User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.58

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The software is super easy to use and, for the most part, logically/intuitively organized."
  • icon"It's built for my industry, instead of being a generic piece of software with performance and development laid on top of it. Clear, easy reports that you can save and/or automate."
  • icon"Both pieces of information together, results in effective reporting. Integration with online, phone and in-person ticket purchasing and donor development."
  • icon"Duplicate patrons are not listed chronologically which causes a lot of extra button clicking. I have complained about this before."
  • icon"That if there are any issues and if someone where new to this software they have no clue who to call for technical issues."
  • icon"Added a row of seats on the website which put us over capacity in our theatre. It is a fire code violation and we can get fined."

All AudienceView Professional Reviews

1-25 of 40 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Hillary

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

an excellent box office with expanding development tools

Everyone has been very open to feedback and notify users right away when new features roll out. For example, I was thrilled when Development Notes were added to report output.

Pros

I appreciate how easy it is to set up, manage, and follow up on our events throughout the season. It is especially powerful to be able to track an audience member's 360* participation from first RSVP, to package buyer, to donor.

Cons

The "Communications" functions, which essentially track appeals sent, are not as searchable and report-friendly as I would like.

Reasons for choosing AudienceView Professional

We wanted something "industry standard" that new job applicants might already know, and something that could grow with us.

Reasons for switching to AudienceView Professional

We were establishing our first box office.

Response from AudienceView

Hi Hillary, Thank you so much for the review and for the feedback about the Communications Tool. That is definitely a feature that we are looking to improve so I will share your feedback with our product team. Thanks again!

Replied August 2019

Penn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Vineyard Theatre OvationTix review

The Vineyard uses OvationTix for both our ticketing functions as well as a fundraising and donor database platform. For an organization our size with a lot of users who need different things from the software, it's a very good system.

Pros

The software is super easy to use and, for the most part, logically/intuitively organized.

Cons

The reporting functions exist in two different locations, and it's not always obvious where I should start when looking for specific information.

Reasons for choosing AudienceView Professional

Primarily cost and ease of use. DonorPerfect doesn't offer ticketing support.

Response from AudienceView

Hi Penn, thanks so much for your feedback about OvationTix. We are glad to hear that it's a good fit for The Vineyard! We are constantly striving to improve our functionality, and that includes reporting - so be on the lookout for updates there soon :)

Replied August 2019

Lisa

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2019

This service is horrible

Not very good.

Pros

Nothing. And the fact that I wrote that and this survey won't allow me to submit unless I say one good thing. So here is the one thing I like, It's easy to get onto the website.

Cons

That if there are any issues and if someone where new to this software they have no clue who to call for technical issues. You do not have it on your page where it is right there for someone to find should they need assistance right away. Added a row of seats on the website which put us over capacity in our theatre. It is a fire code violation and we can get fined.

Response from AudienceView

Hi Lisa. We're sorry to hear you haven't been having a great experience with OvationTix. We'd like to try to make things better! Your Customer Success Manager will be reaching out to you shortly.

Replied August 2019

Barry

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Good, can't wait for it to be better

We used to have ticketing and donations in two separate software which was a nightmare. Having everything in one system is very beneficial.

Pros

Do not get me wrong, this product is good. It has a variety of options but sometimes has weird dead-ends on the back end or functions in odd ways. It is definitely a better option than what we had. I enjoy it and will keep using it, would love to see some new features.

Cons

As I mentioned above, sometimes you run into dead-ends. I wish there was a bi-annual check-in where I could talk to someone about features and what we would love to see. Directly integrated marketing, not using Mial Chimp or another software, truly an AVP marketing feature would be ideal.

Reasons for switching to AudienceView Professional

Our contract was ending in Vendini and we were swayed into moving into this product.

Ann

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Right size, right price, excellent customer service

OvationTix is the right-sized software for our medium-sized theatre. We are working in a new model, and we needed a consortium-style box office that wouldn't break the bank. We wanted to be able to sell tickets across several companies without compromising the data or independence among the companies. OT could help us with this odd model, at a reasonable price that even the smaller companies could afford. In addition, we needed something we could train rotating apprentices to use, so we needed it to be simple. And the OT team has been so responsive to every issue we've had. I also like that they are still clearly working on the software - this isn't a product that they've set and won't change. They add new things and listen to our requests.

Pros

Easy to use and train others to use; Customer service is super-responsive and they talk to you like human beings; One piece of software for both ticketing and development; It's built for my industry, instead of being a generic piece of software with performance and development laid on top of it; Clear, easy reports that you can save and/or automate; OvationTix is willing to work with us to create new solutions for our unique business model.

Cons

We've had some hiccups with customer service over terminology; The transition was complicated because OvationTix and our previous software used exact opposite categories to sort, etc. I wish the automated receipts and acknowledgements for patrons were a little prettier.

Reasons for choosing AudienceView Professional

We did consider other products, but for the functionality what we wanted, they were all more expensive and more complicated to use.

Reasons for switching to AudienceView Professional

Patron Manager, while very complete, was just too big for us. We found it difficult to navigate and pull reports from. And because it's built on a Salesforce platform, it's just wasn't capable of adjusting to our unique situation.

Response from AudienceView

Ann, thank you so much for this feedback! We are so happy to hear that OvationTix serves your theatre well. We look forward to growing and improving with you!

Replied August 2019

Meredith

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2016

Great Service for Patrons and Companies Alike!

We've been using OvationTix since its inception. With dozens of shows throughout the year, including many for which we function purely as Presenters, the functionality of OvationTix has been crucial to our success. Our presented productions can monitor and see the success of their shows, and we can manage the overall process. We enjoy working with OvationTix so much that we began using it to track all of our donations years ago.

Pros

- Sales Format is customizable to match your website, so customers don't know they're going off-site to purchase their tickets - Easy to add packages, products and donations to the offerings - Easy to set up numerous shows and events throughout the year and share access to box office information to select individuals for select productions - Ability to track all donor activity, including donations, attendance at shows, and product purchases (such as Auction wins or merchandise sales) - Ability to sort donors by category or campaign - Ability to have multiple donor campaigns for multiple projects - The online format allows our Development Staff to work remotely when necessary because all donor information is on the cloud

Cons

The ability to track pledges and offset them with donations is still in development. We'd like to be able to track a donation for its intended fiscal year, but that feature is not currently available. It would also be nice to be able to track Grant Deadlines and activity, as one can do with some of the more expensive programs.

Response from TheaterMania.com

You're taking full advantage of our fundraising and ticketing functions! We're continuing to work on enhancements to both. The new "Donor Profile" view may be of interest to you and yes, continued development on pledges and fiscal year changes is in process. If she hasn't been in touch already, Melissa, your account executive, will be in touch with you shortly to demonstrate some new pledge functionality that might address your current need. Please keep checking your email for the newsletter as these enhancements will keep rolling out for you and all of our nonprofit partners.

Replied September 2016

Steven

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2017

Perfect! Stellar support, intuitive features, scales with us

Our events perform in multiple venues with varying set-ups: assigned seats, general admission, and with various types of tickets like VIPs and student pricing in venues from 99 seats up to 800 or more seats. We also use discount codes, want something that easily integrates with email software and our website and really responsive support since we produce more events than our relatively small staff can handle! OvationTix has worked very well for us in this first six months of our partnership with them. I like that they update the software monthly with new features. It is important our company keep its branding consistent and OvationTix makes that process seamless.

Pros

Ease of Use Quick Set-Up and On-Sales Integration with Email and Website Platforms Great Support Helpful and Ongoing Upgrades Call Center for Ticket Buyers by Phone Private, Custom Branding No Up-Front Cost: we only pay OvationTix when we sell tickets.

Cons

We aren't a non-profit company, so all the fundraising features in the solution don't really apply to us. This is not a complaint really, but those tools are probably of great use to other companies. We just don't use them.

Response from TheaterMania.com

Thanks for the praise Steven! Our best to you and your team. Don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you have any questions. And yes, while the fundraising solutions like individual donations, pledge tracking, moves management and deeper CRM functions aren't for everyone, you can certainly use them when they match up with your business needs.

Replied February 2017

Jen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2016

OvationTix Review

Overall, Ovationtix is very easy to use and client friendly. They have a great support team that is easy to reach and very helpful. For a small company such as ours that does not have a stationary box office, their phone line is a great way for us to offer box office service to our patrons. It's online functionality, allowing us to use anywhere we go, is great, as we are an itinerant theater company, and need to set up a new box office area for each show, somethimes in areas that are not as conducive to a theater environment.

Pros

The software is easy to use, allowing our patrons easy ability to purchase tickets through our site. It is also flexible, so we can adjust it to our needs as an itinerant company. We can make our subscriptions customizable to each space that we are in.

Cons

The reporting function is not as straightforward as I would like. Sometimes it takes some extra finesse and creativity to pull a report with the exact information that you need. It is not as straightforward as a database as it is a ticketing software.

Response from TheaterMania.com

Thanks Jen! I'm glad we're a good fit for your company's needs. And keep an eye out for enhancements in reporting (and the entire solution) in the coming year. We update every couple weeks and have some additional features on our road map. If your account executive or Client Services can be of help, don't hesitate to call. Or just hit "reply" to one of the monthly OvationTix newsletters and I'll receive the response directly. -Joseph Yoshitomi, VP Marketing Strategy

Replied September 2016

Jamie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2016

Best Customer Support!

We love Ovationtix. Their customer support team helps us with every and any problem we have. Even if they don't have the answer right away, they get back to you within a very reasonable time frame. Everyone is always friendly and willing to help. They fully support and listen to our ideas about improving the system, in order to meet our specific needs and requirements.

Pros

-ease of use -easy to follow layout -everything in one spot (subscriptions, tickets, donations)

Cons

-Theatre Ed Class registrations are difficult -no way to flag certain patrons on a who's coming list -Patron Holds from patron profile would be nice so you are not going back and fourth from the hold page to the profile page.

Response from TheaterMania.com

Thanks so much Jamie! Our support team is always happy to hear such praise and I will pass along your requests for further enhancements to the Who's Coming report and hold functionality too. And please keep an eye out for some enhanced reporting features rolling out over the next few quarters. You'll hear about them in our monthly newsletter.

Replied November 2016

Heather

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

I've been with Ovation for nearly a decade!

Pros

There are many pros to ovation - the fact that they mirror your website, the fact that you can choose how the fees are charged (i.e. to the client or out of the ticket price), the ease with which it allows you to take credit cards, the great customer service, I could go on and on!

Cons

I do wish (and maybe this is coming in the future) that I could set a limit on the number of discount tickets I set for a specific performance, i.e. there are 10 tickets at 50% off for Tuesday night - and the software would stop selling them once 10 have sold. Other than that I haven't got many complaints!

Reasons for switching to AudienceView Professional

At the time one of my biggest concerns was making it look like the buyer was on my own website - it sort of tricked them in to thinking they were buying directly from me - since I was having trouble selling advance online. Now I have no problems.

Response from AudienceView

Hi Heather, Thank you so much for your review and being a partner a long standing partner. As far as the discount codes...you can put a limit on how many of those are sent and all types of other parameters (i.e ticket limits, specific dates, specific sections), etc. I will follow up with you separately to walk you through it. Thanks again.

Replied August 2019

Patrick

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

Great product and even better customer service!

Overall, we are very happy. It is a complicated software that takes some time to get used to but is very flexible.

Pros

We went with OvationTix for the 2019-20 season and have been very happy. Their sales team has been super helpful in setting up all of our data. Whenever we have questions, they customer service team is knowledgeable and very patient and helpful. I would highly recommend going with OvationTix for your ticketing needs.

Cons

We have had issues with the new roll out of their seating chart. Unfortunately, our seating chart seem to be too big for the newest system and we are stuck with the legacy version. They are working on an update but we haven't heard anything yet.

Reasons for choosing AudienceView Professional

Price and flexibility

Response from AudienceView

Hi Patrick. Thank you so much for the positive review. We are definitely working on improving the seating charts for larger venues and should have that rolled out this fall. Thanks again!

Replied August 2019

Erin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Vital for my theater company

Pros

I love how integrated this ticketing software is with our website, and the customer service is top notch - friendly, thorough and timely.

Cons

I would love for the integration design to be easier to update - we made changes to our website and it was explained to me that it would take a team of them to redo the design so that the pages matched. At the time I opted not to have them do that, since our changes were minor. But we're currently doing a rebranding project and we'll need to be able to re-integrate the design - I'm hoping that can be done in a timely manner (when we're ready.) That all said, customer service has always been amazing so this "like least" does not affect my opinion about the company.

Reasons for choosing AudienceView Professional

Price and ease of use

Reasons for switching to AudienceView Professional

We wanted something that would track our patrons from show to show, and we wanted to be able to fundraise through the same software.

Response from AudienceView

Hi Erin, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your partnership. In regards to your comment about the updates to your design we have a new interface that allows you to make all of those changes yourself. I will follow up with you directly with more info. Thanks again!

Replied August 2019

Jeff

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2017

great team with customer service! very supportive. user friendly and easy to navigate.

like the extra phone room support and the financial credit card payout that is done by Ovation instead of our administration. the online ease of use.

Pros

Very user friendly and simple to set up shows and make changes, alterations to shows and pricing.

Cons

a bit slow when doing window sales (internet speed) no waiting list automatic function when a show sells out (like Eventbrite has) . The fact that you can't build your own seating charts or make alterations to them without going through a customer service rep ( slow turnaround).

Response from AudienceView

Thanks for the review! You shouldn't be experiencing any issues with internet speed at the Box Office so please give us a call so we can trouble shoot that for you. We'd also love to hear more about what you're looking for in terms of the wait list functionality. We take client feedback very seriously and it directly drives our roadmap. We are working on functionality to give clients the ability to build their own seat maps so stay tuned!

Replied December 2017

Robert

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

The 24/7 phone answering service for our patrons is the best!

Pros

This service gives us a complete customer focus. It allows us to sell tickets and collect donations automatically online. This service also provides us with "always open" capability by answering our ticketing phone calls 24/7.

Cons

The set up can sometimes be difficult when we are creating a new series. But, I suspect that that is because we only do that once per year.

Response from AudienceView

Hi Robert, Thank you so much for the review. If you are ever having difficulty creating a series because you aren't doing it that frequently feel free to sit in on one of our weekly webinar trainings. They are a great way to brush up on the basics if it's been a while and they are hosted every week. We also host other webinars dedicated to a more specific focus (i.e development tools, packages, etc). You can find the link to our training calendar in the help center. Thanks again and we truly value your partnership.

Replied November 2017

Scott

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

Ovationtix has provided us with an integrated platform for Festival ticketing and merchandise sales.

Pros

Interface allows us to manage levels of access, and also prepare consistent and accurate reports. Patron history is presented in clear and logical fashion.

Cons

Wish there was more direct integration with other marketing platforms, such as our broadcast email client and social media channels.

Response from AudienceView

Hi Scott - thank you for the feedback! We're glad to hear that OvationTix is a valuable tool for your Festival ticketing and merch sales. We do currently integrate with MailChimp, Constant Contact, and Facebook, and we┬┐re excited for developments in other integrations that are on our roadmap. Stay tuned, and please don't hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager to find out how to leverage existing integrations.

Replied November 2017

Jeff

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE