What are IDEXX Neo users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using IDEXX Neo software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.17

103 Reviews

5
45
4
40
3
7
2
5
1
4
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Its very easy to use and navigate. Provides great help for beginner users."
  • icon"The default invoices are pretty. The e-mail reminders seem to run fine and the lab work is integrated to where it tells the lab station to run a test and records the result afterwards."
  • icon"The NEO team is very responsive to user feedback and frequently makes enhancements and upgrades to the software that make it better and better."
  • icon"I have lost a few files with this. It now warns you that someone else has it open."
  • icon"Poor estimate capabilities. Updates interfere with current processes, forms, etc."
  • icon"Different batches of medications cannot currently be tracked separately. Invoices closed out on one doctor by mistake cannot be easily switched - payment must be deleted and re-entered."

Jump to:

Browse all IDEXX Neo Reviews

  • Have you used IDEXX Neo and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 101 reviews

User Profile

Dave

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Great choice for an affordable price.

Our overall experience has been 9 out of 10. We are very happy with our move from Avimark (big, costly, server-based) to web-based Neo. Once they delivered boarding, we didn't have to have any other applications to manage our hospital. I do wish that other third party application providers were integrating more things with Neo. But I guess that will come as the client base grows.

Pros

The ease of use for our team was the most important. There isn't anything that isn't covered in the "HELP ME" section. You can read the instructions, or you can allow the system to walk you through doing the task. It's very easy to learn and with regular updates the system continues to get better and better. Also, you can't say enough about support. I have been in IT for years. This is the best support team I've ever worked with online. They are friendly, knowledgeable and quick to respond.

Cons

I'd like to see it be a bit more flexible for the client. There are some things I think should be moved to company settings. I don't like that it doesn't handle tax exempt clients, i.e. Rescues and Non-Profits. The reporting could be better, but I understand they are working on reporting now.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Dave, great to hear that your team is finding Neo so easy to use and learn. And thank you for the feedback on improvements. Expect to see a steady stream of new reporting features in 2019, as well as more third-party app integrations.

Replied January 2019

Deborah

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Neo engineers are always listening to us

Love the cloud base system, I don't have to stay late doing records. Plus, if someone runs into me at the store and can pull it up to put them on the appt schedule and know that I am not over booked.

Pros

The software gurus listen to the user's needs and are constantly updating features to improve and add functions

Cons

Newer product and they are still working to make it a perfect product

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

Cloud based system they were actively improving to be better then cornerstone

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

It was not cloud based, they wanted a transfer fee, update fee, when I bought the clinic - so, I spent that money on a new cloud based system.

Response from IDEXX

Hi Deborah, Neo wouldn't be where it is today without feedback from users like you! Thank you for your suggestions, and for recommending Neo to others!

Replied November 2021

Harmandeep

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Easy to use but lacking many features

Pros

Idexx Neo is very easy to use and staff can learn to use it very quickly. Support is usually quick to solve issues/problems.

Cons

We have had idexx neo for about 3 years. I believe neo is good for a small practice or a new practice, not for a large or busy practices. There are really minimal integrations with 3rd party vendors. The reminder system leaves a lot to be desired. The inventory management is designed very poorly and reports at all levels is lacking. The controlled drug reporting is not designed well and NEO does not generate any cures reports (for states like California that require controlled drug reporting). When we initially signed up for NEO I was informed that CURES reporting was built in but it is not the case. I have been asking support about implementing this for years but have not gotten anywhere.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Wanted to go cloud based

John

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Optimistic when I purchased it but disappointed in development

I bought into Neo when it was starting out. I expected some growing pains and in a few years it became a useful piece of software. Now, development has come to a virtual standstill. Releases are months apart and include one of two items: minor fixes (that sometimes introduce new bugs) and money-making opportunities for Idexx through integrations. The long-awaited reporting functionality is vaporware.

Pros

It is easy to teach people to use. The default invoices are pretty. The e-mail reminders seem to run fine and the lab work is integrated to where it tells the lab station to run a test and records the result afterwards.

Cons

There is no customization of reports. The reports that do exist are oddly named and often do not have what you need. Workflow is totally absent. Everything requires many clicks, and the best way to work is usually to have many browser tabs open so that you can access everything you need. Improvements are few and far between even as pricing is increasing.

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

Pricing, ease of use, and the promise of improvement of the product.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

I wanted cloud-based software so I could write notes at home, and the previous software crashed too often and was difficult to use.

Response from IDEXX

Hi John, thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We devoted the most recent Neo monthly webinar to reports, and we will make sure a recording of that gets to you; let us know if that helps address some of your concerns. We know our customers depend on us to continuously improve Neo so it anticipates their needs, which is why we've kept up our schedule of bi-weekly enhancement releases, and created an easy-to-use enhancement request portal.

Replied September 2021

Jennifer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Needs work

While I am happy there have been improvements, I feel like we were misled about the capabilities of Neo and real concerns have been brushed off. Accounting has been a nightmare, and we spend a lot of time having to print and fax or individually download several parts of a record to e-mail to regular veterinarians which defeats the point of being paper light, nor is it a time savings.

Pros

The cloud based software is user friendly and convenient. Buttons are easily found, and software has a very up to date appearance. Integrates well with Smartflow and Vet Cove. Easy to update inventory. Integrated credit card processing at reasonable rates. Can easily e-mail consultations, receipts and forms to owners.

Cons

Every part of the accounting needs work. It's impossible to accurately track A/R as payments are applied back to invoice dates and not the day they are actually paid. Financial tab is confusing as invoices are automatically generated for prepayments and not just a receipt. Records can not be e-mailed directly to veterinarians, and third party access does not allow them to access Smartflow sheets. Can have glitches

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We wanted an updated, cloud based program.

Cyndi

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Excellent, adaptable & easy to use

Neo has so many tools that I'm still discovering, such as appointment type breakdowns to see where/how your revenue is generated, so one can then target those areas or emphasize others moving forward. Many other features and tools available.

Pros

For starters, the developers of this software continually seek, AND RESPOND, to user input, creating a continually adapting product that never goes out of date. 'Cloud-based' has rocked our world, allowing accessibility from any device with internet connectivity. So convenient.

Cons

Integration with old software (Intravet)was successful for the most part...all the info is there, just formatted differently. I'd expect this to be an issue with integration from any software, however.

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

Price, functionality, subscription-based (continuous free upgrades)

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

I was tired of waiting for the promised updates, and furthermore didn't wish to invest several thousand to keep the software functional. Also wanted a cloud-based platform for ease of use (no longer had to drive to the clinic to retrieve info or perform call-back, appointment reminder calls, etc.)

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Cyndi, you hit the nail on the head: feedback from users like you is exactly what makes Neo excellent, adaptable and easy to use. We're so glad you chose Neo for Five Valleys, and that you recommend it so highly to others. Thank you!

Replied January 2021

Noah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

High expectations...poor delivery

The time involved from checking clients in to check out is almost double what we had with an older outdated system. Hard to believe this is "the future". All of the staff are frustrated after having this system 9 months. They are begging me (management) to return to our outdated system.

Pros

cloud based system affordable comparitively

Cons

poor estimate capabilities updates interfere with current processes, forms, etc. multiple windows to click through (lost time/efficiency) weak customer service (always say they are considering updating "whatever issue you have"

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

contract negotiations and good sales team

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Hoping to increase efficiency and remedy issues with previous software.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Noah, thanks for the feedback and the opportunity to work with you and the team at Asheville to make sure Neo meets your needs. Incidentally, the enhancement requests our support team logs have led to 46 value-packed releases in the last eight months alone, several of which address items you cite, including estimates. It also sounds as if there are opportunities to streamline some of your workflows. Definitely check out the built-in, task-specific training for tips on doing this, and don't hesitate to contact our customer success team for coaching (it's available at no extra charge). We are always open to your thoughts on how we can make things better.

Replied September 2019

Tracie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Neo Experience

Pros

The office uses IDEXX for both reference and in-house labs, so the integration with Neo is fantastic. We also signed up for WebPacs so our imaging would be integrated. The PMS is very user friendly.

Cons

We would love to see a minimum dispense fee comparable Cornerstone's minimum dispense fee functionality.

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

Recommendation for [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] from Furry Friends Mobile Vet.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

NaVetor was too new and not user friendly enough for the volume at our office. Prior to using a cloud base PMS, I use Cornerstone at my previous practice but wanted cloud base over onsite server.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Tracie, thank you very much for recommending Neo to other practitioners, and for letting us know who recommended it to you! Great to hear that our integration with IDEXX diagnostics is fantastic, and that you find Neo easy to use.

Replied October 2020

Jessica

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

It is constantly improving

Pros

-Easy to transfer and set up, Idexx did most of the work for us -Great Service -Bundled with our other Idexx services -Great for remote logins -New Improvements, and updates constantly -Cloud printing -Customizable to your needs

Cons

-Not ready for hand held devices yet -Reports take some time to get use to -Not an easy way to track, Billed vs Payments -No quick way to itemized invoices when doing statments

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We had a hard time getting access to the program from other computers inside the building and had no access outside building.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Jessica, thank you for recommending that other veterinary professionals check out Neo! Really appreciate your feedback on how easy it was to get up and running, our service and the ability to access it anywhere. You mention constant updates: great feedback like yours ensures we deliver exactly what our users are looking for. Improvements to Neo's A/R capabilities are in the pipeline, please let us know how you like them!

Replied May 2020

Tanner

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Neo has helped streamline multi-location veterinary practice

Neo keeps coming out with improvements and taking feedback from users to make it better. Neo has made our clinics more efficient and puts all our information in one place.

Pros

The ease of access from any location allows for doctors to work on notes from home, access accounts when on-call for emergencies, or out on the farm for large animals. The reports are very helpful for managing the business.

Cons

Prescribing medications can be tedious at times, but once prescribed, medications are easy to track.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Multi-clinics was challenging with a server product so we changed to cloud-based system.

Response from IDEXX

Hi Dr. Miller, thank you for your feedback and for wholeheartedly recommending Neo to other multi-location veterinary practices! Great to hear that the frequent updates are making your clinics more efficient--please keep the suggestions coming!

Replied November 2021

Brandy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Neo Review

Pros

Customer service is great. They are good about taking enhancement requests and improving the software. It’s fairly easy to use. We use IDEXX reference labs and all of our lab reports get automatically saved to the patient’s file.

Cons

Some of the reports are lacking. Inventory reports/records could use some improvement. There are a few other things, but I foresee IDEXX Neo making the necessary changes.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We were an expanding clinic and needed a software program that would grow with us.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Brandy, we'll pass on your compliments to customer support: they love what they do, and that includes getting feedback on ways we can make Neo even better. Great to hear how you're benefiting from Neo's seamless diagnostic integration. Check out our new reporting dashboard and let us know what you think--and get ready for some inventory improvements that will save you time and money!

Replied January 2020

Amanda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Neo was the change we needed during this pandemic time

Once everyone got the hang of it Neo went pretty smooth, the users from cornerstone dragged at the beginning. I wish the rx tab would automatically add the script into the rx history VS allowing labels printed but not “proscribed” we constantly fight w the drs over this!!!

Pros

Having Neo definitely allowed us to continue and push through the pandemic curbside. The program slowed us to work remotely when needed.

Cons

The analytics that we had in cornerstone from a management standpoint were much better.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Our partner did not have cornerstone and was using software from the 90’s the decision was to switch both clinics over to neo

Response from IDEXX

Hello Amanda, very glad to hear that Neo helped make your transition to curbside service easier, and that it allowed you to work remotely when needed. We really like your suggestions, please don't hesitate to add them to the Neo Idea Portal!

Replied November 2021

Analicia

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Pretty nice program

It is a great product overall. If you have the Neo plus package you can talk directly with people that can fix minor problems instantly.

Pros

I like that it can be accessed completely online and they help icon is usually really helpful. As a new clinic with no one that has ever use this software, it was very easy to figure out.

Cons

Some basic functionality’s that are these offers have are not an option with Neo. For example you cannot send records to another practice directly from the system. Do you have to save individual items and send it over in an email outside of the program. Also the reports for cost of goods or not completely accurate

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

The cloud option/ functionality For our mobile practice.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Analicia, thanks for your feedback and your willingness to recommend Neo to others! Great to hear that it was so easy for your team to get up and running, and that you like being able to talk to support to fix minor problems instantly: that's now included as part of every Neo subscription.

Replied January 2020

Jeff

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Using Neo in small solo practice since Jan. 1, 2018

We have a very small, 1 doctor practice. I was somewhat concerned about going to a cloud based system, but that has been a non factor. We are still not using NEO to it's maximum capacity, but that is our fault not the software's. There was a $50 a month increase in the monthly fee at the start of 2020 that didn't thrill me, but overall our experience has been good.

Pros

Initially our favorite thing about Neo was how it facilitated electronic medical record keeping and electronic communication with clients via email and SMS. Over time the things that haven't liked (reporting, inventory management, etc) has gotten much better. The NEO team is very responsive to user feedback and frequently makes enhancements and upgrades to the software that make it better and better. We certainly also appreciate the ability to run NEO on very inexpensive hardware.

Cons

As I noted above, our original "cons" have gotten much better over the 2 years we have been using NEO. Getting reports from past years is still a little wonky, and there is no quick easy way to look up which patient received a certain treatment recently, ie a "who-got" feature. NEO also lumps services (labwork, vaccines, office calls, etc) together with inventory items such as pharmaceuticals and preventives into one big category called "Products". I'd like to see them split apart.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We were using a very outdated version of Avimark. Upgrading the software would have required a complete and very expensive hardware upgrade as well, so we decided to go to a cloud based system.

Response from IDEXX Neo

HI Jeff, thanks for your feedback on Neo and for recommending it to others. Input from users like yourself fueled over 60 updates last year, and we have even more planned for 2020, including reporting and inventory. We'd really like to help you take more advantage of what Neo can do for your practice, like helping you drive compliance by texting. Please let us know where we can help!

Replied January 2020

Ashlee

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Neo Software

We are small one doctor practice and the previous software we were using had a lot of features that we just weren't using and it was expensive. Neo has everything we need and it's very user friendly.

Pros

Neo is very user friendly, easy to set up and the support is awesome.

Cons

We wish it integrated with Covetrus. We are a mobile clinic and don't carry a lot of product on board. Our clients primarily order through our online pharmacy. It would be nice to have their purchase history show up in their record in Neo.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

The cost was a big factor and also Cornerstone had a lot of features we just didn't use. We also wanted a cloud based system.

Response from IDEXX

Hi Ashlee, really appreciate your feedback and recommendation that other practitioners take a look at Neo! Glad to hear that Neo has everything you need and that it is so easy for your team to use!

Replied August 2021

Becky

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Good but could be better

Overall, it was one of my preferred EMR software. I felt that though it was lacking in some areas Neo was relatively simple and easy to use.

Pros

I used this software for little over a year until changing to something else. Neo was very easy to use in regard to create medical records, collect payment and the benefit of being directly connected to Idexx Laboratories to order, view and share lab work

Cons

What I did not like about IDEXX Neo was the serious lack of sharing medical records capabilities, inability to put in prescriptions on the chart with refill capabilities.

Response from IDEXX

Hi Becky, thanks for your feedback on your experience with Neo, always good to know where we are hitting the mark and where's there's room for improvement. Glad to hear that being intuitive and easy to use made Neo your preferred practice management software!

Replied June 2022

Katherine

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Its an overall great product

Pros

It is overall a super easy software to use

Cons

There are still bugs to work out but i think it has the potential to be a 10/10 product

Response from IDEXX

Hi Katherine, thank you for the feedback that Neo is super easy software, and for recommending it so highly to others!

Replied November 2021

Jupiter

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

LVT from Michigan

Pros

User friendly and always being updated.

Cons

Definitely not as advanced as Cornerstone as far as tracking information inventory, patient, and client wise. However, one day it may get there.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Tired of a slow software that would often freeze up and was not user friendly.

Response from IDEXX

Hi Jupiter, thanks for recommending Neo, glad its brilliant simplicity and regular updates are so helpful for you and your team!

Replied July 2021

Nicole

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Overall pretty happy with Neo

Pros

Integration was fairly seamless. It's a clean looking schedule.

Cons

There are a lot of steps to schedule an appointment.

Response from IDEXX

Hi Nicole, great to hear that you're happy with Neo, and for the 5-star ratings for support and value for money!

Replied May 2022

Lissette

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

IDexx Neo is good

Pros

Cloud-based Nice interface User friendly

Cons

Needs more reports, ability to set up pharmaceuticals differently (if it will be sold in a bottle or in a pill to calculate the price automatically)

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

User friendliness

Response from IDEXX

Hi Lissette, thank you for your feedback on Neo's ease of use and your willingness to recommend it to others!

Replied January 2022

Lori

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Needs work on the administrative side

It has been a learning curve. As a doctor I like it but my office manager is not so happy.

Pros

I like seeing the blood work in the record. I like using the templates for filling out our exams. The doctor side of things are nice and easy.

Cons

Most of the cons are on administrative side. The way Deputy and Neo integrate is not good. Printing invoices , calculating the interest for clients who are invoiced are not available. This is simple accounting and should be added easily. The client information is not visible from patient view. If you want the client phone number or another patient you have to click back to the client. You can't tell what is unposted or unfinished. If you get a prescription up for client the receptionist can't tell if the client got the prescription and didn't pay or if it is up and ready in the drawer When clients respond to our emails we send from Neo it goes to some email that is not our account. There no integrations with online store, Trupanion, mailing vaccine postcards, no surveys. Neo needs a lot of work on the hospital administration and marketing side.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We opened a satellite clinic and we needed a software we could see records from both locations and make appointments from both locations.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hello Dr. Pohm, thanks for your feedback: always good to know where we are hitting the mark and where there is room for improvement. A/R improvements are one of our top areas of focus over the next few months. Watch for those, and please let us know how they help you and your team!

Replied June 2020

Sara

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Eliminate Server and Software Upgrades

Overall, Neo has been a pleasure to work with. Training new employees is simpler and streamlined, they are receptive to new suggestions, and customer support has generally been prompt and helpful.

Pros

Neo was easy to implement, their conversion team was thorough and helpful. I also love that there is no down time for updates, as the system is cloud based-this also eliminates the need for expensive servers and their replacement.

Cons

We a are a referral dependent, specialty practice, and the software lacks some features that more specialized systems have provided in the past

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

Cloud based

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Lack of compatibility, not user friendly

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Sara, thank you very much for your feedback and for recommending Neo to your colleagues! Great to hear that getting started was easy; ditto for how the automatic updates and elimination of servers helps you and your team. We'd really like to hear about your suggestions for enhancements: over 90% of updates are direct responses to user requests!

Replied September 2020

Jessica

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Recommended

Being a mixed animal practice I love that Neo is cloud based. It makes our mobile unit's life so much easier. I'm happy we chose Neo.

Pros

Constant updates. Excellent tech support. Intuitive.

Cons

There are issues with every software and many of our initial issues have already been fixed with updates. Some of the search functionality isn't effective. Doesn't pick up key words well. No standardized way to input phone numbers so searching a client by phone number is impossible. I feel that having more client information displayed on each screen (phone numbers, other pets, etc) would cut down the time/clicks needed to get to frequently used info fast. Even though you can customize your own forms, which is great, I wish Neo came with pre-made forms that felt more modern and eye catching. SMS isn't great - would be nice to have the ability to actually chat back and forth. In lieu of that having the ability to send an auto message that said not to reply to the text. Our clients frequently try to reply. Having clients able to pay their invoice from the email Neo sends would be helpful, especially in light of the times. Once you save a form/file to a client you can't email it to them.

Alternatives Considered

Covetrus Pulse

Reasons for choosing IDEXX Neo

IDEXX

Response from IDEXX Neo

Hi Jessica, we really appreciate you recommending that other practices check out Neo! Thanks for the praise for our fabulous support team and Neo's brilliantly simple workflows. And as for constant updates, feedback like yours ensures we deliver exactly what our users are looking for! We've got improvements in the pipeline we think you're really going to like. Wish we could come to Kaua'i and tell you about them in person!

Replied May 2020

Lori

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Intuitive and easy to set up and use.

Overall, I am really pleased with Neo. There are constant updates, some of which I did not realize were problems. New features are always being added. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

Neo was the easiest software program to set up and use that I reviewed. Just about everything is fairly intuitive and does not require a degree in programming to use. The files for your patients are as close to paper based as I have seen. You can easily adapt it to your practice and it integrates well with the reference lab. Working from anywhere with this cloud based system is also a lovely feature The customer service is great--you actually get to know all the staff and they remember you when you call. The boarding schedule is a great new feature that I set up in minutes for my specific kennel situation. I own a small, single doctor practice and do not regret choosing Neo as my PMS.

Cons

The few things that Neo is not capable of (yet): Creating automatic call backs for appointments. Integrated payment--although I think that this is in the works. There are also instances where if a staff member marks a file ready to be paid, another person working on the file at the same time cannot save the information without backing out and going back into the file. I have lost a few files with this. It now warns you that someone else has it open.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Thanks for the praise and the suggestions Dr. Scappino. Our goal is to make Neo the easiest software to set up and use, and that objective guides every improvement and new feature we add. Awesome to hear that we are hitting that mark with you and your team, and that we are solving problems you did not know you had! You noted you would like to see automatic call backs and integrated payments in Neo: both of those are on our product roadmap. Watch for more information about them.

Replied November 2018

Hans

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

NEO has been amazing for our clinic, fantastic support, they listen to their clients for updates!

Great online support, fantastic cost without large initial investment of 16-20K like other software. Web based, no need for databse backups, etc. NEO team is making beneficial updates based on users input. No large learning curve for staff. The integration with IDEXX lab equipment is spectacular and helpful in cutting down time. Results gro straight into patient history.

Pros

Web based which means no backups necessary in clinic, great support, ease of use, fantastic price without a large investment, training staff is not a large learning curve. The developers listen to their clients and make timely updates to software without having to download and install, etc. Great thing is that when the power went down for an hour at our clinic, we were able to use our cell phones to acess NEO and still get client information and chek them out via PayPal instead of our usual service. Our old system meant you had to revert to paper and be out of luck with checking anybody out. You can quickly review Prescription history withour hunting through months and years of records. Fantastic administrative tools for accounting purposes and reports to quicky your growing. It will take 10 years of monthly pay,ents to pay what would have been a 19,000-20,000 investment in Management software with other companies. If I don't like it in a few years, I have not lost a huge initial invesment.I highly recommend it to clinics that don't want to spend a lot of overhead on software, want great support, and good clinic management software.

Cons

If you ever have the internet go down in clinic, you can't use software... unless you have cell phones to access the mobile version

Response from IDEXX Neo

Thank you Hans, we could not have said it better ourselves! Very glad to hear that you were able to use Neo when your power went down and keep your practice running. It is because of times like these that we are optimizing Neo specifically for phones and tablets so your experience using the software on your phone will be just as good as on a computer.

Replied June 2018

Showing 1 - 25 of 101 reviews
IDEXX Neo

IDEXX Neo

4.17/5 out of 103 reviews
Learn More