User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.40

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The Vision support Team are always friendly, helpful and FAST. Nothing is too much trouble."
  • icon"Software perse this is your typical PIMS system with more or less the same features like any other."
  • icon"Customer service team super helpful and knowledgeable. Very diverse software, that is user friendly."
  • icon"I would be very weary of any Shein software from this point on in the future."

All VisionVPM Reviews

1-20 of 20 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Joshua

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

Vision VPM review a clinic owners perspective

Pros

Easy to use and learn - generally easy to onboard new or temporary staff Stable Support is good - see comment below - some great people on the team - Liz Z and Hayden spring to mind

Cons

Overall product is great - main concern is the 9-5 M-F customer support which tho standard for IT industry does not reflect the Vet professions business model. As a user since 2012 - response times have become longer over the years - Updates come with a video tutorial which sounds great but the tutorials are so dull (sorry Liz!!) I cant bear to watch them - they would be much better if instead of a single hour long video of which only 5 minutes is applicable to how you use Vision - the video tutorials on updates come as a email with links to short segments so you can dip into the content that's relevant to you - woud be interesting to see how many people view the update tutorials in thier current long form

Reasons for choosing VisionVPM

Vision clearly a premioum product that was going to be developed going forward (which it has VIVA was goingbe be obsolete quickly

Reasons for switching to VisionVPM

end of life

Response from Covetrus Software Services

Hi Joshua, thanks for your review. Your feedback is super valuable to us! These comments will be passed onto the team.

Replied January 2022

Cathy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

Customer Service second to none

I've had no regrets with installing Vision from day 1 at the clinic. I use the full General Ledger capability which essentially saves me from having to buy an entire additional software package. The Team has been responsive to change requests and the customer service has been outstanding. When we had a server disaster I had round the clock help from Vision until we were back up and running. I can't fault their Team.

Pros

Vision, developed over such a long time, obviously contains the functionality needed to effectively manage a veterinary clinic, but it's the customer service that really makes the difference for me. The Vision support Team are always friendly, helpful and FAST. Nothing is too much trouble. It makes an enormous difference to know that there is someone on the end of the line who will respond immediately and actually solve your problem the first time, whenever needed.

Cons

There's a few areas where fewer clicks would be useful and there is a lot to learn, so often this is a case of just knowing a better way .... Much of my reporting I do external to Vision, exporting data and then using different tools to present it.

Reasons for choosing VisionVPM

I knew the customer service would be excellent, the program was comprehensive, the price was good and the purchasing experience was seamless.

Alex

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Vision VPM for small animal practice

Vision VPM has been very useful in standardising our approach to work flow. It has many useful features we are still discovering. We aim to move to paper free by 2023, utilising the Vision App

Pros

Very easy for new staff to pick up, excellent software support, good features

Cons

Sometimes the updates throw us out until we're used to the changes. Can be tricky to get the lab connection integrated after an update.

Response from Covetrus Software Services

Thanks so much for your feedback Alex. This will be shared with the team.

Replied October 2022

Roberto

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Not to sure how to feel about this one.

Pros

With all the recent buzz about all this acquisitions by Henry Schein is a bit hard to evaluate their products with an open mind. Software perse this is your typical PIMS system with more or less the same features like any other.

Cons

I dont like where Shein is heading with their EULA these days seem like they are more keen in what they can use your data for than what their software can help you do with that data. I would be very weary of any Shein software from this point on in the future.

Carlotta

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

VisionVPM

even after 10 years of using vision I'm still learning a lot of new/better ways to do things. A lot of it comes down to being thought the way everyone else in the clinic does it, until you talk to the support team and they teach you a better way to do things.

Pros

VisionVPM is easy to use, and when there are issues the customer support are great help. Easy to get the basics sorted for new staff . A lot of the update have been well thought out and make it easier to use. Can not rave enough about how great the support team are .

Cons

it can be a bit hard to find how to do things, even with the help document

Response from Covetrus Software Services

Thanks for the review Carlotta, appreciate the feedback and this will be passed onto the team.

Replied September 2022

Trinette

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

20 years of using and wont change now

Always get great service from the helpdesk when needed within working hrs - after hrs not so much but hey cant win them all.

Pros

I have used this for nearly 20 years and when I went to Auckland for 5 years used another system that I found a lot more complicated and had flaws. Im still learning all the things Vision can do

Cons

The cost of all the extra add on's but it is a far superior product to any on market and guess its because its well developed that it costs.

Reasons for choosing VisionVPM

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of Vision was a vet alongside the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] here many years ago and why change from a really good system.

Response from Covetrus Software Services

Thank you Trinette for taking out time to leave your review. We are delighted to hear that you have been using VisionVPM for 20 years. We are thrilled that your practice has received excellent support from our team and that any issues have been resolved quickly and efficiently. We will pass your feedback on regarding after-hours support to our team to ensure we continue to provide the best support. Your feedback and suggestions are vital to the continuous improvement of VisionVPM. Our thanks again, Covetrus Team

Replied July 2020

Reann

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Fantastic Customer Service

The Service we receive from Vision is exceptional. While there can occasionally be a wait on the support line, the staff are worth the time. They're quick with solutions and suggestions, are keen to teach how to rectify issues ourselves, and are able to quickly help with anything we can't fix here. Their dedication to helping us ensure our business has all of the system support it needs is fantastic. They're also really lovely!

Pros

Vision has myriad useful features to make managing our day simpler. It's customisable, has automation features to take some of the load off, and is clever.

Cons

There are some ways in which the product isn't very intuitive (no directs links from some windows to others).

Mandy

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

Packed with features yet simple to use.

At Kenwick Vet we had been using Viva software for several years and were happy with the program. There came a point where we felt that we had "out grown" Viva and wanted more in a software package. We needed to be able to streamline how we managed our practice and improve our time management yet improve our client communications. After conversations with Kaye Hannah we decided to explore Vision. We soon discovered that Vision provided us with features we were looking for. The ability to be able to SMS reminders for appointments, vaccinations, worming, flea treatments and so much more was a major drawcard for us. Also the ability to send clinical notes with lab results and X-rays to specialists, or to insurance companies, with basically just a click of a button was a huge bonus. Our transition from Viva to Vision was flawless. All the groundwork is done behind the scenes with no disruption to the hospital. Tracy then came in to train all the staff for 3 days. A roster was set, by Vision and ourselves, to ensure that everyone was available for different aspects of the training which was suited to their roles within the hospital. The training was hands on with Tracy watching to ensure we all understood different aspects of the program. Then came the day we went "live". The feeling in the hospital was borderline panic. Everyone was so nervous. Well, it was a breeze, much to our delight. Tracy stayed on for a few days to assist with any questions which we had and also to make sure that the program was running as it was supposed to. We have now been using Vision for several months and we are still discovering new features within the program (which we probably forgot that Tracy taught us). All our staff have been fantastic with the transition and are so pleased with the many features which make the day to day jobs more efficient, yet simple.

Joan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

xxx

Great - been using for 22 years.

Pros

Fully inegrated with inventory, payroll & general ledger

Cons

some staff disliked the inflexibilty. I am happy with software

Reasons for choosing VisionVPM

Support ofgfereed & fully integrated

Reasons for switching to VisionVPM

Y2K

Response from Covetrus Software Services

Thank you, Joan, for taking out time to leave your review. We are delighted to hear that you have been using VisionVPM for 22 years. Your feedback and suggestions are vital to the continuous improvement of VisionVPM and we appreciate your honest feedback.

Replied February 2021

Danielle

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

A great user-friendly software

Fantastic

Pros

Customer service team super helpful and knowledgeable. Very diverse software, that is user friendly

Cons

Nothing I can think of at this stage, Thanks

Response from Covetrus Software Services

Thank you, Danielle, for taking out time to leave us a fantastic review. We are delighted to hear that you find VisionVPM to be an intuitive and user-friendly software. We will also make sure to pass on your compliments to the support team regarding receiving excellent customer support. Regards, Team Covetrus

Replied August 2020

Andrew

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2015

Great customer support, ongoing improvements

We've been using VisionVPM for eight years now. In that time it has matured into a well-integrated highly functional practice management system. PROS: On top of the usual integration of billing and history and automatic diary notes and reminder generation, features include - automatic import of path results from in-house machines as well as several external pathology services. This works very well, integrates automatically when hospital record reference numbers are added - SMS integration. Great for reminders and general communication with clients. Emails and SMS are now easily accessed for historical reference. Very handy - stock control and automated ordering system. Whilst we don't fully utilise this, it is extremely powerful. Most integrated if you're a Provet customer, but still quite good for other suppliers. - EFTPOS integration. Great for reducing error rate in receiving payments. Uses Tyro who are very competitive with their rates. - client reminder system can be highly automated to reduce wear and tear on reception staff. Fantastic customer service, doing well keeping up with the growth of the customer base. Only the odd time when they've been unavailable due to not enough support staff on the day. CONS: Long promised moving to different platform (from Omnis to .NET) hasn't yet eventuated, leaving only the appointment scheduler looking up to date, and the rest starting to look a little dated. Still fully functional, just a little tired looking. Reporting is a little clunky, but most popularly required reports are available (this is an issue for much accounting software, btw). With a little MSQUERY and Excel nous, a lot of the gaps can be well filled. SUMMARY: All in all very satisfied with the product. Matches functionality of main competitor with more modest hardware requirements. Can see it going forward with Henry Schein's input.

Jess

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Vision VPM Review

Fantastic!

Pros

Very easy to use. Not made too complicated. Changes are made often to keep up to date. Very easy to learn when we changed over from our old system

Cons

Remembering where to access everything because there are so many great things you can do with this program!

Reasons for switching to VisionVPM

To have better access to reporting

Response from Covetrus Software Services

Hi Jess, thanks so much for your feedback. This will be passed onto the team.

Replied September 2022

Jenny

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Vet Services Dannevirke

GREAT

Pros

Ease of use, great reports and GREAT back up service.

Cons

Having to purchase new licenses to be able to use on laptops even though the staff member is already in the system.

Reasons for switching to VisionVPM

Head office instigated

David

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

May 2015

Vision VPM user for 9 years with excellent customer support

The customer and stock modules work well, although it does take some time for new staff to master some of the data entry processes - particularly with multiple animal appointments. Clinical records, reminders, and client information is easily recorded and accessed. Updating to recent versions of the software is very easy. The Controlled drug report is extremely useful - allowing precise reconciliation with the drug register. Integration with Vetscan machines for recording pathology has been a great help. Fully integrating purchases from multiple suppliers into the stock file remains problematic. The inability of Vision software to fully integrate with bank files is an ongoing drawback. This can partly be resolved by using "Tyro" for eftpos integration, however this comes at some cost. The advantages of using Bpay are significantly reduced as the bank payment files cannot be integrated. We are looking to try the Direct Debit payment function soon. Various face-to-face training opportunities are provided, while the overall customer support is very prompt and efficient. Moving to electronic client communication for invoicing and reminders will be our next project.

James

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

May 2015

Installed Vision with the development of a new practice 5 years ago

Pros: * In built general ledger negates the need for entering data into another bookkeeping software. Also allows financials to be accessed immediately with many reporting features *New appointment book very efficient and easy to use *Powerful ability to generate marketing lists *Integration with Provet Connect ordering allows invoices to be downloaded with auto updating of stock levels *Strong text messaging ability for reminders and client communication *Strong stock control ability *Ability to add stock message on invoice makes it easy for clients to understand what each item is for. *Excellent customer service and support. This is important especially after installation *Updates and improvements regularly come out. *System stable rarely requiring restarts Cons *No payroll component activated for Australia. Would be complete package if this was provided. *Can be called 'clicky' -> multiple clicks to get to one area. This has improved lately with the addition of shortcut toolbars *Email system inbuilt is a bit cumbersome to use and needs updating. Do have option of using MS Outlook to email clients *No ipad/touchscreen variant available

Don

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

October 2015

Overall Good, Has some very good components when you know how to use them.

Overall I am happy with Vision and it has help our business to grow. Support is up and down. Sometimes support staff will contradict each other with what they tell us or train us to do, support information provided needs to be more consistent across the board. Vision needs to move to a cloud based product or Vet Businesses will look to move to Vet Software that has this option. Integration with Xero would be a huge step in the right direction. Stock control systems need to improve. Using the ipod to order stock but also to do stocktake would be great and needs to happen to make stock control much more quick and efficient. Diary integrated with the appointment book (.net) would be good. I think the overall appearance of the visions screens, tabs etc.. needs a face lift to look more modern, upgrade needed.

Deborah

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

March 2015

Vision VPM Veterinary Software

I have used Vision VPM since 2006, having previously used other veterinary software including RxWorks. The VISION product is intuitive and easy to use, and is continually being updated and improved. The support staff are courteous and helpful, and the entire team are open to comments and suggestions if there are features that would be useful to add. The process for updating is very simple. The new website portal makes change requests and communication even easier. We have been fortunate enough to participate in some beta testing of new modules, and find the VISION response to problems to be very rapid. I would definitely recommend this product.

Felicity

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

May 2015

Generally Very Good & Easy to Use

Pro's: Easy to make appointments, general day-to-day stuff, new appointment scheduler. Cons: Lack of spell check, report designer, marketing, current balance on general client search. If Brad's away we struggle to get help.

Response from Henry Schein Veterinary

After discussion with WestVETS we discovered they haven't used the free updates to more recent versions that include: Marketing, Spell Checker, Report Designer and that due to the relationship with their implementation team member Brad ("He knows how we work") they prefer to contact him.

Replied June 2015

Vicky

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4