All Toonly Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Hossamudin

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

The easiest 2D animation software out there.

Great!

PROS

I like how easy it is creating an explainer video for my youtube channel.

CONS

Well, the animations, and characters are limited.

Reasons for switching to Toonly

Well, powtoon is good but it is very very expensive compared to toonly.

Jyng

Animation, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Not very stunning, but Toonly can deliver a decent and personalized explainer video.

I use Toonly whenever the project I am working on requires more character poses for a target niche. Toonly truly delivers flexibility and customization.

PROS

The best part of Toonly is its wide selection of character poses even for a standard version. I also love the lipsync feature which is not available on most animations sofware.

CONS

The characters look very simple, flat and outdated. The software also lags a lot on longer (more than 1 minute) videos which can be time consuming.

Reason for choosing Toonly

Videoscribe is a a whiteboard video creating software. I needed colored animation software.

Krishnan

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2022

An average product.

PROS

Though the software is easy to use, it lacks the additional and critical features required for creating animated videos. Characters are 2D only.

CONS

There are better softwares in the market though they are slightly pricey.

Darlene

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

High Learning Curve and Difficult to Master

Initially, I enjoyed using Toonly. I had great ideas and plans for how I could use the cartoon software in my author/training business. But the more I used it, the more I began to be frustrated with the lack of templates and the gap between what I knew how to do and what I saw the product should be able to do. It was hard to create a product that was not cheap looking, unprofessional, and lacking in style. In order to get an excellent product, too much time was required, but there was no training to help users get that excellent end-product. Most people using the product are trying to start up something, be it a restaurant or some sort of educational training. But the promises of how a Toonly video can help in this start up actually backfire and became detrimental to the start-up because there was no theory-training videos to enable the user to make the product feel and look professional. If it were simply marketed to people trained in design, I wouldn't be here writing this review. I used their sister product Doodly, found out about this, and eagerly bought it as well. I had hoped to include both types in my training videos. In the end, I stopped using both products because it took too much time for the low quality that resulted. Yes, it's that I didn't study design. But it's also because they promoted it to me without giving me the additional tools I needed to make of the videos what I could. To be fair, compared to Doodly, this end product is easier to master.

PROS

The cute videos that can possibly result. It's an amazing idea to be able to animate cartoons to use for business start-ups or education.

CONS

The lack of training in how to create a masterful product as well as the relative lack of template designs to use.

Victor

Animation, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

An impressive 2D animation software for my explainer videos!

Toonly is just one of the best 2D video software you can find online! I own several different video software and among them, I have Doodly as a doodle software and Toonly as a 2D animation software both from Bryxen! I was looking online for video creating software and I tried many of them and eventually, I kept only the ones I truly found useful and with a great team behind them! I have Toonly and I love it! I never had even one thought to ask for a refund because it is what I need. I advise everyone who comes across Toonly just to try it 30 days risk-free (is what I did until I found the good software I needed and the ones I loved I kept) so don't just believe me, go and try it 100% risk-free! They do refund you 100% of your investment if you don't like it, but you WILL! I have Enterprise Membership for both Doodly and Toonly! Love it! It is a 5 Star! They constantly work on improvement and periodically release new updates! Thank you Toonly!

PROS

I like the ease I can animate the characters, props and all elements inside the software. I like the pre-made scenes that I can build my scenes on. I like the multitude of actions that the characters have. I like the fact that it is a drag & drop software and I like the fact that it is super intuitive.

CONS

I really do like everything about Toonly, I really don't find anything to dislike!

User Profile

Eldar

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2021

Toonly is a great tool for small business and Individuals who want a animation presentation

PROS

Anyone with a basic knowledge of editing can create their own animated presentation, also its the only tool in this category that I found for a one-time payment. The support is great and the team tries to improve the software with updates every few weeks. I using it to create a marketing videos for my business and also lessons videos for my digital course It is very useful and gives a low budget solution.

CONS

There is a nice selection of animations for the characters but not all the characters get all of them, and if you are interested in using a particular character it may not have the animation you need. Because all creators use the same characters, it may be not unique if they will consider to add a character creation tool it can be great. Editing the sound on the timeline may feel uncomfortable and inflexible.

James

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2020

Basic 2D Character Animations

PROS

A fine tool for animation video projects requiring only 2D character animation. Access to time line functionality makes simple animation projects easier than in PowerPoint. Also fun to lip sync characters with a spoken script.

CONS

The learning curve can be a little steep for first time users and the supplied tutorials are very basic. Would love to see far more advanced tutorials to take advantage of all that Toonly has to offer.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Good software to make 2D explainer videos

When we want to make 2D explainer videos, Toonly is definitely our best tool for them.

PROS

Toonly is so far the best program to make animated explainer videos, with it's price. It is quite easy to use, there is quite a lot ready made backgrounds and learning curve is not too big. Price is right comparing what you get. Lip-sync is very good.

CONS

There could always be more different characters and items, or possibility to buy more personalized ones. There could be more ready made 'templates' or 'stories' which we could use immediately (just change texts and another small things) and we would also learn from them.

ivana

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Perfect for a beginner video creator

it is very fast and easy to create animated explanatory videos.. there is also included royalty-free music what is really great value for money - especially when you purchase it while the special promo discount... a big plus is also relatively frequent updates including new objects, characters, animations

PROS

It is really easy to use, even for a person who has never made a video before

CONS

I feel like there is not enough fonts and text animations

Ronald

Retail, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Toonly is a ton of fun and a great online tool

PROS

Its so much fun using this app to make cartoons and comic type art. You can do more than that, but that is what I like to do with it.

CONS

No cons to list. I am completely satisfied with my purchase

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Si quiere una animación de Negocios

El producto es genial para la creación de videos de todo lo que quieras explicar de una manera sencilla y que sea de interesante para tu público objetivo.

PROS

- La facilidad de crear videos- Algunas funcionalidades que permiten la creación de videos animados mucho rápido.- Es genial para crear esos videos únicos de Negocios, se ven muy profesionales y sin un conocimiento avanzado de animación.- El precio, si encuentras una oferta puedes verlo con pago único- Las diferentes opciones de incluir imágenes a color en su galería de fondos.

CONS

- Que no esté en otro idioma aparte de Inglés- Los tiempos por escena están muy limitados, cosa que agregaría más tiempo o posibilidades entre escena.- La Galería de imágenes le falta un poco más de contenido, debería disponer de una biblioteca mayor.

Matt

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Beginner's Best Choice. Definitely Get the Job Done.

If you get the Enterprise version, which is an upsell option for Toonly, you will have a much more complete set of characters to use. I like Toonly with the Enterprise version. I think you can get the job done in a relatively short period of time (within an hour even for beginners). But as you progress, the editing time will definitely be much shorter as you can reuse many assets from scene to scene. Also, the lipsync function is absolutely great...!!

PROS

I recently tried Toonly, an animation creator, and found it to be very easy to use. It had a great user interface and the tutorials were extremely helpful when it came to creating animations. I was able to make some really cool animations with minimal effort. The library of characters and templates makes it easy to customize videos for any project. Overall I am really impressed with the quality of the animations that I created using Toonly and would definitely recommend it.

CONS

If the development team can more "choice of action" for every character, that would be great.

User Profile

Christian

Verified reviewer

Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Animación sin ser diseñador

Es un muy buen programa para crear videos animados, simples pero efectivos para la educación o marketing.

PROS

Toonly es una muy buena opción si no tienes mucho presupuesto para el marketing digital de tu empresa, sus personajes en diseño 2D, están muy bien hechos y por el precio que tiene el software lo coloca en una muy buena opción de compra. La curva de aprendizaje no es muy difícil por lo que en poco tiempo podrás crear muy buenos videos animados. Los personajes además de realizar muchas acciones, también tienen la opción de Lip Sync lo cual es una verdadera ayuda en videos educativos y explicativos. Una nueva actualización, permite personalizar la ropa de los personajes a los de tu marca.

CONS

Si bien es un muy buen programa para bolsillos ajustados, la interfaz y el tablero han ido quedando un poco desactualizados y en algunos momentos se ven muy simples. Que no se agregan personajes con mucha frecuencia.

User Profile

Hector

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Excelente para crear animaciones y videos explicativos

Esta herramienta es útil para los que necesitamos crear contenido visualmente atractivo para presentaciones, videos de marketing, tutoriales, cursos en línea y más. Con Toonly, podemos crear animaciones personalizadas, agregar texto y efectos de sonido, y exportar videos en varios formatos para compartir en línea o en presentaciones.

PROS

Toonly es una herramienta fácil de usar para crear animaciones y videos explicativos de manera rápida y efectiva.

CONS

Las plantillas predefinidas pueden ser limitantes para aquellos que buscamos una mayor personalización en nuestras animaciones.

Sebastian

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Is agood program, updates missing since change of owners

I think is a great tool, worried what the future whit new owners.

PROS

Characters are its strong point, a lot of characters, a lot of animations, lipsync synchronization, and facial emotions.

CONS

- Only one style of characters, if you don't like that style you can´t do anything.- Objects and backgrounds, are limited- Is now Nov 2022, they change owners, and since then there are no updates, wondering if at any moment is not profitable to new users and will die, and they don't trust too much this product as they make they promotional videos with other tools, and when they create toonly videos for they own promotion they just look like random animations appearing anywhere.

Jodie

Animation, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2023

geen aanrader

niet goed, gelimineerd aantal keuze's, maar eenmalig de keuze om te upgraden. Dit moet je doen voordat je toonly ooit hebt gebruikt. Je zou binnen 30 dagen een refund moeten kunnen krijgen door te mailen naar support@toonly.com, maar dit emailadres blijkt niet te werken.

PROS

leuke animaties.

CONS

Ik wilde mijn aankoop annuleren en de refund ontvangen. Daarom nam ik contact op met support@toonly.com - maar dit e-mailadres bleek niet te werken

Joanne

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Toonly - make videos easily

Toonly has made it easy to make videos to assist with information or marketing purposes for the Company.

PROS

Toonly enables you to make a video with sound really, really easily. You don't need any experience at all in making videos. You can put music background, as well as record you speaking.

CONS

There isn't the ability to generate subtitles within Toonly based on what is spoken. This feature you need to use another tool to do on top of your Toonly video.

Reason for choosing Toonly

Seemed easier to use.

Andre

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE