User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(14)

14

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "Its flexible and has great availability Took lesser time to understand and get to using Mobile support is a good thing Customer support is great"

  • "Quick and easy to setup. Real time reporting. Very easy for my employees to use."

  • "The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through. "

  • Cons

  • "Could not yet scan some foreign language booking receipts"

  • "sometimes the servers speed is an issue. it can take up to several minutes to process a single record."

  • "Currently the phone application does not allow a user to create a requisition"

Browse Coupa Business Spend Management Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -15 of 35 results

July 2020

Garth from Rakuten

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Things to be aware of for new users

Overall my experience has been fantastic! I am beginning to get reporting at a detailed level that I've never had, I enjoy the audit trails and Audit oversights

Pros

Super powerful package. We have a Procurement module, SIM (Supplier Information management), Sourcing, AI. This is an extremely powerful and well-orchestrated product. We had a very knowledgeable implementation team from Coupa which to really great job discovering on identifying what we needed due for the setup. We've been using this product now for about 4 months and now implementing a second affiliate company without much assistance from Coupa and it's going pretty well.

Cons

Beware that systems integration is much more complex than anyone tells you it is. Its been four months since go-live, And we are still having problems with integrating to oracle. Some may read this review think that this is a problem with the implementer, some of it may be. Specifically, we are struggling with the supplier integration and though we have weekly calls, we are still having problems. So just wanted to be aware we were made to believe that Integrating was done all the time and has never been a problem

Reasons for Choosing Coupa Business Spend Management

Coupa is more functional. It is the most expensive of the solutions we looked at, though it is much more flexible, easier to design and more user friendly

Reasons for Switching to Coupa Business Spend Management

SAP though there is a procurement module, it is extremely inadequate for business. The pricing is certainly there for SAP it's quite a bit less money than Coupa, I guess this is an example you get what you pay for

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Bolt-On to NetSuite

Our business added it as a bolt-on to NetSuite, and a large selling point was the Sourcing package. Even though we cannot use the Sourcing module as it is, it has benefits of keeping the invoices and POs tied together and integrates well with NetSuite

Pros

The mobile app is very convenient for our PMs in the field that need to review and approve POs and invoices remotely

Cons

the Sourcing module is far to restrictive and cumbersome - it makes it harder for our vendors to submit quotes and there is now way for them to add options/alternatives to what we have asked them to quote

October 2019

David from FlexTrade

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2019

Coupa is the worst software I have ever used

Pros

Absolutely nothing. The software is the least institutive, user friendly I have ever used.

Cons

Regardless of whether I am using expenses, requisitions or invoices, I have never been able to submit or save anything without having to get the finance team to perform magic in the background. The end user typically gets an error message "Please fix the errors below", but there are never any highlighted fields or errors displayed.

February 2020

Shivam from Baxter Healthcare

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Good Tool to Manage Purchase Orders

Overall experience has been good. The vendor receives the purchase order once approved via email. Once the service has been received attaching the invoice and the closure procedure is easy as well.

Pros

I have been using Coupa for 2+ years. Mainly use it to create Purchase Orders to vendors. Receive invoices from suppliers. The software has an inbuilt approval process to route Purchase Orders, vendor master service agreements. The software can be synced with Microsoft office which allows you to get notifications when a request is new your queue or the Purchase Order has been approved or denied. It also allows you to run queries to tabulate budgetary expenses and track historical expenditure. Creating a Purchase Requisition is fairly easy and straightforward.

Cons

Coupa is very useful and easy to navigate but requires training to become proficient in the application. Suggestion is to create job aids/ training procedures which can be used as a reference guideline whenever needed specially for personnel not using the application too often.

July 2009

Lynne from Neediest Kids, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

Coupa's e-Procurement Solution Helps Students in Need

I highly recommend Coupa as an e-Procurement solution. Once you get the hang of it, it's really quite easy. And, once you do, your organization's work flow will be enhanced forever. The most amazing part is to be able to take immediate advantage of Coupa's incredible new features, such as iRequest. Coupa is not a static company, and they are constantly updating features. Coupa's team provides personalized service and lots of 'hand-holding'. They listen well to our needs. And, our students in need in the Washington, D.C. area are better served as a result Coupa has helped transformed us into a 21st century organization with streamlined operations that enable us to stretch our donor dollars and help more students in need.

Pros

Neediest Kids is a nonprofit organization that works with 8 area school systems in the Greater Washington, D.C. area. We provide emergency funds to these school systems to purchase the basics - new clothes, school supplies, medical or dental care, eye exams and glasses, and more - so students (K-12) can stay in school and thrive. Coupa's system has moved Neediest Kids from a traditional paper-based system of authorizations and receipts with school professionals spending their own time to shop for items for their students in need. We operate now through a web-based process of issuing POs that go directly to vendors with products shipped directly to school professionals. Thus, we have efficient purchasing, streamlined requests to vendors, real-time product and budget tracking, invoice reconciliation, and more. It's fast...it's internet fast!

Cons

There are always a few tweaks that could happen here and there, but we get 95% of what we need!

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Coupa is a versatile platform for procurement as well as billing

This system works well and eliminates a lot of manual entry on the AP department.

Pros

You can make it as formal or informal as you want. billing off of a PO is very simple

Cons

sometimes the servers speed is an issue. it can take up to several minutes to process a single record.

August 2019

Tawanda from World Vision Zimbabwe

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Supply chain solution that actually works

It has been a refreshing experience considering we were moving from a manual system. Procurement process has never been any simpler. I like that I can place my requisitions anytime and from anywhere! That I can track the approval flow is also a plus for Coupa

Pros

Its flexible and has great availability Took lesser time to understand and get to using Mobile support is a good thing Customer support is great

Cons

I cant seem to be able to edit items from a copied requistion when its a product already in the system catalog; thats a no brainier really

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

All purchases are placed through this system to deliver to accounting

Pros

The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through.

Cons

Repetitiveness of entering information or submitting something. After entering all the information on one page it makes you re-approve on the next page. When adding another line to the items in cart, it makes you completely re-enter all information which is frustrating when the items are linked but may just be different in price.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Most modern platform with some downfalls

Pros

Modern and simple platform that blows most competition out of the water. Frequent releases and a good portal for customer suggestions and knowledge forums. Handles complex workflows and hierarchies relatively well.

Cons

Their "super" search bar is terrible. Like, the worst search bar I've ever used. No matter how well we tagged items, it would never find them. It was basically useless. Thankfully our users primarily use punch-out catalog. They also don't support IF/THEN statements in much of the platform. That makes certain workflows impossible or extremely tedious.

October 2020

Erika from Bain

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Comprehensive and easy to use

Overall, Coupa makes the RFx process faster, easier, and more objective, thus yielding better results.

Pros

Coupa’s ability to take inputs in any form (question, statement, text, numeric, percentages, etc) and track and compare them is incredibly useful for the bidding process.

Cons

Having to delete a bid or item field, without the ability to edit them in the template, is more cumbersome than necessary.

December 2019

Sean from Workfront

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Coupa Review

Great software for the end user and supplies but not for the admins.

Pros

It is very easy for the end user and supplier to submit invoices. Suppliers are able to track the invoice process and payments. Helps reduce the time spent communicating with suppliers.

Cons

Making changes are not easy. Adding custom fields and changing approval chains have not been easy to adjust.

Reasons for Switching to Coupa Business Spend Management

More functionality and cheaper.

January 2018

siva from Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Intuitive and stream lined invoice automation

Pros

With Coupa invoicing, your Account payables can handle less paper, reduce errors and decrease the invoice processing times drastically.With Coupa Invoicing, electronic invoices flow into the system from the suppliers, are automatically matched to a PO or contract (two-way or three-way matching), channeled for approval, and then routed for payment. The entire automated invoicing process is electronic for 100% accuracy. With Coupa invoicing one can Strengthen supplier relationships, use resources more effectively, capture early payment discounts, increase compliance, and reduce business risk. Suppliers will love Coupa, because they can monitor the status of their invoice online via a self service portal. There are multiple ways invoices will be processed in Coupa invoicing Viz via supplier portal, Emailed invoices to Accounts Payables etc. Coupa invoicing has automated invoice matching and tolerances capability, supplier actionable notifications, mobile friendly app.

Cons

Coupa cannot handle accounting. It needs to be integrated with an accounting software or Enterprise Resource Planning tool.

April 2020

Joshua from XANT

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Review of Coupa Procurement

I've used Coupa for close to 5 years now. While the product provides a good value to it's primary functionality, the product lacks a level of polish to it. The navigation and processes to do specific steps feel clunky and not very smooth. I've looked for things only to ask Accounting where something is at because I simply can't find what I'm looking for. While overall an ok to good piece of software there are pieces of it that make it time consuming to use and because of that I only use it when I absolutely have to.

Pros

Pros of Coupa: - Allows process and systems to work through large purchases - Helps better keep track of the purchases needed for the company (whether they be large or small) - Ties the purchases to a PO for Accounting and Finance teams to keep track of.

Cons

Cons of Coupa: - The usability of the product isn't polished. You can't find a submitted request easily to see who has the next step in the approval process - It's difficult to search for created items in Coupa - You end up searching for large amounts of time to do things in the product you need to complete but are not quite sure where those things you need to do are at.

March 2018

Jessica from Celebration Church

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Does what it needs to

Pros

That i can use the punchouts to directly order rom stores that link to it. It makes it way easier and takes away other steps for me

Cons

It's hard to search, right now i can't search to find items i have approved other than the administrator.

November 2016

Marsha from JR Watkins Corporation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

We should have done this years ago!

Our company was stuck in an antiquated paper-based system of tracking indirect spend. Originally it was fine, as managers were able to keep up with their approving responsibilities. As time went on and the company grew, managers backed off of this responsibility and invoices were coming in without any purchase orders, let alone signed ones. Time for a change. I researched many indirect spend, procure-to-pay software systems until we decided on Coupa. We are very happy with the program. Not only does it put the responsibilities back on the requestors and the approvers, we have opened up more time for our Accounts Payable Clerk to handle other meaningful tasks.

Pros

Ease of use; supplier portal

Cons

Currently the phone application does not allow a user to create a requisition

January 2018

John from Roland Park Day School

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

Modern portal with some caveats

Pros

Modern look and feel. Constantly updating the product. Lots of functionality related to end-to-end procurement. Some promising features in the upcoming road map.

Cons

Rigid rules and hierarchy structure. No conditional logic support. Vendor overpromises, underdelivers. Universal search bar is terrible.

March 2020

Ciedelle from Amazon

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Coupa makes business purchasing easy

I am satisfied with how coupa is used for B2B purchases and how most vendors is easily found when issuing the PO.

Pros

I like how helpful the global search is and how integrated it is with specific punchout, also how easy it is to track and receive orders.

Cons

Copying an order should allow punchout specific items to be automatically added to the requisition.

June 2018

Brook from Meritage Midstream Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Just implementing this new system- it's nice to have a purchase to pay software.

Being able to Purchase and pay out of one system. Instead of using two systems that don't talk to each other.

Pros

The Customer Support has been wonderful so far. They always get answers right back to you and walk us through suggested options to try. Every time we have any kind of question they know the answer right away. There is never a wait time.

Cons

It hasn't been the most intuitive. Hence, why we use the Customer Support so often. I wish it was a little more user friendly.

April 2018

Andrew from Vivint

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Spend Management made amazing, and visible, and in control.

Pros

It makes it so easy to get approvals and keep track of our current contractors. The value in time saved is more than enough to justify switching over to Coupa. Having a user oriented platform just makes the system work much quicker than it did with our previous platform.

Cons

Implementation can take some extra hours, and sometimes customer service tickets require a lot more explanation and follow up than I wanted to invest.

June 2018

Samantha from G&T Enterprises

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Invoicing for railroad

Pros

It is easy to search for previously entered invoices using our invoice number. It shows the status of an invoice

Cons

If an invoice is disputed, it is hard to delete it. We have also submitted invoices for approval and the approver never received.

March 2014

Empiria

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


March 2014

A quick and easy way for me to manage travel expenses!

TripScanner has been an excellent way for me to help manage my company's travel expenses and policies. I've been using TripScanner for a few months and am impressed by the comprehensive reporting and ease of use. I previously had some issues with high travel costs caused by employees not adhering to our policies, but now I receive real time alerts if they go out of policy and can correct the situation immediately. Also with the Low-Price Scanner feature we have been able to spot deals and save money on hotels.

Pros

Quick and easy to setup. Real time reporting. Very easy for my employees to use.

April 2016

Scott from Sprouts Farmers Market

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

April 2016

Best in Breed

Easily one of the most user friendly P2P systems on the market. If you're looking for high adoption rates from your user group, this is the tool for you. The platform is highly, yet easily configurable regardless of the industry you're in (Grocery Retail for me). Majority of the configuration is done through CSV files by the on-site Admin so there's little downtime in waiting for your off-site service provider to add items, build vendors, perform system maintenance. Con is that you need a stable ERP to really take advantage of all of the functions.

July 2009

Darrel from Archdiocese of St. Louis

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

St Louis Archdiocese

I would strongly recommend including Coupa when you evaluate e-procurement systems for your organization.

Pros

Coupa has helped to transform the St Louis Archdiocese to a more streamlined process. The Coupa tool is easy to use, streamlines the procurement process and eliminates the paper flow that was slowing down invoice payment.Coupa was also easy to implement when compare to other e-procurement tools.

Cons

No cons to report. Coupa has exceeded our expectations.

June 2019

Dawn from Ace Services, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Vendor

Pros

As a vendor I absolutely love Coupa. I have to log in to other's such as (not real names) Aribah and VendorCalfA and they both suc*. Coupa is so easy for vendors, 2 easy steps. You receive email with PO, step 1 you hit accept PO. Step 2 when you're ready to invoice, you go back to the email and hit the invoice button and you are done. Love It.

Cons

Nothing at all, it is a great alternative to the other cra* I have to work with.

July 2009

Charles from Constellation Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2009

Implementation of COUPA in Biotech Environment

Worth the money for the amount of time and energy that this system saves any small to medium sized organization.

Pros

Very helpful in small dynamic start-up environment. Alleviates headaches of ordering, receiving, and AP. Scientists can concentrate on their labwork instead of worrying about whether something has been ordered. Easy to use. Customer Service is quick and helpful.

Cons

System could be more customizable

April 2020

Bill from Crest

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2020

Limited support for Suppliers

Fair. If Coupa would assist the supplier more it would help their customers in implementing some of the solutions (cXML, Flat File, etc.)

Pros

Fairly easy to use. Not very complicated.

Cons

From the Supplier portal perspective there is not much functionality. The only support mechanism is via Chat. The techs seemed to be limited in knowledge to what is just on the Supplier Portal. Any questions related to how to assist our 'mutual' customer they can not answer and state you need to contact customer. Some customers do not have the technical capability to assist a supplier thus making enhancements to the supplier/customer relationship difficult. Customers seem to not get a very good response time from Customer Portal techs which exacerbates the issue.

March 2014

Michael Reich

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


March 2014

Useful app, love the low price scanner

We started using tripscanner very soon after it's beta launch. They've been very responsive to our feedback and they have added a bunch of new stuff since then. They recently added a tool that checks for lower prices after you've booked a hotel so that you can re-book and save a few bucks.

Pros

Easy to use Useful alerts and reports

Cons

Could not yet scan some foreign language booking receipts

April 2014

Christian

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


April 2014

Extremely easy to use, reports have very relevant information, great value

I have been using Tripscanner for some time and have found it extremely easy to use, the reports are very easy to understand and have very relevant information. It took me almost no time to get set up and start using the service. It is a great value, as the price is very low, yet it gives you very valuable information and it can also save you money on hotels, car rentals.

June 2017

Leilani from Cylance Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

User friendly

easy to submit for invoicing

Pros

Once trained, it is pretty easy to use. The software is user-friendly and is personalized to each user. Easy to keep track of orders. I also like how you can communicate with other internal users.

Cons

There are a lot of email notifications that are sent out, which can sometimes cause confusion. Also, it can be organized a better way so it can be easier to navigate.

March 2014

Karen Ong

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


March 2014

Awesome for small businesses!

TripScanner is perfect for small businesses that don't have the bargaining power to negotiate deals with corporate travel providers. Now, my employees can book their flights and hotels from practically any website and TripScanner makes sure that all their trips are within the company policy.

Pros

Easy to use

May 2019

Stephen from Nike

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

Incredibly Frustrating

Pros

For an invoicing software, it does the trick. It can keep track of what you owe and how long you've owed it.

Cons

Where to begin? The UI is terrible. The software is incredibly cumbersome and not user friendly at all. I can't imagine why anybody likes using it.

February 2019

Jim from BankUnited

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2019

WORST SOFTWARE OF ANY KIND I HAVE USED IN OVER 30 YEARS!!!

I ONLY GIVE IT A "1" BECAUSE "0" IS NOT AN AVAILABLE OPTION.

Pros

NONE! LITERALLY; THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOT A SINGLE FEATURE TO POINT TO AND SAY THAT IS EVEN ACCEPTABLE.

Cons

CLUNKY, CUMBERSOME BEYOND ANYTHING IN THIS CATEGORY I HAVE ENCOUNTERED IN 30 YEARS. PASSWORD FAILS EVERY SINGLE TIME, HAVE TO RESET FOR EVERY LOGIN, THEN IMMEDIATELY FAILS ON FIRST ATTEMPT FOR EXCESSIVE FAILED ATTEMPTS!!!!!

September 2019

Javier from World Vision

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Daily problems with Coupa

Very bad, always have problems with the page, can't change the password and the message error is a random message that do not help.

Pros

Can customize a lot in the view and basically what you need

Cons

Very slow Problems with Stage Release an update and change a lot of things without been notified

October 2020

Barbara from Nielsen

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Coupa - an easy way to send/receive invoices

I'm using Coupa in the last 6 months because my current client has it.

Pros

Coupa is a reliable software, with good security measures. It has different funcionalities, such as receiving POs, sending invoices, etc

Cons

I don't find Coupa so easy to understand at first. It could be a lot more intuitive. I see requiring training as a drawback.

June 2017

Pooja

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017