About Real-Time Labor Guide

Real-Time Labor Guide is a cloud-based auto repair platform that helps small to large size automotive businesses manage customer charges, technician tracking and staff.

Real-Time Labor Guide enables users to manage complete store operations with labor guide, packaging jobs, miscellaneous charges, unlimited tickets, QuickVIN decoding, advanced reporting and more. Additionally, it allows staff management, customer history, shop reports, technician tracking, parts markup, inventory and accounts receivable. The repair guide tool feature in the platform allows tracking vehicles’ condition, mechanic experience, availability of tools and testing time that can be used to provide quotes, manage customers, access jobs and estimates.


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

73 Reviews of Real-Time Labor Guide

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.37 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(44)

44

4 stars

(20)

20

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(3)

3

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 73 results

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Eric from Kat Motors

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Best Bang for your buck available

Pros

I have used this software for years and love the features and ease of use! This has cut my service ticket time considerably and is quite accurate with the labor times posted. If you are a small shop then you must have this software to compete with the big boys and show a big time appearance to the customer, it reinforces professionalism and integrity of your shop,I.e. letterhead and breakdown of ticket with an appealing look. I would recommend it to all repair shops no matter the size or location. This software has definitely made me a lot of money and helped ensure to not leave any on the table.

Cons

Wish it had older model cars I work on some older cars and a lot are not on the software and I understand I’m probably in the minority on this

Reasons for Choosing Real-Time Labor Guide

Simplicity and cost of use

September 2020

Charles from L.G.R.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2020

Great pic for small shops

Needs more features in an additional tier or al a cart add ons. I use this daily, incredibly easy to generate accurate quotes, but a POS system its not...yet.

Pros

Overall the product is very useful. The are very few products for small guys to get away from paper & get access to labor guides. Ive tried all of the $20-$50 monthly options as I wanted a cloud based system that I could work with from anywhere regardless of platform. I really think this has helped me attract more business & close more sales due to accurate quoting. Lets face it people want professional & accurate quotes up front...and when they come back to pickup they dont want surprises either- this gains trust. In this regard RT has actually made me more money & makes things more efficient. How can a small shop justify $100-250 per month for Shop Management? Well theres not much out there that will get you running for sub 100 much less the $25/month I promise ya!

Cons

Now for the downsides...Im anxiously awaiting some upgrades- another tier for those of us wanting AR & Inventory, regardless of the info page here there is no inventory- nada. This needs to be fixed. The Customer owed balance needs to me on the main page so you know what folk are due/overdue at a glance instead of drilling into each work order & clicking thru to the end- its ridiculous to have to do that. Multiple tech assignment would be super helpful as well- each labor line should have ability to assign more than one all of the techs- not just one. Adding part vendors on the fly would be nice too but thats nit pickin. We need inventory Customer AR (and report) as well as Quickbooks online integration. I should be able to use this software to see what oil & filters I have on hand at least! All that said, they promise more soon & are adding payment processing- I really hope its soon!

Reasons for Choosing Real-Time Labor Guide

Ease of use, price & stability

Reasons for Switching to Real-Time Labor Guide

To get the features from Workshop it gets pretty expensive...when you pay that kid on money you expect it to be stable & not glitchy. Had my request & complaints not went ignored for days I may have stayed longer & dealt with it, as there is alot of promise for Workshop. Though when I tried RT & actually saved a ton of time & money & wasnt bogged down with glitches I was sold on RT. WS had many half baked feature sets that were there but didnt work fully only to get aholt of some one and be prodded into spending more $$...then when had to sort out billing errors with overseas CS, thats it Im done!

October 2018

Ron from Precision Collision, Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Was great, now it's terrible!!

I LIKED the reports and the fact it was easy to use and WAS very user friendly, the new "upgrade" makes it take longer to create tickets, find previous customers, find previous tickets, etc. Overall the new system has convinced me to begin a new search for a reasonably priced mechanical software system, very frustrating as I was EXTREMELY pleased with it until the "upgrade". All my guys that use it have asked me if we can switch back, I have contacted Real-Time but have yet to receive a response. If we can't, I will be switching software again, and that is very frustrating.

Pros

It WAS extremely user friendly and easy to learn and use, now they have released an update and forced all users to use the "upgraded" version, which is actually a HUGE downgrade from a user-friendly perspective. It is cheap, that is the only current Pro I can think of for the current system. If they would let us revert back to the previous version, I would give it a 5 star in all categories.

Cons

Not user-friendly any more, complicated to navigate, requires extra steps to perform tasks that used to be simple. The new upgrade they introduced is a massive downgrade from the original program, I will be looking for a new system.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Replied October 2018

Ron - It's never easy to hear a potential let down from a customer but I do appreciate your honest feedback. We went to great lengths to make sure the ticket process is exactly the same with the same number of steps and clicks - the only thing that changed was the look and feel and the search. I'm hoping you'll give us a chance over the next couple days because for the customers who have been using it for the last couple months in beta - they swear they would never go back. Nobody likes change and we wouldn't have made this serious investment unless it was absolutely necessary. Specifically - our previous version was released 6 years ago and performance/security technology has made huge advancements that we needed to include in our system. The new site is now more secure, will allow for future expansion in features and all the new tickets you all are making, and more mobile friendly. Thanks for being our customer all these years and I hope you'll give the new site a chance.

May 2020

Darren from Blue Moon Auto Repair

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Auto repair invoicing and labor

The customer service has always been extremely friendly and helpful. For us as a small business the software works perfect. It allows us to customize our invoices and track our customers repairs. Customer service is very helpful with finding labor on old cars or very new cars that may not be in a labor system.

Pros

Ease of use, great customer service, pricing, does pretty much everything we want. We’ve stayed with this software for several years.

Cons

In progress tickets drop from system after 14 days. There are times when we are waiting for special order parts that arrive past that period and we have to rekey what we’ve entered already.

Reasons for Choosing Real-Time Labor Guide

Options and pricing.

Reasons for Switching to Real-Time Labor Guide

System down time, wait too long for customer service assistance and poor customer service.

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Replied May 2020

Darren - Thank you so much for your glowing review! I will make sure we look at the in-progress time frame, but the best way to make sure those tickets are never dropped is to complete them as estimates. Estimates don't show up on sales reports and can be edited and changed into invoices at any time. The in-progress was meant more like an auto-save feature so you wouldn't lose your partially completed ticket if you had a customer walk in and need immediate assistance.

May 2020

Jason from Jasons Auto Body

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

JASONS AUTO BODY

I just use it because of cost is so low.

Pros

It is easy to use and navigate just have to play with the system to learn its uses.

Cons

I wish it had repair help on some jobs like Mitchell has and like for me I wished they would offer a crash -labor estimator like this. Even tech to tech talk for help would be nice.

Reasons for Choosing Real-Time Labor Guide

cost

Reasons for Switching to Real-Time Labor Guide

The cost between them made the choice for me

Response from Real-Time Labor Guide

Replied June 2020

Jason - Thank you for your glowing review! We do try to offer just what a shop needs at the lowest price possible. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to have you as a customer!