User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(24)

24

4 stars

(27)

27

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "easy access to being able to locate things in multiple areas."

  • "Allowed us to purchase the system outright. They do give you all modules out of the box and provide free training (although it is very weak)"

  • "The GS system was very helpful in terms of production planning, inventory, capacity and monitoring of the items, status and finished date."

  • Cons

  • "The product works great in manufacturing, but the accounting flow was complicated and the price was indicated in every product. "

  • "Well, for all of it's pro's the one con I can say is the first thing that always comes to mind is the annual cost to maintain it.. it's a little expensive."

  • "I personally have nothing i do not like, if anything they could make there quality module stronger but it works just fine."

Browse Global Shop Solutions Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 64 results

April 2018

Pat from CREED MONARCH INC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Excellent experience over the past 10 years

GSS has been a good fit for us by providing a fully developed, all-in-one business resource, from a software provider that acts more as a partner than a vendor.

Pros

We find GSS to be a highly developed ERP tool with some very sophisticated functionality; not all of which we need to take advantage of, but is there if/when we decide to. The extensive range of selective parameters allowed for flexibility in how we configured the software to function for our business, so the implementation process was key for us. And we find, even 10 years in, that these software options along with GSSs continual commitment to software enhancements have been able to keep up with the evolving processes and informational demands of our business. And I can't say enough about their customer service support.. extremely responsive, always professional, and highly competent. In almost every instance, our service calls have been responded to the same day, and the norm is resolved to satisfaction within 48 hours of initial contact. With our business going 24/6, this level of responsiveness is critical.

Cons

Issues we had with moving between modules to gain information - or a "big picture" approach - have been satisfied with the introduction of dashboards throughout all areas of the software. Some lag in the system has developed from recent changes within the software but we believe are being addressed.

April 2014

Peter from Fullerton Tool

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2014

Solid and Flexible System with Advanced Features.

Pros

The product is very flexible, detailed, and truly integrated. It is capable of delivering capabilities and options that most vendors only seem able to promise. This, matched with a very high reliability, makes the system a good match for most manufacturing organizations. The integration and interface make for a good user experience that is flexible enough to meet most users' needs. This is accomplished through the true integration of all major areas of functionality and makes operation very smooth. We rely heavily on the integrated Document Control systems to provide information relevant to users and customers through the manufacturing process and afterward. It is a huge timesaver and allows us to answer most customer questions on a single call, chat, or e-mail. Another great advantage of this is the company behind the software. First, you are dealing with a family owned company with no intention of selling. This speaks to the commitment of the company to the product and its support. Second, they are the developers of the software, which ensures a tight integration between modules and understanding of issues. And finally, the same organization selling and supporting the software is also writing it. This is huge and avoids drawn out finger-pointing sessions between the software company and VARs that leave you high and dry with other solutions.

Cons

Dealing with issues after upgrades and limited support for older versions are a hassle. Being that it is such a complex piece of software and is tweaked to each user's needs, I understand that issues crop up, but that doesn't make dealing with them any less difficult.

March 2017

Steven from Toolcraft Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Operations Manager

We went live in Global Shop on 04-01-15 and in virtually all areas of our company, it's simplified how we operate. Is there a learning curve? Yes, but we went into the transition expecting a learning curve! It was new, complex software that took the place of multiple homegrown systems. It took 4 months from when we started till we went "live", which for us exceeded our expectations.

Pros

1. Customer Support - Global Shop was and has been with us every step of the way. It's an understatement to say selecting an ERP system is a big deal! There will be questions/issues to work through and when those questions/issues come up, you need answers ASAP. Global Shop has been there for us. 2. Simplifies operation - Having everything one umbrella has been a game changer for us. No more double entering. 3. The list goes on - Advanced Planning/Scheduling, visible inventory, real-time job costing, auto-purchasing, etc.

Cons

1. The shop side has been fantastic. The office gals had a tough time transitioning the accounting side to Global Shop from Quickbooks. Although one thing I will say on this is, Global Shop was always there to answer questions, and now after we are up and going our accountant says her job is easier. 2. Updates (we've been updating yearly). We are committed to staying up to date with the software. So far I've done three updates. Two were seamless and one took a bit more work.

August 2017

John from Apex Instruments

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2017

Absolutely horrible user interface.

Weve been using this program for about 13 months now and I struggle to find anything to say that is positive. In summary, if anyone is considering using this program to make their work simpler, theyll be very disappointed. Below are some notes. Note; I have paragraphs and paragraphs of how bad this program is but I'll try to be brief. The user interface is, without question, the worst Ive ever encountered in almost 30 years of working with computers. Text interface is awful. Sometimes when you first click a field, any input will then erase and replace whats in there. Other times when you first click a field, any input will append what is already in there. Sometimes you have to hit enter to get your edit accepted, other times you have to tab to have it accepted. Sometimes it will let you input lower-case, sometimes it wont. Also, sometimes the field is case-dependent, but most times it is not. Text: cursor placement. Sometimes mouse-clicking in the field places your cursor at the home position. Sometimes it places it at the end of the text. Sometimes it actually is highlighting ALL of the field. You dont know what its going to do because it does it differently depending on the window youre working in. Concerning text, you have to press the insert key to keep from overwriting text when editing a field. Overwriting is GSSs default action and there is no control-z function to correct any mistake, should you happen to overwrite what was in the field. Many of the GSS windows dont have a minimize button; only an X. I dont like that GSSs windows take precedence over all of the other windows on my machine. Even though Ive selected (lets say) Outlook to view right now, GSSs inventory browser always stays in front of it. I can still click around and work in the Outlook window but the GSS inventory window is displayed in front of it. The only way to get it out of the way is to CLOSE it. Theres no minimize button. Doing an order or a quote makes you open a new window for your lines. However, the old window (header) stays open and blocks whats behind it. You cant move it, either because its not the active window. The cut/paste form fill interface is very difficult to decipher and almost impossible to use if you don't have an insert button. Cant control-Z. If you get GSs text interface (above) wrong, you cant control-z to undo. Again Windows 95 had this action. This cant be said often enough. You cant control-Z. There is no undo functionality. You cant even close/abort an order w/o saving it. Copy and paste, even insert, are a mystery. It always behaves differently depending on the specific window thats open. In closing, I would recommend that you run -with all your might- away from this sophomoric attempt at a user interface.

Cons

This program will not interface with Windows(tm). Among other things, you cannot use control-Z. Formatting is not possible.

April 2014

Joseph from PS DOORS

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2014

A great solution for your manufacturing business!

Pros

The product: GSS is truly a one-system ERP. Every aspect of our business will soon be done inside of GSS. There will be no more Word documents or spreadsheets! We utilize nearly all of the GSS modules and a few non-standard modules/programs in addition. One of the most valuable non-standard modules/programs for us has been the SolidWorks to GSS upload tool. This module allows us to model a custom job in SolidWorks and upload the Bill of Material directly to GSS. One last thing that is nice about GSS is that the number of options for your company is vast. If you don't like the way GSS handles a certain process/action, there is probably an option to change it. Or, with GAB, you can change it yourself or ask GSS to write the GAB for you. The vendor: GSS is great to work with. They respond quickly to inquiries or problems and have a variety of pre-recorded or virtual training options (not to mention on-site training) available. The product and vendor: GSS does not stop moving. GSS continues to make their programs and services better and better.

Cons

The product: GSS heavily utilizes Crystal Reports to generate nearly all reports. Almost a year ago, SAP (Crystal Reports) changed the level of process GSS was able to use, making the report generation slower. It has been a minor inconvenience, but an inconvenience nonetheless. GSS has been working on solutions for this, and it has gotten better with the latest updates. We are an update or two behind the current version (shame on us!), in which the update notes have included details about fixing this issue. Obviously, it hasn't been enough of an inconvenience for us to install the update immediately. The vendor: Occasionally, if you are requesting personal (virtual) training with a specific trainer or on a specific topic, you may wait possibly up to a week or two. This has only happened once or twice, and they are usually able to accommodate much quicker.

April 2017

Jeff from Jensen Metal Products, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Robust System, Incredible Number of Features!

I have been using Global Shop for 9 years. There is almost nothing this system can't do. We have barely scratched the surface of some of the capabilities of the software. Customer support was hit or miss back in the early days of our installation. It was hard to get support on the phone or by email when you really needed it. Over the last 4-5 years they have placed an emphasis on improving their customer support team and it shows! Most issues are resolved by Tier 1 support, either immediately on the phone or within 1-2 hrs by email after the entry of a support ticket online. If you have a more in-depth issue (which I usually do, unfortunately) the ticket is moved to Tier 2 or R&D, which can take longer but is usually resolved in a reasonable amount of time. The support staff is very friendly and always willing to do what it takes to resolve an issue or point you in the right direction to a new feature/function you may need. As with any system, there are some issues/challenges to deal with. While many of these have been addressed through updates, there are some withstanding. There is a lack on continuity from module to module as it pertains to search functions and feature properties. When searching for an item within the database there can be up to 4 different types of search windows that all behave a little differently. Small issues aside, this is a great product and I am sure they will resolve these issues in time as they have with any number of issues in the past. Their focus has always been customer driven and they live up to it every time I need them to.

June 2017

Joe from Manufacturing Resource Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

We have been using this software now for 4 years and it's paid for itself a few times over

Pros

1. It cut our purchasing time literally in half, we can now run our MRP on a daily basis thanks to automated purchasing. 2. Our on time delivery increased from 72% to over 90% using the APS feature. 3. The ARC store has thousands of custom reports that were developed by Global Shop for specific customers and they make them available to all of their customers. if you see one you would like to try just install it. 4. We have full visibility of all of our work orders currently in the shop (we currently ship over 900 different work orders a month). 5 the supply and demand screen is the most useful tool I have worked with. 6. you can tell immediately if your making or losing money on a specific job. 7. Very customizable. 8. it's in all in one system no more different systems for MFG, quoting, quality and finance.

Cons

1. Sometimes when major updates are released there a quite a few issues that have to be fixed after install via hot fixes. 2.Training classes are only held in Houston which can run into quite a bit of money for a 1, 2 or 3 day class for air, lodging, food and transportation. 3. Sometimes it takes a bit of time to get an answer to a problem

February 2017

Nathan from Industrial Parts Specialties

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Powerful modern ERP

Concerning a manufacturing company that is dedicated to maximizing value to the customer, Global Shop Solutions offers an ERP that provides access to high-end continual improvement tools without the complexity and cost of software used at much larger companies. The access to those tools such as SPC, CRM, inventory control, and workflow planning/scheduling then provides a means to gain significant competitive advantage in whatever market your firm operates in.

Pros

Global Shop's interface is intuitive. In that, the vast majority of its functionality is quite literally at your fingertips.

Cons

While Global Shop Solutions has incredible functionality for the price, it still seems to be primarily focused on a traditional model of manufacturing. Because of that, there are instances where certain modules don't quite fit with existing operations procedures and processes.

February 2017

Jeremy from Industrial Tool Die and Engineering

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Global Shop Review

As a small manufacturing company we are underutilizing Global Shop's potential, however, regarding our customer demands, it satisfies more than 80% of our needs. It is a great interface for time tracking, generating part specific costs and reports. It is not so great when I want to track quality metrics not necessarily part related.

Pros

Global Shop has given our company a wonderful infrastructure for cost evaluation and reporting. It is also wonderful at time tracking for employee time on machines, jobs, or process. We use it as a comprehensive overhead tracking tool.

Cons

Modules are expensive and customizing applications is difficult. The user interface has a high learning curve for personnel when new to this type of ERP.

October 2017

Jennifer from DCG Machine, Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

The good and the bad

There are some widgets/features on GSS that we do not use. Also, some of the features we use a shortcut (basically) instead of doing things the long way. Sometimes it is to our advantage, others it is not.

Pros

Payroll is an easy feature that I like on Global Shop Solutions (GSS), it is very simple. I have used other payroll software that was very difficult to use. Accounting (A/P & A/R) are also very functional. Quoting, Shop Orders,

Cons

Speed, it is very slow at times and Crystal Reports are ALWAYS slow. So many reports to print, some cannot be simplified. Many Error codes that need a hotfixes or cannot be fixed. These are the basic cons, the extended list of error codes, and hotfixes are very long and daily.

February 2017

Paul from CGI Automated Manufacturing

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great Company, Fanastic ERP Solution

We have been using Global Shop for well over a decade and it has grown with our company. It's been great to see all the new features and modern enhancements they have been putting in recently. It does an excellent job tracking our manufacturing costs and getting things scheduled on-time. It would have been impossible to achieve our current 99% on-time delivery without their scheduling system. We use everything from scheduling to payroll and with the integration of all the modules it saves us a ton of time and money that would otherwise be split up into different software packages. My favorite feature is the option to build fully customized modules ourselves and even have the ability to download custom modules made for other customers. This gave us the ability to really make Global Shop work exactly the way our company runs and still have it integrated with all of Global Shop's modules. Global Shop's staff has always been excellent. Their management is extremely accessible and always willing to go out of their way to make sure we are happy.

Pros

-Modules to help run every aspect of our business -Ability to customize modules to our needs

Cons

-Some aspects of the system can be complicated -Needs more tools to flush out problems created by users not using the system correctly (garbage in garbage out)

March 2018

Robert from JPM of Mississippi Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Plant Manager- Approval of Global Shop Solutions ERP

This system is great! You can buy this system and just keep adding or turning on the things you need. We just integrated our Tool Dispensing Machine with GSS for Real Job Costing analysis. It is still early in, but I can now see what tools and how many the employee used on the job. This cost is then added to the total expense required to make the parts. We also like the play back recorded features to aid new users to GSS.

Pros

Global Shop Solution is a great ERP system. I love when a customer calls and ask for a Job Update, I just click open the work order and can see just about anything, quantities already completed, hours on the job, what steps are remaining. But GSS doesn't stop there, they have dash boards for everyone, scheduling, outsourcing, attendance, etc.

Cons

Like any new computer system, you have to learn where to view certain needs. But GSS has some friendly Icons that helps.

May 2015

Paul from ICF Industries, Inc.

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2015

Global Shop is a complete solution that exceeds its customer's needs!

Pros

Global Shop's software has all the bells and whistles a company needs and would want from an ERP software package. Its technical support is always happy to help and responds very quickly to troubleshooting tickets. Global Shop also keeps pace or is ahead of current technology and industry trends so their software is always up to date, works on new platforms, feels fresh and new and functions as expected. Their customer support team is also wonderful to deal with and very helpful. Our account representative who is new to Global Shop's team, is how I imagine all representatives should be: prompt in following up with customer requests, eager to tackle new problems or questions that may arise, knowledgeable and maintains routine check-ins to ensure customer satisfaction.

Cons

At first, Global Shop Solutions software is very complex because it has so much functionality and capability.

April 2017

Rose of Sharon from Pioneer Service Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Global Shop offers scalable big-ERP functionality for small shops.

Love the all-in-one approach that Global Shop offers for the small to medium size manufacturing companies. Quick support - if I ask "can we do this?" they most often have a way free-of-charge for me to implement. The only company I know that allows me to use software improvements paid for by other customers at no extra charge. They are continuously improving and the .NET platform rocks. Glad we went with them!

Pros

I like the intuitive for navigating between various functions. In most places if you're thinking "boy, I'd like to see how that ___ is set up." (for example, part number, work order, sales order, purchase order, etc.) there is typically a short-cut that will take you from one screen to another - and it's in a logical place.

Cons

It's very complex and comprehensive and there are multiple ways to do many functions. It takes a while to train people on it, though there are many ways to get training.

March 2018

Heather from XtraLight Manufacturing

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great Customer Service, Fantastic ERP System, Easy to Use!

If you want to learn more about the use of this software, I recommend signing up for the Global Shop Friday Features! It is such a great added benefit and has been useful many times when I want to learn different modules and functions.

Pros

As the Human Resources Manager, my primary use of Global Shop is the Payroll function. This function is very simple to use and very user friendly. It is wonderful at time tracking for employee time on machines, jobs, or process. I love that this function gives me the ability to export the necessary reports straight to our payroll provider, which saves me time and makes my job easier. We have been utilizing the training capabilities within GS to create training guides for certain departments and it has saved me a ton of time not having to write out each step. Being able to screenshot each step of the process is wonderful and really helps my training process. Also, the support team is absolutely wonderful to deal with and very helpful anytime I have questions on how to better our system.

Cons

At times, the speed of the system can lag, and it varies from module to module.

November 2017

Larp from Aviation & Aerospace

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Great ERP Software

Highly recommend. Excellent product, User-friendly software, and people friendly company.

Pros

Great ERP software for fast-growing organization. The upgrade path from 13.0 to 16.2 was quite straightforward and provided support at every step of the process. Best experiences with their customer service and support team. All questions got resolved promptly. Our Account Manager is knowledgeable and very caring. The most important is Global Shop Solution is highly ethical and social responsibility. That is usually a good sign of how well the company is and how prosperous their future will be.

Cons

I hope Global Shop Solutions has an on-site training in the local area near us. (Southern California)

April 2017

Steve from Creed Monarch Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

IT Support Opinion

As person supporting the software, I find it a bit difficult. We are not able to fully use the installer module. We have to uncheck a number of options because they cause problems. We uncheckPervasive because the module installs Pervasive 12 and we are on Pervasive 11. It took several problem installs and a support request learn this. We uncheck Crystal because the current Crystal reports will not correctly print our tags. It took almost a year to find the cause of this issue. We are not notified when new installers are released nor are we told what issues they may have, e.g., the Pervasive 11 issue. The installer is still not complete. We have to manually add components after the install because of issues with the client. During the last update, the instructions clearly stated we could update the clients before updating the server. This was not true and caused the client to quit working. We discovered this after pushing out the updates to all of our workstations. The overall impression is that the software is slow. We have done everything we can to speed up the server, new VM with more memory and more processing power and 64 bit Pervasive. Still too slow. Generally speaking support is good. Support generally resolves any issues. However, response time varies from almost immediate response to days after submitting request. IT Info feature of the client are an issue. We have been told we cannot trust the Workstation Components of this feature, although the info on the screen changed significantly this morning. We have had an ongoing issue with the Workstations listed since the list is not cleared when a workstation signs off. The GUI time field does not match the time on the server nor the time on its workstation. This is an issue for those clocking in and out. Errors messages are a problem. We cannot look them up in help and there is no forum nor other place to find out what an error means. So we usually have to submit a support ticket unless we have already encountered the error. So comment above about support response time.

Pros

It is full featured. Support is generally good.

Cons

Slow. Info about installation is not disseminated.

June 2017

Jeff from MRG Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Great ERP package, works great, support is amazing and the owners are great!

Pros

The interface is great! Everything always seems to work well, look well, and whenever something isn't working well the support staff are amazing at resolving issues! No overseas helpdesk, it's all local in Houston, TX! The owners and managers at Global Shop are among the best I've ever encountered too!

Cons

Well, for all of it's pro's the one con I can say is the first thing that always comes to mind is the annual cost to maintain it.. it's a little expensive.

April 2017

Layne from Dumur Industries

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Software To Grow With You

The ability to customize Global Shop is key, since it allows an organization to find and maintain its' processes without trying to fit into a pre-defined mold. The support team is knowledgeable in their product, and willing to get to the bottom of every issue.

Pros

customizable, relatively easy to report out of once you know where to look

Cons

Pricing model

March 2017

John from Wisconsin Metal Fab

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Great ERP software

I have been a Global Shop user/administrator at our company for almost 10 years. The software is easily navigated and has some powerful tools. We find that the accounting side has all the details you would ever need. Job costing is very thorough and easily extracted.

Pros

Great detail. Great reports.

Cons

There are several ways to get to the same information. Make sure you choose the path that works best for your needs and stick with it.

May 2017

joe from ITDE

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

An improvment from what we had before

Pros

inventory/BOM tracking of inventory and needed item is helpful and works well. I helped look a lot of systems when we bought this one, seems like most bag for the buck for what we needed.

Cons

quality package is weak, does not track or report well and does not track cost of scrap the way we would like without splitting jobs. Report do not pick or filter out trends well.

May 2017

Cory from ITDE

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Customer Service has always been Great, all questions get answered quickly. As time has progressed, the global system is extremely slow

Pros

Supply and Demand with Edit is great. Makes navigation painless and easy as far as the manufacturing side. Customer Service is outstanding.

Cons

I am not sure if it is the added features or maybe added seats, but some days the system is so slow it is frustrating to use. If we had the option to turn off the features that slow it down that would be great

March 2015

Jon from Voyager Industries, Inc.

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

March 2015

We have been a loyal Gloabl Shop user since 2003.

Pros

Great customer service and technical support. Here is a recent comment from one of our managers sent to the President of GSS; This morning at 6:00AM I got a call from our production control person that no one could log into Global Shop. I called your 800 number expecting to get a recording but to my surprise a very cordial lady answered on the first or second ring. She took my contact information and the basics of our issue and said a service tech will be calling. Okay. I think, but when? Within a few minutes your service tech calls me back. By that time I had my laptop fired up and had a remote session to my office opened. He started a Fast Support session, logged onto our server and within a few minutes had the problem resolved and we were back in business. Nice!!! Nice from start to finish! So tell your overnight call service what a great job they did. And thanks to you and to the GSS team. This is one of the many reasons I do business with Global Shop Solutions.

Cons

I'm a GSS believer! .

April 2017

Natasha from Alexandria ProFab

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Global Shop

When I first started working at Profab the ERP system that they had was horrible to use, and there was no check and balances before posting things to the system. Being an accountant, that's the one thing i like is that i am able to check things over before its just submitted for payment or invoicing.

Pros

easy access to being able to locate things in multiple areas.

Cons

Not having the capabilities export some reports

April 2017

Randy from RK Mechanical

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

RK Mechanical customer since 2008

I implemented Global Shop at a previous employer (Custom Window Co) and have been system admin. at 2 companies. Have been using GS for 10 years and love it especially GAB and your customer service.

Pros

GAB and customer service

Cons

some areas have bugs that continue through updates, some process could be more efficient.

April 2017

Steven from Pioneer Service Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Global Shop ERP Review

Global Shop has helped our organization improve has a whole, provide us with the tools to manage and evaluate true costs and help us provide the service our customers demand.

Pros

This software is a complete package at an affordable cost. It provides many options

Cons

Takes time to master it but once you have played with it for a while it is a time saver

September 2016

Kelly from Imperial Metal Products

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Global Shop Solutions Review

Pros

The product is very user friendly and powerful. The APS is a great tool for scheduling.You can easily find out questions from your customers within seconds as to where there product is and when it will be completed. We use Global Shop for everything from quoting to invoicing. The support team is wonderful, I would highly recommend this product.

Cons

I personally have nothing i do not like, if anything they could make there quality module stronger but it works just fine.

April 2018

Rich from Miles Rubber

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Plastics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Very dependable and great customer service!

Appreciate the follow up by Reps but really no explanation necessary. I would say 99.9% of the time we get efficient and effective response times from Global Shop. I wish all my vendors were as good as Global Shop! Thank you again for your efforts and yes you have your hands full with training but a very important business process! Go Training!

Pros

Continuously improving systems to meet ever changing business demands. Technical support very good and tremendous potential to customize.

Cons

Add-in such as ARC and GAB need more explaining of purpose and functionality. A lot of "Script" or User Fields with little explanation.

September 2016

Chuck from Imperial Metal Products

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

A Buyer's Review

Pros

I am a purchasing manager so I am in the purchasing and inventory side all day long. They are easy to use and I can have both modules open at the same time which makes my job easier. The vendor is great - very responsive.

Cons

The one thing that annoys me the most is limited number of characters that can be used when making a new item number in inventory. some of our numbers can be long and sometimes we need to abbreviate them to get them to fit.

June 2018

Joel Jr. from Supercast Foundry and Machinery Corporation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Beyond your Expectation

Pros

The GS system was very helpful in terms of production planning, inventory, capacity and monitoring of the items, status and finished date.

Cons

The product works great in manufacturing, but the accounting flow was complicated and the price was indicated in every product.

September 2016

Eric from Imperial Metal Products Co.

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

We have used Global Shop for almost 18 years now

Pros

I like how integrated this software is. It seamlessly combines all departments into one software package and allows traceability through all stages of product realization. I like the promptness of the vendor on technical support.

Cons

What I dislike about this software is the learning required upfront to navigate through this ERP package.

April 2017

Donna from Genesis Plastics Welding

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Making it with Global Shop

This system allows us to be in command of our inventory and know our cost of doing business in all aspects of our product offerings. The help functions are probably the best I have had to work with and are written to assist the new user as well as a seasoned one. You can drill down to the level of information that you need to get past your user issue. Being in the medical device industry we must have spot on tracking and GSS provides us with the ability to retrieve information reported on raw materials as well as our production activity: who, what, when, where. I really like the inventory supply and demand function - it gives the option to collect information from one screen such as usage, routers and where used, lot and inventory history and much more. We have been using GSS for over 2 years and still find new ways to better use this system. This company offers free training in the Friday Features making sure we stay in tune with existing functions as well as new offerings.

Response from Global Shop Solutions

Replied April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for us and being a great, great customer Donna. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on Friday Features! Global Shop Solutions

September 2016

Adam from Imperial Metal Products

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

3.5

September 2016

Global Shop Review

Pros

The product offers a wide range of capabilities from end-to-end of the business. The capabilities of this product allow strong users a broad array of capabilities to drive business stability and growth.

Cons

The user interfaces are not clear or naturally intuitive. It's a powerful tool but it can take years to navigate the product.

March 2018

Lamar from Super Radiator Coils

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Everything you need in one package!

Pros

From tracking inventory quantity, cost etc.. to managing employee labor hours, Global Shop Solutions makes life much easier. GSS has played an essential role in helping my company streamline its processes and they continue to innovate and bring fresh new ideas to a constantly evolving program.

Cons

No Cons to speak of. If any issues arise Global Shops Tech support team is always there to lend a helping hand.

September 2016

Greg from Imperial Metal Products

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Highly customizable but does take time to figure out optimal use

Pros

Will take feedback & follow up on questions / requests. We tend to be at the 'front edge' of implementation and come up with things that require research.

Cons

Having to be a few updates behind in order to keep system reliable. The maintenance module does suck, but we were told that when we loaded it up, so we appreciate the honesty.

December 2018

Jackeline from Andaman Spa

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Business consultant

The technology its really advance for the price

Pros

This product its great it helped my company to have a better control of our inventory. Keeping track of it was a lot more work.

Cons

Sometimes the product its so easy to use that it make it complicated because we were used to go around through so many steps and this is in front of us!

April 2017

matt from shickel corp

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2017

Global Shop Review

I have been using GS for 7 months. There are some good features and some things that could be improved. I am coming to training at the end of April, so hopefully i will learn more tools and tricks.

Pros

Exporting data to excel. most reports are easy to use.

Cons

Using some modules are slow. Need to be able to speed up access to data.

January 2017

John from AGS, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2017

Global Shop - The never ending nightmare

We looked at several ERP systems - but decided on Global shop almost Seven years ago - to put it best it is like a box of chocolates - you never know what you are going to get. We were just forced to do another update - We avoid and delay doing updates because global shop does not do any testing to see what and how the updates will affect other parts of the system. Many behind the scene issues take a time to realize you have a problem. They do like to make sure the issues make an impact on the financial statements. I was reading reviews recently (I wish I would have read them seven (7) years ago) but I have zero confidence in the financials produced by global Shop. Global Shop CRM is completely useless - a complete waste of time - This was a feature they did a demo and was a big reason why we went with Global shop - when they installed the system CRM was not available apparently it was a new feature - was not on the market yet - What is on the market now is nothing like what was in the demo.

Pros

Does a good job of managing inventory.

Cons

The system has a way to many internal issues - too many items not connecting - behind the scenes processing that does not connect the dots within the system. When you get technical help - they either go in a back door and fix something (short term) or they tell you there is a "bug" - And this is the first time anyone has experienced the issues -

August 2018

Rajan from poly6

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Go for it!

Pros

I was looking for a s/w for my business that I can introduce to my employees. I come a cross with this product and I decided to buy one. It is very impressive with high in features.

Cons

It took us about 2 hours to learn about the features but I would recommend this product to everyone.

September 2016

Randy from Imperial metal products

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Pretty usefull tool when applied correctly

Pros

Built with manufacturing /production accountability in mind

Cons

Would like to see it come with an actual user manual with the descriptive users instructions. IE: the how to use manual if you are the operations manager. The how to if your the Quality manager. The how to if you are the scheduler etc etc.

May 2015

Ben from Airmate Company, Inc.

Industry: Plastics

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

May 2015

This is a great product!

Pros

The best part about this product is that it's an all-inclusive product which includes; payroll and accounting functions.

Cons

The CRM included within the Global Shop Solutions platform isn't up to par compared to Salesforce.com or Microsoft Dynamics CRM. However, the CRM does assist you in some areas if used.

December 2014

Amy from Consolidated Pressure Control

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

December 2014

Global Shop is a flexible solution with many advanced/custom features

Pros

It's flexible software with continuous upgrades, and they have responsive employees. It's a good, solid company with good values. They listen to the needs of their users and find solutions. These solutions are shared with other customers. This software allows for company growth. It's a fully integrated solution that is extremely reliable. This is a solid company that is family owned and operated. They take pride in their product, and it is reflected in the software solution.

Cons

I like everything about this software and the vendor.

September 2016

SCOTT from Imperial Metal Products Company

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

3.5

September 2016

IT HAS HELPED ME WITH PURCHASING AND ASSIGNING COST

Pros

BE ABLE TO MANAGE ALL ASPECTS OF THE BUSINESS AND PURCHASING AND ASSIGNING COST TO JOBS AND TOOLING FOR PARTICULAR JOBA

Cons

SOMETIMES IT CAN BE REALLY SLOW MAKING PO'S AND INITIALIZING THE THE START UP CAN TAKE A LITTLE WHILE

April 2014

Jason from Oshkosh Coil Spring Inc.

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2014

Great software!

Pros

The software comes standard with all the modules. It is all-encompassing and very user-friendly. The software is very customizable, and the ability to generate detailed reports is great. Global Shop has a great customer service team. They are able to answer all of our questions in a prompt and efficient manner. When we updated from our old DOS-based ERP system, I thought that data transfer was going to be painful. Global Shop has developed an elegant solution, and the process was quick and smooth.

Cons

At times, the speed of the system can lag, and it varies from module to module.

November 2016

Bob from Titan

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2016

Needs a lot of work

I have used GSS for almost 2 years. The program is pretty powerful and has some nice ideas, but it is not intuitive and tends to have a lot of glitches. They make it so you need to have 17 step (click, open window, close, click another part of the program, screen-shot it, click close, click open... etc.) process for something should be one or two steps max. The program makes it so if someone messes up any one of the many clicks it screws up everything. For this reason it's hard to use and requires lots of continuous physical checks to make sure you are not snowballing problems. I don't understand why they can't make it so you can look something up in supply and demand and just click to do your required transaction. Instead, you need to have 6 screens open to gather all the information half of which you can't have open at the same time so you need to screen shot or write it all down just to finish a simple task. It's a great idea, but the user interface is cumbersome to use and less intuitive than a bag of bricks.

Pros

Could be a great program if they payed any attention to detail and how someone uses the program.

Cons

Cumbersome to use, glitches and not very intuitive.

April 2018

Fernando G from Electronics

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

At implementation stage

Pros

Great implementation program, it includes a Program Manager and several consultants. Weekly meeting helps to keep on track Easy to use

Cons

The safety stock does nothing to the MRP, it is the re order point and we are trying to figure it out how it works because we only have safety stocks on FG

January 2019

Greg from Packaging

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

Shop Manager

Pros

Allowed us to purchase the system outright. They do give you all modules out of the box and provide free training (although it is very weak)

Cons

Do your research THIS IS OLD SOFTWARE. Their system's source code is written in the old language of COBAL. The user interface looks nice but I assure you this is old software! No screen functions the same we keep getting Cobal Error codes when we try to do simple tasks like enter a dollar amount into a quote. There is no continuity in the system. Every screen looks like you are operating a different software.

November 2014

Lisa from UMII

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2014

Global Shop is the solution for growing companies

Pros

I like the flexibility to have the software work for the way you run your business.

Cons

It would be helpful if you knew the formulas the reports were using and where the data was pulled from. It would also be helpful if there was flow chart type data that showed how all the information inter-related. Something that would tell you if you changed this setting or that setting what results to expect. Also, a way to know that by changing something what the trickle down effect would be. The search feature in the help section needs to be refined.

April 2014

John from Metalcrafters Inc.

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

April 2014

Most significant companywide improvement in 15 years

Pros

They are committed to the continued development of the software.The software handles all aspects of my business. They are also committed to customer support. It handled my business 10 years ago; it handles my business today; and it will continue to grow with my business into the future.

Cons

I would like to see R&D special requests be a bit faster.

April 2014

Andrew from Jormac Aerospace

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

April 2014

Global Shop

Pros

The system has an easy user interface. Their customer service is knowledgeable. They are constantly looking to add modules to improve business functionality. When customer service responds, they usually have a resolution.

Cons

Sometimes, tech support can be a bit slow to respond.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 64 reviews