About Tailwind TMS

Tailwind Transportation Software offers a cloud-based transportation management solution built for small to mid­size trucking companies and freight brokerages. Tailwind features a customer and vendor database, quoting and order modules, a dispatch system and more.

Tailwind’s customer and vendor database allows users to track and maintain contact information. Users can manage quotes, work orders and accounts receivable, view customer rate histories and track equipment maintenance, claims, incidents and accidents. Tailwind also features a dispatch and shipment tracking system, route management and user alerts.

Tailwind features a sales commission system, preconfigured admin, accounting and operations reports and a data ...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8

82 Reviews of Tailwind TMS

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.41 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(47)

47

4 stars

(24)

24

3 stars

(9)

9

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 82 results

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Larry from LF Logistics Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Tailwinds is my office support staff

My company has made great advances because the software allowed me to have good record keeping and dispatches with information not having all the extra paperwork in files but only the backups. Efficiency of what this has allowed me to do by giving me the time. can do the work of 3 people

Pros

There are many features that make it the ease of taking little time for paperwork when doing dispatch and keeping track of loads. You will have information on Loads, Customers, Vendors at your fingertips There is a superb support staff that is there to help.

Cons

I have a hard time finding something i don't like Are there some that could improve? Yes and they have worked on them and made them 100%

December 2020

Frank from NU Central Mass Auto Auction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Transportation Software for an Auto Auction

Overall, I researched numerous Transportation Apps and this one had the best features for our industry. It seems more suited to brokers than an auto auction but it works well. The customer service has been exceptional. The price point is a little high considering the lack of GPS and driver's app functionality.

Pros

What I liked most about the software is that it is very versatile. It tracks everything for us from pickups and deliveries. For the first time, we are able to quantify the value of transportation in a market of ever-changing agreements and pricing.

Cons

What I like the least from the software is that the drivers App doesn't show enough information for the pickups and deliveries. Also, there is no GPS integration for the drivers. With other Apps, drivers can just press the address and it automatically sends them to Google maps or Waze. Additionally, there should be an integrated GPS for truck routes to avoid non-commercial routes, low bridges, and tight intersections.

Reasons for Choosing Tailwind TMS

Tailwind was the most comprehensive App on the market that I researched. I did over a dozen webinars with different companies and I finally settled on Tailwind. It's not perfect, but it has a lot of advantages for our company and industry.

Reasons for Switching to Tailwind TMS

The towbook app was great except that we couldn't clearly distinguish from pickups and deliveries. It was only $200 a month. Sometimes the App would crash holding our work hostage for an entire day.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Replied December 2020

Hi Frank, Thanks for your review and the feedback! We will update our development team with your suggestions to see what changes may need to be made. Our integration with EZ-Track also provides you with free load tracking--25-loads tracked in our Pro tier, 50 in Enterprise, and unlimited tracking in our Unlimited tier!

December 2020

Richard from STS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Product quality

For our current size, it has checked the most important boxes. Critical Dispatch, billing, AR mgmt functions are covered for the most part. If we continue our growth we will have to migrate to a different platform without some developments on Tailwinds side. For reference, our we are a 45 truck fleet.

Pros

Easy to navigate. Web based platform. Reasonably committed to product improvement and feedback from end users.

Cons

Lacking integrations with outside vendors (specifically ELD platforms, EDI platforms, Load boards and tracking softwares). POD complete app is functional, but has issues with format and size of file when transferring to customers for invoicing. Seems like they could partner with a transflo or some other software that already has the software built to strengthen their offering. No admin app for viewing platform on tablet/phones. Reporting could use some adhoc capabilities.

Reasons for Choosing Tailwind TMS

Price, ease of use, ease of transition.

Reasons for Switching to Tailwind TMS

Previous platform was outdated, did not offer sufficient AR tracking capabilities, no ability to capture and transmit BOLs/PODs.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Replied December 2020

Hi Richard, Thanks for your review and the feedback! Our recent partnerships with Kleinschmidt (EDI), EZ-Track and Trucker Tools (tracking) should help address some of your integration needs, and there's also an upcoming integration with Samsara (ELD) that will be announced officially soon! And there are more integrations slated for 2021 :-)

January 2021

Djuro from Cargox Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Tailwind TMS is the best you will find and love !!!!

Great software, but just that driver app needs work.

Pros

There is lots of pros here, its online based, and you should be looking at online based, no server or up front cost, and you can use it from anywhere. Software has all the things you can think of. Great reports, and you can store files on trucks, drivers, and all your exp data. You can dispach the load, customize the payables the way you want, There is ways to add deductions and fuel can be imported, for owner operstor deductions, and software will pay the truck not the driver as this is important for owner operators, and if they have there own drivers this ia probably 1 of 15 tested products that has this option. You can easly export documenta as 1 file for your factoring. There is many many grest things. POD Complete is free.... Other simular solutions charge 7-25,000$ Down payment and 800-1300 a month. Plus 10-20$ for a driver app.

Cons

Now, yes there is cons, One is sometimes its slogish and it takes a bit to load but not that bad. The other one, POD Complete , well its a little incomplete, it has the options you need, you send the laod and driver can arrive depart, great, attach POD its there but, it needs work, this needs to have transflo options or something like a camsxanner, just to let you cut the page adjust it before you send it over. Plus it would take lot less storage if it was a scan doxument, this way its a picture, not that great for billing, it does work. But I think tailwind shoudl stop all other areas of development cuz they are great and spend some time here, make this app a killer. Evan charge 10$-20$ a driver /mo I would pay it just to get a better app. It needs to have scan features, we all need to get those Bols in good quality, and we dont want to have to use translfo or camscaner or other apps and than have to import the documents into tailwind.

November 2020

Altaf from Sunshine Coast Logistics Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2020

Powerful Tool for Small to Medium Trucking Operations.

Tailwind is a must have for any trucking company, big or small. Using tailwind has really cut down the amount of time spent each month on administrative tasks. We are looking forward to growing with Tailwind and are excited to see the software evolve.

Pros

The biggest pro for tailwind is its customer service and development team who take your feedback very seriously and are always ready to help you out The software changes every day and if there is a feature or functionality that may not be available, a simple suggestion of yours might just be in the next update. Another pro of the tailwind software is the pricing. When compared to other TMS's, the tailwind system offers the same features of the enterprise and large suite transport systems bundled in an affordable system that you can really customize to fit your needs, and there is no initial setup cost like many other programs. Tailwind also offers free webinars every week for you to either brush up on the software or train a new employee which is very convenient. The system is online based so you are able to access it anywhere and at any time and does not require you to set up a server in your office like many others. One of our favorite features of this software are all the integration, the tailwind team has partnered up with the best service providers (Truckertools, Border Connect,RMIS etc), in the transportation industry to provide an immersed experience when using the software.

Cons

There are not many cons to Tailwind but being an online-based system comes with its negatives as well, and the biggest downfall of the system is that it can be very sluggish at times taking a few seconds to load between screens, and does not fully load the page at times. The software also lacks the ability of end-user customization of documents and the interface. Another con is that the software is mostly designed as a full truckload system and lacks in features for the consolidation of LTL. The accounting portion could use some work as well.

Response from Tailwind Transportation Software

Replied December 2020

Hi Altaf, thanks for the great review! We're glad to hear that Tailwind has helped you reduce the time spent on administrative tasks so you can focus on growing your business!