User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(10)

10

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "provides good reports with a good interface, works perfectly for cross tab reports, easy to implement graphs and pie charts, learning information is available on the internet "

  • "The ability to integrate with different databases and the ease with which I can easily connect makes it great for me using the software. It can also handle huge database record simultaneously."

  • "Powerful features Easy to jump between editing design or XML source Preview within app works relatively well"

  • Cons

  • "Frankly speaking this product is highly uncomfortable, it is not intuitively clear how to perform some features or where this features located."

  • "The support from the service needs improvements as all will not have the same knowledge on BI so some basic training also required."

  • "its too rigid,editing of lines and creation of cross tabs is difficult.it is also difficult to save work to folder of choice"

Browse TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -30 of 20 results

February 2019

Román Josué from Agile Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

The best Reporting Tool for Java Developers

Sometimes the most difficult part to create custom reports using Jaspersoft Studio, is actually to write the query that will fetch the data. After that, building the report is mainly drag-n-drop, write some Java code, setup properties and parameters, and make your report ready.

Pros

This software is one of the best choices to create reports if you are a Java developer. All you need to know about is Java and SQL for the queries. It integrates with many databases, and I personally have used it with PostgreSQL and it works well. The reports you create from scratch are fully customizable, and can include the elements you need: labels, tables, images, ... I like a lot the subreport element, as it allows to create even more complex / nested reports, in which you usually follow a master-detail model. In addition, you can use the Java libraries to integrate Jasper reports into your Java application, either Desktop or Web, this will enable

Cons

Some features or properties are not too intuitive, which is understandable if we think this is a tool for developers. Even though, it would be nice to have a more intuitive GUI.

January 2021

Babatunde from Nigerdock FZE

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Good reporting software for smal and medium company.

Good for reporting in real-time because it has helped us quite a lot in decision making. I am able to design and deploy reports easily without requesting for support.

Pros

The ability to integrate with different databases and the ease with which I can easily connect makes it great for me using the software. It can also handle huge database record simultaneously.

Cons

The manual designing is a little difficult when you are trying to create different fields and more easier when you can use the XML. If you are not a programmer, it will take you some time to use the XML. Additionally, you need to deal with the unused columns or rows when you export your report to excel.

Reasons for Choosing TIBCO Jaspersoft

Initially we had it free and was able to test and found it fit for purpose. Also, the pricing was within our budget.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Business Intelligence Tool that's neither Intuitive or Intelligent

If you need a bare bones BI tool, this will work. On a rare occasion I am able to create a report that is visually appealing, works on the server, and exports well. It takes way more work and time to produce a professional grade deliverable in Jaspersoft than it does in any other BI tool I have used.

Pros

This software is very customizable in terms of the output formats. Scheduled report delivery is very easy to accomplish on their reporting server. It also has the ability to create HTML 5 charts.

Cons

The design interface for report creation is atrocious. Very clunky, not intuitive, and dated especially when compared to other tools available (MS Power BI, Tableau, etc.). It is maddeningly picky when it comes to formatting. Reports will function well on in Jaspersoft and not function on a server. The error output is cryptic and requires decoding. Exported reports will look excellent in one format and awful in another. Ineffective documentation from Tibco makes learning the software a challenge if you are not an explorer. Drillable datasets are impossible.

Reasons for Choosing TIBCO Jaspersoft

It is an opensource product.

February 2021

Waqas from Education & Literacy Department

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Best Report generator of Java Application

It is one of the great report generating application used with Java Application. Though the learning curve is very difficult but once you master it then you will love this application.

Pros

JasperSoft is one thing that comes in mind when we require our Java application to export data in visualization and state of the art format. I provides lots of features you can think of. In short is ease the job of Java developers to create gorgeous reports. It also provide function to create template of the reports that can be filled by data obtain from the database on the fly by the Java Applications.

Cons

Well it's learning curve is very hard due to little documentation is present. Integration with the application is also difficult and if you integrate it than you can create many reports with minimum code.

January 2018

Tom from Trust Automation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Best report layout designer on the market.

I have been using Jasper Studio (iReport) and Jasper Server for the past 8 years and have really enjoyed the capabilities it offers and the ease of use. Continuous improvements have been made to both the designer side (iReport/Jasper Studio) and the report delivery side JasperServer. I would definately recommend you checking them out.

Pros

* Easy to use * Flexible scenarios for report grouping * No cost level available for simple deployment and use * JasperServer has ability to automate delivery of reports.

Cons

* Hard to find support forums (as a community/free user) * Custom data connectors present a challenge I haven't overcome for automated delivery (SQL reports are easy)

March 2015

Robert from Kansys, Inc.

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

March 2015

Jaspersoft - A well rounded contender in the BI market

Pros

We've been using Jaspersoft in lieu of SSRS for several years now. The software is updated regularly, new features being added with every release. Jaspersoft supports a large number of data sources, including MongoDB. The support for their product is top-notch. We receive responses to our cases within minutes and most issues are solved shortly thereafter. On issues that we were not able to resolve, it was escalated to be fixed/included in the next software update.

Cons

Being a JAVA application, it was a bit tricky to embed into our .NET application. There's supposed to be easy ways to integrate, but none of those worked with our custom authentication. Unless you are using the approved and documented authentication methods, integration will be quite a bit of work, including custom JAVA classes, etc.

October 2018

Nathan from Eliassen Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Best Open Source Reporting Framework

I've found their reporting solutions to be reliable and versatile, I've integrated Jaspersoft into many projects over the years.

Pros

Ability to achieve highly customized reporting solutions without having to make concessions. Jaspersoft provides open source solutions for reporting and hosting of reports. (Along with premium versions with advanced analytics.)

Cons

It can be a bit quirky, and integration of the Java programming language is somewhat un-intuitive. It also has a fairly steep learning curve for new comers.

September 2018

anthony from Asurion

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Simple yet powerful reporting tool.

Jaspersoft help us to create reports which data source are come from different databases with ease and without worrying on display capabilities.

Pros

I like the most on this software is the ease of you. It is very easy to understand the user interface. With it you can easy understand the flow on how to use it especially when you have experience on using other reporting tool. Objects are dependable to display what you need. Filters is very flexible. it is also capable to connect to other many sql servers such as MSSQL, MySQL, posgres and many more as long you have a driver.

Cons

i don't like on this software is the looks. it is very corporate. This is because today's users are looking for fancy looking softwares.

May 2018

Kate from locateinv.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Can be powerful, but still contains some sloppy bugs for being as old as it is

If you need a pixel perfect reporting engine, Jaspersoft is going to be one of your best options. For those kind of reports, there are a lot of great features and you can do a lot. That being said, I think they got lazy because they had significant market share and could charge an arm and a leg for it for a long time, and now there are other competing systems coming out that are slicker and cheaper. Hoping that Jaspersoft gets back into a growth phase and cleans up the system while making their prices more competitive.

Pros

Powerful features Easy to jump between editing design or XML source Preview within app works relatively well

Cons

Still finding sloppy bugs in designer years after release Pricing is extremely high compared to more recently launched systems that are definitely stealing market share Some long-requested features have gone unaddressed.

May 2014

Blanca Patricia from Intergrupo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


May 2014

For academic purposes

This is an excellent product for implementing business solutions.

August 2017

Monica from Moss & Associates

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Good tool compared with other tools in the market

Pros

The report designer is very easy to use The tools provided in the GUI interface allows technicians to create in a fast way solutions end users analyze data.

Cons

In the version we use in our company (5.2) the Java usage is a con Dashboard Designer is very limited.

August 2017

Monica from Randstad

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Great quality right out of the box!

I really enjoyed my chance to work with Jaspersoft. I thought the software was robust with lots of possibilities.

Pros

A quick get up and go reporting solution right out of the box. If you're turn around time is quick - this is a great option.

Cons

Once you start tinkering with parts of the package and removing features. Its very difficult to get back to square one.

April 2018

Arthur from Arias & Associates Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great and low cost reporting software

Helfup report generation.

Pros

I could build very complex reports quickly. There was a learning curve for sure but I integrated these with an application I was working on to produce reports used by the company.

Cons

Mostly the problem was the integration learning curve. I imagine this would happen with any software. I think their documentation could use improvement.

August 2018

Gloria from FCA

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Latest solution with BI

Pros

This software always used the best in the industry business intelligence with latest reporting and solutions package always.

Cons

The support from the service needs improvements as all will not have the same knowledge on BI so some basic training also required.

May 2017

Fadzai from Afrosoft

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

good and manageable experience

Generally it's a good tool to use for i reports

Pros

provides good reports with a good interface, works perfectly for cross tab reports, easy to implement graphs and pie charts, learning information is available on the internet

Cons

it requires experience and lines are difficult to adjust, sometimes when you edit the report it does not show exactly on the web

May 2017

fadzai from Afrosoft holdings

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

best experience ever

produce best result of reports.

Pros

its user friendly and smart and the user interface is neat,easy to learn and does not need too much experience,tutorials for it are easy to find on youtube

Cons

its too rigid,editing of lines and creation of cross tabs is difficult.it is also difficult to save work to folder of choice

February 2019

Thomson from Labster

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


February 2019

September 2017

Kseniya from IBA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

Using Jaspersoft BI free version

I understand, that inconvenience of this program is most likely caused by the free version.

Pros

This product has a lot of usefull tools and quite extensive opportunities to create report and add data sourses.

Cons

Frankly speaking this product is highly uncomfortable, it is not intuitively clear how to perform some features or where this features located.

January 2017

Narayanaswamy

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

November 2019

victor from w2w

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

The best report

Pros

I made reports here that I could not on any other platform, excellent

Cons

Maybe a little hard to get started, requires good training