User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(16)

16

4 stars

(29)

29

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(8)

8

  • Pros

  • "I like this software because it is very effective and efficient to my team. This is a software with complete package. The functions and features are very nice."

  • "The ability to drill down between modules is wonderful. I've never used a software that allowed this so seamlessly."

  • "Once you understand the features and how to navigate, it is a fairly easy software to use. Information is easy to find. It is also easy to query for information. "

  • Cons

  • "Server based - not internet accessible. Would prefer links rather than the "where used" functionality. Works very well, but you have to dig a little for connected items."

  • "Forecasting needs to be improved. The way sub-assemblies are scheduled could be improved although very flexible."

  • "Support experience ranges widely from good to very slow to respond. They have made efforts to improve and you see benefits slowly but it still isn't a good consistent support experience."

Browse ECi M1 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 63 results

August 2018

Angie from CHUTES International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

I love how easy the modules link with each other

Very happy. I'm glad I have been brought in a job that chose this software. Everyone that I've met and spoke with through tech support is helpful and personable.

Pros

The ability to drill down between modules is wonderful. I've never used a software that allowed this so seamlessly.

Cons

The lack of online inquiries through the internet from fellow users that might have experienced something that isn't typical to help others figure it out. This can be technical or a way to resolve a process issue.

April 2018

Timothy from BRD Noise and Vibration Control, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

M1 - A very visual ERP

Pros

M1 is incredibly visual; whether you prefer traditional forms or spreadsheet views, you can customize the navigation and data forms with ease. Search features are robust in the spreadsheet style views. M1 is also fairly flexible for customization regardless of programming skills. We can easily add fields to any module and forms can be manipulated to match our information flow. In our business every order is a custom order yet the straight forward manufacturing module makes planning and scheduling simple. Dashboards on the start screen are great to monitor daily activities. While most ERP implementations require significant work, the visual nature of M1 really helped us keep the project on track. The M1 implementation specialist spent time to learn our business and specific information needs. 9 months running and we are very happy. We have added several additional modules since the implementation and have linked M1 to our sales tax service provider. The suite of included reports are handy, though they need some customization when you start up. Export to Excel is very easy. We added Spreadsheet Server option to really increase the capability to share data with Excel. Security controls are very robust.

Cons

At times customer service response is a bit longer than we would like though once they are working on an issue, they are great at resolving. Some of the included reports are fairly complex yet require customization in Crystal Reports. Best to have some working knowledge of Crystal reports. Some modules in M1 are not consistent with others - probably different programmers or different schedules for upgrading - however that slows the process just bit when you move module to module.

December 2018

Ken from Titan Garages

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2018

Do not buy this software in Australia - Dishonest business practices and terrible support

They installed the core system for one company to test, then couldn't get their optional modules to work, but still performed the agreed work to customize our installation (and charged us)... then finally gave up trying to get THEIR optional module to work in version 8, and told us that we had to upgrade to version 9 to get those modules to work. Then after we upgraded to version 9, they said that version 9 now no longer supported that optional module, or the custom work they had already been paid for. We have been promised repeatedly by their support team and management that they would fix the issues and get this up and working as soon as possible. Please don't fall for these lies like we did. Instead of trying to fix anything, their support department literally just 'solved' all of the 30+ support tickets in their system on with the same day with the message 'SOLVED: This function or a component that it relies on is no longer supported' with no option for further discussion... no refund for the optional modules or custom work we had done... and then they have the hide to say that they need to get us to sign off and accept the fact that they can't make that company work before they even install the core systems for any of the 6 other companies.

Pros

Their sales team made a really good pitch, then went radio silent the moment we signed up, and quit 6 weeks later. Based on their pitch, we engaged them to provide version 8 of the core system seven companies, and a couple of optional modules for a couple of those companies, and a few custom modifications, we were assured this would be straight forward and ready to use in 8-12 weeks. It has been over 2 years and they been unable to even get one of those companies up and running as per the our agreement with them.

Cons

The worst part about this experience? Everything that happened after they had our money... In all of my professional life I have never before experienced such intentionally dishonest behavior in a professional setting. Deciding to use ECi M1 has been the worst business decision that we have ever made. If you are in Australia, or if you intend to rely on the Australian support team, I cannot urge you strongly enough to stay away from ECi M1. They have repeatedly proved themselves incompetent and dishonest.

Response from ECi Software Solutions

Replied April 2019

With hundreds of passionate M1 clients implemented throughout Australia and thousands more globally, we are sorry your experience has been less than expected. Version 9 is written in an advanced language and an early release that coincided with your implementation - the upgrade offering a more flexible and future-proof platform. We do continue to offer local support to all our clients to experience the benefits of M1 and happy to discuss a way forward with you.

November 2019

Joseph from Applied Laser Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Administrator Review

As someone who was not involved in the purchase of M1 I have been please with the freedom and flexibility the system provides me as an administrator. Most complaints would be from end users who some times have a hard time with the interface. These complaints are often easily solved with training and super user engagement.

Pros

This software is highly customizable and provides freedom for the many integrations that we implement regularly.

Cons

This software is not the most user friendly for a sizable chunk of our end users. Customers with limited computer experience find the interface difficult to use outside of tasks they perfomr regularly. This issues are largely easily solved by regular attention from the software administrators or super users.

November 2019

Lauren from Sjoberg Tool & Mfg Corp

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

M1 Review

I use the software daily. Like I said it is very easy to navigate. I wish I knew more about the capabilities and what we can use it for in our industry.

Pros

Once you understand the features and how to navigate, it is a fairly easy software to use. Information is easy to find. It is also easy to query for information.

Cons

There are not any modules available that we know of that can assist in training to understand the features that M1 has to offer. There are several features that we don't use. Features that we wish we knew more about are scheduling and the possibility of integrating a bar code scanning system. Our IT admin has been working on this with M1.

November 2019

john from GSI Highway

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

looking to upgrade

Pros

Abilty to customize per user and not effect others.

Cons

Clear upgrade evaluation from V 8 to V 9.2

Reasons for Choosing ECi M1

Customizable

February 2016

Aaron from Phoenix Specialty, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

3.5

February 2016

M1 ERP Review

Pros

The training and implementation was fantastic. The product is well suited for our needs and the cost tracking functionality is great. The greatest strengths of the software are inventory control, cost/labor tracking, and reporting.

Cons

The accounting functionality and process can be burdensome. While it does get the job done, incorporating a FIFO system with real time cost of goods sold entry would be much more advantageous. Currently M1 only offers average, standard, or last cost of goods sold, which can really make things difficult if inventory costs change. Additionally, not having "real-time" financials is frustrating. You don't get the "actual cost of goods sold" until an accounting entry is made, so you cannot track financials daily or weekly unless your accounting department has time to make this entry and reconcile it on that same interval. Granted, moving to the COGS program could fix this issue, but the additional work and potential for mistakes makes it easier to wait for financials.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

M1 gets the job done but there are better options to be had

Everything from sales and marketing data, to employee data as well as financial data is housed in our M1 system.

Pros

All the data you could ever need about your business can be housed in M1, between the data and the custom reports that can be made, it is a valuable tool to have.

Cons

Its clunky to use, most things take too many clicks to find and it feels like you have to go out of your way to find what you are looking for. It takes some work to make it user friendly in the least bit

January 2018

Kody from May Group USA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Great Software

Pros

We have been using this software for 10 years and I don't know how we ever survived without it. Product Configurators really helped us streamline our estimating and planning processes.

Cons

We have tuned M1 to a point where we have very little issues. It took some time to really figure it out but we realized that the core system didn't really need a lot of the customizations that we thought it did. I'm not good at cons...

November 2019

Benjamin from Armag Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Good ERP System

Pros

The software makes it easy to find a lot of data that can be exported and used as necessary

Cons

It is more difficult to set up reports and customize fields for users that do not want to see all fo the background data and only want specifics

March 2018

Todd from Millar, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Lifesaver

For us it was really the staff that made us feel at ease with out decision, from the salesperson to our implementer to the folks in support. They have really come through for us over the time we have used M1.

Pros

M1 has helped us track serial and lot numbers effectively and allowed us to streamline many processes across the company. Have used it for five years now, we rely on the data it generates to run our business in the most efficient and cost effective way possible. Our implementer took the time to learn our business and made suggestions on how the software could assist us in areas we had not even considered. We definitely choose the right software!

September 2017

Pam from Alecom Metal Works, inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

ERP made your way

This is a great solution for a small or med sized business that feels they are unique or different. The intergration with 3rd party software(s) that are commonly used by businesses looking for an ERP system, The add on modules are robust but some are lacking, such as the purchasing planner. With any software, each has something special about them and for me, M1 has a special niche in the software customizations and ease of use.

Pros

This is the most customizable ERP I have ever dealt with or implemented. Love, Love this as it easily can modify to serve the challenges of about any size company, growth rate, and experience levels. This is the best feature of this software.

Cons

The main con from my exoperiences has been the support personnel and the lack of knowledge of the product and the response. With that said, let me say that it is not complelely fair as the compaqny has experienced a rapid growth and with that comes new personnel and the years of experiences are just not there.

February 2018

Steve from Diacarb

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Great ERP software

I recommend this ERP software on a regular basis, it is a great value added to our company

Pros

We have been using this software for over 13 years and the fact that it is an open system allows us to implement special features that is only relevant to our business and it is very easy

Cons

The quality management in regards to the inventory was lacking when we implemented the software and I don't know if it was improved since then

May 2017

Laurie from Independent

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2017

Terrible company to do business with and terrible product.

The key benefit is having to start over and implement something else after less than 5 years on the product.

Pros

It's easy to customize, which is good because - you are going to be doing a lot of customizing. Grids - basically an onscreen report are easy to create - also good because this subs in for the lack of workflow.

Cons

If you want an accounting system that routinely can't do basic math you'll love M1 (simplified example - $100 payment to $100 invoice resulted in a -$200 balance - and M1 doesn't even allow negative invoices). Screens are overloaded with fields you will never, ever, ever use. There's no workflow for any process - making it easy to "lose" a sales order or a work order or skip a step (complete a work order without issuing the raw materials - sure why not - and no warning). No built in alerts (that's an extra module - but you have to create the alerts yourself). The canned reports are nearly useless. The support team is terrible. The company itself outside of support is also awful to do business with and won't refund us for our unused implementation hours, or an extra module we purchased that we immediately decided wouldn't work for us (didn't even install it).

February 2016

Marylou from Chutes International

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2016

Awesome product ~ even better implementer!

Pros

Vendor has awesome support. We love how it brings all of our activities together in one program. We also like how we can customize the program to fit our needs since we are a very unique manufacturer that does many products under one roof. It has many 'cross checks' so we are making sure each department is doing exactly what they are supposed to which leads to accurate financials and job costing.

Cons

I feel like some of the modules we purchased were not fully explained enough or applicable to our usage. Fortunately, they recognized this and helped us to direct our purchases in a more advantageous direction for our business. There are also adjustments in the financials that everyone could benefit from and should not be made to customize it.

April 2015

Joe from K&J Woodworks

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

4.5

April 2015

M1 = good production foundation to build from

Pros

Overall architecture is well thought out from a flexibility, customization and IT standpoint. It uses standard database (MS SQL), reporting (Crystal reports) and customization (VB) languages. You can use their resources or find your own to dive as deep as you need to but you also can do quite a bit without being an IT professional.

Cons

Support experience ranges widely from good to very slow to respond. They have made efforts to improve and you see benefits slowly but it still isn't a good consistent support experience.

April 2018

Marie from Adtech, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Try M1 First!

Pros

We replaced Global Shop with M1. We like M1 because is quick and efficient. We are working on more customized reporting and moving to the newest version - very exciting for our company!!

Cons

Getting new downloads up and running is a little difficult. Hard to coordinate M1 Support with our outside IT Consultant

September 2017

Jessica from Electronic Precepts of Florida

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Used in a manufacturing facility - great for showing detail, time cards, completion percentage, scheduling, purchasing, etc.

Pros

The outside service function is fully developed to allow for estimated cost and lead time to roll up for quoting, and actual to roll into job cost.

Cons

Server based - not internet accessible. Would prefer links rather than the "where used" functionality. Works very well, but you have to dig a little for connected items.

October 2018

Marie Kris from SAMC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Effective Eci M1

Pros

I like this software because it is very effective and efficient to my team. This is a software with complete package. The functions and features are very nice.

Cons

When I'm starting to use this software I can't experienced any negative. Very recommended to all type of organization.

March 2018

Roy from Sofradir EC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Smooth transition from previous MRP system. Logical transactions and easy to retrieve data when needed.

Overall very satisfied with the functionality of the product.

Pros

Systematic logical sequence of steps from the time an order is placed to final shipment of the products.

Cons

Forecasting needs to be improved. The way sub-assemblies are scheduled could be improved although very flexible.

July 2009

John from Prometal Industries Limited

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

At last, a software system that delivers on its promise.

We purchased M1 with a view to tidying up the obvious weaknesses and limitations of our previous system. M1 has achieved this plus more, very often providing easier solutions to everyday tasks than we anticipated, and 2 years later on we are more relaxed then ever with the ability of the system to cope with whatever workload is demanded from it. We are extremely pleased with our choice in M1 and everything that was promised to us has been delivered with a tremendous support backup when required.

Pros

After months of appraisal we chose M1 because of its ability to to be configured exactly to our requirements, as opposed to the one size fits all approach of so many other ERP packages. M1 straight out of the box was immediately able to satisfy most of our needs, however, with its ability to be easily customized to suit our various processes, the system is intuitive to use from shop floor requirements through to full financial reporting and control.

Cons

Same as any other system out there, rubbish in, rubbish out. Once we had that sorted out though by ensuring that all users had an understanding of how their inter-reaction with the system was a benefit to all, themselves included, we gained a complete buy in from all staff along with the required real time and accurate data input on which the system depends.

September 2019

Mike from NC Dynamics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Solid ERP System

Pros

Ease of use, functionality, reporting, scheduling.

Cons

Nothing yet. We've been using V7 and are getting ready to switch to V9, looking forward to the upgrade.

Response from ECi Software Solutions

Replied October 2019

Thank you Mike! We always appreciate the feedback. Best regards. The ECI team.

December 2014

Mark from Hibco Plastics, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Plastics

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

December 2014

Installation of ECi M1

Pros

This ERP software is very intuitive and very flexible relative to the previous software from Made2Manage that my organization ran for the past 24 years. The input of transactions is straightforward with minimal training, and searching for almost any data is substantially easier.

Cons

The only issue we've had any challenge with so far is with the conversion of our old Made2Manage data, which was an old FoxPro version into a pure SQL format. Some data came across easily, and some data didn't come across at all. We could have come up to speed running the new software much faster if we'd have been able to convert our M2M data in a more timely fashion.

July 2016

Grant from Aspect Furniture

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2016

Do not use M1

The implementation was extremely difficult with very little support from M1. We were told 6 weeks but 14months later it was working although still many unanswered questions. Then the support for real live changes has been terrible

Pros

Excellent promises by the sales people - they never eventuate though!

Cons

Support - they are the worst

April 2015

John from Precise Manufacturing

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

April 2015

M1 has been great The design was with end users in mind

Pros

The low cost of overhead to run M1 is its best feature. It is very robust, and runs day after day with minimal support required. M1 is very user friendly and intuitive. Also, the use of Crystal Reports on an SQL database allows for easy modification and development of reports that then are easily run from inside M1 giving users a seamless feel. We have had excellent support during implementation and post implementation.

Cons

I am anxious for continued development of the manufacturing floor scheduling.

February 2016

Kris from CHUTES International

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

M1 is GREAT!

Pros

I love how everything is tied together. When in doubt I right click and see where that PO, Sales Order, Receipt, etc. has been used and what it is linked to.

Cons

Mostly it's a cosmetic thing. I've never been overly fond of how it's laid out but the next version should make that better and truly with time you just get used to it.

April 2015

Pierre from Distek Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

April 2015

My experience with this product is positive

Pros

All the functionality of a larger program without the big program cost and the flexibility to do minor customization.

Cons

Slow performance. Some reports of tools are at times very slow. Our Job Analysis report runs very slow at times. Usually when the quantity is more than 1 and the material quantity is more than 100.

October 2017

Amit from Vishwakala Machine Tools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

ECi M1

Pros

User friendly dashboard. Advance options for all the modules. one stop solution for all the resources planning.

Cons

Not enough features for multiple platform usage. Little Slower. No report modification format for user

June 2018

Grant from Aspect Furniture Pty

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2018

Awarded the worlds worst service and product

Don't waste your time and money

Pros

Technically it works and some of the functions are understandable. But the setup, service and basic norms affiliated with software are missing

Cons

Terrible service and backup. Only 1 technician that knows what he is doing and he is across NZ and AU and he is not allowed to give out his direct contact details. Recently logged a ticket on the 3rd of May and got first response on the 4th June! If you want to know your GP and other profitable forecasts or set up a half decent quote and reporting be prepared to have to spend a whole lot more.

April 2015

Mark from Pequot Tool & Mfg., Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

April 2015

M1 is esential to our success

Pros

The ability of this software to fully integrate all aspects of our business. It is very stable and easy to customize.

Cons

As the M1 has grown, there have been times where response times have been a little longer than expected.

February 2019

David from PEPCO, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

Used to be good

I would not recommend this software. It is shameful how un-customer friendly this company is.

Pros

Although not intuitive at all, once you get used to the system it does work and prior to this year, it has been infallible.

Cons

Customer service is fair to poor as we did not receive any contact from this company regarding upgrades, etc. Carefully read the maintenance agreement as it apparently does not cover repairs and upgrades - which begs the question, what is that payment for exactly??

February 2016

David from Phoenix Specialty Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

M1 a change to a real system

Pros

I will have to compliment the trainer and the ECI Conference held in Orlando. I felt that all areas were fully addressed. Obviously as time goes on, more comfort and trust is gain in the product. Having been on Sage previously, I like how this is a real financial package although it can be cumbersome at times. I still have lots to learn about the entire package.

Cons

There is no refresh button.

January 2019

Glen from Legeneering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

No Support in Australia

Due to the poor / complete lack or support and problems with the installation we are about to change to a new ERP system. This would be the worst investment my company has ever made.

Pros

No ad-dons, no cost for view users, i.e. unlimited clock card entry PC's.

Cons

Absolutely poor support if any. Referred to external consultants as ECi M1 could not supply technical support.

September 2017

Bill from Kodiak Industrial Chrome & Hydraulics Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2017

Frustrating to Deal with!! Poor Customer Service!! Implementation process is terrible!!

We purchased this program more that 3 years ago, the implementation process was horrible! and they have done very little to help us get this program up and running as a result we are using about 10% of the program that we have paid for. we purchase a copy of Sage every year to handle our accounting, because we have not been shown how to use the accounting side of the program( I have never even looked at it to see what it looks like). We have tried to use the payroll side of the program and it was not accurate so we stopped using it.

Cons

Terrible customer support right from the initial implementation, we have had issues with this program from the very start and get 0.00 help...there is some hype that they will get our issues solved with no, or very little follow through, we just get sent from one person to the next and start from square one each time.

October 2017

Slavy from Cascade

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2017

Terrible choice

Before giving any attention to this product do your own research on it. Original M1 code was stolen from other company by former employees then followed by lawsuit in which M1 people lost.

Pros

Good Sales Team :) Might be good for very small company but wouldn't recommend to any company. After trying other ERPs have almost no Pros except how they did Part Revision.

Cons

Software failed when was put to load. Worked fine in pilot but when needed to manage 1.4k POs on daily basis it couldn't do math. At one point had daily meetings with development team from Australia on issues but still couldn't resolve all issues. About twice a week were getting orphan records in DB, development team were no help on this. ECi started promising us new version but promise was sliding. After 8 month of deployment time and about 6 month after go live hard decision was made, search for new ERP. When ECi was asked to give us partial refund because their product didn't perform as advertised they revealed themselves as very bad partner. M1 also has major security issue.

September 2016

Pam from Alecom Metal Works, inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Flexible, customizable, & user friendly

Pros

The vendor is wonderful to work with. From the sales thru the president, their open door policy is forward thinking and provides customers with a sense of being taken care when they need it. The product M1 has proven to be the most customizable and flexible system I've dealt with in 36 years however I'm still learning more of what all it can do.

Cons

The least liked, even though it this is by no means a dislike on my part, for the product would be the way item master must be for the local bin and not being able to have multiple bins per one location for one item. The vendor side would be the fresh talent they are with vs. Those with 20 plus yrs.

July 2018

Cassie from Silverline Finishing Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Six month build and implement time for a growing manufacturing company.

The cost was extremely high although we were basically building our own system the way we wanted.

Pros

Completely customizable. Access to consultants who helped us decide as a team why or why we shouldn’t run something one way as opposed to another. They were very knowledgeable and insightful.

Cons

The consultants gave employees too much reign over the server and the potential to mess up the data base we were building. Their lack of support for the payroll module.

March 2015

Grant from Fluidlink Hydraulics Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.5

March 2015

M1 experience from the UK

Pros

The product does seem to have the potential to fulfill all requirements of a small parts manufacturer.

Cons

The customer support starting at the implementation stage right through to after sales ongoing support is poor. The supplier attitude is "Wellm you bought it, so get on with it." There seem to be very few people in the organization who actually know how it works and how to correct bugs and issues. The reports package is full of flaws. We have spent a lot of money trying to improve the product ourselves.

January 2016

Lance from Axiom Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

January 2016

Selection of ECI M1

Pros

The product already has deep features but it has the flexibility which allows for code to be written by us to enhance the system. This allows us to get specific on certain methods we use that may not be stock methods for an industry.

Cons

At this point in the process, we have not uncovered a negative.

August 2014

Cameron from 3D Systems/Medical Modeling

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.5

August 2014

ECi M1 ERP a good tool

Pros

IT support is timely and almost always available.

Cons

It doesn't account for scrap within a job, and scrap tracking overall is very difficult. The software seems to want to manage scrap with completed good parts together, and that does not work when trying to track to meet ISO requirements.

August 2009

Frank from Next Intent Inc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2009

M1 does everything we need and more!

We are very, very happy with M1. There are many features that we did not know we needed or wanted until we tried M1. We have no doubt that M1 was the right choice.

Pros

Works as advertised or better. Easy to train and use. Fast and reliable. Simple to upgrade and backup. Very powerful search functions and grids are adjustable by user. Customization is available to users with included tools and then adding Crystal Reports. Easy migration from our other software. M1 technical support is extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Cons

Nothing negative to say.

August 2009

Susan from Pequot Tool & Mfg

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2009

M1 Review

This software continues to be extremely reliable. M1 is very innovative and always increasing the capabilities of the software by listening to the customers' wants and needs. We have been able to grow with this software and will continue to do so in the future. It was the best buy we have ever made in software.

Pros

Highly customizable to fit your needs User friendly Tremendous search capabilities Great service staff Highly reliable

Cons

Quality Module. Quality module lacks reports and some linking of data, however, we can create any report we need through Crystal Reports.

September 2014

Evan from DPI

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

1.5

Customer support

1.5

Functionality

1.0

September 2014

Large Number of Bugs, Poor Development, Unimpressive Tech Support

Pros

M1 is more customizable than many other options.

Cons

Based on the increasing number of bugs and no new bug fixes, it seems that M1 is being phased out by ECi. The software is nearly unusable with Windows Vista and is mediocre at best on Windows 7. The scheduling module is terribly poor, and ECi has displayed zero effort in improving these issues. The tech support response time is horrid and there are very few well-trained tech support staff available (however a few are knowledgeable). Come on ECi! Fix this product which has great potential!

August 2016

Carl from Camco Industries

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2016

Extremely negative

Pros

The only thing that was good was the dashboard The software appeared to be ideal for a company making thousands of components in production runs - the very thing that we don't do.

Cons

The software is extremely clunky. it seemed that anything that could be done with 1 click in our old program program takes 5 clicks. Support was often vague - it didnt sound like support personell had the correct training They sold us a web app that they said was up and running, which was a large influencer in our decision as we required remote access to the CRM, however they hadn't finished developing it. They didn't seem to understand NZ laws Overall, the recommendation made by the company seemed to be motivated by getting the sale, rather than providing a solution that was fit for purpose.

July 2009

Phillip from Metlink Pty Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

M1 User Review - Metlink

I am certainly happy we chose M1 for our ERP software. It has been enhanced and updated in line with our own business growth. One of the biggest pluses for me is that it helps communication throughout the business. For example, any user can add comments that are then available to all users.

Pros

All modules integrate together. One ERP system covers all areas of the business. Ability to customise for special needs.

Cons

On older computers it can be a bit slow. Especially if you have multiple windows open.

June 2017

Joe from Laketronics Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Very user freindly and functional

Pros

The ease of use and personal tayloring to your specific needs is great. The training offered is also a very nice touch.

Cons

Really could not find any cons the system has everything we were looking for. The only con that i can think of is that we cannot go live sooner.

July 2009

Ian from Catten Industries

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

Catten Industries

I would say that anyone who runs a small to medium business in manufacturing would benefit enourmously by having the M1 system as the cornerstone in managing their business.

Pros

Good functionality and easy to pick up. Easy to customise to your needs.

Cons

Some modules are a bit "clunky" to use, but in saying that the program needs to cater for various different business's and you can customise to suit your requirements.

September 2016

Nate from Amfuel

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.5

September 2016

Great support, good product

Pros

I very much so like the ability of user customization on tables and search grids.

Cons

Some things that I was lead to believe were not true about the capabilities of the product

October 2015

Carol from Cooper Environmental Services LLC

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.5

October 2015

My experience so far with ECi M1

Pros

Most expandable system for up and coming manufacturing companies that do mixed mode manufacturing for OEM equipment. Very complex equipment that requires many different disciplines of manufacturing.

Cons

I would like more training videos for standard usages and work flows.

July 2009

Steve from Niagara Transformer Corp

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

Very Good Overall

Overall a really good product.

Pros

Features - does most of what we need right out of the box. Customizable - Very easy to add fields, tables, code, etc. GREAT customer service. Implementation was as easy as this kind of thing can be.

Cons

Some screens are a little clunky or "busy". Job costing and analysis can be a little weak.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 63 reviews