User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(121)

121

4 stars

(37)

37

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(5)

5

  • Pros

  • "The software is very user friendly. It is so convenient to have all the information we need for our events in one program. "

  • "I love that the software is live so I can make changes on line in front of the customer, while on the phone with them and they can sit right away in front of their own screen. "

  • "Simple is genuinely better. The ability to create your own menu fast is a perk. Gather is an easy way to update your menus"

  • Cons

  • "Once in a while it is slow to respond - but customer support is always available for any questions and fixes problem instantly."

  • "The only issue I have at the moment is that the mobile app is not as easy to work on the go. I do love having the mobile app, but I wish it was easier to send and edit the email templates."

  • "There are some functionality issues that were not ideal, compared to other software in the same category. Not as customizable - but great for the average user. "

Browse Gather Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -7 of 43 results

December 2017

Robin from In Good Spirits - The Gladly and Citizen Public House

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Wow! This was a lifesaver.

TIME! I have recommended this product to at least 4 companies and I know two have signed up. The benefit I get is that my guests can see their proposal in real time and it's speedy so contracts can get signed quickly.

Pros

I love how user friendly this software is and how it is so easy to navigate. I like how we can generate a report with multiple pages at one time. The filtering options make it very convenient for me to review each of the restaurants at a single time.

Cons

It's a small thing...but when I am in a booking and I want to change some contact information on a booking contact, I have to go to another screen, which is fine, but I can't go right back to the booking I was working on. I have to find the booking again in the big list. BUT, everything else works so great for us.

July 2019

Kathryn from Ruth's Chris Uptown

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather is the ONLY program for me!

I am saving so much time using this software with clients. Half the time it used to take me to send contracts.

Pros

Gather is the best software to use for private dining, the ease of use is like no other! You can use it on the app, computer, tablet etc... it is very easy to develop files to save on the software and send contracts to clients. Once you train your staff their are very little questions that follow because of the ease of use with this product. Clients also love it because it leaves less back and forth with contracts and they can do everything they need from the form you send them. The software also works with your email and you're notified on the home screen and via our work email. They're constantly upgrading and using new integrations as well.

Cons

This is not a con because I don't know if this is possible, but if Gather could find a way to integrate with Open Table so contracts update to that software it would be amazing. I am not a computer programmer so I have no idea if that's possible, but really their are no cons with Gather.

February 2020

Anna from Etcetera Etcetera Restaurant

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Gather

It can do multiple things by partnering with other platforms/marketplace feature and it is a simpler process to create a BEO.

Pros

It has a marketplace feature which can create a profile for your restaurant and private space for other planners and clients to view your venue.

Cons

I can not put a time table where the menus are being created. There is no way to highlight the menus and make the font larger.

August 2017

Timothy from Zenith Vineyard

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2017

Extremely bad customer service, buggy software

Even though we gave them notice of cancellation after about 9 months they have twice charged our card for renewals which are not valid.

Pros

Generally the contract feature was fine. We liked executing contracts on line even though the contract tool did not have all of the client info required

Cons

Regarding our disappointment with Gather I would point to the following all of which I have reflected to your support people and none of which have been acted on: Your IOS app seems to be able to send messages to clients and it does seem to be able to send templates but not free-form messages. Yet it often leads the user to believe a message has been sent when it has not About 45 days ago new inquiries stopped showing up in your new messages list your support people insisted this was not a change but it was. It seems logical that new leads would be the most important new messages I asked you to make all the numbers and metrics on your Home page hyperlinked, but you have not. If I see I have two new leads I can click on that number and it takes me to the new leads. If I see I have one new contract signed, the numeral 1 is not hyperlinked and I have to search for the new signed contract. It is difficult or impossible to add a second client contact name but in the wedding business it is pretty normal to have at least two client counterparties. Yes I know about the onsite contact but that is not a default email recipient. Look at the confusion that appears in some proposals. Your proposals are not properly itemized and clients do not seem to notice that I have attached a BEO which is not a term I could define for you. Look at both xxx and xxx as examples of proposals where they thought we got the price wrong but they dont see the security deposit because it is not itemized in the proposal. It is completely ridiculous that the client could sign an e-contract without being forced to enter and validate their address, phone, full and correct name, etc. Our normal course is we get a contract signed and then we chase down the additional information required to actually have a contract with the Zenith Additional Information form. This is cumbersome and probably not legally defensible. I want the client to execute the contract having filled in and validated their complete contact info

May 2019

Jenny from Ramble Creek Events, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Indispensable Program!

The customer service team is always very efficient and timely as well as friendly. We couldn't run our business without Gather. Earlier in our development we considered other software geared toward events, but they seemed to specialize on only one aspect or two at a time. With Gather we can customize our menu making it so easy for our whole team to update a proposal at any given moment.

Pros

Our team loves how each client has his/her own customer portal. It is fairly easy to change any details at any time. It is also imperative for us to be able to send an approval request to each client at the time of solidifying details for an event. Really helps us to ensure our team can execute the event flawlessly.

Cons

We wish that Gather was able to track any changes made by one of our team members so that when a change occurs, we can know exactly who made it and why... Or that there was specific place for a team member to track changes in the portal. Also, we wish that there was a way to approve each specific section instead of just an over all proposal. Our clients are dealing with TONS of wedding details (not always through us) and they have a lot on their minds.

April 2019

Dan from Joey The Cat

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Excellent Software with a Few Frustrating Quirks

It has been an overall success at easily keeping our client focused. Instead of using many different software apps, booking, payment etc, it creates a single portal and eliminates many questions we were faced with prior to implementing. Sales tracking and other features are simple without the hassle of Salesforce integration.

Pros

The Event Portal feature. Each event having its own specialized url that allows the client to see everything in a very organized fashion makes the process of converting a quote to a sale much easier. The integration of credit card processing (we used Stripe) keeps the client from using other options (like Square) that would force them away from the portal.

Cons

Trying to keep you locked into their email ecosystem. The email integration is terrible. I wish they would support a Gmail integration. If I want to get my client to approve a proposal - they have to be emailed through their own email system that is not as user friendly and completely breaks the cohesiveness and intent of the software when I have two different email chains happening (which the client flips between without realizing). Make the event approval option available without having to email them please. In addition, they will charge you for leads from Yelp, even if they don't book! It is a very shady practice that needs to stop. Focus on good software, not making money off lead conversions from third party lead sites please.

July 2019

Kerianne from Rise and Shine Catering

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Very Happy Gather User

We have been using Gather for a few years now and it has definitely made our day-to-day much easier, more organized and allowed us to focus on more things to grow the business. Their customer service is very quick at responding and helpful in finding a solution to questions that have come up.

Pros

Gather has helped streamline our business by providing a fast and easy way to communicate with our clients in a clean professional format. We use the "Copy" feature very frequently as we have many repeat clients. The live update feature while we are on the phone with clients is very helpful and many clients comment how nice that is.

Cons

We wish we could customize the font size on the Chef BEO. We use the Chef BEO as orders in our kitchen and it would be beneficial for us to be able to make certain items stand out more. We find ourselves directing many clients to the "Print Summary" hyperlink on the Summary of Charges page. If there was a way for this button to stand out as the full breakdown/itemized invoice that would be very helpful.

May 2019

Esther from Pomeroy Recreation & Rehabilitation Center

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

Not a flexible software for our rental venue

It has taken quite a while to learn how to use it properly. Customer service has been friendly, but the product is the product and I don't think it's right for us.

Pros

It's awesome to have all the information centrally located and to be able to process payments through it. Different staff can log in to see if a room is already booked and that's handy.

Cons

We have numerous recurring renters and this software is not at all set up for that. If we have a basketball team that rents our gym twice a week year-round and their payment arrives monthly, we have to go into every single booking to mark it paid and then close it. This seems unnecessarily time-consuming. Also, the reporting is very limited for our needs. We are less interested in tracking the reasons people don't book with us than we are at having a report that allows us to reconcile with our Quickbooks. At the training our finance director received, she was told the report she wanted didn't exist - what about offering a create-your-own option?

May 2019

Joel from X Group Restaurants, Catering and Brewery

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Gather Works!

When looking for a new system a few years ago, we were looking for a program that would bring all aspects of our catering program together. We feel that each one of the updates that Gather has made have been useful .

Pros

For our catering company with multiple venues we love the ease of use for both us and our clients. We love how Gather seamlessly combines the booking process all the way through to the billing process.

Cons

We would love if the due dates had a notification option a lot like a calendar reminder.

May 2019

Alexis from BrewDog USA

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Love Using Gather

Pros

I love the fact that it is super easy to use, and very user friendly to teach out teams about it. The App has been so helpful, since we are a restaurant and event space our teams can see the details at the tap of their fingers. We also grew with three separate locations, so being able to use one system across all locations, and separate that out is amazing! Lastly, the customer service is amazing - our team will give me a call to check in and see what I am missing and what I can use more of. They are proactive in trying to find something that may be helpful for me! Amazing team.

Cons

I wish there was a bit more customizable aspects, but our Customer Service team takes all of our concerns into consideration.

July 2019

Melissa from 5Church Atlanta

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Overall Great!

Keeping organized with Gather is a breeze!

Pros

The ease of Gather is truly amazing! The report functions I use daily to see overall growth and what needs to be improved on. The calendar is able to be viewed on the app along with a desktop as well as edited on the go from a cell phone. All documents are easy to read for sales coordinators, chefs, as well as servers. Creating events is easy and tracking channels for marketing is a great way to keep updated on marketing campaigns. Also staying organized through Gather is great by creating tasks, not only for yourself, but interns or other sales coordinators. The messaging system is great for communication with other team members.

Cons

I would love to see the sales coordinator on the pop up portion of the calendar. Also, the messages changed into a drop down, however, when you are trying to scroll for some thing, clicking on every single individual message is time consuming and everything should be about saving time. The app is only for viewing and not able to do any editing, which does not save time. Sometimes there is slowness or some glitches, such as Gather cancelling the event or duplicating the event when creating.

July 2019

Gin from Mistral Restaurant & Bar

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Game changer

Great product! Theyre always adding new features. Great support team.

Pros

I love that the software is live so I can make changes on line in front of the customer, while on the phone with them and they can sit right away in front of their own screen.

Cons

Sometimes the issues with their servers slowing down can be bothersome, especially during the working hours.

January 2018

Caitlin from FLDWRK

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

A little complicated to use, but it's a powerful event management tool that your clients will love!

Pros

From the customer/client experience, it's wonderful. Great, professional design, easy to review contracts/policies, make payments, and correspond with questions. From the admin perspective, I like that it keeps me organized. There are so many moving parts to events and it's so nice to have everything organized in the calendar, have each event represented, and every event have it's own page to store details, connect with the client & staff, track & collect payments, create and send policies to review, request payments (can be custom or based on pre-set pricing menus), and store details for your team and/or the client (i.e. event floorplan, vendor info, etc). Gather's customer support has also been amazing! They always respond to questions in a timely manner and provide webinars on a consistent basis as well.

Cons

It's pretty complicated to use and takes quite a bit of training, which can make it hard to collaborate or inform part time staff or contractors on event details (or have them help with invoicing, scheduling, etc). There is also not an ability for clients to "sign" contracts, only approve proposals. For an industry that can be pretty litigious, I wish they emphasized their event policies a bit more.

May 2019

Wendy from Divani

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Progressive, adaptable & professional

I am delighted with this progressive, forward moving company.

Pros

The Event Portal is so easy use and customize. Clients are always impressed by the professional, easy to read format and the Gather support team is always on their A game!

Cons

I work mainly with the desktop version so if I had to say there was a con, itd be with the limitations of the mobile app.

July 2019

Danielle from Steak 48

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather use in the restaurant industry

Overall, Gather is modern and concise, and makes my job easier.

Pros

Gather is easy to navigate and user-friendly! It is aesthetically pleasing and organized, which is an event planner's dream! I love the way you can quickly view your monthly calendar to see what is tentative, open, or closed. This is especially useful when guests call in asking about availability. I recommend downloading the app to have your events at your fingertips no matter where you are!

Cons

I do not like the fact that you cannot "select multiple" when it comes to archiving leads. If my Event Manager and I get busy, it is time consuming to go back and archive each lead one by one that we no longer need to see. Especially because sometimes when you archive them, they still show up in your current leads. You have to go back in to "edit lead" and "save lead" in order for the archive to register. Also, sometimes when attaching documents, the screen goes green and freezes. You have to just click all over the screen in order to make it go away and finish your message.

July 2019

Jessica from Power Plant Live!

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Gather Software Review

Pros

Gather has made managing events effortless. The hardest part was the initial set up but after that the flow of information to both our external clients and internal team a breeze! This program is extremely user friendly and has features that allow the entire process from booking to execution very easy.

Cons

The main feature I would like to add is a automated notification when a contract has been updated along with the date of the last change.

October 2019

Michelle from Bottlecap Group

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Gather Is The Bridge in Which I Succeed With

Overall, the last 3 years I have solely used Gather to increase sales and execute events for my venues. Not only would I recommend Gather, I have had 2 acquaintances implement Gather for their banquet/catering needs.

Pros

This software is extremely user friendly and is the bridge of communication between myself, my clients, my chef, and my management teams across 4 different venues. Event with the largest events with the most details, I am able to communicate with Gather with every individual involved.

Cons

Not even necessarily as a con, I do however wish that there was a way to directly send a mass email to all clients in the database for marketing purposes.

September 2017

Chelsea from Donkey Catering

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Gather has allowed our team to see each our business as a whole with everything going on!

A central communication spot for our whole team, rather than searching through emails!

Pros

Gather is super easy for client's to understand, easy to get estimate approvals, and easy to collect payments. I really like that you can see timestamps of when clients have opened emails that we send through Gather, it lets us know they've at least reviewed the info so we can adjust when to send for a follow up. It is very easy to add and adjust menus and pricing.

Cons

Some items we would like to have control of for adjusting, such as how to tax and what menus are taxed, and how those menus can be classified, rather than calling support. We would also like documents uploaded to be available on bookings that were created before they were uploaded - currently you can only upload from the drop down list the documents that were uploaded at the time you created that specific booking, so not all the documents are there.

December 2017

Alexandra from State Park

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Simple yet advanced event planning software.

Having one place for all of the events to live.

Pros

Gather offers users the ability to easily organize a vast majority of events that otherwise can become overwhelming. Being able to process payments on Gather is the BEST feature. It promotes a feeling of professionalism for the guest.

Cons

It could be a bit more streamlined, it requires some clicking that to get to new pages that could be eliminated. To be honest I am not crazy about their new branding, the symbol does not translate for me to something that makes sense.

July 2019

Matthew from Scott's Seafood

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Gather 10/10

Pros

Gather is great for any event planner, whether its small scale or large scale. I love how easy it is to use, great functions and how it is still evolving and adding new features to help make event planning seem-less.

Cons

One day I hope it adds the feature for when booking leads to select multiple dates for the lead. That is my biggest gripe. Also I do have to send a lot of emails through my personal email, as sometimes sending them through gather, my prospective clients do not receive them.

May 2019

Terri from Hickory Metro Convention Center and Visitors Bureau

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Feedback Notes

With all our event information in one place, it has made our business run smoother on an everyday basis. When one of our staff members are out and we get a call from a client wanting to know if something has been done, we can go into Gather to read any notes that person may have added, see if contracts have been signed, pull up contact information, etc.

Pros

The software is very user friendly. It is so convenient to have all the information we need for our events in one program.

Cons

In contacts, it would be nice to have an area where we could mark "share" contact information or "do not share" contact information so I would know whether or not the client wants their information shared.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

I use Gather on a daily basis to track and plan events for mutiple locations

I can access multiple locations in one glance at my calendar .

Pros

Its very user friendly and easy to switch between locations so I can see each calendar at a glance. My team can easily access the documents fo reach event.

Cons

My initial email to clients often ends up in a spam folder. If I could change anything it would be how the email title read in my inbox. The way it comes through as notification.... is not the most user friendly

September 2017

Joanne from 10 Park Lanes

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

The Gather system is very easy to navigate and an asset during our busiest seasons.

Past present and future events all stored in one place. Can book events quickly and timely. Easily make changes and send out proposals to be approved.

Pros

Simplicity and informative. Events can be booked with ease and clarity. Gather is a must for our busiest seasons.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to obtain information for past events easily. Wish it also had reminders or alerts for events that we are awaiting responses for.

February 2016

David from Woodbelly Catering

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2016

Beautiful, Efficient Rising Star disrupts old guard, saves times

We tried Total Party Planner (trial) and Caterease (6 months) before finding Gather. I'm so glad we did. From the first interaction the sales and support staff have been professional, helpful and going above and beyond. All our data was uploaded over the Christmas holiday (2015) and we've been booking clients ever since. As one of our clients wrote "it's beautiful and effective at showing me exactly what matters." Everything is online, and even works from mobile devices. Team communication is seamless, and best of all I actually got my chef's using it because it's just like email. There is now a one-stop shop for everything related to events. For our small catering company justifying the expense was hard at first. Now, it's no question I save that much every month in time emailing clients and sorting through details. The BEST part: Gather is under active development. They just got funded big time and have been rapidly rolling out new features. I have no doubt they will be competitive with giants like Caterease in all categories very soon. And when they roll out a "required items" checklist or a menu costing/ordering interface you better believe it will be intuitive, functional and highly integrated. Right now (Feb 2016) Gather is primarily geared toward restaurants with rooms; however, we have had no trouble adapting it to our off-site catering business (we have a fleet of mobile wood-fired ovens). If you are a large hotel this may not be the best solution... yet, but just ask. They are incredibly responsive.

April 2018

Joanne from Montford Bowling Partners

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Have been using Gather for 3 years now and it saves time and is very easy to use.

Events can be booked fast and easy.

Pros

Easy to navigate and has all the tools needed to book events from reservations, catering and contracts/payments.

Cons

Once in a while it is slow to respond - but customer support is always available for any questions and fixes problem instantly.

December 2017

Charley from Fleming's Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Gather has definitely made my work 100% easier

Pros

Simple is genuinely better. The ability to create your own menu fast is a perk. Gather is an easy way to update your menus

Cons

When there's a "bug" and it takes a week to fix it. There was an incident that happened where I was unable to use my calendar for a moment. Although I was given an alternative way to work through it, it was a blessing when I was able to retrieve function.

December 2017

Jenny from Ballpark Village

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Gather has been by far the best software I've used for event planning.

It's helped me become more organized and I am able to work better with clients and co-workers.

Pros

Ease of use. Able to share instantly with co-workers. Easy for clients to access and understand. Also very easy for set up crew to read.

Cons

There are some minor glitches at times. If there are too many people on the same event, it's hard to update and changes may not save.

August 2018

Kat from AceBounce

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

It works

Overall it was a good experience and I got used to the different quirks that the system had

Pros

I used Gather for almost 2 years and the pros are that the system does allow for accurate notes to be recorded in the system. I liked the format of the banquet event order and it was easy for the operations team to read. They were constantly making updates to the system which added new items

Cons

You were not able to record the responses in your correspondence with clients which could cause issues. The company was constantly making updates to the system, but they would never let you know so things would disappear and you'd be confused for a day or 2 until you figured out what had changed/been updated

April 2018

Boston from MSTA

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Gather helps streamline event planning for business venues with valuable innovative software.

Pros

Makes life a lot easier. I can use it on my phone or at home. It makes tracking all of my spending go a lot smoother.

Cons

I wish it could track the frequency we see guests. It'd be best to be able to do this all in one try rather than creating different events for our guests.

January 2018

Laura from Cunningham Restaurant Group

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

I use this daily for event planning. I run the private dining room in my restaurant. I use often.

Time saving and keeps all event information in one place.

Pros

Ease of booking. Tracking every aspect of the event. Uploading and saving menus/ credit cards etc saves me time.

Cons

The app is not able to book events. You can only view the events. You are not able to edit on the app.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great for Large Scale Multi-City Operations

Pros

- Can be used across multiple cities -Great tracking for payments - Contract signatures handled via email

Cons

-Reporting could be easier to manipulate - Customer service response is slow -"Chat" box that always show on login is annoying

August 2017

Josh from Taborspace

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

After 2.5 months of working with Gather

Gather is a program with a great deal of potential, but lacking terribly in the follow-through at this time. While I was sending numerous emails asking to be granted permission to view reports on transaction fees and getting no response, they released a new logo and website design. And then when I asked them to enter recurring calendar event data on their event, which they had promised to do before we purchased the program, they responded by saying they won't do this for us any longer and we'll need to enter everything manually from here on out. At this time, it appears they're busying themselves with esthetics and letting consistency, agreements, and customer-care fall by the wayside.

Pros

The ease of scheduling and incorporation of invoicing is really wonderful. Also, the first month of customer service is superb.

Cons

The inquiry/"lead" forms are not customizable, the customer service drops off dramatically after a month of partnership, we primarily work with recurring events and they do not have any accommodating features for this. So, we worked out an agreement of sending in the data so they would enter it and decided to purchase the program, after a month and a half we were told they would no longer honor this agreement with us, without any warning or consideration. I also repeatedly requested access to financial reports regarding transaction fees and was dropped from conversation twice until I sent an email to a number of different departments and department heads, after which is was taken care of immediately.

February 2017

Chad from The Pit Authentic Barbecue - Durham

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Daily Gather User

Gather has been a nice change for our business after switching over from a competitor. It has made communication easier for our team for both front and back of house when handling BEOs, which is a sizable part of our business for a traditional restaurant.

Pros

Much more user friendly than alternatives.

Cons

Slightly less powerful than other systems I've used.

July 2019

Angie from Harold's Restaurant Bar and Terrace

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great Service

Pros

I like that we can put in as much detail as we need.

Cons

There is anything really that i don't like.

October 2019

Leila from Premier Marketing & Events

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Awesome app!

I love it! As an event coordinator this app has made it so much easier for me to send proposals, BEOs and deposit forms. Everything all in one and really easy to use as well!

Pros

I wish I discovered this app before! The ease of use and booking of events have made it so much easier with the templates! The financial statements are so clear so theres no confusion for the venue and the client as well!

Cons

The pricing is on the higher end but I think its well worth the cost! Hopefully they wont raise the price!

December 2018

Nickia from John Ed's Cafe & Catering

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Gather event planning is great

Pros

This is a basic system making it easy to use.Gather allows me to communicate with my client with ease. I love the email communication feature, I don't have to try and remember correspondences they are right at my fingertips

Cons

Gather really needs a feature that would allow for tracking our return customers. Also response time from customer service, sometimes and immediate response is needed.

August 2019

Kristi from CC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Very helpful

Love having all our information in one place!

Pros

That everyone can see our events and update from one source.

Cons

Our calendar does not show up in the mobile app forcing us to open our laptops to add/view events.

May 2018

Michelle from Preserve

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

We are a small restaurant that uses Gather to manage our special event business.

Pros

Gather is a great way to get organized with your event business. By far, the most helpful feature is the internal messaging. Truly an awesome way to keep everyone on task.

Cons

The entire system is very user friendly. However, I do wish there was a different way to configure the calendar. Like a three month snapshot.

May 2018

Lauren from ozarktech

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

good

Pros

The customer service is great and willing to help when there is a problem with the software and helps understand.

Cons

It isn't the easiest to use and when you try to book parties there is no place for the client to sign the agreement.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2018

Overpriced and lacking

Pros

Overall, the UI is clean and easy to use. We can train our employees relatively quickly when they are first hired.

Cons

It is way overpriced. For what you pay, there are other platforms out there that have more functionality and you can still operate your business well.

July 2019

Heather from DrDz

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Event Management Ease

Pros

Gather makes it simple to keep track of customers & manage events. While most people use it for catering and other such events, we have been able to utilize it for shows we attend and host. Each customer has their own portal, information is easy to access and the interface is user friendly. Best of all, I can easily keep my team updated.

Cons

Nothing is a con for us. It works well for what we need.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Made my proposals exceptionally better than before we had Gather

Staying organized in the catering world.

Pros

Business just getting into catering so this was tried out. Everything was live across the entire booking so we could see it in real time. Mobile app was very useful when away from computer.

Cons

Disliked email situation. Was not user friendly and didn't support our gmail we used.

September 2018

Samantha

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


September 2018