All Cloudways Reviews

1-25 of 83 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dayley

Verified reviewer

Building Materials, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Above & Beyond!

Overall I cannot really fault Cloudways. Their agents are fast at responding, know exactly how to fix problems that may occur, their pricing is clear and offered as a pay-as-you-go service so you only pay for what you use instead of buying a plan which you may never fill, their servers are easily scalable, they offer a wide variety of different servers to choose from; Digital Ocean, Google Cloud, AWS, VULTR, Linode, and AWS. They also throw in the ability to manage email addresses by using their third party affiliates Rackspace, they offer additional addons for managing DNS with another affiliate DNS Made Easy... basically, you can have everything managed by the Cloudways team so that you can worry less about your servers and hosting, giving you more time and freedom to spend on other matters of your business. Which is what every business needs.

PROS

They simplify absolutely everything for the user. So no more typical cPanel to navigate around servers and websites that you host, instead you have their own beautifully laid out, clean, and most importantly *understandable* menu system which is visually eye-pleasing. Simplicity at its best.

CONS

Although they have their live chat where there is always an agent waiting to help 24/7 (which most of the agents can answer your questions and resolve your problems there and then), the only downfall is their ticketing system. If your problem is a little more complexed and requires additional help, a ticket must be opened. The ticketing system can take a day or two to get a reply (which is no good if your website is experiencing problems and is down at that time).

Reasons for switching to Cloudways

The main reason I made the switch from my old host to Cloudways was because of the 24 hour support that Cloudways offer, and I could get a response to any question I may have immediately via live chat instead of waiting a day to be presented with what was often a pointless reply. I also like the simplicity and minimalistic layout of everything on the Cloudways system which simplifies what is usually a mind-boggling task with other hosts system layouts. Cloudways is extremely user-friendly compared to many previous hosts I have been with, thats for sure!

Pedro

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Cloud hosting for beginners and experts

it has been good, there are some features and ux improvements i wish It had, but overall I think it's worth it, my websites load fast and that's the most important thing

PROS

I like how you can be in control of all aspects of the server and the applications you run on it

CONS

The UX isn't as intuitive as it looks, and there are many similar options when you are setting up which makes it hard to choose a package

Reason for choosing Cloudways

Hostinger is very cheap, so cheap that it makes me doubt it's quality, but I did also pick up a server there just to have email hosting since cloudways doesn't have this feature for some reason

Reasons for switching to Cloudways

I came from siteground which I actually liked alot but it got very expensive and they were Doinf some changes which lead to alot of performance issues, I wanted to try something new and save money at the same time, after some research and the free trial, I decided to give it a go and have been very Content, but I wish there was a wordpress plugin to migrate easier

David

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2024

CLOUDWAYS ARE THIEVES

PROS

I guess if I owned Cloudways I would like how overpriced they are, because I could just steal customers money and get super rich.

CONS

Following their buyout by DigitalOcean I recieved my first and only phone call from Cloudways, asking if I would like a discount on the next 3 months of hosting. They explained that my site would be migrated from Vultr to DigitalOcean for free, seamlessly and without any issue. The migration was a joke, many of my regular customers got double charged as both servers were running concurrently, issues that took me hours to personally fix! This also hurt my reputation with customers, many refunds had to be given obviously! Then came the real kick. Cloudways DOUBLE CHARGED ME for both servers (the agreement was that I would get 14 days to close my old server without charge, which I did in 7 days). They took money from my account with authorisation. When I asked for a refund they flat out refused and only replied with this "Due to the nature of locked revenue, refunds are not possible". I have contacted them at least 10+ times via email / online chat to try and get this fixed but noone cares. They have said they would call me, they do not. Everything is misdirection and lies. Noone even responsed to my first email for 16 days!...and the service chat people say they are unable to help with billing matters - so I got the full runaround and deflection. Due to the problems with Cloudways I have moved my hosting to another provider where I have a much faster server (and the website is at least 2x faster), and the cost is HALF of what I was paying at Cloudways. If you're considering Cloudways, DON'T DO IT. Look at xCloud (xcloud.host), half the price, double the speed. Cloudways still owe me money but they refuse to refund. I'm now opening a transaction dispute with my bank as it is clearly theft and against the agreement. They are sticking with this "Upon authorizing your credit card on Cloudways, you acknowledge and agree to the terms and conditions for automatic debiting."..... But taking more than agreed from my account is illegal and they need to provide refunds!

Reason for choosing Cloudways

A Poor Recommendation (probably by someone getting an affiliate payment)

Marc

Cosmetics, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Managed Webhosting for a good price with a very accessible server team.

I was able to run 2 E-commerce applications on one server with excellent performance. I like how they integrate Email and Cloudways Enterprise CDN into your server solution.

PROS

I do appreciate the customer service via chat. Usually, they respond in less than 5 min and are able to fix issues, that cause downtime on the website.

CONS

some of the administrative options like file and folder permissions can only be accessed through Customer Service. It be nice to be able to get that done by the user.

Reason for choosing Cloudways

you have a dedicated Server VM with good service.

Reasons for switching to Cloudways

nothing like having an expert that can quickly help you with Server and application issues.

Mohammed

Business Supplies and Equipment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Super System Super Fast Hosting

PROS

Fantastic user platform with fast hosting. Web Software to manage AWS, Linide or Google servers are simplified

CONS

Communication could be better. Payment option for PayPal recurring need to be introduced

Reasons for switching to Cloudways

Server management simplified and saves time managing and maintaining the servers

User Profile

Rune

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

One of the BEST hosts

I have used them for over 3-4 years or so now. They have an excellent hosting service which delivers a ton of value. I have been pleased with their service, so I am recommending them to anyone who is not afraid to do a little setup on their own. Which, I might add, is easy-peasy if you like a bit of tech.

PROS

I like the fact that I can pay little... And get MUCHO! They charge very little for the specifications they give. Better than WP-Engine, and at a lower price. I spend a few months browsing hosting companies before I landed on them. They have been good to me most of the time. Nobody is perfect, but the tech is. And support is mostly great as well.

CONS

In the beginning, support was swift, like a push of a button... Nowadays, they have a a little more to do. This results in waiting for the users. When you are new to the platform, you may need more support. I don't use it much now, but I did chat a bit back and forth with them on several occasion. Now, you can expect to wait a bit before an agent is ready to talk, and while you do, you can expect to wait a bit after you have typed what you needed to in the chat. Not really fond of waiting in general.

Reasons for switching to Cloudways

I needed a private server as my service was on a shared hosting solution. I noticed I needed it, and started looking for a better alternative. Siteground was the next option for shared hosting, but I really needed a private server so I could scale my web traffic without any hickups.

User Profile

Joao

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Outstanding Service

I would definitely recommend CloudWays to anyone that's looking for a place where to host their websites. It's way better and easier to use than any other server/cloud/hosting company.

PROS

I've been using CloudWays for a long time now, basically since they started and never had any issues so far. They always have good deals for new users, and prices have always been really good for the service they provide. You can pay as you go, which means that you only pay for what you use. They definitely make the life of a developer way easier, making it easy for anyone (even if you don't have experience) to install any CMS and/or PHP based system. Ohhh and let's not forget.. their customer service is a 10/10.

CONS

So far I have not found anything bad about CloudWays, specially now that they just updated their website making it faster and even easier to use. If you're used to do everything through cPanel, get ready to learn how to manage your servers/websites differently (It will only take few minutes if you consider yourself a fast learner).

User Profile

Hilary

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Cloudways is amazing hosting.

I will be using them moving forward. Highly recommend.

PROS

1) pay as you go. A bit confusing but honestly amazing and makes the most sense. 2) Great customer support. I thought I’d need to pay for their premium support but haven’t seen a need yet. Their people are amazing and easy to reach out to. 3) setting up staging sites is so easy. I have multiple ones too for different things. It’s great. 4) Great integration with GitHub as well.

CONS

It’s complicated to set up. Email doesn’t come with it, either does a domain. This wasn’t a problem for me but I can see other users having this issue.

Reason for choosing Cloudways

It’s just better, I’ve used the other hosting services. Cloudways is far far beyond these

Reasons for switching to Cloudways

WPEngine was super expensive and not worth the price.

User Profile

Syed Tauqeer Haider

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Best Hosting site

it is mixed experience with Cloudways only if they maintain their support system it become very good for local man like me.

PROS

the best host server providing i use since last few years. it it very helpful up-front server setup, integrated robust security and caching tools which make it very user friendly application. its give website migration plugin free which helps to migrate without any technical knowledge.

CONS

only thing which i found bad or least is support system of Cloudways is not very good it take much more time like others.

User Profile

Abel

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Very simple to use

It's not bad. I'm still with them. The value is just too much of an offer to pass up without considering.

PROS

For as long as I can remember, its not been easy to deploy cloud software without having deep knowledge about cloud computing and administration skills. Cloudways takes all those hassles and bundles it into a single web hosing company that provides hosting services from some of the best names in the business. Google, Amazon AWS, Vultr, Linode, and Digital Ocean. I personally use Vultr and its very easy to use and provides great value for the money. Recommended.

CONS

With companies like this, there are a lot of issues. Unlike cpanel/shared hosting where I was coming from I never had to pay for custom emails or backups, they always took care of DNS for me too and I didn't have to pay. On Cloudways you have to pay for all of these, even for offsite backups. However cheap, you still have to pay.

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Rock solid and easy, but expensive

Very happy. Support has been very helpful and responsive. Worth the added cost.

PROS

It allowed us to deploy cloud hosting servers quickly and easily. It offered a variety of platforms such as Digital Ocean and Vultr. Creating applications was one click and very fast.

CONS

The cost. You pay a very high premium for Cloudways to be the middleware between you and the cloud platforms they offer. This ease of use comes with a high pricetag.

Reason for choosing Cloudways

Cloudways offered easier setup and deployment along with management aspects.

Shaun

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Impressive platform for Wordpress hosting with pedestrian support

I utilized Cloudways for Wordpress + Woocommerce hosting.

PROS

The idea of a platform that exposes semi-managed hosting on top of multiple providers (DigitalOcean, GCP, AWS, Vultr, Linode, etc) is very impressive and being able to choose and experiment with different underlying providers is quite appealing. The portal they expose is fully custom and has most of what you would want and they provide relatively easy ssh access as well. Their "clone app" feature will copy your production Wordpress site and spin up a new staging site with a few clicks and it does a good job.

CONS

The portal has a very convenient chat feature with the support engineers and for very simple requests/problems that are in their wheelhouse it is a very quick way to get help - however, I found that most of my requests were outside of their support's wheelhouse, so I was consistently let down. This is a managed service so I wasn't coming at them with crazy requests or anything, but sometimes they simple just didn't have enough experience to understand what I was saying and asking for. So frustrating. Also second level support is much, much slower to respond even during an outage. The server configuration did not allow for easy setup of some common tools, one in particular is modern nodejs. After asking 3 different support people for help I concluded it was a futile effort as they didn't really understand. The best I could get was an ancient version of nodejs which didn't fit my requirement.

Reason for choosing Cloudways

Cloudways was chosen by another lead before I joined my current company.

Ben

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Fully managed, easy to use.

Takes the effort out of web hosting. Not the ultimate fastest stack in the world, but leagues above shared hosting and on par with other managed hosts like MainWP etc. You do pay for the convenience, but if your main business is not server management, it's worth it!

PROS

The dashboard is incredibly friendly to use, and has a lot of features. Deep integration with server providers means almost anything you would ever need to do can be handled through the dashboard. Cloning, staging and backups are especially good.

CONS

The price is steep, especially for more powerful servers. Basically double the upstream provider cost.Also, cloudways own the server er you use. It is provisioned under their account, not yours. So if you ever leave cloudways you must move server, you can't just disconnect cloudways.

Marcel

Online Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Best managed hosting

Great

PROS

Absolutely the best service. Incrediable fast help on the chat. Great and reliable hosting. Yes, they charge a bit extra on top of the service providers but it's well worth it

CONS

None really none none none noneNone really none none none noneNone really none none none none

Reason for choosing Cloudways

I have tried like 10 hosting providers. DigitalOcean is absolutely great but requires technical knowledge and you need to maintain it yourself. Cloudways is on top of DO (or other reliable cloud providers) and takes away all the manual work whilst maintaining incredibly reliable hosting. Best hosting experience ever for me!

James

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Accesible cloud hosting with reliable support

I was in two minds when it came to trialling cloudways; there were some bad reviews floating around but all with an older date to them. I'm glad I made use of the trial as I've had nothing but good touchpoints with them, and I've had everything I need out of spinning up an affordable server with solid performance.

PROS

- Very affordable - 24/7 support - Free trial - Easy migration - Integrated staging

CONS

I've had zero problems or extra desires from Cloudways as of yet.

Josias

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Cloudways

PROS

This software is easy to use reliable and also affordable for me there are better hosting platforms than cloudways in terms of price it beats all records

CONS

The disadvantage is that it the ability to send emails by users

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

One of the most easiest Manage Cloud Hosting providers

PROS

The Easiest Configuration Setup: It was a difficult to setup and maintain cloud servers but Cloudways made things very easy for their users that means you don't need to be expert to configured or maintain your virtual serves. I have been doing R&D on different Managed cloud hosting services and I have not found any similarity in term of ease, which Cloudways is giving to their users. 24/7 Support Available: Customer support has been a core part of Cloudways pitch since they were founded. Their CS staff is well train; and they have the solution right away of any technical difficulties. They are available on Chat & Tickets. You may reach them via Chat for immediate solution. Best Features: Free Trail You can install unlimited applications They provide auto back up for websites. User-friendly panel.

CONS

There really hasn't been any major issues. They can get more business, if training material provided for the layman users.

Christopher

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: