All IDEXX Neo Reviews

1-25 of 115 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dave

Verified reviewer

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Great choice for an affordable price.

Our overall experience has been 9 out of 10. We are very happy with our move from Avimark (big, costly, server-based) to web-based Neo. Once they delivered boarding, we didn't have to have any other applications to manage our hospital. I do wish that other third party application providers were integrating more things with Neo. But I guess that will come as the client base grows.

PROS

The ease of use for our team was the most important. There isn't anything that isn't covered in the "HELP ME" section. You can read the instructions, or you can allow the system to walk you through doing the task. It's very easy to learn and with regular updates the system continues to get better and better. Also, you can't say enough about support. I have been in IT for years. This is the best support team I've ever worked with online. They are friendly, knowledgeable and quick to respond.

CONS

I'd like to see it be a bit more flexible for the client. There are some things I think should be moved to company settings. I don't like that it doesn't handle tax exempt clients, i.e. Rescues and Non-Profits. The reporting could be better, but I understand they are working on reporting now.

Vendor Response

Hi Dave, great to hear that your team is finding Neo so easy to use and learn. And thank you for the feedback on improvements. Expect to see a steady stream of new reporting features in 2019, as well as more third-party app integrations.

Replied January 2019

Jeff

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Using Neo in small solo practice since Jan. 1, 2018

We have a very small, 1 doctor practice. I was somewhat concerned about going to a cloud based system, but that has been a non factor. We are still not using NEO to it's maximum capacity, but that is our fault not the software's. There was a $50 a month increase in the monthly fee at the start of 2020 that didn't thrill me, but overall our experience has been good.

PROS

Initially our favorite thing about Neo was how it facilitated electronic medical record keeping and electronic communication with clients via email and SMS. Over time the things that haven't liked (reporting, inventory management, etc) has gotten much better. The NEO team is very responsive to user feedback and frequently makes enhancements and upgrades to the software that make it better and better. We certainly also appreciate the ability to run NEO on very inexpensive hardware.

CONS

As I noted above, our original "cons" have gotten much better over the 2 years we have been using NEO. Getting reports from past years is still a little wonky, and there is no quick easy way to look up which patient received a certain treatment recently, ie a "who-got" feature. NEO also lumps services (labwork, vaccines, office calls, etc) together with inventory items such as pharmaceuticals and preventives into one big category called "Products". I'd like to see them split apart.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We were using a very outdated version of Avimark. Upgrading the software would have required a complete and very expensive hardware upgrade as well, so we decided to go to a cloud based system.

Vendor Response

HI Jeff, thanks for your feedback on Neo and for recommending it to others. Input from users like yourself fueled over 60 updates last year, and we have even more planned for 2020, including reporting and inventory. We'd really like to help you take more advantage of what Neo can do for your practice, like helping you drive compliance by texting. Please let us know where we can help!

Replied January 2020

Noah

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2019

High expectations...poor delivery

The time involved from checking clients in to check out is almost double what we had with an older outdated system. Hard to believe this is "the future". All of the staff are frustrated after having this system 9 months. They are begging me (management) to return to our outdated system.

PROS

cloud based system affordable comparitively

CONS

poor estimate capabilities updates interfere with current processes, forms, etc. multiple windows to click through (lost time/efficiency) weak customer service (always say they are considering updating "whatever issue you have"

Reason for choosing IDEXX Neo

contract negotiations and good sales team

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Hoping to increase efficiency and remedy issues with previous software.

Vendor Response

Hi Noah, thanks for the feedback and the opportunity to work with you and the team at Asheville to make sure Neo meets your needs. Incidentally, the enhancement requests our support team logs have led to 46 value-packed releases in the last eight months alone, several of which address items you cite, including estimates. It also sounds as if there are opportunities to streamline some of your workflows. Definitely check out the built-in, task-specific training for tips on doing this, and don't hesitate to contact our customer success team for coaching (it's available at no extra charge). We are always open to your thoughts on how we can make things better.

Replied September 2019

Alexandra

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Great Cloud Based Software!

PROS

We switched from Impromed server based software to Neo cloud based and are extremely happy it. Neo is very easy to use. I loved that our team was able to practice on Neo before our launch date. It made our first day using Neo much less stressful compared to our switch from DVMax to Impromed. The setup for Neo is time consuming but you get to make the software exactly what you want. It has made our charting and billing much more efficient. The consults section is difficult to read through at first but we are getting use to it. The only complaint I would have is that there are not many forms premade in Neo. You have to make them mostly from scratch. It would be nice if we could see what other practices are using and be able to use their premade forms instead of making all new ones. Overall Neo is working great for our 2 doctor small doctor practice. Very happy with the switch!

CONS

-Lack of forms -Reminders are tedious to set up and understand at first -Not as many reports as server based softwares

Reason for choosing IDEXX Neo

Easier to use. Modern look. Trust Idexx company.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We wanted a cloud based software that was easier to use.

Vendor Response

Hi Alexandra, thanks for your endorsement of Neo, and for your suggestions!

Replied August 2020

Tammy

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Very Easy to Use

Wonderful

PROS

It has been very easy to train new staff on this program and I like that fact of being able to suggest new ideas in improving the software. I feel like the users voices are heard.

CONS

Just that I wish that it would intergrate with more products, but I am sure that will change since it is a newer software.

Reason for choosing IDEXX Neo

We liked the customizing aspect of creating templates and charges, being able to vote for changes/improvements to the software, and the easiness of using the software.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

We needed a newer software

Ashlee

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Neo Software

We are small one doctor practice and the previous software we were using had a lot of features that we just weren't using and it was expensive. Neo has everything we need and it's very user friendly.

PROS

Neo is very user friendly, easy to set up and the support is awesome.

CONS

We wish it integrated with Covetrus. We are a mobile clinic and don't carry a lot of product on board. Our clients primarily order through our online pharmacy. It would be nice to have their purchase history show up in their record in Neo.

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

The cost was a big factor and also Cornerstone had a lot of features we just didn't use. We also wanted a cloud based system.

Vendor Response

Hi Ashlee, really appreciate your feedback and recommendation that other practitioners take a look at Neo! Glad to hear that Neo has everything you need and that it is so easy for your team to use!

Replied August 2021

April

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2020

Needs to be more team friendly

speed is great. Avimark bogged down.

PROS

able to log in from anywhere. ease of use

CONS

not team friendly. we need to be able to "turn off" reminders per pet & per client. we have alot of rescues that their reminders over whelm our system on pets they keep track of services. this was a feature in Avimark we used alot. also, would like a simple "period" totals in which to send to accountant. a product or service "who got" would be ideal. when looking for "a pet" that is on a Rx but cant remember the name of said pet we could search all pets on "Rx".

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

features great but needed something faster & easier to access for "work" from home.

Vendor Response

Hi April, glad to hear that Neo's ease of use, speed and accessibility from any internet-connected device are helpful for you and your team. You can access simple period totals right from Neo's Practice Dashboard. Please let us know if there are other period totals you're looking for! You can also find the "who got" info you seek in the Dispensed Products in date range report.

Replied May 2020

Kelly

Verified reviewer

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

IDEXX Neo

Overall Neo has been a good fit for our practice, they are constantly updating the software and solving problems.

PROS

Affordable, easy to learn and use, cloud-based, integrates well with IDEXX BW machines and radiographs, easy to attach files

CONS

Doesn't integrate with other programs, even other IDEXX products, difficult use for hospitalized patients, charges for patient are not automatically sorted into different categories (like prescriptions, diets, etc)

Vendor Response

Kelly, thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We hear you on the importance of integration, and it is a top area of focus for our product roadmap. Case in point: we just introduced seamless integration with the Smart Flow Workflow Optimization System (which should help with hospitalized patients), and we will offer a fully integrated credit card payment solution in early 2019.

Replied November 2018

User Profile

Dennis

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

from conversion to installation to training and support, we have been impressed overall with Neo

Easy to transition from paper to paperless records using Neo

PROS

With a very intuitive UI, Neo is super easy to learn and use. If you can place an order on amazon, you can master Neo is just a few days. Embedded help & tutorial features are very helpful, and tech support is quick to respond. Integration with Idexx's reference lab is nice, but not perfect.

CONS

Neo's financial reporting is clunky at best. While they are constantly updating the softaware, I have yet to see any meaningful upgrades to the reporting functionality. An exported csv file may be preferable for some, but sometimes I just want a simple table to pop up on my screen! There's also poor management of multiple users working on same patient -so it can be easy to over-write someone else's notes.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Dennis! We agree that actionable on-screen reports are the right way to go and have already started taking steps in that direction. You will also be happy to know that the next feature release will include new functionality that alerts you when multiple users have made changes to a medical record.

Replied June 2018

User Profile

Jonathan

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Very pleased with this software overall.

Online storage and access, flexibility for most things. Ease of use.

PROS

I like the cloud starage of everything, it Means I have access to all practice data at any time on any device. Very easy to configure. Fairly flexible. It was an easy conversion from Cornerstone to Neo.

CONS

Some difficulty with batch changing items. Some inflexibility in customizing record keeping templates. Reporting tools are very minimal and could be much more robust.

Vendor Response

Hi Jonathan, glad you are pleased! We understand how critical it is to have a smooth transition when changing practice management software, so we have put a lot of focus on the conversion process. We agree that record keeping templates could use additional functionality and that reporting could be more robust. Both of these areas have been identified as good opportunities for enhancements.

Replied June 2018

Hans

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

NEO has been amazing for our clinic, fantastic support, they listen to their clients for updates!

Great online support, fantastic cost without large initial investment of 16-20K like other software. Web based, no need for databse backups, etc. NEO team is making beneficial updates based on users input. No large learning curve for staff. The integration with IDEXX lab equipment is spectacular and helpful in cutting down time. Results gro straight into patient history.

PROS

Web based which means no backups necessary in clinic, great support, ease of use, fantastic price without a large investment, training staff is not a large learning curve. The developers listen to their clients and make timely updates to software without having to download and install, etc. Great thing is that when the power went down for an hour at our clinic, we were able to use our cell phones to acess NEO and still get client information and chek them out via PayPal instead of our usual service. Our old system meant you had to revert to paper and be out of luck with checking anybody out. You can quickly review Prescription history withour hunting through months and years of records. Fantastic administrative tools for accounting purposes and reports to quicky your growing. It will take 10 years of monthly pay,ents to pay what would have been a 19,000-20,000 investment in Management software with other companies. If I don't like it in a few years, I have not lost a huge initial invesment.I highly recommend it to clinics that don't want to spend a lot of overhead on software, want great support, and good clinic management software.

CONS

If you ever have the internet go down in clinic, you can't use software... unless you have cell phones to access the mobile version

Vendor Response

Thank you Hans, we could not have said it better ourselves! Very glad to hear that you were able to use Neo when your power went down and keep your practice running. It is because of times like these that we are optimizing Neo specifically for phones and tablets so your experience using the software on your phone will be just as good as on a computer.

Replied June 2018

Candice

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

We love Neo!

We have been using IDEXX Neo for about two and a half years and are overall very pleased with the product. The transition from our previous POS system was close to seamless and haven't experienced any major issues since switching.

PROS

There are several things that I love about IDEXX Neo. First, the ease of use with integrated training is great. We no longer have to pay for updated training. Second, the customer service is amazing. As the person in charge of calling when things go wrong it is very much appreciated to talk to helpful/nice customer support. Third, the continued improvement and growth is so nice. They are very open to receiving suggestions from clinics that use the software on a daily basis.

CONS

There are some things that Neo isn't capable of doing yet but the pros far outweigh these. A few of those things include automated callbacks, expired items report, integrated credit card processing and integrated time clock.

Vendor Response

Hi Candice, we passed your feedback on to the Neo support team: great to know that you appreciate their approach. Love your suggestions for improvements, and we think you will be pleased to hear that they're on the product roadmap for 2019!

Replied November 2018

Danielle

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Easy to use and great customer service

Again, having two practices, using NEO has made life easier on management. Support is always available and usually figures out the problem you are having.

PROS

Cloud based software makes it easy to use on the go when managing multiple clinics. NEO is always adding new and updated features based off of client recommendations. Works very well with other Idexx equipment. Love the template and form options! Makes it so nice to have easily accessible printable forms at everyone's fingertips. Support chat is amazing!

CONS

Just like with any internet based software there are times NEO is unavailable. Hadn't happened often but when it does, it is rough for the moment it is down. Would like to be able to run my own custom reports. Also would love to have reminders deleted automatically when the line item has been deleted. Only other thing would be that when pets that have been marked inactive or deceased it doesn't remove any future appointments.

Vendor Response

Hi Danielle, great to hear that the steady pace of new features is helping you and your team, and thank you for your suggestions for more!

Replied January 2019

Shawn

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Neo User 5+ years at two locations

Integration with lab and imaging services has been an excellent addition to the practice. Support has been top tier

PROS

Ease of use and intuitive design allow rapid learning for new employees

CONS

Initial template design was minimal when the software was activated but I assume that it would be better today

Reason for choosing IDEXX Neo

Idexx was a familiar name and had dealt with them for many years. The support and help during installation was very good. The use of a cloud based system removed a lot of risk and headaches compared to our old server based system

Reasons for switching to IDEXX Neo

Upgrade needed in capability and did not want the expense and risk of maintaining a server

Vendor Response

Hi Shawn, thanks for the positive feedback and for recommending that other practitioners check out Neo! Glad to hear how easy it was for your team to quickly get comfortable with Neo, and that support has been top tier (we will pass on your compliments to the team).

Replied October 2022

Jillian

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2016

So Simple and Minimal Set Up

I recently purchased a practice with no computer software and Neo saved us a fortune! Because this program is cloud-based, we didn't have to buy a server and we could use Chromebook laptops instead of full computers. Also, Neo runs on a monthly subscription that includes updates and support. With traditional software we would have had to pay several thousand dollars up front to purchase the program, plus about $1000/year for updates and support. The transition from fully paper-clinic to almost completely paperless was smooth and even my least computer-saavy employees felt comfortable using it after only a day of training (which is built in to the program!)

PROS

Access anywhere with internet (phone, tablet, laptop, computer, etc) Very user-friendly and easy to learn Fully customizable Minimal start up costs Updates included and installed automatically Customer support is very helpful and takes suggestions for future updates Communicates with other IDEXX equipment (in house lab, radiology, reference lab)

CONS

Need reliable internet access - sometimes our internet goes out, we keep some 4G capable tablets in the clinic to use when this occurs No option for a low and high end on estimates - we have asked for this on future updates Unable to be 100% paperless without signature capture - supposedly will be available on future updates

Meredith

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2023

Stay AWAY

We were very disappointed, we were hoping for more. Excited when we were able to switch to a new program.

PROS

The ease of Neo, the look, the quickness of logging on. There was very little that we liked about the program, the integration with IDEXX bloodwork

CONS

The reports are very vague. Hard to do large animal clients, inventory is a NIGHTMARE! If you do any inventory on a regular basis - stay away from this as it will lead you to gray hair. Statements at end of month do not include any services/products - only invoice #, so you have to print lots of pages off.

Inna

Verified reviewer

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT