Smokeball Software

4.75 / 5 (179) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 20 times in the last 30 days

About Smokeball

Smokeball is a complete cloud-based legal productivity software to automatically record time for you, allowing you to increase your firm’s profitability and productivity by over 30%. Whether you bill hourly, fixed fee, or on contingency, Smokeball provides you the insights you need to run a more profitable law firm. Plus, with over 14,000 automated forms and a robust MS Word and Outlook integration, managing your firm has never been so consistent - and easy. Access all matters on the go with Smokeball’s mobile app built for iPhone and Android. Smokeball is a premium practice/case management product and only for PC computers running Windows 8 or 10. Smokeball is a practice management software with dedicated, award-winning customer support and consulta...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 8, Windows 10

179 Reviews of Smokeball

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.75 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(143)

143

4 stars

(31)

31

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 179 results

November 2020

Furqan from MST Law

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

SmallLaw Review

Overall, an excellent software and definitely worth considering for your law firm, especially if you handle real estate transactions.

Pros

1. Smokeball is an "everything" platform. We realized we were only using the other softwares for billing/invoicing, but found little use for them otherwise. Smokeball, on the other hand, is much more versatile. We track our to-dos there, create workflows, assign tasks/projects to others at the firm (it avoids the back-and-forth internal emails), share our draft documents with client through a secure portal, and much more! 2. If you are a real estate transactions law firm (as we are), Smokeball is the only platform specifically designed for that practice area. We love that it automatically calendars deadlines, has templates built in, and otherwise automates much of the closing process for us (and avoids costly mistakes such as missing a deadline).

Cons

1. Cost (yup, it's one of the more expensive options you'll find out there). But when evaluating options, the thought process should be whether you will save some time by implementing the features of the software. And if so, a few extra bucks monthly is well worth it. 2. A little glitchy at times. We sometimes would create an invoice but would not be able to load it or send to a client until the next day. I have no idea why this happens, though it hasnt been a big issue for us. 3. Requires you to invest a lot of time to set up to automate your documents and learn how to modify them as you go. But, again, it is time well spent.

Reasons for Switching to Smokeball

Looking for a more versatile platform for legal management.

November 2020

Sandra from Emerson Law Firm, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Best practice management software!

Our firm literally cannot work without Smokeball. I am not exaggerating one bit when I tell you that it is as essential to our practice as air. When the pandemic began, other lawyers were struggling to figure out how to work from home. Luckily for us, Smokeball is everywhere we are. With help from Smokeball's cloud-based system, we were able to transition to working from home very quickly and easily. Thanks to Smokeball's features -- file notes, memos, timeline, phone messages, email tracking, and activity tracking -- it is easier than ever for multiple staff members to collaborate on a file even though they are not physically in the same space. The integration with InfoTrack/Docusign means that we obtain client signatures without even leaving our desks. And the document automation and contact database make working much easier and more productive in general! I highly recommend Smokeball to any small law firm.

Pros

Email tracking, file notes/timeline. These features make it so much easier for two or more people to collaborate on a file!

Cons

I wish that "to-do" tasks in the system would auto-delete if a matter is canceled or closed.

Reasons for Choosing Smokeball

I've tried Amicus and I know that Smokeball provides a much better and user-friendly experience.

Reasons for Switching to Smokeball

Amicus Attorney is clunky, with way too much involved to get up and running. Also, it didn't have email tracking at the time. So it was a no-brainer to switch.

February 2019

Lee from Lee Pugh & Associates, PLLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2019

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Response from Smokeball

Replied January 2020

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team pull public forms and load them directly into Smokeball for all users to access. (2) It is true that we currently don't have direct integration with the Google suite. We do, however, integrate directly with MS Office products like Outlook and Word. Our Sales people in charge of demos should make this absolutely clear in initial conversations, and we will ensure that they continue to do so for all future consultations.

November 2020

Brooke from Alexander & Ewert, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

I Love Smokeball

Pros

I love Smokeballs features. The document automation saves me time and headache with formatting. The integration features make sure that nothing I do is missing in the client files. The cases are always complete. the ease of integration for the products that I use is excellent and seamless. The time tracking capabilities help make sure that I don't miss a billable.

Cons

They recently updated the mobile software so it is more difficult to use on a tablet or my phone.

Reasons for Choosing Smokeball

Because the feature were more robust and the billing time tracker is key.

Reasons for Switching to Smokeball

I didn't like the document automation of Practice Panther nearly as much as I like Smokeballs. The billing software in practice panther is not as user friendly as Smokeballs.

November 2020

Richard from Reda | Ciprian | Magnone LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great organziation for a small legal practice

A very positive experience. After dealing with another practice management suite from one of the large, uncaring legal publishing companies, it is a breath of fresh air to be able to work with people who are responsive to and care about our needs and how we work rather than how they want to force us to work.

Pros

Being able to corral the mountains of emails and documents that pass back and forth in a legal transaction is great.

Cons

At times, the online nature of the software means you are waiting a few heartbeats for a page to load up. It is not unbearable.

Reasons for Choosing Smokeball

The local support was a huge factor. It's great to deal with these folks.

Reasons for Switching to Smokeball

We purchased a lifetime license for Amicus and the people there implemented a change to the software that time limited it and they would not help us get it going and instead insisted on signing us up for a subscription based model. We left and would not pay them a dollar for their software.