User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(857)

857

4 stars

(484)

484

3 stars

(57)

57

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I am still amazed that this is a free product. It works great, has tons of support resources available on-line and works reliably every day!"

  • "I love the fact that this software is so easy to install on a CentOS server. It works right out of the box with minimal setup and is really fast."

  • "easy to use, very stable and for the price you cant beat it."

  • Cons

  • "One disadvantage is that it is a little difficult to locate the documentation of some functions, but there is a large free community that respects the development and update."

  • "Keeping up with versions (Especailly odbc versions) was confusing for a while, but we got it cleared up."

  • "The learning curve for this is a bit steep. Small actions are easy to teach but understanding the product as a whole takes time and training"

Browse MySQL Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 1458 results

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Fernando from Pelissari Gestão e Tecnologia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

The well balanced

I use MySQL in many personal projects, like my automated house project. It was a very good choice, I'm happy with this. Also, in the past, I have worked with MySQL and PHP in my company's intranet page. It was a good tool, but as the company grows, we need to migrate to another platform. Also, it is important to say that if you use the correct database engine with MySQL, you can have foreign keys and other types of constraints so it is very flexible.

Pros

MySQL is a well balanced product, while it is free to use, it also has many features you can find in corporative solutions, like SQL Server and Oracle. If you ever need help, you will find answers almost everywhere, from their own documentation to stackoverflow and other forums, easily. You will have a very short learning curve with MySQL.

Cons

When you need to deal with great amount of data, like some kind of data warehouse structure or huge amount of measures to analyze, you better go other choices. It starts getting too slow with the same hardware other products will work smoothly. But I guess that is not the purpose for MySQL. In the other hand, if you want it to build a transactional system like an e-commerce platform or even a Blog page, it is a very good choice!

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

I chose it instead of PostgreSQL because the ease of use and plenty of documentation around the internet, with many forums and examples. Both tools have a great community support, but I felt MySQL has more.

April 2021

Aleksandr from ===

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Great overall but has some very important caveats.

Mysql as any other tools has it's advantages and downsides. It may be fast, ACID-compatible, it may serve as memory cache. It has some dark corners and sometimes may hang on complex queries, or even corrupt the data (this is really rare case, but I faced it more than 10 times during my experience). Consider your scenario carefully. And always, always, ALWAYS make backups.

Pros

There a whole world of documentation, best practice, books on mysql. It can be found on nearly any cloud, system, paas. It is really fast (on MyISAM), support transactions (InnoDB), may perform as in-memory cache (memory), or even CSV (never use this one except for testing or reports). Deploy and set up takes next to no time, it consumes very little resources. Actually I feel it is hard to write a review on MySql because over decades of extensive usage it become the standard de-facto, even LAMP has (M) for MySQL. It is a mature if, well known RDBMS with tons of extensions and forks (not sure I may name them here). It is worth to mention though that MySQL is a default backend storage for a whole number of software. MySQL is compliant to SQL standard though with some differences. It may require some changes to your codebase but still, they should not be critical. What will really surprise you is that ORDER by lacks "nulls first/last" clause and that collates may surprise you. In a somewhat unpleasant way. Window functions, virtual tables, temporary tables are here as well and trust me - this is quite important matter, something that is a vital part of any DB. You will find a lot of web and standalone management tools to work both with server and data, some of them are free, others are not, chose yours.

Cons

First and biggest cons is that MySQL is not suitable for big amount of data. It always had and still have troubles performing complex joins. Database may get corrupted under some scenarios when significant selections is performed same time as other clients perform batches of inserts/updates (basically, there is a long lasting bug in memory management). Transactions are available in a single engine InnoDB and it is much slower than MyISAM. Worst thing is that in scenarios with multitenant databases with somewhat mediocre load MySQL starts to leak memory. This i a known well-issue, and there is no cure at this moment, you have to reboot the database instance. This is simply a disaster. Performance insight is something that could enjoy some more love. While Mysql is compatible with most of standard SQL, there are still some hard to explain differences.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Mysql is still used in some of our projects, but we are on our way to switch to another RDBMS for the reasons I described above.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

MySQL the default database server

We just use MySQL for all of our databases

Pros

It's the default standard for many companies. MySQL has grown into a very stable product that never crashes. We've made the move to MariaDB, but found that the tables sometimes get corrupted when restarting a database server under heavy load. With the recent speed improvements to MySQL, we have decided to actually migrate back to MySQL.

Cons

I'd really like if they would spend a bit more time on their CLI interface. As in, syntax highlighting in the CLI, an easier way to scroll through multiline queries when going through the history. I would also like it if we can specify a color scheme to use for the output.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

both other servers come highly recommended by other parties, but for some reason they just don't have the feature that we're looking for.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

MariaDB crashes too much.

January 2021

Mohammad Iqbal from MIKS Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

MySQL is lighter and fast database

Our application has 2-way interface, data-entry and user / customer interfaces. On one hand it is being used with .Net for data-entry part of application and on other hand being used with PHP for user / customer interface. The .Net part is deployed locally while user / customer interface is deployed on Azure. A in-house developed desktop utility is also being used to transport data from local MySQL server to Azure MySQL database. We are having almost 2M+ transactions in few tables, working well. It helps us to save the licensing cost. It is also being used in our other websites in backend for data storage and retrieval.

Pros

The thing I like most about MySQL is, It is available for multiple operating systems like Windows, Linux, etc. It is free and open-source. It is very lighter in comparison to MsSQL and very fast. It is very easy to learn and use. It is very easy to install, configure and manage. The syntax is very identical to the same we use sentences in English. It is capable to hold large data in tables. It is best free database with enterprise level features. It is supported by almost all popular programming languages. There are numerous 3rd party custom tools available for it.

Cons

With huge data, I had faced data loss and improper data retrieval but it is very rare and manageable. Some of the error messages are so general and unable represent the actual problem. Some error messages are so weird then the actual problem. It gives sense of insecurity at some points.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

For advanced functionality in saving, retrieving and accessing the data and use it webpages.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Adam from Fisher College of Business

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Powerful FOSS RDBMS

My experience with MySQL has been positive. I haven't found an application that it wasn't suited for yet. It has allowed us to move the majority of our systems off of Windows servers onsite to the cloud. Additionally it's compatible with ArouraDB which allows us to safe money with non production sites.

Pros

I've used both Microsoft SQL Server and Oracle and what I liked most about MySQL, aside from my personal preference for it's syntax, is that it runs well on all platforms and is easy to setup and maintain. MSSQL limits you to Windows servers and while Oracle will run on various platforms it is difficult to setup and maintain.

Cons

What I like least about MySQL is that backing up and restoring databases is a pain. You basically have to dump the database to a text file that contains every SQL statement needed to recreate the database. I also feel like the MySQL dataconnector for .NET Core isn't well developed or supported. Also MSSQL and Oracle have more ease of use functions when programming.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

We wanted to move to the cloud and not be locked into the expense of running windows servers.

February 2021

Michael from hs2n Informationstechnlogie GmbH

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

From small php pages to big data

We are using mysql in many installations. From very small php sites to big data stuff - it's always the same database engine!

Pros

It's so easy to setup. Just install via package manager and you are up and running. If you need more features, just customize the setup files. Replication, Backup, all is working out of the box.

Cons

Creating a database and adding a new user must be done in sql. For this step an installer/menu would be great since I've to do this very often.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Mysql is the default database of so many php frameworks.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Setup is so much easier than oracle.

February 2021

Viktoria from TTB

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Simple and well tested

MySQL has been around for a long time and I have been using it as my go-to database for as long as I'm working with websites. With its incredible stability, all of my websites databases are in safe hands. With recent updates it actually became even faster and more stable. I can only recommend it as the best and fastest database for small and medium size projects.

Pros

The thing I like most about MySQL is that it is free, open source, and fast. It is extremely stable, and I don't remember the time it crashed for whatever reason. Another additional benefit is that it supports multiple operating systems.

Cons

Really large databases become slow and need a lot of maintenance. Error messages are often vague and unhelpful so finding what went wrong requires a lot of work.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

MySQL has more overall support. There are more people using it and more people sharing their experiences on forums and tutorials. MySQL is also much easier to set up so it was very easy to make this decision.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Giovanni from Banco General

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

One of the best open source databases

A very useful and easy-to-use tool, compatible with any programming language and that allows you an excellent handling of permissions and manage accesses.

Pros

It is one of the most powerful and open source database engines that exists, powerful, agile and reliable. It allows integration with almost any programming language easily and quickly. It allows the management of roles and users, allowing you to control in an optimal way who enters the databases.

Cons

Its installation in certain operating systems can be a bit complicated, but once the rest is achieved, it flows easily. Sometimes the remote configuration for access can also be misleading, but once the issue is solved, the management becomes quite easy.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

100 / 5000 Resultados de traducción Mainly for the cost of implementation, MySQL offers wide functionalities at a lower cost.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Alvaro Mauricio from TDI PERU

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

MySQL is fast, reliable and easy to use db

We have great experience using MySQL, 90% of our db are MySQL.

Pros

Is fast, reliable, easy to use and free db. You don't need any third party software to do almost everything

Cons

Should have its own graphical client / manager like sql managment studio. There are many third party free softwares but Will be nice if it have its official client version

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

We use MySQL because is easy to use, reliable and fast db. You can do almost everything without any additional software

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Zura from Ltd Magticom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Date- base which saves your GOLD time

Not good but excellent for “”new baked “ - who wants to get familiar with data base software.

Pros

What I like most is it’s flexible features that you can manage your database , it’s user friendly and easy to setup.

Cons

if you want to manage huge database it’s not for you but it’s perfect to involve medium sized projects

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Cost and support , less using system resources

August 2020

Pete from S&P Sales, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Scalable software for simple to complex applications

I have had a generally good experience with MySQL. The MySQL RDBMS overall is an excellent software platform. I use it for an auction website that I designed. It takes quite a bit of study to learn about things like the column types and proper table structuring but as a layperson (i.e. not a professional programmer) you can learn the software well enough to make proper use of the program.

Pros

MySQL integrated really well with the PHP scripting language. MySQL is what is called a Relational Database Management System (RDBMS). It is a software system that uses the SQL database query language to manipulate data in a database. MySQL provides for data handling, storing, modifying, and deleting in a tabular format. You can design your database so that each table has a key to at least one other table and that each table can access data in every one of the other tables in the database (hence the word "relational"). With a properly designed MySQL database you won't have any orphaned rows or tables. The database queries that use SELECT, UPDATE, or DELETE are simple and straightforward to use with the PHP scripting language. As an end user, like myself, you don't have to install and maintain this software. The MySQL software comes preinstalled on most server hosting plans meaning the server hosting provider does the installation and maintenance for the software.

Cons

The MySQL reference manual is not clear enough in describing how to utilize many of the features for MySQL. The manual is too technical and apparently is designed for persons with a high level of computer programming or technical knowledge. The manual is sometimes confusing when seeking to find the proper column type to use (i.e. TEXT, CHAR, VARCHAR, etc.). The Date and Time functions for MySQL like DATE and DATETIME are hard to understand and difficult to implement. The table join features are difficult to understand and use.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

I use the PHP scripting language for file storage on the server hosting directory tree folder system. MySQL has a greater set of data manipulation features than the file folder storage. For me MySQL is easier to use than server file folder storage. That may be due to the flexibility of the MySQL database storage as opposed to the file folder storage.

August 2020

Carlos from Rorel

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

MySQL: free relational database manager

MySQL is a free relational database manager. I use it daily to manage data for several web applications (most commonly, by pairing it with PHP). It's fast and versatile enough to meet all my needs in different scenarios and for different types of data (e.g. client databases and many others).

Pros

In my opinion, MySQL has the following main advantages: 1. It's versatile and adapts to different use cases. Although MySQL is most commonly used to manage data for web applications (in what's called LAMP: Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP), it's really a jack-of-all-trades that one can use in different scenarios. 2. It's rock-solid. MySQL and its featured stability have both passed the test of time; the software was created 25 years ago and it's already in its 8th version. 3. It makes use of current technologies. Although it's "old", MySQL uses current database technologies, like multi-byte characters and different data-handling engines. 4. It's popular. MySQL is in the default repositories of most Linux-based operating systems, and there's plenty of documentation about it. 5. It's free. MySQL offers a fully-functional, free "community" version.

Cons

The way I see it, MySQL has two disadvantages: 1. Depending on the amount of data it handles and on how many clients connect to it, MySQL can use a lot of resources, effectively becoming a server hog and therefore requiring a powerful computer/server. 2. MySQL isn't exactly the easiest software to install and manage; it requires quite some technical knowledge.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Familiarity with the software.

August 2020

Ayesh from University of Moratuwa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

MySQL for Software Developer

Overall MySQL is very good data base platform for any one who getting start with programing database software specialy for beginners to get familiar with data base software.Good service and worth for every money you spent on it.Highly Recommended

Pros

MySQL is very fameous data base software.It is a first data base software which I use to develop my first POS system program.It was recommend by my friend and he said that it is very fast and reliable data base program but also it is very simple to understand and work with it.There for I choosed it and he said true.It is very easy to learn and work with it and I simply got familiar with it in a small time.I very like it simplicity and can highly recommend for any one who looking for a data base software to do their software developments.And also MySQL can operate within from many programing languages and I used JAVA to program my software so it need small library to import to the JAVA program and with that it can operate very fastly from using simple codes.MySQL also can operate from many coding IDEA l platforms like Visual Code , NetBeans or InteliJ and it become very helpful feature to make working easy with MySQL.MySQL is the very fast and reliable data base software I ever used and it get well fitted with my programs. There for it helps to work fast your software and there for I think using MYSQL is a good investment for developing a software.

Cons

Mainly MuSQL is my favorite data base software and I havent many drawbacks of it.I think it is better to replace more user ffriendly commands in MySQL library for JAVA.Some times it get tricky to some commands in MySQL from JAVA by using the library.But it is not a big deal.Many Programing softwares are suggest many programing key words ttherefore coding is getting very easy.But when getting to code MySQL commands , some programing platforms were unable to suggest key words and cods ththerefore I think that must be improve more.Considering security I heard that there are many more secured data base software in the feild.So I suggest to improve the security of MySQL data base.

June 2020

Adonay Andres from Geckode LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Still good after lots of years

I've been using MySQL for 12+ years. It was great then and it's great now. Lots of features have been added and query speed has been improved by a lot. Since it's a software that has been around us for many years, I insist, the backwards compatibility isn't the desired one, all the needed adjustments to datasets generated in old versions (that are still running in production environments) rely on the dba. Would be great if there could be a utility that handles that.

Pros

I like that it has a community edition which allows to get the software for free with community support. In the case of red hat/CEntOS host, a repository settings can be added and the installation is pretty straightforward. As long as it is correctly setup according to the server resources and expected demand, it runs pretty fast, it is stable and supports lots of connections.

Cons

I feel that it has been starting to loose its backwards compatibility. If you need to use a previous feature, for example, if you want to use the mysql native password, now you need to specify it when creating a user, otherwise, it won't work straightforward with most CMS software. Also, as some datatypes are being improved (which should be a nice to have feature), when migrating to a newer version, restoring a dump can turn into a headache. The users model have also changed, so, if you had a very large users set, you have to do some work to make it work again in newer versions.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Because the ease in the installation and setup process. Also at some point, MySQL integrated spatial support which was the only reason for us to keep PostgresSQL instances.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Monish from lowes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2020

Will Developed Relational Database System which supports Transactions

Had a great experience with Mysql, since it has been the core of transaction systems

Pros

Mysql is Transactional, you can commit or revert a set of actions in a transaction, it has well implemented all the Transactional feature such as primary key, foreign keys, indexing etc ... so we mainly use mysql for data collection from realtime interactions with the end user, Its Hibernate support gives a edge on realtime interactions, Mysql provides many type of JDBC/ODBC jars, using which it can be integrated to any type of tools and languages, Mysql has a desktop application called Mysql Workbench for performing all the operations on mysql, it comes in handy if you don't remember some of the commands (like migrations , dumping, updating row etc ..), also it provides schema visualisations, tables and its columns are listed which can be dragged into the editor, which makes the mysql to be easily used and reduces the developers time involved in operational work and improves development efficiency, There are lot of other friendly tools such as WAMP/XAMP etc, which can be used for learning purposes, and Mysql has a huge community support

Cons

Mysql dose not support data transfer between DB and Distributed file system such as AWS S3, which most of the other databases dose, We had to use different PSQL database for large non relational data storage, since it is not the intended purpose of Mysql, so we have to maintain two database systems, it wold be better if mysql can give non transactional support as well for large data storage and analytical use case , so that it can be one stop DBS solution for all data actions.

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Filipe from Self-employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

MySQL review

With MySQL i can sell more software because I can sell cheaper, and the performance is the same than others

Pros

MySQL is a great to database and is very very powerfull I use it everyday on my work when I develop web applications for my clients MySQL is reliable and have some great admistration tools with great value MySQL works very good and uses less system resources than other similar softwares

Cons

MySQL have all that I need to do my work perfect with less cost than others similar softwares MySQL works great for web applications, with good performance

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

With MySQL I have the same performance with less cost

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

MySQL works great on windows and linux, uses less system resources than other softwares

December 2019

James from New World Computers

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Stellar platform. A bit of a learning curve when downloading to get the right tools.

Compared with 20 years of Microsoft SQL database work, the switch to MySQL was far superior. Code level language . Remote administration is vastly superior to Microsoft SQL.

Pros

The platform is stable - always working. Documentation is consistent. Updates are coherent and stable. We use it in 95% of all our projects, and it has been a life saver for our bottom line.

Cons

Choosing the right tool to download was confusing. Obviously written by developers instead of management. I'd suggest a 2-4 step process to help in choosing the right packages. The setup process could use a bit more explanation and be more lucid.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

The two primary reasons were: Cost and workflow speed

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Workflow speed, cost, support, quick learning curve. Support by ISP's is better, cheaper. Online resources are plentiful and free.

October 2019

Ryan from Tier4 Intelligence, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

MySQL is hands down the best free database software

Overall, MySQL isn't always the right choice, but for startup applications and smaller projects, it's the best. Over time you have to learn when to use certain database software, but as a general rule of thumb, MySQL absolutely can handle anything with some configuration and the price is incredible (free). Personally, I've done research on JSON based databases and they lack structure and make things a pain in the long run, which is why I'm only mentioning MySQL and SQL Server in this review. There are other similar acceptable alternatives such as postgres but I've never had reason to use them over MySQL.

Pros

- If you structure your database correctly, it's very stable - It's free, and there are MySQL derivatives (MariaDB) that are even more powerful - The xtradb database engine in MariaDB (a derivative of MySQL) is incredibly fast - You can do things quickly and have some data integrity risks on small projects, or you can do things properly and have virtually no risk on mission critical applications - VERY easy to scale and setup database clusters and replication, especially in all of the cloud providers

Cons

- The barrier for entry is too low, causing MySQL and MariaDB to get a bad rep because inexperienced users take advantage of its simplicity - Performance isn't on par with MSSQL/SQL Server without a ton of configuring

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

I don't always choose MySQL over SQL Server, there are definitely cases where one beats the other, but if I had to choose to go with one for the rest of my life, I'd go with MySQL. As for the others, I tend to avoid any NoSQL or JSON based databases for anything other than front-end quick tasks that don't require security and only have one primary key to obtain all data, and in those cases, Firebase is always the victor hands down.

October 2019

Mitul from Citiustech INC

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Robust and easy to implement

Robust, easy to use, fast and reliable. Easy to develop stored procedures and triggers

Pros

One of the best features of MySQL is that it's easy to configure and start using. I found less of connectivity issues as compared to sql sever or Oracle. Also its platform independent

Cons

Terms used for components and features like schema and database is different than what is used in other dbms. If someone is new and migrating from SQL server or Oracle to this software, they will find the nomenclature a little confusing

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

As mentioned above, my web application was easy to implement using CMS which used WAMP server that had mysql

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

My application requirement was easily achievable through CMS which was based on WAMP server.

October 2019

Lilantha from Axiata Digital Labs

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

MySQL Review

We resolved over DBMS issues with MySQL. It is free therefore We resolved our cost issues. It has the best community. We resolved our all issues very easily. Queries are very easy, Therefore we saved over time. If we think to use relational database MySQL is the best. We can recommend for anyone. Drivers are there for any programming language.

Pros

MySQL is a powerful database management system. It is free. Easy to learn and use. I someone new to DBMS. We can recommend that person to MySQL without any trouble. It is supported to any environment. If your server/PC windows, Linux or Mac. It doesn't matter. MySQL support for all Operation systems and very easy to set up in any environment. We can tall like this if we think about the setup and configuration process "MySQL is the most easiest DBMS system to set up and configure". We can create databases and tables very easily. As well as It is a relational database. We can keep up table relations. It supports many data types. Int, Double, Flote, Varchar, Text, Date,Timestamp...etc.We can create table, views,functions,procedure,trigger..etc. It support many character sets. We vey easy to take backups. We can use text files, CSV file, excel files to data upload. bulk data upload support. MySQL queries are very easy. It supports joins, subqueries,union,group,order and so many things are there. Many free client applications are there for MySQL like MySQL workbench, sqlyog, phpadmin. We can run mysql in custom port. We can limit privileges by user roles. Best thing is support. And also MySQl drivers are there for any programming language. If It is Java, PHP, Node...etc doesn't matter. There are many resources for MySQL. MySQL is a world most popular, powerful, easy, wonderful DBMS.

Cons

Actually, It is a relational database. Therefore before the database creation, You want to create ER-Diagram otherwise you are in trouble. When the relationships are increasing. Hard to insert data. As well as. MySQL is not good for large databases. If relations go very hight. data retrieving speed is going down. If table storage is hight, data retrieving speed is going down. If connections are going hights. It returns too many connection errors and MySQL down. We want to restart.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

It is free. Easy to use. Easy to setup. Have a big community.

August 2019

Jim from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Stable Database for Every Project

Pros

I came from programming background who used PHP as primary language and naturally MySQL was the database for the backend. One feature about MySQL is how easy it is to setup and use and how flexible it is to operate. I have used both the CLI (Command Line Interface) and GUI (Graphical User Interface) to interact with the database to create tables, add records, update and remove records, all seem really fast and stable. I used MySQL on my Windows, Mac, and Linux machines without any hiccups. It follows the traditional Relational Database Management System structure with you first create the database, then the tables, then add records to the tables before you can query them. The client used to interface MySQL include the web-based tool like PHPMySQL, and Windows tool like HeidiSQL or MySQL Workbench. These tools all connect to the database very easily. These tools also lets you backup your database for offline storage.

Cons

The recent trend of database has gone from the traditional Relational model to NoSQL, which is a SQL platform that uses mostly JSON format to store data instead of the traditional database tables and records. This is where MySQL lacks, MySQL doesn't have the ability to run as NoSQL so if you intend to use a NoSQL database, MySQL is not for you. One other thing I noticed about MySQL database is if you have a large collection of data and IF your SQL query is not very optimized, the speed to return the data set can be very very slow. Of course, the only way to fix it is optimize or change your query.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

I am already very familiar with the product, its syntax and commands. To me it's a natural choice.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Ravindu from EdhiryaIT Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

A thought on MySQL

As currently I have developed inventory system, clinic system, an backend application for a private company to manage huge no of memberships and ads, and a UK company for manage Business Name , Limited company, trademark and domain registrations and renewals. All of these used with mysql its those are running smoothly. Never had any headaches as through sql queries can manipulate easily and had fast responses for even complex queries and for huge no of data Frameworks used are spring boot and laravel.

Pros

Known and used by most people as most secure and reliable relational database management system. Accompanies 99.99% uptime. Nothing to fears as open source. Can have millions of helps through community. Offers a wide scope of high accessibility like cluster servers master slave replication. Provides high performance even for large volume projects. Growing and improving frequently. Best for cloud applications and big data applications. Supports by huge no of frameworks.

Cons

Red Hat Enterprise Linux, openSUSE, Fedora, Slackware Linux etc moved to MariaDB.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Relational Database, Free of charge, unlimited help from community. Light weighted, Supports by huge no of frameworks.

July 2019

Austin from Vibration Research Corporation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

MySQL, a Great Free Database Option

I created a custom database from scratch that tracks inventory assets for the company of which I am currently employed. I also created a couple others that track IT tasks and admin activities.

Pros

Easy to use, syntax is easy to remember, database structure can be built quickly and there is a plethora of tools available to help

Cons

Syntax took some learning, syntax errors sometimes unclear as to what the error actually is. Not a problem if using Workbench

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MySQL was free, less resource heavy, and the syntax was slightly easier. Tools were also more user friendly.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Easier to use and set up. Free and allows for more growth than SQL Server w/o having to pay to upgrade.

February 2019

Caleb from Transparent BPO

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

MySQL - One of the best FREE sql DB

I believe your experience with MySQL will vary based on the option(s) you choose to interact with it. As mentioned before, you can use the CLI which is used mainly by power users; however, the average Joe can simply use a open source GUI which will make life a whole lot easier. Just to name a few of the FREE GUI software on the web: * HeidiSQL * PhpMyAdmin * SQL Workbench All are excellent options to make the user experience absolutely the best. Ever since I began using the software, I felt this bond with the ease of use, ease to remember commands and a large community support backed by tons of online documentations and tutorials. I would say this is one of my best experience using any software and would highly recommend for beginners and power users.

Pros

Currently we have many different types of DB on the market (No SQL and SQL). I spent the past 3 years working with MySQL and completely feel in love with the many of its' feature. * Once you become familiar with the features and the commands, you will find it is super easy and flexible to operate. I interact with it via both the CLI (Command Line Interface) and GUI (Graphical User Interface) and just love the experience. * It has some easy to use commands that are human readable. * Ton loads of useful documentations on the web. * It is an amazing open source RDBMS (Relational Database Management System). * It can be found bundled with many current software stack (LAMP, MAMP, XAMPP) etc., just to name a few. * You can create and cutomize databases, tables, routines, procedures which will all make the workflow super easy to manage your data with many advance tools available at your disposal. * There is the CRUD (Create, Read, Update and Delete) features that are simple to learn and master in your everyday workflow.

Cons

Looking at the NoSQL DB (MongoDB) which uses a document type format to save data in their DB, I would say one of the feature I believe is missing or could be improved, is the way data is stored. What I mean, is that currently in MySQL, if the field is not created, you can't insert data as it will not automatically create necessary fields, while with MongoDB, if the particular field has not been created before data was inserted, it will be done on the fly while uploading or inserting data.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

deba from Petronomics Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

lightweight but reliable and effective.

MYSQL saved my company money on longtime basic and have also resulted in faster processing time from database call and query while its ability to work well with third-party interface application meant that I do not have to work from command prompt screen.

Pros

I used MySQL in a project that was covered under the GPL license thus it was free. This helped My company save a lot of expenses compared to when we were using another DB software. My adaptation to MYSQL was quick based on my previous use and knowledge of MSSQL which have similar Coding structure and many parallel functions. MYSQL, been open sourced means that there are tons of thousands of supports and help is available on the internet. I have found this to be particularly very helpful in sorting out otherwise difficult situations. Reliability of MYSQL is the reason MYSQL is the most used database client and I cannot agree less! Been a witness to its reliability, I can say that MYSQL does what it was designed for effectively…and to think it is always been improved upon. I have used MYSQL with Apache/Tomcat JAVA, Perl. , PHP and JSP and it Worked seamlessly with them. I have observed that MYSQL works best for me when called from Spring Web Flow either through a Hibernate layer or JDBC though. MYSQL is flexible, easy to install because of its lightweight and can scale to very heavy DB without the need for additional support. So far, there has not been a need to change to a new database management application for us. The only downside I have noticed is on query time speed. for instance, a query that use to call for 0.18 seconds now does 0.23 seconds due to DB expansion over the period of 1 year which is still acceptable.

Cons

The need for technical support is overwhelming even though you will most likely find help on the internet. It is difficult to get your actual database performance base on your system specs adaptation like memory utilization and usage during different calls. There is a shocking lack of documentation for many functions embedded within the program and I had to resort to the internet to uncover their uses. You are going to have to learn MYSQL irrespective of your previous knowledge of query languages. This can be more difficult if you are totally new to structural languages and querying tables. The fact that MySQL does not support ARRAY data types means it cannot be adapted to certain situations and projects. I advise you get detailed need analysis before jumping on MYSQL to avoid data type mismatch and project regrets.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Outstanding Database System

I have been using MySQL for years now to design and deploy dynamic websites and online software. It is one of the easiest and best database systems I have used. It does have a few quirks and things that can get a little frustrating from time to time, but all in all it is an amazing system and I don't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Because it is free there really isn't a lot of direct support for it. That said there is a huge community of users and it is normally very easy to find an answer to question or get help when you need it. This is truly one of the best database systems you can use.

Pros

- First off it is free and open source - Excellent scale-able database system - Works perfectly with Linux or Unix servers - When paired with PHP MyAdmin you can easily work inside your databases from anywhere - Excellent storage capacity and retrieval - Can easily store millions of records without issue - Did I mention it is FREE!

Cons

- Unless you want to be working in a command prompt you need to install 3rd party software like PHP MyAdmin to administrate the database; that said most hosting companies install these by default for you already. - Some built-in functions to MySQL actually slow down queries to a crawl and ignore your indexes; for example using the DATE() on a datetime column ignores any index in that column. - Not as robust as Oracle or SQL for large datasets; it will work but it does slow down performance as your data pool grows. Normally this does not happen until you get well into the millions of records and even then there are things you can do to speed up performance but it is worth noting it is not as fast out of the box as other enterprise systems.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

John from The Phase USA LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

MySQL is a super database program and it's free!

First, I pay nothing for this software, its open source and freely downloadable on as many computers as you want. Second, it is reliable. Backups are a breeze with mysqldump statements, and restores are just as easy and quick. Third, it is very fast. Do yourself a favor. Take the time to learn this database software. You won't regret it.

Pros

When I first started keeping a customer database, I started with MS Access because it seemed the fastest and easiest option and I had MS Office already. Then I discovered the Linux operating system and decided I wanted to use open source software whenever possible. And the first program I found was MySQL. I converted my ACCESS database over to MySQL and haven't looked back since. This was in 1998. Soon thereafter I found that I could write PHP web pages to display my customer database records in a lot of neat ways, so I learned to how to write PHP pages. I've been using MySQL and PHP pages ever since. MySQL is fast, it has all the features you want, and don't worry about number of records in your databases it will handle all you need.

Cons

I was familiar with the linux terminal when I started using MySQL so that wasn't completely foreign to me. Of course I quickly realized database language is completely different, so I had to start learning select statement, insert delete etc. But since there weren't many complicated things I needed to do (mostly just select statements insert delete update statements) it didn't take me long to be able use the MySQL cli. Although there are GUI tools for MySQL, I never really spent much time on them, other than phpMySQL, which is a great tool for MySQL. The downside of MySQL is you have to learn its language. And that takes time. But then again that's the beauty of MySQL.

April 2018

Carlos Aogusto from MT Marketing C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Excellent database management system

I am a developer of systems under web environment, and in many opportunities I use the MySQL database manager, it is a fundamental tool in my team for a long time.

Pros

MySQL is open source software that allows anyone to use it and modify it. Anyone can download the MySQL source code and use it without paying. Anyone interested can study the source code and adjust it to their needs. MySQl is a relational, multi-threaded and multi-user database system with more than six million installations and is widely used in web applications, such as Drupal or phpBB, on platforms (Linux / Windows-Apache-MySQL-PHP / Perl / Python) Its popularity as a web application is mostly related to PHP, which usually appears in combination with MySQL. This database manager is one of the best in terms of performance since the speed of opreciones is very good. You can be executed in low-resource machines since the consumption of requirements for its execution is very low. It supports several opertative systems and is very easy to install and configure. There are a number of good quality software tools that provide management and development workspace functions. MySQL Workbench and TOAD for MySQL are good examples. Being open source there is a large amount of help on the Internet and this should help to reduce, in a production environment, incident handling times. Also, a lot of information so that your development team can read.

Cons

A large percentage of MySQL utilities are not documented. The support for triggers is basic so there are certain limitations in what can be done with them. By handling referential integrity with non-transactional MyISAM tables. It does not treat them differently from the rest of the fields. Privileges for a table are not automatically deleted when a table is deleted. A REVOKE command must be explicitly used to remove privileges from a table.

November 2016

William from PoundTeam Incorporated

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

I started in Access/Excel, then MSSQL. Now: The only DB system we use is MySQL

A couple lifetimes ago I worked with Lotus1*2*3. In my next life I eventually settled on Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Access for data storage and manipulation. I maintained the necessary tech memberships to allow access to all forms of Microsoft software, and built example systems for existing clients in both Microsoft SQL and MySQL. Hands down the MySQL based systems have always won the client vote, sometimes simply for the pricetag and sometimes for the simple open-source power of the community of available implementations. MySQL can work faster and it can work more securely. I have had a few clients who have preferred PostreSQL (because they were already married to it) and we've written a few applications for it. We've also modified many legacy Microsoft SQL applications. Usually, however, we're called in to migrate from MSSQL to MySQL any time a company actually performs any form of study to determine what's best moving forward. The criteria is simple: If the change is due to an internal or external check to find what their best answer is: The answer is always "MySQL". If, however, the solution was determined by "someone got ahold of the boss/owner/CEO and a unilateral decision was made without any other input", then the solution installed was two things: Expensive and short-lived. No joke. This applies to any software that requires data storage that we've dealt with in that last 10 years (IE: "This" lifetime). From CRM to Telephony and Web. I gave up my TechNet subscription over 6 years ago because no client had chosen a Microsoft solution for Server-side operations in three years.

Pros

Cost. Reliability. Ease of installation. Power.

Cons

While I have had some complaints about error locating in the MySQL code we write, I understand that the underlying technology would be degraded by more checks and balances within the system. Plus: This concept applies equally to every version of SQL we use (Postgre and MSSQL included).

January 2018

Ashish from Metacube Software Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Best open source relational database for beginners and experienced professionals

I are working on a recruitment drive management software. I use MySQL database to store all my dynamic application data like user, college, company, recruitment drive, student etc. MySQL provides easy to use interface to make db queries to read, update, create and deletion of data. I got benefit using MySQL in terms of reliability, speed, easy to use interface, simple query syntax and support of joins. MySQL provides easy to understand documentation to understand its insights to get the full benefit from it. I recommend MySQL to all entry level and experienced developers, administrators and engineers. It support all types of basic and enterprise level needs of storing relational data. MySQL is easily adaptable with all programming languages.

Pros

MySQL is the simple, fast, popular open source and freely available database for software developer. MySQL provides adapter to integration to almost all types of programming languages. MySQL query syntax is easier to learn compared to all other database management software. It also support highly complex and advanced SQL queries. It is being maintained by Oracle. MySQL has good documentation. MySQL provides a tool called Workbench to write queries and look in the table data. MySQL provides the indexing and hashing for faster reading of data.

Cons

MySQL doesn't support complex data types like: JSON and ARRAY. MySQL does not support SQL check constraints that is used to validate data stored in a column. MySQL doesn't support common table expression. MySQL doesn't support full outer joins. It is costly to increase connections limit in MySQL.

August 2019

Jordan from Trinamic Digital Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

I love my MySQL (see what I did there)

I thoroughly enjoy working with MySQL and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. For linux hosting environments there is no other database tool of choice for me.

Pros

I enjoy MySQL as a web-based SQL database tool. In particular, it's comparability with PHP makes it a formidable tool when creating hosted web applications. I myself have used MySQL to create MANY web based databases for web applications, websites and CMS powered websites alike. Very few downsides to using MySQL and it's basically globally accepted by the Web Development community.

Cons

Very few things. If I had to pick something I would say that the PHPMyAdmin user interface for MySQL databases could definitely use an update. To be honest though, I'm not even sure if PHPMyAdmin is a part of MySQL or cPanel itself so take this criticism with a grain of salt.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Mainly for it's use in linux hosting environment requirements posted to me by clients.

April 2018

Matthew from Calgro M3 Developments (Pty) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Excellent relational database manager

As it's extremely easy to use, iv'e had no reason to change over to another database manager. However in theory it is scalable up to 8 TB, MySQL can not work efficiently with large database which is becoming a growing concern for me as my companies data is growing substantially.

Pros

iv'e been developing for a few years now and using MySQL has made my programming an absolute breeze. MySQL is designed to focus on big data, especially for web development I originally used Microsoft SQL Server but chose to use MySQL instead which provides a great opportunity for a platform that is easy to integrate., is easily scaleable and has great data integrity. As i use MySQL for my company, we now have over 300 various active tables processing our data on a daily basis. Plugging into my IDE's for web development is extremely easy and reliable to work with. Because of its popularity over the years, there are solutions to nearly everything in MySQL. The amount of online learning material makes this a simple investment for anyone looking to utilize databases in their projects MySQL is a great place to start for companies that don't foresee using relational databases.

Cons

Porting a MySQL application to Microsoft SQL Server, or to a competing SQL database engine, requires a significant amount work. as MYSQL is not backward compatible. Although in theory it is scalable up to 8 TB, MySQL can not work efficiently with large database.

March 2020

Patrick from DiNapoli SOlutions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Best Database Solutions

Every web based application needs a good database to handle the management of its users, eCommerce solutions and website structure to keep everything running and out out all the data management solutions out there MySQL is the best! Installation and and implementation is as simple as a few clicks and the MySQL Interface allows for easy customization and control. The website you are reading this from uses MySQL to store all these information and keep tract of submissions and statistical information. Never had any issues and i use it in my everyday life daily.

Pros

I been using MySQL Since it's invention. I use MySQL to create user databases for user profiles, Order tracking and website user data management and it has done perfect on the website software i use such as WordPress. vBulletin and a range of other website based applications. I also use MySQL for my video/audio chat application to start users chat profiles.

Cons

Sometimes hen your importing large MySQL databases from one host to another it can be challenging. Sometimes the process breaks during upload or importing and you have to start all over again or the import doesn't fully import everything and there is website issues so keep that in mind. I found a way around this alot of times by just using big dump. Other then that over the years it has been getting better and better as of the latest version i must say that it is running so far flawlessly.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Aníbal from Banco Bicentenario, Banco Universal C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

MySQL is very fast and powerful for small and medium projects

I have had many benefits of Mysql, my first mysql for professional use, I have installed many systems using Mysql from content managers to web applications made to measure, I have grown with mysql for many years using it both to work in companies and for particular jobs for companies. clients I have won the congratulations of my bosses as well as promotions and congratulations from my client for certain jobs

Pros

Mysql has been my favorite database since I started programming, it's easy to install, it's simple to find an application that connects to the database and do the administration in graphical mode, many content managers and e-commerce stores use mysql by default and has helped me carry out several projects, I like that most hosting providers have MySQL support at no additional cost. It is free this is important to reduce the costs in the projects. Mysql is certainly fast and light, the installation requirements are minimal and with few resources, I have used it in Windows and Linux without any problem in both, but the host operating system has never been a limitation and I use it in a Linux environment every time it's possible. Something I like a lot is the documentation that there is of all kinds, which helps the administration and the development of new applications.

Cons

I think that mysql needs to improve in terms of the variety of data types in other databases. I find more complex types of data that are sometimes necessary, another point that should be improved is the power of the procedures that I consider limited compared to those of others. Other brands. Since Oracle bought mysql, the community is not sure about the future of this software, so it has created mistrust in me and I do not like this.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Awais from Style Textile

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

Mysql DB with ERPs and PHPs programs

Overall found perfect for large data, large industry data of erps, IOT devices and other complex features like sms/email applications. Queries,data handeling,data backups,table analyse,database comoaction and optimization are awesome valued aded features.

Pros

Effective to handel large data recording and reporting with in good time,while data is being entred and acessed from many users. Live from PC GuIwhereas also available phpmyadmin to acess on web and work with php accordingly, although it can be integrared with many languages programs like Java,Ajax,ASP but most of the time it being used with PHP. Work with existing filed like calculation/triggers best thing which is used BI,AI. Query reporting/response time from such large data is awesome. Query for access data almost every feature is available to get curtain form of data. UI and use is very easier.

Cons

Not generic calculation formula like excel, such additional feature should be introduced. Value based trigger should be introuduced with support of scripts, i.e if value of column (field) reaches,equals to specific value this then run this scripts ir query and put specific value on this filed etc , its currently un upavailable. Advanced statiatics are not get reported by data, like hypothesis, regerssions. No built in tool in excel.

September 2019

Bhavik from Information and technology

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A Great Database for an organisation's need.

My overall experience with MySQL is very positive and owing to the high performance and low operational cost, I would love to work on MySQL again.

Pros

The best thing about MySQL is that it is Open Source. The total cost of ownership in a production environment is very low and performance wise, it is very high performance database. Also, the support for MySQL over the internet is vast and very helpful.

Cons

The thing I like the least about MySQL is it requires a steep learning curve and one must be familiar with SQL concepts in order to use it efficiently. Also, for complex business logic, it tends to get very hard to handle.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

The prior experience with SQL helped us choose MySQL over other products. Also, MySQL has a great transactional support, which was a basic requirement in our case.

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Nigel Masimba from Calmlock Web Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

MySQL is the ubiquitous Database platform for the web

I use MySQL with a popular content management system, and it has never, in any way let me down. Our CMS has custom database query commands, so I hardly ever have create my own queries. Even when I do manually write queries I have access to years of documentation to help me along.

Pros

MySQL is a robust, well document, secure, and interoperable database system software. Almost everyone, all the way down from the vast majority of cheap shared hosting providers up to enterprise cloud hosting providers has support for MySQL databases. I don't need to know how to write queries to use it as there are a number of visual tools to write and execute queries. It is scalable. A project can start small on a single server and grow huge to work in a distributed cloud ecosystem.

Cons

Learning MySQL is a steep learning curve however you don't have to learn it in most cases as there are frameworks, and visual tools that create MySQL queries for you.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MySQL is the defacto database software for the content management system (CMS) that I primarily work on. While I can set up other database systems but they do not work out of the box and in some cases may need advanced customization in order to work seamlessly with my favorite CMS.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The standard for most web projects

Pros

This is the standard for most applications online. MySQL is a powerful and professional RDBMS that has almost anything you can expect. At data level, you have: partitioning, text indexing, geo data type (you can search items near a location), and even NoSQL if you need so. Talking about systems, you can set up Master-Slave systems to improve read availability or even Master-Master for high availability. You can build more robust (but complex) systems with clusters too. MySQL has two models: propietary one and Open Source (‘Community’ version). The fact that this is Open Source has made it the most used RDBMS in the Internet, and the most compatible at tools level (you will find plenty of tools to manage your server via GUI, and probably the development tools you are using already work with MySQL).

Cons

MySQL is mostly centered around the server. Oracle (the owner of the product) only have two or three very simple management tools (plus the CLI tool), clearly surpassed by lots of tools (both free and commercial). It means there are no official extra products around the RDBMS, like Forms, Reporting tools or so; if you need them , you will have to look for 3rd party products.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Jose Miguel from Bird Consultores S.A. de C.V.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Can't go wrong with MySQL (for PHP or Java projects)

So far, its been good. MySQL is an easy to use and configure Database, with a huge community and resources.

Pros

The infinite documentation for any OS/Language combination to develop with MySQL is astonishing. You just need to go to google and search your question regarding a problem or a best practice with MySQL and you will find it, for sure. Installation is a breeze in any OS I installed on. Just a few clicks and you are done. If you got lost (hardly), google it and have your answer.

Cons

You still need to work with plain text files for advanced configurations. Stability its been improved with each release, but hurts performance by little.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Documentation and Community its the best for an Open Source RDBMS

October 2019

kalaiselvan from Bahwan cyber tek

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

MqSQL Review

Overall it is a good open source DBMS database for beginners to try out and learn the concepts.

Pros

MySql is the Open source Database and anyone can use it without any licence cost. Queries are very simple and common to other RDBMS database. MqSQL Drivers(API) are available for all the Programming languages which makes easy to connect database from the code. This is platform independent and can be installed in any OS(Windows, Linux ). We can create procedures, triggers easily with MYSQl and the data back up can be handled softly. It supports CSV, Excel and Plain Text files for Uploading.

Cons

If the table has relatively more data count, the performance for query retrieval is slow. when you have too many open connections, database will go down and you will see the connection errors.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Because it is an Open Source Database

April 2020

Timothy from Tug Brands LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Best Free RDBMS I've Found

MySQL has helped me and my team quickly launch new projects and literally have complete databases up and ready to use in an hour. We can always use a template that we created and saved in the SQL format and then import it and adjust as needed.

Pros

The price! MySQL is free and included in every major web hosting company that I've came across. It is so easy to use and it just works. I love the ease of implementation and how easy it is to import and export new tables and even complete databases. Additionally you can usually find phpMyAdmin bundled in with MySQL which makes managing and manipulating the databases a breeze.

Cons

MySQL does not offer data domain objects or extensibility. However, I have never needed either and this is why MySQL is always our go-to for making quick easy manipulatable databases online.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Microsoft Access is easy but yet complicated and if you want a super easy database with no logic then it is easy to make a database in and control. However whenever there is a lot of logic involved I prefer to just sort out the logic in server-side code and manage the database online with MySQL.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

The only DB engine i ever need

The experience is flawless and benefits are endless, the cost to maintain a MySQL server is by far the lowest if you compare other SQL database engines and the integration with every possible programming language makes it our personal favorite choice to develop database based applications. Hands down.

Pros

Been using MySQL for like 5 years almost 90% of total projects done by us are based on MySQL database, the deployment is insanely easy and scalability is amzing it can even handle TBs of data easily requires enough resources. Every major company is using MySQL in some way. These are not the only things being an open source projects the community developer support is by far the best i have ever seen even commercial products don't have this kind of support. Ah and yeah even a kid can use SL queries making it the best choice one can make for cost effective database solution.

Cons

nothing everything is awesome as it shoud be while some forks like mariadb have better performance on same system i wonder why is that maybe it's something to do with optimizations and data checks MySQL performs every time a query is run, well here you have it.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Ramon from Digisaúde

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

FLEXIBLE DATABASE

We have a financial application and the database used is mysql, we have many simultaneous requests

Pros

Main database, with numerous configuration possibilities, from login type, to different backups and exportation;

Cons

Simple tasks such as INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE, and DELETE are easy to understand, but replication and other tasks require a little more dedication.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Unindexed databases like mongo are sometimes not as effective, it is necessary to analyze the task. In the situation in which it was compared, you could not use it. It was chosen from postgres, because of the familiarity of the programmers.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

P Christopher from Liberty University

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

An Opensource Necessity for Any PHP Website

While there is a large learning curve, MySQL is a powerful tool that allows you to manipulate data easily with simple SQL statements.

Pros

MySQL first and foremost is an opensource database management system. That in and of itself makes it extremely valuable as it is already free. Essentially, MySQL allows you to create different databases. Within these databases, you can have any number of tables. These tables can hold all kinds of information. From unique ids to integers to strings, almost any kind of data can be stored in their database system. It runs based on the SQL language which makes sorting data a breeze and search functions are brilliant once you learn the language. I often use MySQL in relation to PHP websites, and it is integrated seamlessly. Pulling data from a database, adding to it, and updating information is very simple using this program. It's a very powerful tool with a lot of features. Furthermore, it also is easy to install on almost any website as long as you have ftp access.

Cons

MySQL is not easy to use. While there are a ton of different features, you need to know what you are doing. It is a large learning curve and can take a lot of time for users to get a hang of it. Once the learning curve is breached, it becomes quite a bit easier, Breaching that learning curve is tough, however. Furthermore, MySQL runs slow on large tables. While this is understandable, updates could be made to increase the speed of the program.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Ramindu from Virtusa Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

The de facto standard for relational databases

MySQL has made it possible to set up and rapidly deploy small-scale applications which require a relational database. If effectively managed, it can be applied to large-scale applications as well.

Pros

MySQL is the DBMS you go to for any of your relational database needs; it sets the standard for how a relational database should behave and provides a lot of advanced features as well. With the recent improvements such as adding the JSON data type it can act as a hybrid between relational and document-based databases as well.

Cons

MySQL can be a pain to scale, and suffers from some complex configuration issues.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Simplicity and ease-of-use

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

A widely accepted database which is easy to use and scalable - MySQL

Overall, MySQL is a great tool-set for beginners and for producing small scale applications which will be serving to a limited audience. It can provide more than the required feature-set in those scenarios. However, when it comes to large enterprise, front-facing applications with loads of complexity and data, there MySQL can become inefficient due to a lack of administrative tools and limitations due to its structural models.

Pros

1. Easy implementation: MySQL is by far one of the most straightforward installations which can be performed by any entry-level DBAs. 2. Enterprise level Internal applications: can be easily hosted with MySQL and a wide audience can rely on it for throughput and performance. However, for external-facing applications, the statement will be different. 3. Best platform for beginner DBAs: to learn and get their hands dirty with SQL.

Cons

1. Administrations tasks are mostly manual or can be automated with custom scripts. However, it takes a whole lot of toll on the creation and managing of those scripts. 2. With huge applications, that contains millions of records, there can be scenarios where data loss is observed. Therefore, backup for all your data at all times is a complete must. 3. External facing applications with huge loads from the global audience cannot be entertained very efficiently with MySQL.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

No external products were considered since we wanted a database for small scale and internal applications, for which MySQL serves best.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Daniel from Corporación Sybven

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

My mysql Experience

If u have a small size and medium size business, with data that does not require a lot of security use Mysql for sure and by far the best option

Pros

Simply amazing, the response speed of the query both in the bath and in the phpyadmin interface. The low cost of the resources required makes it suitable for applications and programs of small to medium size which makes it really functional, personally in my previous work and by company policies that only required open source applications and Free, mysql me It was the perfect answer because it had everything, speed, optimization, performance, easy to install and manage

Cons

As an administrator I have always tried to achieve the standardization of all my systems, both in codification and in the behavior of the databases and in mysql I have found many failures that even with (more than 15 years in the market), errors are found without the proper documentation, errors that even the community of oracle and mysql have not been able to solve, to the nomenclature of the errors is very generic and a single error code can refer to several different errors

March 2021

Tanmay from 7Targets AI Assistant

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Very powerful tool, but query formation is very difficult.

The major business problem MySQL is helping me solve is storing data. Though query formation is really difficult, the tool itself is very powerful. We can write stored procedures though which we can do almost anything. Exporting data is very easy.

Pros

I like the cache of the DB. When you query some data many times, it keeps the data in cache so that read time is very less.

Cons

Query formation is the toughest part of the software. You should be very well versed with the query language, then only you will be able to query data.

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

DynamoDB is a NoSQL database. We wanted to use DB for structured data and then we chose MySQL.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Great for storing diagnostics and using for data analytics

I have been using MySQL daily for 6+ years in my current job. I manage a MySQL database for work which we use for storing machine diagnostics.

Pros

Once the mysql query language is learned, it is an awesome way to quickly query data and get all of the information desired. Functions are also extremely useful for linking data together that doesn't use the same primary key to link the data together.

Cons

Like all querying languages, the language is initially hard to learn, but once it's learned, it's a great utility.

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

SQL Server was very expensive and MySQL is free and does the exact same thing!

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Michael from Burkson Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Terrific and reliable database

MySQL has been reliable, performant, and is my go-to when building projects that require a relational database.

Pros

MySQL is robust and reliable, with some very advanced features. I appreciate that I can easily get started with it, and I often begin my software projects by modeling my data for MySQL. Query performance is very good and disaster recovery is also very good. Would highly recommend.

Cons

Nitpicking, but I would love to see more support for NoSql paradigms. Loose document storage with advanced search and query would be awesome!

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Cost and ease of setup/hosting solutions.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 1,458 reviews