All VirtualBox Reviews

1-25 of 867 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Grant

Computer Software, 201 - 500 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

Reviewed October 2021

Average Free Hypervisor platform

User Profile

Sébastien

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Real Problems No Longer Feel Real Inside a Perfectly Replicated Virtual System with VirtualBox

Thanks to VirtualBox, I have been able to test different systems under controlled conditions. I was able to quickly test the minimum requirements of specific applications by simply changing the settings affecting the virtual machine before using it. It has also allowed me to get comfortable with other operating systems that I don't use regularly and to open native applications flawlessly as opposed to trying to emulate those with an incompatible system. It has saved me many times when deploying destructive scripts for testing purposes that would otherwise have wiped out my real hard drive or infected my machine directly. I feel this is a very well built software and I would be confident in recommending its use to anyone who is looking into virtualization.

PROS

The ability to install almost any operating system with great support for USB, ACPI and SMP without the risk of breaking the machine that is being used for virtualization is a strong advantage of VirtualBox. Apart from the fact that it is free and backed by a legendary company, one of its great features resides in the guest additions, which makes it possible to get better performance and communication with the host, such as adding drag & drop and copy/paste abilities. It also supports a wide range of hardware and has always worked very well for my testing purposes as long as enough memory and CPU can be allocated to the virtual machine without affecting the host. Because it is also possible to take snapshots of the virtual machine at any point, it is easy and convenient to test almost anything without having to reformat and waste many hours to set things up again: it suffices to go back in time to retrieve a working version of the instance. I use it mainly on Linux machines, but its great portability and cross-platform nature is an asset when it comes to deploying it on other systems.

CONS

When not used to the software, it is confusing why some functions might not be available without the guest additions. On some systems, using a desktop environment with fixed sized windows may distort the aspect ratio of the virtual machine. Instead of auto-scaling, it is then necessary to switch the window into "floating mode" to resize manually. Depending on the resources available, the virtual machine will certainly feel slower than the host, especially with no hardware acceleration. By the nature of virtualization, one needs a lot of system resources to take full advantage of both the host and the virtual machine at the same time. On the positive side, it is easy with VirtualBox to adjust the resources allocated to the virtual machine. It cannot be changed on the fly while using the virtual environment, but it is nevertheless indispensable to be able to do so otherwise.

André

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Amazing and free virtualization software!

Virtualbox has been an amazing tool for us. We’ve never encountered any errors/problems and we were able to use their virtualization software just fine!

PROS

The simplicity, and ease of use caught my eye. I was looking for a great tool to run virtual machines, and Virtualbox was the one!

CONS

There aren’t alot of cons, because this software is so professional and efficient!

Reason for choosing VirtualBox

Virtualbox asks for less but gives more! It’s very stable and easy to use.

Reasons for switching to VirtualBox

We used to use a paid service for virtual machines, and we needed more operating systems to virtualize for less. Virtualbox really helped us out with this problem by providing it’s free product.

Wassim

Computer Networking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2023

VirtualBox: An Oracle Software that doesn't Meet Oracle's Standards

I faithfully prefer VMWare Workstation (Windows host) or Parallels (MAC host) to support OS virtualization. Much more advanced features that can overcome the limitations in VirtualBox.

PROS

VirtualBox was an Open source OS virtualization software that Oracle bought to support its cloud client virtualization platform. VirtualBox is easy to deploy and use. I use it on Windows to run Linux servers to test networking and cryptography packages. If needed for basic OS virtualization, then this would be a very cost efficient solution.

CONS

The main limitations in VirtualBox is the lack of support of Graphics acceleration in Guest OSes and in the lack of automatic support of high resolutions in the Guest OS desktop. The copy-and-paste functionality is also crippled between the host and guest OSes. I many times needed to send files by email to emulate this simple task. Moreover, sharing drives between the host and guest is not always supported. USB sticks need a lot of configuration to be mounted in to the guest OS to make it work. I wonder how can Oracle produce or manage this low quality softaware.

Kevin

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Virtualization is awesome.

I use Virtual Box to provide multiple services while retaining a single server. For the classroom VirutalBox provides students with an environment where they can experiment while keeping the base operating system secure and locked. The ability to preserve aging software is critical to many companies I deal with. Inability to upgrade or lack of migration options often means that they need to keep these programs running while replacing broken or old hardware. Snapshots help me to keep perfect copies of system content and provide 100% restores.

PROS

The ability to quick install and work inside a virtual operating system with having to build an entirely new system. No messing around with hard disks and bios. Its great when you want to test out Operating System alternatives or when testing current systems via hard disk imaging.

CONS

No "out of the box" compatibility with Apple IOS operating system. This is obviously no fault of its creators as Apple has made use of its Operating System near impossible with its hardware but from a teaching perspective its a wasted opportunity especially for those learning helpdesk skills.

Reason for choosing VirtualBox

Virtual Box is quick and very easy to install and configure and its survive the test of time while others are either become outdated or become not as simple to use.

Travis

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Virtual Hardware Saver

My biggest use case is to have a backup copy of a system that I am working to replace. Once the newer system has become well established and it is clear there is no need for information from the previous hardware I can clear out the old virtual machine. This doesn't support every use case when there was legacy hardware that was used for physical I/O as the host system would need the same I/O. Drivers don't carry over in those instances.

PROS

There is a wide array of virtual hardware supported in VirtualBox. This makes it very easy to have backup copies of archaic hardware that is no longer available but the software on them is still needed. The virtualization is fairly seamless for occasional use.

CONS

There isn't much to not like about this software. The number of prompts when installing a new version and the 'extra' packages for USB support can be tiresome when it could just as well be automatic, but that is a minor issue.

Reason for choosing VirtualBox

Support for use in a Windows host. Ease of use for setup of a VM using the GUI. Container format used by VirtualBox was a bit more portable.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

VirtualBox as a tool to model configurations on virtual servers

Virtualbox allows us to simulate environments using virtualization in a practical way, accelerating implementations and configurations in services

PROS

It is cross-platform, which allows easy installation on different operating systems.

CONS

In some occasions it is necessary to have hardware that supports virtualization

Reason for choosing VirtualBox

The economic cost was higher, which does not allow all team members to use it

User Profile

Richard

Verified reviewer

Machinery, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Excellent alternative for virtual machines

I am somewhat experienced with VMWare Workstation, so I wasn't sure about switching to VirtualBox. Although it did require a little bit of getting used to, after learning the ropes I found that all of the features I knew and used were available to me, and for a significantly cheaper price.

PROS

One important distinction between VirtualBox and its more well-known counterpart, VMWare Workstation, is the noticeably lower price-tag on the former. VirtualBox does not share the almost absurd price of VMWare, yet possesses most, if not all, of the same features.

CONS

It is slightly less intuitive than VM Workstation, leading to a steeper learning curve for those who are less familiar with virtual machine programs. It's not severe, but it is worth mentioning.

Reasons for switching to VirtualBox

The price difference was undeniable and necessary

Carlos Hugo Martin

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Experience with VirtualBox

When it comes to software testing, this tool has served me to implement several virtual servers at the same time, being able to obtain the information and the desired behavior of the software.

PROS

The virtual machines created are perceived to be faster and lighter than in other products, and it is also easy to import them to other platforms.

CONS

Configurations such as the network or the transfer of files between the host and the virtual one is somewhat complicated.

Reason for choosing VirtualBox

Due to resource consumption and its ability to integrate with other virtualization tools.

Matjaz

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

VirtualBox review, QA and support usage

Very satisfied.

PROS

It is free for personal use. It just works. I used it years ago also in the University and also for testing projects in the office. I like it also because it works on Windows, Linux and Mac.

CONS

The format can be problematic, in case you want to run some VMs from other vendors.

Reason for choosing VirtualBox

No alternatives, since VirtualBox was the leader compared to price/performance with other VM tools.

Aman

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

One of the best Virtualization tool

PROS

Ease of deploying VM's with multi platform capability.

CONS

You do want to look at VMware since it does have better control over memory and CPU utilization.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

VirtualBox review

I am satisfied with VirtualBox, as it has proven itself more than reliable, especially during the long sessions of troubleshooting on my Virtual Machine.

PROS

Sometimes I tend to use VirtualBox for my Lab in order to replicate some issue reported by the Customer or to check certain settings in the Software which I support, because VirtualBox has proven itself as good and reliable in this field.

CONS

I don't like the amount of space which normal lab requires for daily use, especially because I need sometimes to switch between a couple of Virtual Machines on my company's laptop, which lacks disc space.

Reasons for switching to VirtualBox

I was using VMware Workstation for some of my own projects, but after I started using VirtualBox on work, I completely switched to that Software instead.

Dominic

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Great tool for running additional environments on your workstation

Nice free virtual machine tool to keep my primary workstation from getting too "cluttered"

PROS

VB is a great little tool to spin up additional OS environments on my workstation. I use this for 2 reasons. First, to be able to spin up other operating systems to do cross-platform testing (Linux, Windows (multiple versions), ChromeOS, etc). Secondly, I use it to have separate environments for clients. We have a multitude of clients that each require different (or worse, sometimes the same) VPN tools, software, etc. When you try to install all these tools on your regular desktop, we were constantly running into conflicts (one client needed to be v5.1 to connect to the VPN and a different client needed v4.7). It just became too much clutter. So I started spinning up a different Windows (or Linux) environment for each client install their tools separately. It has worked wonders!

CONS

The only downside is related to the /way/ I use the software. Because I spin up different environments for each client, if I have to work with a couple clients simultaneously (not often, but it happens), it can be incredibly slow because my workstations resources now have to be split 2, 3 or 4 ways (each envirnment usually gets 1/3 of my RAM allocated). Running 1 at a time is perfectly fine. Running 2 is usually OK, but once I hit 3, I've pretty much maxed out my host and it can be slow. That being said, I could accommodate for that by simply installing more RAM or allocating less to each.

User Profile

Libio

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Excelente para probar programas nuevos y diferentes sistemas

To test operating systems. To use software that is not available in our operating system. Create and simulate a network of servers.

PROS

It allows me to test different programs without altering my operating system. I can create multiple servers to simulate different networks and test the operation of a server before putting it into operation. I can enter with different programs without altering my operating system. can be installed in any operating system and be able to use all programs, either private or free, since you have no restrictions for use. VirtualBox supports the virtualization of the following operating systems: Microsoft Windows GNU / Linux Mac OS X OS / 2 Warp Solaris / OpenSolaris FreeBSD MS-DOS Android etc.

CONS

You need a powerful computer. We have to take into account that if we use 2 operating systems simultaneously we are using twice as many resources. Operating systems and programs will run slower in virtual machines. This is because the virtual machines can not get an ideal performance of the hardware that we have in our team. The more powerful our computer is, the loss of performance will be noticed. If we have a problem with the computer hosting the host operating system, the service may fall on the entire virtual machine. Therefore the computer that runs the virtual machine is a critical part.

User Profile

Marianela

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Advantages of VirtualBox to have heterogeneous platforms running on a single computer.

The virtual machine is a fast, convenient, and secure method of running software that we normally can't use on our native operating system. It really shows its value in professional client-level applications, this makes it an invaluable tool when trying to support more than one operating system simultaneously. In addition, VirtualBox is constantly making updates to its code, which improve performance and increase existing features.

PROS

One of the greatest advantages of using a virtual machine like VirtualBox is being able to have software that is in charge of emulating certain hardware, taking advantage of the real resources of our computer and, on top of it, allowing us to install an operating system as if it were a real computer. The virtualized operating system works as if it were a main operating system, so all its functions and features are available from it.

CONS

VirtualBox makes the job easier when it comes to running applications that can only run on a specific operating system, the important thing is that we allocate adequate memory and storage resources to be able to have both VirtualBox and the primary operating system of the computer. After having considered this, we can have two environments, apparently heterogeneous, simultaneously without any problem.

John

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Easy to use Workstation Virtualization!

Considering the product is open source and free, it is easy to install on windows or linux clients and spin up test virtual machines in a few minutes. It also, allows for rapid testing and ever setting up of small networks to simulate a prodution server environement of a desktop machine if needed. Would highly recommend for programmers, sysadmin, or even home hobbyists that have a need to run multiple machines but do not have the hardware available to do so.

PROS

This has been my go to cross platform virtualization software for testing and development. It is easy to acquire and install. Supports a wide breadth of hosts (Linux, Windows and Macs) and Guest OSs( even dating back to DOS and Windows 3.1!) . It can even he run headless with a simple web interface and does not require dedicated hardware like ESX. Also, Apps can be run seamlessly within the host operating system.

CONS

Even though it is easy to use, I do not think it runs as thin as VMware. Also, to autostart machines requires third party hacks rather than a intergrated service within the product. Undestanding that Virtualbox is meant to be more of a client based virtualized product, it would still be nice to see the autostart of the guest machines baked into the product.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

VirtualBox- Review

With VirtualBox I am solving problems like tuff installing windows 10 on my computer which I don't know if its gonna turn well for me , I just simulate it and see how is my computer reacting on it , its like I am going around all hard and complicated installations and just installing it on easy way, that's also my main benefit.

PROS

What I like most about this software is his flexibility. You can choose it to simulate every computer software you like , from Windows (XP Vista, 7, 8, 10) to Linux and more. I would recommend it to every programmer or ethical hacker who is still learning about hacking, installation of all packages is really fast and easy. They are guiding you to every step and there is no chance you can make mistake. The simulations are very likely to original software which I found very amazing. Thank you VirtualBox!

CONS

What I least like about this software is that sometimes some simulations are very slow to install and use ,I don't know if its because of my computer or because VirtualBox system, its like I am having 25 FPS when I am on Linux Software, and internet can be very slow there, also In the beginning I couldn't find way to exit VirtualBox simulation, which I found very troubling.

User Profile

Aris

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Powerful Software that requires Powerful Users

Of course we have big margin of profit from services we provide to our customers. We are solving compatibility issues with legacy programs.

PROS

First and most of all, I like the fact that it's free because in our line of business we buy many apps and programs to support our customers and many programs are hard to own because of the cost. VirtualBox does all the work for free, leaving us able to get some profit. VirtualBox helps us with legacy software that cannot execute in newer OS, or software not compatible with Windows. So, we can provide our customers a middle solution to get updated with a newer OS and keep abandoned or unsupported old programs available and isolated from the main OS as well as isolated from the internet. In this way we keep our customers safe too, while the succeed in their job.

CONS

Some features require a little more knowledge or configuration to do in comparison to other paid software, but this is not a problem at all for advanced users.

User Profile

Mohammad Iqbal

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

good for virtualization

I often use Virtual Box to run Linux in parallel to windows for testing of applications and try out new operating systems or new versions.

PROS

It is easy to install and setup with a simplistic interface. It is available free of cost. It occupies less disk space for it self comparatively. It is lighter to consume less system resources and keeps system performance stable. It enables me to try, implement, evaluate and use other operating systems.

CONS

It lacks in features. It doesn't support virtualization of all operating systems. The performance of virtual machines seeks improvement.

User Profile

Luis Daniel

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE