User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(5)

5

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Browse Toonly Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -35 of 15 results

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Dan from Clarke Technologies LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Quick way to explain ideas

Used as explainer for new business and to create a promo for a screenplay.

Pros

Ability to buy one-time license for a fixed fee, plus free updates. Easy to create new comic-book-like stories to explain concepts and ideas. Large selection of scenes, characters and props.

Cons

Not able to modify actions of characters beyond those shipped with product.

Reasons for Switching to Toonly

Not really a switch as much as an option. I use Toonly as an option to Doodly for simpler tasks and for an easier way to do simple animations.

December 2020

Jyng from IroNicktoons

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Animation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Not very stunning, but Toonly can deliver a decent and personalized explainer video.

I use Toonly whenever the project I am working on requires more character poses for a target niche. Toonly truly delivers flexibility and customization.

Pros

The best part of Toonly is its wide selection of character poses even for a standard version. I also love the lipsync feature which is not available on most animations sofware.

Cons

The characters look very simple, flat and outdated. The software also lags a lot on longer (more than 1 minute) videos which can be time consuming.

Reasons for Choosing Toonly

Videoscribe is a a whiteboard video creating software. I needed colored animation software.

July 2020

eli from Logistics and Supply Chain

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Very easy to use.

Pros

It is quite easy to use. the interface is user friendly and can be used with very little training.

Cons

The toons and pictures available for use are very limiting i have to import from outside to get work done.

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Eldar from E.S.G.P international

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2021

Toonly is a great tool for small business and Individuals who want a animation presentation

Pros

Anyone with a basic knowledge of editing can create their own animated presentation, also its the only tool in this category that I found for a one-time payment. The support is great and the team tries to improve the software with updates every few weeks. I using it to create a marketing videos for my business and also lessons videos for my digital course It is very useful and gives a low budget solution.

Cons

There is a nice selection of animations for the characters but not all the characters get all of them, and if you are interested in using a particular character it may not have the animation you need. Because all creators use the same characters, it may be not unique if they will consider to add a character creation tool it can be great. Editing the sound on the timeline may feel uncomfortable and inflexible.

June 2021

User Profile Picture

Christian from Asociación Colibrí

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Animación sin ser diseñador

Es un muy buen programa para crear videos animados, simples pero efectivos para la educación o marketing.

Pros

Toonly es una muy buena opción si no tienes mucho presupuesto para el marketing digital de tu empresa, sus personajes en diseño 2D, están muy bien hechos y por el precio que tiene el software lo coloca en una muy buena opción de compra. La curva de aprendizaje no es muy difícil por lo que en poco tiempo podrás crear muy buenos videos animados. Los personajes además de realizar muchas acciones, también tienen la opción de Lip Sync lo cual es una verdadera ayuda en videos educativos y explicativos. Una nueva actualización, permite personalizar la ropa de los personajes a los de tu marca.

Cons

Si bien es un muy buen programa para bolsillos ajustados, la interfaz y el tablero han ido quedando un poco desactualizados y en algunos momentos se ven muy simples. Que no se agregan personajes con mucha frecuencia.

July 2020

James from KnowledgePassion, Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2020

Basic 2D Character Animations

Pros

A fine tool for animation video projects requiring only 2D character animation. Access to time line functionality makes simple animation projects easier than in PowerPoint. Also fun to lip sync characters with a spoken script.

Cons

The learning curve can be a little steep for first time users and the supplied tutorials are very basic. Would love to see far more advanced tutorials to take advantage of all that Toonly has to offer.

February 2021

Joanne from Core Illumination Pty ltd

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Toonly - make videos easily

Toonly has made it easy to make videos to assist with information or marketing purposes for the Company.

Pros

Toonly enables you to make a video with sound really, really easily. You don't need any experience at all in making videos. You can put music background, as well as record you speaking.

Cons

There isn't the ability to generate subtitles within Toonly based on what is spoken. This feature you need to use another tool to do on top of your Toonly video.

Reasons for Choosing Toonly

Seemed easier to use.

June 2021

ivana from OTP bank

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Perfect for a beginner video creator

it is very fast and easy to create animated explanatory videos.. there is also included royalty-free music what is really great value for money - especially when you purchase it while the special promo discount... a big plus is also relatively frequent updates including new objects, characters, animations

Pros

It is really easy to use, even for a person who has never made a video before

Cons

I feel like there is not enough fonts and text animations

June 2020

Natalie from Jonahs Project CIC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

Limited Package - Could be better

It is good for short videos that are not for a diverse audience but for us it didn't work out so well.

Pros

This was advertised on Instagram as a one time fee for the software and it was a great price. We jumped at the chance mainly due to the price offered and on using the software it was as stated easy to use and did what we expected.

Cons

As we got deeper into the software we found that although we had the software the limitations we had on characters/images and sounds made the software lose appeal very swiftly, it almost became a waste of money due to having to not having what we expected from the advertisement. For the people we engage, we need diversity and a good database of characters, this appears that we would have to buy additional features.

November 2020

Jaycee from Vintage Solutions, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2020

Could be great for you

Pros

I liked how easy the software is to use.

Cons

I am not sure if this is really a con but the software did not really match my brand.

October 2021

Eduardo from The Six-Yeat Kugel High School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

My review of Toonly

Very good. I have created videos, some o which I have uploaded on the net and shared), and have not had to overcome many problems. I believe that as I get more practice, I will improve. The Facebook group that has been opened for Toonly users has proven to be very helpful, too

Pros

Creating videos with voice-over with Toonly id easy. This makes me create videos that can grab the attention of my English as Foreign Language learners (pupils in High School and teachers in Professional DEvelopment workshops I create and facilitate)

Cons

I find it difficult to get the characters to move their lips (yet I guess it is a question of practice)

November 2020

Kris from Tree of Life Open Bible Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Quick and Easy to use

Great support is available and they even teach how to do advanced actions. I used Toonly to create a 3 minute informational presentation that went over very well.

Pros

Very easy to use. It's very easy to move things on the timeline. It's fun to create announcements with this software. I like that I was able to purchase a lifetime update subscription.

Cons

Need more actions on characters. No animals/pets for characters.

Reasons for Choosing Toonly

Because of the characters and backgrounds included and ease of use.

November 2021

Alexandru from "M. Kogalniceanu" High School Vaslui Romania

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Excellent!

I created many short movies introducing my webinars for French teachers, New Technologies in Education and Didactic Management.

Pros

It's a work of excellence! Very professional and intuitive!

Cons

I would like to create new characters inside the software and to be able to design other

August 2021

Takunda from Taksa Global

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Toonly review

Pros

Toonly's animation feature is the most impactful and allowed me to make useful explainer videos.

Cons

Toonly requires a fast and reliable internet and may lag if the internet lapses a little. Moreover, downloading larger video files takes a while.

December 2020

Vivek from The Unreported

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2020

Waste of Money

Waste of money. And feel hell if you will purchase only basic version.

Pros

Pricing of additional features. 'Enterprise version'

Cons

No Updates since purchase. No new text effect.