All Tessitura Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Shelley

Verified reviewer

Museums and Institutions, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

The Cadillac of CRM sytems

I've used Tessitura for 20 years, in multiple organizations and found it to be user friendly. Reporting and analytics options have improved greatly over the last 5 years. Without knowing SQL I'm able to create custom visualizations for end users.

PROS

I like that Tessitura is a non-profit helping other non-profit organizations. They truly take feedback from end users and improve the software every year. The technical support and world-wide community support is amazing. Everyone is willing to share and help find best solution. Every department is able to work in the same system and get the full picture of each patron. It forces collaboration where silos existed in the past. Ticketing and Develoment folks will use it the most, Marketing some, Finance the least. Security features are robust and easy to manage as an administrator.

CONS

My current organization is in the middle of implementation. Because the system is so flexible there are times when there are no hard and fast rules of how to set up a process. Everyone uses it differently so that's good and bad. I wish it had facility management capabilities since so many non-profits rely on that for operations.

Reason for choosing Tessitura

Salesforce doesn't include all facets of our business, such as event registration and management.

Reasons for switching to Tessitura

We wanted a unified CRM with all departments working in same software. This helps us to see the big picture of patron engagement and improve customer service.

Mark

Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Flexible and full featured software that can do almost anything if you are committed to the setup and work required.

PROS

Tessitura has been flexible and the solution we needed at the time we implemented to handle our complex admissions, membership and fundraising needs. Support is always helpful and typically quick to respond. I love having all data in a single location.

CONS

Product is very complex and many users are deterred by that. Tessitura is on the right track but a little slow in updating technologies to match other competitors. I feel like I spend a lot of time defending the software and it's functionality to our less technical end users. The cost is not insignificant, but has been worth it at this point for us.

Reasons for switching to Tessitura

Decreased functionality in the previous product that was needed on our campus. Integrated database with flexibility to do almost anything that has been requested of us.

Jon

Philanthropy, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2018

Tessitura and Fund Raising

Shop around. There has to be a more efficient and effective product.

PROS

The integration of ticketing with prospects/donors is alluring, esp. for performance art organizations.

CONS

This is a ticketing software with a CRM work-around built in. It's confusing, user abusive and extraordinarily expensive. In our town, NPO's had to group together, in one building, where they created a new company that specializes in Tessitura software management. It's a clever use of the software and a business structure. This company then went out and sold it's software services to other performance art organizations as far away as Los Angeles. However, all organizations can see who has who in their database. You can't go into the account, but it becomes readily apparent our prospects and donors are being hit on all the time by all the same organizations. It's tricky. But the fact remains. Tessitura is enormously complex, just to get acknowledgements out is a lot of busy work. When I came on board, the previous development person really used Tessitura as a storage unit and did all the fund raising in Excel and Word. And from a NPO business perspective, once you commit to this software, extraction is basically a blackmail. It costs a fortune to leave it and organizations still have this challenge of ticketing tied to fund raising.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

A beast of a product

Tessitura is at the heart of everything we do as an organisation. It holds our customer data, we use it to manage our ticketing and website offerings, to manage Direct Debits and donations, marketing, and much more. We could not function without it.

PROS

It is so customisable, and does so much. There are facets for all areas of our organisation.

CONS

It is so customisable. This is an amazing feature, but comes with a lot of pitfalls and makes life challenging at upgrade time.

Reason for choosing Tessitura

Tessitura offers a lot more flexibility and is more powerful for users.

User Profile

Jared

Verified reviewer

Performing Arts, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Tessitura - the Rolls-Royce of ticketing software

Aside from an antiquated"look and feel" (of reports, UI, etc.) functionality is KEY. Tess seems to be as functional as necessary for my organization.

PROS

As an integral part of the team working to settle financials for events I can get almost any data collected through Tessitura sliced and diced in a report with tremendous customization. I have been pleased with the content of reports in particular. Without this tool, it would be impossible to provide the backup documentation necessary for settlement and reporting throughout the sales cycle. I also love the scheduled reports feature. I can develop custom reporting and set it once to send to multiple parties throughout the sales cycle and never worry about it again. Newly implemented dashboard are extremely versatile and powerful, but sometimes a touch cumbersome if you need a look at data. Great tool to develop and maintain KPIs. Though the learning curve, assuming ticketing software is in your background the learning curve is not terribly steep and I know I have just scratched the surface.

CONS

The near-infinite report customization can be a double edged sword because any tick-box accidentally checked (or unchecked) may dramatically change the content of a report. Special care must be taken and there are many ways to produce reports with inaccurate or undesired content.

Reasons for switching to Tessitura

I wasn't working with the org at that time.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

A top-tier ticketing and CRM solution for arts, cultural, and musical venues

Tessitura is the lifeblood of our organisation used by our box office, marketing, and fundraising departments to store all manner of customer information. It is a powerful piece of software with many customisation options that, when configured and utilised correctly, proves a useful tool.

PROS

Tessitura is a mammoth piece of software that has lots of features available for ticketing, fundraising, and marketing. It holds a wealth of constituent data and we can write our own SSRS reports in-house to query this data. Support is amazing, very quick to answer any queries, and very knowledgeable about all aspects of the software. It has been relatively easy to upgrade our software/database version following the very useful documentation found on the Tessitura Network website. The TN website also features webinars, a community forum, and is packed full of information on upcoming networking events. Tessitura also offer a Tessitura Network Express Web (TNEW) website solution for online bookings which integrates well with the Tessitura software.

CONS

Although the software itself is very customisable with custom plugins and such, it can cause headaches when upgrading to newer versions and has the potential to cause issues – these customisations must be backed up, checked for compatibility, etc. Technical support has originally been handled by agents in the US which had the potential to cause issues with time zones with our organisation being based in the UK, however they have recently restructured their support for Europe and have implemented a new helpdesk system which have helped improve this situation greatly. There are a lot of functions and features that I still feel I’ve barely touched on as an administrator, as well as there being a steep learning curve for end-users due to the sheer number of features available. UI elements do look a bit dated compared to other solutions on the market.

Katie

Performing Arts, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

Industry-standard database for arts & culture

Detailed data for informing managerial decisions, increased interdepartmental communication, many facets of constituent knowledge and ways to slice and dice our donorbase

PROS

Integrates all departments on the same database. Highly customizable. Integrates with many other common industry systems (mail2, Boca, etc.). Great reporting capabilities. Fantastic support documentation and staff. The user community is unparalleled in skill level, camaraderie, and enthusiasm. Ability to share an instance in a consortium environment, with advanced settings to control who can see what information.

CONS

Steep learning curve - it can be difficult to get beginner users to do much more than search for and look at records. Not the most user-friendly interface. Customizability also means the out of box product can be pretty bare bones compared to everything the software is capable of.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

A ticketing system which actually works

Very good overall, it does exactly what is needed for a busy venue

PROS

Easy to use and to train others to use. Within a day of training it would be possible to have someone selling and printing tickets without issue.

CONS

The seating plans can look off centred as it’s very square, would be better if it could replicate the floor plans better as selling for an unfamiliar venue could be tricky

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

A CRM that fits our needs

It's been positive for managing relationships and for data mining.

PROS

It was created with music institutions and not-for-profits in mind and has all the ability to hand every need our unique business type(s) have.

CONS

It's a pretty advanced program and there is a massive learning curve. Getting staff on board to learn it can be a challenge. In addition, it's one of those softwares that is "only as good as the data you put into it."

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Essential ticketing software for Arts venues

Runs the entire CRM and ticketing solution for the organisation.

PROS

Company fully understands the requirements of the industry that it is targeting. There is an excellent community with end users willing to engage and help each other.

CONS

Requires quite a lot of resource to manage and maintain in terms of staff and hardware. Would hope to see this improve in coming releases and perhaps a shift to a cloud implementation.

Grace

Music, 2-10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2018

Could be better

PROS

This software has a lot of muscle power, no doubt about it. There is a lot of functionality, and every problem you come across when it comes to how to send tickets out, sending receipts to patrons, etc has a solution

CONS

1) This software is WAY too complicated for the average theater. The learning curve is very steep, which complicates the hiring process for temporary employees (cause they never get to the point of mastery and efficiency with the software), and there is no way to edit out which functions to "see" on your screen. For example, if xyz theater never uses a third of the functions of the software, there should be a way to visually hide them so that employees dont get confused about what they are seeing on the screen. 2) When it comes to entering information for credit card payments, the software designers never apparently thought about how the average patron reads out their information over the phone. You have to select the type of card used before entering the card number, meanwhile the patron is halfway through spewing out their number over the phone while the ticketing office employee is scrambling to write it down on a pad of paper cause Tessie wont let them enter the number yet. If there was more flexibility in the order that information could be entered (card type then number vs number then card type), the daily functionality of the software would be much improved.

Corinne

Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

Designed for larger orgs with data management support

It has been hard to learn, and I frankly still don't feel confident pulling lists that my data is correct. I appreciate it's enormous capacity on the back end, but there's not a lot of front-end user options.

PROS

The record integration is absolutely seamless. I can look up a constituent and see exactly when they came, what donations or purchases they have made, etc. The tech support is robust.

CONS

I have taken a training class in this product, have some experience in coding, and still feel like I only barely understand the basics. It is hard to learn, not intuitive at all, and has more functions than we can currently use at our size (small-mid-size museum) Plus: Expensive!

Brian

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

I used Tessi in my time at a nationally-renowned Symphony orchestra.

Ease of ticketing, seating, and viewing the house. I enjoyed the option to charge directly each purchase, as opposed to batching gifts individually like I did in RE.

PROS

I find that Tessi is very intuitive and use-oriented. When I started with it, I was obviously overwhelmed, but that was tempered by it's relative ease of use, and the vast online resources available for questions that did arise.

CONS

Having used both Tessi and RE, I will say that one is much better for Box Office organizations (Tessi) than it is at housing constituent info, giving history, and basic fundraising needs. RE has robust capability for storing/targeting/querying on/exporting etc. much more so than RE.

Zach

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2022

Tessitura pros and cons

PROS

Tessitura provides quality metric reports.

CONS

Tessitura’s user interface can be confusing.

Cameron

Events Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Great intent difficult to learn

Overall I have not been happy with Tessitura. I feel it is far harder to use than helpful. The features it offers are great but it does not make it worth the investment.

PROS

Tessitura has a lot of good ticketing features. It has a great ability to customize and tracks data way better than SABO. The best part of this software is when it comes to selling subscriptions. It is really easy and user intuitive when it comes to this feature.

CONS

This software is really difficult to learn and train others on. The UI is confusing and it is difficult to find what you are looking for. The worst part of this software is how easy it is to give an order to a different patron. there are no warning signs and this has been a common problem around the office.

Jill

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2022

Good Across Departments - Lacking for Development

The Tessitura folks are great; however, the system is just not built for non-tech users.

PROS

A lot neat details and the analytics are beautiful.

CONS

If you don't have a someone on staff to customize on a regular basis, you will have a very nice system that probably won't meet your basic fundraising needs in timely, generally fuss-free fashion.

Reason for choosing Tessitura

Ticketing and finance integration. Only ticketing ended up working.

Reasons for switching to Tessitura

Ticket integration

Siobhan

Fine Art, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2017

Great Arts CRM

PROS

Windows based Easy to use Great support All in one package Customisable Based on SQL Server Reports can be designed in house

CONS

Old reports are based on Sybase's Infomaker which is a hard product to purchase. Newer reports are based on SSRS so you will need training for this.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Great

PROS

Tessitura is definitely the most popular in the nonprofit arts industry. It's ticketing and fundraising features are integrated and allows for a full constituent report.

CONS

Lately, the software seems outdated. Unlike Raiser's Edge, Tessitura demands a full training to know the ins and outs of the software. It's not the most user-friendly software out there.

Andrea

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY