All cPanel & WHM Reviews

1-25 of 149 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Josh

Internet, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2022

Great product but bummed by the price hike.

User Profile

Shaunak

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

One of the best UI based panel to manage your server

I am using cPanel for almost 6+ years now, and it is the only convenient way to manage my servers. Even with reseller hosting, I look for cPanels. That is why I never prefer Hostinger or GoDaddy. Their management panel is more like a portal and it is not much useful. I love cPanel for its simplicity and the job it does.

PROS

When I was new to hosting and server management, cPanel was first among the tools that I used. cPanel is so easy to use that any neophyte with minimalistic knowledge can use it without any hassles. They timely provide UI and icons update. There is a wide variety of plugins like SSL vendors, App installers, Metrics, etc. 3rd party integrations make it very feature-rich. I love DNS records management. It is very easy to search and modify records from their directory.

CONS

Apart from lots of features, a few features need some mending. Like the file explorer (File Manager) they have is not very keyboard friendly. Keystrokes should be mapped with the buttons and features. Also, using the old email clients is not much productive. We cannot append the name of the sender in the header. A new email client (except webmail and horde) should be implemented.

Reason for choosing cPanel & WHM

I chose WHM because its feature is unmatched compared with the above-mentioned panel providers.

User Profile

Josh

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Great product but bummed by the price hike.

Great product has all the features I need though just had a pricing structure increase.

PROS

Allows me to do everything I need to do with my hosting. I have played with plesk but I am more used to cpanel and WHM and know where everything is and there are so many features that allow me to resell hosting and make money from it! It is updated a lot which is great.

CONS

The main issue I had is this new pricing structure. It did increase my hosting bill quite a bit. Also every now and then I can't find something as there is soo much to it so I have to talk to my hosting company. So it can be a bit complicated until you learn it.

Reason for choosing cPanel & WHM

It has all the features I need and like the structure better than plesk.

User Profile

Ben

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2019

Moved to Plesk as it provides better features and is better value for money

I have used WHM for an number of years, and am in the final stages of moving all of my sites that or on WHM based servers to plesk based ones - just because something is industry standard, does not mean that it is good or should continue being the defacto software that hosts use.

PROS

This is simple to implement and is a standardised piece of software that is regularly used on many hosts, so you know what you can do when logon to a new server - reducing developer / devops learning curve.

CONS

It's outdated, it isn't a pleasant UX, it feels like it is buggy, the only documentation isn't great and is community led so it feels like it is awkward or inaccurate. The update process always feels risky, and the methods of implemnting nginx just feel awkward.

Reason for choosing cPanel & WHM

I was using some free open source options, which weren't fit for purpose in hindsight

Reasons for switching to cPanel & WHM

Want a more professional solution

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Great set of tools for managing hosting for clients

Cpanel and WHM was one of the first to provide a layer of abstraction on server managment, and a web interface that worked pretty well. It was our main choice for many years to create, manage and sell hosting services.

PROS

Really solid, lots of features, multiuser setup

CONS

It's feels old, is too clumsy sometimes for small projects, not too elastic for new deployments

Reason for choosing cPanel & WHM

Cpanel and WHM was the best offer, most cost-effective.

User Profile

Dehn

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

WHM & Cpanel make navigating hosting solutions across different hosts a breeze

WHM (WebHost Manager) I have used since release and enjoy the UI for my own use at times, being more used to cPanel I can go either way. However for Clients, WHM is a stellar product and I enjoy it for that purpose every time I use it. cPanel is just ubiquitous to me when I consider hosting in general. Over the years I have had to use proprietary stuff from GoDaddy and many others but they were all CRAP. I would suggest against any option other than cPanel in any use short of huge Cloud accounts that need the specific build some Hosting requires. I have a Siteground account that is an indication of that, but short of anything below high dollar hosting I wouldnt work with a host that lacks cPanel functionality.

PROS

Generic in terms of branding, fully functional in that form. In other words, different hosts aren't compelled to change it and that makes working on clients sites easily with no learning curve to worry about

CONS

Occasionally doesn't allow for a feature but usually, that's the host. I really have no issue at all with Cpanel and have considered any hosting I was deciding on first based on cPanel. If they don't have it I will go to higher pricing first

User Profile

Marcus

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Excellent solution for hosting websites and emails

My overall experience has been very good, cPanel and WHM allow you to achieve all of your digital marketing needs and client-side requirements for hosting, web development and emails.

PROS

cPanel is a great product that makes it extremely easy to manage your own servers, DNS records as well as emails and clients websites. It is an all in one solution to managing both emails and websites as well as the technical aspects through a wonderful interface. The WHM master control panel also makes it very easy to manage multiple cPanel accounts and functionalities. Furthermore, allowing you to create separate login details for each of your clients to access their own cPanel dashboard for management purposes

CONS

The biggest cons with regards to cPanel is that there exists no automatic backup functionality which is a very important feature, single-use licenses can also become extremely expensive. Lastly, the email interface options could also use more work and features to be included.

User Profile

Giuseppe

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Wonderful panel for server management

PROS

It often happens that customers have vps managed by CPanel, it offers every tool you need to manage a server, especially for those who do not want to manually manage the configurations.

CONS

during use I did not encounter any defects or problems. maybe a graphical refactoring could be interesting.

User Profile

Virgilio

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

A must have for most commercial Webhosting companies

PROS

What I like the most about cPanel (& WHM) is it's prevalence. Most webhosting clients are already familiar with it, and there's plenty of documentation available, so it makes for a smooth experience for clients and admins alike.

CONS

The recent change in their pricing tiers.

User Profile

Amit

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

cPanel and WHM - Best website management tool

Overall it's a good tool which enables administrator to install SSL certificates and monitor websites.

PROS

User-friendly interface on both cPanel and WHM. Wide range of features like alerts, server monitoring and SSL installation.

CONS

The software pricing is a little expensive. CPanel does not support Windows OS, other than that it's a one in all solutions for website management.

User Profile

Bed

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Hosting, Database and Email Management in Single Spot.

I am using Cpanel to manage my company website and company business email. I found Cpanel is easy to deploy and reach in features like email management, autoresponder, file management, SSH terminal, securities, and more.

PROS

Easiest to use and don't need deep knowledge of deployment while building and setting up a website on Cpanel. Cpanel enables me to manage all of my business emails in one place with an autoresponder.

CONS

I feel difficult to use Cpanel on my mobile. Sometimes I need to operate Cpanel while I am far from the city at that time I face some difficulties using it. All other features are excellent.

Jasvinder

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

The Best Hosting Platform for SME Business

It is very easy to use. One of the most popular and Old product that gets regular updates. However if Cpanel can manage keep the prices low, no one will be able to come close to it.

PROS

Ease of use, Loads of feature and manageability. Regular updates that we get from cPanel directly are very important for us.

CONS

Bit costly for small customers when it comes to India Market. There are alternative hosting too that are now gaining popularity due to regular increase in cost price and INR-$ price fluctuation

Reason for choosing cPanel & WHM

Ease of use and familiarity with the product

Reasons for switching to cPanel & WHM

Ease of use and familiarity with the product

Jorge

Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

WHM & CPanel bring hosting management down to earth

When you offer so many features, you can always fail in the structure/organization of them, but WHM & Cpanel's menus are really clever and intuitive. You don't spend too much time finding what you're looking for and even have a search system to make this even better. It's really a world class product used by ginormous companies.

PROS

If i have to choose a simple phrase to describe them, it would be "feature rich". There's nothing you can't accomplish when it comes to managing hosting accounts, in large scale or individually, using these products. It's like a perfect couple that fulfill each other.

CONS

Particularly, the update/changelog notices/management can be better in order to be aware of what has exactly changed and prepare for it in advance.

Reason for choosing cPanel & WHM

It was always the only option. It's the default go to solution.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Easy Self-Serve Site Management

I like cPanel. It's familiarity and ease of use means that nearly every web host I use is a matter of choosing based on service and pricing rather than ease-of-use.

PROS

With a few odd exceptions, most things are relatively easy to find within cPanel. Because cPanel is so prevalent in web hosting, learning how to use it once means you can re-use the same skills and knowledge even when moving to many other hosts. Most functionality is straightforward enough that someone with minimal knowledge can find their wat around and make changes if needed.

CONS

Some web hosts still use outdated versions of cPanel which are harder to navigate and use. It would be nice if cPanel somehow operated like cloud software where all hosts are automatically using the most up-to-date version. Not sure if that's technically feasible. From the handful of web hosts I've used, I've noticed that often there is functionality in cPanel that is duplicated outside in the web hosts own interface, and as a result changes made to some aspects of a hosting service done within cPanel don't actually do anything. This is frustrating and usually results in a call to my hosts tech support unless the solution is obvious. I wish that those duplicated functions in cPanel would just redirect me to the right place. Some of the language in the platform can be ambiguious, although that said, I'm not a professional dev - just a hobbyist so perhaps with more background knowledge that wouldn't be an issue.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Excellent web management platform

Overall experience is great not only the WHM but its working with WHMCS is extra ordinary, but guess all good things comes to an end as we are currently switching from WHM.

PROS

Ease of usage, functions, extensibility everything is awesome and is well made for service providers specially in shared hosting industry, they also keep adding new features like free SSL and keep the code uptodate to minimalise any issues to appear suddenly, i worked with WHM many times and i personally like the working and and ui to be extra ordinary.

CONS

there was not something i would consider i like least but a recent change made me rething my opinion about them, many of my friends who were exclusive customers of WHM/cPanel cancelled their subscription cause of a single change in their pricing which forced amny privders to either raise their plans or switch, and they choose the first one as cheapest wins the race in this idustry.

Boris

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Best hosting and server management available

We use cPanel in all shared hosting websites we create for our clients. I am particularly happy with how easy it is to manage WordPress installations through Softaculous, and how easy it became to update WordPress since they rolled out the update that lets you create staging versions. All the server settings are easily available through a simple interface making server management a walk in the park!

PROS

cPanel is my favorite part of web hosting management. All the options are available at the click of a button. Webapps are easy to install and set up, and there are very handy file and email managers available.

CONS

I have been a cPanel & WHM user for the better part of the last 10 years and I have yet to find anything that I dislike. The updates are only making it better!

Dennis

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

cPanel/WHM is the Backbone of our Web Development Business

WHM gives us the capability to provide hosting needs to our many clients. It's very easy to use once set up and plays a critical role in keeping our clients happy with their websites.

PROS

cPanel/WHM has made it easier than ever to manage many, many websites. With our constant growth, it's extremely important that we can quickly add sites, manage site/server settings, limit profiles, etc. cPanel does all that and more and keeps all of our servers running smoothly.

CONS

There was quite a learning curve to learning and setting up the software, but once it is set up it is easier the ever to manage!

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Although there is room for improvement this is by far the best hosting management software available

PROS

WHM and CPanel are very powerful and with them, it's possible to manage pretty much every aspect of a hosting server without being a systems administrator. There are a lot of extensions available, and as the user base is large it's possible to find solutions to issues online quite easily.

CONS

The interface can be confusing and the way that options are grouped does not always make a lot of sense. The documentation often assumes extensive knowledge of systems administration.

Tapiwanashe

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: