it is aesthetically well below other tools when making a report or graph

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Thuffail from Kevilton Electrical Products

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Analyze your data with statistical theories

I used SPSS for research projects in Master of Business Administration. In the beginning data analyzing and learning the use of software was a time consuming process. I understood that this software can also used for organizational data analysis where sufficient data is available. However , the software lacks intelligence to select correct data out of the imported data therefore data cleansing is important.

Pros

Data can be easily imported to the software from data bases and Excel. Once the data is imported the graphical depiction of the data can be used to identify the behavior of data. After understanding the behavior of the data the data can be analyzed using the available statistical models. The most suitable statistical model for the data can be finalized in the process of data analysis. The software has a broad range of statistical models build on linear and regression theories and models. The software is easy to use with an unsophisticated menu driven interface. Anyone with basic mathematical knowledge can use the software for the analysis. An expert in statistics is not needed as data analyzing consists of few simple steps. However , 3- 4 weeks is needed to properly familiarize with the software. Basically four steps can be identified in using this software. First step is importing data , second step is selection of a procedure , third step is selection of a variable for data analyzing and fourth step is generating of results.

Cons

The efficiency of the software decreases when the size of data increases. Therefore, this can be a major drawback when used in the sectors such as health care. SPSS has 2 main windows one depicting data and the other depicting results. Therefore the software is too simple with limited windows. The software is very similar to excel and most of the results obtained in SPSS also can be obtained in excel by complex calculations .This is comparatively expensive compared to the similar software. The data should be cleaned before analysis in order to generate correct results.

March 2021

Thomas from Université de Yaoundé II

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

The ultimate tool for data entry and analysis of large databases!

For more than 6 years now, in our missions of baseline studies, market and impact assessments of projects; after some missions of large-scale information collection via paper and/or digital media, we have always opted for the use of IBM SPSS software as a tool for data entry and/or analysis. It is an excellent tool for data entry because it is easy to use when setting up a data entry mask and it is also easy to use by the data entry agents. We also use it regularly for statistical analysis (PCA, AFM, Student's t test, etc.) and sometimes econometric analysis (OLS, Oprobit, Probit, Logit, etc.). Therefore, it is a very useful software for statistical, graphical and sometimes econometric analyses of large databases.

Pros

Excellent software for entering questionnaires, coding variables and analyzing primary data. Easy to use and available in several languages (including English and French). Its interface is very attractive and designed.

Cons

The software is much more suited to the analysis of survey data and performs poorly in the specification of econometric models of panel data.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

Because SPSS seems to us easy and too practical to use and provides more advanced functionalities than the above-mentioned software (Excel, SPAD, etc.)

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Diego from DMR

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A great tool for statistical analysis of large datasets

Pros

After learning the basics of the software it becomes intuitive to use, if you use their guide you can make it through the steps to perform any basic task. It had multiple functions that were very useful for most sorts of statistical analysis that are required in quantitative research.

Cons

There should be a quicker way to change the types of variables of multiple variables in use, and the graphs should be easier to customize.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

SPSS allowed for better handling of large datasets and more appropriate data analysis.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Saurav from Southern Illinois univ Carbondale

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Very useful for statistical analyses

I was trying to run a set of statistical analyses on climatic variables that include temperature and precipitation on a monthly time scale

Pros

I have used quite a few statistical softwares that include SPSS, SAS, R. SPSS was very useful for the climate data that I was working with. I felt it was easier than SAS as SAS involved a lot of coding

Cons

It did take some time to get accustomed with SPSS but that would be true for most softwares out there

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

I wanted to use different statistical softwares to see which one I like the most for the data I had

January 2022

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Very fast and finest software for everyday use

It is very reliable software for all students.

Pros

Different windows make data need and clean. All the features are working well and syntax for better analyzing.

Cons

More features and analysis tools are important thing in completing the analysis.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The Only Statistical Tool You Need

SPSS has a learning curve in the beginning but after working out a few kinks, the program allows the user to do all their data needs.

Pros

I used SPSS to conduct my masters research into federal employee retention of millennials. The program was able to handle data points from all 15 federal agencies over 10 years along with 20 plus other data factors. SPSS made it easy to organize the data and execute stat checks on the research.

Cons

There were times where I had to consult an SPSS research guide in order to execute certain formulas. SPSS is a vast program but it can be a little daunting when you first start out.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

SPSS provides more functionality and features than Microsoft Excel.

November 2021

Gilbert from Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

A great software for statistical analysis, though lacking on graphics generation

SPSS allowed my research group to integrate dozens of co-variables alongside publicly available survival data to measure cox-proportional hazards. It was incredibly simple to use and extremely fast. I recommend SPSS to anyone limited to click-interface software even though the graphics generation capability is lacking.

Pros

The most impactful features of SPSS are the myriad statistical functions that one can deploy with a click of button. SPSS is easy to use. One can go from thousands of datapoints to meaningful data in a few clicks and seconds. SPSS is fast, relatively easy to use, and can perform more types of statistical analyses when compared to other click-interface statistical software.

Cons

While the statistical analysis power of SPSS is superb, the graphics output is simply lacking. The graphs generated simply do not look appealing and require heavy editing using other software to become publication quality.

November 2021

Haroon from Pakistan Institute of Fashion and Design

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Best for Statistical Analysis

Pros

SPSS is the best software for statistical analysis i have ever found. Since, i am a research student, it enables me to perform various tests such as reliability test, regression test etc. to find results having done the analysis.

Cons

Although, SPSS is essential to be used for research purposes, it offers some limitations as well such as the graph feature which are not as simpler as MS Excel. Which needs to focused in order to make it more convenient to its users.

August 2020

Scott from Surf Psychology, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

The Best and The Rest

After being introduced to SPSS about 10 years ago I have never used any other similar product. I have even helped colleagues who use a different program with their analyses by saving their data to a USB, using SPSS in my office, and providing them with a hard copy of the results as well as the SPSS input/output data. Typically, they want to know how to get their hands on a copy of SPSS.

Pros

SPSS is a phenomenal resource for data analysis be it for an advanced statistician or a student learning basic research methodology. The program is designed to run very simple analyses (mean, mode, median, SD, T-Tests) to complex theoretical modeling in order to identify and name IV's and DV's. SPSS provides reader-friendly and exhaustive help within the program, as well as live help if needed (which, in my experience is not very often). I love the options that I can add to the output such as graphs, charts, histograms, and what specific data means based on what I want analyzed. Much easier to use that other programs of a similar nature, which means I spend less time asking a colleague in the Math Department if I am using the most appropriate analysis based on the data collected. Also, I appreciate how easy it is to copy and paste tables and images into a text document.

Cons

Until there is a technology that allows one to immediately "download" large and complex bodies of information into the brain, I have little criticism for SPSS. If I am in deep water and do not fully understand what the "Help" section is telling me, I simply step backward until I reach a level that I do understand and move forward from there. Kind of like teaching myself. It is unreasonable to blame a program for my own limitations.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

A colleague agreed to help me with some questions about data analysis and brought her laptop which had SPSS loaded on it. I watched what she did, asked what company made the software, and then got my own. Watching what she did with such ease was a little humiliating and frustrating because I understood what I observed, yet could not get the same intuitive functionality from the program I was using. Additionally, current and typical college students have not been taught to ask questions, be skeptics, think critically, and know where/how to find objective information. As a result, all of my General Psychology classes require students working in small groups to ask a question, refine the question so that it can be researched, conduct a lit review, develop a methodology, conduct the research, analyze the data using SPSS that they download for a 30 day trial, and write an article that adheres to the submission guidelines for most peer-reviewed journals. Without SPSS, I doubt that this project could be completed.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Best stats package with the ease of functionality and mechanism.

My overall experience with SPSS has been great and I strongly recommend it. It is very useful in market research and business analytics industry as most research projects deal with descriptive and multivariate statistical approach. I have been using SPSS for last ten years and it has provided very good functionality with each update and version. Overall I highly recommend this software package.

Pros

Very easy to use. High level functionality and easy to perform mechanisms. Fine way of operations. Can run anything from basic descriptive statistics to high level simulations. Easy to import data in different formats (csv, xls, sav, etc.). Data cleaning process are easily executed which includes missing value imputation, data recoding, and data restructuring. Very functional in running multivariate methods like exploratory factor analysis, ANOVA, linear regression, logistic regression, discriminant analysis, and MANCOVA. Most operations are done through interactive dashboard, which is hassle free. Overall it is a great statistical package to run different analysis at a very affordable price.

Cons

It is tedious to do multiple iterations using SPSS. Syntax functionality is low and lines of codes become exhaustive when you run monte carlo simulations. The most challenging aspect is to run simulations with large data sets. The support provided by the support team doesn't extend beyond technical support. SPSS requires add ons for running the simulations which cost extra to the users. Overall it is deficient in running certain simulations.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

SPSS has provides better functionality compared to JMP as the dashboard abilities are much better than JMP. SPSS is highly effective when running multivariate statistics methods and the ease of use add upto the value compared to JMP. Overall very efficient and highly functional compared to JMP.

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Carlos from Centro de Salud Santa Ines UCAB

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Analyze the information of your work with this software specialized in statistics.

The use of IBM SPSS by our company has generated excellent results in the planning, management and dissemination of our management as a Health Center. It is thanks to the options of IBM SPSS, that I have been able to systematize, compare and analyze large databases of our patients, offering better solutions to their problems and establishing the statistical data necessary for the evaluation of our activities. Large companies that wish to project themselves and compete in the market, I recommend that they use this software and thus will be able to make the best management decisions according to the evaluation of the data inherent to their company.

Pros

IBM SPSS, is a very sophisticated software that specializes in statistical analysis according to different data and variables such as graphical databases, probabilities, percentiles and so on. The most outstanding feature of this software is that it has many modules, which are the computer language of the software and allow a more exhaustive analysis of the information collected in your work. Among the most outstanding modules we have tables, categories of variables, joint analyses, maps, exact tests, data validation, analysis of lost values. It is a software that, with practice becomes the best tool for database analysis thanks to its file system, which facilitates the processing of information. Another advantage of this software is that it considerably reduces the analysis time of statistical variables, making the productivity of workers is optimal.

Cons

In order to fully manage IBM SPSS, it is necessary to apply certain computer knowledge, which means that not everyone, including expert social scientists, can use this software in its entirety.

September 2020

Luca from Tendentia srl

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

The history of statistics

This is the software that I use the most for my work and, even if at times I have to struggle a little to perform "new things", I always find a way. I managed to automate many many tasks and I have reached a very high level of productivity, meaning that I can click a button, let the computer run all nights, and the morning after I find all the jobs done.

Pros

The ability to perform almost all easy and complex statistical analysys without writing code AND the possibility to automate simple and complex tasks by actually writing code. This software is huge and it supports a very large set of feautures.

Cons

This software is a milestone for statisticians of all over the world. I've been using it for more than 30 years. This means that this software is aging more and more, and perhaps it needs a faster modernization cycle than the current.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

No other products were considered, SPSS doesn't have any REAL alternative. It can be used together with R to satisfy almost all statistical need.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

Less complex to use and faster to achieve results.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Arpine from Viva-MTS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Data management and analysis software for newbies and for professionals

I have started to use SPSS when I was a student, now I have 10+ years of experience using it. Thanks to its user-friendly interface it is quite easy for the newbies to get started with the software, and after a while be proficient to use the syntax and optimize the time when managing databases and running analysis.

Pros

The software has almost all the tools the analyst or database manager needs to have. The newer versions also support Armenian characters, which is a huge improvement of the database quality, there is no need any more to transcribe tons of questions and responses. Also, there are tons of tutorials with detailed explanation, also thick books for folks who prefer the old school method. When writing this review, I couldn't assess the support center, and I caught myself thinking that there are plenty of SPSS users out there and once googled some question, eventually many reviews pop up. That is why I have never contacted the support for help.

Cons

When working with large databases, specifically if there are multiple textual columns (non-numeric), the work of the program as well as the computer is obviously slowing down. Another point is that the missing values should be max 3 or a range plus one value. When creating the variable and defining missing values, one should pay attention and set the values so they won't need to do the re-coding.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Steven from Modern Metrics Barn

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

A sports car product

I've used SPSS since it was only available on mainframe computers and so I am quite comfortable with the software. I can move data in and out of the system. I use SPSS for evaluation but always move to something else for visualization.

Pros

SPSS is a feature rich product that has evolved to serve professional statisticians. It can do almost everything you could imagine. The new integration with R makes it even more capable. If you are trying to perform advanced modeling it can do it. It accepts data in most formats and can export data with ease.

Cons

Like a sports car, it is not easy. The menu system is not intuitive and options can be fussy. After years of working with it, I sometimes still end up searching for the test I want. The graphics are widely accepted in academic publications but are far behind those for the more commercial press. Tables often must be reworked to meet the standards necessary for any quality report. The software comes in several flavors. This is great for saving money but often leaves people wanting features or tests only available in the next upgrade. Given the high cost of the software -- particularly for business customers -- an upgrade can be prohibitive.

April 2019

Rajah from National Building Research Organization

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Helpful assistant to reveal the insight of the statistical data

Great software to enhance the productivity of the statistical data. providing various tools and functions to reveal the insights of any statistical data.

Pros

I have been using licensed version of IBM SPSS statistics for 2 years (nowadays SPSS 23). SPSS has the capability to handle any statistical data which are in the format of rows and columns. variable view of the SPSS provides user friendly platform to enter the survey data within a structured environment, so it makes data entries easier and faster without having errors in the format. it supports various other format of statistical data such as excel, dbf, csv etc., and also can directly import from another database such as MS Access and postgre sql. Contains all the required tools to maintain statistical and string data (merge, split, query, re code, compare, etc.) thus it recommended for statistical data management and analysis. Integration of python and script platform provides the path for automate the repetitive tasks and support complex statistical functions. my favourable feature of this product (SPSS 23) is the integration of the Geo spatial association rules which has the ability to reveal spatial pattern and predication from the spatial data attributes.

Cons

It is a commercial product, so it would cost reasonable amount to purchase. there are some issues happening during the database integration with other databases. standard of the user help forums has to be enhanced to get most of the usage out of the software.

March 2020

Ingrid from ASCOVIME

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The life saving software for data entry and analysis

As an epidemiologist, I work with data in the form of numbers on the daily. SPSS is very reliable and the export feature to excel is absolutely great. It generates graphs and that makes the presentation and interpretation of results easier. I was recently working on blood donation at the level of a central blood bank and SPSS was a life saver, working on a population of 2000 blood donors and being able to provide answers on the epidemiological characteristics of these blood donors in order to develop subsequent strategies for donor retention and recruitement was urgent and in the short deadline i had, SPSS was the only software which helped me reach the given ojectives. This is one out of many cases where SPSS was on point.

Pros

First of all the interface is amazing and you can easily switch from variable view to data view. This makes it easy to keep track of your work and progress and make sure the data you are entering is correct. It is incredibly easy to create a data base and insert your collected data. It is simple and user friendly. In the healthcare domain, we work with so many variables and have very large sample sizes most of the time, and being able to sort cases as well as variables makes this app a game changer compared to previous ones I have come across and used. With basic statistical knowledge it is possible for anyone to carry out statistical operations and as an epidemiologist this is perfect for me as I can analyze my data by myself and move on to interpreting the results.

Cons

I believe this software is heavy and it is always slow to start when opened, it takes quite a while and since it is one I use all the time, I have it installed on all my laptops and it always tends to be slow which can be tiresome especially when you are in a rush to carry out an operation to see the results and quickly interprete. Apart from that the software itself once opened is quick and prompt in its responses.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

Mainly because creating a database was a tideous process and data entry was as well given I work on large populations.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Criminologist's best friend

The SPSS has been part of my training as a professional, and later I have used it very often in the development of my theses to obtain higher academic degrees. In my profession, it is very useful to process statistical information that helps to make appropriate decisions regarding public policy. So he's my best friend as a criminologist.

Pros

The SPSS is part of the training of any criminologist interested in studying the criminal phenomenon. It is a complete program that allows any statistical analysis to help generate tables, graphs, and perform statistical tests that allow variables to be associated. It is very easy to use and has a very nice interface. Each new version incorporates interesting elements that allow the analysis to be extended, even with qualitative data. I use it very often in research and to present information of statistical relevance. It is the best statistical package for the social sciences. Of course it is used by many scientific disciplines such as sociology and psychology.

Cons

It may seem expensive at first, but the benefits are numerous, and it is worth investing in it. Of the rest I have nothing negative to say.

July 2021

Jayaprakash from National Building Research Organisation

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Effective software platform which helps to perform statiscal analysis and Structured data entry task

Our organisation prepares insightfull reports and summary statistics with the support of SPSS, it benefits to the productivity of the projects and decision making process.

Pros

I have been using 32-bit version of IBM SPSS statistic software for more than 5 years to perform various statistical analysis and data entry purposes. It is a flexible software to analyze large set of tabular data compares to other products. It also provides the user-friendly platform to set up and carry out the data entries which can help to enter the data from the questionnaire surveys effectively. SPSS designed to support all required statistical analysis for decision making which range from descriptive statistical functions such as central tendency, distribution and shape to certain inferential statistical assessments. Obviously, SPSS software is a great option for statistical analysis and data entries to both academics and enterprise users.

Cons

In order to perform statistical analysis users must have the knowledge in scripting to operate the tools in SPSS (Especially in the desktop version). Cost is another drawback, however there are several options available including monthly subscription methods and academic editions.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

This was the only product which suited the requirement of our organisation 10 years back

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

SPSS is Value for Money

I have used it to analyze data collected from market research for the services I offer. I am able to then make informed decisions from the trends I observe through the analyses.

Pros

As a student of the social sciences, I was expected to conduct research and calculate appropriate statistics in order to draw accurate conclusions. I became overwhelmed by the complex nature of these calculations. I was relieved to discover that, in the real world, I was not expected to calculate t-tests, ANOVA, chi-square (and countless others) manually. I remember having several aha moments during my Data Analysis course as we were taught the software step-by-step. This software has since become a mainstay in my personal and professional life. I once used it to analyze upwards of 300 questionnaires and was blown away at how easily and quickly I was able to compare the data. There were 6 demographic questions and I was able to breakdown responses based on each classification. It offers a wealth of statistical capabilities at the touch of a button.

Cons

It is intimidating at first. It is also rather expensive.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

I never learned to do statistics in Excel. So I wanted to stick to what I knew. I also anticipated comparing large amounts of data, which SPSS does more efficiently.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Jose from IUTIRLA Porlamar

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

A great tool for the statistical analysis of data for its simplicity and excellent results

Ease and speed in the analysis of large volumes of data, in addition to a wide possibility for the treatment of them in a single software and for a price quote adequate to the results provided

Pros

It is an excellent software for handling large volumes of data, because it allows in a simple way without great technical knowledge to perform from simple statistical calculations, descriptive statistics, data validation to inferential or predictive statistics. It is designed in a simple and user-friendly way since it is not necessary to use complex knowledge to encode data when using qualitative data. In relation to the predictive information that allows to generate is of great support for decision making, especially through the statistical models generated by the data under study, thus allowing the obtaining of models whose level of confidence can reach up to 95% . In a few words, an ideal software for research, mainly in the social area.

Cons

Due to the large number of possibilities it offers for the treatment and analysis of data, it can be quite overwhelming in principle, especially if the differences between each of the analysis possibilities it provides are not clear. This also means that it is necessary to dedicate a considerable time to explore each one of the possibilities that it offers and to see the tutorials offered for the use of the software. Another disadvantage is the quality of the generated graphics, if we compare them with other similar software for the handling and analysis of data that exist in the market, since if we want to have better quality graphics, mainly if we need to make presentations in general we must go to other software.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Ryan from Temple University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

The industry leader for ages (...and it shows)

Once I learned how to use SPSS to do what I needed it to do, it became an invaluable tool and a critical part of my workflow--indeed, trying to learn other statistical software packages after figuring out SPSS felt a bit like trying to "unlearn" how to ride a bike. It does have its quirks and flaws, mainly surrounding its UI, but these are literally cosmetic.

Pros

The range of statistical tests and techniques available from the get-go in SPSS is unmatched, and there are additional modules that can be added to expand the software's abilities. It becomes relatively intuitive the more you use it, and its export options for the results it calculates are quite robust.

Cons

SPSS is quite intimidating if you've never used it before, and without guidance, it may feel almost impossible to get started with it. Perhaps its biggest problem is its ongoing legacy support for previous versions--in other words, IBM periodically seems to slap a new front end on the software, but with just a click or two, you immediately encounter dialog boxes and windows that look like they belong on a machine running Windows XP (...or earlier!). The overreliance on pop-up windows makes the interface even more dated and clunky. Honestly, IBM should completely gut the software and start over from scratch, but presumably that's too big of a task, which leaves us with this black box that has been coated with dozens of layers of proverbial paint.

July 2018

zahra from Alibaba

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

It is user friendly, professional and perfect for those people who need to analyze quantitative data

Working with this software in one of the most important section of my job.

Pros

As a market researcher I should work with SPSS daily. It is a software for analyzing quantitative data.it is easy to import data from other software like Microsoft Excel and analyze them. Also some online survey platforms have SPSS output and you can import data from them to SPSS directly. If you just want to have some descriptive statistics, it is easy to learn, but if you want to analyze data with parametric and non-parametric exams, it is a bit difficult so it is better to take a class about 1 week and learn SPSS fast. Then you will enjoy analyzing data.

Cons

For drawing charts from data, SPSS is not suitable because it doesn't have a beautiful data visualization. Visualization tools for drawing charts in SPSS are few; so every time that I want to draw a chart, I should copy the table of analyzed data on SPSS to Excel and draw the chart.

June 2019

Hilary from Medical Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Analyse your dissertation data with spss

Hard to use, but it gets the job done, and you get your results which are reliable and well tabulated.

Pros

it helped me analyse my survey data when l was writing up my dissertation. its simpler that other statistical tools I could import and export data easily from excel to spss l managed to analyse descriptive data and do regressions using a YouTube tutorial. data analysis doesn't take forever, its quick it allowed me to edit, when doing school work one always makes errors, and with spss you can redo as many times as you need to. for basic data interpretetion and analysis spss is the good to go

Cons

its difficult to use, alone you cant unless maybe you are a math and stats guru sadly it doesn't copy and paste tables and charts neatly to Microsoft word, l had to type again if l wanted the analyse data to be on my word documents and that is a lot of work.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

spss was easier to use for me compared to stata

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

SPSS - fantastic platform for running statistical analyses.....at a cost

SPSS is more straight forward to use in comparison to its competitors, but it is more expensive. Open source alternatives such as R are great, but require knowledge in traditional code such as Python. SPSS is more beginner friendly than R. Use SPSS if you can afford it.

Pros

SPSS allows me to work in point and click and also in syntax to run analyses to solve our research questions. I typically run linear regressions, ANOVAs, ANCOVAs, and descriptives/frequencies in SPSS. My favorite part of this software is how easy it is to use in comparison to its competitors.

Cons

I really dislike the price of a license. My company covers the cost of the license so I do not have to worry about it, but I would be hesitant to use SPSS if I had to purchase a license on my own dime.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

Ease of use.

July 2018

Corey from GSU

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

My experience with SPSS has been nothing short of amazing. I rely on it daily, and am never let down

Pros

SPSS is incredibly user-friendly, which is obviously important when it comes to statistical analyses. More specifically, rather than having to learn a certain coding language in order to run analyses, one can just navigate through the menus while also collecting the syntax from these operations in order to replicate in the future. Compared to other statistical analysis softwares, SPSS is as familiar as can be, and is as approachable as possible. It is easy to teach to others, and it also makes professional and publishable graphs.

Cons

Though a tiny quip, SPSS has a few limitations when it comes to making graphs - for example, if one were to make a stacked bar graph of their data, they are unable to add error bars to it, which, as any researchers knows is incredibly important. Other than that, I cannot say that I have any major dislikes about SPSS.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

SPSS for digital mental health research

I am the Principal Investigator of a NIMH funded study that aims to test the efficacy of digital platforms in delivering cognitive training software to people with psychotic illnesses. Our serves store enormous amounts of data and we leverage the processing ability of SPSS to customize multiple data analysis pipelines. I've used SPSS for almost 10 years now and I must admit that it continues to represent an indispensable tool in my research.

Pros

SPSS Is the milestone of our data analysis pipeline. The software has been increasingly more user friendly release after release, the graphical interface is more intuitive, and the customization options have improved. SPSS syntax is easy to learn, implement, and teach to students in the lab.

Cons

Some advanced statistical functions require syntax that isn't available through the menu options. I find myself sending syntax to colleagues and students in order to accelerate collaborative analytical projects

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Thomas from Econometric Studios

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

If you're looking for a point-and-click analytics software, SPSS is probably the best one out there.

The software benefits me by offering easy to read and useful tables and charts that don't require tons of time outside of the software to make the tables/charts publication quality. Every reader of my SPSS works loves what SPSS produces.

Pros

SPSS is the most user-friendly statistical analysis and data mining software on the market. The point-and-click interface makes it easy to construct. The ability to create scripts for future automation is nice and its movement into new areas like text analytics and big data makes it more useful. The SPSS output is the best I've ever used for publication quality tables.

Cons

Although SPSS is very user-friendly, its graphical capabilities are sub-par compared to similar software. Because the software is so user-friendly, if you're a more advanced user like myself, SPSS takes more time and has more restrictions to customize the reports and analytical reports.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Industry standard for psychological research

Definitely the standard statistical package in my field (psychology research), and for good reason. SPSS is a data workhorse.

Pros

SPSS is powerful yet straightforward to use. It covers a wide array of statistical analyses and data transformations - functions like automatic recoding of variables or restructuring of datasets can be great time savers. The SPSS syntax is also fairly intuitive, with a low barrier to entry for anyone with basic coding experience. The fact that syntax is automatically generated when using the point-and-click interface is extremely helpful for getting started with creating your own scripts, making future analyses even more efficient.

Cons

The graphing function is serviceable, but not pretty. Tweaking graphs to look decent can be time-consuming and frustrating, and some options are simply not available (for example, showing all data points overlaid on a bar graph of means). There are also some statistical tests not available via the point-and-click interface; you have to know the proper syntax to run them. Lastly, there is of course the price tag - I am able to get access through my university, but I'm not sure it would be worth the cost if I were paying out of pocket.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Rashid from Introductory Chemistry, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Wonderful Analytics tool !

Great analytical and visualization tool!

Pros

Extremely user friendly, you can conduct analysis with or without code, from simple linear regressions to complex neural networks can simply be done with the click of a button through the drop down media. Useful tutorials that help newcomers to the software! This is especially helpful if you have not used the software before. Versatility, this software can open almost any type of data file and output a myriad of files, for example you can open excel, spss files and output graphs as jpeg or png file formats.

Cons

Menus are very clunky and not visually appealing. Some advanced metrics for analysis are not easily accessible, these include SVM, decision trees etc. Extremely expensive! I am not sure how much a full liscence cost but it is worth the cost!

November 2020

Justine from Hospital & Health Care

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Best software for data analysis

very wonderful and excellent experience

Pros

I like the fact that spss software has different versions to use such as versions 24,25, and 26 which are all easy to use with my computer and desktops. I appreciate that it has versions compatible with windows, mac, etc and this renders flexibility to me and all my fellow researchers to enter data and analyze data without any issue. It also makes work easier with whether I have numeric or categorical variables on the table, it's able to interpret them for me, make clear frequencies, and all statistics for numeric variables.

Cons

It took me time to install it but it was a connection problem related to my computer and network server, otherwise its a very good software.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

spss display is good in its ordering category starting with the name, type, width, decimals, label, values, missing, columns, aligns, measure, and input. It's very simple to use and easy to learn for new users. it's self-explanatory and makes data less complex especially when it comes to logistic regression and other topics in statistics in my field of research.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

Graphpad had issues with interpreting my data and giving me complex results.

April 2021

chelsey from Polco

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

THE data analysis master

SPSS has become a necessary time-saver for us. It has also given us options with creative reporting and data displays allowing us to be really competitive in our market with offering high quality and visually appealing data analysis.

Pros

SPSS has become a analysis tool that is vital to our work. The ability to use and reuse files and create templates has greatly increased our efficiencies. The quality of the analyses we're able to do make it a very effective tool for our data analysis and our ability to clearly, accurately and creatively report our findings.

Cons

It's a tough software to learn and remember where everything is located in the toolbar, and how each function applies, but once you master the language of it, possibilities are endless regarding quick creation and analyses of your data files.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Esther from Self-Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Excellent Statistics Program, But Showing Its Age

Overall, among statistics programs, SPSS is by far the easiest to use in my experience. It offers an extensive set of statistical tests, can import data from multiple outside programs, and walks you through many of the set up steps for the more-advanced statistical tests. However, the interface, while easy to use, is showing its age and isn't always the most pleasant. Additionally, it will often experience freezes when importing data, to the point that the external program needs to be restarted in order to finish the import. If you can get past these relatively minor concerns, however, SPSS is for many users the best option for performing statistical tests, and its cost can be tailored to your individual needs.

Pros

Easy-to-use interface, comprehensive feature set, works with a wide variety of data sources, multiple purchase options for individualized needs

Cons

Often slows down when dealing with large datasets, has a tendency to freeze for long periods of time when importing data, not all statistical tests offered by the software are well-documented or well-designed

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

Better cost and subscription options

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Brian from Kibabii University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

The Magnificent software for statistical data analysis and reporting :IBM SPSS

I actually find IBM SPSS to be the very best software solution for statistical analysis based on my own personal experience. It has helped me to accomplish much research works by providing me with accurate and quality results within a very short period of time than manually generating all those sorts of techniques like ANOVA, regression, Descriptive statistics and so on. I find it ideal to work with this software solution and I urge other statisticians and researchers to try out this excellent software because this is something that you can not afford to miss.

Pros

I prefer IBM SPSS to any other software product because with IBM SPSS I have all the statistical data analysis techniques integrated into one component. The IBM SPSS is capable of manipulating almost all statistical problems including the recent advance statistics. This is the most accurate statistical analysis tool that provides accurate information such as correlation analysis to individuals or larger organizations for managerial purposes or future planning.

Cons

This software product requires some level of experience and is somehow laborious to use at first. The overall implementation and maintenance cost is a bit costly, but once it fits in it proves to be advantageous.

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Talha from Masood textile mills

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Data analysis with SPSS

Its good for all type of data anaylsis, Economic,financial and descryptive and qunatitative. some graphics required to enhanced

Pros

we can regress multi variate cross sectional data.there is less chances of multicollearnity occurance due to auto deduction. F and ANOVA table always shows 100% accurate results.

Cons

Sometimes its become slow while using huge data set. its visual and graphics are not much advance and cannot be exportable.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Pedro from Faculdade de Desporto da Universidade do Porto

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The best Statistical Software for Social Sciences

Without this software, writing articles would be more time-consuming. Data analysis is much easier with SPSS, even if you don't organize your database earlier.

Pros

After a quick cleanup of data with other software, SPSS can import data from multiple file types, and create any variables we desire. It's easy to make quick analysis, deep correlations, rescale variables, create regressions, everything you need to analyze data a create impact research.

Cons

A little information about the software is needed. It's very intuitive, but because it offers many tools (correlation, regression, ...), if you just need a quick analysis (median, mode, and average kind of things) it's not the simplest software. But for those who really need data analysis, it simplifies and accelerates analysis.

October 2018

Cory from The Behavioral Health Workforce Research Center

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

More Intuitive than Other Statistical Packages, If Less Robust

Pros

I've worked with several statistical analysis packages during my time as a health researcher. By far, the one I'm most fond of is SPSS. Its user interface in its latest versions is truly a thing of beauty. Instead of having to learn a new programming language, I can easily work through drop-down menus to perform all the analyses I need. The program is compatible with .csv and .xls files, meaning I can easily dump data into the program, and even edit/clean it within SPSS (though I'd recommend putting clean data in, instead of relying on SPSS to do it - the program can be a little clunky in this department.) For quick and simple data analysis, I recommend SPSS to anyone.

Cons

Some other data analysis packages are free, whereas SPSS comes at a price. It's not anywhere near as steep as some other, similar statistical software, but it is not free. Furthermore, simplicity and user-friendliness comes as a trade-off with functionality. Some of the more nuanced analyses that could be performed in other programs, using more sophisticated programming language, cannot be (or cannot easily be) performed in SPSS.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Doriangel from PDVSA Petroleos de Venezuela S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

An excellent solution for data management and information matrices.

Pros

In my profession the collection and processing of data represents a supreme importance, a social worker practically lives of interpreting the data that he collects in reality, to impel strategies and solutions to the problems of the collectivity will depend directly on the quality of the radiography that one manages to take of the group with which one works, SPSS is a tool that taxes to this end, since not only it allows us to process the obtained data but also it offers us an incredible variety of statistical analysis that facilitates the task to us of being social workers.

Cons

Nothing to object to, a wonderful tool, a fundamental part of my work for a long time

August 2019

PRINCE from University of Zimbabwe

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Academic research help

A useful tool for complex calculations , Various calculations can be extracted from this application.

Pros

At the University of Zimbabwe we have found a reliable solution in the SPSS application for the various researches that is carried out in different faculties. I used the app on my undergraduate research project and my MBA research which produced the best results . Free videos are available online on how to use SPSS and there you dont have to pay to be taught on how to use it

Cons

It took me some time to carefully study and understand how to use the SPSS, and therefore it might took someone some time to understand the different function on the app

February 2020

Jenée from Central Statistical Office

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

For high level analysis

SPSS is a good software to use for producing large quantities of data. It is very difficult to use if you have no training, but once you learn how to use it, it is an asset to research.

Pros

This software is really good for large data sets. For instance when doing quantitative research and working with large data for surveys, SPSS is an asset of going through the data sets in a fast manner to produce results for analysis. It also comes with a large variety of tests that can be used for different types of research you are interested in. I have used up to version 21.

Cons

This is not a very user-friendly software. If you have no training on how to use it, you can manipulate your results or it can be found unreliable because the wrong test was used. If you are not trained to use it, don’t use it because you will only confuse yourself and your data.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

SPSS was more technologically advanced

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

SPSS still the one after all these years

Academic computing in the social sciences - SPSS is particularly strong in data management.

Pros

I have been using SPSS since 1981 and it is still my go to statistical software as I have progresses from a graduate student to a full professor. Ease of use. Verified and reliable calculations. The SPSS paste function allows users to work in a GUI environment but also permits users to write syntax that can then be reused and modified providing a record of data transformations and statistical procedures.

Cons

The wide range of packages and difficulty in telling what procedures are available in specific packages. Merging files has become unduly complicated.

December 2019

Obvious from Ethical Leaf Tobacco

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

SPSS appropriate software for academic and business circles

From my experience SPSS is good when carrying out statistical operations. I used SPSS when doing my Masters of Science in Finance and Banking research. From my experience compared to Eviews SPSS is difficult to use.

Pros

SPSS is a multifaceted statistical package that allows different types of analysis. Statistical package for social sciences (SPSS) enables to obtain statistics ranging from descriptive statistics to complicated multivariate analysis. The statistics menu helps the researcher or business analyst to analyse and interpret data by clicking the drop down arrow under data, analyse and graphs. SPSS helps researchers and business analysts to generate new variables by clicking the transform drop down menu which provides the steps or procedures for generating new variables. The package supports several functions for example arithmetic functions, statistical functions for example MEAN.

Cons

SPSS is not suitable for anlysing time series data and panel data. Does not allows for same time estimation of regression parameters and relationship between regressor or independent variables. Compared to other packages SPSS does not support model development (Structural Equation Modelling). SPSS does not provides model fit indexes to assess how well data or information is represented.

Reasons for Switching to SPSS

Eviews is user friendly and is used to analyse time series data.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Ashley from PreSonus Audio Electronics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

It's pricey, but it's SO worth it! I could not have gotten through my thesis without it.

Ease of running statistical analyses. Comfort of knowing my data was safe. Comfort of knowing my results were reliable.

Pros

This software is fast, reliable, and flexible. I used it for my Master's thesis and I actually wound up using it for my first HR job at a drug company. I built surveys for them for patient satisfaction and, eventually, employee satisfaction. Using this software I was able to keep our data safe, gather stats over time, and control for certain variables that might have affected our results had I used something more trivial like Excel. Definitely recommend this!

Cons

The only con I can think of is the price. It can get pricey, especially if you cannot purchase a student copy. My license has expired and I have not yet renewed simply because my thesis is finished and my current employer does not have a desire to see employee stats -- not for that price, anyway! Hopefully I will be able to convince the execs that this is a necessary tool. Perhaps a more extensive trial period (or maybe a discount for the first 3-6 months?) would be helpful. That would allow for plenty of time to gather data and run stats so that my executive team might be able to see the benefits.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

George Rex from ROC Aire Consulting Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The Most Advanced and Sophisticated Statistical Package

I started using SPSS back in 2008 to analyse data samples for my friend's first degree project. The version 15 back then that I used was not compatible with my windows vista operating system, but because of the hype and how the product was talked about, I had to find a way around to make that version work on my system. We used a hotfix by the way, so it worked. But I was able to get a good data analysis from a software product which I never thought was possible; something my professor only taught me how to do by hand.

Pros

IBM SPSS is a very popular tool, for that there are loads of available tutorials (both free and paid) to get you started and also pull you out of a usage problem whenever you get stuck. So, its a very strong product with a useful array of learning tools online. I also love the cloud solution (SPSS app on fly) such that you can do your analysis while on the go.

Cons

The software really requires a lot of time to learn and understand its features. It is also very resource consuming and it is somewhat expensive to purchase, even with the available student offer.

December 2019

Verda from FDA

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Versatile

Very user friendly and an amazing product. I will keep using it till I am doing any form of sophisticated analysis for my research.

Pros

I love SPSS and have been using it for more than 10 years. I started using in college for my basic analysis such as t-test and ANOVA. Now I run path models and advanced regressions, mediation, and moderations. Highly recommend for any statistician or researcher.

Cons

Some kinds of analysis are not possible, where AMOS, or Mplus is needed. I wish there was a way to add that functionality, especially for unsaturated path modeling and HLM analysis.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Kanishka from University of Jayawardenapura

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Very Good and Convenient Software

I have been using this at my university and at work. It has two different tabs. The data tab and the View tab. In SPSS, the output is opened through a different window where it stores all the data in a separate file. I don't have to worry about overwriting any information by accident. This software makes easy for me to analyze the data and obtain the mean, median, standard deviation, Skewness and many more. By using these tools I could compare two types of data sets and get a thorough idea about the situation. This software makes it much easier.

Pros

There are different kinds of tools which make work easy.

Cons

The interface looks older and it takes time to open the software.

October 2016

Samantha from Spring

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

SPSS base is a must for market research

I've been using SPSS for a few years now, and I think it's not more than logical that it's the market leader for the segment. It's GUI makes it easy for beginners to work with it, but the understandable and fast to learn syntax makes it very neat to work with for the more advanced researcher. The only pity for the software package is the extreme pricing. I'm now using SPSS Base because of the high price for the more advanced packages, but that also means that I'm missing out on (what I think are) quite standard needs for a researcher, like logistic regression and tables. I've tried some open source packages like PSPP and R, but still SPSS is worth the money, although I think for that amount they could 'upgrade' the base package a little more to include all the basics.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 483 reviews