All Linode Reviews

1-20 of 20 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ajay S

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Best cloud is Linode

Actually, if we discuss the pricing and Service then Pricing is cheap but service is perfect. Most of our clients are using Linode and we always recommend Linode to clients. Our overall experince with Linode is most satisfying. Thank You Linode

PROS

I'm using Linode for the last many years are DevOps and its reliability is awesome. Uptime, Scalability, Speed, and Pricing are very best as compare to their service, which is mind-blowing. I trust Linode and also refer to other companies, who are our clients. I have about 7 running server and all are on Linode. Overall they are the best in case of easiness of dashboard and maintenance.

CONS

Support, Once I face the issue and all of my hosts went down on the Singapore server and I was in the urgent demo so I call them on the India helpline but it's not working. They helo me by ticketing and also give me compensation. The ticketing system is good. All else is very well.

Reason for choosing Linode

All are having their our features but AWS and Google Cloud are a little expensive and complex dashboards as compare to Linode. Digital Ocean is most likely Linode type but we are never facing any issue with Linode so we never switched.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Linode is an excellent cloud virtual private server provider

We run all our back-end servers on Linode now, rather than maintaining a pair of physical data centers and standing up and supporting an entire virtual server stack such as VMware vSphere. Using Linode has given us considerable cost savings over our previous physical data centers, and has simplified the resources we need to run our technology stack

PROS

Linode provides virtual private servers using SSDs that have excellent performance characteristics for the pricing, it's important that we get the best value for money, and Linode's VPS price performance ratio is far better than its competitors

CONS

Linode is not as well known as the other big guys in this space, so it can be a hard sell to convince an large conservative organization to take a bet on the little guy, given the prevailing "no one ever got fired choosing Microsoft" attitude of some people, so it would be better if Linode was more well known and on equal footing with the big guys

Reason for choosing Linode

Linode is very cost effective and utterly beats out the other big names on both pricing and support services, and their products are competitive, have great performance, and are rock solid reliable.

User Profile

Joël

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2023

Still lacks some of the basic concepts of modern web hosting

Linode didn't just favor me in anyways. From pricing structure to technical support, it didn't find room for my business.

PROS

There isn't much that impressed me with Linode apart from the fact that it supports cyber panel very well (VPS) and the virtual private servers are easy to install.

CONS

Things I don't like about Linode:-It's exorbitant in terms of pricing-poor client service ( they take anywhere from 1-2 business days to respond to an open ticket)-Poor or almost none reasonable pricing model.-WordPress hosting is slow-High speed servers are available in the dedcated hosting package which are very costful

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Linode - an excellent product that is reasonably priced and very very reliable

Linode allowed us to host our product for a very reasonable price and with very reliable uptime.

PROS

Linode allows you to install a number of Linux distributions, so you can tailor that depending on what you want and are used to. Have been using Linode for several years have found it very reliable. They have also never raised the price in those years, it has remained constant. I like everything with it, Linode Manager and Longview are all excellent products to help you manage your servers.

CONS

Linux distributions for Linode are not hardened by default, so you will have to spend some time securing your deployments. There are mitigations for this though - Linode provides the ability to create scripts to create and configure your stack - so you may only have to do it once anyway. Also at the moment, there is still no support for running FreeBSD on Linode as an official image.

Reason for choosing Linode

Linode had great reviews, the pricing was simple and fair. I had also used Linode before in another role.

Reasons for switching to Linode

When RedHat moved from Openshift v2 to v3, it was very abrupt with little to no help (documentation was bare and useless) in migrating. Version 3 was completely different and the time frame given for businesses to move was bordered on plain rude. I really liked v2 Openshift, but this experience forced us to move away from Red Hat completely.

Dakota

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Cost-Effective, Reliable Servers

My overall experience with Linode has been great. Moving from shared web hosting to a VPS had a learning curve, but the guides provided by Linode along with their extremely responsive support helped me get set up and ensure I had access to the ports I needed. We haven't even had so much as an outage that was caused by Linode. The one time maintenance did occur it was done before we could even notice an issue! They also provide 100 dollars in credit for your first two months, giving you the ability to test their services before paying out of pocket.

PROS

Our businesses use case for servers is for websites and we could not be happier with Linode. We had hosted websites with shared hosting providers but for one reason or another, we always had issues. On the cheapest VPS Linode provides we have been able to have multiple low-traffic websites running without an incident.

CONS

The only caveat of VPS hosting at Linode I can think of is that you need to pay for backups separately and these backups only go back 14 days. You can initiate a manual backup which can be as old as you like, but if you want a more comprehensive backup solution you will need to set one up yourself.

Reason for choosing Linode

Reputation and what Linode stood for. I am responsible for web management at my business and so I went with someone who had long-term notoriety in this space and also values that I supported.

Reasons for switching to Linode

Shared hosting simply was just too slow. Considering the price we were going to have to pay to continue with our previous host along with the random downtime and speed hiccups made us switch. Even a simple $5/mo Linode server outperformed what we had from Namecheap.

Eric

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

With Linode, you can upsize... AND DOWNSIZE!

I've had excellent experience with the product and with the customer service. I've been able to easily manage a large number of servers and easily rescue a few when the need arose. Linode gives you a lot of machine for your money, including a very generous monthly network transfer quota. Their pricing model is simple, easy to understand and very competitive.

PROS

Most all Virtual Cloud Server providers have a fast, reliable platform. Most let you start small and then upsize your sever as needed. Linode is the ONLY provider I've found that let's you also DOWNSIZE your server! That's huge since you're not stuck with a bigger server than you need in case you have to temporarily upsize. I also like the simplicity of Linode, compared to monstrosities like AWS or Azure. With Linode, you get in, get it done, and get out.

CONS

Linode offers additional block storage devices which is great, but unfortunately, it's not available yet in all of their data centers yet.

Reason for choosing Linode

Digital Ocean doesn't offer the option to downsize a server.

Reasons for switching to Linode

Both Azure and AWS have a horribly confusing point and click interface. I would much rather do my configuration on the server itself, rather than on a complicated, difficult to navigate web-based user interface.

User Profile

Gianluigi

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Very good services at a lower price than competitors

We deploy some micro services related to our PaaS CI/CD product. Performance and reliability are very high compared to a very cheao price. We plan to migrate more services to Linode.

PROS

Easy dashboard to manage and monitor all our active services. Very cheap but very stable and good VPS performance.

CONS

Poor LoadBalancer settings. Set up process for some services could be more easy

Reason for choosing Linode

Best price comparison with similar VPS performance.

Reasons for switching to Linode

Try to save money

User Profile

Prateek

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Linode: High performance services at affordable price

Using Linode VM and storage services for 2 years. It comes with great performance at very affordable pricing.

PROS

1. Data centers are available in almost all popular regions 2. Services are very affordable 3. Very easy to start with the services 4. Best support from the team in the market

CONS

1. Limited services are available at least for now 2. Difficult to integrate with other cloud providers and services

User Profile

Giuseppe

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Best in class Cloud service

PROS

Easy to manage and configure all offered services. I try new manager DbaaS, and is very powerful. Certainly now with Akamai partnership, this product will have a boost.

CONS

a service such as the certificate manager of another well-known service would be interesting.

User Profile

Romaric

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Linode

Linode is a better alternative for any project infrastructure. From common apps to complex websites hosting, Linode does well at it. I recommend it.

PROS

I have tried out a lot of web hosting solutions and Linode is my #2 VPS recommendation for businesses looking for affordable and effective VPS hosting solutions.The company keeps track of the client's objectives and tries all in its capacities to meet them. Linode's hosting technology is quite advanced.It has a variety of server locations and the server installation process is also very easy as there are documentations to avail this.The support staff is very friendly and proactive. They care about their clients as well as their satisfaction. I have seen some competitors who only care about money.

CONS

The cost for hosting with Linode is medium-high as compared to digital ocean. Sincerely, this is the only dark side of it.

Pius

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Linode

My Virtual machines on Linode have always been up and every time I needed help the support has always been there for me. Support from the community, Linode team, and the YouTube videos they put up. I can always afford Linode and keep track of my plan and costs easily.

PROS

Linode is really so easy to use. I'm not a professional network engineer but I find my way quite easily in Linode. Everything is within the site, from setting a server, to creating and updating your stacks. It's not jumbled up like in AWS, Google Cloud, and Alibaba. Even as a newbie, with just watching Linode's youtube channel, you set up your services and learn as you go along. That's what I did, and it's going well. One other thing is Linode's pricing! It is by far the most affordable yet very efficient and comprehensive cloud provider out there in comparison to Digital Ocean and AWS.

CONS

Linode needs to add more easily deployable apps in its marketplace to help even more of the less technical founders and learning developers get started.

Reason for choosing Linode

Plainly, Linode had a better price for me when getting started and testing my project.

Eitan

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

A great performance and Infrastructure, Great apps marketplace

PROS

Infrastructure and features are great and high quality, the performance is fast, the marketplace have a lot of applications and it's a great feature.

CONS

The deployment dashboard and process is a bit techie and not friendly.

User Profile

András

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Very reliable but cheap VPS hosting

I'm quite happy with them, did not really had any big issues or complaints in the last few years.

PROS

It was fairly cheap for a decent server and they upgraded our small little server along the line keeping the old price. The support was also pretty good, quite fast and qualified.

CONS

The old UI was a bit ugly, the new one still lacked a few features like bill list, otherwise it was usable.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Very stable, capable and good performance virtual servers

PROS

Easy to manage via cloud management panel, very stable with little downtime, good performance

CONS

Missing some higher security features of other virtual server providers

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Servers in the cloud simple, easy and with a suitable price

We have dedicated server and software as service quickly and a good prices

PROS

My favourites features are low prices, a clear politic of costs, and the ease to deploy a new server

CONS

I like all about this platform. It will be interesting for spanish users that they were certificated in ENS

User Profile

Stanley

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Why I chose Linode for Cloud

No issues experienced so far with any of my virtual servers.

PROS

Native User Interface that is all inclusive.

CONS

Feels a bit outdated with the interface for millennial users.

Reason for choosing Linode

Recommendation from a mentor.

Reasons for switching to Linode

Cost was too high.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

perfect product

PROS

it's affrodable and useful to make experiment about application or eployment

CONS

load balancing is not perfect and the product is not still perfectly scalable

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Una buena opcion de VPS

Mi experiencia con Linode en general es buena, aunque me ha costado con algunas integraciones.

PROS

Lo que más me gusta de Linode es que: además de la variedad de imágenes, puedes cargar tu imagen personalizada.

CONS

Lo que menos me gusta es la interface de panel de control. Aunque esto no es una desventaja significa, ya que los servidores son muy buenos.

User Profile

Fabio

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT