All Blender Reviews

1-25 of 928 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kyle

201 - 500 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed October 2021

Blender Review

User Profile

Supun

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Blender - Design your own dream

If you are a beginner for the design industry and looking for free software with maximum features, Blender is the software that you are looking for. You can learn it free through free video tutorials and also you can use the software for free. Everyone can download and use this software. Therefore now you can make 3D designs or animations as your hobby. At first you may feel uncomfortable with the software but when you have a good practice with the software with the time, this will be great software for your need.

PROS

Blender is one of a best 3D designing and animation software I had have ever used. Since I did some 3D designing and animation projects in last few years, Blender helped me a lot on that. Most important advantage of this software is that the software is open source software. Therefore we can use all features of Blender fully FREE. There are no trials, demos, activations etc. Just download, install and use it freely. Setup of the installer is small in size. Other than 3D designing and animation, Blender can be used to do architectural works, video editing, VFX (Visual Effects), 2D designing and animations and much more graphic and animation related things. Blender can be used to make small computer games also. Many features are included in Blender to make a creative design or animation for the designer. Some of the features are texturing, UV unwrapping, rigging, simulation (fluid, smoke and particle), sculpting etc. Lot of works inside the software is designed to do with keyboard shortcuts to make the working process easier. There are many free video tutorials made for Blender in YouTube and many other websites (i.e. Blender Guru). Therefore Blender can be learnt yourself without any expense. No any prior knowledge about designing is required. You can begin from zero level with blender.

CONS

As Blender is multi-purpose software for design field, this can be little bit complicated for the beginners. It is very hard to access some functions through mouse pointer by going through drop down menus at every time. Since Blender has lot of keyboard shortcuts, we have to practice them. Then the functions can be accessed quickly. There are same keyboard shortcuts for different works when blender is running in specified mode. This can be a mess in beginning. There are some laggings can be seen when the software is doing CPU/GPU intensive processes like rendering and simulating, but it is rare. These types of bugs are fixed through newer updates. Blender does not have a powerful rendering engine when comparing with famous 3D animation software.

Reason for choosing Blender

Blender is free and multi-functional than other software.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Blender is free and multi-functional.

Oussama

Computer Games, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Blender: A Powerful 3D Modeling Tool

Overall, Blender is an incredibly powerful and comprehensive 3D modeling tool. It has a wide variety of features and tools to help users create very complex models quickly and easily. It also has a great user interface that makes it easy to learn and use. However, it can be quite intimidating and slow to new users.

PROS

Blender is an incredibly powerful and comprehensive 3D modeling tool. It has a wide variety of features and tools to help users create very complex models quickly and easily. It also has a great user interface that makes it easy to learn and use.

CONS

While Blender is very powerful, it can be quite intimidating to new users due to its complexity and the sheer number of features it has. It can also be quite slow compared to other 3D modeling software.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Blender is superior to its alternatives as it offers far more features and tools than most other 3D modeling software. It has a wide variety of tools for creating complex models and also has a great user interface that makes it easy to learn and use. Additionally, Blender is continually updated which keeps it at the cutting edge of 3D modeling software.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Powerful but hard to work with it!

I'm annoyed about user interface and menus, I hope that in future the customization will allows you to make deep personalization. But when you need to do something really creative you absolutely need this software.

PROS

You can do really anything! I'm not joking, you ca do all you can imagine and maybe more. We edited videos, make simulations, modeling, textured, and more.

CONS

Menus are terrible. Working is really hard! You have to search on internet the way to operate, if you don't find some tutorials you'll lose your time, you can never find the right way to do a thing!

Josiah

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Best of all time

Amazing. I have no complaibts that haven't been addressed I the 10 years I have used this priceless software. Although it's primary focus is 3D I have found numerous uses for it beyond that. Anything from a full compositer/NLE editor to a scientific calculator.

PROS

I love the speed and customizability that Blender offers. The price of "free forever" is unbeatable. The use cases are endless. And the community is extremely active and supportive.

CONS

I don't have much to complain about, but it is hard to keep up to date with the amount of updates. You to have to dig in deeper or ask for help if you start getting into preference version control.

Micalen

Computer Games, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Blender: 3D modelling and Animation software for developers.

Overall I've had a rather pleasant experience using blender. The amazing lighting system and effects tool really makes this one of the best animation software. 3D modelling is made pretty simple once used to all the tools and functions. There are a lot of features that I haven't used or at least not to its full potential as some features can be very confusing to use. Blender the best free 3D software to use and one of the best overall.

PROS

Blender is free software which is always a pro! It is also one of the best 3D modeling software out there. I love how easy it is to import objects into blender as well how simple conversions are. Blender has an amazing lighting system which I use to create cool animations for game scenes. The rigging system is a very useful tool for creating in-game animations. There are many different tool to help you sculpt and create models. It has a pretty powerful text system which is very different to the text system of a drawing software. This text system can create 3D objects of the text which can then be edited and animated.

CONS

The few cons I have with blender mainly include that the software is not the most user-friendly. It can be very confusing to use at times. There's a lot of features which is create but it lacks tutorials to learn how to make use of those features. Likely other tutorials can be found online. The software can become very system heavy but that only for complicated models.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Blender was the cheapest option which also included the features I needed most.

Michael

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Blender - Blending Open Source and Functionality

I use Blender on a daily basis to design 3D models of objects found in historical dig sites. I also use Blender to tweak the designs of others from many of the popular online modeling communities.

PROS

Blender is free. It's open-source and has an active developing community that works hard to keep the software as up-to-date as possible with today's fast pace. I primarily use Blender to design 3D models for later printing and the built-in tools for model design work wonderfully.

CONS

If you're looking to create 3d movies, be prepared for work. The open-source nature of the software is also a downfall if you're looking to create fully immersive 3d worlds. Plugins and scripts are required for more expansive work, and finding the right plugin is a hassle in itself.

Reason for choosing Blender

Blender is a little more lightweight, as I don't need the heavy lifting of Fusion 360 or AutoCAD.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Blender was a free option that had well-documented support for all of the features that I needed.

User Profile

Deni

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Hollywood quality studio with minimal budget

I really enjoy working with Blender, because there are so many sources of information and learning due to the wide community involved in developing Blender.

PROS

Blender is an open source 3d and animation software so we can participate in developing its features in it. And most importantly it's free.

CONS

We have to learn on our own to determine the right settings in adjustment to the hardware we have.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Initially, I used SketchUp to make interior and building designs, but for hyper-realistic rendering, we have to pay for separate software which is quite expensive. But Blender has it all in one bundle, and all of it is open source or free with very satisfying quality.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Animation and modeling for beginners up to professionals

We are constructing models for games, websites, desktop applications and animations. Once you get the philosophy that goes with the software it integrates nicely into the pipeline and is very easy to use and get results. Having support from some 3D rendering farms on the cloud generates a resource and costs optimization in our production pipeline.

PROS

The community is the best part of this software. There is always someone you can ask, and they are all willing to give a hand or a pointer in the right direction. There is also plenty of materials for almost every possible topic. It has become a fundamental piece of software that many artists use for their daily work and there is always a new plugin that will add more tooling to your creative process. And you can always create, modify or better any thing that you have in mind as it is open source, but it also has API access to almost every functionality.

CONS

I believe that the community has been constructing a great piece of software and has eliminated any thing I could have had against it.

Reasons for switching to Blender

NewTek makes a great product, but their main interest is on video pipelines, so Lightwave3D is not getting much love. And now that VizRT has bought NewTek, things are going slower.

User Profile

Edwin

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Best tool for a 3D developer.

It is completely the best perfect tool if you want to learn 3D. It takes time for one to learn but once to understand how to use it you will never for any other software used to develop 3D models.

PROS

First is its freeness, this software is a free and open source software thus it doesn't restrict you from using it if you have no money. Another thing I like is that it does not only creation of animations but also one can create games using this software. Navigating through its interface is easy with its various features. This software supports various graphic formats compared to related alternatives. Lastly is its versatility, adapting these software is easy and it can easily be changed to develop 2D also.

CONS

Learning curve is really deep but one you understand how to use that software, you would not have any need of these other software's. This really consumes a lot of time since you'll have to look for supporting documents for for you to fully understand the workings of this software, otherwise it is so far the best software I have ever used for 3D modelling.

Reason for choosing Blender

Blender really meets most of the business needs compared Lightwave3D.

User Profile

Abhinav

Verified reviewer

Animation, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Blender : Blend your imagination

Blender: it blends your thought with a wide variety of tools Sets . No other software is compatible or even near with this big giant in an open source community

PROS

As the industry is going to be more professional and cost-effective day by day, the blender offers a wide variety of tools and presets along with plug-ins that suits your ultimate requirement

CONS

Everyone is moving towards extreme professionalism , While blender is providing from a to Z solutions, coming to the point perfection in all the Stream is yet to be achieved, I guess blender achieved 90% accuracy and 10 yet to be achieved

Reasons for switching to Blender

Because it belongs to the open source community and available free of cost nothing can compare this option

Sascha

Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Blender is one of the best open-source software packages available

I've been using Blender for over 10 years now, and it's been quite an adventure. In recent years Blender has quickly gone from being seen as a tool used by amateurs to a fully fledged 3D app. Companies like AMD, Google, and Apple have been contributing large amounts of funding and code to Blender, and it's starting to see use in many production environments. Blender truly makes high quality 3D available to all.

PROS

Blender is free and open source; Recently it has seen a lot more funding and has quickly gained popularity and seen increased use in production environments. Blender is very powerful and tries to be a bit of a swiss army knife. Though it may not be the best at anything, as a jack-of-all-trades it can do a lot. Blender makes 3D accessible to anyone.

CONS

Blender can have a bit of a steep learning curve for new users, and is lacking in some areas or functionality.

Reason for choosing Blender

It was free, and I was able to do pretty much everything I could in lightwave.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Lightwave was too inflexible. I learned to use it in College but quickly sold my key and switched to blender after the course was done.

Freddy

Design, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

A (somewhat) hidden and overlooked gem on professional digital production

We needed a modelling tool for our entry level designers, but we didn't have any spare licenses on any other softwares for them. We chose to let them use Blender instead, and they probably achieved more than we could have done using more traditional software. Now we are all trying to make the switch to Blender mainly from Autodesk programs.

PROS

Blender has all the feature and capabilities of any thousand dollars, enterprise level softwares out there, and for FREE!!! Allowing the modelling, sculpting, the use of parametric plugins, UVing, animating and rendering, without having to switch to any other program.

CONS

With the amount of features that Blender has to offer, you can feel overwhelmed by the amount of options (and hidden options) that you are presented with. At the beginning you'll have to familiarize yourself with the UI concepts, with the shortcuts and the overall workflow of Blender, and that can be a really steep curve to learn for starters.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Didn't have the resources for more Autodesk Licenses, and we allowed the usage of Blender, having equally or even better results.

Paweł

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

The amazing free 3d suite

As any 3d package, Blender has a learning curve, but depending on your needs and interests, you can learn and use it for architectural visualization, video processing with motion and camera tracking, creating models for different purposes (e.g. 3d printing), 2d and 3d animation, visual effects and others. I've used it to create 3d models, to make short animations, to add visual effects to videos, among others. Overall an excellent package that is free to use and is actively developed (and a happy user like me is likely to make the occasional donation).

PROS

Blender is an extremely versatile package that offers all the functionality for 3d and 2d animation, 3d modelling, video production and more. It's a giant in the open source world, a world which doesn't always deliver quality. The funding and development model and the engagement of the community ensure steady development that integrates all the latest technologies in the world of computer graphics. It's become a serious competitor to professional (and expensive) packages such as Maya, 3dsMax, Houdini etc., offering in one package a wider range of tools than many of the commercial solutions. It's also very fast and (relatively) lightweight, runs on all major platforms including Linux, and - last but not least - is completely free. Free of charge, and free to distribute and modify.

CONS

Although the software is constantly and dynamically improving, there are a few usability issues and some users, especially new ones, may find some things counter-intuitive. This has improved greatly with the current 2.80 milestone edition, but there are still some quirks that require getting used to and don't always make for a 100% smooth experience.

Reasons for switching to Blender

I couldn't use the trial version forever and the paid version was far too expensive for a hobbyist user. The user experience wasn't totally satisfactory either, though that was many years ago.

Jonathan

Computer Games, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Gone has the ugly duckling!

I switched to Blender from 3D Studio Max about 8 years ago. At that time I was working with clients that had been using Blender to produce their models & really wanted to give it a fair shot. Back then the UX was a lot more difficult to get used to but once I did I found it hard to switch back. The abilities of the cycles engine also impressed me a lot & I made it a permanent switch. Fast forward to today and Blender has massively been transformed. Whilst the likes of Autodesk Maya often get touted as being an industry standard Blender has often suffered a bad reputation for some of the work that has been produced by the more amateur users. I've always thought this was extremely unfair and a deeper search soon revealed to me the capabilities that Blender has always had. With no entry fee for starting with Blender there was always going to be a much larger pool of work produced in Blender that wouldn't be quite as impressive. I followed the 2.8 update from the early alphas and to release saw the momentum that was building behind it. This wasnt just a minor release, it was a massive milestone. For new users the interface is now much more friendly and offers a nice middle ground to those transferring skillsets from similar 3D Suites (3DS Max, Autodesk Maya, ZBrush), realtime rendering is a gamechanger & the community around Blender has only grown stronger with many top artists now using it for their work daily.

PROS

Extremely powerful 3D suite, perfect customization for viewport displays, excellent sculpting abilities, realtime rendering with eevee, massively improved interface, plenty of plugins.

CONS

I still feel that the rigging & animation options are a little limited without plugins. I would like to see an update focusing on this with further content from the developers on how best to use them. Little in this area is covered by the community.

Reasons for switching to Blender

Client request

Kamil

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Blender - Jack of all trades

PROS

Blender's extensive capabilities cover a wide range of tasks. The convenience of editing renders directly without exporting, coupled with the node-based workflow that retains edits during re-rendering, enhances the process's efficiency. The integrated rendering engines provide practical solutions for both quick previews and full scene rendering. Blender's animation toolset excels in visualizing 3D designs, even though it may require external addons to compete with specialized software. Its toolkit encompasses modeling, sculpting, rendering, and editing, allowing you to complete entire projects within Blender. Of course you can't talk about blender, without mentioning it's open-source nature. In summary, it serves as a versatile tool, akin to a Swiss knife of 3D software, offering an accessible choice for hobbyists, freelancers, and small studios seeking quality without high costs

CONS

While Blender's video editing capabilities are useful, they might not match the depth of specialized software. For achieving a polished final result, I'd personally switch to other, dedicated tools. On top of that, despite Blender's comprehensive animation features, the reliance on external addons for a competitive edge can be limiting. The learning curve is expected given the software's robustness, but the vast community support aids the learning process.

Tushant

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

It is my Go-To software to do any complex graphics and animation work.

This is one of the core softwares that I use, being cost effective (that is, "Free") as well as powerful in a single package! Not only do I save a lot of money by sticking to this I also make significantly more without having to rely or specialized software just to get the job done. My workflow has also improved, and I'm able to quickly create prototypes, edits and complete works of art with a single tool.

PROS

I've used Blender for over 8 years now, and it has rarely failed me. Being the jack of all trades, it not only possesses quick modelling and animation tools, but it also has a powerful shader system as well as the ability to sculpt. It can even be enhanced to limitless degrees with add-ons, and recently there has even been the Armory3D Engine that can help create games with it. I also rarely find myself having to rely on any external video editor because Blender's internal VSE often gets the job done for me, even though it can take some time to know one's way around it. Plus, I'm in love with Blender's modular interface, allowing me to customize it depending on my situations as I see fit.

CONS

Sadly, despite the modularity of the interface, it can feel a bit cluttered and confusing to get around at times (an issue which will likely be fixed by the time version 2.8 comes around), and due to its unconventional way of handling things, it can be a little harder to learn. Also, because it's a jack of all trades, one may expect it to be a master of none, which can be plain to see while sculpting, being not as powerful as ZBrush nor as stable when handling heavy meshes. Its compositing, too, while a welcome addition to quickly customize one's render, can feel very unintuitive at times. There's also very limited and imprecise means to control image sequences as texture option which often bothers me, but the fact that it even has that feature to begin with is something I that makes me turn a blind eye to this last point.

User Profile

Tchameni

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

It can be very hard to learn

Blender is good for advanced motion graphic design. It's free and easily accessible.

PROS

Software surf is a progressive search and I have done a lot of testing and trying hoping to fall on a perfect fit. I've tried Blender for a few months and got to discover some of its coolest features.-Blender is open-source and free for almost anyone with a good PC to use. This makes it attractive because users with no budget get to work with it too.- It's cross-platform compatible: It works on popular operating systems like macOS, Windows, and Linux- providing users with extra flexibility as they can work with their preferred operating systems.- It also provides a comprehensive feature set for modeling, sculpting, animation, rendering, compositing, and video editing, making it a versatile all-in-one solution for designers.- There are regular updates and new features are constantly introduced or improved in the software which can be essential for renovating user experience.- There is great support from the community like tutorials and resources that's why I rated it excellent.

CONS

Here are some of the major reasons why I switched from using Blender:- Its interface is non-standard: It has a completely different user interface that can be very difficult to master. Features are too nested and this can be overwhelming as you'll have to go through multiple features to use a specific one.- It's less supported in the market: It's true Blender is quite popular and perhaps, grows at a steady rate, however, it's still deferred in terms of widespread in the market as a lot of professionals tend to prefer other tools like Maya, After Effects or Cinema 4D. A potential reason is that these are hard to learn and are easily adaptable.

Abhijit

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE