All El Dorado Utility Billing Reviews

1-25 of 80 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jeanne

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

El Dorado Utility Billing Software

I love the program and don't think I could run my business without it. I have always experienced wonderful customer service from the wonderful people connected to this company.

PROS

I do the bookkeeping for three small mutual water companies and this software allows me to switch between companies rapidly. It is easy to use and meets all my needs for billing and record keeping.

CONS

I have an older version of the program and it uses separate software (Crystal Reports) to compile reports. On this version, reports are not as easy to customize as I would like, but I'm sure that has improved in newer versions of the El Dorado Utility Billing software.

Reason for choosing El Dorado Utility Billing

The price was reasonable and they offered to convert my data from the program I had been using into the El Dorado database.

Reasons for switching to El Dorado Utility Billing

The program I had been using was not being supported for newer Windows operating sytems.

Vendor Response

Jeanne - Thanks for the great review, we are glad the El Dorado program is working well for you and appreciate your business.

Replied November 2020

Jane

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

El Dorado Software Review!!

Eldorado is a great company, they know the ins / outs of the billing world and are able to assist you with any of your needs or requirements. The system / team members are very flexible when it comes to making things happen for you.

PROS

The software system itself is very user friendly, easy to adapt to your billing needs and easy to follow and set up customers for billing utilities. Having the on-line availability for customers to pay is a great feature also. The customer service is always there and available to assist in whatever it is.

CONS

I have not found anything I dislike about the software in over 15 years.

Reason for choosing El Dorado Utility Billing

pricing was a key factor, but the availability and the accessibility of the software system itself is great to work with.

Vendor Response

Thank you Jane we appreciate the great review and feedback. We have enjoyed working with you over the years.

Replied October 2020

Jenny

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2021

Experiences with El Dorado Utility Billing

For utility billing, it was ok. We no longer use it because we were able to find something that was all inclusive; accounting, payroll and utility billing all in one software.

PROS

Our agency has many different water rates, some of them change based on consumption. With El Dorado, you could go into a customer account and put in the consumption at the lower rate and once that amount was reached, the software automatically changed over to the higher rate.

CONS

The thing I least liked was that it was not compatible with our accounting software. I had to do journal entries in order to bring the water revenue over to the General Ledger. This was very time consuming.

Reason for choosing El Dorado Utility Billing

The[SENSITIVE CONTENT] at the time chose it because it was one of the few software's available in 2000; he was concerned with the switch to the new millennium and felt this one had what we needed for the transition.

Vendor Response

Hello Jenny - We do appreciate your feedback but believe your reviewing a product from the year 2000 that is now over 20 years old. We offer a modern up to date web enabled utility billing system with advanced features not found in all-inclusive accounting system. Our strategy is to integrate with General Ledger systems and not try to displace it. We believe this may be a situation where the product was used for the wrong application and failure to invest new technology impacted the usability of the solution. We recommend our customers keep current on the new technology platforms so we can offer you the highest level of support. With our upgrade protection program our customers always receive software updates at No Charge allowing them to always have the current product and best in class support service. If your ever in the market again for a new utility billing solution we would be happy to show you what we offer today.

Replied December 2021

Diana

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

Utility Billing Review

We are definitely happy with the Software and the support...although I wish we could call later in the day - due to time differences we may not get an answer during our working hours.

PROS

Ease of entering payments, adding new accounts. Reports. The support we get when we have the craziest questions!

CONS

When I enter payments, the last account entered does not remain on the screen. Instead it reverts to the very first account that was entered in that batch. I would like more flexibility in reports. And I would like to have the capability of totaling out a deposit when I am finished posting payments so the program would automatically go to the next batch. This is the most frustrating aspect---forgetting to number my batches.

Vendor Response

Thank you Diana, we have a new version of El Dorado that will address your concern regarding entering payments. Our sales team will reach out to schedule a demo with you.

Replied March 2019

Joanne

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2016

Not the best time to change software for our company.

I greatly appreciate your time in presenting the new Version 9. Currently we are going through a rate case filing with the Public Uitilites Commission for new rates and have limited time now to delve into the software upgrade.

PROS

You seem to be constantly trying to stay current with customer technology demands.

CONS

The reports in the version 8 that I have to stay with are not very useful. The way that inactive accounts remain in the database for customized reports is time consuming to remove.

Vendor Response

Joanne - thanks for your comments we always appreciate the great customer feedback. As we have presented to you with our new version 9 we have made significant improvements to the system reports. We have added serval new financial reports to simplify end of period reporting for billing and collections. Hopefully you can get the PUC rate case behind you and move forward with newer technology to simplify your billing and collections.

Replied August 2016

Sandra

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

Sandy's review

Overall I feel it is a good product, there have been issues when we have added different options such as ACH, and most recently Radio Read, but they have all been taken care of.

PROS

The last upgrade done to the program was wonderful. It was one little thing, you can scroll on the Account Manager screen, chose a person, then when you return to the screen it stayed in the same place. There are many options when sorting your Account Manager Screen, very handy.

CONS

I feel the help screen could explain a bit better, such as, when reading a topic it tells you how to do the function but doesn't go on to explain what to do if it that doesn't work. I guess that is where customer service team comes in.

Vendor Response

Thank for the review Sandra, we appreciate your comments on the ability to search and sort customers in your database as well as the integration to your ACH and radio reading provider. As for the help guide we are doing custom video recordings specific to your configuration so maybe that's a better option for you them reading the manual.

Replied October 2020

Amrit

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed August 2010

Great Sfotware/Customer Service Support

I would sincerely recommend this system to anyone entering or working in the utility billing industry. We feel confident that the system is secure, reliable, and have ease of use to move along our business quickly. We were able to turn from signature of contract for services to bills being sent out in 10 days!!!

PROS

I have purchased this utility software based on price, features, and compnay providing services personnel. The product was easy to acquire and install. The private and personal overview of software was thorough, timely, and very informative. Further calls were made to clarify user procedures and immediate, instant attention was provided. Priority was placed onto our system at no extra charge. I look forward to expanding our system with the help of creative technologies and also feel secure that if and when we run into difficulties, we will have the support necessary to overcome issues quickly and effectively.

CONS

At this time we have not seen any cons other than we can not navigate from the account manager directly to the "print bill" tab. However, the system does allow us to enter mulitple invoices at one time to be billed. This issue maybe something that we are doing incorrectly at this time.

Vendor Response

Amrit - Thanks for the positive feedback on our El Dorado Utility Billing product. We have taken your suggestion into consideration and feel it would be a useful addition to our product and for many of our customers. We are in the process of implementing the new feature and will provide you the updated version shortly - let me add there will be No Additional Charge to your organization for this new feature ! Please let us know if there are any other new features or functionality you would like to see. We are always open to customer suggestions. Best Regards, From the Creative Technologies Product Development Team.

Replied August 2010

Margaret

Recreational Facilities and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

SLF ElDorado Software

El Dorado is a user friendly program that assists with the water/sewer billing of our company keeping track of our expenses and receivables

PROS

The software becomes user friendly the more it is used with the help of the great IT team that is on the ready with support

CONS

Some reports are not adaptable to the information that is requested by our auditors, we then need to run many reports to retrieve the needed information

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review, Margaret we appreciate the feedback. Our support team takes pride in supporting our customers and we are always looking at adding new reports to make it easier to access historical data. We just released several new reports that may assist with your end of year accounting reviews.

Replied May 2022

GREG

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed August 2010

Affordable, Easy to Use, Open Utility Billing Solution

Get access to the demo and try it yourself.

PROS

We recently purchased the El Dorado Utility billing system and found the installation to be very easy and straight forward. Before switching to El Dorado we looked at many billing systems and found many of them to be overly complicated, short on functionality and overpriced. Our old billing system was too complex to use and caused us frustration every we used it, our staff had to spend hours trying to figure out the most basic functions or to make simple changes. We choose Creative Technologies for their expertise in the industry and superior customer service. Creative Technologies added features and functionality in the product to satisfy our particular needs, the reports are accurate, flexible and provide the extensive details and we need to report back to the accounting department. The product is feature rich, rock solid and exceeds our requirements. We plan on expanding our system to bill both electric and water with the El Dorado Utility billing system.

CONS

I have no Cons.

Vendor Response

Greg Thank you for putting your trust into the Creative Technologies staff. I know that switching from an existing billing system can be time consuming and a learning curve. Change is never easy but knowing you have a team of professionals behind you makes the transition a whole lot easier. As we demonstrated we make every customer a top priority and hand hold them through the entire upgrade transformation process. Its very reassuring to know that our marketing and development staffs are in sync in making our products open, capable and affordable for our customers to use. We appreciate your business! L J - Creative Technologies President

Replied August 2010

John

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

It's the only way to go!

I have saved a very large sum of money with the auto pay and online billing. Creative's partners charge the transaction fee on credit cards to the customer. In the past we paid for all transaction fees costing thousands.

PROS

Software is easy to use, affordable, and always growing to become usable in ways not thought of such as customer alert system.

CONS

I do not have a negative word to say. This is a great product. Well Rounded.

Reason for choosing El Dorado Utility Billing

Expensive hand held reading and or radio reading equipment.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great feedback John. The team worked really hard on the new customer portal, and it's gotten excellent reviews.

Replied July 2022

Daniel

Utilities, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

Review

Great. Takes a lot of stress off knowing El Dorado is watching out for our utility billing.

PROS

Great to use for its functionality for billing purposes. Gets the job done with ease on our the leadership team.

CONS

Cost can be considered a little high and sometimes tricky to move around the site. Hard to use for new users.

Vendor Response

Hello Daniel - We appreciate the review and feedback and high ranking on our overall quality, customer support and ease of use. If your ever in need of training or have questions on the functionality please reach out - we have a fulltime helpdesk available to assist with any questions that you may have.

Replied October 2020

Kristin

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2020

Billing

PROS

Ease of processing payments. Changing names.

CONS

The customer support isn't the best. Sometimes to get the help you need.

Vendor Response

Hello Kristin - I understand the situation you where faced with due to getting a new PC and not being able to fund the new software purchase. If there is anything we can do to help you along we are always available. We can assign a dedicated tech to work with you on your specific questions.

Replied October 2020

Jean

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

Program is very easy to use

PROS

Easy, Quickness to find a customer for customer service, easiness to edit program and correct issues. Like that you can search by name and account #.

CONS

I wish all adjustment would show up on adjustment list weather correcting amount, added charges or fees.

Vendor Response

Thanks Jean we are always enhancing the system reports and will add this request to the list.

Replied June 2017

Kay

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

Software is very user friendly. Data is easy to read. Reports give good information.

We have used El Dorado Utility Software for about 10 years and have been very satisfied with both the software itself and the customer service we receive. The support group are highly professional and are there for us every step of the way. I would high recommend this billing system to anyone.

PROS

Easy to use, great customer service

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great feedback Kay. We always enjoy working with you and your team !

Replied March 2017

Keith

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

IWM,Inc

PROS

the partnership with invoice cloud. Creative tech fir printing and mailing.

CONS

Business status page. Can not export today's payments to excel. Not able to switch between two account numbers with out reentering account#. EX: 100000 to 100000.01

Vendor Response

Hi Keith - Thanks for your feedback and your business. We absolutely can export the daily payments to excel. Our team will be reaching out to show you how it works and answer your questions on the account number search.

Replied February 2020

Jean

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Company Review

I use this program daily at my office very easy to use, gives all the information I need.

PROS

Everyone that works for the Company is very friendly and helpful

CONS

Nothing to complain about. does everything I need

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind words Jean, we always enjoy working with you too.

Replied March 2019

Lindsey

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Easy to Use

PROS

This product is easy to use, very user friendly

CONS

There really isn't anything negative I can say. This is the only billing software we have ever used.

Vendor Response

Thanks Lindsey - we appreciate your business and years of support. The team is always here when you need us.

Replied February 2020

Jim

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Good software at a good price

After installation was completed everything has been running well. I felt like some charges weren't discussed before the purchase, specifically regarding online pay. Granted, I didn't ask these questions until after the purchase but it would have been better to be presented with this information before purchase. Overall the cost is great, we halved our annual support services costs and it enables us to do ACH payments without any charge from El Dorado.

PROS

The cost was much lower than our current software and lower than other options we were looking at.

CONS

Customer service with setting it up was difficult. Our small town has one employee and works mornings only four days a week. The time zone difference between central and pacific left only a short time frame to troubleshoot issues with installation. It seems like the only had one person dedicated to setting it up so if she was busy we had to wait.

Reason for choosing El Dorado Utility Billing

Very low cost, other good municipal references in the state of illinois.

Reasons for switching to El Dorado Utility Billing

Needed to implement online bill pay and update our software.

Vendor Response

Jim - Thanks for the feedback we certainly try to give the best value for the money and it seems like you shopped around and found our pricing model to be spot on. I am glad your taking advantage of our online customer portal to process ACH and CC payments. We find this is a #1 driver of new technology upgrades.

Replied October 2020

Caroline

Utilities, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE