Dear Inventory Software


 

DEAR Inventory is a cloud-based inventory management software for small and midsize retailers and wholesalers. The product features modules such as e-commerce, manufacturing, purchasing, sales, inventory management, and accounting.

DEAR Inventory allows businesses to create, plan and track each phase of the purchasing process. The solution reminds users to reorder stocks in time to avoid a situation of stock-out. Organizations can see all purchase orders with specific reports for pending purchase orders and purchase cost analysis. The software records supplier-purchasing history along with product cost to help the user make an informed decision about purchasing next batch of products. The manufacturing module tracks the cost of raw materials and labor and creates a multilevel bill of materials/ subassemblies.

DEAR Inventory supports many inventory management functionalities, such as serial numbers, batch/log tracking and expiration dates. Inventory aging reports help organizations gain visibility into upcoming expiration dates of products stored in a warehouse.

DEAR Inventory integrates with accounting, e-commerce, and shipment applications like Xero, QuickBooks, eBay, Magento, Shopify and ShipStation.

 

Dear Inventory - Dashboard
 
  • Dear Inventory - Dashboard
    Dashboard
  • Dear Inventory - Manufacturing
    Manufacturing
  • Dear Inventory - Product availability
    Product availability
  • Dear Inventory - Purchase order
    Purchase order
  • Dear Inventory - Reporting
    Reporting
  • Dear Inventory - Sale order
    Sale order
Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Mac OS, Linux, AIX, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000, Windows 8, Windows 10

146 Reviews of Dear Inventory

 

Start your review of Dear Inventory

Click to start
https://www.softwareadvice.com/inventory-management/dear-inventory-review/
Software Advice Reviews (15)
More Reviews (131)

Showing 1-15 of 15

Kevin from Jollibee Worldwide
Specialty: Food & Beverage
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

September 2018

September 2018

Great inventory software

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

I have used a few software with regards to inventory but so far dear inventory is much more of a user-friendly compared to those software. The interface of this software is not that hard to understand.

Cons

I've been using this software for almost a year now and no critical issue being arise so far. Just some minor software crash in few times but still tolerable.

Review Source
 
 

Mary Grace from HPI
Specialty: Manufacturing
Number of employees: 501-1,000 employees Employees number: 501-1,000 employees

September 2018

September 2018

I like Dear Inventory

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

I like this software because it helps me to track the orders. The features is great for retailers. Easy to monitor the

Cons

The only negative that I experienced using this software is the slow loading of the system but the functionality is nice and very useful.

Review Source
 
 

Mary Love from JWS
Specialty: Food & Beverage
Number of employees: 201-500 employees Employees number: 201-500 employees

August 2018

August 2018

For monitoring purposes

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Good for monitoring even the raw materials and incoming raw materials. We can easily anticipate when to order the materials based on basic computation of EOP.

Cons

I have no major problem so far. Just minor glitches like crashing and lagging but still tolerable.

Review Source
 
 

Abigail from Magnifico Jeans
Specialty: Retail
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

August 2018

August 2018

Perfect Inventory Management Tool

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Using Dear Inventory becomes our work more easier. We can analyze large number of data using the information we generate from it. Its also very easy to use.

Cons

I once experienced difficulty in loading, but its not a major issue for me. Dear inventory is still very helpful.!!!!!

Review Source
 
 

Karen from Brewery
Specialty: Food & Beverage
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2018

June 2018

terrible customer support

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

inventory management allows for multiple warehouse locations and plentiful products. customer lookup easy

Cons

reporting awful
support unhelpful/non-existent
getting information out of the system into excel/CSV files is difficult, creating multiple lines of data that need to be merged. Invoicing is slow
the biggest problem is no real support and no services available to support in local markets

Review Source
 
 

Karel from Prenatal
Specialty: Retail
Number of employees: 201-500 employees Employees number: 201-500 employees

June 2018

June 2018

Dear inventory

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Great application, makes everything much more organized and helps you keep track of you inventory very well

Cons

There's been some small synchronization issues but nothing problematic, and the amount of options can be a bit overwhelming

Review Source
 
 

Jenni from Furniture Factory Outlet
Specialty: Other
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2018

May 2018

Awesome product

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A

Overall love the product.

Pros

Dear is amazing. Very straightforward and easy to navigate. It is also extremely organized which makes accessing information easier and quicker.

Cons

It can be intimidating because there is so much that you can do and search with this product. There are also a few quirks of trying to undo one thing but it undoes the whole process.

Review Source
 
 

Nate from Cleveland Furniture Factory Outlet
Specialty: Retail
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2018

May 2018

Dear Systems is a stellar product

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

Dear integrates with a wide variety of different systems and is built for drop-shipping for the modern era, which is a huge advantage to a small business.

Cons

Some small, quickly-resolved syncing issues, and frequent servicing by the IT team, which is helpful for working out bugs, but can cause technical glitches for the 30 min it's down.

Review Source
 
 

Loreto from Market Research
Specialty: Retail
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

February 2018

February 2018

Perfect Software for us!!!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

With the use of DEAR INVENTORY we are able to integrate well with some other cloud based software. It really helped us to manage our inventories, it also handles our invoices so well....

Cons

We just encountered one breakdown, we can't even log in and use DEAR. I think all of us were unable to use it... Not a big issue since it happened only once and for sure their team is striving to improve DEAR...

Review Source
 
 

Brandon from GC-TECH PTY. LTD.
Specialty: Manufacturing
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

November 2017

November 2017

Perfect IMS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Dear is an excellent and powerful system. I have used the trial and been blown a way on how easy the system is to use. Customer support has been excellent and they always make sure if there is anything they can help you with. Dear has made my business alot more steamline for inventory management, and integrates directly through my xero accounting software and magneto store. The subscription price for dear is good and you get what you pay for and more. Being a cloud system myself and my business partner can collaborate our work at the same time which was a important issue for us. We did alot of research on these types of systems and came down to 2 choices. Dear or Unleashed. Dear blows unleashed out of the water in my opinion and i couldnt recommend dear systems enough. Thank you.
Brandon Gross.

Pros

Works perfectly for my business.
Customer service and support is amazing.
Integrates with my magento store and accounting software flawlessly.
DEAR Inventory is 5/5.

Review Source
 
 

Nate from Cleveland Furniture Factory Outlet
Specialty: Retail
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2017

October 2017

Comprehensive Program

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

This program integrates well with many different mainstream, top-of-the-line systems including Vend, QB, and many, many more. It is set up for DropShip orders as well as regular inventory, which lets us do everything we need to do. Cloud based means it can be accessed anytime, anywhere.

Cons

Occasional updates mean that work can be temporarily interrupted, sometimes with little to no warning. Also would be great to be fully integrated with Square POS software.

Review Source
 
 

Patrick from Cleveland Furniture Factory Outlet
Specialty: Retail
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2017

October 2017

Great inventory system for cloud based companies.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

One of the best things about Dear Inventory is its ability to integrate with other cloud based software. Our company uses cloud based POS and accounting software, and having our transaction data automatically loaded into our inventory and accounting systems is great! It has all the functionality that we need as a furniture retail store including automatic generation of purchase orders for low or backordered inventory and tracking of sales and inventory.

Cons

The software has glitches sometimes that cause it not to work in certain browsers for a short time. I usually email the support team and the issue gets resolved fairly quickly.

Review Source
 
 

Julio from Brilliant Universal Limited
Specialty: Distribution
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

September 2017

September 2017

Best inventory software with so many synergistic benefits with other software to become total solution

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

in general this is the best software i have used and it is value for money (last year they allow single user so the plan is even more attactive). If you have 3 people already in the company this will be the best software

Pros

it handle my stock and invoices very well, since i am doing food business, FIFO and expiry date is very important, so when you enter the data correctly the system will help you to do rest of it, great software

Cons

they sometimes have some major breakdown failure and everyone in the world (probably) can't use the service (can't login, data can't load). they said that it is due to instability of their cloud service provider, anyway, this didn't really happen all time, seems that i only experience this once for this year? i forget

Review Source
 
 

Mark Lester from Mark Camera Haus
Specialty: Retail
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2016

October 2016

All features that I need from an Inventory management software is already in DEAR!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

I've been using DEAR to manage my inventory and integrate the system with Xero and Shopify. The integration setup is so easy and you don't even need an adviser to perform those set up for you. Before when I just have Shopify alone, doing a manual update of stocks is really a pain which causes some loss and might even result to losing your customer. Their integration works perfectly, I can create my products variation and listed on Shopify real time, orders and fulfillment process is very smooth and I can even add multiple Shopify shop integrated, that's really a cost saving feature. I would highly recommend this system.

Pros

- DEAR has unlimited user and multiple warehouse
- DEAR have multi currency with no additional cost
- Integrated to most popular e-commerce such as Shopify, Magento, Ebay, Amazon, Woocommerce, Bigcommerce and others
- Free data conversion and template customisation for annual plan subscribers
- Integration to Xero/QBO is almost complete
- Free trial for 14 days upon sign up
- They have live chat support, appointment for products demos and email support is 24/7

Cons

- Mobile Applications for Android/IOS but browser is already good not really a big impact

Advice to Others

If you really need a system that does not require additional cost for a features to be included or added on your business. Dear is perfect for you, treat the software as an investment.

 
 

Patrick from Cleveland Furniture Factory Outlet
Specialty: Retail

August 2016

August 2016

Cost effective and robust enough for retail

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Likes Best

Dear Inventory integrates with QuickBooks Online and Vend POS as well as several other software solutions to make the workflows for a small retail business much more automated. It is robust enough for our furniture store to manage inventory, keep up with landed cost of merchandise, and much more. Being cloud-based allows us to access the system from anywhere, and it is pretty easy to set up once you understand how it works.

Likes Least

The only support that seems to be available is through a ticket system, but they do respond pretty quickly when you submit a request.

Recommendations

Take advantage of the free trial and thoroughly test the software to make sure it has the functionality that you need. Test the integrations to make sure they perform as expected because some companies advertise integrations with other software, but they are not very robust.

 
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 131

Alicia from Skyworks Inc
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2018

December 2018

Arrogant, we wasted 4-5 months but never get it to work. Not a single penny refunded

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

They are arrogant and have no understanding of basic customer service.

Pros

Nothing works. a complete waste of our time.

Cons

Even basic amazon sync does not work- inventory count was mostly wrong, even with SKUs that is a couple of hundreds.. We have to rebuild the 3 times, 52 emails to support and nothing helped. After 5 - 6 months - we gave up. If you are based on of USA, and does private label with your own brand namewith more than 500 transactions a month, this is not the solution for you. The documentation is in British English, which is difficult to digest. Accounting jargons are different as well.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: DEAR Systems, Dear Systems

Date: December 2018

December 2018

 

Hi Alicia,

Sorry to hear you are unhappy with our support. We checked all support tickets to date and every ticket you have raised has been attended to and resolved. Please let us know ticket numbers which you think were arrogantly answered so we can review and take action.

We have also noticed that all tickets were in relation to usability issues and not the system itself. We strongly recommend our guided on-boarding service if you have no previous experience with Inventory software.

We have an industry leading integration with Amazon & Amazon FBA with thousands of satisfied loyal users. Please leave your contact details when you want our agent to get in touch so we can see if your issues can be resolved https://dearsystems.youcanbook.me/

Best Regards
DEAR Team

 

ANDREW from HAINA PTY LTD
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2018

December 2018

Good but could be so much better

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Overall dear is a great first step for SME's who might be on the way to an ERP but don't want to spend the money right now.

Pros

It's clean interface and dynamic product search. It has been easy to set up and the link to xero is excellent

Cons

find the right report and having to customise then is cumbersome and take a long time. there is now tolerance set for quantities which makes it hard if selling by weight. there also only one weight that can be entered for each items, it can't handle Gross Weight and Net Weight which means that paperwork can't be used for transportation

Review Source: Capterra
 

Kade from Tilos
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2018

December 2018

Excellent Customer Service

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

Pros

Integrating with Amazon is relatively simple once you figure out how it works and syncing with Xero have saved us a lot of time. Customer service is surprisingly good as well. They will usually get back to you within an hour or 2 if the question is relatively easy to answer.

Cons

I've encountered a couple days where the load times have taken longer than usual. Not sure if they were doing maintenance or not.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Dallas from Avera Products
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2018

December 2018

It's growing on me

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Overall, I am warming up to Dear. I guess it took me a while because of the rocky onboarding process. But now that all the data seems to be imported and working well, I am seeing how Dear will really help me become more efficient and allows me to work better with my team.

Pros

There are many features that are very helpful and make my daily operations more efficient. We switched over from Quickbooks online looking for a more robust system to keep track of our inventory, and it is indeed more robust. I like how all of the steps for one order are on one screen (quote, sales order, pick, pack ship and invoice). You know exactly what step of the process each sale is at. The split orders and back orders will be helpful for us when we have to do partial shipment.

I like the different customization you can use to create templates and can make them customer specific. One small thing that saves me a ton of time is Dear will calculate the weight of the order on my packing list (I used to have to calculate that manually).

The cloud based system that allows for 5 users is a big plus too, pretty good value for the money too, most other systems we looked at that allowed that many users were more expensive.

Receiving of goods is easy and we feel like we will be more accurate now in our COGS with the ability to allocate freight charges, and other charges, to items received.

Cons

There was a pretty big learning curve from Quickbooks. I think I am still learning how to use it most efficiently. I think my biggest complaint was the onboarding process. The guy that was supposed to help us with the onboarding process had little to no time to help us so we had lots of trial and error - which was frustrating! And it took a lot longer than what we were told. Mainly because of importing historical data. We were told this was possible, then when it came to actually doing it, it was like we were left alone to figure it out. And the person working with us knew nothing about Quickbooks or how to export the data from QB. Which is guess isn't his job, but still you'd think we could have received a little more help on that.

Besides that, there are some little things I don't really like. I don't really like that you can't make changes to sales orders or invoices once they're "authorized" - you have to undo it and make the change and sometimes that takes you back steps in the process.

Review Source: Capterra
 

derek from Dormenfoods
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

December 2018

December 2018

Very fast implementation

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Implemented very fast due to business constraints , had we not had these constraints some of the failings of the system may have caused a rethink.
Overall for a basic small business it is a good product , but not if coming from a real ERP system.

Pros

Very basic system. Well documented Imports, reasonably easy to amend documentation

Cons

Inflexibility. Where the design does not meet the real requirements , then it appears to be tough luck.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Carlos from Ergos Trading Co. Ltd
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2018

December 2018

experience as a implementer and user of DEAR

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

a little frustrating for the limitations fo the system and interfae with XERO.
Limitations: need to UNDO a compleate sale to be able to make any change
Sync with Xero: constant errors
Very slowwww we have a 100/40mgb connection and good computers (local app or better use of cache)

Pros

- What we would expect from a Inventory Managment system
- Chinese interface
- advance sale function (multiple dispatches, multiple invoices for one sale order)
- integration with Shopify
-

Cons

DEAR

- faster JSON access (no limitation of 60 calls per second)
- no need to UNDO sales for non essential information fields change
- ability to edit allocation of products
- ability to edit batch/serial information
- Reports 1) shows clear information of Sale Order that have not been 1) shiped, 2) invoiced. 2) be able to extract information related to earning power of a product (% margin x rotation of a product)
- Ability to limit sales bellow certain margin or price
- Dashboard with historical inventory and accounts receivables graphs (currently not available)
- Rename product fields (example: type, category, brand, stock locator, barcode…)
- Additional fields available on more reports
- reports are missing a lot of related information that could / should be available

Review Source: Capterra
 

Zeb from PENGUIN REFRIGERATION LIMITED
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

December 2018

December 2018

Third year anniversary using dear Inventory

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We run all our stock inventory through Dear, send all our quotes, sales orders, invoices etc through Dear.
It is a very good program for this and if we do hit a problem the tech support is excellent.

Pros

Its synchronization with Xero is excellent. In three years we have never had a sync issue. Also within Dear the inventory, sales and purchasing all work very well and the ability to drill through different layers to search products or orders is very good. We use the Product Availability function all the time to confirm status of sales orders v purchase orders and stock availability. We have also recently started to use the Attributes more for both sales orders and products and this has been a further tool within Dear to help us manage our day to day sales process.

Cons

What still infuriates me is the way that sales quotes show the sales margin against Average cost. This is hopeless folr any new product as there is no history and it is also hopeless if you receive a part into stock before you post the purchase invoice. Why we can't have the option in the step up to show the margin against either the supplier fixed cost or last purchase cost is beyond me!!!!!! Argh!!!!
We currently have to run all our project quotes through an Excel spreadsheet to make sure the margins are correct. This is really infuriating and as a result we are looking for alternative options for our stock management.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Amelia from Just Snacks
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

December 2018

December 2018

They got everything right!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

The best customer service, great functionality, does what I need it to do.

Pros

Easy to use, good reports, great customer support, all questions always answered.

The new functionality of cases and individual units are very handy as I sell both in units and cases.

Sophisticated reports.

Integration with WooCommerce and QBO that I used.

Cons

Sometimes it's slow on Chrome, fast on Firefox though.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Michael from Rogue + Wolf
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

November 2018

November 2018

The only stock management service that does taxes correctly

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

If you want to automate your bookkeeping and accounting as much as possible, this is the way to go. Currently have 6 marketplaces hooked up and they all push to Xero automatically. Of course DEAR manages stock numbers across markets as well.

Pros

We've tried many stock management apps before DEAR and none of them pushed correct data to Xero for bookkeeping. DEAR dies a stellar job on the books while doing everything else very competently. Saves us tons of time and money.

Cons

Sometimes it's a bit slow on certain actions. And the tech support used to be somewhat lacking but they stepped up their game recently. Quick and responsive now.
The learning curve is a bit steel at first. But we quickly realised that was because DEAR doesn't cut corners in organising your stock and books. So you have to learn to do things the proper way. A pain at first but saves you from horrible issues with the taxman later.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Luke from Yeti
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

November 2018

November 2018

DEAR Inventory Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

It’s been great to date. Would love to see the feedback above taken on board down the track.

Pros

Easy to use with great integration features at an affordable price for business at all sizes

Cons

Development done in Australian hours. Could do these on a Friday night US time to minimize impact for businesses on the other side of the world

No test area - unable to create a sandbox easily to run integration testing etc.

No backup feature available

Review Source: Capterra
 

Kara from Waxing Kara
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

November 2018

November 2018

It was DEAR to me until it wasn't

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We discovered a technical glitch that caused severe bloat to our database that was seemingly stemming from DEAR. We approached the DEAR team leader with the matter. Rather than accepting responsibility and assuring us that he would provide the customer service that was necessary, he did not. He instead brought attention to other aspects of the integration. After three months of pain, and moving to a new web hosting environment, and being down for 24 hours and up and down for a total of 3 months, a technical team was able to isolate the issue as being related to DEAR, and for the last 48 hours I have still not heard back from the DEAR tech LEAD on a fix, or with any offer of any kind to help us get back up and running the way that we are supposed to be. We are trying to trouble-shoot without any answers coming from the DEAR development team. I have never seen anything this lacking in terms of customer service in my 30 years of business. I am disappointed and expected more from the tech LEAD and DEAR customer service.

Pros

I created a requirements document of what we needed in an Inventory Management System and DEAR met all of them. I was so excited to find such a robust and affordable software solution in the cloud that hit all of my notes in my small indie maker business.

Cons

It was very very difficult for us to try and implement this product on our own. We hired an outside DEAR consultant. We spent $10K in consulting fees to get up and running. It took just about 8-9 months with a FTE almost completely focused 3/4 time and problems with the integration started just about the same time that we were up and running. Though we did not realize our problems with our web site were related to DEAR. We experienced outages and slowness on our site and were directed to take matters up with our hosting company. They reset and tuned our database-- and still we experienced slow performance. Because there are many moving parts-- and several outside vendors-- each pointing to each other--- it was this long, painful, expensive journey before we arrived right back to DEAR with the performance issues stemming from their API.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Chesco from Homewings
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

November 2018

November 2018

Great idea, and in a good direction, but still work to be done

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Pros

Having an API to connect makes it easier to integrate. The general look and feel of the platform is pretty good, also the UX of the site.

Cons

The integration with the API was pretty difficult, as the documentation had errors (for instance in the endpoints paths), and the API itself also had errors (so not accepting Suppliers Names even if it said so in the docs).

Not having a way to perform bulk operations on products (like deleting them, having to go one by one)

Review Source: Capterra
 

Rod from ClearaSound
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Easy to use and great support

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Support has been excellent - they have been very fast and effective with any issues we ask them about.

Pros

Ease of use, intuitive process, flexibility of output

Cons

Needed a little more hand-holding with implementation

Review Source: Capterra
 


October 2018

October 2018

Great system for the price

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Great. I would recommend it to my peers. Please keep the price affordable.

Pros

The system does almost everything. I own a wholesale business: my staff and I use it for inventory maintenance, invoicing, purchase order, sales and loss report, customer contact, expense and receipt management.

Cons

Lack of immediate customer service through phone service or online chatroom.
Monthly invoice pdfs can be downloaded as one large pdf.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Kurt from SSD
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Great software platform for inventory management

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

DEAR is phenomenal for a user that is willing to put in the time to discover it.

If PMs had more of a security / controls / data audit background , and implemented processes to address those weaknesses , it could potentially become a solution for businesses of all sizes, not just SMBs.

Pros

1- Customer support is on point, probably the best i've ever interacted with. They clearly understand that this is not a word processor, and have built a world-class support service around the software.
2- SaaS is not buggy at all
3- Their devs are constantly rolling out updates
4- DEAR has good, nonbuggy integrations with almost every major app in its market niche.
5- DEAR has succeeded in making a product that is relatively easy to use in what is an otherwise complex piece of software, and has deep complexity

Cons

1-Documentation is weak in several non-core modules and functionality. For example, security features don't really have an instruction manual, or if it exists, it is not immediately obvious where that lives, thus leave people having to contact CS.

2- Some features are not really implemented thoughtfully and are more of an horizontal revenue expansion than actually thinking of customer pain points. Example - the notification module could be SO MUCH more, but it has weaknesses like it won't report on stock transfers completed, etc.

3- The overall platform is not hardened against stupid errors. There is no "audit your customer's data" logic in DEAR. Platform assumes user inputs are always right and there are no early warning(s) across the board when users are making obvious mistakes, such as when POs receive impossible / wrong amounts, SKUs, etc. The feedback for "error" popups, is only is given when it is too late.


Review Source: Capterra
 


October 2018

October 2018

Takes time, but has all the functionality.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Overall it's been excellent, but not without its problems

Pros

The uniformity and ease of layout. Customer support has been superb. Perfect attention.

Cons

Integration to sync key data with XERO.


Personalisation of templates for invoices, Purchase orders etc.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Shayla from Lunapads
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Great software to track inventory and record sales. Improvements could be made

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We use DEAR to record sales from Shopify and keep track of inventory we have on hand.

Pros

Lots of customizable reporting options. Pretty easy to use. Syncs nicely with Xero and integrates well with Shopify.

Cons

I'd like to see an add-on for managing/planning inventory, not just tracking it. Also, more customization within invoices would be nice.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Alison from Stanley Cooper Timber & Stone Ltd
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Toto

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Amazing experience. I was very intimidated when I first started using the program but it didn’t take long to feel comfortable and confident using Dear.

Pros

We are a newish company that switched from Sage to Dear a couple of years ago. Sage was a very confusing system; there is no comparison for ease of use. Dear is very consumer friendly. It’s straight forward to use and if something arises which one needs help with, the help desk is prompt in responding to concerns or questions and is very thorough in their answers.

Cons

I really don’t have any complaints with Dear Systems.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Tim from Naracoorte Seeds
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Powerful & Functional

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

The product itself is very good. Support team can be a little dismissive of requests at times

Pros

Web based and syncs with Xero really well.

Cons

Products/inventory is split into two view The products screen and availability screen. There needs to be more crossover between these two screens. Either stock available on the products view or more product information on the availability screen/view

Review Source: Capterra
 

Allen from Digital Micrometers Ltd
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Dear Inventory for Online Platform sellers

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We are now able to manage all of our sales platforms with ease.

Pros

The software has very comprehensive Integration facilities which make dealing with large quantities of sales very easy

Cons

At times the software appears too complicated.

Review Source: Capterra
 
 
Write a Review