What are App Builder users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using App Builder software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.25

93 Reviews

5
39
4
41
3
11
2
1
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Easy to share with the end users to evaluate the usability."
  • icon"I like its versatility and ease of use the most."
  • icon"Customer support is awesome. Here is a company that really listens to users and develops features we really need and use."
  • icon"The code was a bit hard to understand and customize."
  • icon"The other big negative is that we cannot populate drop choices. There is no way to integrate small data bound lists."
  • icon"This was especially so if you made a mistake as some issues were unforgiving and took time to fix or recreate. Another issue was when trying to get multiple users to work on the same project."

Jump to:

Browse all App Builder Reviews

  • Have you used App Builder and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 93 reviews

User Profile

Kyanij

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Best prototype design application

This app is handy when it comes to creating complex prototypes. It provides a lot of features for making interactive animated prototypes

Pros

It provides an easy way to integrate with a sketch that's what I really love about. Also, it comes up with the new feature of creating usability study. Besides that, it allows me to create animated interactive prototypes efficiently. The learning curve of this app is so easy everyone can learn it in a short period of time.

Cons

This app requires high memory usage and resources so it isn't applicable for that laptop that has a low ram configuration.

Audrey

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

A picture is worth a thousand words,..an Indigo Studio prototype is worth a million!

As a business analyst, my main aim is to make sure that clients and developers share a common understanding of the requirements and functionalities. Indigo Studio has been an invaluable tool to define and refine requirements and interactions with stakeholders and communicate these requirements to the development team. I started using Indigo Design while it was still on beta at a previous job and had a great experience with it. When I got the chance to select a prototyping tool at my new job, I chose Indigo Design, knowing it would allow to quickly and easily create prototypes and be easy to learn for future team members regardless of their technical or design background.

Pros

- Easily create interactions: Indigo's greatest strength is indubitably the ease with which it allows to simulate interactions. You can create simple interactions by creating states triggered by events in just a few minutes without having to be an expert UX/UI designer or a developer. - Easy to share with stakeholders and team: The link sharing capabilities allow stakeholders and team members to access the prototype, interact with it and comment. - Easily reuse elements with screenparts: Screenparts allow to define elements once and reuse them throughout the project whenever applicable instead of having to redo the element over and over. - Useful icon library: The icon library allows to better illustrate some concepts as well as to add some style to prototypes without having to look for images.

Cons

- No versioning capabilities: There is no direct way to save a version of the published prototypes and be able to share a working version with other people as functionalities and tweaks are added by a stakeholder while the development team is working on the previously defined scope. - Collaboration functionalities: the collaboration functionalities are essentially limited to publishing and downloading, meaning everyone is using a copy of prototypes and "screenparts" instead of having a common base. It would be great to be able to build a library of reference elements shared with a team. - Limited text formatting options: This is a less critical issue but being able to format table cells would allow to show that some elements are hyperlinks for instance.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

The ability to easily create interactive prototypes.

Sascha

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Underrated

Pros

Its getting better by the month. The usability is fine.

Cons

API integration still very poor and there is no entry pricing plan.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

Ease of use and very consistent overall platform from UI/UX up to code generation.

Sheri

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Great tool for WYSIWYG prototyping and app building

Very positive, saved us days and weeks of time.

Pros

Ease of use, lots of UI controls for what we needed to build our user interface. The Grid control was really rich easily configured.

Cons

I didn't like the databinding limitations, we use cloud links that our dev team created - but they have since added that feature, so we are going to use it next!

Sanae

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Easily create Web UI

Pros

I can make WebUI by Drag & Drop of components.

Cons

This product only supports Blazor and Angular.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

I used this product because I was not very good with HTML and CSS. I use Infragistics' Ignite UI so I can easily build with these UI components.

Dieter

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Sorry but another RadBuilder APP

In General good. But crashes very often

Pros

Easy to use. Also Beginners can start very quickly

Cons

It crashed several times. Also that is another one of this Do it quick and dirty tools. It´s not really something for an pro

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

WhT a tool

Conversion to browser interface .. really helpful

Pros

Love the tool, great ease of use and the results are inpressive

Cons

Installation - but it worked after an initi struggle but probably down to user error as worked ok when we carefully went through it

Wesley

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Great product

It makes working with clients and developers much easier and makes us look a lot more professional.

Pros

Integration with Sketch makes it easy to share wireframes and prototypes with clients and for developers to get the specific information they need to build the UI.

Cons

I love the code generation concept. However, it is limited in what it can code. Some of the features we want to use (basically aspects that adjust the screen in some ways like a side navigation bar and accordion) are not supported. Would love to see them expand the list of supported components.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

We were already using Infragistics' Ignite UI for Angular, so it was a natural fit.

Colin

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Great UI design tool

Overall I think the experience is pretty good, the learning curve is normal and easy to learn it in a short time and integrate with the existing process.

Pros

Easy to use, and intuitive process to create the UI prototype. Like the feature to easily create the shared component and reuse them in different design. Easy to share with the end users to evaluate the usability.

Cons

A bit difficult to allow collaboration across teams as multiple team members working on one project. Also wish to have more out-of-box templates available.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

It is easier to learn Indigo than Axure and can also provide similar features as expected.

Thomas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Nothing special. Buggy at best.

I was hoping for so much more, having the component library for sketch (does not work well) and code generation (also very buggy and does not work well) were the reasons I chose to also try indigo design. But compared to other products it is way too basic.

Pros

Integrating with sketch was easy.

Cons

There is no useful tools. So much left to be desired. Prototyping is sub-oar at best and that is really the only feature available.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

Because of the component library for sketch and code generation, which both left so much to be desired.

Reasons for switching to App Builder

Because of the component library for sketch and code generation, which both left so much to be desired.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

The software is very easy to use & for first time user it is fairly simple to get started quickly.

Easy to create application screens & very simple to create prototype.

Pros

1) Simple to create screens & adding interactions from one screen to other is very easy. 2) Enough UI Elements library to create wireframes & clickable prototypes.

Cons

1) Horizontal tab navigation for screens: As the application has horizontal tab navigation for screens, it is very difficult to see all the screen as there is limited space, also adding more screen increases the scroll which slows the working speed by increasing the time to find the screen to work upon. Also, the application always crashes when there are many screens added to to horizontal tab. I would suggest to have vertical left navigation for screens, as available in other prototyping tools such as Axure. 2) Old set of tablet & phone devices for screens: because old iPhone & tablet shells the prototype looks ugly, to avoid that we have to we have insert a image of new nice looking iPhone shell in our prototype manually & inside that we put UI Elements. 3)Not having support to see it on mobile devices with actual size: we can not show the mockup to our stakeholders on actual iPhone like a native application, every time we have to open it in browser window. I would suggest to add a full screen support on mobile devices without browser window. 4) Download as app feature missing: Many times we need to test our mockup on actual devices but there is no facility to download it as an app, I would suggest to add this feature, this feature is already present in other applications like Invision app wherein the mockup can be viewed as an app on tapping the mockup icon on mobile phones.

Caitlin

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Beginner Friendly with Slight Confusion

My overall experience with App Builder has been pretty good. The App Builder has allowed to create simple prototypes, but the functionalities can be a bit confusing when there’s a lot of required actions.

Pros

This software that Indigo Design has equipped its users to create prototypes is great. It’s easy to understand when you are going through the motion of understanding the app.

Cons

My least favorite features is the division between the different applications in Indigo Builder and the functionalities of the applications. The software can be a bit hard to use because some of the functionality are unavailable or can only be used for certain actions.

Reasons for switching to App Builder

I made the switch because these applications were easier to use in a time crunch.

Dayne

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

LESS is MORE

I made a quick app that i tested and it worked!

Pros

Its got alot of features and is easy to use. Positive outcomes and quick deployment give me more chances to find an open opportunity.

Cons

Some of it was not easily understood. Maybe better shortened summaries to explain it differently in some areas.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

I try them all before make any decisions and usually they lead to purchases.

Reasons for switching to App Builder

No new features in Website2APK

Frederic

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

I use it to design and prototype business web applications for European Institutions.

Good reputation from peers Easier communication with customers recognized as UX professional

Pros

Very fast designing process including the magic ALT-click. The concept of State for screens and the associated navigation pane The animation timeline that is intuitive and easy to use. Regular updates that brings new stuffs based on user requests. I really appreciate this approach that most companies don't put in practice. The Sharing functionality that is easy to use and allow us to show and collect feedback of users. In the last versions, the integration of Google Fonts The screenparts that help us to go faster by reusing parts including animations and states Lat but not least, the user support is one of the best I had. Thanks again to these guys!

Cons

It's still tricky to use it behind our company firewall. Seems to be fixed in the lasts versions but still unstable. e.g. it lost the sign in quite often. The pricing policy is quite expensive so we limit our number of licences.

Pierre

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

First attempt at using App Builder failed completely

It was disappointing.

Pros

It was easy to start designing a decent-looking UI.

Cons

The system to add data sources was poorly documented and cumbersome to use. Then some modification in there made the whole app unusable.

User Profile

Pavol

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

There isn't any prototyping tool with this kind of animation capabilities. The best for the money.

Pros

There is a lot of intuitive features for interactive prototyping, usability testing, and collaboration. You can copy/paste your designs from Sketch and animate your interactions in any possible way.

Cons

Occasional bugs and slow performance on larger projects, probably because of MS Silverlight. There should be more features (like in Sketch) for high-fidelity design and typography. I still think its the best solution for the money. kind of animation capabilities, there is only Axure RP, which is expensive and way less intuitive.

Alphonso

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Love The Product

Increased Efficiency

Pros

Ease of integration with currently used technology

Cons

Being able to reach a live representative

Veronika

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

The best UI tool that I've used lately

With all the tooling and design solutions that are provided, I was free to pursue my creative ambitions and not deal with the trouble of trying to figure out complicated software. Giving a powerful way to customize each part of your application was of great value to me.

Pros

The produced Angular code quality and ease of use.

Cons

There could be more predefined apps and app templates

Mark

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Good but limited

Overall been fairly positive but it seems that infragistic until recently didn't invest much time improving the product.

Pros

We use the product because its pretty quick to produce a prototype. Looking forward to the new code generation feature for Blazor.

Cons

The control toolbox is limited and never seems to be updated. The portal where you can find public projects to learn from is sparse and it seems that Infragistics never contributes new ones to review and only has a couple of examples. The customer license portal is limited as well.

Reasons for choosing App Builder

It came with our Infragistic subscription at the time so we used it.

Reasons for switching to App Builder

Loved the ability to publish the prototype and send users a link to review.

Response from INFRAGISTICS

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad that you are looking forward to the upcoming Blazor beta release, hope you will like it! As for the toolbox, if you are referring the App Builder one, we are constantly updating the it with new components, check out the monthly release blogs that we have for more information. https://www.infragistics.com/community/blogs As for the predefined examples our dev team has a dozen new samples as part of the roadmap, that are planned to be started next year, thank you for mentioning that!

Replied November 2021

User Profile

Chuladid Jul

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

I use it to design mockup wireframe for Mobile Apps, I used to it since it was version 1

Pros

Easy to use, Easy to understand, Cover most of iOS App Design. I use it as a quick sketch tools to give me an idea about how is my app interact with the user, better to communicate with my team and my client by focus on functionalities

Cons

the performance on Mac is not so good. Sometime when the project has many page the app almost stop, loading for a long time, sometime it crash. and it's not up to date for App Design with ios 11 and no new iOS - Android component

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Quick and easy to use, intuitive and user friendly.

Pros

Intuitive and has the needed features to create most common prototype challenges that me and my team are facing. In comparison to existing products out there, indigo is by far, superior. It is helping us approach users with high end prototypes, fast, accurate and with no development efforts. My design team has become powerful and independent! Plus we are all aligned and on the same page using the collaboration Indigo tools.

Cons

Rendering is a bit slow maybe due to the Silverlight engine. No palette saving. No typography details. Complex prototypes get really slow and break. Not enough of collaborative design. Still, need some enhancements to compete with prototyping tools that exist in today's market.

Joe

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

I use Indigo every day, and while there are frustrating bugs sometimes, it's still the best solution

Pros

I love how I can easily add UI elements to the page and how it gives me a tool to tell my developers exactly how I want a page to be laid out. Also, screen parts are very useful and save me a ton of time when designing storyboards.

Cons

I hate the fact that table cells aren't containers, so if I want to put a button in there, it's just an overlay that doesn't follow the table. Also, there's no really good way to several enter notes about particular UI elements. I can add callouts and notes, but that gets very unwieldy after 7 or so notes.

Sagit

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Easy to learn and use. Has some great features that allows collaboration and usability testing.

Pros

I love the fact that we can make it so realistic it looks and behaves like the real tool and allows us to test. The creation of a URL we can share with the teams and update is great too. The animations are great! Very easy for the UX team to show the Dev team what we need. Customer support is awesome!! Here is a company that really listens to users and develops features we really need and use.

Cons

I would like and enhances ability to control fonts (add my own) and also control the look of scroll bars.

Roman

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Overall, I have enjoyed using Indigo to create various prototypes and taught it to my coworkers.

I got to use this program for one of my IT classes in which we had to develop an app prototype to solve or remedy a social program. Aside from this, I have taught the basics of this class (elements, interactions, animations, etc) to several coworkers at my job at Rutgers University.

Pros

I really like the base version of the software because it is free and has enough features to be relevant and make a good prototype. I like how there is a free version and the chance to get an academic license because students really enjoy using the software to make prototypes and express their ideas. I enjoy the elements provided, features and the options for viewports. The prototype can be as advanced or as simple as the person wants it to be. I like the ability to save my projects directly to my personal workspace which makes it easy to work on the go.

Cons

The program can be pretty confusing to use if you overlook the tutorials and video that are presented to you from Infragistics. I personally teach a course on App Design Prototype and I use Indigo to do so. I present a demonstration in the class and show the students where everything is and how things work. The students really enjoy the demo and it helps them understand the software. I think that the Indigo Essentials version should still let you share your prototypes with people via links! Is there a way to delete projects I have saved to my personal workspace?

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Indigo studio is a great replacement to wireframing and protoptyping tools like Axure and Balsamiq

Pros

Ability to create interactive prototypes with animations quickly and also ability to sync with Sketch to reuse artifacts . Usability testing is something which starting to get used in our workflow.

Cons

Restrictions on Fonts and Libraries pushes me to use Sketch more often and since Sketch is catching up on prototyping ...value of using Indigostudio is getting low because of these limitations

Showing 1 - 25 of 93 reviews
App Builder

App Builder

4.25/5 out of 93 reviews
Visit Website