About The Valant Behavioral Health EHR

Valant’s EHR for behavioral health offers tools for providers to streamline documentation, increase efficiency, and enhance the productivity of their practice or agency.

The fully integrated suite includes secure patient records, documentation, scheduling, practice management, and a patient portal. Because Valant focuses exclusively on behavioral health, users don’t have to navigate through billing codes and documentation templates made for other specialties.

Valant offers a library of outcome measures for clinicians to utilize and track overtime. Patients may complete these assessments from the comfort of their own home via the Patient Portal, or in session with the clinician. Either way, results are documented in clinical notes and secur...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Mac OS, Windows 8

179 Reviews of The Valant Behavioral Health EHR

Average User Ratings

Overall

3.99 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(78)

78

4 stars

(53)

53

3 stars

(21)

21

2 stars

(15)

15

1 stars

(12)

12

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 179 results

April 2016

Cindy

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

Superior software for private practice

We have been using Valant in our private practice for about 16 months now and love it! It is easy to use, very intuitive, and the IT support is FANTASTIC!! Initial set up was smooth with a great deal of support. Also easy up upload your own support documents. I highly recommend it!

Pros

Easy to use Intuitive IT Support Set up to comply with insurance

Cons

Does not have a To Do or Reminder list to use in calendar--would love to have that When setting up NEW client, for example child of a parent already in the system, would like to be able to view parent demographics at same time to transfer information.

July 2020

Carly from Riverside Clinical Services, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2020

Expensive for solo practices

Customer service was slow to respond and/or didn't respond at all. It takes some getting used to. Valant was a functional ERA but it was too "much" for me being a solo provider which resulted in it being too expensive.

Pros

Billing was easy. It auto-posts ERA. They offer the ability to customize note templates. Valant offers reminders either through text or email.

Cons

For a solo practice it was expensive and offered a lot of features a solo provider doesn't need. The treatment plan tool wasn't as smooth as I thought it would be. It took a lot of time to setup and complete the training before using. The cost of Valant is separate from the cost of using a clearing house.

Reasons for Choosing The Valant Behavioral Health EHR

Had more features I thought I would use but in the end, Valant was too complex for my solo practice.

Reasons for Switching to The Valant Behavioral Health EHR

I wanted to be able to customize notes.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Replied July 2020

Thank you for your feedback, Carly. We appreciated having you as a customer and genuinely hope you are able to find a solution that better fits your needs.

December 2020

Paul from Pinnacle Behavioral Health, IPA, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Finally an excellent EMR program!

I am pleased our practice is using Valant and find it has my personal practice viable. I have used the most expensive to the free versions of other software companies, both in private practice and in hospital. I find Valant the finest product I have used. Objectively, no program is perfect, any more than there is such a thing as a perfect Clinician. However, in researching other EMR programs, I feel confident in saying that Valant is the best of the best. I have been using computers in my practice since my start in Family Practice in 1986, during the days of "DOS". Valant is an example of what can be achieved with a great team of programmers and support personnel! This will be a well spent investment in your practice.

Pros

This is my ninth EMR I have had to learn and use. Out of all I have used in my 41 years of practice, this is the finest. It is well designed, well supportive and serves us well in a General Psychiatry and Psychology practice. Both the Therapists and Prescribing Clinicians have adapted well to it, and I as a Prescribing Physician Assistant find it an excellent way to follow and care for my patients. I cannot speak to the billing module, however the clinical sections are near perfect. I have even owned a self contained EMR that remained resident on my laptop prior to Internet Cloud based programs. Valant far exceeds my needs and expectations for a program for a Psychiatric program.

Cons

The so called "Patient Portal" does not integrate with the patient's chart and must be under development as it is not yet in the newest "IO platform". That appears to be the only deficit I have experienced thus far after using Valant for over four years.

Reasons for Switching to The Valant Behavioral Health EHR

Each practice I joined owned a different program, plus the one I started with when I owned a Family Practice in 1986. I was forced to learn a new EMR each time I changed practices.

June 2020

reid from reid s hamamoto md llc

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

terrible customer service

SLOW EMAIL CUSTOMER SERVICE, Currently, I have an email support request, now going on TWO WEEKS WITH NO HUMAN RESPONSE. Only automated "we got your message, but we're swamped. If you no longer need a reply, let us know. Otherwise please be patient we'll get to you when we can" canned replies. This is TYPICAL of several past email requests. Calling is difficult due to time-zone differences, so email is by far more practical for my solo practice.

Pros

fair pricing. reliable scheduler, albeit a little cumbersome and old-skool. integrated schedule / billing was fairly easy to submit in batches. mostly, i just keep using it because it's what I originally set up for my practice. I have buyer's remorse all the time.

Cons

For several YEARS (literally), Valant used outdated web technology (Silverlight) that was incompatible with several web browsers and the latest MacOS. They actually encouraged users NOT to update web browsers and desktop OS because it would break compatibility. I've had to DOWNGRADE my firefox browser to an old, obsolete, unsecure version because that was the only way I could access Valant on my Mac. POOR QUICK CLINICAL NOTES MODULE: they TRY to make click-click-click notes sound like "natural language," but colleagues got annoyed and felt like I was faxing them boilerplate notes. Sure notes meet billing requirements, but don't naturally capture actual patient encounters with nuance, which is important in mental health. The notes are several pages long, a waste of ink and paper for the amount of actual content. I stopped using their notes module altogether and went back to paper charts within 6months. It was embarrassing to send my Valant notes to consultants and PCPs.

Reasons for Choosing The Valant Behavioral Health EHR

Their simple clinical notes module (clicking, dictating) looked promising, but after trying for six months I switched back to paper charts.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Replied June 2020

Dr. Hamamoto, thank you for providing a review of Valant. We always appreciate the feedback good or bad. We are very sorry for your recent experience getting product support. Due to COVID, we have had a record number of requests creating a backlog with our support team, but we have made some adjustments and are rapidly improving response time. We pride ourselves on our high level of service and take this feedback very seriously. Regarding the Silverlight technology and notes module, we have recently released a new platform (IO) that offers a much-improved user experience and is compatible with modern browsers. We are transitioning existing customers to this new platform in waves. Our customer success team will be reaching out to you to discuss access to the new platform and provide support for any outstanding issues.

December 2020

Kenneth from Behavioral Health Options PLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Well suited my my solo practice and for expanding its use to other clinicians

I can not say strongly enough how helpful Valant has been in integrating each of the steps involved with consumer care- from registration, insurance, clinical scheduling and documentation to billing. I could not function effectively without it and do not know of another vendor that matches Valant.

Pros

In the past, as an executive director for a larger mental health center using other software, Valant is easy to use, intuitive in functionality and adaptable. I could not operate a practice without it. When I do need assistance, Valant staff have been consistently helpful and on target with their instructions.

Cons

The software is really a strong asset and have really no complaints. I do engage in a variety of non-clinical mental health services such as consultation, training, supervision that I find the software limiting. I also would say trying to document a non-clinical contact, though possible, is not quite as easy as I would like. That said, I would never leave Valant and have found easy ways around each of these issues.

Reasons for Choosing The Valant Behavioral Health EHR

Best suited my needs at a reasonable price