IDEXX Neo Software


IDEXX Neo is a cloud-based veterinary practice management suite used by animal hospitals and veterinary clinics. Key features include appointment management, invoice creation and payment processing.

Users can define custom tasks and assign duties to employees on an activity dashboard. The dashboard can be configured for individual employees and can display task details, due dates and more.

IDEXX Neo enables users to customize forms and certificates using company logos and branded letterheads. Clinicians can use pre-defined procedure templates to store pet details, owners’ credit card information and previous medical records.

IDEXX Neo provides a learning manual and help desk chat. Additional online training and phone support are also available for purchase. IDEXX Neo offers a free trial and is available on a per month subscription basis.



50 Reviews of IDEXX Neo

Overall rating

4.10 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 50 reviews

January 2019

Brian from Mobile Vet to Pet Veterinary Service

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Super Easy and extensive functionality

Easy training, cloud based record keeping, secure files, remote access, and easy administration have made this a great practice software for our business model.

Pros

The learning curve for this software is very low. The interface is extremely intuitive and creating customized forms is fairly straightforward if you have a basic understanding of HTML

Cons

Inventory is lacking. Specifically, an interface with the major distributors to allow importation of ordered product or a simple barcode interface would greatly improve this deficiency.

More compatibility with Apps. It seems most of the Apps out there have no connectivity with Neo. Our app with Vet2Pet does not currently interface though I understand this may change in the near future - Please.

January 2019

Megan from North Hoffman Vet Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

January 2019

Easy to use

Overall this has worked well for our small general practice. Not sure how well it would be for large practices. Though Neo is always doing upgrades. So I’m sure in time they will get to where they need to be.

Pros

Ease of use and cloud based are the major pros

Cons

There is no high and low end for estimates, seems like checking clients out takes a lot of clicking.

January 2019

Brad from Hillside Animal Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Good product, still needs development

I like it. It is the easiest of all cloud bases softwares I have seen

Pros

Good customer support, very intuitive, easy to learn/use

Cons

How is it that after 2 yrs of use we still can't get ranges for estimates???? We still have to use our old software for estimates so we can have ranges.
I'm not a computer genius, but if we don't know how long/complicated a surgery is, we can't estimate $500 for surgery - we estimate $400-$600.
How is it we are not able to put a range in??? I suspect you as a company do not understand how important this is to us as a business.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied January 2019

Hi Brad, thanks for the props about support and ease of use. We hear you loud and clear on the need for ranges for estimates: that feature should be available by spring of 2019!

January 2019

Matthew from Crossroads Mobile Veterinary Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Great Product

Pros

Very user friendly. Constantly updated and always improving.

Cons

Offline use could use work, constant internet access needed

January 2019

Dave from Companion Animal Hospital of Lewisburg TN

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Great choice for an affordable price.

Our overall experience has been 9 out of 10. We are very happy with our move from Avimark (big, costly, server-based) to web-based Neo. Once they delivered boarding, we didn't have to have any other applications to manage our hospital. I do wish that other third party application providers were integrating more things with Neo. But I guess that will come as the client base grows.

Pros

The ease of use for our team was the most important. There isn't anything that isn't covered in the "HELP ME" section. You can read the instructions, or you can allow the system to walk you through doing the task. It's very easy to learn and with regular updates the system continues to get better and better. Also, you can't say enough about support. I have been in IT for years. This is the best support team I've ever worked with online. They are friendly, knowledgeable and quick to respond.

Cons

I'd like to see it be a bit more flexible for the client. There are some things I think should be moved to company settings. I don't like that it doesn't handle tax exempt clients, i.e. Rescues and Non-Profits. The reporting could be better, but I understand they are working on reporting now.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied January 2019

Hi Dave, great to hear that your team is finding Neo so easy to use and learn. And thank you for the feedback on improvements. Expect to see a steady stream of new reporting features in 2019, as well as more third-party app integrations.

January 2019

Danielle from South Lafourche Veterinary Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Easy to use and great customer service

Again, having two practices, using NEO has made life easier on management. Support is always available and usually figures out the problem you are having.

Pros

Cloud based software makes it easy to use on the go when managing multiple clinics. NEO is always adding new and updated features based off of client recommendations. Works very well with other Idexx equipment. Love the template and form options! Makes it so nice to have easily accessible printable forms at everyone's fingertips. Support chat is amazing!

Cons

Just like with any internet based software there are times NEO is unavailable. Hadn't happened often but when it does, it is rough for the moment it is down. Would like to be able to run my own custom reports. Also would love to have reminders deleted automatically when the line item has been deleted. Only other thing would be that when pets that have been marked inactive or deceased it doesn't remove any future appointments.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied January 2019

Hi Danielle, great to hear that the steady pace of new features is helping you and your team, and thank you for your suggestions for more!

January 2019

Melody from Folsom Village Veterinary Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

New Neo User

Pros

I love that this software is accessible anywhere. I also really like the ease of use and the ability to be truly paper free

Cons

There are some small features that I would like adjusted. The ability to set a default doctor would be nice

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied January 2019

Hi Melody, our goal is to make Neo brilliantly simple to learn and use, glad to hear we are hitting the mark with your team. Thank you for the feedback on where we can improve!

January 2019

Samantha from Optimum Veterinarian Medical Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2019

Ease of use

Pros

Its very easy to use and navigate. Provides great help for beginner users.

Cons

It can have a few glitches every now and again.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied January 2019

Welcome to the Neo user family Samantha! Our goal is to make Neo brilliantly simple to learn and use, glad to hear we are hitting the mark with your team. Thank you for the feedback on where we can improve

November 2018

Adrienne from CROSSVILLE VETERINARY HOSPITAL

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2018

Cloud Based Veterinary Software

Pros

System is very easy to implement. The transfer of data from our old system went very smoothly. Walk through and on demand tutorials are very helpful.

Cons

You are unable to enter high/low on estimates. Unable to email full records without saving elsewhere

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Hi Adrienne, thanks for the feedback that Neo is easy to implement and that the data transfer went smoothly. We put a lot of effort into making it easy to get up and running, and easy to learn as you go. And we hear you loud and clear on the value of being able to enter high/low on estimates: it is one of the first features we will deliver in 2019!

November 2018

Molly from Chicago Dr Vet Clinic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

Quite helpful

Works great and very user friendly.

Pros

User friendly. Very helpful with staff each day

Cons

Nothing I can truly think of. Takes a while to load at times.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Hi Dr. Wiersema, thanks for the compliments about Neo, glad to hear that it is helping your staff every day. Regarding load times, we do proactively monitor performance and use that information to target areas needing improvement. But please reach out to support if you are noticing areas that are slow for you. Thanks for the feedback!

October 2018

miranda from South lafourch vet clinic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2018

Great system

Pros

I love the fact that you can check on a patient from anywhere!

Cons

The scheduling aspect took some time to get used to but with the new updates it's great!

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Thanks for the props Miranda, great to hear the ability to check patient status anywhere is helpful and that the updates to the scheduler are a hit!

October 2018

Candice from Acadian Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2018

We love Neo!

We have been using IDEXX Neo for about two and a half years and are overall very pleased with the product. The transition from our previous POS system was close to seamless and haven't experienced any major issues since switching.

Pros

There are several things that I love about IDEXX Neo. First, the ease of use with integrated training is great. We no longer have to pay for updated training. Second, the customer service is amazing. As the person in charge of calling when things go wrong it is very much appreciated to talk to helpful/nice customer support. Third, the continued improvement and growth is so nice. They are very open to receiving suggestions from clinics that use the software on a daily basis.

Cons

There are some things that Neo isn't capable of doing yet but the pros far outweigh these. A few of those things include automated callbacks, expired items report, integrated credit card processing and integrated time clock.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Hi Candice, we passed your feedback on to the Neo support team: great to know that you appreciate their approach. Love your suggestions for improvements, and we think you will be pleased to hear that they're on the product roadmap for 2019!

October 2018

Heather from Veterinary

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2018

Easy to use

Neo allows us to easaily track patient records. Add outside files and upload consent forms. It allows us to keep everything in one simple area so things do not get lost. It allows to quickly print things clients need ex vaccine certificates and tracks vaccines history and prevention bought.

Pros

Neo is very easy to use. They have it set up to where anyone with simple instructions can navigate Neo and know what they are doing. If they need help there is a walk through option on the main screen. Tech support is quick and efficient when a problem does arrive. Neo is always making update to fit with growing needs.

Cons

Sometimes it is almost too simple. Reminders do not account for when multiple doses of prevention are bought. Wish there was a way to quickly print all invoices from a patient without doctors notes attached. As well as a way to easily e mail the entire pt record at one time through Neo.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

HI Heather, great to hear that Neo is easy for your team to learn and that you are getting help promptly when you need it. Same goes for knowing the frequent updates fit with your practice needs. We also really appreciate your suggestions about future ways we could improve Neo!

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2018

Idexx Neo

Very easy to use. I like how it has a help window where you can rather quickly find a solution to your problem.

Pros

How easy it was to learn how to use, and how helpful customer support is.

Cons

Consultations don't automatically save after a certain amount of time.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Thanks for the feedback, glad you¿re liking how easy Neo is to use! We also appreciate the note about consultations: we have actually just updated the Consultations tab so you can see a list of recent consultations, with filters to let you check status, prevent missed charges, and ensure your consultations are complete. Please check it out and let us know what you think.

August 2018

Laura from Bryson City Veterinary Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2018

Neo user for 2 years

Pros

Affordable. They are constantly making improvements and evolving the product. Cloud based software allow remote access. Unlimited terminal/users login at a time.

Cons

There are many kinks to work out. Inventory management isn't quite up to par yet, and there are often many steps/ clicks to execute transactions. Reporting needs improving.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Thanks for your feedback Laura, our goal is to make Neo the easiest software to set up and use, and it is essential for us to know where we are hitting the mark and where we need to improve. We hear you loud and clear on inventory management, and just last week released solutions to improve that, please let us know how those are working for you. And improving reporting is on our roadmap for 2019!

August 2018

Ramy from SKYLINE Animal Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

Excellent Veterinary Practice Software

Pros

We were able to customize it to best fit our practice needs. Developers keep adding great features. Enhancements are real and prompt. Sales team is very supportive and are always there for you when help is needed.

Cons

Enhancements used to take a long time to be applied, but that totally change over the past few months. They now are real and prompt.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Hi Ramy, great to hear you have been able to tailor Neo to meet your needs, and that the accelerated pace of updates is having a positive impact on your practice. We will pass on your compliments to the sales team: their commitment is second to none.

August 2018

Lori from Mule Town Veterinary Hospital, Creedmoor, NC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

Intuitive and easy to set up and use.

Overall, I am really pleased with Neo. There are constant updates, some of which I did not realize were problems. New features are always being added. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

Neo was the easiest software program to set up and use that I reviewed. Just about everything is fairly intuitive and does not require a degree in programming to use. The files for your patients are as close to paper based as I have seen. You can easily adapt it to your practice and it integrates well with the reference lab. Working from anywhere with this cloud based system is also a lovely feature The customer service is great--you actually get to know all the staff and they remember you when you call. The boarding schedule is a great new feature that I set up in minutes for my specific kennel situation. I own a small, single doctor practice and do not regret choosing Neo as my PMS.

Cons

The few things that Neo is not capable of (yet):
Creating automatic call backs for appointments.
Integrated payment--although I think that this is in the works.

There are also instances where if a staff member marks a file ready to be paid, another person working on the file at the same time cannot save the information without backing out and going back into the file. I have lost a few files with this. It now warns you that someone else has it open.

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Thanks for the praise and the suggestions Dr. Scappino. Our goal is to make Neo the easiest software to set up and use, and that objective guides every improvement and new feature we add. Awesome to hear that we are hitting that mark with you and your team, and that we are solving problems you did not know you had! You noted you would like to see automatic call backs and integrated payments in Neo: both of those are on our product roadmap. Watch for more information about them.

August 2018

Rachel from Wills Point Veterinary Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

1 year of Neo use

Pros

Ease of use
Customer support is great (online chat)
Don’t pay extra for phone calls. They answer online chat immediately.

Cons

No major negatives noted yet (in one year of use)

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Hi Dr. Turner, thanks for the feedback. Great to hear Neo is a good fit for your practice; we will keep working hard to provide an experience that exceeds your expectation.

August 2018

BRIAN from Veterinary

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2018

Continuing to evolve

average at first. we have worked it into our practice and theres no turning back now. We'll evolve as Neo evolves. although this wasnt the way it was supposed to be we have embraced NEO and are maximizing its potential

Pros

no server, cloud based is a no brainer. works pretty seemlessly with IDEXX lab diagnostics.

Cons

i think that it was over sold. the ceiling for this software is very high but they're not quite there yet. it's true that it evolves with regularity BUT each evolution/update ends up causing just as many snafu's as it solves. could have better production analytics and better inventory management

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Thanks for embracing Neo Dr. Berger, and for your comment about its evolution. Feedback like yours has been instrumental in accelerating the pace of improvements and prioritizing our roadmap. Speaking of which, last week we released solutions to improve inventory management, let us know how those are working for you and if you experience any side effects. The quicker we hear about those, the quicker we can solve them.

August 2018

Kelly from Blue Ridge Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

IDEXX Neo

Overall Neo has been a good fit for our practice, they are constantly updating the software and solving problems.

Pros

Affordable, easy to learn and use, cloud-based, integrates well with IDEXX BW machines and radiographs, easy to attach files

Cons

Doesn't integrate with other programs, even other IDEXX products, difficult use for hospitalized patients, charges for patient are not automatically sorted into different categories (like prescriptions, diets, etc)

Response from IDEXX Neo of IDEXX

Replied November 2018

Kelly, thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We hear you on the importance of integration, and it is a top area of focus for our product roadmap. Case in point: we just introduced seamless integration with the Smart Flow Workflow Optimization System (which should help with hospitalized patients), and we will offer a fully integrated credit card payment solution in early 2019.