VETLINKSQL is a SQL-based veterinary practice solution that helps various types of veterinary practices manage clinics. Key features include appointment booking, reminders, billing, inventory management, e-forms, reporting, a client portal and cloud backup.

VETLINKSQL allows users to configure their appointment-book layout, functionality and look. Customers can book appointments online through a booking website provided by VETLINKSQL. Text-message communication tools enable clients to receive notifications about pets' post-surgery status, appointment reminders, vaccination reminders, special offers and more. The document interface allows users to work in multiple windows at the same time, running multiple tasks.

VETLINKSQL also supports third-party integrations with e-commerce programs and data-facilitation providers. Reporting feature let users generate reports on staff-performance reports, sales and clients.

VETLINKSQL is available both as cloud-based solution and as an on-premise solution. It also provides mobile apps for both iOS and Android.



38 Reviews of VETLINKSQL

Overall rating

4.5 / 5 stars

Showing 1 - 20 of 38 reviews

November 2018

Debra from Reynella Veterinary Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

Vetlink SQL

We moved to VetlinkSQL 4 years ago after using another product which was outdated and clunky. Very happy with the decision and the support we receive. The software is evolving with new features each year that keep up with changing technology and changing business needs.

Pros

This software is relatively easy to learn to use and its colour coding helps with the visuals without having to search for appointment status. All the tasks you need are available.

Cons

Searching for specific types of records can be difficult to work out. But this is a more complex task anyway. Adding a staff member for a day not already in their roster doesn’t bring in double-booking function.

October 2018

Scott from Rappaw Veterinary Care

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2018

Smooth migration to cloud hosted VetLinkSQL

I would recommend that you move to the CFL cloud environment as soon as your server gets close to warranty. For multi-branch clinics, just do it now, and get rid of those Spark VPN bills. It's also great not having to apply updates all the time & if you need to increase the performance of the cloud server due to changing demands it only takes minutes, not hours.

Pros

At Rappaw we have five very busy clinics with 29 terminals. We used to run a central server for VetLinkSQL and a PACS Server for digital x-ray image backup at our main branch. As our servers got older and required replacement we were advised to look at cloud options. The CFL team assisted us to migrate to their Amazon cloud environment, and honestly, it was smoother than we had anticipated. In addition to VetLinkSQL, we also saw it as a good opportunity to move our PACS Server with all our digital DICOM images to the cloud with fully automated backups! Since migrating to the cloud hosted version of VetLinkSQL, we have very happy branch clinics who report an increase in speed – that’s because they now connect directly to the cloud, instead of via a slow Spark VPN (Virtual Private Network) to our own local server. As we are running an open source PACS server (Conquest), I was pleased how easy it was to migrate all the images and PACS software to the cloud too.

Everything runs very smoothly and the migration experience went very well. CFL were great doing all the data migration & setup online. The new routers & direct cloud connection via UFB (Ultra-Fast Broadband) meant that we could move away from the expensive, outdated Spark VPN we were previously using. We just had to connect the Computers, Thin clients, Tablets, and Printers to the internet & it all worked amazingly well.

Cons

None at present time.

October 2018

Bofu from SAS Franconstruct

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2018

One of the best veterinary management software on the market

Pros

POS integration and the ability to notify your clients via SMS and email. Being cloud hosted is a plus for those who require more flexibility.

Cons

Spell-checker can be improved and the color scheme can be updated with more brighter ones. All the rest is customizable with some work.

August 2018

Peter from Mt Eliza Village V

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2018

Great value and easy to use

Perfectly satisfied with our decision to go with VetLinkSQL. Compared to some of its competitors its great value for money too.

Pros

Easy to use system with outstanding technical and customer support. There are also many great features for reporting

Cons

There are some feature that can be a bit inflexible and multilayered

July 2018

Kathy from Forrest Hill Veterinary Clinic

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

July 2018

We recently changed to a cloud server as our old server was not performing well

Pros

we have been using Vetlink since about 1990 and are happy with the overall performance but needed to upgrade to a cloud server. This has made a world of difference to the speed and performance of the programme

Cons

we were having a lot of problems prior to our upgrade to a cloud server but now are happy with the way things are going

July 2018

Taryn from Clare Valley Veterinary Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

We have used VetLinkSQL for years, it's a quality product, has great features and is value for money

Pros

We have migrated from one cloud based server which was hosting our VetLinkSQL software to cloud based hosting through VetLinkSQL and the process has been seamless. We have gone from a system that was extremely expensive, continually offline, very frustrating with a very unhelpful "help" desk, to a fast, integrated system. For our business it means we are able to contact one provider for our PMS system and our other software needs. The other huge benefit is we are financially far better off, which means improvement to our bottom line.

Cons

We have some frustrations with not knowing what we can do with the software. The developers are continually updating and innovating the software, and unfortunately we are lagging behind.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied July 2018

Thank you for your kind works Taryn. Yes we were surprised what you were paying! Now your VetLinkSQL is a fully cloud hosted solution by us so no worries at all. We look after everything including backups, updates, etc?

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2018

- Communication documentation is great also the ability to communicate directly with diagnostics

Pros

Initial tech support was really good - quality dropped of as time went by and it became more difficult to get ahold of them. We upgraded because previous software wasn't able to intergrate with idexx or radiographs etc.
Super easy to record radiographs/photos with the additional ipad applications. Ability to requisition diagnostics (reduces amount of diagnostics not charged out correctly)

Cons

Reliance on having to manually run the background so everything syncs.
Have to build templates/forms within the software.
Difficult to find sms communication history for a client when its sent through the system.
Reminders again have to be actioned manually (we now use a third party)
**Automatic Online booking is not a feature!! - Online booking is clunky and manual involving emails.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied June 2018

Hi there. It is a bit hard to follow up with no name as I would love to call you and explain and show you where you may need assistance / training. Please note that if helpdesk phone lines are busy you can leave a message for a call-back or you can email support@cfl.co.nz for any non-urgent issues and someone will respond the same day. For SMS In & Out logs, just bring up the client record and then see the Doc Manager Tab where a sub-tab shows SMS - ALL communication is right there. In terms of online booking, I tend to agree that its not ideal BUT please note that a totally new and refreshed OLB system is due for release next month with a complete re-write. Look out for a free webinar email for 4th July 2018. Not sure what you mean by manual sync but happy to clarify if you call. PLEASE do not hesitate to call me to discuss any issues at any time and I will see that it's set right! Deven Patel - My Mobile is +64 21 512 149

April 2018

Veronica from Caloundra Veterinary Surgery

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

A brilliant Vet software product with outstanding and reliable support

We chose Vetlink over all competitors because of its long term features, customer support and user friendliness. Vetlink enabled us more to engage with our client's rather than via phone or post, which in the long term, saved us time and money. Would highly recommend for any forward thinking Veterinary Surgery and one that certainly is looking for a product to take it to the next IT level in an ever expanding IT world.

Pros

Functionality and ability to email and SMS clients of their animal reminders, appointments and to be able to send histories direct to other third parties.

Cons

Very different to what we had been using which was Vetcare - so took some time to get to know the expansive features (not being IT savvy). Some of the reporting I found I needed technical help with, but Vetlink backup was always there to support us. Once I got the hang of it, it was easier.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied April 2018

Thank you VERY much for your kind words Veronica.

February 2018

Louise from Clare Valley Veterinary Services Pty/Ltd

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2018

We have been loyal Vetlink sql customers for several years now.

Pros

The inter-activeness of the diary is great, the ability to easily upload images into the patient files is also an asset.
I like being able to log onto the serve rfrom any of our workstations and use the mobileapp out in the fields.

Cons

It can take several 'clicks' to perform simple tasks and the cost of the multibranch systemappears to be prohibitive at present..

December 2017

Graham from Bucklands Beach Veterinary Clinic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

Great software, with excellent support provided by the CFL team.

we could not run our business successfully without it!

Pros

I have used this software for many years, and have been impressed with the development and introduction of innovative features based on changing client needs over time. We have recently transitioned to the cloud-based version and this went very smoothly. Integration with our laboratory services provider, sms, and smartflow is working very well for us. The software is customisable and flexible and works very well for our medium sized small animal practice.

Cons

As the software has been written specifically for the veterinary practice, and developed over a long period of time (with additions and customisable options added over time) it takes a little time for a new staff member or locum to become familiar with the software. This, however is likely the case with most software programmes.

October 2017

Angela from Campbelltown Veterinary Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2017

Vetlink distinctly stood out to us as our future computer system when we made our very 1st enquiries

Peace of mind that our business is running on reliable software. Our data is secure and accurate.

Pros

The support staff was very comprehensive in his introduction of this program to us. We were comfortable putting our business needs into this program with his guidance. He even helped us find hardware support! Which has been a great success.
Demonstrations were informative and thorough. Data conversion was smooth and we were coached through every step and knew what to expect with confidence.
When the system went live in our vet hospital, we were well prepared from our practice on the demo system and on the shoulder training with Richard was fantastic and very welcomed.
Richard was very professional and nothing was too much trouble. He empowered all of us and set us up for success! A true teacher.
We are now 8 weeks in, whilst we are still learning, we now have software that is reliable to use, comfortable to understand and software support only a phone call away.
Vetlink has been a wise choice for us. A very happy team!

Cons

End of period procedures take a little getting used to. This is NOT a fault, just a new learning process. We will get this!

September 2017

Rob from Cambridge Equine Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2017

Great functionality and Service

Pros

While the software is very powerful, it is really easy to use and has huge functionality for all types of practices, especially for our equine side of the business. What we like is that the software is continually upgraded with new features from requests we make. For example, we wanted better stock management for our equine and farm vehicles so they have created an App that allows a really easy way for Vets to transfer stock to their cars, even if they are in a hurry we now use this App which has reduced our Stock Shrinkage by 50% this year! Finally I think the helpdesk is very good and the familiar support staff are excellent.

Cons

We don't have too many dislikes but it would be good to get some more advanced training for our staff and have regular visits to get the best out of the software.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied September 2017

Thank you for the kind words Rob. Just call our help-desk or Kelsi our BDM (kelsi@cfl.co.nz) and she can make a note to contact you once a year to book in staff training.

September 2017

Lisa from Windaroo Veterinary Surgey Animal Hospital

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2017

Using it for 9 years, Support team can usually help us. Easy for new staff to use.

Pros

Colourful Diary screen enables easy adjustment of appointments to a different time, longer or a different vet or day. SMS appointment reminders work well. I like that an email message or sms sent to a client through the system is documented and can be reviewed. The quote system works well. There are lots of reporting options.

Cons

Sometimes there are glitches with the messaging not getting through. The reminders are complex with letters, sms and emails going out on various runs. If there is a problem here it is very concerning that they may not be received. I am not sure if other software make this easier? We always get it sorted but it can be very time consuming.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied September 2017

Hi Lisa Thank you for your review. Please note that we have now switched SMS providers with a Tier Service (we experimented with a Tier 2 service as people wanted lower costs, but we have decided to dump that service) and the delivery is first class! It is generally upgraded on your next update but call the help-desk and ask if you are on the new service. In terms of Reminders, again, we have updated this to conform to privacy laws. We also have 3 ways to send reminders (one per family, one per patient, or one per reminder; the last one being the most popular as it provides statistics and allows you to change content and language tone to see what works in you area and demographic). I suggest you login to our web portal and watch the FREE training webinar on Reminders to improve your system. Secondly book in a 1 hour online training session to review your settings and get advice. I will approve this FREE since you have taken this time to place a review - Deven Patel

September 2017

Bill from Cambridge Vets

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2017

I have been using Vetlink for over 25 years. The support and functionality is second to none!

It is the complete practice management package!

Pros

The software has evolved over time and continues to evolve. Deven Patel is always happy to provide support and do his best to ensure the product meets our expectations. CFL is always happy to listen to our ideas and customize the software where ever possible. The recent innovations are excellent. The abilities of Vetlink to interact with products like Smartflow and our Idexx in house lab equipment help to improve work flows and efficiency.

Cons

Reporting. While the software has the ability to customize reports, this is not always simple. I understand there are developments in the pipeline to improve this.

August 2017

Leanne from Wangnaui Veterinary Services Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2017

Our company has been a user of Vetlink since 2002, there is great value for money with this product

This software meets all our needs. It is constantly being improved on and made more efficient to ensure it keeps up with changing markets and legislative changes within the industry. When we looked at upgrading our software we looked at all the leading veterinary software packages in the market at the time and Vetlink was hands down the best out there and still is.

Pros

Easy navigation, comprehensive fully integrated software from client/animal records to appointment booking to sales and marketing and accounting. The development of the software is very progressive and with an industry focused strategy.

Cons

To be honest not a lot I dont like, but would like to see a better reporting module that lets you create the reports you want with the information you want rather than standard reports.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied August 2017

Thank you for your kind words Leanne.

July 2017

miles from Mt barker veterinary hospital WA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2017

The software is easy to learn, we changed over from another vet software. The change over was easy

Make are clinic run smothly

Pros

The software is easy to learn, we changed over from another vet software. The change over was easy and we had great support to teach us the new program. Once we got going we found the program easy to use and fitted in well for our mixed animal practice. The back up tech support is friendly and helpful, and always available to help us. We are not a computer savi clinic, so probably ask some really dumb questions which they always help us with. The nurses find the program easy to use, and the flow of patient/client from waiting room, to consult/treatment/ hospital/ discharge is easy to follow and see where patients or clients are up to. For large animal patients program works well for planning and charging out invoices. Very happy to talk to any one about programme if considering changing over .

Cons

would like a better spell checker, myself and two other nurses are dyslexic so need to make it easier for us

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied July 2017

Thank you for the kind words Miles. Just in case ....- Did you known that you can set up abbreviations that automatically expand into words, sentences, and even full paragraphs so you don't have to type much? In addition to this, you can have pre-configured clinical notes/pages that you can simply import. Just go to the top | Options | Picklist | History | History Abbrs - then just set them up here. Cheers

May 2017

Braden from Bunbury and Eaton Vet Clinics

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

Great support. Very open to new ideas

Affordable and very user friendly.

Pros

Always developing new features. Very easy to access customer support and talk to someone who knows what they are doing.
Simple to use and very short learning curve.
Change over from old system was nearly seamless.

Cons

It will still take a bit of time to develop all the features I would like, but that is a long list and is quite specific so I don't think anyone else could do it all either, and I don't think other companies would be so keen to listen to new ideas.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied May 2017

Thank you Braden! We have received your ideas around Wellness Programs and they have been forwarded to the developers. It will be discussed once we get back to that module in a couple of months. Cheers!

May 2017

Holly from Better Pet Vets

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

The customer service is excellent. You can always get them on the phone to help.

Pros

The ease of communication with clients to save time. You don't have to press save every time! Always getting updates and new ways of doing things.

Cons

clipboards are hard to see and not that obvious. There are numerous icons happy and sad faces etc which re not that intuitive or easy to understand.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied May 2017

Hi Holly Not sure what you mean by clipboards - you mean diary tabs? As far as icons are involved, I agree that we need a legend somewhere but here are some explanations: Face with sunshine - New Client Yellow Sad Face - You have disabled charging to a/c Blue Happy Face - They got Vet they asked for Purple Sad Face - they asked for a staff and you booked with another Red Sad Face - Wrote off a bad debt in the past Coloured Flags - you can set these yourself Coloured coins - set up yourself based on spend by client - automatically shows VIP clients 0/30/60/90 indicates how far they are with payments Cheers for now

May 2017

Debra from Reynella Veterinary Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

Great software features and excellent support when needed

Ease of use and ability to attach various client forms to a record

Pros

The ability to add on more features as your needs grow and you become more familiar with the software

Cons

Not knowing which team member has performed an action. Anyone can be selected from the drop down where that option is available but for general use it is not convenient to have each user log on/off to perform an action.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied May 2017

Hi Debra Thank you for your kind words. You can indeed have only certain people perform certain tasks and have a log in system. It is open when you purchase the system but you can go to Setup/Staff/Access levels and you will a large number of functions such as, to name a few, Make Bill, Discount, Overtype Price, Place Orders, etc, etc. There is a grid of User Position where you can choose each staff position and what they can do openly and where they may need to log in and so on. Having said all that, in the upcoming Version 5.0 this area has been expanded with detailed audit trails as well. Call our helpdesk or download the appropriate chapter of the manual that describes all this; there may even be a recorded webinar in there. Cheers

May 2017

Louise from Exclusively Equine Veterinary Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

Nothing is ever too much trouble. Communication is effortless and always available.

Ease of use, portability and support

Pros

Time zone difference allows for early problem solving if any. Updates occur effortlessly. Ease of use and mobility of whole database

Cons

Colour sheme!!- I like bright colours. Can't set up a recurring lock for individual vets on certain days for research etc- must be set up as an appointment.

Response from Computer Fanatics of Computer Fanatics Limited

Replied May 2017

Hi Louise Thank you for the kind words. Please note that you can solve your problem in one of 2 ways. Firstly use the Staff Roster where you have several start and end times during a day. This will create locks between those periods. Note that the Roster is dynamic and can be altered at an time and a Clash Management window will automatically tell you if your re-scheduling has clashes with any pre-existing appointments - then you can just drag and drop to re-schedule etc - it will also automatically then send text messages, etc. The second method is to use the Recurring Appointment" feature. Yes it does use appointments but it has quote a sophisticated recurring criteria. If all else fails then please call me to explain why the above solutions are not working for you and I will either find a solution or I will place the feature request for future consideration when they work in that part of the program next. Cheers Deven Patel